Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Hilo great choice at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on December 01, 2016

Our room was decorated very nicely, very clean, and had plenty of places to store one's things. Breakfast is private in one's room as a basket is set out containing a complete breakfast. A fridge is available to use in the common room. Rooms each have private lanai with bay/ ocean view. There's an on the ground hot tub in back overlooking the bay, but on our visit all the back yard guide lights were not working, it was very dark, the steps unlit, and I couldn't manage to open the cover to the tub. but everything else was great, the location terrific. Will stay again if in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and Cosy at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on December 01, 2016

One of my best experience in a B&B. Nice room, friendly owners, excellent breakfat, convenient localition. Strongly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect place to stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on December 01, 2016

This is a lovely B and B overlooking the ocean and within easy walking distance to town. The owners Tina and Tom are friendly and welcoming and then leave you to your privacy. Each room is decorated with colour and flair and has impressive views from the individual balconies. A beautiful place to watch the sunrise. There is a large common room for all guests to use, with a fridge, microwave, toaster and a reading area. Early each morning Tina sets out individual trays there for each room, with covered baskets of lovely fruit, a simple omelette and freshly baked fruit bread, which guests then can eat at their leisure on their covered balconies overlooking the ocean. Guests have full use of the common room at all times and there's always some food and beverages available. The bathrooms are quite small and basic but very clean, and towels and soaps etc are refreshed daily which is a nice touch. We stayed in the corner Bay Harbour Room and recommend it for the expanse of windows, comfortable bed, large leather couch and good lighting. The outdoor hot tub overlooking the ocean is really pleasant at the end of the day. All in all a great choice for Hilo. (Be sure to go visit the Farmer's Market to pick up some fruit - friendly vendors, incredible value and delicious fruit!)

View more reviews for this inn


A Great B&B in the Heart of Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on November 30, 2016

The room we stayed at (Michner Room) was cozy and intimate, yet roomy enough to be comfortable. The private lanai surrounded by bamboo and overlooking the koi pond created a the tropical feel and added to the ambiance of the room. If you wanted a different place to hang out, relaxing in the living room or on the front porch were other appealing options. The bed was comfortable and, although there was an air conditioner, opening the windows to the breeze was enough to keep the room cool. Even though the room faced the road, road noise was not too much of an issue. Breakfast in the morning was cooked by the owners and it was delicious (French toast, fresh fruits, and juices) and provided an opportunity to chat with fellow travelers. In addition, Hilo Bay Hale is extremely convenient to downtown and we walked there for dinner and again for a morning stroll. When we go back to Hilo, we will definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Staff Food and Property at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff member who showed us to our room, and then to the covered dining deck overlooking the beautiful view of the falls. Next to the deck was the kitchen and the common room with couches, a bar with a mini fridge and a sink where we could chill our wine. Breakfast the next morning was ample and delicious. Our room was visually pleasing with an outdoor covered deck. The room and bathroom need some simple changes for functionality. It lacked racks for our suitcases, and enough towel racks. There was no Kleenex, and it seemed the king sized mattress may have been turned sideways because it was wider than the box spring foundation. The couch was comfy but we had to put the beautiful and heavy bedspread on it so we couldn't use the couch in the evening. We enjoyed our walk on the trails down to the falls where there was a gazebo, and a kayak for our use. We would stay again next time we are on the Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


A lodge in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2016

We stayed at this amazing place for our whole stay on Hawaii. It made activities on the west side of the island inconvenient.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in downtown Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 26, 2016

This bed and breakfast is an oasis in downtown Hilo. It's a warm and cozy place with lovely tropical landscaping that makes you feel worlds away while being in the center of town. Danny & Matthew have done a great job in creating a comfortable & inviting environment were you are welcomed as a friend.

View more reviews for this inn


A welcome retreat - but what's with the hot tub? at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on November 24, 2016

We stayed in the Bay room for two nights. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. We enjoyed our view, although it poured rain most of the time! The breakfast was outstanding. The hosts were there if you needed them, but stayed in the background. The one thing that we were a bit confused about was the hot tub. It was highlighted in the website but there was no mention of it once you got in the room (i.e. nothing in the in-room information or welcome letter from the owner) and nobody used it. We were very busy so didn't get a chance to ask about it but if it's not actually useable/functional then it shouldn't be part of the marketing materials.

View more reviews for this inn


Great first nights stay in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on November 22, 2016

We stayed in the main building and had a gorgeous view from our lanai. The only two things I would improve upon are eggs at breakfast and a softer bed. The inn is like an oasis by itself. We strolled through the bamboo garden, swam in the pool by the waterfall, ate breakfast on the main lanai with unbelievable views of the waterfall, had tea on our private lanai in the evenings. Fell asleep to cool nights and sounds of waterfall and frogs. Staff was wonderful with suggestions and service. Definitely was able to relax from our busy mainland lives with work, kids and home. Will recommend to everyone and stay again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and historic at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on November 21, 2016

We loved the Shipman House. It is simply beautiful, a restored piece of Hawaii history. The hosts are delightful and informative. Breakfast is memorable -- fresh fruits grown on the property, amazing pastries, delicious Kona coffee. We are particularly fond of the quiet Hilo side of Hawaii and this will be one of our favorite stops.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location - Beautiful World Class at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 21, 2016

My wife and I have stayed at a lot of B & B's and this ranks with the best. The location at the edge of downtown and on the water is fantastic. The rooms are very nicely decorated and they each have their own private ocean view porch for eating. Anita has created a wonderful experience here. We loved our time there and in Hilo. JN Sylvan Lake, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Nice place to stay. Room was nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable. .Everything about our stay was fine except the breakfast. We stayed four days and for all four days the breakfast menu was the same, flat egg omelette, manga half with pineapple and a store bought coffee cake. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, Raisin Bran and toast were also available. Other B&Bs we have stayed at in the past have offered a home cooked breakfast of pancakes or waffles or homemade muffins or pastries. I think the Bay House should offer a better breakfast in order to improve their rating.

View more reviews for this inn


A lodge in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 12, 2016

Amazing scenery! Staff are awesome! The only issue is that it is only accessible via Hilo (on east side of island).

View more reviews for this inn


One of our Best B&B Ever! at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2016

We have done a lot of traveling, and the Bay House is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Because of reservations, we stayed in two different rooms during our four nights. They where both gorgeous! They are uniquely decorated with great art and special touches. The proximity and the views/sounds of the ocean are tremendous. The food for breakfast was great, especially the fresh local fruit. The location to town (walk-able) is great. Tina is a very interesting and caring hostess. You will have to go far to find a better place than this. It would be great to return there some day. Jerry & Judy Nechal Sylvan Lake, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2016

I walked to all the downtown sights in Hilo, including the farmer's market and Lyman Museum. The breakfasts at the B&B were wonderful. I also loved their Kona coffee in the morning. I was there 3 nights and made regular use of their kitchen and dryer. The owners were so nice as was their help. I would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon at Shipman House at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Barbara and Gary are excellent hosts. The room and bed were very comfortable and tranquil. Getting up each morning for breakfast on the porch was a joy. Would love to return here!

View more reviews for this inn


2 nights at the Bay House at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on October 30, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay House. Our room was clean and ready at 3pm and our bed was super comfy. I had mentioned to Tina we were going up to Mauna Kea and she let us borrow heavy coats to borrow, which were much needed. We wouldn't have been able to enjoy Mauna Kea or stay long up there with out them. Breakfast was delicious which included fruits, egg tomato omlette, and a baked good which was prepared in a basket and you eat on your lanai. There was also yogurt, toast/english muffins, and hard boiled eggs. This made getting on with our day and not worrying about breakfast very convenient. Our room faced the bay and we watched sunrise (6:30am) from our bed every morning. I rarely watch sunrises so this was a real treat for me. The only thing negative was mosquitoes (probably due to location). We did get bit a bunch when we arrived, but Tina leaves OFF bug repellent in the room for you, which helped a bunch. You just have to make sure to keep your screen door closed at all times.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on October 26, 2016

Service was good, the breakfast was very fresh and tasty.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Cozy Cottage at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2016

My wife and I stayed here on our delayed honeymoon. We absolutely loved it! The cottage was so cozy and private. In addition, we loved walking around the grounds to see the lovely artwork as well as the friendly rabbit Noble. You literally have the whole area to yourself after 5 pm. If you stay, you must spend some time in the Tree Sanctuary! The staff were extremely friendly and made sure that fresh fruit and bread was available to us each morning. We even got a chance to speak with the owner Ira and he was so nice. This place is a must stay if you are planning to go to Volcano National Park as it is less than a 5 minute drive away. We hope to visit the Big Island again in the future and will definitely be staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts. Delicious breakfast, a Hawaiian special! at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on October 20, 2016

Shipman House was a good landing for sure. Perfect for first time visitors to the Big Island. Hosts guided us gently into Hilo and beyond. Wow.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem in Paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on October 18, 2016

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was an ideal respite for a 5-day stay in Hilo, Hawaii. The setting was idyllic and very zen-like and the Inn was not very far from the places we wanted to visit. Breakfast was delicious and offered a wide variety of fresh fruits, breads, granola, yogurt and delicious waffles. I would definitely recommend this sanctuary during a stay on the Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


Out of the way stay at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on October 17, 2016

We stayed here two nights in October. The room was well equipped, AC and TV but only 3 stations. It is really close to beaches. They have a kitchen that all of the guests can use. They put breakfast foods in the fridge for you to cook. We cooked bacon & eggs. They also have fruit in a bowl so we had fruit salad also. The outside area was nice with tables. The caretaker is very friendly and gives great tips. This is not a fancy place, but it you want to feel like you are living Hawaiian style then this is a good place for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfy and Neat Style at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on October 16, 2016

We were welcomed by Carolina and settled in to a nice room with a covered deck overlooking a joint pond. It is walking distance from the Farmers Market and shops in the downtown. The breakfasts were lovely and the covered decks and common spaces were comfortable--felt you were visiting a friends home (with a fun and well put together decor).

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding service at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2016

We celebrated our mom's 80th birthday at Shipman House. The property was beautiful, the staff friendly and Barb and Gary went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. I was very special and my mom couldn't have been happier. Thanks to everyone at Shipman House.

View more reviews for this inn


Best part of my Hawaiian Vacation at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on October 10, 2016

I found this B&B by chance while looking for places to stay for just a couple nights on the big island. Once I saw the waterfall I was sold. The drive to get out there takes just a little bit as the road is very windy and narrow, but well worth it. When we got there, I was blown away by how beautiful the area was. We had arrived very early and the staff worked hard and got us into our room earlier than quoted. We stayed in the Jade cabin. It is small, but more than enough room as I really didn't want to spend much time inside. I thought having no AC would be a problem, but the breezes were more than enough to keep us cool while in the room. Breakfast was good, about what I would expect from a B&B. The staff was very helpful in pointing out things we shouldn't miss on our short trip. We were able to swim and SUP at the waterfall and it is breathtaking. If I ever get the chance to return I will be staying here again.

View more reviews for this inn


A gem in the middle of paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on October 07, 2016

Beautiful, peaceful location in the heart of paradise.

View more reviews for this inn


Natural beauty at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on October 06, 2016

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls has a beautiful setting, it is peaceful and relaxing yet only 20 minutes away from Hilo. The ability to self cater is one of the benefits of the inn, along with the ample continental breakfast and the friendly staff who are only to willing to assist you if required.

View more reviews for this inn


good locations at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.0 reviewed on September 27, 2016

We did enjoy our stay and the yard was a great place to relax and do some reading

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Locationx at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on September 25, 2016

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls provided an absolutely amazing view in an amazing location. The Inn itself was beautiful with beautiful rooms. The Inn overlooks a waterfall, which is available for swimming. The location is extremely remote, which is perfect if you want to disconnect from reality. However, it is a negative when it comes to dining after a long day of sight-seeing.

View more reviews for this inn


Handy location at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on September 23, 2016

We stayed in the lava room very comfortable but could have a better fan maybe a ceiling fan. Easy to walk to restaurants for dinner and not far to drive to volcanoes national park.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}