Recent Reviews in Harrisonburg, Virginia

Rosendale Inn at Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2017

This place is awesome! Dr. Murphy is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable on the history of the area and what it has to offer. The grounds and surrounding area are breathtaking. I am looking forward to the next visit and would highly recommend this location to everyone! Robert Holmes O Fallon IL

View more reviews for this inn


They know how to do it. at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on May 09, 2017

Breakfast was served on a table with a whiter tablecloth, silver and good china. The tea was in a teapot rather than with a teabag sticking out of a coffee mug. That was the tenor of the entire facility. The room nicely appointed with antiques and plenty of attention to detail. The only negative was that at breakfast the acting host was so taken with describing his career efforts to another couple that he neglected to bring us our meal for quite a while.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfull getaway at The Stonewall Jackson Inn Bed & Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on May 03, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Stonewall Jackson Inn! Our room was spacious and very welcoming. Very Relaxing. The breakfasts were top notch-very much deserving of the phrase "A breakfast to remember". We would definitely stay again. Thank you Terri and Roger!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderul time in idyllic country setting at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2017

My Mother,Husband and I have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Inn at Old Virginia. The Inn is absolutely delightful and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were beautiful and breakfast was delicious. We can't wait to visit again. The Inn is truly a gem.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasure in Paradise at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 27, 2017

Can't find a good enough word to describe this B&B ~ Wow! exclusive surroundings and treated like royalty. (:

View more reviews for this inn


A must-stay B&B in Harrisonburg! at The Stonewall Jackson Inn Bed & Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at The Stonewall Jackson Inn. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the entire house was comfortable and quaint. We were greeted right away and they offered to accommodate for any special needs and dietary requests. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. We used the living room to hang out and play cards and they offered us drinks and chocolate cake (homemade). It was like a home, we were given everything we needed to be comfortable and happy.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazingly comfortable and out in the country at Cave Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 26, 2017

Loved meeting the owner of the home. A very interesting man and could tell about the history of the house. The innkeepers were very personable and we loved the breakfast which included handmade lattes. Delicious!! We loved learning about the history and artifacts the house. Would definitely return again!! Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


one-night stay at High Laurel Inn (Grottoes, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2017

My wife and I came here for a one-night stay. The room was spacious and beautiful. The bed was comfortable and there was an amazing view from the balcony. Jim and Helen were wonderful hosts! The breakfast was fantastic. We had a great time and would come again. One suggestion - a sign at the bottom of the driveway would help!

View more reviews for this inn


Great night at Inn at Old Virginia at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2017

Close to great restaurants, spotlessly clean, and with a working train trestle in the front yard for railroad buffs (but don't worry, no trains st night)!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend getaway at By The Side Of The Road Bed and Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

This was our second stay at a B&B, and we enjoyed the experience. We stayed in the Water Lily suite, and it was a perfect private relaxing space for a weekend getaway for two tired parents! The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed having breakfast delivered each morning, the view of the pond from the porch, and the rain shower! The tv was never turned on - always a sign of a good weekend getaway. We look forward to returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Great at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2017

lovely, gracious, accommodating, great value

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Wonderful! at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on April 19, 2017

Our stay at the Inn at Old Virginia was absolutely incredible! It's a beautiful location in a rural, quiet area that was just what my wife and I needed. We would absolutely stay here again and look forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely BnB in quaint historic mountain town! We hope to go back again! Great wineries in the area too! at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Kim & Sam F

View more reviews for this inn


Our pampered get-away at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2017

How very perfect this BB is ~ all was TOPNOTCH. We surely plan to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Inn - What a gem! at The Stonewall Jackson Inn Bed & Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 04, 2017

This Inn is a terrific place to stay and tour the Harrisonburg/Shenandoah Valley area. The delicious breakfasts are sustaining and a wonderfully comfortable parlor area for easing into your daily activities or relaxing after your excursions. The first class linens and comfortable beds provide a restful night away from home experience and the innkeepers Terri and Roger graciously and efficiently attend to every guest's needs.

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at the Inn at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on March 30, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. Our stay at the Inn was wonderful. The rooms were clean and beautiful. If I had anything to say negative, it would be that you could hear everything from the room upstairs, very noisy and they also need to put some railings in the shower, I was worried I would fall and there was nothing to hang on to. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, and the food was delicious. I would definitely go back there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Place to Stay at The Stonewall Jackson Inn Bed & Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 29, 2017

I've passed this place before when I've visited Harrisonburg in the past. My usual B&B was booked, so I thought this would be a nice place to stay. This has become my first choice for a B&B in the area. I'm definitely coming back. Breakfast was outstanding. The croissant French toast is delightful. Next time, I'm going to ask for half the portion. It was too much for me. I don't eat so heartily and I heard some others dining that they don't eat as much either and Terri accommodated them. I'll do the same next time. The first day was a busy day I personally don't eat eggs on their own. It was a full house and eggs benedict was on the menu. I told Terri that I didn't mind if I just had everything but the egg. She surprised me with pancakes. It was accompanied by the best sausages and potatoes I've ever had. Those sausages were spicy and sweet and nothing like I've ever had. We stayed in the Belle Boyd suite, which is by the kitchen. You can hear the other guests when they come through, but I was an early riser and it didn't bother me. I'd love to stay in a different room next time. I didn't really hear anyone upstairs, even though it was a full house. So, that tells you something. It was a pleasant stay and I'm certainly returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Embrace the Whole Experience at By The Side Of The Road Bed and Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2017

This was our first stay at a B&B, an experience we'll not soon forget and one we will certainly repeat. We stayed in the 1790 Suite, which was the perfect setting for celebrating our 20th anniversary! You can browse the accommodations on the site, so we'll focus on our experience and how we felt instead. The suite was historic, warm, welcoming, and comfortable, with a romantic tone and simple peace about it. The property with deer by the pond at twilight, the house, the decor, and the hosts, all emanated the same warm and peaceful aura, we embraced it. To put it simply, we felt transported to a simpler time in history, where details were meticulously attended to and where relationships and kindness eclipsed even those fine details. Dennis and Janice are great hosts with a great home, and that's exactly what it feels like from the time you check in and browse through the house and history, to the time you check out with kind words and engaging, genuine conversation. Thanks for making this part of our anniversary special, and for the bottle of sparkling wine we enjoyed by the warm glow of the fireplace...cheers.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful area and B&B at Olde Staunton Inn (Staunton, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on March 24, 2017

The innkeeper is fantastic and serves a great breakfast. The room was wonderful. The area is a great place to visit. We had a wonderful time.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding all around! at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2017

Beautiful rooms and fabulous breakfast in a charming breakfast room. Wonderful staff. Sweet little town. Can't recommend it enough.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best places we've ever stayed! at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2017

My husband and I wanted a romantic and low-key getaway before our second baby is born. This was the BEST choice we could have made! They upgraded our room, and were delightful to work with and be with during our stay. Our room was beautiful - the linens, the decorations, the set-up, the view! It was the cleanest place we've ever stayed thanks to the lovely Rosemary! We loved the breakfast - extremely delicious, unique, and lovely. We would recommend this place to anyone! Though we didn't have our son with us this time, they were very accommodating if we ever wanted to come back with our kids. It's both great for a romantic getaway and a family trip too! Thanks for making our vacation relaxing and a beautiful and wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Great, historic B&B! at By The Side Of The Road Bed and Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2017

Loved the setting and and the peace and quiet! Well run and wonderful place!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at The Stonewall Jackson Inn Bed & Breakfast (Harrisonburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2017

My husband and I came to Harrisonburg and stayed 6 nights at The Stonewall Jackson Inn. We are relocating to Harrisonburg and loved the central location of the property. Terri and Roger were AMAZING!!!! From the moment we set foot through the front door we felt like Family!!! There was not anything they wouldn't do for us during our stay!!! Our room was super quaint and pretty, the property is so quiet and charming. Every detail was thought through and if there was anything we needed we got it!! I liked to sneak out into the living area and read a book with a glass of wine in the evening! (they have an extensive wine list...don't skip ordering a bottle..or two!) Breakfast was delicious EVERY SINGLE MORNING and certainly a Breakfast to remember. Dr. Wayne, the owner is an encyclopedia of all things Harrisonburg and such a sweet and charming man. We enjoyed talking with Christina as well and she was equally welcoming and warm. During breakfast we met so many nice people including a lot of return customers. The local chef of one of the Valley's (and Harrisonburg's) fine restaurants stays there when he is in town, along with couples, business men and women! We both highly recommend this property, you won't be disappointed! Love, Brandi and Ron Stayed March 2017

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful secluded inn with wonderful innkeeper at Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2017

This is a beautifully secluded location with a grand view of the mountains near Endless Caverns. The inn itself has a log cabin section dating from 1801 and a later 1800's addition that has huge character. Innkeeper Paul is a wonderfully multi-faceted person, so make sure and discuss his background and see his library. Quite a treat. The grounds are just lovely, with singing Chickadees, Finches, Wrens, and Juncos waking us with their songs in the morning. Short drive into historic New Market for shopping, coffee and food. Paul's breakfast of fresh fruit and French Toast was perhaps the best B&B breakfast I've had. There was just too much food! Charming place that we will visit again. Thumbs up.

View more reviews for this inn


My favorite place on Earth at Rosendale Inn Bed and Breakfast (New Market, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 08, 2017

I would like to share with you my impressions of my terrific journey into the world of history. When you cross the threshold of this house, you immediately move to another epoch. The Inn seems to breathe history, each Suite is unique and it has its own individual design and its name. Everything is almost as it was with the former inhabitants of the house. Here lived people who had family ties with US President Woodrow Wilson. But to get acquainted with the history of the house you will help by the owner of the Inn Dr. Paul Murphy who knows the history of this house very well, he writes a book about it. Also you will see a museum of history where are a lot of original materials and pictures, collected with the help of the second co-owner of the Inn, Juanita Miller, who had been doing business for many years before Paul Murphy have bought this Inn. By the way, there is one moment that was very pleasant to me, Paul speaks excellent Russian. He worked many years in Russia and also he learnt Russian at Moscow State University. I assure you, you will have many interesting conversations about different items. Just 7 minutes walking you can see unique Endless Caverns, swimming in the pool and just enjoy the beautiful nature of the mountains. Clean, fresh mountain air and silence around. For fishing enthusiasts, this is a great place to do it. I enjoyed, looking at wild animals which are a lot of here. I saw a family of deers and different small animals and birds. You can make a bike trip around the neighborhood. And also ride a scooter. If you come here with your horses, Paul has an excellent stable for this. Near the Inn there is a small town New Market, where there is an unique open-air Civil War museum. You will move to the time of the wonderful movie "Gone with the Wind" with Vivien Leigh and Clark Gamble. Here I spend my holidays every year, because I am finding for myself Peace and Tranquility and studying the history of these places.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Inn at Old Virginia (Staunton, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2017

This is our second stay at this property in six years and we love coming back. The rooms are nicely appointed and clean and the atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet. Everything is done with a personal touch and we definitely recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the area

View more reviews for this inn


About Harrisonburg

Two Bucolic Destinations in Rural America for a Romantic Getaway

Top
}