Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Great Stay in Galena at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 13, 2017

Had a great visit with the innkeepers, breakfast with amazing,the location was perfect

View more reviews for this inn


Beyond Wonderful! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2017

We loved staying at this historic bed and breakfast! The room was cozy and clean, and the food was second to none! Susan goes out of her way to make guests feel like friends. We will stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Informative and delicious!! at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2017

The breakfast Joan fixed for us was truly a feast and I was delighted she prepared mine with a meat substitute so I could enjoy the 'same' breakfast as the others - a 3 part meal including dessert! Fresh cookies on arrival, 'help yourself' beverages, and a fridge to store our own ice packs/food from previous nights camping-a relief. The decor was perfect, the eco-friendly toiletries (in dispensers to avoid plastic consumption) was most appreciated, and we were delighted to learn some history of the home and area. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Great visit! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 01, 2017

We had a lovely, well cared for room in the guest house. The house is beautifully updated and Susan and Don are wonderful hosts. I notified Susan that I am gluten free due to celiac disease and she went out of her way to prepare me special gluten free french toast, a special gluten free scone and gluten free chocolate chip cookies, all of which were outstanding. I have never been treated so well anywhere else. Susan (the breakfast DIVA), is a wonderful cook and the non-gluten-free breakfast was also excellent. Many thanks to Susan and Don for a wonderful visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

3.4 reviewed on August 31, 2017

Enjoyed our stay at BW. Room was nice, service was great as was the location.

View more reviews for this inn


Best wedding anniversary ever! at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

As part of visiting the area to celebrate our 20th anniversary, we stayed in Cabin 10 for two nights. Our stay was outstanding! Wonderful accommodations, beautiful location, very quiet, peaceful, and the breakfast brought to our cabin was excellent. Sitting on the porch each morning and evening was relaxing. By far the best B&B we have stayed at. We hope to be able to make this an annual visit.

View more reviews for this inn


A Very Pleasant Surprise! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Tagged along with hubby on an out of town business trip hoping for little together time...He surprised me with a three night stay in the Charlotte Suite at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The accommodations were great and the hosts, Susan and Don, and the staff, Charles and Lisa were an absolute delight. Breakfast every morning was a culinary treat and service was exemplary. Within walking distance of everything in town. Great recommendations for shopping, antiquing, food were spot on. President Grant's Home and museum, Field of Dreams movie location and the magic show were amazing! Galena exceeded all expectations. A beautiful town, a great B&B, and very welcoming people! I look forward to visiting again! Even with so many B& B's in Galena, I would still stay at the Farmer's Guest House!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyable visit at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2017

Excellent location, very nice rooms, a unique and tasty breakfast as well as a knowledgable, pleasant innkeeper made this an excellent choice to stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2017

My wife & I have stayed here twice. Back in Nov. of 2013 for thanksgiving we were actually engaged here and this past week it was for my wife's birthday. Both times have been so wonderful. Can't beat the hospitality. Susan and Don made us feel like family. You will never regret making your stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


TOP NOTCH R & R at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2017

I'm so impressed by this place I wrote the same thing on Trip Advisor! My husband surprised me with a two-night stay for my 40th birthday. We had such a wonderful time I was planning our next trip on the way home. Susan and Don’s warm hospitality and amazing breakfast was simply the best. Our room was quiet, spacious, cozy and very private. Wine time was fun getting to know the other guests and the best places for dinner, to tour, etc. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to any couple or mother-daughter duo of any age!

View more reviews for this inn


An enjoyable experience at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2017

Start with an optimal location, add comfortable, well appointed rooms, an excellent breakfast and an experienced innkeeper with a very friendly approach and you have a very enjoyable experience. This is a place we will be revisiting.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Stay at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 10, 2017

Alice's B&B was such a pleasant surprise. Joan and Dave were wonderful hosts. I stayed in Fannie May which was such a bright and cheery room. Breakfast was outstanding as well. I would highly recommend anyone wanting a pleasant stay to stay at Alice's.

View more reviews for this inn


galena stay at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2017

It was a reallly nice house. The owners of the house were very nice. They gsve great insights on thigns to do that were not in the tourist guides. Very nice breakfast and great company

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful stay. at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on August 06, 2017

Staff was very welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and had attractive furnishings. The breakfast was delicious and filling. We would have liked to have spent a second evening but there was no availability. I can see why.

View more reviews for this inn


July 18th Get away at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 06, 2017

Wonderful place. Just like being at home. Very welcoming and friendly. Joan and Dave made you feel like you were family. Enjoyed the talks on the porch with Dave. Learning the history of the house during breakfast was great! Recommend a visit to all. Great place to visit if you want to relax and take in the sites! Roy and Cindy

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Alice's B&B at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Alice Snyders Bed and Breakfast. Our room was very clean and extremely quiet. The owners were helpful and friendly. Our breakfast was so very good and the conversation was warm and friendly. This was my grandsons first B&B experience. He said he would remember the experience forever. I'd say that was a big compliment! Nancy, Lisa, and Noah

View more reviews for this inn


just splendid at Cloran Mansion Inn (B&B) (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2017

This is our first bed and breaksfast experience. We absolutely loved it. The innkeepers are so personable and helpful. The daily included breaksfast is awesome; thanks Carmine for the tip of adding cinnamon to the brewing coffee, lol. We enjoyed relaxing in the gazebo, or by the firepit nightly. We enjoyed the included amenities and the giant jacuzzi tub. The ride up was very scenic. Can't wait to return next summer. Anthony and Michelle Kennedy

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hosts at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2017

Don and Susan were excellent hosts. My wife and I were celebrating our 21st Anniversary and this was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast. When we walked up I joked with my wife that the building didn't look too inviting and hopefully it was like a person, where it's what's on the inside that matters. WOW, that was an understatement. The facility is in excellent condition, the room was immaculate, there were so many things for the guests like cookies, movies, wine glasses, wine at 5pm. We got a late start in the morning and Susan kept our breakfast warm for us and boy am I glad she did. The food was amazing and it was all homemade. Unfortunately my wife and I only had one night to enjoy this treasure of place. We will definitely make our way back to the Farmers Guest house and will make sure we stay for a couple of days. Thank you Susan and Don for making our Anniversary something to remember.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 03, 2017

We stayed here for my husband and I's anniversary. It was a great stay with great food and a great atmosphere!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice visit at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 31, 2017

Was a very nice B&B, good food and friendly folk :)

View more reviews for this inn


First time in Galena at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2017

The Belle Aire Mansion Guest house was very welcoming, with all the little details to make you feel... right at home. The location was about 1.5 miles from downtown Galena, and easy to travel to/from. Making a left hand turn into the driveway is tricky, when on coming traffic is going 20mph beyond the speed limit. The house sits back from the road, and one does not hear the traffic. It is a shame that Galena allowed industrial type buildings to be built up around these beautiful home, as land was sold off around this estate. I felt it took away some of the charm, when looking out the windows. I would stay here again. The friendliness,. Value, and comfort was more important than the view. The comment was more for the city, to preserve the Old Galena charm as much as possible, instead of allowing any type of business go in, where ir ruins the character of the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place, Wonderful People!! at Alice's Snyder House Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2017

This was our first stay in Galena, and from the moment we arrived we felt right at home with Dave and Joan. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch talking with Dave each evening, and Joan's breakfasts were delicious! Hearing about the history of the town each morning at breakfast was very interesting and definitely added to the trip. We will be back and highly recommend a stay here to all. Thanks for the great stay! Bruce and Danielle

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Eighty-five percent of the town is part of a historic district, so walking the streets of Galena you can feel like a trip back in time. There are historical homes, museums, and a rich architectural legacy to explore. Many of the local inns themselves are historical, allowing you to stay in a rare architectural gem or a beautiful old mansion. Enjoy modern amenities like hot tubs, free Wi-Fi and multi-course breakfasts while drinking in history.

Historic Sites

President Ulysses S. Grant briefly lived in Galena before leaving to lead troops in the Civil War. After the war, President Grant was given a mansion from the people of Galena. This beautiful home is open for tours and gives you a glimpse into the life of an early U.S. President.

Other historic sites to visit include:

Galena was originally a mining town. You can take an underground tour in the Vinegar Hill Lead Mine to experience where the true roots of Galena began.

Events

History isn''t the only attraction in Galena. The town hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year that will appeal to everyone in the family.

Outdoor Activities

Galena, and the surrounding county, is full of outdoor activities to keep you active and provide a good sampling of what Illinois has to offer.

Linmar Gardens

Tour all 3.5 acres of the Linmar Gardens. This handsome collection of gardens is located on a hill overlooking historic Galena. There are natural outcroppings that have been enhanced to allow you to enjoy the full Galena experience. You can take a guided tour our meander at your own pace. You''ll see hostas, viburnums, conifers, grasses, and daylilies arranged in artful designs arrangements. A 20-foot waterfall is one of the stunning water features. It also has a garden built into the ruins of one of the first African-American churches in Illinois.

Mississippi River

Experience the Mississippi River on a yacht, paddle boat, or barge. River cruises allow you to sail the mighty Mississippi, view more historical sites, and take in unique geological formations. You can have dinner and enjoy entertainment as you cruise.

Local Wildlife

Don''t miss the wildlife on a bird watching tour with a local birding expert. Experience the unique sounds and delicate beauty only birds can offer.

Top
check }