Recent Reviews in Franconia, New Hampshire

Consitentently exceeds expectations at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2017

This was our thirteenth stay at Rabbit Hill Inn and it never fails to exceed our expectations in every aspect. The staff is always warm and welcoming whether it's your first stay or you're a return visitor. The rooms are impeccable, the food is amazing and the ambiance is over the top romantic. Details make all the difference. No other select registry inn we've stayed at holds a candle to this one! Highly recommend

View more reviews for this inn


Come here and you may never want to leave at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2017

We recently revisited Rabbit Hill Inn after more than 10 years. It's a 7 hour journey for us, but after our most recent stay, we hope to go back soon and bring friends. Small New England Inns are difficult to maintain, difficult to run. Few innkeepers succeed. Brian and Leslie Mulcahy are the exception. After 23 years, they continue to show their passion for their inn and most importantly their guests who come back year after year. It is revealed in some many ways, so many details starting with warm hugs and greeting that make you feel they are truly happy to see you. Each of their rooms, all different, are not just well appointed with all the necessary amenities, they are supplied with all those things you don't know you miss until you do...like good lighting for reading, extra blankets, fireplace, convenient plugs, roomy showers, fantastic mattresses and linens, and even wine spot remover. The Mulcahys have missed nothing. Some rooms have large whirlpool baths with votives lit around the top when you return from dinner; some have private balconies that lead to gardens; and there is a cozy pub where you can play darts, put together a Stave wooden jigsaw puzzle or play chess. Tea time gives you a sample of delicious things to come when Chef Andrew creates memorable dishes and tastes gleaned from his own recipes with ingredients sourced from local farmers. You will not want to miss a meal. Every bite is worth savoring. Some come here to unwind and relax and may end up staying for days; others come for a romantic escape where you can sleep as long as you want in a peaceful setting. But above all, it is the Mulcahys who will ultimately bring you back.they are the heart of the Rabbit Inn experience. For us its like coming home.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding plus more at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on March 31, 2017

I just had two blissful days at the Rabbit Hill Inn. This is one amazing inn. Five starts are not even enough to describe the experience. It's all in the details and not a single detail is missed. From the heart-shaped door signs (which are a take-home gift) to the lovely music, candles and low light when we returned to our room at night to the fabulous collection of very cool puzzles, it's all here. But probably the biggest stand out is the hospitality. And while Leslie and Brian, the owners/innkeepers lead that team, they have a fabulous group of people who work with them. A shout out to the chef, Andrew, Donn and Tori for their part in the magic at Rabbit Hill Inn. And to Leslie and Brian for teaching the team the art of hospitality. Wow. The food is tremendous, and the rooms are beautiful. I simply can't say enough about the experience at Rabbit Hill Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Away at Sugar Hill Inn (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2017

We loved this B&B! From the minute we stepped through the door we knew it was the right choice. The flowers, chocolate and champagne in our room upon our arrival, the cocktails and conversation in the Tavern, the fantastic dinner in the dining room (with great service...thank you Debbie!) all added to the relaxation we came for and we couldn't have asked for a better weekend away! Steve and Karen are fantastic and make you feel right at home!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful historic inn at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 15, 2017

Lovely old inn with charming innkeepers. Delicious breakfast and dinners in dining room. Great little bar area. Warm and friendly service from all of the staff . Cutest huggy dog Dudley! Hope to return in summer to see the lupines.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2017

This historic inn is situated in a beautiful setting with an amazing 360 degree view of the surrounding mountains. The innkeepers, staff and adorable dog Dudley were all so helpful and charming. Dining room food was outstanding. Just wish they served lunch too. Many thanks for a wonderful long weekend at the Snow painting workshop

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bed and Breakfast in U.S. at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2017

For our second stay at Rabbit Hill, we decided to stay 10 nights instead of 2. We wanted to experience everything the Inn had to offer. Immediately, we felt like family returning home! The Inn is amazing. Each room or suite designed for relaxation and comfort. The commons rooms and Tavern the same. Service is always above and beyond expectations. Every single person strives to meet all your needs with a big smile. I'm not exaggerating. I made so many friends. I had 4 in-room massages in our room. I was fortunate to have Amy. She was able to accomplish in those 4 visits what 2 therapeutic massage therapists were not ever able to accomplish. The have 2 gourmet chefs for dinner, a pastry chef, and a breakfast chef. The food is out of this world!! They also serve tea and pastries every day at 2:00. It's all so amazing. There is so much more I can say...it would all be above your expectations. Not only is the Inn awesome, but the whole town of Lower Waterford is postcard perfect! For all of you who choose Rabbit Hill for your next get away, you will NOT be disappointed. I give it 10 stars out of a possibility of 5 ¿¿ We can not wait until our next visit to see Brian!and Leslie (owners) Donn and Tori (Assistants), Penny (room servicing) and Amy (massage therapist). You are all amazing! Thank you for a perfect visit ¿¿ Jim and Nancy Bloomington, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful spot! at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

3.8 reviewed on February 25, 2017

The Inn is an idyllic spot for a quick weekend getaway from the city. Located on a high hill, you have spectacular views everywhere you look. Our room was clean and nicely decorated with the essentials. Even though it did not face the grand White Mountains, all guests can enjoy the view from the dining room. The owners were helpful in suggesting places to snowshoe, and their dog Dudley was an adorable welcomer! Both the dinner and breakfast were satisfactory. If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest bringing something to block out noise as the walls are thin and you can hear people in other rooms/hallways. Would definitely stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Place for a Weekend of Skiing at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on February 19, 2017

Our family needed a place to stay for a ski weekend in February. The Inn at Sunset Hill booked us in adjoining rooms, which is perfect for parents traveling with children. The rooms were charming and very comfortable, and I have to say their new chef is spectacular. The inn is about fifteen minutes from Cannon Mountain, so it was convenient in that respect too. I would definitely visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Weekend at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2017

This was me and my wife's first time visiting the inn and we had an awesome time. It was very relaxing and comfortable. We stayed in the suite which had plenty of room for the 2 of us. The inn keepers Sally and Dick were very informative of the surrounding area and it's amenities.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on February 06, 2017

We had a great get away weekend at the Inn. The rooms are wonderful, service all around outstanding with a view that can only be described as the best in the state, if not New England. To be honest, we expected a better dining experience especially a more diverse wine list but that won't keep us from coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


Back to where we spent our honeymoon at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2017

We returned to Rabbit Hill Inn where we spent our honeymoon 35 years ago. The inn is even more beautiful than when we first stayed there. Leslie and Brian have made many improvements but keep the lovely charm and high quality of hospitality that we so fondly remember. We look forward to many more happy returns.

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Getaway! at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on February 01, 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight in the Queen fireplace room. The food was great! The burgers were perfectly cooked and we loved the use of local goods. The owners were very welcoming and visited with guests at dinner and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and we loved having the fireplace to control the temperature. Someone even cleaned our car off in the morning after it had snowed! The views were amazing during our wintertime visit and we can't wait to return in the spring!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection!!! at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We continue to return to Rabbit Hill whenever we can. The Inn is beautiful. Brian, Leslie and the wonderful staff meet your every need. The remodeled dining room is so warm and inviting and the food is delicious, creative and beautifully prepared. We just love our stays at Rabbit Hill.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite B & B!!!! at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on January 29, 2017

Awesome to return to this beautiful part of New England. The rooms are each unique and beautiful. This last time we stayed in the Sterling room and found it spacious, with two exposures, view of the mountains and very comfortable. Will try it in warmer weather also, so we can enjoy the attached porch! The Innkeepers have thought of everything! The staff is more than helpful, friendly, professional and courteous. The Stave wood puzzles add fun and opportunity to meet and interact with other visitors.The breakfast is not only included but it is wonderfully prepared and delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Always a fabulous time at The Rabbit Hill Inn at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2017

This is the third time that we have stayed at The Rabbit Hill Inn and we keep coming back because of the rooms, food, and the people who work there and Leslie and Brian. We really disconnect when we go there. We are so relaxed when we leave it is not funny. The staff is always there if you need anything. My husband and I will definitely be going back for a 4th, 5th, etc stay at The Rabbit Hill Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Getaway at Sugar Hill Inn at Sugar Hill Inn (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on January 18, 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Sugar Hill Inn for a one-night stay. We stayed in one of the Garden Rooms and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was impeccably clean, Steven could not have been more accommodating (honestly, they thought of everything - down to chocolate on the pillows and complimentary soda and espresso in the room) and, the breakfast the next morning was delicious! Although it is clearly stated in the description of the room on the Inn's website prior to booking; I accidentally completely overlooked the fact that there is no TV in the room. If your husband enjoys football as much as mine does this may be a problem for you :) However, we were able to stream the games on our phones. Thank you Steven, Karen and the staff for a perfect stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great visit! at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2017

A beautiful, romantic Inn with attentive staff. Cozy parlor for afternoon tea and pastries and an amazing dinner by the fire in the dining room. Breakfast (Eggs Benedict) was perfect. Will visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Always Amazing at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on January 05, 2017

First time there in the Winter, and it was amazing as always! Even only one night there, makes me feel so relaxed and refreshed. Can't wait to go again!

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas Tree Weekend at Sugar Hill Inn (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

4.4 reviewed on December 08, 2016

The accommodations were gorgeous: beautiful setting, pristine rooms, comfortable and attractive in every way. But the feather in the cap of this inn lies in the friendly and accommodating staff: dining room, housekeeping and front desk. Never felt more welcome at any inn. Breakfasts, prepared by the inn-keeper, proved to be a delicious start to the day. Dinner entrees varied in value. While we found the beef filet and the cod to be special and sumptuous, there was some disappointment with the chicken and lamb shank. mind you, nothing was terrible. And, I am confident, if we had registered a complaint, they would have been most anxious to please. In an area where many inns are available, this would be high on my list for a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding weekend at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on December 01, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Everyone was so wonderful, the rooms were spectacular and they even sent us a bottle of champagne. I would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving Day Stay at Sugar Hill Inn (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2016

Our first stay at an inn in the White Mountains. The accommodations were excellent, the food and service superb. Sit by the fireplace, sip on a drink and read a book. Steven and Karen make you feel like one of the family. Rich and Judy E.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving atbRabbit Zhill at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

4.4 reviewed on November 26, 2016

The food is sophisticated and delicious without being precious, the staff are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Can't wait to go back again at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

This was our third stay here. We were celebrating our ten year anniversary. We stayed in a different room than our last two visits and were a bit apprehensive about it. The room turned out to be gorgeous and spacious. Very clean and accommodating. The staff was wonderful as usual and we always enjoy seeing Dudley! The food is what absolutely blows the competition out of the water though. We had considered purchasing tickets to a dinner mystery train but since we were only staying one night this time, we would have had to pass on dinner at the inn. We couldn't bring ourselves to do it! Dinner was fantastic. The squash ginger soup was so excellent, we tried recreating it when we got home (close but not close enough). The dinners were fantastic and our pumpkin praline tart dessert was perfect. As always, the complimentary breakfast the following morning, enjoyed with a beautiful view of the first snow of the season, was perfect as well. We left begrudgingly, all ready talking about our next visit, we truly love coming here and can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Superior Place to Stay at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2016

My wife and I found this a lovely place to stay, comfortable, relaxing especially for a rainy weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to stay at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on November 02, 2016

The inn is nicely located on a hill. Downstairs was a very comfortable room with an open fire place where you could relax by drinking some coffee or tea. The room was a also very comfortable an equipped with an electrical open fire place. This gave a great atmosphere in the room. It Needs to be emphasized that the room was equipped with two armchairs. For us this was a great benefit as most of the Hotels provide only one. The view from the room to the garden as well as the sleeping comfort was outstanding. The service for breakfast as well as for dinner was outstanding and likely more important the food as well. We really enjoyed staying at this lovely place for two nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Rabbit Hill Inn (Lower Waterford, Vermont)

4.8 reviewed on November 01, 2016

This was our second time staying at the Rabbit Hill Inn and it was just as wonderful as our first visit two years ago. The staff at The Rabbit Hill Inn are hands down the best in their field. The historic house is warm and inviting and the food the kitchen puts out is simply delicious. My wife and I are in our early 30's and often are termed "Millennials," but one of the favorite parts of our trips to RHI is the fact that we can shut off our phones and tune out the outside world for a few days. The fact that WiFi is only available in some rooms and I do not see a TV the whole time I am there just adds to the relaxation of our trip. Already looking forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Weekend at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2016

We spent three days t he Inn at Sunset Hill over October 2oth thru October 23rd. We have stayed here many times before and it is always a wonderful stay. This was our first strip staying in their Hill House. What a wonderful suite, truly enjoyed it. We had dinner one night at the Inn with family and the food and service was great. We highly recommend Sunset Hill!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic room and service at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2016

We just stayed one night to catch the fall foliage, and were sorry to leave the next day. The views were spectacular, the service top-flight, and the food scrumptious. Large comfortable room, clean upgraded bathroom and don't miss out on the French Toast for breakfast. A great experience all around. A++++++

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint facility with outstanding service & food at Inn at Sunset Hill (Sugar Hill, New Hampshire)

4.6 reviewed on October 23, 2016

The owners & staff provided friendly, outstanding service. The food was delicious. Located in a scenic area. A well-maintained facility with nice decor.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Rabbit Hill Inn (4.82)
  2. Sugar Hill Inn (4.80)
  3. Inn at Sunset Hill (4.68)
  4. The Franconia Inn (4.29)
Top
}