Recent Reviews in Hartford, Connecticut

Outstanding visit all around! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2016

Wonderful hosts, fantastic breakfasts and bountiful amenities! Cathy and Jim have mixed just the right amount of modern comforts into their very historic home. Would definitely put Green Acres on a "repeat" list.

View more reviews for this inn


A Jewel of an Inn with Farm Flavor at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2016

The Green Acres exceeded our expectations of a b & b outside Hartford! This stunningly maintained colonial home, right on the main road, makes it easy to imagine what travel was like 200 years ago. Our hosts, Jim, Cathy and their friendly dogs, met us right in the driveway at our arrival, making us feel right at home. I loved the little stairway up to the two second-story guest rooms. Our Linen Room has five windows, two facing front, with a big table in between, laid with homemade cookies, chocolates, and a decanter of sherry. Lots of area restaurants, and each room gives great details on each, plus books about local history and places to visit. After a comfortable night in luxurious surroundings, we devoured Jim's breakfast. The menu is very flexible, so we were able to mix some items from the continental choices with our hot dish. The dogs are perfectly polite and persuasive, if you allow yourself to be charmed. The yard in autumn is a wonder to behold, and the wire fenced-in chicken yard and coop rule it! I was able to enter the enclosure and visit the eccentric individuals who live there. The chickens will eat out of your hand, sit near you, and even let you hold them. Spending time with the rooster and hens was very contemplative and soothing. Jim knows a lot about gently raising these fine birds, and treats each of them as a member of the family. They work for the inn, laying their eggs for our meals. Upon our reluctant departure from Green Acres, we drove through scenic byways bordered by state forests. The branches waved us good bye and beckoned us to come back again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


A Must Visit! at Silas W Robbins House (Wethersfield, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2016

My family and I stayed here for my sister's wedding and it was perfect in every way! The house is gorgeous and the environment makes you feel as though your living in a different era!

View more reviews for this inn


~Best B&B~ at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2016

Fabulous and comfy room with an equally amazing breakfast. Beautiful back yard to stroll in. The inn keepers have thought of everything for the most pleasurable stay I've had at a bed and breakfast ever.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Inn Keepers at The Nehemiah Brainerd House B&B (Haddam, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 07, 2016

We initially booked our room on the internet, received a confirmation of our request but not that the room was confirmed. When my wife and I arrived (traveller's from the UK on a tour of New England) the Inn Keepers Maryan and Geoff were surprised to see us, they had emailed us earlier to say they were not taking guests on our date. Clearly an error on our part not checking our emails. That said Maryan and Geoff then went out of their way to accommodate us and made us feel so at home. Their hospitality was exceptional, room clean and comfortable and the breakfast was a treat. However, the best part of our stay was the conversation we had over breakfast, it was wonderful. A massive than you from us for a wonderful stay, albeit a short one. If you are in the area, you must try and stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Green Acres is the place to be. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 23, 2016

In a quiet, serene environment, a stay at Green Acres is a treat. The Inn keepers, Cathy and Jim, take care of little touchs, like cookies in your room and coffees to go when you leave. The home is warm and inviting with beautiful grounds. Fresh eggs at breakfast from their chickens adds to your stay. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to stay. at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on September 20, 2016

This is a beautiful home, with a pool and a lovely outside area to sit and enjoy the wonderful breakfast prepared by our hosts. What I seriously enjoyed was the tub (that you could sit in and take a bubble bath) and the breakfast (no limits, just pick everything you want to eat). My only (tiny) critique is that the room was a bit hot (we went during the high summer season). They did give you a small fan, but, it needed more air. You can't open the windows to let any of the cool night air in.

View more reviews for this inn


Welcoming Hosts at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2016

Jim and Cathy are very welcoming hosts. Our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated with antique furniture. We've stayed here several times now. We live an hour away, and this is our "go to" destination for a couple of days break, a real "home away from home". Breakfast by the pool was delicious as always. We look forward to visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Getaway Outside of NYC at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2016

My fiance, dog and I recently stayed at Green Acres to have a relaxing weekend away from NYC. We were super pleased with the outcome and level of hospitality provided via Jim and Cathy. You cannot honestly get a better value for the price. First, the cleanliness of the home, rooms and property was as expected. They have a great space, chickens, a pool and areas to walk around. Secondly, don't even get me started on the home cooked breakfast every morning! The french toast, scones and more was delicious. There is also plenty in Simsbury for hiking, dog parks, and restaurants to choose from that will keep you busy. I highly encourage and recommend evaluating GA B&B as a viable option. Cheers!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding in all regards at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

I stay at many high end B and B's and this one is at the top! Worth a trip in itself.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional!!!!! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Jim + Cathy do an incredible job. Beautifully restored New England home and delicious breakfast. You will not be disappointed!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Another great stay! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2016

We had another grand stay at Green Acres. Cathy and Jim are gracious hosts at their lovely home.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2016

Everything was perfect, I only wish we came during a much warmer weather! Otherwise even during the fall the beauty of the area is breath taking. I highly recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on February 07, 2016

My wife and I have stayed at many B+B's, but Lorraine and family made us feel truly at home. Perfectly located, it has everything you need. I highly recommend Lily House to anyone going through Connecticut. For a couple, a business traveler, or anyone. It offers the perfect mix of vacation and home. The room was great, the food was amazing....just perfect. We'll be back....

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2016

My wife and I visited our family in the area and our stay at Green Acres was outstanding. Our hosts were very accommodating, the breakfast superb, and the room very comfortable. We have stayed at many B & B's and this was the best one ever. Would recommend Green Acres to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

4.2 reviewed on November 27, 2015

We had a lovely stay at Green Acres BnB. The house is a charming historic house with modern amenities. Our hosts were gracious and gave us an excellent breakfast, to boot!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at The Connecticut River Valley Inn (Glastonbury, Connecticut)

4.0 reviewed on November 09, 2015

What a beautiful inn! Charming property, picturesque/ friendly community with wonderful restaurants, and an easy to walk trail to the Connecticut River. Pat and Wayne are perfect hosts. Very good breakfast. Beautifully decorated. Sweet little dogs! We were very happy with our visit and would recommend this B&B to our friends and family. We hope to visit Glastonbury and CRVI again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent B & B at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2015

Stunning accommodation, where we were made to feel very welcome. Jim and Cathy have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and restful. They are excellent hosts, the food is freshly cooked and beautifully served and provide full use of house and grounds. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone travelling in the CT area.

View more reviews for this inn


A September stay at CRVI at The Connecticut River Valley Inn (Glastonbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2015

My husband and I recently spent a night at the CRVI. We enjoyed our stay in the "Summer Room". The room was lovely, the inn keepers Wayne and Pat were very gracious. Our breakfast was delicious and to our surprise not 1 but 2 of the couples who joined us had gotten married the night before!! We enjoyed some great wedding stories. We will be returning for a stay in November, this time in the "Autumn Room.

View more reviews for this inn


An oasis in suburban Hartford at The Connecticut River Valley Inn (Glastonbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on September 13, 2015

My two daughters and I stayed at the Inn as we had business in Hartford. This oasis is a beautiful way to enjoy your stay in Hartford. You're staying in a country side setting, just 15 minutes away from downtown Hartford. The property is gorgeous, the house is beautifully decorated, the breakfasts are delicious, the owners are friendly and welcoming and Glastonbury is charming. We will stay there every time we visit Hartford!

View more reviews for this inn


Never been to a better B&B at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 17, 2015

The owners of the Lily House went over and above with every accommodation. We were allowed to check in the early. The Rose Room was gorgeous with a romantic setting (as requested for a special anniversary) and the private bath was exceptional with so many extras provided in the room. The yard and outdoor sitting areas were serene and breath taking. But undeniably, my favorite part, had to be the owners - I've never felt so welcome. We felt like family from the moment we walked through the door. But I can't finish without saying the breakfast was picture perfect... Almost too beautiful to eat. From the fresh fruit and yogurt parfait with juice and coffee awaiting our arrival in the beautiful and inviting dining room, followed by the ham and garden fresh veggie omelette made to order. We we stuffed and beyond satisfied. We can't wait to return!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

Green Acres was the perfect choice for entertaining guests and providing overnight accommodations for the lucky few. We entertained out-of-town guests at the pool one evening and again the following afternoon. Good company and the idyllic New England setting brought compliments from everyone involved. Jim and Cathy were perfect hosts. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2015

The hostess was wonderful, friendly, the house was very charming and comfortable. Location is perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous in every way! at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2015

Everything about The Lily House was even better than expected. We rented the Stargazer Suite (two adults and two children) and it was beautifully decorated and huge. There are actually two other rooms besides the main bedroom, one with a full sized bed and the other is a sitting room with fridge, microwave, coffee machine with supplies. Lorraine the owner offered my 10 year old nephew his own bed so he slept on the blowup twin in the sitting room. Lorraine could not have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious. She went out of her way to accommodate the kids tastes. She also supplied all kinds of delicious homemade snacks in the lobby. The kids loved the m&m plate. The Lily House itself was beautiful. The online photos do not do it justice. I can't say enough about the house and Lorraine's helpfulness and kindness. Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Short but oh so sweet! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Trade Room. Towels were 100% egyptian cotton ++++ Robes and extremely comfy slippers were provided. Shower was equipped with wonderfully scented shampoo and conditioner. Sherry and an abundance of chocolate greeted us in our room as well as a loaded mini fridge, keurig machine with K-cups and chocolate chip cookies. Unfortunately, we didn't have as much time as we would have liked since we got in pretty late at night and check out was at 11am the following day but the house was very cozy, bed was extremely comfortable with lots and lots of pillows (part of the reason we slept in later than we wanted to) and the breakfast was fresh and delicious! Portions were very generous. While in CT, I had a hard time finding good coffee (I'm a NY coffee snob) but the coffee at the inn was PERFECT. We ate out in the patio - sound of the pond waterfall was so relaxing. I was afraid of what the temperature would be like in the house since it was so hot outside (in the 90's) but the it was perfectly cool - YES! there is AC. The pool and hammock looked so inviting! We wanted to stay an extra night but they were booked. Would love to see this place in fall/winter with the fireplaces lit. Both Jim and Cathy were very nice and gave us some great recommendations on places to visit nearby. We'll deinitely be going back!!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay of May 15-18 at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2015

We could not have been more pleased with our stay. Lorraine went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. It was a lovely end to our trip and just want we needed at the end of a long day of vacationing!

View more reviews for this inn


Perennial Favorite at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2015

Green Acres has become my perennial favorite place to stay when I'm travelling for work in CT. Jim and Cathy are so welcoming, the breakfasts are practically gourmet (and so delicious!), and the beds are quite comfortable. I highly recommend staying here!

View more reviews for this inn


wedding get away at Lily House Bed and Breakfast (Suffield, Connecticut)

4.4 reviewed on January 20, 2015

A fantastic little gem in my own hometown that I didn't even know was there. It provided a great home base for my wedding weekend and felt just like home. The owners were very helping and accommodating to my wedding party. A late breakfast the day after was very much needed the day after the wedding. I only wish we wetter able to spend more quality time there. A great littler place for a weekend getaway! A very happy bride!

View more reviews for this inn


Honey I love you, but give me Green Acres! at Green Acres B&B (Simsbury, Connecticut)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2015

Who says you can't choose your relatives. We were visiting close by in Simsbury. We found this mavilous little B&B tucked away just down the street, so indiscreet, so comfortable. No detail was left unattended. We even had a live, full size, beautifully decorated and lightened Christmas tree in our room. We were made to feel at home. We entertained guest by the fireplace in the living room after a night out and diner. The bedding is top shelf, they even thought if a sound machine, we slept to the sound of the rain forest. breakfast was great, nicely prepaired. We invited a guest to join us, it was truly a wonderful visit! Our hosts treated us like favorite relatives. They will definitely see us again.... and our family.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Pleased at The Connecticut River Valley Inn (Glastonbury, Connecticut)

4.8 reviewed on November 11, 2014

Very Clean and comfortable stay with owners being very friendly. Rooms were beautiful with a beautiful outdoors as well. Stayed in the winter room which was very romantic with the fireplace and outdoor deck overlooking garden area. Will recommend to anyone looking for that little get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}