Recent Reviews in Galena, Illinois

Best Anniversary weekend stay ever! at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2017

Best experience we have ever had in Galena! Jan and Lorraine we exceptional hosts and their B&B perfect! Cant wait to go to Galena again and stay longer with the Belle Aire Mansion! Thanks again Jan and Lorraine for making our stay an Anniversary to remember!

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we were looking for at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We recently stayed at The Farmers Guest House,looking for a nice B&B to stay while visiting Galena,well it exceeded our expectations.The outside has the old farmhouse charm we were going for.The rooms were perfectly decorated,but not to much furniture,where you can't move around in.Much more than I ever thought for a B&B.The staff was warm and inviting,and knowledgable about the area,giving us ideas for the day.Breakfast was amazing,and enough to fill up my husband.Over 5+ stars.Can't wait to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Galena Get Away at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

We stayed at the Lamberson Guest House the last week in December and had a wonderful time! The inn has been completely remodeled, and it looks amazing. The food was delicious (don't skip the 5pm wine reception), the hosts were gracious and the location was the icing on the cake. We were able to walk right down to the main drag in Galena. We'll be back and we highly recommend the inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet weekend get away at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on January 15, 2017

This was our 2nd stay here and have enjoyed the facility both times. The rooms and attached baths are clean and the breakfasts are first rate. It is located a bit from downtown Galena, but that also makes it that much quieter.

View more reviews for this inn


Had a Wonderful Time at The Steamboat House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

We were cheerfully greeted upon getting our key and that kind of cheerful service extended through our stay from the wine and cheese at 5:00 PM through the delicious breakfast at 9:00 AM the next day. Room was very clean and comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Good Value. Welcoming host. at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.0 reviewed on December 29, 2016

Good value. Close to town. Comfortable room.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place To Stay at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2016

You will not find better owners than you will here. I have stay at B&Bs for over 10 years and these owners are the best!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful two-day visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 11, 2016

My daughters and I had a memorable stay at the Farmers Guest House. The owners, Don and Susan, were very warm and welcoming, and the home was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. Susan is definitely a "Breakfast Diva." Her breakfasts were delicious and nutritious. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and comfortable B & B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2016

Douglas and Robert provided the perfect getaway for us in Galena. My husband and I enjoyed the beautifully renovated historic home, the elegant holiday decorations, the comfortable room and the delicious breakfast. I would definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay with wonderful inkeepers at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 04, 2016

Galina was a half-way meeting point for family, and Belle Aire Mansion was the perfect place to stay. It is a couple of miles from the main area of town, which was perfect for us. The inn is away from the traffic and busy-ness of downtown Galina which was nice. The rooms are comfortable, and quiet. They have a couple of deluxe suites that are very nice. We didn't stay in them, but they were vacant when we arrived, so we were able to take a peak. They look like a perfect get-away. The Jan and Lorraine have it set up very nicely, with a coffee/tea bar upstairs on the bedroom level. So, you can tiptoe out in the morning for your first cup of coffee. or grab a cup and enjoy the morning on the upstairs porch. The best part of Belle Aire is the wonderful innkeepers. Jan and Lorraine are wonderful people. They are warm and welcoming from the minute you arrive. They are friendly and accommodating. They always met us as we returned to the inn, to check if there was anything we needed. There never was......They take care of everything!! They are fun to share a morning cup of coffee with, and have great stories to share, but are also sensitive to guests desire to visit among themselves. The breakfasts were delicious, and it was great to see how Jan and Lorraine work as a team throughout the process. Oh, and did I mention fresh chocolate chip cookies? Yes! Lorraine makes fresh chocolate chip cookies and there is ALWAYS a fresh supply in each guest room. Yum! And there is always an array of sweets on the dining room table for guests to enjoy any time, day or night. We were so glad we chose Belle Aire Mansion. It was a wonderful weekend, with wonderful hosts. We plan to return!

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Bed and Breakfast at Belle Aire Mansion Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on November 29, 2016

We really enjoyed our room and our innkeepers were great. In all the years of staying at Bed and breakfasts, these innkeepers are the best we have met by far!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B & B at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 28, 2016

I've been to Galena a few times and this has by far been the best place we've stayed. From this point on, this is where we'll stay each time we know we want to visit Galena. Susan and Don are the nicest people. They made sure we had everything we needed. Very accommodating. The room was better than I was expecting. Very comfortable atmosphere. I felt at home at this place. We loved everything about it. Absolutely NO complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Geraway at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We arrived Friday night and were greeted with a tour of the historic Aldrich Guest House. Our bags were taken to our room and we were given a few tips about local places to visit. We stayed until Sunday at 11am. Breakfast Saturday and Sunday were amazing (dough babies and pumpkin baked french toast). The house was immaculate and the hosts were sweet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home, awesome breakfast! at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on November 22, 2016

We had a lovely time at Queen Anne. The house is beautiful, and the breakfast was wonderful! The only downsides were a few loud trains, and the shower was a little claustrophobic due to the claw foot tub setup. All in all, it was a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed and Breakfast close to downtown at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Recently stayed at Farmers Guest House and was amazed with how cozy and comfy the room was (we stayed in the Aimee room). Breakfast was delicious and served with fresh, local coffee. Staff were very friendly and warm welcoming. Wine time was also a nice added bonus! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Bed and Breakfast¿¿ at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2016

My husband and I loved our three days at the FGH in Galena. We were in the romantic and large Julia Room. Each morning we were treated to the best breakfasts we have ever had prepared by the Breakfast Diva herself. Each evening at 5:00 we met with other guests for wWine Time before departing for amazing dinners on Main Street in Galena. Do yourself a delightful favor: book a stay at Farmers Guest House and enjoy life's delights for a couple days.

View more reviews for this inn


WONDERFUL!!!! at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2016

BRIERWREATH MANOR IS AWESOME!!!! I would HIGHLY recommend it to anybody going to Galena. Joe, the Inn Keeper, is very knowledgeable about Galena and all of the lovely nick knacks and decorations in his establishment. Joe is also a WONDERFUL cook and a very friendly, kind person. Peggy Sue and Lynne thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and will DEFINATELY stay there again when visiting Galena next time. THANK YOU JOE FOR YOUR WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Bernadine's is Awesome!! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2016

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days at Bernadine's and it was well worth the stay. Dave is a gentleman and a scholar. Went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met. My girlfriend and I had been apart for a few years and reconnected at Bernadine's! An engagement is forthcoming. I would definitely recommend Bernadine's to family and friends. Very clean, great decor, awesome rooms, great breakfasts and extremely comfortable. My soon to be fiance' and I will definitely be returning to Bernadine's in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Weekend! at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2016

This was our first time staying at Brierwreath Manor. It was the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at. Joe was a most gracious and accommodating host. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was delicious both days. We were able to park the car on site and walk to dinner and shopping. This will always be our go-to B&B in Galena. Thanks Joe!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay in Galena. at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2016

Great location, value and atmosphere. Innkeeper made us feel very welcome and provided good information about the town and area. Joe is very knowledgeable about Galena. Food was very good and quite satisfying. Would definitely recommend this B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2016

Absolutely loved the Farmers Guest House. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were completely thrilled with our choice. Susan and Don were wonderful hosts. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The breakfast was delicious. They could not have been more hospitable.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home at Queen Anne Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on October 29, 2016

We had a great stay at the Queen Anne Guest House. Mike was a friendly host, a great cook and created a comfortable and friendly environment for his guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Treated like kings and queens at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2016

From the crown and tiara in the room (literally) to the amazing service at breakfast we were treated like royalty. Dave is passionate about making sure all your needs are met. He helped us book a table to ensure we saw the Cubs play st a local bar and gave us good options for things to do the next day. Rooms are clean. Breakfast was excellent. We would absolutely go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy & Kind at Brierwreath Manor Bed and Breakfast (Galena, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on October 25, 2016

The bed & breakfast had a great location. The host was great. Breakfasts and conversation were wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


About Galena

Eighty-five percent of the town is part of a historic district, so walking the streets of Galena you can feel like a trip back in time. There are historical homes, museums, and a rich architectural legacy to explore. Many of the local inns themselves are historical, allowing you to stay in a rare architectural gem or a beautiful old mansion. Enjoy modern amenities like hot tubs, free Wi-Fi and multi-course breakfasts while drinking in history.

Historic Sites

President Ulysses S. Grant briefly lived in Galena before leaving to lead troops in the Civil War. After the war, President Grant was given a mansion from the people of Galena. This beautiful home is open for tours and gives you a glimpse into the life of an early U.S. President.

Other historic sites to visit include:

Galena was originally a mining town. You can take an underground tour in the Vinegar Hill Lead Mine to experience where the true roots of Galena began.

Events

History isn''t the only attraction in Galena. The town hosts a wide variety of events throughout the year that will appeal to everyone in the family.

Outdoor Activities

Galena, and the surrounding county, is full of outdoor activities to keep you active and provide a good sampling of what Illinois has to offer.

Linmar Gardens

Tour all 3.5 acres of the Linmar Gardens. This handsome collection of gardens is located on a hill overlooking historic Galena. There are natural outcroppings that have been enhanced to allow you to enjoy the full Galena experience. You can take a guided tour our meander at your own pace. You''ll see hostas, viburnums, conifers, grasses, and daylilies arranged in artful designs arrangements. A 20-foot waterfall is one of the stunning water features. It also has a garden built into the ruins of one of the first African-American churches in Illinois.

Mississippi River

Experience the Mississippi River on a yacht, paddle boat, or barge. River cruises allow you to sail the mighty Mississippi, view more historical sites, and take in unique geological formations. You can have dinner and enjoy entertainment as you cruise.

Local Wildlife

Don''t miss the wildlife on a bird watching tour with a local birding expert. Experience the unique sounds and delicate beauty only birds can offer.

Top
}