Recent Reviews in Honolulu, Hawaii

Excellent Experience at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 14, 2017

The room, food, and host family were fantastic! Would stay here over and over again. I even got some play time and kisses from the family dog.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Choice at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on October 26, 2016

The Inn is very comfortable and well run. I was somewhat disappointed by a few particulars. I was here on business and the breakfast was started at 7:30, too late for me to attend. There was no in-room or community microwave so I couldn't reheat any leftovers. There was printer or office services available. It is a beautiful, historic home on lush grounds run by charming people. I'd definitely come back if given the chance.

View more reviews for this inn


Manoa Valley Inn at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 23, 2016

The rooms were spacious and very quiet, allowing for good sleep. The breakfasts in the morning were ample and served on the back porch with a beautiful view of the garden. The hosts were very polite and accomodating. The parking was a little tight, but there was always parking. Overall, the stay was very good and I would go there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and romantic place at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 21, 2016

It's a heritage building, Victoria style. Very good location, near Waikiki and University of Hawaii. You can walk to find good Japanese restaurant. Beautiful backyard and very good breakfast outside. Good customer service, air conditioner sometimes doesn't work well.

View more reviews for this inn


Manoa Valley Inn at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2016

Good breakfast each morning with the host people being very pleasant. Location was away from Waikiki so it was very convenient to travel to other parts of the island. Parking was tight at times but sufficient.

View more reviews for this inn


Satisfactory at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on September 28, 2016

We found the parking difficult, but staff was pleasant and facility was clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful morning at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on July 25, 2016

In the morning, you will be awaken by the singing of birds and you see the Summit of Diamond Head lit by sunrise.(From the Cooke room.) Breakfast was excellent in the lanai surrounded by the garden.. Very convenient location if you rent a car. This is an old house and there are some points to be improved.But,overall I love this B&B and wish to come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location & rooms at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on July 22, 2016

Needed a place to stay in town that was near to family and not Waikiki. The location as great, room was comfortable and made us feel at home, breakfasts with made-to-order hotcakes & eggs were great bonus. As a vegetarian, the non-meat (fruits, steamed vegs, rice, etc.) options in the morning (all available without having to ask!) were a great start to the days. Having the family dogs on site too made it feel more like a friendly guest house than a hotel. Will stay here again. (Note to people unfamiliar with Hawaii neighborhoods...) I have seen other reviews pan this place because the expectation was for a new hotel feel. Before you visit, please understand that this is a historic house in one of the wetter (lots of rains) neighborhoods in Honolulu. Go expecting a welcoming old home in Manoa & you'll be good. Go expecting a modern hotel and... well, you should go to a modern hotel in Waikiki instead - there are plenty and to each their own.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway for a laid back rest at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2016

This is a cozy home feel type place. Only 6 rooms, max 2 per room, and no kids. Beautiful strolling garden area and healthy breakfast options. This is our third stay now and it really is starting to feel like home!

View more reviews for this inn


Not a true B&B at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

2.2 reviewed on July 13, 2016

I have stayed in many B&Bs throughout the world and Manoa is not ran as the typical B&B. We stayed almost a full week and never once met the owners or the owners family that also lived on site. Early each morning 2 young girls would show up to not only take care of guests but also serve the owners and her family. The bedding and towels are very old....I will not be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoy the peace, quiet, and beauty of old Hawaii at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 27, 2016

My favorite cool and shady place was the salt pool hidden among tropical trees and blooming plants. Delightful and refreshing! The staff was helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was a healthy and tasteful variety of tropical fruits, pancakes, eggs, cereals, etc -- all organic and mostly local.

View more reviews for this inn


a quiet place surrounded by gardens, green, and birds at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on June 15, 2016

this historic home is old and lovely, full of ambiance of days gone by. I love the peace and quiet, the green and raucous blooming of tropical plants, and also the salt pool for cooling off and swimming. Just plain charming.

View more reviews for this inn


TOUGH CALL FOR ALL BUT A NICHE B&B GUEST at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

2.6 reviewed on June 07, 2016

The inn appears to be on a stable track of restoration and upgrade by the current owners. Manoa Valley Inn is most appropriate for the niche B&B guest or old house lover, with the exception of those who are looking for a romantic hideaway. A few realities: There is no one waiting at the front door or in the main hall for your arrival. There is no bellman or staff to help with luggage. All of the rooms are on either the second or the third floor requiring a steep ascent up a lengthy staircase. The inn's backyard is a verdant garden space of lovely tranquility. The skyline of hotels may not be visible from the lanai, but the plantings and green space make for a tranquil haven. The small swimming pool is a nice added amenity. Breakfast was a mixed bag, heavy on vegetables and starches. The fruit was very good, but not in abundant supply. The offer of egg OR pancake struck me as decidedly less than opulent. Egg OR pancake? REALLY, at these rates. This could have been the result of a linguistic variation in the accent of our Japanese-American host staff member. Either way, the requested over-easy egg came out fried hard. The breakfast background music was calming and Zen-like but also a bit melancholy and heavy-handedly new-age-ish. The two rooms we had were clean and met our basic expectations. The bedding is in need of an upgrade. The plumbing worked. Our check-in and arrival instructions had been basic as well, leaving it to us to figure out that the rooms DID in fact have a form of air conditioning. The wall remotes in each bedroom controlled a wall-mounted cooler that restored comfort in short order. But you shouldn't have to figure out the controls yourself. Word was that once some of the big ticket infrastructure issues were addressed, the rooms would be upgraded next. Sorry we couldn't have seen the post-improvement MVI interiors. It's heartening to think that the gorgeous Manoa Valley Inn will again shine as it once did.

View more reviews for this inn


Cosy retreat at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 26, 2016

This is our second time staying at Manoa Valley Inn.We stayed for our Wedding Anniversary in February and returned to celebrate my husbands birthday.What we enjoy the most id the peaceful setting, ,cozy sheets and the wonderful breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


good place to stay at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on April 21, 2016

we have enjoyed this place for our stay on Oahu.

View more reviews for this inn


Away from the hustle and bustle! at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 18, 2016

We stayed with the Youngs for a nice long stay in March. We had a great stay, and they are great hosts. The only reason we gave a 4 for the rooms is to alert you that you will likely share a bathroom. Since we knew that ahead of time, we were fine with it. Phyllis provides a wonderful assortment of yummy and healthy things for breakfast, which are best enjoyed on the deck that overlooks the salt water pool and has a lovely ocean view. We slept soundly and felt at home! Thank you, Phyllis and Don!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 09, 2016

We stayed here in September 2015. Phyllis is a great cook and has very good and healthy breakfasts. The room was good and they had travel books and information handy to read. They are in a beautiful location with great views and very near snorkeling in Hanauma Bay. Don and Phyllis are excellent hosts and helpful. They have a saltwater swimming pool as well.

View more reviews for this inn


very comfortable and familiar at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on April 05, 2016

This B&B, the ornate classical house near the University of Hawaii, is now managed by the Japanese family, so it's very comfortable for us Japanese clients. The room is classical and large, although the bathroom is rather plain. The breakfast service is very good and order-made (but they have little milk). The location is a little far from the city-center, while there are so many connections of bus: it would be perfect to offer some bus tickets to the center.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B in a nice neighborhood in Honolulu at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

I lived in Honolulu as a child and hadn't been back in over 30 years, so I wanted to avoid the tourist highrises of Waikiki. My wife and I were not disappointed, Manoa Valley in was lovely. In comparison to hotel prices in the area, it is a great value, and to be able to hear the birds first thing in the morning and feel like you really are LIVING there instead of just visiting is a treat. The staff are friendly, helpful and not at all intrusive. The garden is wild and lush and I wouldn't want it any other way. I almost want to keep this place a secret, as we will be staying here again the next time we visit Honolulu.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home and neighborhood at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on March 01, 2016

Manoa Valley is a very nice place to stay. Walking the neighborhood for restaurants and bus service was very comfortable. The home was beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Very cute! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on February 28, 2016

I visited this inn with my family. My daughter wished to stay for it's traditional atmospheres. We can enjoy old day Hawaiian old house. It was a great memories for us.

View more reviews for this inn


Visit the past! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on February 19, 2016

We chose this Bed & Breakfast to celebrate our 32nd Anniversary because it looked romantic and unique. Our room was the "Cooke"and it was lovely. The shower was large and had plenty of hot water. The 4 poster bed had a chandelier light above it that was charming.The flowered sheets were soft and cozy.Our breakfast on the patio was generous.It was so delicious with coffee,two types of juice,eggs,Portuguese sausage,potatoes, pancakes,& assorted breads.Rice & sauteed vegetables were offered also. The staff were friendly and polite.We enjoyed our stay very much and will return again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts and great place :) at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on February 04, 2016

We had lots of fun and good talks. The house has a spectacular location! Hosts are very friendly and caring! Thanks Phyllis and Don!

View more reviews for this inn


Musty, dusty, smelly….that describes Manoa Valley Inn. at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

1.0 reviewed on February 01, 2016

Our group reserved two rooms, both were smelly, musty and dusty. Our rooms were on the third floor, no elevator, and parts of the staircase did not have handrails. Bathroom facilities were primitive. Pillows smelled musty; bedding and towels had never seen hot water or bleach. Signage for the Inn was difficult to see..we located it by process of elimination. No staff could be found when we decided to check out after one night so we had to carry our own baggage down the two flights of stairs.Certainly did not meet the expectations set by the B&B listing. If we could have found staff when we left, we would have requested a refund. Don't waste your time or money! Disgusting!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful alternative to a hotel in Honolulu at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on January 02, 2016

Manoa Valley Inn lies near University of Hawaii up the hill and across the H-1 highway from Honolulu. It is a beautiful and majestic palatial house with about 8 rooms on the second and third floor for guests. The first floor is occupied by the host family with their dogs and cats, including Peace, a small and charming dog who greets you and cages pets if you are interested. The furnishings are beautiful Victorian era and house is magnificent. There is a garden and a pool. Breakfast is served on a covered veranda overlooking the garden, with the skyline of Honolulu in the distance. We enjoyed watching the fireworks of Waikiki from our room on several evenings. On the second floor there is a sunroom overlooking the garden and Honolulu to the South. The owners are friendly and welcoming. Our stay was quiet and relaxing. The AC kept the room at a comfortable temperature. On return visit to Oahu, I would look forward to staying again at the Manoa Valley Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Better than any hotel. at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on January 01, 2016

Were only able to stay one night but it was beautiful and peaceful. We will definitly be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise in Manoa at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2015

Enchanting in every way¿¿¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Bit different but pleasant at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on October 17, 2015

Friendly atmosphere, and if you like dogs they are friendly too! Renovations seem close to completion and lovely gardens that could be a bit more growth controlled. Without a car it is just a bit out of the way, until you catch on to the handy by bus system! A refreshing change from Waikiki!! And close to the university. We enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great value and location! Awesome hosts! at Aloha Bed & Breakfast (Honolulu, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on October 08, 2015

We really enjoyed our long stay at the Aloha B and B! The hosts were great, the rooms very nice, the location was very good, and our time there when not out site seeing was both relaxing and fun. Thanks for a great stay! Blessings, G and B

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful & peaceful get away! at Manoa Valley Inn (Honolulu, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on August 12, 2015

We enjoy a wonderful & peaceful stay and recommend the Manoa Valley Inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Aloha Bed & Breakfast (4.49)
  2. Manoa Valley Inn (4.08)
Top
}