Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Aaron's Hilo B and B at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on January 11, 2017

Alan is the current care taker of the 7 units and he is GREAT! Breakfast is a help yourself: cook it, eat it and then clean up after yourself. Not too far from the Volcano National Park.

View more reviews for this inn


Volcano Artist Cottage at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2017

Loved our stay at the Artist Cottage. We especially appreciated (since it got chilly in the evening) the heated bed mattress pad. The grounds are so lovely and Ira is quite personable. The distance to Volcanoes National Park is great. We also enjoyed having fruit and granola supplied in the cottage along with some milk etc. We wish we would have tried the hot tub but never made it out there so we'll save that for next time!

View more reviews for this inn


2 nights in rainy December at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on January 06, 2017

Very nice place to stay. Even closer to the harbor and downtown than I expected! Beautiful rooms for a great value. We'd certainly stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


I would stay here again anytime! at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 01, 2017

Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the pagoda house which was amazing! It had everything we needed. The view was fantastic! Hearing the waterfall right outside was the best part. The breakfast was good and everyone was so friendly. I would recommend them to anyon

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet stay at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on January 01, 2017

Hilo Bay Hale was a lovely place to stay very near downtown Hilo. We arrived late and they left us keys and easy instructions. There is off street parking technically for three but if you arrive late and other guests don't take care - there may not be a site. Carolina and Matthew were wonderful hosts who provided a healthy and yummy breakfast and recommendations on things to do. The sweet Hawaiian bread French toast with coconut syrup was a special treat! We had the basement room which was very spacious. The only trouble we had is with the hot water in the shower - it would not always stay hot. It might be a quirky on demand heater? Also the volume of water coming out of the shower was excessive- beyond luxurious- definitely wasteful. The location was perfect walking distance to downtown Hilo - we enjoyed Hilo ukuleles, the water front, the Tsunami museum and Pineapples for lunch. Plus the drive under the banyans, Richardson's beach and Kapolo tide pools were extra special. I would highly recommend this inn for the comfort, location and gracious hosts!

View more reviews for this inn


Aaron's Cottage Xmas at Aarons Cottage (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on December 30, 2016

There are three new units and three older units. This is our second time staying in an old unit, which is fine. Allen is the GREATEST. He'll help you with any concerns or needs.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the decor at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2016

We felt so lucky that Matthew and Danny saved this property from the bulldozer and allow travelers like us to share in the history. Property is very convenient for walking to downtown Hilo, Lyman Museum, several other sites. Rooms were very nice, loved the collectibles and antiques. Breakfast with abundant fresh fruit, yogurt, breads and hot foods was terrific. We enjoyed chatting with both of our hosts who are knowledgeable about the area and interesting people. They go out of their way to make you feel at home offering use of their washer and dryer, kitchen grill. It felt like visiting family without the typical squabbling!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay! at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2016

Where do I begin! We had such a wonderful time at the Shipman House. We loved Hilo and enjoyed every moment of our stay.- there was so much to do and see! Gary made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived, and we loved chatting with both he and Barbara every morning. Their passion for the island is infectious, and they were so eager to share their knowledge, advice, and stories about the island with us. We miss the sounds of the coqui frogs every night and the amazing breakfast every morning. The delicious fresh fruit and baked goodies every day were such a treat! Thank you Gary and Barbara, we hope to be back some day! Mahalo, Rebecca and John (11/15-11/20)

View more reviews for this inn


Unique B&B Location and Hosts at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on December 15, 2016

My familly had a great time. Our hosts where very nice and helpful. Best breakfast ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Historical B&B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on December 12, 2016

Delightful stay. Barbara and Gary are wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Sehr schönes und familiäres B&B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on December 04, 2016

Gut gelegenes B&B, Ca. 10min. Zu Fuss in die Stadt. Sehr freundliche Gastgeber. Das Zimmer ist heimelig eingerichtet. Zum Frühstück gab es warmes Omelette, Früchte, Toast, Jogurth etc., mit sehr viel Liebe zubereitet.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and restful time at Shipman- a stay to remember at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on December 03, 2016

Spent 3 nights at Shipman and was welcomed each morning with a taste of Hawaii food and hospitality. I felt very welcomed and cared for by the owners. I appreciate the history of their beautiful home. I would recommended and go back if I visit Hilo again.

View more reviews for this inn


Hilo great choice at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on December 01, 2016

Our room was decorated very nicely, very clean, and had plenty of places to store one's things. Breakfast is private in one's room as a basket is set out containing a complete breakfast. A fridge is available to use in the common room. Rooms each have private lanai with bay/ ocean view. There's an on the ground hot tub in back overlooking the bay, but on our visit all the back yard guide lights were not working, it was very dark, the steps unlit, and I couldn't manage to open the cover to the tub. but everything else was great, the location terrific. Will stay again if in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and Cosy at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on December 01, 2016

One of my best experience in a B&B. Nice room, friendly owners, excellent breakfat, convenient localition. Strongly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect place to stay in Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on December 01, 2016

This is a lovely B and B overlooking the ocean and within easy walking distance to town. The owners Tina and Tom are friendly and welcoming and then leave you to your privacy. Each room is decorated with colour and flair and has impressive views from the individual balconies. A beautiful place to watch the sunrise. There is a large common room for all guests to use, with a fridge, microwave, toaster and a reading area. Early each morning Tina sets out individual trays there for each room, with covered baskets of lovely fruit, a simple omelette and freshly baked fruit bread, which guests then can eat at their leisure on their covered balconies overlooking the ocean. Guests have full use of the common room at all times and there's always some food and beverages available. The bathrooms are quite small and basic but very clean, and towels and soaps etc are refreshed daily which is a nice touch. We stayed in the corner Bay Harbour Room and recommend it for the expanse of windows, comfortable bed, large leather couch and good lighting. The outdoor hot tub overlooking the ocean is really pleasant at the end of the day. All in all a great choice for Hilo. (Be sure to go visit the Farmer's Market to pick up some fruit - friendly vendors, incredible value and delicious fruit!)

View more reviews for this inn


A Great B&B in the Heart of Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on November 30, 2016

The room we stayed at (Michner Room) was cozy and intimate, yet roomy enough to be comfortable. The private lanai surrounded by bamboo and overlooking the koi pond created a the tropical feel and added to the ambiance of the room. If you wanted a different place to hang out, relaxing in the living room or on the front porch were other appealing options. The bed was comfortable and, although there was an air conditioner, opening the windows to the breeze was enough to keep the room cool. Even though the room faced the road, road noise was not too much of an issue. Breakfast in the morning was cooked by the owners and it was delicious (French toast, fresh fruits, and juices) and provided an opportunity to chat with fellow travelers. In addition, Hilo Bay Hale is extremely convenient to downtown and we walked there for dinner and again for a morning stroll. When we go back to Hilo, we will definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Staff Food and Property at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff member who showed us to our room, and then to the covered dining deck overlooking the beautiful view of the falls. Next to the deck was the kitchen and the common room with couches, a bar with a mini fridge and a sink where we could chill our wine. Breakfast the next morning was ample and delicious. Our room was visually pleasing with an outdoor covered deck. The room and bathroom need some simple changes for functionality. It lacked racks for our suitcases, and enough towel racks. There was no Kleenex, and it seemed the king sized mattress may have been turned sideways because it was wider than the box spring foundation. The couch was comfy but we had to put the beautiful and heavy bedspread on it so we couldn't use the couch in the evening. We enjoyed our walk on the trails down to the falls where there was a gazebo, and a kayak for our use. We would stay again next time we are on the Big Island.

View more reviews for this inn


A lodge in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2016

We stayed at this amazing place for our whole stay on Hawaii. It made activities on the west side of the island inconvenient.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in downtown Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on November 26, 2016

This bed and breakfast is an oasis in downtown Hilo. It's a warm and cozy place with lovely tropical landscaping that makes you feel worlds away while being in the center of town. Danny & Matthew have done a great job in creating a comfortable & inviting environment were you are welcomed as a friend.

View more reviews for this inn


A welcome retreat - but what's with the hot tub? at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on November 24, 2016

We stayed in the Bay room for two nights. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. We enjoyed our view, although it poured rain most of the time! The breakfast was outstanding. The hosts were there if you needed them, but stayed in the background. The one thing that we were a bit confused about was the hot tub. It was highlighted in the website but there was no mention of it once you got in the room (i.e. nothing in the in-room information or welcome letter from the owner) and nobody used it. We were very busy so didn't get a chance to ask about it but if it's not actually useable/functional then it shouldn't be part of the marketing materials.

View more reviews for this inn


Great first nights stay in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on November 22, 2016

We stayed in the main building and had a gorgeous view from our lanai. The only two things I would improve upon are eggs at breakfast and a softer bed. The inn is like an oasis by itself. We strolled through the bamboo garden, swam in the pool by the waterfall, ate breakfast on the main lanai with unbelievable views of the waterfall, had tea on our private lanai in the evenings. Fell asleep to cool nights and sounds of waterfall and frogs. Staff was wonderful with suggestions and service. Definitely was able to relax from our busy mainland lives with work, kids and home. Will recommend to everyone and stay again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and historic at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on November 21, 2016

We loved the Shipman House. It is simply beautiful, a restored piece of Hawaii history. The hosts are delightful and informative. Breakfast is memorable -- fresh fruits grown on the property, amazing pastries, delicious Kona coffee. We are particularly fond of the quiet Hilo side of Hawaii and this will be one of our favorite stops.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Location - Beautiful World Class at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 21, 2016

My wife and I have stayed at a lot of B & B's and this ranks with the best. The location at the edge of downtown and on the water is fantastic. The rooms are very nicely decorated and they each have their own private ocean view porch for eating. Anita has created a wonderful experience here. We loved our time there and in Hilo. JN Sylvan Lake, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Nice place to stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Nice place to stay. Room was nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable. .Everything about our stay was fine except the breakfast. We stayed four days and for all four days the breakfast menu was the same, flat egg omelette, manga half with pineapple and a store bought coffee cake. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, Raisin Bran and toast were also available. Other B&Bs we have stayed at in the past have offered a home cooked breakfast of pancakes or waffles or homemade muffins or pastries. I think the Bay House should offer a better breakfast in order to improve their rating.

View more reviews for this inn


A lodge in paradise at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 12, 2016

Amazing scenery! Staff are awesome! The only issue is that it is only accessible via Hilo (on east side of island).

View more reviews for this inn


One of our Best B&B Ever! at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2016

We have done a lot of traveling, and the Bay House is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Because of reservations, we stayed in two different rooms during our four nights. They where both gorgeous! They are uniquely decorated with great art and special touches. The proximity and the views/sounds of the ocean are tremendous. The food for breakfast was great, especially the fresh local fruit. The location to town (walk-able) is great. Tina is a very interesting and caring hostess. You will have to go far to find a better place than this. It would be great to return there some day. Jerry & Judy Nechal Sylvan Lake, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Great location! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 08, 2016

I walked to all the downtown sights in Hilo, including the farmer's market and Lyman Museum. The breakfasts at the B&B were wonderful. I also loved their Kona coffee in the morning. I was there 3 nights and made regular use of their kitchen and dryer. The owners were so nice as was their help. I would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon at Shipman House at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2016

Barbara and Gary are excellent hosts. The room and bed were very comfortable and tranquil. Getting up each morning for breakfast on the porch was a joy. Would love to return here!

View more reviews for this inn


2 nights at the Bay House at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on October 30, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay House. Our room was clean and ready at 3pm and our bed was super comfy. I had mentioned to Tina we were going up to Mauna Kea and she let us borrow heavy coats to borrow, which were much needed. We wouldn't have been able to enjoy Mauna Kea or stay long up there with out them. Breakfast was delicious which included fruits, egg tomato omlette, and a baked good which was prepared in a basket and you eat on your lanai. There was also yogurt, toast/english muffins, and hard boiled eggs. This made getting on with our day and not worrying about breakfast very convenient. Our room faced the bay and we watched sunrise (6:30am) from our bed every morning. I rarely watch sunrises so this was a real treat for me. The only thing negative was mosquitoes (probably due to location). We did get bit a bunch when we arrived, but Tina leaves OFF bug repellent in the room for you, which helped a bunch. You just have to make sure to keep your screen door closed at all times.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on October 26, 2016

Service was good, the breakfast was very fresh and tasty.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}