Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

One of a kind--do not miss experience at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 23, 2017

We had such a wonderful time at the inn. It is unique and beautiful. The buildings are a little shabby and modest, but our rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had lots of fun at the waterfall and enjoyed the serenity of the gardens. The drive up from Hilo takes about 12 minutes and is beautiful. Breakfast was ample and had lots of fresh fruit.

View more reviews for this inn


a quiet location and near Volcano National Park at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on April 20, 2017

Short stay but comfortable and hosts knowledgeable and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B that has it all at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Loved the view, the breakfasts, the linens,and the entire ambiance of our room. We stayed in the Bay Room with the 4 poster bed. What a great bed. And TIna was a wonderful host. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

Friendly and accommodating service. Fresh fruit every morning with crepes, home made cakes, and other items (English muffins, toast, yogurt, etc.). Gorgeous views of the bay with a spectacular sun rises.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2017

We loved this B&B. Very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was dreamy. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed eating them on the lanai with a view of Hilo Bay. This B&B is near downtown but not in the bustle. Loved Tina the host too...

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Location at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 14, 2017

Rooms, location and service are outstanding. Breakfast could do with some more non-carb options. Quiet, yet close to activities in SE Big Isle. Would stay here again without hesitation.

View more reviews for this inn


Very happy at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2017

We are from Oahu and needed a place to stay while in Hilo for a workshop. Felt as if we were staying over with a friend or relative. Excellent breakfast, quality time with Daisy and Spike, and wonderful conversations on the front deck with both staff and guests. Hoping to return again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B with a view at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 11, 2017

This is a great place to spend a few nights on the Hilo side of Hawaii. My wife and I stayed in the Harmony house in the Hibiscus suite, perfect place. We had a private, screened in, patio and only four steps to the fence to enjoy the beautiful waterfall. Room a little cramped but with the added patio it was perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


an authentic local base for exploring Goddess Pele's natural volcanic wonders at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2017

We spent three enjoyable nights here, while visiting with family and touring Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and other natural wonders. Ira's Artist Cottage is perfect for a single or a couple who want a quiet comfortable place to relax after a busy day of touring. The four person outdoor jacuzzi around the corner from the front door of the cottage was very relaxing. Fruit, delicious granola, banana bread, coffee, and a choice of teas provided a good start to each day. On the same grounds as the Cottage is the Volcano Garden Arts gallery, filled with a wide variety of local arts and crafts, and Cafe Ono, a great vegetarian restaurant. The entrance to the National Park is just four miles upslope. We very much enjoyed our time at the Artist Cottage, and recommend it highly to anyone who wants an authentic local base for exploring Goddess Pele's natural volcanic wonders.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hilo getaway at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2017

A wonderful stay, close to many Hilo shops and restaurants. Lovely view of the water, and large, beautiful, and clean rooms. Breakfast was always delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic B&B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2017

Stunning location and more stunning home. We absolutely loved our stay, the owners are fun and engaging and the breakfast spectacular. You could not ask for better, just like visiting a friend.

View more reviews for this inn


Mahalo Gary and Barbara, at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on March 19, 2017

It was lovely to be at your beautiful home. I enjoyed my rocker time in the morning and afternoons and the flowers and birds. You are very gracious hosts, making it feel as though each visitor is special. The breakfasts were outstanding. I loved the variety of fruits especially as there were some I hadn't tasted. I look forward to another stay with you in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Experience at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on March 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the history, character and gardens of the house. The Shipmans were very nice people and gave us an experience we will not forget. They explained their family history, the history of the area, and even the grew the breakfast ingredients on the property! They gave an explanation of everything on the fruit plate.

View more reviews for this inn


Island perfection at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on March 06, 2017

We stayed in the Palm Room and loved it. The cross breeze off the ocean made for great sleeps and the owners were attentive but not intrusive. They reacted quickly and efficiently to all requests. I had read about tree frogs keeping people awake but they were quiet for us! I have been to at least 15 countries on vacation and highly recommend this sanctuary. A five minute walk downtown with the ocean on one side and a waterfall visible upstream on the other made this an ideal location. We would definitely stay here again! Bill and Mary

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo Gem at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2017

Enjoyed my stay and was truly taken incredible care of by my hosts. Thank you and when I return to Hilo this is where I will stay.

View more reviews for this inn


3 nights at Inn at Kulaniapia Falls at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on March 04, 2017

What a delightful place to stay! The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The Inn is away from the tourist crowd and a restful place to be. Breakfast is delicious with fruits, breads, waffles, yogurt and cereals. Would have been nice to be able to have some eggs for variety and fewer carbs. I would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights with my 2 sisters and my brother-in-law. We fell in love with the beautiful home and greatly enjoyed Barbara and Gary, our gracious hosts. Wonderful breakfasts on their veranda were highlighted by a huge tray of local fruits. Returning to the Shipman House at the end of a busy day felt like coming home! Barb Miles City, Montana

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This is our second visit to this wonderful place. Whenever we stay in Hilo, we stay here. It's so wonderful to wake up to birds singing, and go to sleep listening to the waves covering the shores! The breakfasts provided always include fresh fruit daily. The pineapple bread with the crumble topping was my wife's favorite, who wishes she had the recipe! Thanks again Tina. We appreciate your hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Waterfall Inn at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This is a beautiful and very unique Inn. The location is amazing and peaceful. All details are covered and directed toward peace and calm.

View more reviews for this inn


TINA KNOWS HOW TO RUN A B&B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 24, 2017

We stayed in the Harbor Room. It was an excellent choice for our needs and the view from our lanai was spectacular. We really liked Tina's respect for privacy, attention to detail concerning room decoration and just about everything on the property. We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to our friends and actually already have given details to them. Aloha and Mahalo, Tina.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Hilo at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2017

Shipman House is a treasure of Hilo for sure. Barbara and Gary are great hosts. The breakfasts are phenomenal. The house is gorgeous and very comfortable. It is a short walk to downtown Hilo. We also made the short walk in the opposite direction to see the Rainbow Falls. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Good Value at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on February 23, 2017

The beach at the end of this quiet street is lovely! The room is quite good but lacking chairs to sit on. Bathroom: shower is not enclosed and so shower water goes on the floor that we walk to the toilet and vanity sink. Being a bungalow, you can hear your neighbor. The kitchen is shared by other room, so the smell depends on what they cook. Our room is nice and clean and it is nice to stay in a neighborhood, rather than a hotel.

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts and convenient location in Hilo!! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Hilo Bay Hale! Matthew made amazing breakfasts for us and was a fantastic resource. The B&B was just a few blocks from downtown, easy walk to shops and restaurants. We made some new friends there as well. We will definitely stay there next time we are on the Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


First vsit to Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2017

This was our first visit to Hilo. The location was convenient to everything that we were interested in doing. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was excellent. The hosts were very pleasant. We would stay here again at a future visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2017

The Shipman House lived up to the on-line reviews. The B&B is a true treasure. The location is private, yet an easy walk into Hilo. Conversations about Hilo with the owners over a magnificent breakfast were informative and helped direct our exploration of the area. Overall, I highly recommend the Shipman House, especially considering limited options for upper end accommodations in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Shipman House - over the top as always at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2017

Atmosphere is friendly. Breakfasts are excellent with a wide variety of fruits, homemade granola, jams, biscuits and breads. Home is a wonderful example of early 20th Century Hawaiian architecture. Lanais are plentiful and expansive. We have stayed at Shipman House many times and been never disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Bay House, Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on February 20, 2017

Great location, close to downtown. Friendly keeper. Comfortable room and lanai. Enjoyed a private breakfast on the lanai.

View more reviews for this inn


Shipman Review at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on February 20, 2017

Gary, the host, was awesome!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Wonderful!!!s at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2017

We have stayed at the Bay House before and have always had a wonderful time there. We sleep to the sound of the ocean....we awake to birds singing and happy! The breakfast is tasty and well prepared, thoughtfully planned. Tina is a fabulous hostess...be sure and ask Tina for the cinnamon apple bread with your breakfast, it's beyond tasty! Thanks for all you do Tina, once again you have outdone yourself! Aloha! Leialoha H.

View more reviews for this inn


Didn't want to leave at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2017

Not only is Shipman House a beautiful, historic home, but the hosts, Barbara and Gary are so welcoming. I truly felt like we were guests, rather than customers. And the breakfasts. All that delicious fresh fruit, the Portuguese sweet bread, the homemade granola, and the lilikoi butter. I would go back in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}