Recent Reviews in Gualala, California

relaxing, romantic, and dog friendly - perfect for couple with dog at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.0 reviewed on August 06, 2017

I totally enjoyed the weekend away in cooler coastal temperatures. the saturday social hour with wine and snacks while hanging out watching whales was amazing. would love to come back and have definitely recommended it to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place! at North Coast Country Inn (Gualala, California)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2017

Phil and Pia are wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were great! Very pet friendly. Great location for exploring the North Coast. This was our second visit and hope to come back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Whale Watch Inn at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 26, 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Whale Watch Inn. Robert and Miren were delightful. The linens were of good quality, and the bed was very comfortable. The view from the room and balcony is spectacular, and there is easy access to the beach. A warm, delicious breakfast was delivered to the room each morning, and we chose to eat on the private balcony. Sleeping with the sound of crashing waves and a crackling fire in the fireplace made for a relaxing stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Our new go-to B&B on the West Coast! at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2017

The Whale Watch Inn exceeded my expectations and was an amazing place to stay. We celebrated my birthday in the Pacifica Room. It was divine. Every morning a delicious breakfast was served to us at the time of our choosing...and each breakfast was different than the last! The room itself was quite spacious and I loved taking baths in the two person whirlpool. The fire place is a nice touch as well. Listening to the sounds of waves crashing on the bluff is a sound I would love to hear every night. There is a short walk down some windy (but sturdy) stairs down to a private beach. Robert and Miren were wonderful and made sure we had all we needed during our stay. We could not have been more pleased with our entire trip to Anchor Bay and we are already talking about when we can get back to the Whale Watch Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect mini vacation with our fur family! at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2017

We wanted to take a nice mini vacation but it is always a struggle to find someone to stay at our house with our dogs, so I went in search of a dog-friendly B&B and found the Whale Watch Inn. We weren't sure quite what to expect and we were so very surprised and pleased with our stay! The dogs were welcomed and treated like family. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, the grounds were gorgeous and the breakfast was wonderful! We wished we could have stayed a bit longer, and we are sure we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


A great experience and very friendly welcome. at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.8 reviewed on April 20, 2017

This was a wonderful room with a great ocean view. Beach access via an adventurous staircase was fun, and the community Whale Watch room was cozy and well-equipped with games, puzzles, books, and fruit and hot drinks. Binoculars and a telescope were provided for spotting whales. Miren was very friendly, helpful, and informative, and she and Robert surprised us newlyweds by leaving a chilled bottle of Champagne and glasses at our door, complete with a nice note. A delicious breakfast cooked to order and delivered to your room is included. The only slight drawbacks were that we couldn't get through on the published phone number before we arrived, and the wi-fi wasn't working for us, but the positive aspects of our stay far outshone those minor glitches. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Whale Watch Inn Honeymoon at North Coast Country Inn (Gualala, California)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2017

My husband and I am stayed with the whale watch last year and we had to come back for our honeymoon. Miren is the perfect hostess and I honestly don't think there is a more romantic place we could have stayed. We stayed in the bath suite this year which has a second floor that is just the whirlpool run overlooking the ocean and it is magnificent. We will be back again and again and trust us. It's worth the drive. ¿

View more reviews for this inn


Winter vacation at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on December 29, 2016

My wife an I stayed at Whale Watch Inn the week before Christmas. This was my first time here but my wife had been previously when she was younger. It was a truely wonderful experience. The staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The room overlooked that water and we were just a short walk down the stairs to the beach. Our room had a wonderful fireplace and jetted tub, very relaxing and enjoyable. We had breakfast delivered to our room and it was delightful. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable trip and we hope to return in the future. I highly recommend Whale Watch Inn!! -Jim Uhernik and Erin Uhernik

View more reviews for this inn


Time on a Cliff over the Pacific Ocean at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.6 reviewed on December 01, 2016

The best description of our experience is captured in this excerpt from the Inn's website:"You will find our bed and breakfast the perfect place to connect or reconnect with you partner, yourself, nature and your life." A great place to get away and if you are a lover of great breakfasts, go here. Their breakfasts are over the top memorable and are delivered to your room each morning. Your leave the Whale Watch Inn planning your return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Relaxing Experience at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

We only spent one night here in August 2016, in the Lovesong room, and I wish we could have stayed longer. The innkeepers were so warm and friendly and accommodating (they lent us a corkscrew so we could enjoy the wine we brought), and the room was just perfect, with extra blankets and pillows, and a cozy fireplace. The hot tub on the deck is super comfortable, and I only wish the weather had cooperated because sipping delicious local wine while stargazing in a private hot tub while listening to the ocean would have been perfection. For two New Yorkers, falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and a fire blazing was the perfect retreat before heading home. Also, the breakfast was amazing and delicious and filling!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning views and romantic setting at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.2 reviewed on August 29, 2016

We stayed in the Country French Suite for 3 nights on Aug 21st 2016. The room was gorgeous, with arguably the best views on the property. Lovely sitting area in the tower above with fireplace and wet bar. The sound of the waves outside our window at night were exactly what we were hoping for. The innkeeper, Miren was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, hot and delicious. Highly recommended. We'll be back.

View more reviews for this inn


The highlight of our honeymoon! at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2016

We honeymooned by taking a nine-day drive up Highway 1 this July...and we booked the final two nights in the Bath Suite at the Whale Watch Inn. We couldn't have been happier! The views are spectacular, the room comfortable, the bath sensual and Robert and Miren's hospitality set new standards. They spoiled us. We'll be back!

View more reviews for this inn


50th Anniversary & Birthday Getaway at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2016

Most romantic and awesome place we've ever experienced. We'll come back again and again. Mirin the hostess was wonderfully attentive and warm. This place is the Gem of the Pacific!

View more reviews for this inn


Many hidden details to discover. at North Coast Country Inn (Gualala, California)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2016

Wonderful and enchanting place with gracious and friendly hosts. Great breakfast!!! The room had several guest books in which were written entries from previous guests over the past 10 years. Fascinating time capsule of people from all over the world who stayed in the same room sharing their experiences! There is also a gazebo up the hill under the trees where you can take it all in. Beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful! at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2016

My husband and I recently stayed here during the memorial day weekend. We absolutely loved our stay here!! The inn keepers are really nice to talk to and they welcome you like family. The inn keepers are very helpful as well. We have many dietary restrictions and they went above and beyond to help us out with that for breakfast! And what a lovely breakfast spread we had all days we stayed there. We really enjoyed our room which had a direct ocean view and cannot wait to go back there soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 19, 2016

My husband and I and our Lab all spent the weekend here and it was perfect! We stayed in the Golden Voyage, a "dog friendly" room which was a short walk to the outdoor doggie area (doggie bathroom), which was very convenient. A short walk down the pathway and we were at the edge of the small cliff with STEEP stairs down to the Anchor Bay beach. The beach! We loved that beach. BONUS - there was a fresh water waterfall flowing down the cliff and through some rocks onto the beach so we didn't have to worry about fresh water for doggie as she romped and played with abandon and could drink from the pool of fresh water at the base of the waterfall. As I said we had a "dog friendly" room so the carpets were not prestine nor new, but they weren't horrible either. It was certainly vacuumed and dust free but there were some small stains here and there. For us we felt it was nice that we didn't have to be obsessive and worry too much about sandy paws. The rest of the room was very clean and nice. Breakfast was simple but done very well, and to be noted that the cook does accommodate gluten free diets. We stayed at the end of the whale migration season but we did manage to see a couple of whales as they wandered into and then out of the cove on their way north. A short drive up to Point Arena and there was lots of whale and seal watching to be had there right from the edge of the cliffs. One thing to note about the Inn was that our credit card was charged immediately upon arrival, instead of customarily at the end of the visit. Didn't matter to us but wanted to note in case it matters to someone else. The new owners are extremely nice, extremely friendly, and very dedicated to making this the best place to stay in the area, and we will definitely be back as long as they continue to allow us to bring our fur baby with us!

View more reviews for this inn


Piece of paradise at Whale Watch Inn (Anchor Bay, California)

3.6 reviewed on May 17, 2016

This was by far the most peaceful, beautiful piece of paradise ever. Robert & Miren made you feel just like family and in such a relaxing amazing upscale cottage like piece of heaven. We were only going to stay for one night, but couldn't leave so we stayed for another day and night. The views are spectacular and there is a great beach below. Will definitely be back to see and stay with our "new family" and would recommend this place to EVERYBODY i know and meet. Thank you so much again Robert & Miren

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. North Coast Country Inn (4.74)
  2. Whale Watch Inn (4.72)
Top
check }