Recent Reviews in Duluth, Minnesota

A Great Place to stay at Olcott House (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2015

We where there in October of last year. It was on my dad's bucket list. They where very accommodating. My dad was in end stage cancer and had a cane to walk and they made sure that they had the room on the ground floor. I could not ask for a better host. My dad talked about his stay there to everyone he talked to. They gave great direction and suggestions for things to do in and around Duluth. Definitely will be staying when I come back. My dad passed in December and you made many great memories with my dad for my mom and me. Thank you so much.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome weekend! at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed & Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2015

My wife and I spent the weekend in the Superior Suite, and found the accommodations absolutely fantastic. We arrived on Friday, purchased the soup supper meal. The wild rice soup that was served was out of this world. Breakfasts Saturday and Sunday were exquisite! Cleanliness of the suite was spot-on, and the attention to detail was definitely present. Jim and Joy were wonderful hosts, and were always available in case we needed anything! We definitely will return! We will be recommending the Firelight Inn to anybody who is looking for a place to stay in Duluth.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it! at Cotton Mansion (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on January 21, 2015

We stayed at the Cotton Mansion for two nights (new years eve and the night before). The couple who owns the mansion were so welcoming. They even spent a lot of time talking with us about the history of the mansion (we are very into old homes). The breakfast was great and served community style - which I was unsure about at first - but turned out to be very fun. We even met another couple there and celebrated the New Year out with them. Definitely Recommend

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

Angie and Tim have created a little slice of heaven in Northern Minnesota. My girlfriend and I have been back 3 times and already look forward to our return visit next summer. Everything about the place is pure perfection: from the guest rooms, to the breakfast, to the warm and genuine hospitality. All of it comes together is a wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Jazz to the Soul at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2014

Upon arrival on Friday afternoon we were warmly greeted and shown the beautiful home and grounds then directed to our room. Both Tim and Angie instantly made us feel like family - a character trait that many work a lifetime to gain in the realm of sales and hospitality. The room was both updated and rustic at the same time. Elements of the carriage house (North Shore Retreat) room we had certainly had the amenities of any updated room yet the charm and characteristics of a much older country home from the window treatments, in-room mini wood stove reminiscent unit, and fine wooden furniture. As this is a bed & breakfast I'll comment on both - The bed was very comfortable and the grounds were very quiet lending to an evening that soothed all the crazy chaos of daily work life out of sight and mind. Saturday and Sunday morning breakfasts were embellished with a tasteful mix of salty and sweet with the gracious filling of orange juice, coffee, and assortment of teas to choose from. This being our first stay at a bed and breakfast we certainly got lucky with such wonderful hosts that were somehow perfectly situated on the tricky balance of being attentive to the visitors' needs, not too pushy or overbearing, and absolutely delightful to converse with. The history and decor of the living, dining, and sun room were really magnetic to me. As if snatched up from a different universe, I felt compelled to peruse the living room's books and had to steal a seat in the comfortable chairs for some quiet time Saturday evening after our dinner on the town to read and let the experience sink in. We left thoroughly satisfied and really still in awe of what felt like the most relaxing weekend we've gotten to spend in a while. To any traveler well versed in bed & breakfasts or new to the scene as we were - You HAVE to visit and soak in this experience. To put it simply it was jazz to my soul.

View more reviews for this inn


Cotton Mansion at Cotton Mansion (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2014

We had an amazing time at this timeless classic mansion. Ken dazzled us with historic accounts of the mansion from the time of its building to present day. 11 out of 10 Derek D.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Weekend at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2014

Lovely accommodations - thoughtful, gracious hosts. Would return gladly!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2014

My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon at the AG Thompson house in Duluth. Tim and Angie have a beautiful home with lots of character and charm, in addition to modern amenities. Breakfast can be delivered to your room or served in the open dining room. Be prepared for a treat as breakfast is amazing. We were greeted with a warm smile when we arrived and were given a hug goodbye when we checked out. I won't even think twice about staying somewhere else during our next visit to Duluth. Thank you Tim and Angie!!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous stay! at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2013

We spent two nights and didn't want to leave. The accommodations are wonderful, very warm and cozy. Tim and Angie made us feel right at home. The breakfast and chocolate chip cookies are phenomenal. Difinitely worth a trip North!

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful stay at Solglimt (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 01, 2013

This was our second stay at Solglimit. We so enjoy the beautiful property on Lake Superior. The Lake Superior suite was ultra clean and spacious with a fabulous view of the lake. Brian and Mary are gracious hosts and provide superior hospitality. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


A Nice Surprise at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on July 18, 2013

This was our first visit to the Duluth region, and we were unsure of our expectations. When we arrived at the A.G. Thomson house, we were blown away by its character and hospitality of the Inn Keepers, Angie and Tim. We felt so at home! Beautifully decorated and comfortable, this B&B offers a gorgeous garden and a lovely historic neighborhood. Not to mention its proximity to all the sites that Duluth offer! Don't plan to eat lunch. You'll have a delicious and filling breakfast that will last you to dinner!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic 1st Bed and Breakfast Experience at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2013

Tom and Angie were incredible hosts and run a first class operation. My wife and I had never stayed at a b&b before and she was leery because she can be incredibly shy, but from the first minute we got there we had a great experience. I think we're a but younger than the usual crowd but we were well-received. The breakfasts were great and we give special marks to their Wild Rice anything and to the scone that was made on the first day of our visit. We're also both vegetarians and every restaurant we ate at while in town was based one of their recommendations and we ate excellently our entire time in Duluth. I highly recommend staying here and we'll likely be back in a couple of years.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Get Away at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed & Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Firelight Inn 4 times now, and we almost feel like family. Jim & Joy are such wonderful hosts and they really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and special. It starts at the front door as they are both there to great us and then Jim carries our bags up to our room for us. We just love the fruit, cheese and cracker platter that we always have waiting upon our arrival. The food is so delicious, from the Chicken wild rice soup with warm bread to our gourmet breakfasts that words can hardly describe. It is such a wonderful relaxing and peaceful time when we get to visit the Firelight Inn. We enjoy the winter visits just as much as the summer. Especially nice is the Butler's pantry where you may treat your self to some homemade cookies and candies, or coffee and soda. I cannot forget the massage package that was a special treat to really feel pampered. Joy has such an eye for detail and nothing is overlooked. We cannot wait until our next visit. Many thanks and Blessings to Jim and Joy for they truly excel at their gift of hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


North Shore Gem at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on May 12, 2013

Tom and Angie great hosts. Lovely setting off Lake Superior. Wonderful breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Rooms - Spectacular View at Solglimt (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on April 29, 2013

We have stayed with Brian and Mary several times and always look forward to our return visits. The breakfasts are always wonderful and very artfully presented, the rooms are very clean and beautifully designed and the hosts very welcoming. We already have reservations for another visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever! at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2013

Tim and Angie have created the perfect B&B. We loved everything about it. Great location, great room, great amenities. Everything was a five-star experience. What put them at the top was the option of in-room dining. We enjoyed Angie's sumptuous breakfast in the privacy of our room each morning. Very romantic! The AG Thomson House is the best B&B ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Place Ever!!!! at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2013

We have stayed at many B&Bs and this one stands out head and shoulders above the others! Everything about the Thomson House was amazing. The whirlpool, fireplace and comfy bed all added to the stay. This place is so romantic. Suffice it to say everything was perfect, down to the smallest detail. We have stayed at many bed and breakfast inns but this was by far the best! The genuine warmth and hospitality displayed by Tim and Angie were greatly appreciated. We already had planned our return visit before we checked out! As the sign reads in the sun room, “Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends”. With Tim and Angie we truly believe we’ve made new, lifelong friends.

View more reviews for this inn


AMAZING!! at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2013

My now wife and I have stayed here 3 times and words are not enough to expresswhat a wonderful place this .WOW!

View more reviews for this inn


We felt like royalty! A place for spiritual and relationship renewal! at The Firelight Inn on Oregon Creek Bed & Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on January 01, 2013

I surprised my husband this December with a two night stay in the Barnum Suite for our 24 year anniversary. I knew it was the right place after brousing for hours on the internet. Jim and Joy offer everthing I was looking for: jacuzzi for two, fireplace, private dining option, massages, and an intimate and personal atmosphere. We felt so pampered! Immediately upon arrival, the spiritual feel of the place was comforting. We are more of a traditional couple and I could feel peace in the air. We both agree this weekend for us ended up topping our honeymoon! We shared and cared, cleared up some misunderstandings, and are enjoying a new start again to our relationship (and we thought we were already happy)! If you are a believer, this is a place that will foster and support spiritual renewal! We both left a better person. The only thing that could have been improved upon for us would have been to get a chance to talk to Joy about our food preferences. Would have preferred less sweets/carbs and more proteins (prefer turkey vs. pork products). All in all, wonderful memories were made for us that will last us our lifetime! Thank you to the Fischers for running this superb B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place at Solglimt (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on December 05, 2012

Great location, beautiful building, excellent food and service!! We can't wait to go back! Nancy & Lionel

View more reviews for this inn


We had a very enjoyable stay - excellent breakfast! at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on November 29, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in Duluth

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Girls Weekend at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 31, 2012

Jim & Joan run an amazing B & B! I HIGHLY recommend the Ellery House. We had a girls weekend here and it was extremely relaxing! They are gracious hosts who go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast is fantastic and the afternoon cookies are to die for! The rooms come with little perks all over, such as robes and toiletrie items. They provide the option to have breakfast in your room, which is a lovely treat. Give the Ellery House a try...you will NOT be disappointed!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience! at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience at the Ellery House as we celebrated our first anniversary. Waking up to delicious coffee and the sunrise over the lake on the porch was an exceptionally energizing way to start the day! Breakfast was phenomenal; I wish we could have had more than one breakfast in a day. We had a very private experience when we wanted it and great company when we wanted it.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy stay at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on October 18, 2012

My Husband and I just spent one night in the North Shore retreat room in the carriage house at the A G Thomson house. We had a great time, Tim was a gracious host that gave us a quick history of the family showed us the amenities in the main house as well as our room. They provide access to many movies, cookies, free chardonnay, and soda. Our room was clean, cozy and pleasant. The walls are a little thin between rooms in the carriage house but it did not turn out to be a problem. Our breakfast was very good, consisting of cranberry scones, fruit parfait, cheesy wild rice egg quiche, and cheesy potato hash. With orange juice, coffee, and water which you may choose to have delivered to your room in a cute basket with everything included if you do not wish to eat in the dining room. Our stay was pleasant our host was funny and we would not hesitate to stay there again in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Stay at Cotton Mansion (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on October 18, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cotton Mansion, for our Honeymoon. We stayed in the carriage house in the Bella Flora room. Ken walked through our room with us explaining where the fridge, coffee, how the Jacuzzi tub worked as well as the shower. The bed was very comfortable, gas fire place was gorgeous. The room was clean, large, private and very cozy. They provided lavender candles, bath salts, shampoo, conditioner and even lotion. The Jacuzzi tub had an included heater that kept the water warm for as long as you wanted to enjoy it. The mansion was built early 1900's. They have kept/restored all original furniture, wood work and light fixtures. It is beautiful. Ken ran through the entire history of the house and Cotton family during breakfast at our request. They make AMAZING breakfasts. The first morning they made eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and an apple muffin. The second morning they served fresh pineapple with stuffed french toast. Very good! We plan to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay In Duluth at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on October 15, 2012

The owners of The Ellery House really know how to do this. They are there if you need them but are so unobtrusive. Jim was kind and helpful. They have most things set up to be self service, even lattes and espresso! They had delicious cookies and port and sherry as well. The room was nice but small, I think some of the others are larger. It was comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was delicious and served with a beautiful presentation. All in all a really wonderful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Hosts at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on September 26, 2012

Jim was a great host and Innkeeper. The breakfast was great and we really enjoyed our room. Perfect location, close to everything.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Breakfast at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on September 24, 2012

Food for breakfast was good, food suggestions weregood. It had a nice wraparound porch.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend of wonder at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

3.6 reviewed on September 19, 2012

We had a lovely weekend. The food, service and room was wonderful! My only thought was that the home needs some TLC (cobwebs in a few corners, pealing paint inside and out), plants dying from lack of water, ect.. I also found it strange that we never met Jan, just Jim. Would definately be back, especially for the stuffed french toast!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Value! at The Ellery House (Duluth, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2012

I stayed at Ellery House during a girls night out with my mom. The innkeeper, Jim, gave us many suggestions for dinner and even had menus available! The rooms had great historic touches and were very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast was great with a variety of food, fruit and delicious coffee or lattes. I also felt that pricing was very reasonable compared to other B&Bs in the area. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in the Duluth area!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}