Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

This is what quality is like for a bed and breakfast at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2018

If you're looking to stay at a bed & breakfast in the Hilo area book this one. You will not be disappointed. The hosts are kind a caring and truly want you to enjoy your stay. The rooms are nicely decorated in Hawaiian themes. Quality is apprent everywhere from the Hawaiian style quilts on the beds to the art on the walls. The rooms are spacious. The beds are comfy. They've even provided earplugs because the night birds chirp right outside the windows in the Palm Room. It is wonderful to sit on the lanai and have breakfast. Oh my, the breakfast is scrumptious. Presentation is key and this doesn't miss a beat. Fine dishes and cutlery and napkins on a tray allow you to take to the lanai. There is a hot tub bay side. Don't hesitate in booking this marvelous place with fantastic hosts, you won't be sorry.

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely B & B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2018

A very charming place, Beautifully decorated, - right by the ocean & a lovely breakfas. We would certainly go back. Thank you Christine!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2018

Wonderful stay in the Palm Room which lived up to expectations. The room is comfortable and surrounded by Palms and a lovely view of Hilo Bay. Tina went out of her way to make us feel welcomed. Breakfast each morning was a delight. Would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2018

This bed-and-breakfast is in an excellent location downtown. It is removed from the hustle and bustle but yet close enough that we went out every night to pick up dinner and eat it in the well appointed kitchen. The B&B hosts live elsewhere so the house is one’s own. The breakfast were healthy and farm – fresh with the fruit and eggs locally produced. We stayed in the Lava room which has its own entrance and which was spacious and well lit; the only challenge was the steps going into the bathroom. At times they were challenging.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location on Hilo Bay & near downtown at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on February 01, 2018

Nice room with a lanai overlooking Hilo Bay. Ideal for a private breakfast. Owners kept a low profile, but very nice when we met them. No hot breakfast, but individual baskets with fruit, pastries & either a quiche or omelette. The walk to town is short, but the singing bridge is a little sketchy at night or when it is raining. Overall a very nice B&B that excels in privacy, but just OK for breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, peacful place on the Big Island! at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on January 23, 2018

We stayed 3 nights in Hilo for easy access to Volcano National Park. The B&B was just what we needed, a beautiful vista with lots of guide books, delicious healthy breakfasts and even a dog and cat to play with. Other guests were delightful and shared their experiences during the morning breakfast. Lory, our host, was very professional and helpful with local information. We highly recommend this B&B to travelers who enjoy meeting others.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Hilo B&B! at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2018

Great atmosphere, food, spacious room and welcoming host. Conveniently located. Highly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Hilo B&B full of old charm at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 13, 2018

This was our very first Bed & Breakfast and we couldn't have been happier. My only regret is we only could stay one night. I would have loved to have been able to explore Hilo more and this B&B was a perfect place to stay. Matthew is a gracious host and made a fabulous breakfast with lovely fresh fruit and freshly squeeze juice from trees which I think he said were at his farm. All delicious. Our room was the lava room. It is located in the basement but this is not your grandmother's basement! This is a walkout basement with pretty private patio off the sliding door. Room was beautifully appointed and the bed was the best! So comfortable!!!! I did have to remember to watch my step when leaving the bathroom, but it was a really fun bathroom with rain shower. Thanks Matthew for the best first experience at a B&B we could have ever hoped for. Hope to be back one day!!!

View more reviews for this inn


View at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 09, 2018

The best part of staying at the Bay House was eating breakfast on our own porch area and watching the sunrise over the water.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible property in an amazing location! at Volcano Village Lodge (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2018

I spent a few days at Volcano Village on my way from Hilo to Kona. It was the PERFECT place to stop on my journey of the island. From the moment I arrived I felt like I was home. A peaceful relaxing oasis in the rain forest! Minutes away from Volcano National Park I was able to visit the park during the day and also in the evening when you clearly see the lava lake. Kelsea gave me directions to a Black Sand Beach 30 minutes South of the property. The snorkeling and privacy at the beach was like nothing I've ever experienced! This property is a must for anyone visiting The Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2018

I loved this B&B. Loved the owner, they went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. The location was perfect too. I would go back stay there in a heartbeat. I am hoping I can stay here again one day.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm and friendly old world charm at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on December 18, 2017

We stayed two nights in the Hawaiian Room at the Old Hawaiian and loved our time there. The B&B is conveniently located within a 5min drive of Hilo town and the beautiful Rainbow Falls and less than an hour to the Volcano National Park. The room was lovely and bed incredibly comfortable - we had a great sleep both nights and felt fully rested for the day ahead. Lory made a great breakfast including fresh fruit from their own fruit trees and we loved meeting their dog Daisy who was adorable! (If you're not a dog person fear not as she stayed inside until we asked to meet her). We wouldn't hesitate at all staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful room, great location, amazing breakfast, awesome host at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 01, 2017

My wife an I stayed at Hilo Bay Hale B&B for only one night, but once we saw the room, we really wanted to stay longer. We slept in the Lava Room, which is situated in the basement and therefore a bit hard to find at first. This room is furnished in Japanese style with a very comfortable King-sized bed and a great bathroom with the best rain shower ever. The breakfast was amazing with many items to choose from. The host was very friendly and really made us feel right at home. I would definitely highly recommend this place to anybody visiting Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location for a visit to Hilo side! at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on December 01, 2017

We spent three nights here and loved it. Bayside has 3 guest rooms right on the bay. Each has its own lanai with the sound of the surf below where you can relax in the morning with your breakfast or the evening as you unwind. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Our hosts were friendly and accomodating! Bayside is located right across the bridge from downtown Hilo. It is an easy 45-60 minute drive to Volcanoes National Park, and a short drive in the other direction to the Botanical Gardens. We stayed in the Palm room and loved it. Windows on 3 sides, spacious and very relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay In Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 22, 2017

We had such a great time at the Hilo Bay Hale! If we could go back tomorrow we would, the staff was so friendly, accommodating and helpful with advice for our time on the Big Island. If you are going to Hilo stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfort by the Bay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2017

Spent four nights in the Harbor Room. Very, very nice accommodations. Very private, yet close enough to walk to Hilo across the “singing bridge.” I slept extremely well each night with the sound of the waves crashing right outside your door. The coqui frogs are there, but their pleasant chirping was overcome by the rhythmic ocean sounds. Amazing breakfasts were suppliied every morning. Plenty of good restaurants to visit in town, with Nuang Mai Thai Restaurant being a personal favorite. The bayfront parks, Banyan Drive, and Liliuokalani Gardens are all worth visiting. The Bay House is definitely a place I would recommend to people who are not looking for the large hotel experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Hilo Stau at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on November 04, 2017

We had a great time. Small place with 3 rooms overlooking the bay. No restaurant but you could bring to your private lanai. I definitely recommend and would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on October 29, 2017

Wonderful B&B in an easy and convenient location in Hilo. Christine was welcoming and accommodating in helping us with needs and questions. Stayed in the Palm Room, which was very private. Easy to come and go at your leisure without feeling you were disturbing anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on October 18, 2017

We loved the room and the beautiful waterfall and serenity of the inn. Breakfast could be improved. Same breakfast the days we stayed. Would be nice to have eggs offered. Other than that, would recommend to couples or families.

View more reviews for this inn


Very good at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2017

During our trip to Big Island we wished to live some days in a typical Hawaiian house and we have been totally satisfied: our room (Lava Room) was big, clean, surrounded by trees, we remeber the kindness of the owner, breakfast in the lanai and the warm atmosphere of the kitchen! (and we could also park the car inside the yard)

View more reviews for this inn


4 nights in hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2017

Spend 4 nights in Hilo Bay House,to visit Volcano National Park and Lava Viewing. Very friendly Host Tina and her husband Tom. We felt like at home.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice rooms and quiet area! at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on September 13, 2017

The room was spacious and clean with a/c! A nice beach was a very short walk away

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Gem in Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 11, 2017

This is an amazing place to stay in Hilo. Very peaceful, with a small creek flowing through the backyard. Walkable to downtown and easy access to things nearby Hilo. Very friendly and accommodating hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Da KINE BnB in Hilo! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2017

Great location. Beautiful building and gardens. Outstanding, different breakfast every day. Delightful staff. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Found this last minute and got really lucky at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on August 06, 2017

We booked an Airbnb that was not what it was advertised, so we scrambled for a couple nights stay and found the hill bay hale . Our room was charming, old Hawaii, clean, and had a private deck overlooking a landscaped backyard with a stream and koi pond. what a value being right in town, and we got this great breakfast that Micheal made to boot!

View more reviews for this inn


The Bay House/Harbour Room at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on August 03, 2017

Large pleasant rooms, ample parking, spacious common area, delicious and full size breakfast, ocean-side and ocean-view, private, access to recreational items, comfortable bed, use of refrigerator and microwave, close to downtown via the Singing Bridge, considerate owner/host. Fans and cross-breeze, no air-conditioning. Earplugs provided due to coqui (noisy invasive frogs).

View more reviews for this inn


Neighborhoood Gem at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Lory, mahalo for offering a wonderful stay. The Sunshine Room provided a great respite from Honolulu and a chance for us to get better acquainted with the surrounding neighborhood we plan to call home in 2019. We enjoyed crossing paths with the other guests and exchange travel notes and tips about Hilo and the Big Island. Breakfast was a treat of fresh fruits from the expansive property. Our ice cream and egg fruit seedlings are budding nicely. A gem of a property that contributed to a wonderful staycation and sort of homecoming. We look forward to soon calling Hilo home. A Hui Hou! -Richard & Kalani

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2017

Lowry and Stewart have a great place. The breakfast was very good, like trying the local fruits.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Kulaniapia Falls at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2017

My stay exceeed my expectations. It was myself, my wife and my 13 year old son. The room was comfortable and the views breath taking. It was very quiet and relaxed. My son enjoyed swimming in the pool below the falls. My wife is planning for us to return. There is no on site dining but I understand that there are plans to add one in the next year. Plus you are only a 10 minute ride to Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise near Hilo at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a hidden gem of our vacation. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was oh so helpful and friendly. The only problem one might have is that the rooms are not air conditioned. But we found it perfectly fine. The gardens and waterfall with pool was fantastic. It was my wife's favorite day of our trip to Hawaii. The only onsite dining is breakfast which includes many fruits and nuts grown on the grounds.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }