Recent Reviews in Hilo, Hawaii

Beautiful Gem in Hilo at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on September 11, 2017

This is an amazing place to stay in Hilo. Very peaceful, with a small creek flowing through the backyard. Walkable to downtown and easy access to things nearby Hilo. Very friendly and accommodating hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Da KINE BnB in Hilo! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2017

Great location. Beautiful building and gardens. Outstanding, different breakfast every day. Delightful staff. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Found this last minute and got really lucky at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on August 06, 2017

We booked an Airbnb that was not what it was advertised, so we scrambled for a couple nights stay and found the hill bay hale . Our room was charming, old Hawaii, clean, and had a private deck overlooking a landscaped backyard with a stream and koi pond. what a value being right in town, and we got this great breakfast that Micheal made to boot!

View more reviews for this inn


The Bay House/Harbour Room at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.8 reviewed on August 03, 2017

Large pleasant rooms, ample parking, spacious common area, delicious and full size breakfast, ocean-side and ocean-view, private, access to recreational items, comfortable bed, use of refrigerator and microwave, close to downtown via the Singing Bridge, considerate owner/host. Fans and cross-breeze, no air-conditioning. Earplugs provided due to coqui (noisy invasive frogs).

View more reviews for this inn


Neighborhoood Gem at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Lory, mahalo for offering a wonderful stay. The Sunshine Room provided a great respite from Honolulu and a chance for us to get better acquainted with the surrounding neighborhood we plan to call home in 2019. We enjoyed crossing paths with the other guests and exchange travel notes and tips about Hilo and the Big Island. Breakfast was a treat of fresh fruits from the expansive property. Our ice cream and egg fruit seedlings are budding nicely. A gem of a property that contributed to a wonderful staycation and sort of homecoming. We look forward to soon calling Hilo home. A Hui Hou! -Richard & Kalani

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2017

Lowry and Stewart have a great place. The breakfast was very good, like trying the local fruits.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Kulaniapia Falls at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.6 reviewed on July 13, 2017

My stay exceeed my expectations. It was myself, my wife and my 13 year old son. The room was comfortable and the views breath taking. It was very quiet and relaxed. My son enjoyed swimming in the pool below the falls. My wife is planning for us to return. There is no on site dining but I understand that there are plans to add one in the next year. Plus you are only a 10 minute ride to Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


A great stay! at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2017

What a beautiful home! We stayed (3 adults) in the Makai room in the cottage out the back. A very spacious room and clean room, we were able to enter the main house to enjoy. Barbara and Gary were very friendly and accomodating, we took on their recommendations for dinner and activities. The morning buffet was devine, a great selection of local foods. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise near Hilo at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls was a hidden gem of our vacation. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The staff was oh so helpful and friendly. The only problem one might have is that the rooms are not air conditioned. But we found it perfectly fine. The gardens and waterfall with pool was fantastic. It was my wife's favorite day of our trip to Hawaii. The only onsite dining is breakfast which includes many fruits and nuts grown on the grounds.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the Hawaiian Room at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2017

We stayed in the Hawaiian Room and the views of the garden were beautiful. Lory serves fresh fruit from the garden for breakfast and know the area well (great dinner recommendations). The other guests were wonderful to chat with on the Lanai at breakfast. Close to all the activities we wanted to do in Hilo. Beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Glad we could stay.

View more reviews for this inn


One word describes it - Fantastic at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2017

it was fabulous - beautiful property, excellent accommodations and wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb stay at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2017

We stayed a few nights at this in. It could not have been more comfortable and thoughtful. The basics were all there -- very comfortable bed, above-expected closet space, excellent clean housekeeping, in-room coffee service, etc. The host go above expectations in a great breakfast, helpful items when traveling (e.g. stuff for the beach; restaurant recommendations.) Beautifully decorated to evoke the tropical atmosphere. This is not glitzy beach-front resort, but a very charming and comfortable stay that feels like real Hawaii.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Hilo Bay Hale! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2017

My husband and I only stayed here for one night (Lava Room) and we really loved it. We easily could have stayed there multiple nights if our travel plans had allowed it. The lava room is awesome, with a really unique bathroom. The backyard is a serene oasis and was a delightful surprise. Breakfast was personable and delicious, with a wide variety of options, including fresh fruit from the owner's farm. Truly a great place to stay (and close to the delicious Rainbow Bread at Low's International Food)!

View more reviews for this inn


Location and Value Cannot Be Beat at Volcano Artist Cottage (Volcano, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2017

This was a wonderful place to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Ira and the staff at the cafe and gallery are friendly and helpful but never intrusive. Especially after the gallery and cafe close for the day, the property is very peaceful and private. The fridge was well stocked, and we appreciated the abundance of coffee. We wish we could transplant the shower to our own house. It's wonderful. The hot tub is also a nice touch. It only takes about a 3-4 minute drive to get into Volcano National Park from the cottage, making it a great home base for hiking and nighttime lava viewing. There are also a few good restaurants right down the street in Volcano Village. There's private parking and a separate gate for accessing the cottage, so you can come and go easily. We really can't say anything bad about this place, and we would love to return someday.

View more reviews for this inn


We loved this B&B..remote but close to everything in Hilo at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.4 reviewed on June 01, 2017

The staff were warm, the breakfast was lovely and the grounds were a delight for a walk. Our only mild concern was trouble getting completely comfortable on the mattress and pillows despite the adjustment features. We would stay here again, for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B just outside Hilo at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.4 reviewed on May 29, 2017

I stayed at Bay House with my wife for 3 nights. The B&B is a 5-10 minute walk into town so well situated for food and shopping. We booked the Harbour Room, with a nice view over the sea and away from the road, so quiet. The room was clean and well equipped, with a shared lounge area. The breakfasts were good which were made up fresh for us to eat on our lanai. If we go back to Hilo we would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay in historic B & B at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on May 24, 2017

So glad we had the opportunity to stay at this historic b & b before it closes next month. The location was outstanding and our hosts were very nice!

View more reviews for this inn


Shipman House, Hilo HI at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 24, 2017

Great bed and breakfast to stay at while exploring the magical Big Island. Room was spacious and clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was amazing and the proprietors made us feel like family. Would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2017

We stayed two nights at Hilo Bay Hale B&B and loved it! Matthew was so welcoming and hospitable, the house is charming, our room (Lava) is beautiful and cool. Walking distance to everything - farmer's market, museums, restaurants. Everything delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Two night stay in May at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

3.6 reviewed on May 16, 2017

The grounds are nice and quiet. Take the trail down to see all three or maybe 4 four waterfalls. Very nice. Rooms are acceptable. Clean but Lehua room was small. No AC but really didn't need it while we were there. There is a fan in the room. Some exaggerated the road. It is about 3 miles from town, a 10 minute drive. The grounds and scenery are worth it.

View more reviews for this inn


a piece of Hawaiian aloha and history... at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 14, 2017

We stayed here three nights in May. Our room was spacious and famous, the one where Jack London and his wife stayed. Outside our room was a wide veranda where we spent time, to sit,to enjoy being out of the rain and to absorb the peace. Breakfasts were divine. Home made biscuits, made by one of the owners and an explanation of all that was available by the other one. 4 kinds of granola, yogurt, toppings....various kinds of tropical fruit (all but papaya grown onsite)....bread and bagels that could be toasted, lilikoi butter, 4 or 5 fruit jams....fruit smoothie.....hot water for tea and coffee. And, the hosts sat and ate and talked story with us.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, quaint, comfortable stay! at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2017

The room was cozy and the breakfast was a lovely mix of locally sourced fruit and freshly baked scones. The smoothie was very refreshing as well and the owners were wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Great time at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.8 reviewed on May 09, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The property is spectacular. A very serene setting. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Place at Old Hawaiian B&B (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2017

We stayed at Old Hawaiian B&B one night, it was perfect, wish we could have stayed longer. Located in a residential area of Hilo, above the Wailuku river, set in a magnificent landscape of fruit trees, just minutes from waterfalls. Lory and Stewart are wonderful hosts, hospitality was exceptional. Highly recommend!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B! at Hilo Bay Hale Bed and Breakfast (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on May 08, 2017

We stayed two nights at Hilo Bay Hale B&B and it was wonderful. Matthew and Daniel are wonderful hosts, friendly and helpful, and the room (Lava) is beautiful. The location is very central, can walk to everything. We highly recommend Hilo Bay Hale, great choice for staying in Hilo.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Inn in Fabulous Location at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.2 reviewed on May 07, 2017

Lovely view of waterfall, eager staff, nice breakfast. Serene location.

View more reviews for this inn


Victorian Hawaiian Delight at Shipman House Bed & Breakfast Inn (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2017

Stayed in Aunt Clara's Shell Room for three days. I strongly recommend this B&B for travelers who want to stay on the east side of Hawaii. Barbara and Gary are delightful, thoughtful hosts. They restored Shipman House, a home that has been in Barbara's family for 100+ years. They know everything about the island and give very well thought out advice. The breakfasts consist of mostly homegrown fruits and from scratch baked breakfast breads, hot cereals, granola, hard boiled eggs, cheeses and yogurts. Must try the smoothies! Aunt Clara's private bathroom is not ensuite,, but the room looks out onto Hilo Bay. Beautiful!

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind--do not miss experience at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls (Hilo, Hawaii)

4.0 reviewed on April 23, 2017

We had such a wonderful time at the inn. It is unique and beautiful. The buildings are a little shabby and modest, but our rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had lots of fun at the waterfall and enjoyed the serenity of the gardens. The drive up from Hilo takes about 12 minutes and is beautiful. Breakfast was ample and had lots of fresh fruit.

View more reviews for this inn


a quiet location and near Volcano National Park at Volcano Forest Inn (Volcano, Hawaii)

3.2 reviewed on April 20, 2017

Short stay but comfortable and hosts knowledgeable and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


B&B that has it all at Bay House (Hilo, Hawaii)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Loved the view, the breakfasts, the linens,and the entire ambiance of our room. We stayed in the Bay Room with the 4 poster bed. What a great bed. And TIna was a wonderful host. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }