Black Dolphin Inn Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining5

Score Breakdown based on
26 Reviews

Write A Review

Outstanding B & B

5 on March 29, 2017

As a couple that frequents B & B's and Boutique Hotels, we found our visit to be one of the very best we have experienced. The setting is beautiful, the rooms and common areas inviting and interesting and the welcoming service as if you are a family member was second to none.


We Fell In Love

5 on February 07, 2017

My husband and I have stayed at the Black Dolphin quite a few times in the past 3 years! It is by far our favorite getaway!! We even decided to get married in New Smyrna Beach and spend our honeymoon there because of the Black Dolphin. Each room we have stayed has its own unique design and feels separate from the other rooms so that you have privacy. The family that runs this adorable B&B is amazing! They are always making sure we are well accommodated and enjoying our stay. Breakfast is 5 stars and conversations at breakfast time with other guest and the family brings social charm. We highly recommend this little gem to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway and feel like your a part of the family.


Our little peace of heaven

5 on May 18, 2016

This was our second visit to this amazing b&b and our experience was every bit as wonderful as the first. Brett, Shela & the team are just so genuinely friendly and considerate of your every need. Love these people and their beautiful establishment & will definitely be traveling back from UK soon as possible.


Stunning B&B

5 on October 25, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in late November 2014 so apologies for the belated review. Put simply the was possibly the most enjoyable and rewarding accommodation experience we have encountered in all our years of travel. Beautiful house and rooms, wonderful location and hosts. Enough said, discover it for yourself. Can't wait to go back next year. Ps - Breakfasts to die for.


First class and unique.

5 on October 18, 2015

First class and unique. I have stayed two years in a row. Oak Tree across balcony. Bikes, kayaks, and paddle boards. Clean, Clean, and Clean. Staff is the friendliest youll ever meet. Would recommend to anyone.


Memorable trip and stay

5 on October 06, 2015

September 21 through 25, 2015 We were greeted warmly upon arrival and escorted to our room after an explanation of the site. We chose the Premium Bay Front King room and it was exceptional. We watched life on the Indian River lagoon from our private balcony. The shared deck is a great vantage point as well. All furnishings were chosen with great care. The entire inn, inside and out, is beautiful and meticulously kept. The service provided by everyone at the inn was prompt and personable. Breakfast daily was made to order, delicious, and served gladly with a smile and conversation. Thank you Brett, Sheila, Mackenzie and Taylor. You made our stay at your inn quite memorable.


A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE FOR ALL OF US

5 on September 14, 2015

My family, both two and four legged, recently stayed at the Black Dolphin Inn in New Smyrna Beach, and I can't begin to tell you what a terrific experience we had. Reservations were expertly handled on short notice by Deanna, who was kind enough to meet us out front upon our arrival, answering our questions and offering helpful touring suggestions and a free local map, as well. Taylor, the manager, couldn't have been more accommodating, answering yet more questions we had, as well as ensuring we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Brett, the co-owner, his wife Sheila and daughter Kenzie gave us the most unique and healthy breakfasts I personally have ever tasted, and they also looked into obtaining desired information for us and educating us on navigating unfamiliar areas. And last, but far from least, we also wish to express our sincere gratitude to Janson, who was good enough to take time out from his usual occupation in maintenance to give us a guided tour of the other gorgeous rooms and themes at the inn, plus going above and beyond in helping to see that our "pups," 12 and 17, respectively, were able to rest in comfortable beds and have yummy dog treats, too, Just hoOoOoOw nice was that? Pricing was as expected for an upscale B&B, especially on the waterfront with dolphins frolicking in the tide for our entertainment day and night, and parking was more than adequate for our midweek stay. My command of the English language simply fails me when rating the care and special attention we received from the entire family and staff at Black Dolphin Inn, and I encourage you to make a reservation right away for your OWN stay of a lifetime. You won't regret it for a single moment and will be thrilled with this beautiful property, lovely city and exquisite B&B. We WILL be back, and all of us thank each of you for allowing us such delightful memories while staying at your wonderful inn: romantic, historic and unique!! Kind regards, The Rutgers Family


Exquisite stay

5 on September 06, 2015

Enjoyed my stay at the beautiful Black Dolphin Inn. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful views of the intracoastal. The staff, facilities and amenities are first class-worthy of a five star rating. The breakfast was amazing and I enjoyed the family atmosphere. Can't wait to return!!


YES! You want to stay here....

5 on August 06, 2015

My husband and I were looking for a dog friendly place in New Smyrna Beach, one of our favorite laid back spots in Florida. We were resigned to something dreary when we stumbled across the BLACK DOLPHIN INN. In a word it is FANTASTIC! The architecture, the decor, the food, the service, the location, the ambiance.....we could really go on and on. My favorite spot was the Pier, just steps from the front porch, breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. If your idea of a B&B is creaking floors, musty curtains and granny serving up a few cornflakes, then you owe it to yourself to experience this first rate INN. We will be back for sure. Les and Kimberly Standiford, Miami, Florida


Simply perfect

5 on April 28, 2015

Great place to stay. The rooms are so nice, comfortable and stylistic. And the breakfast was so tasty.


Short Stay

5 on December 18, 2014

We were just passing thru New Smyrna during a family and friends tour in Florida and were so lucky to have found the Black Dolphin Inn. Rooms are gorgeous, the place is beautiful and Brett and Sheila are the perfect hosts. We highly recommend staying here and will definitely plan on a longer stay next time we are in the area. Anne and Rob R. Port Jervis, NY


1st Year Wedding Anniversary

5 on November 25, 2014

A beautiful surprise! Perfect getaway for any occasion. Elegant , comfortable and cozy all in one! Excellent service, food and local appeal. The entire staff was amazing! Thanks for making a great memory of our 1 year wedding anniversary! We'll be back!


Outstanding B&B

4.6 on November 24, 2014

Fantastic stay..location is perfect! We will definitely return!


Excellent get away!

4.8 on August 11, 2014

My husband and I vacationed here for our anniversary, having never been to the area. What a wonderful find! The inn is fabulously decorated with a mix of modern, eclectic and historical features mixed in - I couldn't stop staring. The staff was beyond helpful and had so many great tips for restaurants and things to do. The morning breakfasts were the best part - hardy Southern fare with friendly, family banter to enjoy. The private dock was a great retreat for our early morning cup of coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. This is a great place to stay for a night or a weekend.


A must stay!!!!

5 on August 09, 2014

Super unique property, absolutely gorgeous, extremely nice owners.....can't wait to stay again! Our room was huge with double king beds that were so comfortable we didn't want to get up. But we are so glad we did.....only because the breakfast was phenomenal! They have a chef come in, is made to order, and the creative breakfast selections were delicious. Nice location on the water with lots to do. We are driving distance so we will definitely be back!


Historic Elegance

5 on May 25, 2014

Wow!!! What a find. The Black Dolphin Inn is an impeccably designed and managed unique boutique B&B.The converted mini-mansion has been completely and beautifully restored beyond belief! The 14 rooms, each with it's own designer decor, are spacious,comfortable and relaxing. The daily breakfast is an experience in it's self with scrumptious offerings from fresh squeezed orange juice to riccotta blueberry pancakes and much more! Great location for sightseeing New Smryna Beach, this Inn delivers on every level.If you want to escape for a stress free weekend that pampers your soul ,I would highly reccomend the Black Dolphin Inn. The courteous and knowledgable family and staff that run the Inn are helpful and attentive to your every need.Watch the sunrise while in bed from your room or fish from the private dock on the intra-coastal waterway across the street this will be an experience you will not soon forget. If you are looking for upscale wow factor with the cozy feel of a by gone era this is for you. Nick and Norma Treasure Island ,Fl.


Wonderful romantic weekend

5 on March 24, 2014

We were celebrating a late birthday for my wife, I selected the Luxury Bay front room. After booking, I received a nice response from the owners. A little more research on their well designed website and I found they offer room enhancement to celebrate special events. I immediately email and inquired about the Romantic Evening package. The owner added this to the package. Upon arriving at the Inn (a little earlier than expected) we were immediately impressed withe the look and feel. We were greeted by Brett who was awesome. We had initially thought we would leave our bags in the car while we went to the shop area near the beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room was all set up. Brett showed us to our room and we were both truly impressed. To top it off the romantic evening package was all set up including rose petals on the bed in a heart shape and place near the tub. We reluctantly left to get a late lunch and explore down near the beach. Upon our return from dinner we explored the Inn and our room. Let me just say, this place is beautiful. The room was well decorated. The deck offers a wonderful view of the river. The large tub "floating" in the center of the room was a treat. The bed was perfect. The following morning brought out another 5 star element - the breakfast. We sat at the bar area to watch them cook, but options included indoor family style seating and outdoor tables. The food was awesome. Following breakfast we fished the private dock. A drive into town for lunch and a short nap later, we received a wonderful dinner recommendation from Brett. We awoke Sunday and were greeted by another wonderful breakfast. We were saddened to leave, having thoroughly enjoyed a wonder romantic stay. I cannot say enough about the wonderful owners and staff. We would definitely stay again and will be recommending to friends and family. Oscar and Wendy


An elegant historical Inn.Tastfully decorated in an eclectic style that puts you at easy from the start. We felt as if we were staying with family. A romantic and restfull stay. We highly recommend this B&B and plan to return.

5 on December 17, 2013

One of the best..


A memorable experience!

5 on September 20, 2013

We stayed there for our sons wedding! It was so beautiful, cleanand the chef out did himself. They made it very personal for us and took the time to help us in any way they could. Could not have asked for anything better!


Highly recommend!

5 on September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights on our baby moon/anniversary. The B&B is both modern and personal. Everything is up-to-date, clean, and gorgeous! We highly recommend for anyone!


Pristine - Excellent

4.8 on September 09, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Black Dolphin Inn recently. The Inn is noticeably well placed along the Halifax River, with a dock and lounge chairs on the water. The building and property are pristine. Upon arrival the friendly owners greet you and show you your room, which is likely the highlight of your stay. Each room is unique in shape, decor, and amenities. Some rooms include multiple balconies overlooking the river/bay, or gorgeous large tubs placed in the center of your room beneath skylights. What's consistency is the comfort, sophistication, and warmth of each room at Black Dolphin Inn. Dining is also excellent. Our group brought back fish from a charter fishing cruise and the Inn's chef prepared an excellent dinner. The perfect stay for a business group, wedding, or a weekend trip.


This is a boutique hotel and puts to shame any of the chain hotels in NSB

5 on July 16, 2013

This should be listed as a fine hotel, not as a B+B. We found it to be first class in every category. Hope to return in 3 weeks or so.


Weekend Getaway

5 on June 15, 2013

Stayed at this delightful B&B during a Sat-Mon visit in June 2013. Hosts were wonderful; Sunday breakfast was first class! Our room was located on the back side of the property with two balconies (one overlooked the garden area and the other had a view of the waterway). NEXT visit -- we will book earlier to ensure we get a room on the front with full waterway view.


Absolutely stunning bed and breakfast

5 on May 13, 2013

Breathtaking restored 1920s mansion with every detail well thought out by the owners. Gorgeous decor with modern amenities, private balconies, oversized bathrooms with jetted tubs, European style bedding, delicious breakfast, warm and wlecoming owners...I cannot say enough about this fabulous establishment. This is far beyond your typical bed and breakfast,


Sumptuous Surroundings

5 on March 09, 2013

3/7/2013 Wow!!! What a find. The Black Dolphin Inn is an impeccably designed and managed unique boutique B&B.The converted mini-mansion has been completely and beautifully restored beyond belief! The 14 rooms, each with it's own designer decor, are spacious,comfortable and relaxing. The daily breakfast is an experience in it's self with scrumptious offerings from fresh squeezed orange juice to riccotta blueberry pancakes and much more! Great location for sightseeing New Smryna Beach, this Inn delivers on every level.If you want to escape for a stress free weekend that pampers your soul ,I would highly reccomend the Black Dolphin Inn. The courteous and knowledgable family and staff that run the Inn are helpful and attentive to your every need.Watch the sunrise while in bed from your room or fish from the private dock on the intra-coastal waterway across the street this will be an experience you will not soon forget. If you are looking for upscale wow factor with the cozy feel of a by gone era this is for you. Nick B. Treasure


Opening Day

5 on February 24, 2013

We spent the the week end at the Black Dolphin and came in on their opening day. I cannot describe how perfect our stay was. The Inn is unique in our travels. The rooms are meticuloulsly decorated and the lobby is beautiful. This is a side note but our room was upstairs facing the river and both days there were dolphins playing continuously very near the end of the Inn's private dock. Breakfast was cooked in an open kithcen with a bar by an experienced Chef that proved he was creative and good. We had a wonderful week-end and would recommend this unique Inn to anyone. Thanks to the owners and staff, Richard Howard President Business Source, Inc. Jacksonville, Florida


Black Dolphin Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $359
  • Reviews (26) 5.0
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-3864104868
  • Fax 1-3864104899
  • Mobile 1-7276868155
  • Toll free 1-8554104868

Visit Website »

View details

Top