Recent Reviews in Fredericksburg, Virginia

Highly Recommend at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on May 11, 2017

We stayed in "The Loft". The room was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helped us pick a spot for dinner. We would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Virginia's Best Kept Secret at Stevenson Ridge (Spotsylvania, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on May 10, 2017

We have stayed in two of the cabins at Stevenson Ridge at various times over the last couple of years, and we have always had a truly wonderful experience. The cabins are always very clean well stocked with sacks, coffee supplies and freshly bottled water in the fridge. Although the cabins look rustic, they are well-insulated and keep the heat in during colder months, and keep them cool in the summer. The prices are very reasonable, especially compared to your average chain hotel room stay. There is no on-site kitchen or "room service" of any kind, only catering for functions, so make note of this if you aren't visiting as part of a wedding or other celebration that will have catered food. That said, there are plenty of places to buy supplies and to eat out no more than 10 minutes down the road. Stevenson Rodge is one of Virginia's best kept secrets, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend escape at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on May 01, 2017

On the main street in historic Fredericksburg, the inn offered the opportunity to explore on foot easily and enjoy the character of the city. Breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious. Look forward to returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Richard Johnston Inn was OUTSTANDING! at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 01, 2017

This delightful in right on Caroline Street is the place to stay if you want to be in the midst of restaurants, shops, breweries and history. We spent 2 nights in the lovely Kitchen Room with our pets. Yes! It's pet friendly! Our 2 dogs were very welcome.The Kitchen room was very beautiful with all the amenities you could ask for. The brandy was a nice touch. The beds are very comfortable. We didn't get to see any of the other rooms except online but I am certain they are just as wonderful. All the ladies that make this Inn run are some of the nicest I have encountered when away. Very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was excellent and a great way to start the day. Our daughter lives in Fredericksburg so we will be back again!!! If you want to be right in the action stay at this fantastic B&B!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on May 01, 2017

What a lovely place. Stayed in the kitchen room for the 2nd time. Love it as much as the first time. Breakfast was good and the staff was wonderful - so friendly and nice.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful stay at a lovely property at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2017

We spent two nights at the Richard Johnston Inn, and I felt that we received execellent value for money. The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was quite imaginative and tasty. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Fredericksburg.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully Unique and Comfy at Stevenson Ridge (Spotsylvania, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2017

My mom and I took a weekend away to visit historic sites in the area, and Stevenson Ridge was the perfect compliment to the weekend. We stayed in the Servant's Quarters, and it was perfect. We had a claw foot tub and a fireplace, and a cute loft bedroom. Breakfast was delivered to our door in the morning and it was delicious. It was the perfect place. I can't wait to come back and bring the rest of my family with me!

View more reviews for this inn


Braehead Home History at Braehead Manor (Fredericksburg, VA)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2017

Our stay at Braehead was special on many levels. As a part of my personal family history it is comforting to see the home restored and preserved. As a B&B Braehead meets the highest standards of comfort and charm, a most welcoming experience. For those interested in history Braehead is unique in its location.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding service and a beautiful place to stay at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 19, 2017

We have lived in the region for 10 years but had never stayed downtown. Decided it was finally time to do so. We will definitely be back! Beautiful place and the service was amazing. Look forward to staying again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location ! at Kenmore Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Comfortable and convenient!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the B&B at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 10, 2017

Great historic atmosphere. Rooms very well kept and nice. Food was awesome. Appears to have plenty of staff available to keep things going. Walking distance from lots of shops and restaurants. One drawback concerned the rooms facing the main street. Bars shut down around 1230 pm on weekend and it got a little loud for about an hour.

View more reviews for this inn


1890 "Sweet" Caroline House! at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 08, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the sister property of the Richard Johnston Inn and couldn't have had a better stay! Both properties are run by Cheryl who, with her staff of Cindy, Breanne and Shannon were all tremendous hosts who made us feel like we were staying in their house! Food, accommodations, we were in the William Riley Suite which was fantastic, service and ambiance were all outstanding. Great historic downtown location was close walking distance to everything. Highly recommend either or both properties! Larry and Carole

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay right in the heart of it all at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 04, 2017

Stayed here to celebrate my wife's birthday. Had a lovely time strolling through town antique shopping. The Inn was a great resource for places to see and eat. They were also quite accommodating on Sunday before we departed, allowing us to spend some time revisiting some shops. Breakfast was quite delicious. On par with even the best of restaurants. Thanks!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome stay at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on April 03, 2017

The stay with really good, the room was very neat. The hosts treated us very well.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay at the Inn at the Olde Silk Mill at Inn At The Olde Silk Mill (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on April 01, 2017

I zipped down from DC to stay and wander aimlessly around Fredericksburg. It's located on the north end of town and only takes minutes to drive to the downtown area. The rooms are well appointed albeit small. I was surprised to find that the continental breakfast consisted of a few store bought lender's or Pepperidge Farms bagels, Thomas' English Muffins, two dry cereals and blueberry muffins. It seemed a bit out of place for a place of such grandeur. Nice grandfather clock and period pieces throughout the hotel and a cozy "parlor" on the first floor with lamps and a piano.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the stay at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 30, 2017

Great atmosphere and service. Very nice Breakfast. If you have a room facing Caroline St. on a wkend, be ready for the 1230 am pub crawl. A little rowdy and loud for about an hour.

View more reviews for this inn


Heritage Battlefield Manor at Braehead Manor (Fredericksburg, VA)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2017

A refuge from the hustle and bustle of the urban strip hotels. Slight distraction with the unfortunate encroachment of truck depot.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing as always at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 06, 2017

We stayed in the bridal suite, which is beautiful. The atmosphere of Chestnut Hill is relaxing, Troy and Kathleen are gracious hosts, and the breakfasts (and afternoon appetizers) were wonderful. We try to get to this Bed and Breakfast at least once a year - no other Bed and Breakfast compares to this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B in downtown Fredericksburg at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 06, 2017

My wife and I stayed at this B&B the weekend following Valentine's Day as a mini-getaway. The room, though historic was very comfortable. The inn-keeper had provided chocolates from a chocolatier in town and a split of champagne in honor of the occasion. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious with dormer windows looking over Caroline Street. During the afternoon of both evenings we were there, the innkeeper had a wine and cheese tasting event with excellent cheeses and spreads. Both breakfasts were superb. The inn, having been built in the 18th century in an historic town is a significant part of that history. From the street, one can see marks in the brick of the building's exterior from minie balls fired during the Civil War battle. The town has great opportunities for shopping and dining. It is a college town so Caroline Street can get a little loud on some evenings. The Inn is a nice, clean, friendly place and will not disappoint.

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasantly surprised at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on March 03, 2017

Our stay was delightful! The husband was skeptical about staying at a B&B but after our stay, he was already planning to return! Thank you for offering such a lovely, clean, elegant place for us to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice, friendly place to stay in town at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 26, 2017

My wife and I spent the weekend after Valentine's Day here. We stayed in the Freju Room. It was very nice. The building is from the 18th century and remarkably well maintained. (You can even see bullet holes in the brick from the Battle of Fredericksburg). The staff was very friendly. Every afternoon from 3:30-5, they put out a wine and cheese spread. Breakfast is always awesome. The only downside, which is not the fault of the Inn, is that the J. Bryant Tap House closes around 1:00am and a huge mob of loud, obnoxious, and unruly drunks all pour out onto the street right across from the Inn. If you have a room overlooking Caroline Street, you will not remain asleep while this happens. If you can, I recommend getting a room that overlooks the courtyard during temporate weekends.

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Place to Stay! at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2017

A group of us (4) came to the Richard Johnston Inn to celebrate my sister's birthday. It was a wonderful experience! The staff was personable, courteous and very attentive! We will definitely be coming back here to stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Log Home at Stevenson Ridge (Spotsylvania, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on February 19, 2017

My wife and I had an outstanding stay at Stevenson Ridge. We plan to return often. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


A Must Stay at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2017

Kathleen & Troy treat guests like family!!! The house and grounds are unique and beautiful. We were married there 6 years ago and keep coming back year after year because its so peaceful and such a stress relieving environment. Troy is an excellent Chef and the breakfast is out of this world. Kathleen is a wonderful host and very funny too! They will exceed your expectations!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on February 16, 2017

Great location !!

View more reviews for this inn


We LOVED staying here! at Stevenson Ridge (Spotsylvania, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 09, 2017

I took my husband here for the weekend of his 30th birthday. It was above and beyond what we were expecting and hoping for! It was the perfect combination of luxury and privacy. You felt like you were off the beaten track yet only 5 minutes from town and also well taken care of yet left to yourself. We stayed in the "Post Office" cabin and it was so charming. Perfectly clean, warm (it was January) and well stocked with all the amenities. We loved the real wood burning fireplace - they supplied kindling and lots of wood. We ordered breakfast for one of the mornings we were there and they delivered it to the cabin in a basket. They were very accomodating to any kind of allergies and the breakfast was well balanced and delicious. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and we felt right at home. We recommend it to anyone seeking some good R&R or a romantic get away. We will definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing B&B!!! at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2017

I had an amazing stay at Chestnut Hill B&B! We stayed in the Alexander Daley's Master Suite and as you can see from the pictures it was beautifully decorated and really felt like home. When we arrived Kathy gave us a tour and then took us right up to our room. She even let us see the Bridal Suite just in case we wanted to switch for the night. We got the Romance package and everything went exactly according to plan! The massages were great, she set up dinner for us at one of the restaurants she recommended (which was absolutely amazing), they even had special treats from the chef for us to try, and then brought us breakfast to the room in the morning! My boyfriend was celebrating his birthday and each part of the package was supposed to feel like a surprise and with Kathy's help I was definitely able to make his birthday special.

View more reviews for this inn


A quaint stay in a quaint town at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on January 26, 2017

We had a great stay at the Richard Johnston Inn. The staff was very friendly and our room was beautiful and super clean. The breakfast was fine but nothing exciting or out of the ordinary. I would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience! at Richard Johnston Inn (Fredericksburg, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2017

My companion and I are both Civil War buffs who love to travel and stay in historic Bed & Breakfasts'. We also prefer separate beds and we travel with our little dog, so it is difficult to find a B&B that can accommodate these two needs.Our stay in the Kitchen House Suite was unforgettable. Caroline Street is at the heart of historic Fredericksburg, and we were in walking distance of many Colonial and Civil War attractions. The Richard Johnston Inn is a class act!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect gem at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast (Orange, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 19, 2017

What a perfect gem! The renovation produced a perfect blend of retaining period architecture while introducing modern conveniences. The hosts are lovely and accommodating while remaining unobtrusive. Breakfast was excellent and were tips of where to get dinner. The location is ideal for a visit to Barboursville and Horton wineries. Plan to return to enjoy again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}