Recent Reviews in Encinitas, California

Nice B&B full of character at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

3.6 reviewed on May 20, 2018

The El Primero Hotel is a really nice old hotel full of character. It’s in a great location with lots of bars and restaurants close by. It is a family run hotel and it was great to chat with the family at breakfast. The breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit and home made pastries. We ate in in the patio area every morning which was a nice touch. The rooms are a little cramped but the bed was comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Home Away From Home at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2018

If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax, be at peace, wake up to delicious breakfasts, and feel pampered, then stay at the Kate Stanton Inn! The hosts, Liz and Carol, are incredibly warm and gracious. Whether you want to socialize or be on your own, they will accommodate you. We chose to socialize and are so glad we got to know these lovely women. We felt very special and look forward to maintaining our friendship with a future stay! Thank you both!!

View more reviews for this inn


Concert and venue were awesome ! at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2018

We attend the concert and stayed the night at the el primero. We had a blast and loved that we didn’t have to drive home after the concert . Can’t wait until next time !

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay in Chula Vista at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2018

Great Place to Stay in Chula Vista

View more reviews for this inn


Not the best at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

1.8 reviewed on April 04, 2018

Small rooms, average hotel, breakfast limited, nothing warm. Does not allow service dogs.

View more reviews for this inn


A sunny winter get-away to Chula Vista, CA at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.0 reviewed on March 08, 2018

Staying at El Primero was an unexpected pleasure. A vintage 1905 hotel restored to a deluxe art deco jewel. Wonderful staff - couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. Slept well and dined will. Located in the restored old neighborhood of Third Avenue. Several top line restaurants in easy walking distance. Very user-friendly public transport system. We wanted to rate El Primero with 5 stars but this program would only allow us to choose from 1 to 4! We're definitely looking forward to our next visit! Brava Karen and Katie! Bravo David! Bright Moments, Carol and Norm

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Beautiful at Inn at Moonlight Beach (Encinitas, CA)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Moonlight Beach for staycation. I loved that the place is a newly renovated located next to the beach. We walk into the room with fresh fruits, snacks, and calming music. We check out the patio and look up outside to see the stars. We enjoyed sleeping in the comfy king size bed and soaking in the tub. The best views are waking up to the view of the ocean and feeling the fresh breeze when we opened the sliding door. I felt relaxed and well taken care of. Every detail in the place was purposeful, clean and beautiful. I highly recommend stopping by the Self-RealizationFellowship Temple in Encinitas or Moonlight Beach to enjoy stunning ocean views. I'd definitely come back and stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Quick, one-night stay at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.6 reviewed on February 10, 2018

I needed an economical place to stay for my aunt's funeral at the last minute. This was truly a gem of a find. I arrived late, but the hotel manager was still friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with an amazing variety of fresh fruit. Room was cozy and clean. My only gripe was being able to hear a running toilet all night (I think it was both mine and the one from the adjacent room), but that was a minor issue.

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet throwback to the ‘30’s at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2018

On a visit to a friend who lives in the Fredricka Manor retirement community I selected this hotel for its location but will return for its friendly owners, the great breakfast and the ambience. The historic photos in the room and halls get you in the spirit of the place. By the way there are no room numbers just names which “requires” the host to personally escort you to your room.

View more reviews for this inn


Like visiting your favorite aunt! X’s 2 at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2018

My first stay in a B and B was fantastic. The ladies have a beautiful place and everything was perfect. I felt welcome as soon as I rang the doorbell and it just got better and better. Neat, clean, everything was right and tight, then I went home to three kids. I will definitely be staying here again. Wayne

View more reviews for this inn


Sweet at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 27, 2018

Visiting a resident of Fredricka Manor just up the street several blocks this is a perfect place to stay. The breakfast was outstanding with many different fruits and egg dishes as well as home made banana break and really good coffee. In the summer there is a lovely patio to enjoy the sun while you eat breakfast. Unfortunately it was unseasonably cold during my visit and the small kitchen which was not really set up for diners was very tight as we all looked for some warmth.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm, friendly service at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.2 reviewed on January 18, 2018

The service here is incredible. A lovely place to stay. My only negative is that it is not as clean as one comes to expect from a place like this. The bedding and bathroom were very clean, but the details of the room were less clean than expected. The devil is in the details as they say. The lamp shades were dirty and the baseboards hadnt been cleaned, some dont care about things like this as the rest of the room was "clean enough", but others may feel that if those details arent clean, what else is not cleaned regularly? A very nice place except for this detail.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.2 reviewed on January 16, 2018

Stayed there last week in preparation for my colonoscopy, superb attention by the owners! Reminded me a lot of Rosarito Beach Hotel, same era!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to relax at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on January 15, 2018

Felt like family The people are amazing, the food is great, the rooms are clean and private I will be back

View more reviews for this inn


Historic and comfy at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 13, 2018

I was visiting friends who live at the Chula Vista marina, and wanted a place to stay that was close by. This 'B&B-tel' was perfect. I stayed in the Del Coronado room....it was spacious, the bed was super-comfy, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. This is an older building, and much of the architectural detail has been beautifully preserved. Pie was a magnificent host--friendly and helpful. The courtyard was so inviting, my friends and i spent an evening there chatting with a bottle of wine. I highly recommend this place if you enjoy staying at non-cookie-cutter hotels with a historic feel and great service!

View more reviews for this inn


chula gem at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on January 13, 2018

El primero is a cozy, tidy space to be tucked away in.

View more reviews for this inn


Definitely recommend¿¿ at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on January 08, 2018

We’ve stayed here a few times and really enjoy the owners and the fun 1920s style. Wonderful breakfast served on outdoor patio also an added bonus. It is also nice that there are several brew pubs and restaurants just down the way. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of Luck from a favorite Guest at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on December 10, 2017

Truly the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Wonderful atmosphere and the most amazing family owned and operated hotel in town of Chula Vista. Keep it going and be sure I will be back for more fun with you guys. Best Wishes for the upcoming Holidays to entire family. Enjoy the bags. I love you all, Monika C.

View more reviews for this inn


Thee Best. Period. at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2017

Liz and Carol are the best innkeepers, owners, hosts, we have ever met. They truly welcome guests and treat them as family. With love and grace, they have created a piece of paradise along the beautiful Pacific Coast. Accommodations are beautiful, comfortable and spotless. The food is amazing! Breakfast, snacks, wine, freshly squeezed juice, amazing coffee, mouth-watering buttery croissants, french crepes, and beautiful fruit and berries. They do the B and B part with 5 stars! But the hospitality, and kindness, and love for their neighbor and their world, is something that doesn't come up in a review format. This separates them from all the other places we have stayed. Every guest felt special! It's no wonder they have repeat guests, a waiting list and friends across the globe.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2017

The Bed & Breakfast is a lovely sample of a California dwelling on a quiet hill with great air and great views. Cool and calm - very tastefully decorated. Innkeepers that make you feel as if you have known them for a long time. Plants that greet you with their old charm. Linens that hug you with love and kindness. Breakfasts touched with a few rays of the morning sun. We would stay there again and again. We liked it very much.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Experience and Highly Recommend at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on November 01, 2017

The rooms were great but the bathrooms were old and dated. The staff and their service by far made up for any areas I would consider needing improvement. They were all very sweet and go above and beyond to make your stay as wonderful as possible. The location was walking distance to some great restaurants. I definitely will be staying again.

View more reviews for this inn


Unforgettable Stay at the Kate Stanton Inn at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2017

My husband and I spent two nights in the Chatham Suite at the Kate Stanton Inn for our Wedding in San Diego. We could not have enjoyed the experience more. The Innkeepers Liz and Carol were a joy to be around. Liz kept in contact before our trip. She obtained several details from us, including what we liked to eat, and arranged a lunch for us while we got ready on our wedding day. Liz and Carol prepared breakfast for us both days and the spread was delicious! We spent the evening of our wedding sharing some cake with them. The suite was beautiful as was the rest of the home. We have never experienced a stay like this one and we cannot wait to come back. Highly recommend Kate Stanton Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


A Very Special Place! at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2017

The Kate Stanton Inn is a very beautiful and special bed and breakfast, and I would recommend it to anyone visiting the San Diego area. Liz and Carol put so much attention to detail so that you feel as if you're in Martha Stewart's home (Liz and Carol are the best hostesses ever!). They took note of my dietary preferences, coordinated meal times, served delicious local and organic food, and provided all of the necessary toiletries. I stayed at the Inn in October 2017 for my wedding, and recommend the Chatham suite as a bridal suite or honeymoon suite - It has a breathtaking view of Batiquitos Lagoon and the ocean, plenty of light, a large master bathroom with two separate commodes and a giant walk in closet.. Liz and Carol made my stay extra special by providing champagne and organizing a luncheon for me and my bridesmaids the day of the wedding. The Inn was the perfect place for pictures as well, and we ended up taking beautiful "getting ready" and "first look" photos. The Inn has other rooms as well, and I would recommend it to anyone traveling through San Diego, either for a short or extended stay. It is great for people traveling alone, couples, and families. I plan on returning to the Kate Stanton with my family for many years to come! Thank you Liz and Carol, for creating such a special place.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on October 10, 2017

My husband and I stayed with Liz and Carol when we went out to CA to visit my daughter for her birthday! Lovely home and breakfast was delightful! Will be coming back when we go and visit the area again. Thanks Liz and Carol for everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B in Encinitas at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2017

This is a wonderful B&B! My husband and I couldn't say enough about the excellent stay we had at the Kate Stanton Inn. Liz and Car could not have been more accommodating. Will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay in San Diego at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 19, 2017

Charming refurbished historic hotel. Family owned and operated. Very clean with a plentiful breakfast provided until 10:00 am so one could sleep in if desired. Convenient parking. Nice patio so that you could have your breakfast outdoors. Only thing I would suggest is that they provide coffee during the day, maybe with a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B, comfortable, may need a little maintenance at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 12, 2017

Breakfast was great, room was comfortable and nice, bathroom was OK

View more reviews for this inn


Above & Beyond at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 10, 2017

We stayed here during a trip to San Diego. I appreciate the owners' preservation of the historic site, including naming the rooms to include the history of Chula Vista. El Primero is a great escape from the big hotel chains and offers quiet accommodations in quaint Chula Vista. The owners go above and beyond by offering suggestions for local eateries and activities. They take the time to talk with all travelers who pass through. Great option to experience something different.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible asset to Chula Vista Village at El Primero (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2017

A very well maintained and loved 20 room bed and breakfast in the heart of CV Village. Walk to a variety of ethnic restaurants from this great location. Easy freeway and trolley access. Pie and Sol's labor of love shows boldly at this historical charmer.

View more reviews for this inn


What an absolute gem! at Kate Stanton Inn (Encinitas, California)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2017

What an absolute treat it was to stay here!!! My husband and I celebrated our two year anniversary with a getaway weekend to California (were from Arizona) Liz and carol are SUCH incredible hostesses who have obviously mastered the art of hospitality. It was absolutely delightful and not awkward in the least bit (as some b and bs can be) I feel like we became part of a family as the other guests were so kind and fun to talk to as well! If you find yourself in Encinitas, do not pass this place up!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Rancho Pescadero (5)
  2. Kate Stanton Inn (4.91)
  3. Inn at Moonlight Beach (4.75)
  4. El Primero (4.54)
Top
check }