Recent Reviews in Greenfield, Massachusetts

A very fortunate error on our part. at Angels' Rest Retreat (Leyden, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2017

Having neglected to make reservations in the area for a necessary trip, this was a comedy of errors that turned out to be one of the finest experiences we have had in recent times. A last minute choice of lodging, a facility just beginning their future as a bed and breakfast, and people in charge, with a desire to satisfy their first customers, all came together to make this encounter, into an experience that will not soon be forgotten. A beautiful, but intimate compound, nestled on a snow covered mountain side, Angel's Rest Retreat is a real jewel, in the traditional B&B world. Extremely quiet and secluded, it gives one the feeling of using a friend's house, while they are out of town. Add to that, a staff with an attitude of giving complete customer service and attention to the smallest of details, the end result is what we experienced during our stay. As this is not a full time B&B, and serves as a retreat for small groups (up to 28 people), scheduling a getaway at this beautiful property will need to be worked out in advance with the staff as priority is given to retreats, family functions, and even a couple of opportunities for lucky couples to share this intimate venue for their wedding. I find myself in a difficult position when writing this review because Angel's Rest is one of those "finds" you rarely encounter in life, and want to keep for yourself, even though you know you must share with others.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2017

I had received this weekend getaway as a gift for a milestone birthday. It was perfect. The Centennial House was beautiful and the inn keepers amazing. Very friendly and helpful. They knew a lot about the history of the house and the town. They provided recommendations for anything you could need. Breakfast each day was fantastic. The suite we had was amazing. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Thank you Joan & Steve for making my birthday perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


December stay at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

4.0 reviewed on January 02, 2017

We have been staying at the Brandt House consistently for 17 years. It's always top notch!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful Bed and Breakfast Experience at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on December 06, 2016

Steve and Joan are very accommodating and flexible with our check-in time. The house is very large and extremely quiet. You feel like you are alone in the house the entire time you are there, which is nice if you are looking for a peaceful getaway. The dining room is beautiful if you like that country feel. I took a lot of pictures throughout most of the interior of the house because of the décor and crafted woodwork. I will definitely be staying there again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2016

Very pleasant stay, met some old neighbors also staying there (used to live around the corner). Nice to be back in Greenfield for a bit.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and Quiet at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

4.8 reviewed on October 16, 2016

It is a big beautiful house on top of a hill (quite the driveway!) Very clean, cozy, tastefully decorated and sympathetic to the era of the home. My bed was very comfortable, I slept well. Coffee and breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed the company of the other guests. Greenfield has some great restaurants and it is ideally situated for those wishing to visit historic Deerfield. I think The Brandt House has more character and is a better value than the Inn in Deerfield. There is lots to see in Pioneer Valley. I also made a trek to the Peace Pagoda outside of Leverett and that was really cool, despite the rain.

View more reviews for this inn


Greenfield Stopover at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

4.4 reviewed on October 10, 2016

On a trip to Vermont for a long weekend, we thought a stop at about the half way mark might be enjoyable. We decided to search for a place in Greenfield rather than Deerfireld and discovered the lovely Brandt House. It is a charming place and our stay, though short, added a delightful component to our travel north.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Mansion B&B at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

3.6 reviewed on September 14, 2016

I only stayed one night, but the Brandt House impressed me as a charming and elegant example of a Victorian mansion. The house is beautifully furnished and maintained. Unfortunately, my reservation was for one of the third floor rooms, rooms typically designed for servants or children, and it was small and shared a bath with another room. It was a hot humid day, and the mansion is not air-conditioned. Rather, portable air conditioners are used with are extremely noisy and only moderately effective. Breakfast was wonderful. A nice fruit bowl filled by a delicious french toast like creation with a wonderful sauce. Elegantly served in a magnificent dining room, and it wasn't hard to imagine what life must have been like for the upper class 150 years ago.

View more reviews for this inn


Great service at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

My husband and I went to the Centennial House for our anniversary in July for a quiet night away and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and our room was comfortable. Steve and Joan were very friendly and helpful to our needs.We watched the sunset from their beautiful gazebo out back and enjoyed a fantastic breakfast! We will definitely plan to stay here in the future the next time we need a night away.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2016

Our visit was delightful. This B&B was cute, quaint, warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and the owners were very hospitable. I highly recommend this inn. We'll be back....

View more reviews for this inn


Best place in town! at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

We stayed for one night last weekend (early summer.) We couldn't be happier. Even though there are new owners, it's still the same old wonderful Brandt house! We've been staying here off and on for about five years. The mattresses are very comfortable, new, and high quality. Excellent pillows and linens. Quiet, powerful air conditioners. Water is as hot as you want it and high pressure. Everything was immaculate and clean as always. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and fresh, a garden vegetable frittata. Vicky in the evening and George in the morning were friendly, welcoming and professional. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right at home at Dancing Bear Guest House (Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on May 30, 2016

Enjoyed our stay this past weekend and immediately felt right at home! The rooms were clean and our hosts were great people!! I would stay again and recommend the Dancing Bear Guesthouse to anyone visiting this area of western MA.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Nice B&B at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

3.6 reviewed on April 13, 2016

Brandt house is a nice place to stay. Charming interior decorating and excellent breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Hosts! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2016

Steve and Joan were wonderful. The first breakfast was a Spring egg bake with lovely asparagus and cheese, terrific fresh fruit and homemade scones. The next morning we had fresh fruit, baked apples and made to order omelettes (we were the only guests that morning). Great king bed with soft, cozy sheets. Terrific!

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet, classy and comfortable B&B at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2016

You will find the best qualities of a proud B&B here. The owner was personable and very helpful, the house classy and interesting, the accommodations very comfortable, and complete with a terrific three course breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Hospitality at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2015

My former college roommates and I spent a night at the Centennial House and were so pleased with our stay. The accommodations were wonderful; such a sweet spot in a quaint town. The home was so welcoming, with beautiful decor and especially comfy beds. We can't say enough about the incredible hospitality that Joan extended to us under an unexpected and challenging situation. She was so understanding and accommodating of our needs. The breakfast was wonderful and again, we appreciated the attention to our special dietary needs. This is a wonderful place to stay with amazing hosts. We would happily return annually and highly recommend this beautiful home when staying in western Mass. Thank you Steve and Joan for the wonderful stay! Leslie T.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely lovely! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2015

My husband and I were vendors at the Mutton and Mead Ren Faire and this was our Saturday night stay. Joan and Steve were so accomodating, the old house is charming and filled with antiques and coziness galore. We slept soundly and the faint crow of a neighborhood rooster greeted us in the morning. Peaceful, impeccable breakfast. Just a wonderful value and completely enjoyable stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay here. at Dancing Bear Guest House (Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2015

I stayed here for three nights on a writing retreat and honestly, the Dancing Bear Guesthouse is one of the most pleasant places I've ever stayed. Philip is a charming and gracious host (I didn't get to meet Edith as she was traveling) who has mastered the art of welcoming-but-unobtrusive innkeeping. I only wish I got to speak to him more. My room was perfect -- scrupulously clean, quiet, tasteful, with beautiful light and a balcony (ask for the balcony room!). The breakfasts were perfect: eggs, bagels and lox, homemade muffins. If you're visiting Shelburne Falls, stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Knowledgable Hosts at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

4.4 reviewed on November 23, 2014

It was wonderful having hosts who really knew the area and its history.

View more reviews for this inn


Worth going back at Brandt House (Greenfield, MA)

4.4 reviewed on November 21, 2014

Sean is a wonderful and gracious host. The house is beautiful and inviting, spacious and comfortable. There are plenty of spaces to visit with other guests or to be alone if that's your preference. Hiking and good restaurants nearby to explore. It's the only place where I would consider staying when visiting Greenfield.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2014

Stayed at Centennial House 9/29-10/2/14. An absolutely delightful inn, Joan and Steve could not have been more gracious... spotless / comfortable rooms... the best meals we've had in a B&B- truly three course gourmet! We highly recommend! Holly and Mark, Chardon Ohio.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B and B for our wedding reception weekend at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on October 24, 2014

We reserved the inn for our wedding reception weekend and everything was beautiful. Working with Joan prior to and on the weekend was great - she was friendly, responsive, and easy to work with. It was a lovely, comfortable setting and all of our guests felt at home. Breakfast definitely exceeded our expectations with several courses, fresh baked goods, and delicious fruit. I would highly recommend the Centennial House for a weekend away or for an event.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway weekend at Poetry Ridge Bed and Breakfast (Greenfield, Massachusetts)

4.6 reviewed on September 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this Bed and Breakfast. Our host was very warm and friendly, and we felt very comfortable throughout our two-night stay. The room was nice, the bed was exceptionally comfortable. We were very impressed when our host, knowing it was our anniversary, brought us chocolate and a glass of home-made wine when we returned from our dinner out. He also gave us terrific recommendations for places to eat during our stay. We will return for another visit, that's for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely people in a lovely little New England town! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2014

This is a wonderful small town in Northern Massachusetts, right on the Vermont border. Easy drives to many beautiful hikes, Brattleboro, etc. The hosts are wonderful and kind, and the house is beautiful. All the comforts of home - tea,.coffee and fresh cookies in the sitting room, bottled water, full hot breakfast. Bucolic, quiet, and relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Centennial House B&B at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

4.8 reviewed on July 18, 2014

We were only there one night but felt very welcomed. The breakfast was great. I have several food allergies and they were able to accommodate me without me feeling like I was putting them out. We have already booked a return trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Do You Want to Know a Secret? at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

4.0 reviewed on July 13, 2014

There is a wonderful community of folks residing in the town of Northfield, MA. and several of them are associated with the local B&B we had the pleasure of staying in this past weekend. The staff and owners of the Centennial House could not have made us feel more welcome, accommodated our various quirks and questions and radiated enthusiasm for their part of the world and our reasons for visiting. Their dining recommendations were spot on, and the location is great for getting to many destinations in several states! We look forward to our return soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2014

This is a lovely B&B, and Joan is a wonderful hostess. Even though we were the only guests there (mid-week, off-season), Joan gave us the full treatment and had a delicious breakfast. I definitely recommend this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


It's all good! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2013

There is simply not negative word that could be said about this B&B! From the time we arrive till the time we left, Joan was a wonderful host! This 200-year-old home has plenty of charm and all the modern amenities one would expect in the 21st century. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was firm and provided a great night sleep. My expectation for breakfast at any B&B is to leave feeling fuller than I need to be and Joan did not disappoint us! Finally, the gazebo in the rear of the property provided a wonderful touch for relaxation and taking in one of the books we had brought with us. If you travel to Western Massachusetts you will make your trip better with the stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2013

Joan and Steve are real professionals. But beside this, they are truly nice people, interesting and very helpful. Joan is also a great cook. The B&B was absolutely magnificent including the décor, the setting and, of course, the hospitality. We definitely plan to be back there. We recommend this place to everyone with good taste and a desire for a lovely experience. Michael (Montreal)

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place!!! at Centennial House Bed & Breakfast (Northfield, Massachusetts)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2013

The proprietors Joan and Steve are seasoned B&B professionals. We stayed in the king suite for two nights. Lot of space, huge perfect jacuzzi bath tub. So comfortable, so clean. Excellent ideas for recreation. Cross country ski up to a doable 1000 foot summit on Mount Northfield 4 miles away. I am an espresso drinker perfect one block away cozy bookstore with amazing coffee!! Fire place in the breakfast room while eating home made comfort food breakfast. Small town, quiet, beautifully surrounded by foot hills. We stayed an unexpected extra night simply because it was so aweome!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}