Recent Reviews in Hyannis Port, Massachusetts

Hyannis Hospitality at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

3.4 reviewed on March 13, 2017

Charming in-town hostel. Pleasant room, comfortable bed and adequate bathroom. No restaurant, but sit-down breakfast and afternoon tea/wine. Perfect setting for Hyannis Marathon in February. We'll be back next year

View more reviews for this inn


Sonia's Stay During Hyannis Marathon Weekend at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

We had a great time at The Simmons Homestead Inn. We've gone back two years in a row because we love the location, Bill's hospitality, and the rooms/Inn itself. It's cozy and comfortable and has a unique character that you can't find at a typical hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


Old House at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on February 08, 2017

We were the only couple in the house. It was an old house but the owner keeps it very clean. Each room had a theme which we were in the cat room. I found it over whelming. If we would go again I would ask for a different room. The breakfast was very good.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly Inn Keeper at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

3.2 reviewed on October 11, 2016

I reasonable B&B for those wanting to be close but not near the water. Bill is very friendly and knowledgeable.

View more reviews for this inn


Review at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

3.6 reviewed on September 19, 2016

Close to the beaches and very dog friendly! Cars were pretty amazing to see. Location was close to downtown. Great advice of where to go and where to eat.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks Bill! at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on September 02, 2016

My wife and I had a great night at Simmons Homestead Inn. Bill and his staff were welcoming and ready with good advice for places to eat and things to do. They definitely made our first trip to Cape Cod memorable and have us looking forward to passing through again!

View more reviews for this inn


Good for one night if you need a pet-friendly B&B at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

2.6 reviewed on August 22, 2016

Bill is very helpful. He provided maps and recommendations for things to do on our stay. The inn is pet-friendly with a large backyard for walks. Our room was very spacious and we could not hear any other guests or pets. The inn is an older home. The walls are filled with different photos, posters, and nick-knacks. There were also a multitude of hanging baskets containing artificial flowers. Breakfast was nothing special -- brown and serve sausages and ordinary french toast. No fresh brewed decaf coffee was available. There was wine available in the afternoon when we returned to the inn. This was a last minute booking for us, just for one night.

View more reviews for this inn


Way Cool at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on July 25, 2016

This place is awesome! It's like visiting your cool uncle's house, except you have to pay a few shekels a night to stay there:-)

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay in Hyannis at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on June 05, 2016

Innkeeper is warm and caring. Wonderful environment. Guest are allowed pets. Very friendly atmosphere. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


40th Anniversary at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on May 23, 2016

Our stay was only an overnight for our 40th anniversary, but was well worth it! The inn is charming with much to see inside. Bill goes out of his way to accommodate your needs even acting as a local tour agent for local activities, events and things to see. At the wine hour you can socialize with the other guests if you like and Bill will make dinner reservations for you (if required). If you're an animal lover he will introduce you to his family of cats (kept away from the main building). A charming place to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Marathon Weekend at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2016

Great Place to stay especially if you have a dog. Bill and April were fantastic and always very helpful. Will return again!

View more reviews for this inn


Marathon weekend at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on March 03, 2016

Our stay was excellent. I took my whole family to spend the weekend and watch (run for me) the marathon. Bill was very attentive and took care of us in many ways. I recommend it and will come back for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Run away from this place at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

1.4 reviewed on December 05, 2015

It is advertised as a Bed and Breakfast and the web page provides a lot of information about the wonderful breakfast Mr. Bill provides. Let me describe mine.. We came in the morning to the breakfast area and were cheerfully greeted by owner. He went to the kitchen to make a breakfast for us. My wife and I put coffee into our cups. I like hot coffee and mine was not hot enough for me. I went to the kitchen and asked permission to use the microwave to warm up my coffee. Bill opened the small dirty microwave. I was amazed to find inside of this microwave a few sausages placed on a color printed newspaper insert. This is how Bill was warming up these sausages. He took the newspaper with sausages out and let me warm up coffee. After that he put this newspaper and sausages back to the microwave and continued to warm up sausages. Maybe it is me but it was absolutely disguising. What is he thinking that he cannot find anything but used newspaper inserts to warm up food for customers? He cannot find anything in his Inn stuffed with tons of “historical” junk to prepare food using normal stuff: plates, paper towels, napkins…..???? Are there any regulations and just regular food preparation rules people should use while preparing food known in this Inn? So, he delivered our breakfast: 3 pieces of unripe cantaloupe, two pieces of some kind of toast fried on a pan with something else and the sausages mentioned above. Should I mention that we took sausages for our dog and I still feel guilty for this? Should I mention that it was our last visit to breakfast area? I am speechless about this “breakfast” and absolutely disguised with the owner. He charged us $200 per night and was cooking on a dirty newspaper? Stay away from this place is not exactly correct. In my opinion it should be “Run away from this place” One star for this Inn is way too many Shame on you, Bill

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving 2015 at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on December 02, 2015

We were very pleased to stay at Simmons.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful & Fun at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on October 10, 2015

Bill Putman is a wonderful host who went out off his way to insure we were served well. Would definitely stay here again if future travels take us to Cape Cod again.

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet home, very fiendly innkeeper at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

3.4 reviewed on August 30, 2015

Room 12 were 2 rooms with a private bath, very comportable for a family of four. Rooms were clean and individually. A lot of "schnickschack" in all rooms. I think I haven´t seen all things during our stay. Innkeeper has 25 cats and 50 automobiles. He is an unicum and very helpful. He prepares warm breakfast by himself. Houses stand in anhuge area with many corners to sit an relax an feel at home. Bicycles are a bit old, hard work to do a tour.

View more reviews for this inn


good! at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on July 30, 2015

This was the rare, truly dog and people friendly b and b. Spoiler alert: decorated with a man's touch.

View more reviews for this inn


what a place at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 04, 2014

This is by far the best, The innkeeper is very friendly and helpful, the room was warm and very clean. You can spend hours looking at all the neat stuff and still not see it all, so it will require a return trip for sure. Plus Bob who is our cocker was celebrating his birthday and had a wonderful time. The added bonus aside from the antique cars is of course the cats . See you soon!!!!!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great dog friendly bed and breakfast at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on May 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Simmons Homestead Inn and will definitely return. It's one of the few dog friendly inns on the Cape. The rooms were cute and cozy, the breakfasts good and plentiful, and the staff very helpful. We stayed in the Dog Room, which was cute but small.

View more reviews for this inn


Best inn on Cape Cod for a great romantic get-a-way! at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2014

Simmons Homestead Inn is simply the best place to stay on Cape Cod. The innkeeper is very accommodating and wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and our bed was extremely comfortable! The living room is gorgeous with a brilliant, working fireplace. The free breakfast is delicious and includes omelets, coffee cake and pancakes. Coffee and tea, fresh and hot, were always available in the dining room. Staying here in Hyannis Port for the last few days, and we don't want to leave. The weather has been perfect, so we managed to go bike riding and photo touring. Staying at an old captain’s house, the Simmons Homestead Inn, which has been updated and has add-ons? Like several sheds / barns that house classic sports cars, all red in color. Bill is the Innkeeper, an older gentleman, who cares for the cars and the guests here. In the morning, you can spot him early, making coffee and preparing the bountiful breakfast. One day it was pancakes filled with fresh berries, the next day he made us omelets with sausage and fruit. I liked the very large common area / living room with a nice fireplace and windows overlooking the lawn and pond out back. Bedrooms are spacious, and have been updated, as I could easily tell that the bathroom was an add-ton, and not part of the original home. I don’t know if it’s the salt-air, or the comfortable bed, but we slept well and long. It was nice to sleep late, and not have to do anything I didn’t want to do on this mini-vacation on the coast. Cape Cod is really beautiful at this time of year, and we managed to capture some nice pictures (that’s me in front of one of the innkeeper’s many red sports cars). We whole-heartily recommend the Simmons Homestead as your inn to stay while on Cape Cod. We made the right choice, as you will too! It doesn’t get any better as a romantic get-a-way, or a family vacation spot, as the near-by beaches are perfect for walking. Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious, and have quick access to the yard.

View more reviews for this inn


Whimsy with red highlights at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on January 27, 2014

Looking for a place to stay with a bit of whimsy that doesn't take itself too seriously but still cares for you and your getaway needs? What a great "base of operation" - Bill is a great tour guide and April knows all the places where locals hang. There is something for everyone: an historic sea captain's house, dogs welcome, many cats around (but not in the inn), lots of color, and a barn full of 50+ shiny red post-1950s cars. What's not to love?

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly and helpful- a home away from home at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

3.8 reviewed on January 27, 2014

The inn is a large comfortable, relaxing old farmhouse. Bill was very helpful upon our arrival, suggesting activities and locations to bring our dog and where to go for dinner. The inn is decorated with a wide variety of interesting collectables, and every room has its own unique theme and were clean and stocked with plenty of towels and blankets. Our dog was welcome and it was offered to us to leave him in the room or take him-'whatever we would normally do at home'. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Pet Friendly B&B at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2013

We travel with our golden retriever whenever we can so we were thrilled to find this wonderful B&B on the Cape. Bill and his staff are so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are a great place to relax and play with your dog. Beautiful grassy lawns to explore, hammocks, sitting porches. Bill fixed us a great breakfast of an omelet, sausage, fresh fruit and some nice bread. He has an amazing car collection on the property called Toad Hall that was a nice surprise as well. Bill & his staff are genuinely interested in you and your comfort & experience. They are a wealth of knowledge. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Dog Friendly Cape Haven at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on September 04, 2013

We travel with our beagle-mix (Tessie) whenever possible. That's really tough to do on the Cape during the summer. Bill and the Simmons Homestead Inn to the rescue! The Inn is very cozy (plus it's dog friendly!), but the thing that puts the icing on the top is Bill. He was very welcoming and accommodated us as if we were family. April was great, too, with recommendations on things to do AND places to eat that are dog friendly. The room we stayed in (Dog Room) was small, but comfortable. It was right on the porch, so if you're a light sleeper it might not work for you but there are 12 other rooms that more than likely will. The car museum is pretty incredible, too!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Inn in Hyannis at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at the Simmons Homestead Inn. Although we have been to the Cape many times, this was our first time (and not the last) at this B&B. Bill Putnam, the innkeeper, was very accommodating to our needs, and helped us to feel relaxed and comfortable. The room was very clean and quiet, and we thoroughly enjoyed the generous and delicious breakfast provided. Additionally, Mr. Putnam has an incredible classic sports car collection (over 50) that we marveled at. This is one place that we would absolutely recommend to our friends.

View more reviews for this inn


I don't like B&B's but... at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on August 20, 2013

...this one is a keeper. At the last minute we found out that we needed to bring our family dog with us on a short (3 day) vacation to Cape Cod. All of the pet-friendly hotels were booked so, reluctantly, we booked the SH Inn. Bill, the owner, does everything he can to make the stay feel comfortable for guests. Beach towels, restaurant guides and menus, even a wine hour are all provided free of charge. There are also bottled water and soft drinks provided free of charge, as well as small refrigerators for guests' personal use. We stayed in room number 1, the busiest decor of the many rooms we toured. It has a small anteroom where a pull out bed for my son made this a great value. All of the other rooms were much more tastefully decorated, and each was lovely in its own quirky way. Bill generously gave us the tour before our departure. My dog was happy, too. He was allowed in every area we were, with the exception of the breakfast room. For those who need their pets with them for breakfast, simply request one of the rooms with a private deck. While Bill won't bring your meal, you can pick it up in the dining room and bring it back. The rooms are all air-conditioned, but there is a charge for using them. While we did not need it during this trip, it was comforting to know that it was there. The nominal charge of $10 per night is reasonable if the night is muggy. Bill also hosts an antique car museum on the premises and guests receive a free tour. Walking distance to Keyes Beach in Hyannis is nice, but I prefer the beaches of West Yarmouth. We will definitely be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience. at Scargo Manor (Dennis, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2013

We had a marvelous experience at Scargo Manor. The house is historic and quaint and very comfortable. The host and hostess were most kind and accommodating. The beautiful landscaping is marvelous and draws one into a peaceful escape. We certainly will consider Scargo Manor again.

View more reviews for this inn


peaceful gem at Scargo Manor (Dennis, Massachusetts)

4.2 reviewed on September 12, 2012

the house is beautiful, the host lovely, the rooms are neat and the peace you can enjoy at the lake simply make a stay at the Scargo Manor more than memorable...it's like a peace of heaven down on earth and I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in the area...

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

2.6 reviewed on August 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B. The location was great. The yard, porch & hammocks were wonderful. The food was average and the room itself needed a little updating. We are hooked now on B&Bs. Feels more like home.

View more reviews for this inn


Simmons Homestead Inn at Simmons Homestead Inn (Hyannis , Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2012

Talk about a place that makes you feel at home. Comfortable, welcoming & fun! We will for sure be back many times.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Scargo Manor (4.60)
  2. Simmons Homestead Inn (4.18)
Top
}