Recent Reviews in Gainesville, Florida

Beautiful area, very quaint at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.4 reviewed on May 03, 2017

The innkeepers are so friendly and so is their dog Abby. Love the sound of the waterfall while enjoying a delicious breakfast. Close enough to downtown district to walk to dinner and entertainment. The grounds are beautiful.

View more reviews for this inn


Old South Tradition & Charm at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2017

Lovely glimpse of old south tradition and charm

View more reviews for this inn


Magnolia Plantation at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this beautifully restored B&B. Our hosts/owners were very friendly and made you feel like visiting family.

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint stay in Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 23, 2017

Loved the "Old Florida" feel and beautiful grounds. Owners go out of their way to make your stay special. Unique choices of detached cottages as well as charming main house. Will return!

View more reviews for this inn


gorgeous property, shade trees fountains, ponds, quaint cottages and a beautiful victorian mansion at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2017

our cottage was private and well decorated with all the amenities we needed.

View more reviews for this inn


An Enjoyable Stay in Gainesville! at Camellia Rose Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 14, 2017

The Camellia Rose is a gorgeous bed and breakfast that offers outstanding hospitality and a delicious breakfast. We were greeted by Sara upon arrival and were shown around the home. Wine and snacks are available each evening. Pat serves a gourmet breakfast in the morning, and the coffee is set out early if you want a cup before breakfast. Our room was comfortable and spotless. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch and enjoying the view. The Inn is within walking distance of the downtown and several restaurants. I don't know what more anyone could ask for in an historic B & B!

View more reviews for this inn


Would definitely stay here again. . at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on February 07, 2017

This place makes you feel like you're at home. The owners Cindy and Joe go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The setting is beautiful with large oak trees, fountains, and blooming azalea bushes. I would definitely go back here.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Star B&B at Camellia Rose Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2017

My wife & I normally stay in nice hotels. But there aren't any great hotels in Gainesville. We have 2 sons who attend UF & we visit them a couple times per year. After trying some of the hotel options, we were disappointed. But then I was recommended to the B & B area of Gainesville. We tried one with mixed success, but then we were very lucky to find Camellia Rose. This B&B is perfect. Pat and Tom are excellent innkeepers and are very welcoming. They get to know their guests and learn their individual likes/dislikes. The breakfast is yummy. The place is beautiful and so peaceful. The location is fantastic and is walking distance to the excellent downtown restaurants (Try Dragonfly, Mark's Prime, Amelia's and Harry's). The rooms are clean and they have brownies, soft drinks, wine and cheese and all of this is complimentary!! I recommend that you try this gem. Even if you are not a "Bed & Breakfast" person because you don't like the idea of staying with strangers in someone's house (like my wife), you can do what we do. Camellia Rose has options that are private, like the room that we select..."Spat's Hideaway". Take a chance. I am sure that you will love it.

View more reviews for this inn


Magical, Beautiful, Quaint, Lovely at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on January 03, 2017

The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast is the nicest place I have ever had the privilege to stay at. Cindy and Joe, the owners and caretakers of the place, are extremely nice, down-to-earth, accommodating, and I can tell via conversations I had with them that they are genuinely good people. Joe said to me - you know, a lot of people want to start bed and breakfasts because they like to cook, or they like to garden, or they like entertaining, but what you really need in order to be successful is to love people. It is clear to the millionth degree that Joe and Cindy love people. The grounds are so quaint in an overgrown, secret garden sort of way. Joe is an engineer and he designed the grounds to lead people by the sound of water (the sound of water flowing brings down stress levels – see this article from the huffington post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2016/02/25/mental-benefits-water_n_5791024.html ). Small and medium-sized pools and fountains dot the property. Giant oak trees stand in reverence to the serenity of the grounds. Little fences and benches and gazebos provide places to sit and contemplate. Not to mention, you can bring your dog(s) here. They have their own dog on the property, Abbey, who is gorgeous and very cute personality-wise. I can’t say enough good things about Magnolia Plantation Bed & Breakfast. I only hope I have the opportunity and privilege to stay here in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


The only place in Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on November 08, 2016

Beautiful neighborhood with historic homes lining the street, and a short walk to some of the best restaurants in Gainesville, We're disappointed when we can't stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place and experience. at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on October 14, 2016

This was our second visit to Magnolia Plantation and we again stayed at Mrs. Huey's Cottage. It is so homey and relaxing with 30's decor and front and back porches for rocking and immersing in the pleasant space. It is a little rustic and there is some paint peeling on the porch ceiling but that adds to the charm. Great hosts and tasty breakfasts. No way you will not enjoy your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


FABULOUS at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2016

This is an amazing GEM! The staff would bend over backwards to make your visit complete! A 5 star resort has nothing on this wonderful Bed and Breakfast! To top it off like a cherry on a sundae you can take your 4 legged family members too! Our dogs found this vacation amazing also!

View more reviews for this inn


College move in weekend! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on June 28, 2016

We moved our daughter into the dorm and stayed here during the process. Peaceful, quiet slice of home when away. We always stay here whenever we visit Gainesville!

View more reviews for this inn


Unexpected trip to Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2016

Needed a place to stay due to a death in the family. This is our home away from home and Joe and Cindy were able to help us out at the last minute and squeezed us into their schedule. They are the best innkeepers on the planet! Thanks very much for helping us out and being flexible on the planning for this. Awesome job, as always.

View more reviews for this inn


FAMILY WEDDING WEEKEND at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2016

Beautiful location that was so convenient to our needs. Loved the Key Lime Cottage at Magnolia Plantation. Lovely antique furniture and well stocked with everything we needed. Early morning coffee/tea in a rocking chair on the porch was fabulous. An amazing oasis in the middle of the city.

View more reviews for this inn


Our wedding weekend at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Cindy and joe of magnolia plantation were amazing. We booked up most of the B and B for our out of town guests for a wedding weekend. All of the guests were so pleased with their accommodations they said they would stay every time they were in town. Rooms are very nice and well appointed. The grounds are well msintained. The weekend was great

View more reviews for this inn


Great and charming at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2016

Very accommodating. I had a late arrival and Joe and Cindy waited for me. I was offered wine, something to eat and movies. I had to leave early the next day and couldn't have breakfast, but I had coffee. The house is beautiful and charming the rooms spacious clean and very nicely decorated. The bed comfortable. I am planning to go back there in a couple of months. Perfect alternative to a hotel

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent house to stay in and beautiful grounds at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2016

Food was delicious. Wonderful place to stay and bring your dog. We will be going again.

View more reviews for this inn


best B&B at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Cindy and her staff were very welcoming. Breakfast is very tasty. Room is very clean and very inviting...the ambience, relaxing. Feels like you are in your own home. Our first time to stay on a B& B and it was the best.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Get Away at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on November 25, 2015

This was our second time at the Magnolia Plantation. We enjoyed it and the Gator win in overtime was great also. The staff is professional and very friendly. You feel like you are home. They even arranged for us to have carriage ride to dinner.

View more reviews for this inn


Best weekend ever! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2015

Numerous wedding guests stayed with us: at the main house one at nutmeg ginger and the secret garden. We, the parents of the bride stayed at key lime. We had the 3 bedroom cottage and it was the most comfortable, clean and cozy cottage. Walking distance to downtown. The staff was MOST accommodating and caring. They went out of their way for all of us. Such personal attention!!! We felt as if we were special guests! Highly recommend. We did not have to think of anything !

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem Near Charming Downtown Area at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on September 07, 2015

A friend and I discovered the Magnolia Plantation a few years ago while making monthly trips to Gainesville for school. The rooms and cottages were so charming, warm and clean, and the owners, Cindy and Joe, were so kind, it quickly became our home away from home. We have gone back to Gainesville several times just to enjoy the comfort and relaxation of our favorite cottages: Nutmeg, Ginger and the Carriage House. The big front porch or balcony (in the Carriage House) are great for reading, sipping wine or coffee, chatting or even working. Some of the cottages/rooms also have fireplaces, and the Inn is within walking distance of Gainesville's vibrant, charming downtown, which has some excellent restaurants, bars, coffee shops and stores. My husband and I travel frequently, and this has been one of our favorite places to stay ever.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful time! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2015

Our stay in the Carriage House was relaxing and quaint. Close proximity to downtown Gainesville and plenty of dining opportunities was a bonus! Whether short or long term stay, the Magnolia Plantation is a great place. Joe and Cindy run a low key yet top notch B and B.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Hampton Lake B&B (Starke, Florida)

5 reviewed on June 11, 2015

We stayed there a few months ago and loved it so much we are making plans to go back this July.

View more reviews for this inn


STAY HERE! at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

3.8 reviewed on May 27, 2015

Beautiful place, good value, good location, rooms/cottages for any need. Ponds, gazebos, secret and not so secret gardens. Wine, cheer, breakfast in bed! Fireplaces, jacuzzis, pianos, organs and CDs oh my! Garden fountains, Keurig coffee, caring owners and a beautiful collie. Would return without hesitation. Property and rooms could use just a few touches and some up keep.

View more reviews for this inn


Gainesville's Oasis in the middle of the city at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.8 reviewed on May 25, 2015

This is our second stay in recent months as my husband is receiving outpatient treatment at Shands. I can't say enough about this wonderful place. It is secluded, even in the middle of town, serene, and absolutely charming. We've opted to rent one of the cottages- there are 8. Each is unique and immediately feels like home. The last trip we brought our dog- the inn is dog friendly. Joe and Cindy assigned us the Secret Garden, which has a large, enclosed courtyard. This is definitely an incredible inn and definitely worth a trip to Gainesville even if you are not a Gator fan!

View more reviews for this inn


a B&B gem at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

4.0 reviewed on May 07, 2015

The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn in Gainesville, Florida is a quaint, historic lodging with all the modern luxuries. The sounds of plentiful fountains and the breeze rustling through the lushly shaded grounds are the perfect background for relaxing on a porch with a good book. For those needing more stimulation, a vibrant downtown and the University of Florida campus are both within walking distance. The breakfasts are delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasure and peace at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2015

I have stayed here a couple of times for work. To be able to come back to a place with a full kitchen is such a pleasure! Cindy and all the staff are very accommodating and friendly. I really liked sitting outside or on the porch in the quiet.

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis in Gainesville at Magnolia Plantation (Gainesville, Florida)

5 reviewed on March 24, 2015

We stayed for the 2nd time in the Secret Garden cottage during our weekend visit to see our son at UF. It was so relaxing, especially hanging out in our own private garden outside our cottage. Magnolia Plantation is truly an oasis, and always our choice in Gainesville!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay at the Sweetwater Branch Inn at Sweetwater Branch Inn (Gainesville, Florida)

4.6 reviewed on March 22, 2015

Several historic properties, two homes plus some cottages, all beautifully and lovingly maintained. Equally impressive was the genuine friendliness and care of the staff. They seem proud of what they are doing. We used three rooms, for us and for our two daughters and their husbands. We all had a wonderful time. One of the daughters has since visited a second time, and we plan to soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Grady House (4.88)
  2. Camellia Rose Inn (4.85)
  3. Hampton Lake B&B (4.76)
  4. Magnolia Plantation (4.72)
  5. Sweetwater Branch Inn (4.68)
Top
}