Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
17 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing property with Superior service and Attention to Detail

5 on October 09, 2016

Gretchen and Troy were consummate hosts that were available every step of the way. My husband and I stayed in the guest house which is large enough to host a wedding function or intimate enough for a getaway for two. We requested breakfast in our cottage and it was hand delivered in courses with china, linen, and crystal. Troy had a vast knowledge on the history of the cottage that was moved and relocated to their property. The locale, service level, and costs were superior. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

A Piece of Paradise

5 on May 16, 2016

We just returned from a wonderful weekend getaway at Troy and Gretchen's piece of paradise...Wonderful people, warm, friendly as was the atmosphere all throughout this little town. They gave us great advice as to what to do, and where to eat dinner. We never ate lunch as breakfast was so tasty and filling! This paradise Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful short walk to the town. I will recommend to all our friends...thank you so very much!

Beautiful and Charming

5 on July 07, 2015

Our Wedding was Amazing! The Avera-Clarke House was such a beautiful setting , Gretchen and Troy were wonderful Hosts. A perfect weekend. Thank you for helping make it so special!

Our out-of-state visitors loved it!

5 on June 01, 2014

Our friends were visiting from Virginia for a couple of days and we arranged for their stay at Avera-Clarke in the cottage. They were very happy with the spacious and comfortable accommodations, the friendliness and helpfulness of the hosts, the lovely grounds, and the delicious breakfasts. If you are expecting overnight visitors and are unable to have them stay in your home, treat them to a stay at Avera-Clarke. You won't be sorry because Gretchen and Troy will make sure that your guests have everything they need for a pleasant stay.

so great! didn't want to leave!!

5 on May 04, 2013

I've stayed at the Avera Clarke B&B many times. It is one of my absolute favorite getaway spots in Florida. All around great experience. Beautiful grounds and obviously a lovely historical home.

Great Weekend

5 on April 18, 2012

My wife, family and I stayed 2 nights. We were in town to celebrate our niece's birthday party which happened to be on the grounds of the inn. We found Gretchen and Troy to be friendly and accommodating. Gretchen is a great hostess and surprised us with her gourmet cuisine. Troy was great also. The rooms were clean and in good condition and very comfortable. The grounds were perfect for a party and they made every accommodation to make it they way the party planner wanted. All in all a great place to stay or host an event at.

Best Kept Secret in the Panhandle!!

5 on September 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the cottage the second weekend in September. This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and we must say that this place is above and beyond any expectations I had. The cottage is the way to go, although we want ot stay in the main house on our next visit, well maybe not. Troy and Gretchen are wonderful people and they make some of the best breakfast I have had. Their hospitality is second to none and so is there B & B. If you have never stayed here, I highly recommend it. We will be back sooner than later. Thanks again Troy and Gretchen for a wonderful time. Gretchen went the extra mile for me. It was my wifes birthday on the night we arrived. She had picked up a cake and bottle of wine, and had it waiting in the refrigerator, with all untensils and cold wine glasses.

Great Stay!

5 on August 12, 2010

Accommodations were comfortable and interesting, clean and relaxed atmosphere. Gretchen was the perfect host, breakfast delicious - all in all, a perfect getaway. We absolutely recommend!

Gretchen is the perfect hostess

5 on June 30, 2010

We brought our granddaughter to attend my high school reunion and Gretchen put us in the cottage ... it was wonderful !!! We look forward to staying with her anytime we're in the Tallahassee area. Oh and I forget to say how incredible is her cooking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

wonderful experience

5 on September 27, 2009

My husband & I stayed one night to see Fiddler on the Roof at the nearby Opera house. Gretchen and Troy made us feel very welcome but gave us the privacy we needed. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to come back to visit again. Gretchen's breakfast was wonderful!

The best in town

5 on August 19, 2009

Excellent place and service. Clean & comfortable. The best.

B and B and Bicycling vacation

5 on July 20, 2009

The Avera-Clarke B&B provided a wonderful vacation setting. Troy helped with our bicycling maps and Gretchen always went above and beyond. Besides cooking beautiful breakfasts she made us coffee at night and fed us fresh fruit in the afternoon. The accomodations were just right and the house very peaceful.

Beautiful room.

4.6 on December 04, 2008

I found it to be very clean and well maintained. I was disappointed with the fact that the fireplace in the room was not functioning. Everything else about my room was very nice. The breakfast was delicious. I am allergic to dogs and did not know there were dogs living in the house. This caused me some discomfort so I wish I had known this. Overall, the inn is a great choice. Gretchen and Troy were great hosts!

Innkeeper Response
I am so sorry that I had a guest stay with us that was allergic to dogs. If that had been mentioned during the booking, I would have stated that yes, we do have dogs and our B&B is advertised as pet friendly. Our dogs are contained in our living area, but other guest might be staying with their pets and I could give out that information also.

A wonderful surprise

5 on November 21, 2007

We just stayed for the weekend. Gretchen and Troy make you feel like family yet give you privacy if you want it. The house is beautiful and the breakfast is wonderful. All in all we had a great time.

Troy and Gretchen are awesome

5 on November 09, 2007

I had my wedding in May at this B&B and will always be so very grateful to Troy and Gretchen for going above and beyond to make it special!


5 on October 01, 2007

We spent the weekend at the Avera-Clarke House Bed and Breakfast. It was a wonderful experience. Everything was lovely. The peach French toast was delicious...yummmmm. Gretchen and Tray were the perfect hosts. We look forward to coming back.

Quaint, comfortable, and friendly.

5 on September 20, 2007

The owners, Troy and Gretchen, are warm and friendly, and they make you feel at home. The home is historic, well furnished, and comfortable. Rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast was tasty and satisfying. I will stay here again.

Avera-Clarke House Bed & Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $90 - $175
  • Reviews (17) 5.0
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8509975007
  • Fax 1-8509971602
  • Mobile 1-8503216980

Visit Website »

View details