Recent Reviews in Hot Springs, North Carolina

Great stay at Marshall House Inn (Marshall, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 14, 2017

We enjoyed the one night we stayed. The hosts were very accommodating and the room was very comfortable. We highly recommend it.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Weekend! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2017

Wife and I had a wonderful time at River Dance, fantastic experience. The view from Deck is stunning! Tim

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing! at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 27, 2017

What a wonderfully private retreat. This former Jesuit retreat provides a perfect base for exploring the northwest NC mountains. Comfortable, thoughtful hospitality and an excellent breakfast filled the bill! If you need big-screen TV and bright lights this isn't the place for you. For the four of us it was perfect!! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


A place for tired feet and quiet minds at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

My husband and I happened upon Laughing Hearts for a last minute trip to the mountains for the 4th of July weekend. Our stay was perfect! Our room was clean, the bed was comfy, the food was delicious, and the fresh, local coffee every morning was heavenly! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and highly recommend it as the place to stay in Hot Springs, NC!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Place to Recover from a Tough Hike at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on May 26, 2017

My family and I stayed one night at the Laughing Heart Lodge after hiking on the Appalachian Trail for three days. It rained for nearly the entire trip, so we were grateful to have such a lovely place to recover from the enjoyable, but difficult hike. The first great thing about the lodge was its location: we were able to see the sign for the lodge from the Trail itself, which meant a short walk to shelter (as it was still raining). Once we were promptly booked in, we were shown to our excellent rooms. The rooms (we stayed in Monarch and Cardinal) struck a perfect balance between historical charm and modern convenience. As you can see from the photos, the furniture has a great "small town southern charm" vibe to it, and that carries through in person. But if you worry that that vibe means missing out on modern comforts, you would be wrong! The bathrooms were both very modern, with attractive, clean showers. Cardinal also featured an electric fireplace, which was perfect for drying out our wet boots and socks. The best aspect of our stay, though, was the service. Right from the get-go, we were made to feel at home, despite our soggy and dirty appearance coming from the trail. Karen was very helpful in helping us figure out where to eat and what to do in the area, and very accommodating to any requests that we made. She was also an excellent cook. Breakfast offered a variety of choices, despite the fact that we were the only guests eating (we stayed on a Wednesday night): cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, homemade granola, eggs, and biscuits. Everything was delicious. The lodge also offered free water, coffee, and tea 24/7 in the dining room, which was a nice perk. Overall, we were extremely happy with our stay. The lodge and grounds were beautiful and the service was excellent. I will definitely stay here again if I'm ever in the area - and the fact that the lodge is so great makes it more likely that I'll find myself in Hot Springs again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, relaxing atmosphere at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on May 07, 2017

Was planning on camping in the area then the weather turned REALLY nasty with high winds and lots of rain. Decided to look into accommodations and Laughing Heart was the only place with a room left in the area. Wasn't ever planning on it, but turned out to be a wonderful place and would recommend it to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


I love this B&B at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2017

I have stayed at the Laughing Heart Lodge on two occasions (consecutive years in April) and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Asheville area. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing, and the hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious - especially the hot biscuits! Looking forward to my next trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Special Mountain Getaway at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on March 27, 2017

We discovered this Lodge several years ago and the laid back,comfortable ambiance and visiting Hot Springs Spa keep pulling us back.We visit year round,but mainly in the quieter times of the year!Karen Moore is a wonderful,caring inn keeper!I have stayed in almost every room and they are all individually decorated.Not high end luxury,the rooms offer a comfort level and details that you would expect in a private home.We enjoy the two public areas with fireplaces to read,relax and visit with others,as well as the outside areas when it's nice.No televisions to disrupt the calmness.Good Internet connections keeps my sports fan happy or watching a movie quietly in your room possible. I usually don't give reviews but felt this place was worth my time. Only breakfast is served and it is buffet style. Coffee,tea and cocoa is always available.We enjoy eating at the Iron Horse grill for casual fare and Mt.Magnolia Inn for special dinners. Visiting the Hot Springs Spa is always a treat to ourselves too.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 13, 2017

RiverDance is truly an amazing location for any occasion. The owners are fantastic and easy to work with when booking our trip. The property itself is gorgeous, spacious, and perfect for families or groups. It's very close to several attractions with lots of outdoor activities nearby. We highly recommend RiverDance and will be back very soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Grateful Heart guest at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2016

This lovely and well-appointed lodge, aged with generous hospitality, proved to be just the place to restore energy for returning to my home in MI. I could hardly believe the serenity I found as entered the beautiful lobby and the relaxed manner of the hosts, both as they received my reservation and welcomed me to the lodge. The next morning was even more amazing, with cheerful hosts full of information. The views, fireplaces, books, window seats all beckoned to restore life as it can be… a quiet journey to who we really are…people of peace. I found out it had been a retreat lodge for years. It made perfect sense to me as I could feel the serenity. Breakfast was tasty, coffee and tea abundant. Breakfast with other guests proved that we are all connected in many interesting and heartfelt ways as we journey in life. The massage was wonderful. The Appalachian trail is at its doorsteps and the easy walk through the town delightful. I’m looking forward to my return. Mary…Kalamazoo, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Serene B & B at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 23, 2016

Recently enjoyed one night stay at this wonderful lodge.....spacious and very clean room and bath, beautiful grounds, friendly staff and excellent homemade breakfast. Will look forward to returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Hard to beat! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2016

If you are looking for one of the most beautiful BnBs in the Smokies/Blue Ridge, and for fantastic and amazing service, hard to beat River Dance. Callie and Dave are just the tip of the iceberg, but they certainly are the most amazing hosts you could ever imagine. The House is at the top of ridge, and the views are forever. The rooms are amazing, as is the company. The real bonus is how cool Hot Springs and the rest of Madison County is. Super interesting, particularly since I know nothing at all about it. You would be hard pressed to find a better experience. River Dance was an exceptional experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Yes! at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on August 02, 2016

This lovely lodge is situated nearby a quaint town with great access to the Appalachian Trail. Peaceful, clean, warm, wonderfully enjoyable experience from check in to check out. Large, well appointed rooms. I was with an art retreat group, and it was well suited for our creative times. Having left my phone charger, the accommodating staff was very helpful in getting it returned to me as soon as possible. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Peace and pleasure at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on July 22, 2016

The lodge and the staff provided exactly the peaceful and pleasurable experience needed. Quiet. Relaxing. Excellent food. Silently making it a terrific experience was the staff who genuinely care about those who come there way. I'm ready to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing break from city grind at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Wonderful architecture in refurbished Jesuit retreat lodge. Rooms were beautifully furnished, spacious and clean. Fantastic library and lots of nooks and crannies indoors and out to meet and greet or find solitude with a book. Food and conversation was great. Grounds nicely kept and walking distance to in-town restaurants and shops.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on June 18, 2016

Laughing Heart Lodge is a warm, friendly, and peaceful lodge. The grounds are beautiful with many seating areas outside to enjoy. The main village is within walking distance and has several restaurants to choose from. Laid-back rural environment. The Lodge is clean and welcoming. My room was quiet and very comfortable. I woke to birds singing and the sounds of nature.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming!!! at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2016

The accommodations at Laughing Heart Lodge are exceptional. Love the warm feeling of wood all around. The Dandelion Room was huge with a beautiful view of the mountains and the courtyard.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing night's stay at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on December 01, 2015

Relaxing night's stay over the busy holiday travel weekend. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely getaway at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2015

My wife and I spent the weekend celebrating her birthday. Laughing Heart Lodge is a beautiful place, with kind and welcoming innkeepers, cozy fires, good books, deep bathtubs and comfortable beds. Breakfast was healthy and nourishing, and featured the good company of other guests. It was a wonderful treat for us to spend the time there. A soak in the tub at the Hot Springs Spa and dinner at the Iron Horse were lovely extras. If you need to rest, renew, and recharge, it's a great choice.

View more reviews for this inn


A place to center yourself at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 27, 2015

What a beautiful lodge, in a beautiful setting. Kind & helpful staff. I could not have asked for Better. Lovely rooms with all you need for a relaxing shower And good nights rest. I do need the yummy granola Recipe.

View more reviews for this inn


TRANQUIL TRAIL RETREAT at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 12, 2015

We appreciated this B & B's accessibility to the Appalachian Trail and for its tranquility. The rooms were lovely. We stayed in the Monarch. Very clean and comfortable. Shower pressure was limited in that room. Homemade granola for breakfast and the staff's accommodation for an earlier breakfast (for an early hiking start) were so appreciated.

View more reviews for this inn


Restorative setting at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on September 06, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Laughing Heart the first week of Sept 2015. We found it to be excellent in every respect: staff, grounds, accommodations, breakfast. Very, very relaxing locale. In a word, setting was restorative. Close access to hiking, too, if you enjoy that. If you want a relaxing, quiet, peaceful locale, would recommend Laughing Heart strongly.. Will definitely return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on June 01, 2015

We stayed at the Lodge the weekend of 05/29/15 while attending a wedding in Hot Springs. We can't say enough good things about the Lodge, the grounds, and especially the staff! If you're looking for peace and tranquility, this is place. It's a lot like being in your own home, only the bread and biscuits are a whole lot better. If we're ever back in that general area, I can assure you that we will stay at the Laughing Heart Lodge. Jim and Linda Weigle

View more reviews for this inn


A Truly Beautiful Lodge at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on May 25, 2015

It was truly a wonderful visit to the Laughing Heart Lodge. The people are so friendly and the countryside is so beautiful! I highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Retreat Space at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2015

Laughing Heart Lodge an ideal retreat space for any group! We Just had our 1st Yoga retreat there and it was a wonderful experience. All the Staff we welcoming, friendly and accommodating to all our retreat needs. Food was fabulous ! Thank you KARENS!! We will see you soon Lotus Living Arts Studio of Concord

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend! at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 13, 2015

We recently spent our anniversary weekend in Hot Springs, and Laughing Heart Lodge was the perfect place. It is very quiet and full of books, and there are many places to relax, read, chat, and decompress. The outside labyrinth and chapel grant the lodge further charm and calm, as do the staff, most especially Sabastian, who was a true pleasure to talk with. We stayed in the beautiful, sunny, and comfortable Monarch room, and we couldn't have been happier. When the weekend ended, we were refreshed, peaceful, and planning a future trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on March 16, 2015

My husband and I planned a last minute anniversary weekend. The lodge was absolutely wonderful. Both Karen's were very helpful and sweet. We stayed in the Cardinal room and it was spotless. I usually do not sleep well away from home but I slept like a baby. The common rooms were nice and cozy next to the fireplace. We will be back for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on February 16, 2015

Commons area was great and had clean rooms and very nice staff. Appalachian Trail in the backyard was nice, too.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint and Lovely at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on December 26, 2014

We went during Christmas time and it was an absolute pleasure. The staff is very friendly and the lodge cannot be described by many other words than quaint. It is so nice to stay there and take time slowly. The room was very nice and there was not a single problem. Cannot wait to stay here again some day

View more reviews for this inn


Yoga Retreat held at the Laughing Heart Lodge at Laughing Heart Lodge (Hot Springs, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2014

I had the most relaxing time during my stay. From start to finish everything from my check-in to check-out was a great experience. I felt very comfortable and welcome. The resident cat Bear was also friendly. The room was comfortable and the food was wonderful. Both Karens' were helpful and kind. The staff was equally kind. I look forward to my next stay there. I loved the atmosphere, very low key and the views were breathtaking beautiful. The yoga sessions, the massage, the hiking and the hot springs soak left me feeling totally rejuvenated!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }