At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.4
  • Value4.4
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
48 Reviews

Write A Review

Clean, spacious, and cozy B&B

4.6 on January 03, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Red studio during our honeymoon in Hawaii. The studio was very spacious and clean. Although the weather was rainy during our stay, the studio was warm, dry, and cozy - which we really appreciated. Ki'i was helpful in answering our questions and providing recommendations. I definitely advise bringing the two flashlights in the room with you to view the glowing lava at night!

Felt Like Home

5 on September 10, 2014

The End of The Road Bed and Breakfast is an awesome place to stay. Our room was immaculate and breakfast was wonderful. Seconds were offered. Lani and Ray are great hosts. Our conversations with them will be treasured. We highly recommend staying here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your kind remarks! All the best.

Cozy B&B near Volcanoes NP

3.2 on February 02, 2014

End of the Road is about 2 miles off the main road (actually at the very end of the road) and about 8-10 minutes from Volcanoes National Park (very convenient for visiting the park, particularly if you're returning at night to see the lava). My GPS took us to a run down house with barking dogs, but then we realized we had to travel a little further down the road (a bit hidden from the dog house, so it seems like it could be the end of the road at first). You'll know that you're there when you get to a livestock looking gate (you might have to call to have it opened when you get there, but you'll get a handheld device that opens the gate at check-in). The house doesn't look like much from the outside, accommodations are basic, but it was cozy and immaculately clean. There are only two rooms. One has an in-room bathroom and our room had a bathroom down the hall, but was private. I loved the heated blanket (separate controls for each side of the bed!), which was great for the cool nights in Volcano. Loni was a little brisk the first night (as others have noted), but in the morning she was very friendly and made us a simple breakfast (Eggo brand waffles, Hawaiian Maid passionfruit juice, english muffins, and a delicious papaya). Also, just an FYI--apparently check-in is from 3pm to 6pm (unless you contact them to make different arrangements), but this information wasn't in our confirmation. We just happened to arrive within those hours, but the other couple staying at the B&B didn't know that and arrived late at night. Also, there were locks on the bedroom doors when we were there, which I guess was not always the case according to prior reviews.

Great B&B to stay at Volcano, HI

4.6 on December 17, 2013

Lani and Ray were great hosts. Our room was immaculately clean and comfortable with an on suite bathroom, Lani recently installed locks on the room doors so you can lock your room while you are out. Breakfast was OK with choice of waffle or banana bread, fresh papaya or juice and tea or coffee. Seconds were offered. Location was extremely convenient to entrance of Volcano National Park. If we return to Volcano we will try to stay at The End of the Road B&B again.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for the kind review and for the pleasure of hosting you! All the best!

Lovely people, Lovely place

5 on November 23, 2013

This is a lovely place for respite and relief, rural in nature and beautiful. The home is comfortable and welcoming, as are the owners, Lani and Ray. Breakfast is simple, but plentiful. The rooms are tidy, clean and well appointed. With a quick 10 minute drive, one can be at the volcano awed in its majesty and power. There were four of us on this trip and we would each return there should the moment come around.

quiet location, friendly ownerss

4.6 on April 25, 2013

The owners were friendly and super helpful in educating us about choices, making recommendations, helping with reservations, etc. The house is truly at the end of the road, so very secure, private, and quiet. We chatted at length after breakfast. Highly recommended.

A Cool Quiet Getaway near Volcano National Park

4.4 on November 13, 2012

I just came back from a great vacation experience in Hawaii..If you appreciate a quiet relaxing evening to sleep after the day's busy activity .. this B&B has just what you need...The owners are quite charming and a good source for places to visit on the Big Island...The nights are cooler than Hilo because the property is above 3500 feet sea level...I rented the bedroom that had its own bathroom..The rooms were neat and clean and the continental breakfast was more than sufficient to start your day..It's located just minutes away from the Volcano National Park entrance.. a big Mahalo to Ray & Lani for making me and my autistic son feel at home..away from home...I almost forgot to mention this...The price they charge is super reasonable!

Friendly stay and great value!

4.0 on September 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my wife while visiting Volcanoes National Park and thought it was a well-maintained and very friendly B&B. The hostess, Lani, was very courteous and made us feel at home. There was a small breakfast served at 07:30 each morning and the place was quiet and comfortable. It met my expectations and seemed to be a great value for the two nights we stayed. Loud, rowdy, and restless travelers will want to look somewhere else, but for anyone looking for an affordable and quiet place to get some rest this is the place. As most of the visiting guests are here to see the park, there is no problem with coming or going in the later hours for those wanting to see the volcnoes at night. Lani is full of advie on the food and sight-seeing options in the locale so be sure to ask for advice if you need it. Great place!

A pleasant place to spend a night

4.4 on July 12, 2012

We spent a peaceful night in Kili's room. The room is spacious and has a private bathroom. The single bed could use a new mattress. The host and hostess are lovely people who made us feel welcome in their home.

Mixed feelings about this place

2.6 on June 22, 2012

My wife and my stay here was very mixed. When we first arrived we were bombarded with rules and limitations, as well as the female owner's condescending comments. We wanted to do a hike but she strongly suggested we not go saying even an adult could get lost. What the hell? I'm 27 and my wife is 28. Every time we walked around it felt like we were on eggshells, even the kitchen they lock. We absolutely did not feel like guests most of the time we were there. The breakfast consisted of stale english muffins, mediocre banana bread, a small piece of pineapple and a beverage. Come on, you guys could do much better. That said, the rooms were clean and the male counterpart is a pastor who was more open and friendly. I personally won't return, as I want to be welcomed and comfortable at the places I stay on vacation.

Great place

4.4 on April 04, 2012

We stayed for two nights in March. This was a really beautiful place to stay and owned by a lovely family.

Nice one night stay

4.2 on January 02, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable. We only were there for a very short time (one night, came in late, left early), but we would have been happy to stay there for a longer time, too.

Good place to stay

3.8 on December 15, 2011

End of the Road B&B is a nice, old-fashioned place to stay (with rules!). The room was cozy, clean and comfy. Breakfast was simple and filling. Ray and Lani were very friendly and personable. We would go again.

Best B&B we've ever stayed in!

4.0 on December 05, 2011

This B&B has 2 rooms (both with their own bathroom facilities) so you really receive super service. The home and bedrooms are squeaky clean. Ray and Lani are gracious and a plathora of Information. They even have free wifi!

Excellent considering host was away

3.6 on November 28, 2011

A couple days before the day I was to check in at the B&B I got a call from the host that he and his wife had to be away for important business of some kind. At first this left a bit of a sinking feeling in my gut as I feared what that might mean (I was on my honeymoon and I wanted nothing to spoil the trip!). He left instructions for me and made arrangements with his very friendly neighbor to take care of breakfast for my wife and I. In the end, I was very happy with the experience. My wife didn't like that there were no curtains for the window in the bathroom. Also, the hosts had dogs (left at the neighbor's, so they were in no way in our way) so there was a smell - but nothing that was overly distracting unless you are really not used to being in a house with animals. Otherwise, everything was very clean and tidy. The location was great if you are there to check out the volcano park. I would stay there again. NOTE: This was way back in the end of March/beginning of April. It's taken me a while to post.

End of the Road Bed and Breakfast- Great Place to Stay!

3.8 on July 15, 2011

Fantastic stay at the End of the Road B and B. Just wish we would have stayed for five nights instead of two. So much to do in the area. Two miles from the park entrance! Ray is a pleasure to talk with and kept the breakfast tea and breads coming each morning. Comfortable and very clean bedroom. Quiet. Recommended!!

April 2011 stay

4.6 on April 30, 2011

We stayed for one night and was very satisfied with the house and the room. There was an outside gate which added security to our stay. Very close to the VNP (4 minutes), a good base when visiting VNP.

Very nice couple and great location

3.0 on April 12, 2011

Overall, we truly enjoyed the stay. The owners are very nice and personable. It's not a fancy victorian with lots of history or character. It's a working home in a great location. If you're okay with this, it's a great place to stay for the price.

Peaceful stay near a volcano

4.6 on March 12, 2011

Peaceful location just minutes from Volcano NP. The rooms are clean and well appointed. When we returned each evening the lights were on and the bed was turned down. Breakfast is as described, including fresh papaya, juice, coffee, and breakfast breads. Second helpings were always offered. The hosts were gracious and engaging. Our conversations over breakfast were a highlight of our visit to the area. And when you consider we were there during a major eruption that is high praise. We plan to return to Volcano NP and when we do this will be where we stay.

B&B as advertised

3.2 on February 27, 2011

This B&B was simply as advertised. The breakfast is a little on the light side compared to most. Owner was friendly and visited with us quite extensively at breakfast.

Stars overhead, birds in the morning

4.6 on February 09, 2011

Very pleasant place to stay. We were well treated. Extremely quiet and secluded. Only a couple of miles from Volcano national park.

Very nice and quiet place AMAZING service

4.8 on January 10, 2011

The place is very nice (like home away from home). We had to leave at 04:30AM for a tour. We where not realy expecting breakfest because of our early departure but the OWNERS made us a nice little to go bag (left by the door) It was great. Very quiet (end of road). Also very nice little restaurant we went that they recommended us (Kiawe Kitchen / very good).

A nice and beautiful place to visit the Volcano area

4.4 on December 16, 2010

The house is, literally, at then end of the road, but it is worth travel that road to be there. A quiet and beautiful place, in a charming and attractive atomosphere. Worth the cost!

Pluses and minuses

2.6 on October 20, 2010

In 30 years of enjoying B&B's around the world we have only experienced two that felt the need for lists of RULES. Lists of rules/ instructions are offensive to 99% of the responsible adults that go to B & B's. While the innkeepers left us a pitcher of water, we suggest they provide tea and coffee making provisions so that their guest can make themselves a cozy hot drink upon arrival, in the evening or in the absence of the innkeepers. Fresh fruit especially in Hawaii was expected rather than canned pineapple. Our bedroom and bathroom was nice and large. The home was nice.

Nice house, great location, owners friendly

3.6 on October 14, 2010

Definitely at the end of the road, but right near Volcanoes National Park. Nice room and house.

Quiet peaceful B&B... we highly recommend it!

4.8 on October 06, 2010

We loved our stay at this quiet, peaceful B&B! The accommodations were comfortable and the hosts were friendly & helpful. We loved the quiet and hope to have the opportunity to return sometime soon!

May, 2010, two nights

4.4 on May 25, 2010

The B&B is in an excellent, quiet location which feels very private, but it is also only a short distance to the entrance to the national park. Ray and Lani are gracious hosts. We stayed two nights in May, 2010. An excellent value for the two of us, my adult son and I are happy to recommend At the End of the Road Bed and Breakfast.


5 on May 23, 2010

We only stayed one night, but it was everything we could have asked for. Clean, friendly host, convienient, private, quiet. Would reccommend this place in a minute.

Great place to stay at the Volcano

4.2 on April 13, 2010

We didn't spend much time here as we were out late looking at the volcano every day. It's really one of the best B&B that I have ever stayed at over the years. The breakfast was a little on the small side, but delicious. I wuld highly recommend this home .

Volcano Overnight Stay

4.0 on March 29, 2010

Lani and Ray were both friendly and very accomodating. Rooms were well maintained and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the couple in the other bedroom had an infant. It cried off and on throughout the night. Very inconsiderate of that couple to bring an infact to a B&B where there is little privacy.

End of the Road is where you want to stay!

5 on March 24, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay on Big Island! They gave us a recommendation for a place to eat (Kiawe Kitchen-excellent!). This is a perfect location if you are going to the Volcano National Park. It is secluded and the room is spotless and beautiful. You have use of their family room to watch TV or read a book. The breakfast is delicious and Mrs. Glory is a very interesting person. We went to the Rainforest Zoo (from her recommendation) on the way out which was very nice (and free) too. We would definitely recommend this B & B!

Felt like home

5 on February 16, 2010

We stayed there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The innkeepers were very friendly and made us feel welcome. They provided some extras that made our stay very affordable. We went to Waikiki afterwards, which was very expensive. So it was nice that we were able to safe some money while at volcanoe. We rented a car and took in the sights of many waterfalls, volcanoes, and beaches. We had the best time at the Big Island.

A pleasant experience

5 on January 17, 2010

I would say this as a pleasant stay that i have ever had, the greeneries outside alongwith a cozy bed complements a perfect night stay. We had a very warm person who helped us get settled in the night and was there in the morning to have an informative conversation about the places around during our breakfast. This is the place i would stay next time when i come over to Big island.

OK, but, Rules...and feeling controlled

2.4 on November 30, 2009

Nice home at end of interesting road. While friendly hostess, from the beginning rules were laid out about accessing house, shoes off, the exact time at which we were pushed to have breakfast (being 10 minutes 'late' resulted in intrusive inquiry), and simply feeling under fairly constant 'watch' while there. We've never felt this way before at a B&B and will not return to this venue.

The End of the Road, Great Place

4.8 on October 22, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the End of the Road B&B. We wish all our other stays were as pleasant as this one. The Room was perfectly clean and spacious, as well as the bathroom. The house is beautiful and the innkeepers make you feel welcome and confortable. The locations is great if you plan to visit the volcano national park or the lava flow. If you are looking for a peaceful and quite place, this is the perfect option for you, and if you want to go to Hilo, you are only 30 minutes away from downtown. The is by far the best place we stayed during our trip to Hawai’i. We'll definitely stay there again. Thanks Lani and Ray

Helpful and friendly hosts, cute room

4.0 on September 10, 2009

We spent one night here and it was great! The hosts were very friendly and they helped us out with good tips, directions, etc. The room was cute and clean and breakfast was great :-)

At the End of the Road

5 on May 19, 2009

Driving down the road and arriving at the B&B was an amazing experience all by itself. We had an awesome time with wonderful people.

Quiet Haven

5 on March 30, 2009

We were extremely happy with our choice of this bed and breakfast. It was quiet, peaceful and immaculate. Ray greeted us, helped us get settled, explained the house and we quickly felt at home. The cafe he recommended also turned out to be one of best we sampled on Hawaii. We liked being in a smaller B&B. The quiet was good for the soul. The surrounding area is forested, but the wide expanse around the home gives a feeling of spaciousness. We would recommend it anyone who is planning on staying in the volcano area. It is also close enough to drive to Hilo to visit that city. And about a day's sightseeing drive from Kona.

Great vacation

5 on March 11, 2009

A great B&B with friendly hosts, clean rooms, and filling breakfasts. The stay was very comfortable, which makes this a great value!

Warm & Friendly in Volcano

4.4 on February 21, 2009

End of the Road B&B was a peaceful, relaxing stay. Ideal location, warm and friendly innkeepers, beautiful room and home. Will definitely return!

Nice B&B at Volcano

3.8 on January 26, 2009

We had a great stay at The End of the Road Bed and Breakfast, Lani and Raymond were very friendly and nice.


5 on January 09, 2009

We were very satisfied with the accommodations. It was calm, clean, breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating!

wonderful place

4.8 on December 06, 2008

We had very happy and peaceful time. Every room is so clean and confortable. Lani is friendly and enchant. Next time, we love to stay here, longer.

very nice home

3.8 on December 03, 2008

very nice home and people!

Great in every way

4.6 on November 07, 2008

We needed to arrive later than "Standard" and Lani and Ray were most accomodating. Wonderful room, very private location, and pleasant to visit with. A nice break from the "Resort" during our stay on the big island. As they will tell you - if you are going to see the volcano - make sure you make the effort to see it at night.

very pleasant

4.0 on November 03, 2008

a very nice B&B...great value and comfortable stay. Loni was helpful and chatty.

A really great deal

5 on October 22, 2008

I loved this place. It's a great setting, a fantastic price for what you get, very friendly and accomodating homeowners, a nice big screen TV you can use, and a great continental breakfast in the morning. If you want to stay in Volcano, this is a great choice.

Wonderful stay!

4.4 on August 07, 2008

Friendly and courteous host, lovely room with great details. Very quiet and peaceful.

At the End of the Road Bed & Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $95 - $95
  • Reviews (48) 4.3
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8089678544

View details