The Lake Rabun Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
112 Reviews

Write A Review

Gen in the woods

4.4 on May 09, 2017

Beautiful setting in the winding roads of Northern GA. Refurbished hotel built in 1922 with personable staff and chef providing outstanding food. Rooms are small, quaint and comfortable. Garden room was lovely with extra space to enjoy greenery and birds. We enjoyed the areas open to guest to sit by the fireplace and review your time in this special place.


Great Weekend Get-Away for the Allmond-Vaughn Wedding

5 on May 04, 2017

The Lake Rabun Hotel is a ray of sunshine and rare find nestled in the beautiful backyard of the Chattahoochee National Forest. There's plenty to do in the surrounding areas or if you just want to stay close to home base and relax this is a great place to do that. Thanks so much for everything. The hotel is amazing and the food was superb. It was the perfect place to stay for the wedding. It was also a beautiful place for my friends to get married on the lake. It couldn't of been more perfect!!! We'll be back for sure!!


Birthday Weeekend

4.8 on April 18, 2017

Took my wife to celebrate her birthday. Great weekend. She loved our stay and the staff was very friendly! Food was incredible! Hiked Tallulah Gorge on Saturday and returned for an excellent dinner experience at the Lodge. We will be back. Thanks for a great memory!


Outstanding Service, Rustic & Quaint

5 on April 06, 2017

Complimentary breakfast was outstanding, complimentary goodies, coffee and tea available all day and night, and the decor and rustic charm is plentiful. Internet ok, cell service ok, but not great. No tv's in rooms, but tons of communal space for all guests to enjoy without being on top of each other. Stayed for 3 nights and was very pleased.


Great cozy find

4.0 on March 31, 2017

This is a hidden gem! It's so cozy and the staff was so welcoming. The atmosphere is wonderful! Highly recommend unless you are allergic or don't like cats, the cats are allowed in the house and you might find them on the bed (just a side note). But otherwise it's truly a great place and you get to enjoy the scenery.


The Perfect Place to stay for our Waterfall Wedding

5 on March 22, 2017

The Lake Rabun Hotel and Restaurant was recommended to us by Waterfall Wedding Experts as an excellent place to stay very close to our wedding venue. I must say we were not disappointed. The Hotel is beautiful! very Rustic, yet modern, and the Restaurant is excellent. No doubt we will return. again and again. You will not find a more helpful staff anywhere!!!


Amazing hospitality and value

4.8 on March 21, 2017

This was the most outstanding example of hospitality we have ever experienced. The staff was amazing, the food divine and the whole experience unforgettable. We felt the value was more than there for everything we got during our stay. If you like quaint and unique this is your place. You can hear the comings and goings of the other guests but we were okay with it and felt it added to the homieness of the place.


Nice weekend getaway

4.8 on March 20, 2017

I've stayed here many times. It's always exceeded my expectations for service and cleanliness. We love the new 3rd floor rooms and the dining is always top notch.


Very cozy and food is good too!

5 on March 01, 2017

We enjoyed our stay. Very cozy and comfortable. The food was very good and very friendly customer service.


Dining Superb, Facility OK

3.8 on February 22, 2017

Sparsely decorated rooms in an previously affluent foregone destination. Nothing in the rooms, on the property, or near the location to do but each other. Take advantage of that! When you need a break, go see the gorge and the falls. The spa was wonderful. April and April made the trip worth while. The meals were superb and the service was friendly if scheduling provided enough.


Beautiful setting

4.8 on February 15, 2017

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. The staff was above and beyond helpful and we will return. Joe Pensy


I had a really good time

5 on January 23, 2017

I went there to have some me time, and I totally found what a need. It snowed also, so it was amazing


Great mountain get away!

4.6 on January 09, 2017

Beautiful property, friendly staff, great hiking and sightseeing nearby. The best rooms are the new ones on the third floor. Christmas 2016


We loved our stay at Lake Rabun

4.6 on December 15, 2016

We loved the friendly staff and warm environment! The rooms are beautiful! The breakfast was great and they were happy to meet our dietary needs. We purchased the spa package and had dinner one night in the hotel.


Our Annual Trip

5 on November 23, 2016

We discovered Lake Rabin Hotel 5 years ago and have been back once each year ever since.Really enjoy the atmosphere the staff and the opportunity to meet other guests. Also a great location for hiking and scenic drives.


Love lake rabun hotel

4.2 on November 12, 2016

We loved our stay at this historic inn. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming.


Lovely stay

4.6 on November 11, 2016

Wonderful staff, wonderful stay after our busy day trip to the nearby Falls. We enjoyed a room in the cottage which also allowed us to have peaceful moments on the porch prior to the evening meal. Dinner and the breakfast inside the hotel were both delicious.


Great getaway

5 on October 23, 2016

We enjoyed our quick getaway to Lake Rabin. The hotel is lovely and clean. The staff was so nice. Great food and service. We will be back!


Anniversary trip

4.2 on October 08, 2016

Rooms were small although we found out they had larger rooms on the 3rd floor that do not show up on their website. Dining and service is excellent. Very relaxing with a glass of wine on their tree top decks.


“A little slice of Heaven in the mountains”

5 on August 29, 2016

There are not enough superlatives to describe our lovely stay at the Lake Rabun Hotel. It is charming on the outside and inside and each room that you step into will put a smile on your face. We felt like we had taken a step back in time; perfect place to unplug, relax and chill. Close to major attractions too. Our room was cozy and clean and the bedding was perfect (we just loved the pillows). We slept like babies each night. What really makes this place special is the team that runs the hotel...from Jenna and Beth at the front desk to Robin and Josh, you feel like you are part of their family and they truly want to see their guests have a good time and enjoy and relax. We can't wait to go back and will definitely be planning an escape to Lake Rabun Hotel again.


Lake Rabun Hotel

4.8 on August 11, 2016

We stayed in the innkeepers lodge It was really nice and so peaceful. The on site restaurant was spectacular. Lastly, the service was by far the best we have had.


enjoyed the canoe

3.8 on August 07, 2016

my husband and i enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We especially enjoyed renting a canoe from Mr. Crowe.


Lake Rabun is My Favorite Place

5 on August 05, 2016

Relaxing, quaint, beautiful, best food, love this place


True Log Cabin Hotel

4.2 on July 29, 2016

Very well converted hunting lodge, with the original character maintained. Excellent elevated position, with the feeling of being in the trees! The staff are great, as was the In-house restaurant. A real treat and such a different hotel experience!


Lake Rabun is amazing!

5 on July 25, 2016

Lake Rabunbis amazing! A must visit hotel and restaurant.


Fantastic Get Away!

4.4 on July 17, 2016

Absolutely great location, real lovely away from it all location, very tastefully renovated. The on site restaurant was a real bonus! The scenery in the immediate area was absolutely stunning!


Beautiful getaway!

4.8 on July 11, 2016

This a beautiful and magical place to get away. The food was spectacular. The rooms were a bit small and not on the lake but the service, food and location getaway was perfect. Great job to all the staff and innkeeper.


a quiet, romantic mountain get-away

5 on July 03, 2016

The hotel is quaint and rustic, a lovely and quiet escape from the bustle and heat of the Atlanta metro area. We stayed only one night and did not have the opportunity to have dinner in the dining room, but the complimentary breakfast was pretty amazing so I have no doubt that the dinner fare would be great as well. The staff were friendly and welcoming.


One of my favorite places

4.8 on July 01, 2016

The service was 5 star! This is the cutest little hotel I have ever seen. I would highly recommend it~


Your Woodland Lodge---

4.6 on June 13, 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Lake Rabun Hotel in the heat of June--but it was cool and delightful in the mountains. The hotel is like the mountain home you wish you had inherited---full of dark wood, rustic antique furnishings, and knotty pine, with porches and decks for you to sit out under the trees. We were greeted nicely, and shown to our room, and introduced to the free coffee, tea, snacks, and homemade cookies available on the second floor. Breakfast was full and delicious: fruit with yogurt, blueberry tea bread, bacon, omelette, grits, and orange juice. We skipped lunch that day. We also dined in the restaurant the night before, and we felt the price was very reasonable for a special night out, with memorably good food. We're still talking about it our meals there I have only one caveat--the walls of the rooms are wood, so rather thin--it is easy to hear the neighbors. Some guests may need more sound proofing. The bed was comfortable, and I slept very well. I want to go back!


Very Cool Hotel

4.2 on June 10, 2016

No water view - since house has been built - which eliminated the former peek-a-boo lake view. Rooms small, yes, but not uncomfortably small like NYC boxes. Breakfast extraordinarily unique and tasty !! Nice bar - premium liquors - GREAT bartender. Uncomfortable stools. Extraordinary decor - cozy - quaint - clean - comfy ! Only question? Is place having money problems? Heard Manager/Owner? yelling on phone.


Quiet, restful stay

3.2 on March 30, 2016

We loved how quiet & peaceful the hotel is, and the staff was wonderful. We were disappointed in the response we got at dinner, when after having ordered 3 alcoholic beverages, an appetizer, 2 entrees (one of which was the most $$ on menu), and a dessert, they refused to give us complementary coffee, when it was available to inn guests (which we were) just up the steps from the restaurant. Not good PR. Small things count - it felt like our money was more important than our experience.


Enjoyed our stay

3.8 on March 17, 2016

We had business in Otto, NC and decided to make it a holiday for the evening. Enjoyed delicious dinner in the restaurant & the complimentary breakfast was fab. Rooms were cute and all the common areas very comfortable.


Peace and Quiet

5 on March 09, 2016

Quiet, great food and a very attentive staff. We really felt welcomed and cared for.


Life-long memories made

4.0 on March 02, 2016

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Lake Rabun. It was everything I was hoping for and more. The staff was very friendly and oriented us to the place even though we arrived there pretty late in the evening, food was to die for (yes it is as good as it looks) and the entire facility is clean and very well kept. We definitely will be visiting again!


Weekend Getaway

3.6 on February 15, 2016

A fine place to stop and enjoy comfortable accommodations, friendly staff and travelers looking to enjoy north Georgia.


Like Going home again

4.6 on February 01, 2016

We have been to the Lake Rabun Hotel many many times at many different times of year. We've been just the 2 of us, and with 4 other people a few times. No matter what we have a wonderful time. The restaurant food is wonderful and all the staff is the most friendly of anywhere we've ever stayed. We recommend it to everyone we know.


Great getaway

4.6 on February 01, 2016

thoroughly enjoyed our rustic stay at Lake Rabun Hotel. Rooms are okay when considering the age of the property. Noise level between rooms is high. However, the ambiance and the service more than made up for minor issues. Friendly, attentive staff - ready to meet our every wish/need. A fun winter getaway!


A weekend to remember

5 on January 06, 2016

I enjoyed every moment at Lake Rabun hotel. Breakfast, brunch, and dinner were just fantastic. I stayed here for 2 nights and it felt like I vacationed for a month. The services was outstanding and staff seemed happy to attend my needs. I look forward to the next visit. Thank you guys!


Perfect

5 on January 06, 2016

We really enjoyed the stay at the hotel and surroundings. Atmosphere A+, food exquisite, service perfect. A perfect winter getaway. Very romantic.


Winter weekend

4.6 on December 23, 2015

We celebrated an anniversary weekend at this lovely, rustic hotel. The hotel had all the elements of a multi-star Inn if you remember the 'rustic' element. Built in 1922 it has the charm of an comfortable fishing camp coupled with an excellent restaurant (no going out in the dark of a rainy December night!). It fits nicely in the environment of Lake Rabun lake houses with lots to do nearby. The rooms are small but the shower was delightful! A lovely place to get away from TV and phones!


Wonderful Getaway

4.8 on December 21, 2015

Our getaway at the Lake Rabun Hotel was incredibly peaceful. The staff is attentive to guests and knowledgeable about the area. We took a day to shop in Dillard and Clarkesville. We took another day to explore Tallulah Gorge, a must see! The inn has been well taken care of and speaks of a simpler time. We loved the personality the inn seemed to have of its own. We stayed in the Garden Room. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We ate shamelessly each morning and had dinner at the inn one evening. Wow! Delicious! We will return, hopefully soon!


Great getaway

4.0 on December 21, 2015

Beautiful area and beautiful building and top notch dining. Extremely friendly staff. Rooms need a linen refresh; new towels, shower liners, new sheets and new bath rugs would make this luxurious.


Beautiful B&B, but if sleeping in is your goal, reconsider!

3.8 on November 25, 2015

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at LRH. The staff was amazing and the food was outstanding. We soon learned to accept that there was no TV in our room and enjoyed the fire and football on the bigscreen in the parlor. Our dinner and breakfast was amazing, and we met some pretty neat folks! Our only complaint was the noise level. Being an almost 100 year old structure, insulation for sound is obviously not a feature. Early in the morning, we heard cars driving by, footsteps of the staff downstairs preparing breakfast, and even the running faucet in the room next door. That to say, our stay WAS relaxing, cozy and worth it.


Anniversary at Lake Rabun Hotel

4.4 on November 01, 2015

What a jewel to find! We had driven by and seen the hotel before, but never had a chance to stay. Lovely! Outstanding! Beautiful. Great restaurant, staff, accommodations and lovely cats.


Great rustic and cosy hideaway in the woods¿¿

5 on October 31, 2015

This was the most wonderful getaway we have ever been too. All you could ask for and much more. I would go back again n again. The staff made out stay superb. Ken, Jen and Robin made our stay Feel like home! Robin took special attention to our needs¿¿ I would definitely recommend this hotel. Every breakfast were delicious! We weren't there to enjoy their dinners but next for sure. Thanks so much, Den n Rob


Enjoyed!!!

4.6 on October 23, 2015

Very friendly staff. Beautiful, comfortable, and cozy. My husband and I enjoyed our 1 night. The breakfast was delicious.


Weekend Getaway

4.2 on October 22, 2015

We needed a break and our stay at Lake Raburn Inn could not have been a better place to unwind and relax. Everyone was so nice, rooms were great and the food was excellent. Will be booking another stay soon.


Great B&B for relaxing

4.8 on October 22, 2015

We looked for a B&B in the GA Mountains and fell in love with the pictures of Lake Rabun Hotel and Restaurant. Yes, we like the adventure of that being our only criteria, internet picture. We hit a home run on this trip! This is more like a traditional bed and breakfast than a hotel and restaurant but that was what we were looking for. Here is what we experienced: - The building is old and I would call it historic. Extremely well maintained for it's age and everything worked - The Breakfast is huge and delicious, served quickly and friendly. You may skip lunch after this morning feast. Drink refills were courteous and fast - Frig, microwave, coffee, ice, cookies on each of the two floor convenient to the room - Onsite restaurant is not open all week but plenty of eateries within 20 min drive - Beautiful grounds are nestled in the trees but not deep into the woods, traffic still exists but it was not intrusive - Some of the literature we saw showed Lake Rabun views. The property is not on the lake. The lake is right across the street but foliage and other buildings does restrict the view. - No TVs in the room but a big screen with cable and netflix was down in the game room. - Fireplace sitting room was very nice and cozy. - Clayton GA and other attractions are close and easy drive through the mountains - The resident cats were friendly and fun to cuddle with along with a great book on the porches. - Staff was always available, friendly without wanting to know your life story and very efficient A great time and if you enjoy the Bed and Breakfast style of lodging I don't think you'll be disappointed.


Anniversary getaway

4.4 on October 20, 2015

We only spent 1 night, but the room although small was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had dinner at the hotel and it was excellent. If you go try the Pimento cheese fritters they were terrific. I recommend the hotel and restaurant and you should try it.


Great b&b

4.6 on October 09, 2015

Great area to vacation. Plenty of hiking trails and waterfalls on the same road as the hotel. The breakfast is great and more than you could possibly eat. Also a plus there is a great Italian restaurant right across the street.


Convenient Location & Group Friendly

4.2 on September 15, 2015

The B&B is easy to find, and the price was right. Dinner was outstanding (had the fried chicken), and the tree top patio was great for enjoying adult beverages & playing card games into the night. The Lake Rabun Hotel is located near enough to Tallulah Gorge to obtain a hike permit before enjoying breakfast. The breakfast was alright; there were some great items & some items I didn't care for too much. The french toast biscuits were a highlight for me, and I'll be trying to replicate them at home. I didn't leave hungry, and my coffee cup was never empty. Will definitely return!


Cozy Retreat

4.4 on September 11, 2015

I stayed here with 6 friends over Labor Day weekend and we all loved it! The hotel is incredibly quaint and cozy, and the level of personal service provided by staff was refreshing. There is an on-site bar for pre-dinner drinks. And don't bother going elsewhere for dinner... the restaurant is amazing! We couldn't have asked for more.


Loved it!

4.0 on September 06, 2015

Spent 3 rainy days here. One of the most relaxing vacations we've had. VERY laid back. Excellent dinner. Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back!


Great Rustic Getaway!

4.8 on September 05, 2015

Stayed on night here just to get out of the city. Beautifully restored rustic hotel just across the street from Lake Rabun. Had both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and both were top notch! Met several nice couples hanging out in the common areas. Be sure to visit the shops in nearby Lakemont and the wineries just up the road in Tiger. Great service, relaxing getaway...highly recommend!


Great place to relax.

4.2 on August 28, 2015

Wonderful restored hotel, great atmosphere and rooms. Very relaxing place to unwind and enjoy the area.


Quiet, Relaxing, and Rustic

3.4 on May 31, 2015

Generally a good experience. Breakfast was excellent, but the restaurant was closed during our stay, so we cannot review the dinner offering. The room we stayed in (Talllulah) was a bit smaller than I anticipated, resulting in a couple of "shin-bangers" against the bedpost when maneuvering around the bed. We enjoyed sitting out on the deck or porch in the evening. Staff was great. I would recommend the Lake Rabun Hotel.


Great Getaway!

5 on May 07, 2015

My husband surprised me for my 35th birthday by taking me to hike Talullah Gorge and Black Rock Mountain. We stayed at the Lake Rabun Hotel and Restaurant as our home base, in a cabin. It was so cute and comfy! Shower was cute and made of stones and had good water pressure. Only thing is there is hard water, so be prepared to rinse a lot. We were there on a Monday/Tuesday so the restaurant wasn't open and not much in Clayton was open either. But we made do and went to Rumor Hazit and it was a cute bar with upscale bar food that was great and hit the spot even for a picky eater like me. Back at the hotel, they had wine, cheese, crackers and cookies and fruit waiting for us. They even had gluten free crackers for me! We also got a couples massage and it was seriously one of the best and most relaxing massages I have ever had!!!! Breakfast the next morning was fabulous. I don't usually eat a lot in the morning but it was so good I ate it all. They had quiche, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, fruit/yogurt/granola parfaits, fresh juice, coffee and potatoes. I am gluten free and vegetarian so they made me a special plate with scrambled eggs, sliced tomatoes, potatoes with a side fruit/yogurt/granola parfait and fresh juice. It was great and everyone was very nice. It was a great time and look forward to going back at a time when everything is open!


Anniversary

4.2 on April 25, 2015

Everything was wonderful. At one point, there was a very loud guest staying next door, but her lecture to her roommate ended in time for sleep.


Quaint and Cozy!

4.4 on April 08, 2015

Wife and I stayed there last week and thought this place was great! The building is a refurbished fishing lodge with tons of character. Yes the rooms are small and the walls are thin...but the building is close to 100 years old! This is not your cookie- cutter hotel. If you like friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable, quaint and cozy with a bit of history....this is it.


Romantic weekend getaway

4.8 on March 23, 2015

Surprised my boyfriend with a weekend away for his birthday. Everything exceeded our expectations! The food was amazing! The staff was so nice and friendly!!! My one concern was people talking about how small the rooms were. They were small but they were cozy! Never did I feel crammed! We look forward to returning!


Just not what expected

2.6 on February 20, 2015

The hotel is beautiful inside however the rooms are tiny with no amenities at all. Walls are so thin you can hear conversations in the hall and next room even over the " white noise machine" provided. If you want to make yourself a drink you will have to chop ice out if a bucket in the hall. The food was fair at best. The cost with the two night minimum definitely exceeds the value.


great romantic getaway!

4.2 on February 19, 2015

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Very unique place to relax.


Relaxing

4.2 on January 31, 2015

Nice and quiet place to spend a weekend. The food is AMAZING the staff is fun to talk to and the Hotel is so beautiful itself. Its a small place but really cozy.


Very pleasant stay

5 on January 18, 2015

If you are looking for a rustic bed and breakfast in the mountains, you should seriously consider the Lake Rabun Hotel. My wife and I spent a few days here for our honeymoon and we were glad we did. The rooms are small but include everything you will need. The bed was very comfortable. The room we had included a fireplace, but it was the only one of the standard rooms that did. There is also a cottage next to the main hotel building with larger rooms if you are willing to pay more. Breakfast was outstanding. The innkeepers and other guests were very friendly and pleasant to talk to. We will definitely come back and stay again.


Charming b&b

5 on January 11, 2015

Beautiful Inn. Great place to get away and relax.


Great spot!

4.8 on December 10, 2014

This facility could not be more charming. Outstanding restaurant and wonderful location!


A very quiet and nice place.

4.2 on December 08, 2014

Excellent food.


At least once a year treat

4.8 on November 24, 2014

We come to the area at least once a year. Easy, laid back, and quiet. Food is always good. Love the cozy bedrooms. Yes, they are small but basically only sleep in them. Also, enjoy meeting the other guests, especially if it a big Georgia Game going on.


THE LIL' PLACE ACROSS FROM THE LAKE.

5 on November 24, 2014

The TRUE PLEASURE of The Lake Rabun Hotel is the mind set. U need to understand it is an OLD fishing lodge built in 1922. There is Not a huge lavish suite with plush carpet under your toes. There is a couple of soft leather wing backs setting in front of a big stone fire pace. We found them the ideal place to sip a lil' wine, watch the flames dance, and not have to worry about who was calling or texting my cell phone from the outside world. (let em leave a message.) The comfy bed up the old wood stairs was an ideal place to catch up on a few page of book my tablet was saving for weeks. The highlight of our trip was the WONDERFUL dinner we enjoyed in the lodge's dining room. I am just a red neck foodie from Indiana...But, this place is A true symphony to the taste buds! If u want to find that one place where the rest of it all does not matter..come to The Lil' Place Across from The Lake. ...LAKE RABUN HOTEL!


Very relaxing

4.4 on November 07, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We knew the room would be small, so that was not a problem. But the inn itself made up for that. There were plenty of places to hang out, both out side and inside. We loved having the coffee available anytime, and we loved the afternoon cookies! The breakfast was tasty and the dinner there on the patio was super romantic. We will be going back!


warm and cozy

4.4 on November 05, 2014

beautifully done in an old lodge feel. we loved it and would gladly return


Idaho Couple

3.2 on November 01, 2014

We'll be back !!!


Incredible surprise!

4.8 on October 16, 2014

Reminds me of summer camp and every hunting or fishing camp I experienced growing up. Ambiance is 'over the top' and the staff was thoroughly accommodating. An indescribable jewel tucked away in the mountains of North Georgia. Next trip I'm bringing two large books and staying a week! Louis P. Batson III Greenville, SC


Fun Getaway

3.8 on October 09, 2014

A great country setting with this rustic hotel nestled in the woods of the Lake Rabun area. The staff was so friendly and the breakfast was memorable. We truly enjoyed our weekend getaway.


Quaint B & B

3.2 on September 28, 2014

Beautiful setting and quaint B & B, Breakfast and Dinner were excellent, very warm and cozy cabin feel, room was just too small to be comfortable.


Outstanding

4.2 on September 14, 2014

Very nice place, food excellent.


Fantastic!

5 on September 08, 2014

Super service and fantastic food!


37th Wedding Anniversary

4.0 on September 06, 2014

We both expected a bit more space in the room than we discovered. The private balcony overlooking Lake Rabun mentioned in the brochure sold us. However the balcony actually overlooked the parking lot though you could see a small portion of the lake in the distance. It was still very nice just not what we expected from the pictures. Even though the rooms are small and close together, we never heard other guests.We were expecting a hotel not a B&B. Yet the overall experience was very pleasing and worth the travel. The staff were exceptional as was the breakfast each morning. We changed our reservation by one day so we would be able to dine at the restaurant . . . are we glad we did. The food was absolutely wonderful . . . as was the service again.


Lovely

4.6 on September 04, 2014

Just a great place to unwind and enjoy the lake atmosphere. Food is excellent.


Rustic - not for the light sleeper

2.6 on August 21, 2014

The rooms in this place had such thin walls that we could hear the conversation of the couple next door until late into the night then promptly heard them snoring. Note that they were not rambunctious or overly loud - just a normal conversation and we were even using the provided sound machine. We were sorely disappointed that we could not sleep based on normal functions in the room next door. The room was also tiny and very, very rustic. The doors had trouble closing so we continued to hear doors slamming throughout the hotel at all hours of the night. The furnishings were primitive and not as nice as we expected. We were scheduled for two nights and left after one - we spent our next night at the much nicer, quieter, Dillard House Inn.


Wonderful place, great atmosphere!

3.0 on August 19, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. The inn has been renovated in the last few years and they did an excellent job. The landscaping is fabulous and so serene. The furnishings of the inn are eclectic and rustic which fits the area. The breakfast was tasty and filling. An ice machine upstairs would be nice. Love the kitties!


Lake Rabun Hotel

4.6 on July 29, 2014

We always enjoy coming back to The Lake Rabun Hotel, friendly staff & great food.


Great experience,

4.2 on July 29, 2014

Outstanding service and the food was off the chart. I can honestly say I have not one negative comment, food wine and breakfast were worth the trip alone.


Lake Rabun

4.4 on July 25, 2014

Room and surroundings were very nice. Friendly reception and a wonderful breakfast. We enjoyed knowing that certain items on the menu were local. Personally, we prefer a little more private feeling then the gap under the room door allows, but then this a bed and breakfast type place and as such it was very nice. Really enjoyed the outside deck also. Beautiful.


July 16, 17 getaway

3.8 on July 21, 2014

Jenna was charming and accommodating in greeting us and answering questions as we were unfamiliar with the area. We enjoyed 2 nights in this Hotel and it was quaint and welcoming. Restaurant was fabulous! Beautiful weather and fresh mountain air- Halls boat dock across the street for a fun day of boating Lake Rabun. I would recommend this Hotel for future stays...we will be back!


Recent Stay

4.6 on July 16, 2014

We were looking for a place that allowed us to unwind, unplug, and just relax. We found it at The Lake Rabun Hotel. Even the summer rain showers were welcomed, although our sunset horseback ride had to be cancelled :( We most enjoyed sitting in the parlor area at night, reading, and talking to the other guests. The dining experience was superb.


The Best Weekend Getaway in North Georgia (part 1 of 3)

4.8 on July 05, 2014

My review is a long one, in three parts due to the limit on characters in any one review. Here's the first part: Actually, the title of this review should have been "The Best Getaway in North Georgia, Any Day of the Week!" I love the Lake Rabun Hotel. I spent two nights here in March (Andreae Room, with a cozy fireplace which I very much enjoyed using), and two nights in April (first night in the Andreae Room, second in the Lakemont Room, which has no fireplace, but a larger bathroom with larger windows). Although the rooms are not large, they are certainly more than adequate for a short stay, each one individually and tastefully decorated. Very comfortable beds, too! I was made to feel "like family" as soon as I announced myself at the Reception Desk on the occasion of my first visit, and a month later, on my second visit, I knew that I was indeed part of the Lake Rabun Hotel family. By my observation, the "royal treatment" is extended to everyone. The ambiance of the place is sort of "upscale rustic," with lots of wood, lovely patterned rugs on the wonderfully creaky hardwood floors, Adirondack furniture, and with stone walkways, flowing water, a Koi fishpond, and lots of flowers outside, with the main historic building nestled among the trees, just a stone's throw from the extraordinarily beautiful Lake Rabun and a short easy walk to historic Hall's Boat House and Marina. The rooms don't have televisions nor telephones, but I count this as a big plus. The hotel does have complimentary WiFi, so you can easily connect to the "real world" using your iPad, smartphone or similar. (I would note there is a large screen television in one of the main floor public rooms, where you'll also be welcomed to play the upright piano also located there. Actually, you'll also discover another piano, this one a grand piano, situated in the entrance, quite near the lobby fireplace and the entry door.)--- Scott Kinney / Part 1 of 3


anniversary getaway

4.4 on June 27, 2014

great location and relaxing experience. Highly recommended.


Great Georgia retreat

4.6 on June 14, 2014

Really nice, relaxing retreat.


A Cold, Rainy Day at the Lodge

2.6 on May 23, 2014

We planned our visit with the restaurant in mind and were disappointed to learn that the restaurant was not open on Sunday evenings. Breakfast was good. The cold, rainy weather lent itself to reading, but the lighting in the public areas and in the room was not conducive to reading. The welcoming fire in the attractive living room fireplace was greatly enjoyed. The homemade cookies prepared in the lodge kitchen were delicious for a late afternoon snack.


Anniversary weekend!

4.8 on April 01, 2014

We absolutely loved our time at the Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant. We stayed in the Andrea room - it's on the lakeside of the hotel & has a fireplace, which we ran several times throughout the weekend as it was cold and rainy on Saturday. We arrived late on Friday (about 9pm) and we were still greeted by a friendly staff who still gave us a tour around the restaurant and hotel despite the late hour and that they were nearing time to go home. The room isn't huge as others have stated but it doesn't need to be...very comfortable. There are noises from doors, floors and furniture but it adds to the charm. Our room was on the first second floor above the lobby/restaurant so there was a bit of noise Saturday night when someone decided to sing "Lean On Me" and play the piano...but the noise was short lived and didn't disturb us too much. The cat who makes her home the porch near the Andrea rooms was very friendly - I'm not a cat person but I enjoyed seeing her there sleeping and she always perked up when you went out onto the porch. The included breakfast was delicious and varied each morning. We booked a romance package that came with a credit for the restaurant so we had dinner on Saturday night - delicious! The credit was enough to cover two entrees (crab cakes and shrimp & grits - yummy!), dessert (strawberry shortcake!) and soda/beer. Our waitress was fantastic and let us know that we were short of using our entire credit so we could order another drink or something to use our full credit. We loved it and will definitely be going back again!


Perfect Fall getaway

4.0 on November 19, 2013

First time in North Georgia - for a weekend of hiking. This B&B is in a gorgeous setting for autumn colors! Our night was quite chilly so the fireplaces were wonderful. The staff were all very polite, friendly, and clearly interested in providing top level service. I do wish I would have done more hiking to help work off all the food I ate - our dinner and breakfast were fantastic. I have absolutely no complaints and highly recommended the Lake Rabun Hotel.


Such a great place!

4.8 on November 05, 2013

We stayed for the weekend because I was in a wedding at the Pavilion across the street. This place was SO cute the bride and the rest of us bridesmaids ended up changing there and taking all of our pre wedding photos inside and around the grounds. The Gourmet breakfast was gourmet to say the least!!!! Service was so good Josh the bartender and the lady GM were so nice and friendly. I hope to make it back again.


Beautifully Rustic

4.6 on September 30, 2013

Lake Rabun Hotel is a very beautiful and quaint hotel that takes you back in time to a much quieter, peaceful time. The rooms are small but adequate. The service and food are fantastic! You are within an hour's drive of some truly magnificient scenery.


Girls Wine Weekend

3.4 on August 28, 2013

We went to the mountains to celebrate our friend's engagement. We did a wine tasting at Tiger Mountain Vineyards which was amazing and very close to Lake Rabun Hotel. The Hotel was super cute. Food and atmosphere was great. Only downside was that the walls are thin, so we were concerned our late night giggles kept our neighbors awake.


Peaceful and romantic getaway

4.8 on August 05, 2013

We spent two nights, celebrating our anniversary. The room was very small but nice, with a very comfy bed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had ordered a fruit and cheese plate and a bottle of wine for our arrival, and also scheduled a couples massage, which was great. Breakfasts and dinners were out of this world. Fabulous food! Hiking trails and scenic waterfalls are nearby. It was a quiet trip- no phones or tvs in the room, and wifi worked only in the common hallway/ lobby. No cell phone service (we have AT&T), and I wish we had known that ahead of time so that we could have notified our babysitter, but the front desk was very helpful and let us use their phone anytime. We enjoy opportunities to unplug, and you definitely can do that here. The only thing that would be more perfect is if the hotel were actually on the lake. We will definitely come back, especially for the food!


Very quaint rustic

5 on June 28, 2013

Fun place and lots to do in the area.


Cozy, Restful, Relaxing

4.6 on February 24, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was superb!!!! This was the perfect place for us to get away and relax.


The Perfect Place

4.6 on February 19, 2013

The Lake Rabun Hotel is the perfect getaway. It's warm, inviting, quaint, and romantic. The food is spectacular -- second to none! The only reason I gave the room a moderate rating is because it's so small. The furniture and furnishings are very nice and comfortable. The staff is very personable. I highly recommend the Lake Rabun Hotel! You'll love it!


Incredible food

5 on January 06, 2013

The staff is super friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amazing.


Great Hideaway

5 on December 28, 2012

We have been to Lake Rabun Hotel 3 years in a row with friends and with my daughter and her husband. all it takes is for us to bring them to this wonderful place and everyone is hooked on its ambiance, quaintness, fine staff, and fantastic food. We will be back next year.


A wonderful weekend!

5 on November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed Lake Rabun Hotel. It is truly a gem in the GA mountains. The place is quant and most importantly the service was stellar. We are definitely planning to go back.


A Gem in the Woods

5 on November 11, 2012

Rustic setting very friendly and comfortable. By far, well worth the trip. The food is absolutely first rate. We visited during the fall but plan to return again in the spring. This is a rare gem.


Wonderful weekend

4.8 on November 07, 2012

We had a wonderful fall weekend enjoying the beautiful scenery topped off with a fabulous stay in the Lake Rabun Hotel. Service was great and the food was absolutely out of this world.


Historic and Cool

5 on October 29, 2012

We love this romantic little historic inn on Lake Rabun, and have stayed many times. The rooms are rustic/cool, with comfortable beds and working windows to allow the breeze in at night. The upstairs porch is perfect for relaxing and reading, and a cozy fire was in play downstairs last week to ward off the morning chill. We also recommend the restaurant for gourmet dinners in a romantic setting. The staff is friendly and courteous, and the chef skilled at his art. We brought a canoe on one trip and launched easily onto Lake Rabun from the public launch below the Inn. We'll keep coming back!


Great Old Hotel

4.6 on September 20, 2012

Lake Rabun Hotel has been lovingly updated to provide modern amenities while maintaining the rustic charm of an old lakeside mountain inn. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the food was excellent!


Great place, great stay!

4.6 on September 11, 2012

The staff here is wonderful, the setting is beautiful, the beds are comfy and the food is fabulous. It reminded me of a stay at a national park hotel, just on a smaller scale.


We'll be back

5 on September 11, 2012

This was our 3rd time to stay. All staff very friendly -- seem to actually like working there. Manager very nice. Love everything about it.


Quaint mountain getaway

5 on September 06, 2012

Loved everything about our stay! The inn was warm and welcoming. The food was amazing. peaceful, easy weekend. Thanks.


Perfect!

5 on August 04, 2012

Every single thing exceeded my standards! loved the quaint, coziness, and rustic feel. Food is to die for. Totally get what you pay for.


Lake Rabun Hotel Getaway

4.6 on August 04, 2012

Lovely room, excellent service, superb dining, awesome location -- perfect vacation getaway.


The Lake Rabun Hotel

Details

  • Nightly Rate $159 - $314
  • Reviews (112) 4.5
  • Rooms 10

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-7067824946
  • Toll free 1-8003985134

Visit Website »

View details

Top