Recent Reviews in Fortville, Indiana

Happy honeymooners passing through at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2016

Our stay at the Ivy House BB was beyond excellent! Linda is a charming hostess and we had the chance to chat with her and Jim prior to our departure. She made a delicious breakfast and the two shared some fun facts about the home's history. They were accommodating and giving and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them. We stayed for one night passing through the area on our honeymoon, and it's a must for anyone passing through or visiting Indianapolis. It's also a perfect little getaway as Fortville is a quaint little town as well. We hope to stay again! Caroline and Matt

View more reviews for this inn

Top shelf all the way at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2016

Tucked away in the quiet town of Fortville, this B&B is only a few miles from downtown Indy, making it a perfect spot for a getaway weekend or an entire week! The rooms are beautiful, the couple that operates the Ivy House are delightful, and the food... WOW! Put this on your bucket list - but don't wait too long to make your reservation! An incredible find in central Indiana.

View more reviews for this inn

What a bed and breakfast should be... at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2015

We have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts and Inns almost exclusively for 30 years. Our experiences have ranged from high end luxury to small and intimate to rustic. The Ivy House gets it right on all levels. Innkeeper Linda is a gem and provides one of the most restful experiences in recent memory. The Inn is immaculate. The breakfasts are unparalleled. The beds and linens are divine. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn

Traveling Through at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2015

We were passing through Indianapolis on our way to WI. We needed a place to stay overnight and looked on Bed & This INN looked nice. T our surprise it was even better than the pictures. Jim & Linda were great hosts and even had several recommendations for dinner. Room was great and breakfast was outstanding. Will positively return when we are back in the area.

View more reviews for this inn

One of the best! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2015

The best part was walking out of our room in the morning and smelling the wonderful breakfasts that Linda made every morning. Next best was having her appear with the coffeepot as soon as I got down the stairs. My husband and I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts over the years and the Ivy House is definitely one of the best. The rooms are attractive and very comfortable (custom-made pillow top mattresses). There is a lovely large living room, with a doorway leading to a beautiful small porch, complete with porch swing. Since we're early risers it was great to have comfortable and attractive settings to sit (with our coffee already in hand) while we waited for breakfast. When we arrived we could smell freshly baked cookies that were available in the dining room. A small refrigerator with complimentary bottles of water and soda was also available at all times. This attention to details both large and small distinguishes the Ivy House from many other b and b's where we've stayed. The breakfasts were also some of the best we've had, beautifully served. Breakfast is by candlelight, with beautiful table settings. The first thing we were served was fresh fruit in a waffle cone set on it's side, with a garnish of whipped cream, looking like a miniature cornucopia. Individual egg souffles, pecan French toast, orange mango juice, a great breakfast each morning. Our room was sparkling clean each day and included a night-time bed turndown complete with a different kind of chocolate each night. The gardens outside were equally lovely and made the setting very relaxing. I'll return as soon as I can!

View more reviews for this inn

We Knew Right Away at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2014

When we walked up the front sidewalk to the door, we already knew. There's a kind of ambiance that one senses immediately. We arrived late and exhausted by a grueling trip through blinding rain and wind in AR and MO. How pleasant and beautiful did we find Ivy House and its proprietors Linda and Jim. They made us feel welcome in this lovely old former home of a local physician, built around 1920. The next morning, we were treated to some of the best breakfast cuisine we've ever had. Since we were staying for a number of days, this would be the first of a series of memorable breakfasts that rank among the very finest of all the B&B's we have visited over many years. The rooms were immaculate in every respect. Wife is seriously allergic to dust, and we experienced none of that. Every aspect of the decor, the furnishings, the attention to detail (notably, even "minor" details) was exceptional. The queen bed was very comfortable. The proprietors were very helpful to us in explaining things about the area around the Ivy House as well as Hamilton County, which we are considering for a retirement destination. We could go on for a number of pages about the beautiful accoutrements which delight the eye: crown moulding, antique clocks, hues of green, rugs with rose-colored motifs and shades of berries, rich wood tones of the furniture and floors laid entirely by hand without benefit of power tools, and on and on! Our first-day impression upon walking up to the door proved to be prescient! No doubt we would joyfully return upon a future visit to the area. Tom and Laurie

View more reviews for this inn

Pampered and liking it! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2014

From the moment you meet the innkeepers you feel so welcome in their home. The beds and bedding are so comfy, not to mention how warm and inviting the rooms are. The breakfasts are outstanding, so why would you even want to go home after being pampered like that! It's one of our favorite places to come and spend a few days relaxing and's the perfect place.

View more reviews for this inn

Consistently Excellent! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2013

Kay and I have visited this wonderful B&B every year for the last five years, and we're still excited every time we go! Linda and Jim have provided an excellent stay each time, and we've had numerous, engaging conversations with the other guests we've met there. The house, garden, and grounds are so lovely that we even rented the space for our wedding. We always look forward to breakfast, knowing that Linda will make something delicious. This time it was a souffle and a literal miniature cornucopia of fruit for each of us. --Jay & Kay

View more reviews for this inn

Classic Comfort at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on January 02, 2013

This trip was my fourth time visiting Indiana, and while the first three times were to see the Indy 500, this time was for pure relaxation and rejuvenation. I love the Ivy House so much that I simply do not even look at other places to stay! Why chance it, when you know how perfect Ivy House is? I stayed for two weeks this time; it is just that comfortable, and Linda makes the most decadent breakfasts served on fine china. Your plate will not see eggs and serves fresh ingredient soufflés, stuffed French toast dishes, fresh baked goods (like lemon poppyseed muffins drizzles in lemony goodness)...getting out of bed is such a treat! I will try to post a picture or two. I always love the cozy comfy rooms, and the large common areas are very inviting, including an outdoor terrace. Travellers, save yourself time and energy and look no further for the perfect place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn

Our First B & B at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B and Jim and Linda set the bar high for future B&B’s. They were warm and wonderful hosts. The Inn was immaculately clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms and private bath. Delicious breakfast. She assured us right away that we would not be spending the evening with them, but with each other. They have a separate entrance and stayed in separate quarters, so unless we needed anything we did not see them until morning. She has a special eye for detail and adds a warm touch to everything. Jim has done an amazing job with the doors of the home that are refurnished from the most unique places. I love old doors and the history of items so this was a treasure to me. Their personalities compliment each other and we left feeling like we had just visited friends of the family. We will return to enjoy their home and company again.

View more reviews for this inn

You've got to try it!! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2012

My wife and I had tickets to the Brickyard 400 NASCAR race and were looking for a comfortable place to stay for the weekend. We chose The Ivy House Bed & Breakfast based on the reviews of Trip Advisor, and are so very happy we did! The Inn was so very well taken care of that you could tell it was a place that was loved. And boy did we love it too! Everything was so immaculate! The rooms were very large and comfortable, and the huge bed we slept in made it very hard to get up in the morning. The food was excellent, and the property was beautiful! At the end of the day, it was very restful to sit and relax on the side porch with a cup of fresh brewed coffee. The house was beautifully decorated with antiques, teddy bears, tea pots, and so much more. I highly recommend The Ivy House Bed & Breakfast to anybody who may be staying in or near Indianapolis. We will definitely be staying there on our next visit!!

View more reviews for this inn

Tradition at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2012

My husband surprised me with a return visit to Ivy House on our first anniversary. We had stayed here once while dating, and had the most wonderfully relaxing time of connection. That's really when we decided that we would marry. So coming back to this completely pleasant and peaceful place was perfect for reflection. Linda made everything perfect for us, and was very considerate of my dietary needs as well. We had everything we needed and felt quite at home. I'm hoping to make a long-standing tradition of this visit. A+ to everything. Thank you, Noltes.

View more reviews for this inn

Back Home Again in Indiana at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2012

It has been one month since our visit to The Ivy House and we are still talking about what a terrific place. On our way to a nephew's graduation we decided to celebrate our 47th anniversary here. We were greeted at the front door by our innkeeper Linda. It was as if we were family coming home for a visit. The Inn is immaculate in every aspect, the food fabulous, the gardens beautiful, the snacks readily available Oh did I mention the food fabulous, the souffle one day, the french toast another, the fruit very fresh and the table decorated as if we were someone famous or royal. We slept better than if we were in our own bed. The furnishings are outstanding--antiques everywhere..The side porch was so peaceful after a day of sightseeing. Wanting to celebrate our anniversary dinner somewhere special, Linda knew exactly where to go. She is so knowledgeable of the surrounding area explaining all of the local venues. We will definitely stay at the Ivy House on our next visit to Indiana.

View more reviews for this inn

Home away from home at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 17, 2012

It was seriously as if we were right at home, only a great breakfast was made and served to us. The scenery inside and out was peaceful and very relaxing. The beds were very comfortable, and every was exceptionally clean. The breakfast was fresh and there was a great variety. Also included was soda, water, or cookies at any time. It has a great small town charm and feel but is literally only 5-10 min from a great mall, restaurants, and a movie theatre. Can't imagine a better bed and breakfast experience!

View more reviews for this inn

Ivy House B&B getaway at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic getaway to the Ivy House, a place I've wanted to try for years. It was like a step back in time. We slept so great on the amazing mattress! The table setting and breakfast made us feel like royalty. We even had own own souffle" that was absolutely delicious. The Ivy House was just a wonderful experience!

View more reviews for this inn

This is indeed one of the best in the state at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on June 05, 2012

We stayed in the English Ivy Room and were just blown away by the size of it and the ensuite bathroom. The bed was a bit high off the floor and a challenge to get into but once in it, it was very peaceful sleeping. There is no control over the heat or air conditioning but the fan above the bed helped circulate the air. The innkeepers were very quick to respond to a a request for an extra towel and the place was very clean again whenever we stepped out. There were even little chocolates on our pillows each night. The breakfast was wonderful though extras might have been welcomed some mornings. Breakfast always started with a fruit platter and then a meat and egg or pastry dish all made fresh that morning. The Innkeeper was very attentive to our allergy concerns. Throughout the day, had we wished, there were cookies, teas, sodas, and water available to us. Parking was off road though the location of the B&B was a touch tricky to find. It is located in a lovely neighborhood where I could imagine several more B&Bs or fine families living. We had a code to use so we could come and go as we pleased and the run of not only our room and the dining room but also a porch and living room. We only met the lady of the Inn not the rest of her family but it was clear that she loves doing this and had great care for all of her guests. We've all ready recommended it to others.

View more reviews for this inn

This is a wonderful B&B! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on May 18, 2012

I have stayed in many B&B's across the Midwest and although I have never had a bad experience, some are certainly 'a cut above the rest'! This B&B is definitely one of the best! Food great, very clean, and a wonderful attention to the small details, which can separate the good B&B's from the ones that really stand out. I hope I can visit again as there is a nice little area by the reservoir, and close to the B&B, where you can eat and relax!

View more reviews for this inn

A perfect getaway at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on April 15, 2012

The accommodations were amazing. Every detail is attended to and so charming yet a very comfortable atmosphere. The proprietor, Linda, is gracious and attentive without disturbing your privacy. The food is gourmet quality. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn

An Amazing Stay and pleasant company at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2012

Mydaughter and I arrived late after a concert at nearby Connors Prairie. Lindagreeted us at the door with a warm smile and offered us tea and wonderfuloatmeal cookies. Our room was clean and beautifully decorated. After awonderful night's sleep we enjoyed a delicious breakfast by candlelight. Lindaloves what she does and it shows in the details of the house and the care ofthe guests. I plan to come back with my husband and enjoy both the hospitalityof the Ivy House and another concert!

View more reviews for this inn

Beautiful home, delicious food, and wonderful hosts! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on November 04, 2011

On October 31, 2011, my wife and I lodged at the Ivy House. We chose this B & B mainly due to the very positive reviews that previous guests had written about their stays. Well, this place lived up to those reviews. It is a very charming home with a rich history that is spotlessly maintained. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. Our hosts Linda and Jim were very friendly and accommodating. Linda prepared our breakfast, which was fresh and delicious, that included a beautiful presentation of a variety of fruits, a great ham and egg soufflé, and a poppy seed muffin. Beautiful home, delicious food, and wonderful hosts all added up to great experience.

View more reviews for this inn

A+ 5 stars at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 01, 2011

We have stayed at many many B+B's since 1988 and we very much enjoyed our stay.There was NOT one amenity that you over looked. The room was pretty,comfortable and clean. Enjoyed breakfast and chatting with you. Thankyou for sharing your home with us.

View more reviews for this inn

My favorite B&B at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2011

I have been staying at Bed & Breakfast Inns since the 1980s and Ivy House is my favorite by far! Linda is so warm and friendly, she makes you feel like you have known her a long time. The house is so beautiful and clean! Linda pays attention to every detail, and does it perfectly. Breakfast was wonderful, lit candles, beautiful linens, china and crystal all made for a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn

BIRTHDAY SURPRISE! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2011

50 years ago my husband's grandparents owned the home that is now the Ivy House in Fortville, IN. I surprised him with a night there for his 60th birthday. What a surprise and enjoyment it was for him to spend time at this beautiful place again. The owner's were so gracious and out did themselves by spending time with us reminiscing about the history of the home. We stayed in the English Ivy room with the gorgeous bath room! Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for whatever the occasion!

View more reviews for this inn

The Best Bed and Breakfast we have found at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on September 22, 2011

We have stayed at the Ivy House twice in the last two months as it is close to our new graddaughters. We love the feel of the house, you feel like your in your own home. It has a welcome living room and outside porch and the rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We always sleep well at the Ivy House. Linda is warm and friendly and she puts up a great breakfast. Our favorite room is the English Ivy Room as it has a great big clean tub to soak in and a sitting area. I love the scents coming from the kitchen in the morning as she whips fresh baked goodies daily. We will definately be back to visit at the Ivy House.

View more reviews for this inn

"Hosts will be friends forever" at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2011

My wife & I just returned from a 30+ day trip back to Indiana to celebrate our 50th High School Reunion and visit with friends and family. Our ten day stay at the IVY House was a highlight. Jim & Linda Nolte went far and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Ivy House if you are looking for a place to stay while in east central Indiana. I would start my day with coffee on the porch where I was able to write a daily newsletter to my family and friends letting them follow along with my travels. Then breakfast was always gourmet and sumptuous. Linda went out of her way to make our breakfasts since my wife has special dietary needs with her diabetes and needs to stay on her diet. Linda even got sugar free treats to put on our bed when it was turned down in the evenings. What a delight to stay at a B & B that is in a class by itself. We can’t wait to visit Linda & Jim again. Van & Joann, Redmond, WA.

View more reviews for this inn

This bed and breakfast is FABULOUS!! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2011

This is the best bed and breakfast that we have stayed at on every level! The innkeepers, Linda and Jim, are so delightful, helpful and they keep the b&b immaculate and comfortable for their guests. The beds are the most comfortable, the rooms are wonderfully appointed with anything you would need. There were delicious cookies, drinks and a welcoming atmosphere when we arrived in the evening. The common areas are so cozy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom as so clean and the amenities were all top notch. The breakfast was superb - gourmet tasting and enough to fill you up. You will not regret staying at this lovely bed and breakfast - they do not disappoint!

View more reviews for this inn

WONDERFUL PLACE at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2011

We are returning after spending our honeymoon here. Wonderful food by Linda, quiet place, peaceful and relaxing. I will be back every year to celebrate I loved it so much the first time! Macy and Cory

View more reviews for this inn

a beautiful birthday surprise! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2011

What a wonderful, quiet, romantic place to celebrate turning 50! Jim and Linda were a joy to visit with and were perfect hosts. Thanks for providing us with such special treatment and amenities to make our stay so beautiful. We would highly recommend Ivy House to anyone visiting the Indianapolis area. Its only a short drive away from upscale shopping and dining but offers a scenic drive in the country and the quietness of a small town.

View more reviews for this inn

Peaceful! Delightful! at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2011

Everything about my visit to the IVY House was perfectly delightful! I enjoyed every moment. What a peaceful, inviting, and beautiful place. The Town of Fortville is so pretty and the people are so friendly. I had a wonderful retreat. ~Sarah

View more reviews for this inn

Blessed to stay at "The Ivy House" at Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (Fortville, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on August 02, 2011

Linda and Jim are kind and considerate. They made us feel right at home from the moment we entered the door. The rooms are really nice with excellent beds, beautiful bathrooms, and many wonderful antiques, vintage doors, and cool nick nacks. There were complementary fresh cookies, tea, water and soda. The breakfast was to die for. Fresh juices, friuit with homemade cheesecake pudding. This was followed by double stuffed french toast with a strawberry topping. Awesome!!!! The home is welcoming and cozy. Linda was a joy to visit with and had many wonderful stories. She was exceptionally helpful with directions and great recommentations.

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Ivy House Bed and Breakfast (4.85)