Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Paradise near Hilo at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a hidden gem of our vacation. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was oh so helpful and friendly. The only problem one might have is that the rooms are not air conditioned. But we found it perfectly fine. The gardens and waterfall with pool was fantastic. It was my wife's favorite day of our trip to Hawaii. The only onsite dining is breakfast which includes many fruits and nuts grown on the grounds.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the Hawaiian Room at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2017

We stayed in the Hawaiian Room and the views of the garden were beautiful. Lory serves fresh fruit from the garden for breakfast and know the area well (great dinner recommendations). The other guests were wonderful to chat with on the Lanai at breakfast. Close to all the activities we wanted to do in Hilo. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Glad we could stay.

View more reviews for this inn


One word describes it - Fantastic at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2017

it was fabulous - beautiful property, excellent accommodations and wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Location and Value Cannot Be Beat at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2017

This was a wonderful place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Ira and the staff at the cafe and gallery are friendly and helpful but never intrusive. Especially after the gallery and cafe close for the day, the property is very peaceful and private. The fridge was well stocked, and we appreciated the abundance of coffee. We wish we could transplant the shower to our own house. It's wonderful. The hot tub is also a nice touch. It only takes about a 3-4 minute drive to get into Volcano National Park from the cottage, making it a great home base for hiking and nighttime lava viewing. There are also a few good restaurants right down the street in Volcano Village. There's private parking and a separate gate for accessing the cottage, so you can come and go easily. We really can't say anything bad about this place, and we would love to return someday.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B just outside Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on May 29, 2017

I stayed at Bay House with my wife for 3 nights. The B&B is a 5-10 minute walk into town so well situated for food and shopping. We booked the Harbour Room, with a nice view over the sea and away from the road, so quiet. The room was clean and well equipped, with a shared lounge area. The breakfasts were good which were made up fresh for us to eat on our lanai. If we go back to Hilo we would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay in historic B & B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on May 24, 2017

So glad we had the opportunity to stay at this historic b & b before it closes next month. The location was outstanding and our hosts were very nice!

View more reviews for this inn


Shipman House, Hilo HI at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 24, 2017

Great bed and breakfast to stay at while exploring the magical Big Island. Room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was amazing and the proprietors made us feel like family. Would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2017

We stayed two nights at Hilo Bay Hale B&B and loved it! Matthew was so welcoming and hospitable, the house is charming, our room (Lava) is beautiful and cool. Walking distance to everything - farmer's market, museums, restaurants. Everything delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Two night stay in May at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on May 16, 2017

The grounds are nice and quiet. Take the trail down to see all three or maybe 4 four waterfalls. Very nice. Rooms are acceptable. Clean but Lehua room was small. No AC but really didn't need it while we were there. There is a fan in the room. Some exaggerated the road. It is about 3 miles from town, a 10 minute drive. The grounds and scenery are worth it.

View more reviews for this inn


a piece of Hawaiian aloha and history... at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2017

We stayed here three nights in May. Our room was spacious and famous, the one where Jack London and his wife stayed. Outside our room was a wide veranda where we spent time, to sit,to enjoy being out of the rain and to absorb the peace. Breakfasts were divine. Home made biscuits, made by one of the owners and an explanation of all that was available by the other one. 4 kinds of granola, yogurt, toppings....various kinds of tropical fruit (all but papaya grown onsite)....bread and bagels that could be toasted, lilikoi butter, 4 or 5 fruit jams....fruit smoothie.....hot water for tea and coffee. And, the hosts sat and ate and talked story with us.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, quaint, comfortable stay! at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2017

The room was cozy and the breakfast was a lovely mix of locally sourced fruit and freshly baked scones. The smoothie was very refreshing as well and the owners were wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great time at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 09, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The property is spectacular. A very serene setting. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Place at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2017

We stayed at Old Hawaiian B&B one night, it was perfect, wish we could have stayed longer. Located in a residential area of Hilo, above the Wailuku river, set in a magnificent landscape of fruit trees, just minutes from waterfalls. Lory and Stewart are wonderful hosts, hospitality was exceptional. Highly recommend!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2017

We stayed two nights at Hilo Bay Hale B&B and it was wonderful. Matthew and Daniel are wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful, and the room (Lava) is beautiful. The location is very central, can walk to everything. We highly recommend Hilo Bay Hale, great choice for staying in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Inn in Fabulous Location at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 07, 2017

Lovely view of waterfall, eager staff, nice breakfast. Serene location.

View more reviews for this inn


Victorian Hawaiian Delight at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2017

Stayed in Aunt Clara's Shell Room for three days. I strongly recommend this B&B for travelers who want to stay on the east side of Hawaii. Barbara and Gary are delightful, thoughtful hosts. They restored Shipman House, a home that has been in Barbara's family for 100+ years. They know everything about the island and give very well thought out advice. The breakfasts consist of mostly homegrown fruits and from scratch baked breakfast breads, hot cereals, granola, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and yogurts. Must try the smoothies! Aunt Clara's private bathroom is not ensuite,, but the room looks out onto Hilo Bay. Beautiful!

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind--do not miss experience at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 23, 2017

We had such a wonderful time at the inn. It is unique and beautiful. The buildings are a little shabby and modest, but our rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had lots of fun at the waterfall and enjoyed the serenity of the gardens. The drive up from Hilo takes about 12 minutes and is beautiful. Breakfast was ample and had lots of fresh fruit.

View more reviews for this inn


a quiet location and near Volcano National Park at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on April 20, 2017

Short stay but comfortable and hosts knowledgeable and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B that has it all at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Loved the view, the breakfasts, the linens,and the entire ambiance of our room. We stayed in the Bay Room with the 4 poster bed. What a great bed. And TIna was a wonderful host. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

Friendly and accommodating service. Fresh fruit every morning with crepes, home made cakes, and other items (English muffins, toast, yogurt, etc.). Gorgeous views of the bay with a spectacular sun rises.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2017

We loved this B&B. Very comfortable and well appointed. The bed was dreamy. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed eating them on the lanai with a view of Hilo Bay. This B&B is near downtown but not in the bustle. Loved Tina the host too...

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding Location at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on April 14, 2017

Rooms, location and service are outstanding. Breakfast could do with some more non-carb options. Quiet, yet close to activities in SE Big Isle. Would stay here again without hesitation.

View more reviews for this inn


Very happy at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2017

We are from Oahu and needed a place to stay while in Hilo for a workshop. Felt as if we were staying over with a friend or relative. Excellent breakfast, quality time with Daisy and Spike, and wonderful conversations on the front deck with both staff and guests. Hoping to return again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B with a view at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 11, 2017

This is a great place to spend a few nights on the Hilo side of Hawaii. My wife and I stayed in the Harmony house in the Hibiscus suite, perfect place. We had a private, screened in, patio and only four steps to the fence to enjoy the beautiful waterfall. Room a little cramped but with the added patio it was perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


an authentic local base for exploring Goddess Pele's natural volcanic wonders at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2017

We spent three enjoyable nights here, while visiting with family and touring Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and other natural wonders. Ira's Artist Cottage is perfect for a single or a couple who want a quiet comfortable place to relax after a busy day of touring. The four person outdoor jacuzzi around the corner from the front door of the cottage was very relaxing. Fruit, delicious granola, banana bread, coffee, and a choice of teas provided a good start to each day. On the same grounds as the Cottage is the Volcano Garden Arts gallery, filled with a wide variety of local arts and crafts, and Cafe Ono, a great vegetarian restaurant. The entrance to the National Park is just four miles upslope. We very much enjoyed our time at the Artist Cottage, and recommend it highly to anyone who wants an authentic local base for exploring Goddess Pele's natural volcanic wonders.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hilo getaway at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2017

A wonderful stay, close to many Hilo shops and restaurants. Lovely view of the water, and large, beautiful, and clean rooms. Breakfast was always delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Historic B&B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2017

Stunning location and more stunning home. We absolutely loved our stay, the owners are fun and engaging and the breakfast spectacular. You could not ask for better, just like visiting a friend.

View more reviews for this inn


Mahalo Gary and Barbara, at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on March 19, 2017

It was lovely to be at your beautiful home. I enjoyed my rocker time in the morning and afternoons and the flowers and birds. You are very gracious hosts, making it feel as though each visitor is special. The breakfasts were outstanding. I loved the variety of fruits especially as there were some I hadn't tasted. I look forward to another stay with you in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Experience at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on March 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the history, character and gardens of the house. The Shipmans were very nice people and gave us an experience we will not forget. They explained their family history, the history of the area, and even the grew the breakfast ingredients on the property! They gave an explanation of everything on the fruit plate.

View more reviews for this inn


Island perfection at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on March 06, 2017

We stayed in the Palm Room and loved it. The cross breeze off the ocean made for great sleeps and the owners were attentive but not intrusive. They reacted quickly and efficiently to all requests. I had read about tree frogs keeping people awake but they were quiet for us! I have been to at least 15 countries on vacation and highly recommend this sanctuary. A five minute walk downtown with the ocean on one side and a waterfall visible upstream on the other made this an ideal location. We would definitely stay here again! Bill and Mary

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }