Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

A Short Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 25, 2017

My husband and I decided to take a short getaway and I've been wanting to visit Galena for several years now. The Farmers Guest House was by far our favorite B&B that we've stayed at. Susan and Don are wonderful hosts and their B&B is extremely warm and cozy and beautifully decorated. The breakfast that is served is beyond amazing....we will come back and stay for more than one night!

View more reviews for this inn


The peaceful, relaxing, nourishing Inn at Irish Hollow at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 24, 2017

Our 5th stay at this remarkable country inn proved just as wonderful as the 1st visit years ago. Amazing dinner and breakfast delivered to the well-equipped cottages, wood-burning fireplaces, screened porches, several well-maintained walking trails, and a friendly, efficient staff make for a relaxing getaway. The Inn is less than a calf hour from historic Galena. Lee and Wendy

View more reviews for this inn


Beyond Wonderful! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 12, 2017

We loved staying at this historic bed and breakfast! The room was cozy and clean, and the food was second to none! Susan goes out of her way to make guests feel like friends. We will stay here again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great visit! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 01, 2017

We had a lovely, well cared for room in the guest house. The house is beautifully updated and Susan and Don are wonderful hosts. I notified Susan that I am gluten free due to celiac disease and she went out of her way to prepare me special gluten free french toast, a special gluten free scone and gluten free chocolate chip cookies, all of which were outstanding. I have never been treated so well anywhere else. Susan (the breakfast DIVA), is a wonderful cook and the non-gluten-free breakfast was also excellent. Many thanks to Susan and Don for a wonderful visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Best wedding anniversary ever! at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

As part of visiting the area to celebrate our 20th anniversary, we stayed in Cabin 10 for two nights. Our stay was outstanding! Wonderful accommodations, beautiful location, very quiet, peaceful, and the breakfast brought to our cabin was excellent. Sitting on the porch each morning and evening was relaxing. By far the best B&B we have stayed at. We hope to be able to make this an annual visit.

View more reviews for this inn


A Very Pleasant Surprise! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Tagged along with hubby on an out of town business trip hoping for little together time...He surprised me with a three night stay in the Charlotte Suite at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The accommodations were great and the hosts, Susan and Don, and the staff, Charles and Lisa were an absolute delight. Breakfast every morning was a culinary treat and service was exemplary. Within walking distance of everything in town. Great recommendations for shopping, antiquing, food were spot on. President Grant's Home and museum, Field of Dreams movie location and the magic show were amazing! Galena exceeded all expectations. A beautiful town, a great B&B, and very welcoming people! I look forward to visiting again! Even with so many B& B's in Galena, I would still stay at the Farmer's Guest House!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2017

My wife & I have stayed here twice. Back in Nov. of 2013 for thanksgiving we were actually engaged here and this past week it was for my wife's birthday. Both times have been so wonderful. Can't beat the hospitality. Susan and Don made us feel like family. You will never regret making your stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


TOP NOTCH R & R at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2017

I'm so impressed by this place I wrote the same thing on Trip Advisor! My husband surprised me with a two-night stay for my 40th birthday. We had such a wonderful time I was planning our next trip on the way home. Susan and Don’s warm hospitality and amazing breakfast was simply the best. Our room was quiet, spacious, cozy and very private. Wine time was fun getting to know the other guests and the best places for dinner, to tour, etc. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to any couple or mother-daughter duo of any age!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Hosts at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2017

Don and Susan were excellent hosts. My wife and I were celebrating our 21st Anniversary and this was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast. When we walked up I joked with my wife that the building didn't look too inviting and hopefully it was like a person, where it's what's on the inside that matters. WOW, that was an understatement. The facility is in excellent condition, the room was immaculate, there were so many things for the guests like cookies, movies, wine glasses, wine at 5pm. We got a late start in the morning and Susan kept our breakfast warm for us and boy am I glad she did. The food was amazing and it was all homemade. Unfortunately my wife and I only had one night to enjoy this treasure of place. We will definitely make our way back to the Farmers Guest house and will make sure we stay for a couple of days. Thank you Susan and Don for making our Anniversary something to remember.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 03, 2017

We stayed here for my husband and I's anniversary. It was a great stay with great food and a great atmosphere!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! Just Wonderful! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2017

This was our first B&B experience and it was wonderful beyond our expectations! Susan & Don are the perfect hosts making each guest feel welcomed and comfortable. The Farmers Guest House is clean, comfy and has a never empty cookie jar!! Our room was immaculate. A guest couldn't have asked for more. Susan's breakfasts were out of this world delicious and generous! If you're looking for warm hospitality, great food and a comfortable room, look no further than The Farmers Guest House! As an added bonus downtown Galena shopping and restaurants are a short walk down the street! Book it now!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Just lovely at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2017

We stayed here for a grown up weekend away. Susan and Don were great with suggestions for dining and fun. They made dinner reservations for us in advance at nearby restaurant. The homemade breakfasts were superb! The Charlotte suite was huge and right next to breakfast and the cookie jar!!

View more reviews for this inn


36th wedding anniversary getaway. at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Outstanding country Inn in Galena. The owners Slobo and Brigit are wonderful hosts and extremely attentive. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. This was our second time staying here and we will definitely be staying here again. Bob and Pat Todd

View more reviews for this inn


Galena Weekend at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on July 24, 2017

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Goldmoor. The grounds were beautiful as always. The room was spotless and the breakfast were great.. We ate at the restaurant and thought it was the best meal we have had there, as we have ate there many times.

View more reviews for this inn


Will go again! at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on July 20, 2017

We enjoyed the beautiful architecture of this building. The central sitting room is elegant. The dining area is beautiful. If you can look beyond a couple structural things - our bedroom ceiling had a water spot and was peeling in one spot - it is a lovely place. Robert Chu was helpful and friendly. Very accommodating of dietary needs for the breakfast and the substitute was so tasty and beautifully created. Be aware that there is no on site parking and so there will be a small charge to use city parking. It is free during night time hours.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Getaway at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on July 17, 2017

The Mississippi Room at the Goldmoor was the perfect place for a romantic getaway. Beautiful screened in porch with a view of the river. Quiet and private. The breakfasts were excellent as were the dinners. Owners very warm and welcoming. I highly recommend this facility.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommended for a getaway! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2017

My wife and I stayed in the Julia suite and it was delightful. The room itself was very comfortable with couch and the separate sitting area. As my wife and I are often off schedule (I'm up at 5am and she's in bed at 1am), having a space with a door was perfect for us. Susan and Don were very welcoming and full of fun and interesting stories. The food was delicious and the Wine Time was fun. Highly recommended for a getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home & great hospitality! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on July 07, 2017

Douglas & Robert ensured we had everything we needed. We are a delicious breakfast, had a clean and beautiful room & extras like stainless steel water bottles for our stay & a water bottle refilling station available 24/7. They have wine & cheese at 5 (which was delicious) and treated us as guests, rather than customers. We even got some great local recommendations!!

View more reviews for this inn


The best B and B out there! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

Susan and Don will take care of your every need to make your trip memorable

View more reviews for this inn


Secret hideaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2017

Delightful little place in the country.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a weekend getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on June 22, 2017

The value of this quaint bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations. Not far from downtown Galena and yet you feel like you are away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I would recommend staying in one of the cottages that they offer, as it allows for a more private experience. The food was great and the service was great anytime we needed anything.

View more reviews for this inn


Irish Hallow get away at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 21, 2017

Beautiful Inn and property!! and wonderful service!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2017

What a gem just outside of Galena! We stayed in the French maid's quarters, which has a comfy bed and plenty of rooms to spread out in, as well as a screened-in back porch. My food preferences were honored with some lovely dishes. Two big thumbs up.

View more reviews for this inn


Much Needed Getaway at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

JUST what we needed. Staying with Chuck & Susan is like visiting with very good friends. We felt so very comfortable and welcomed. The house was full of amazing details and extremely clean. Breakfast every morning was a delight and we loved sitting at the table ( seats up to 18 ) and conversing with the other guests. Our room was spacious ( Mrs. Huntley's ) and had great views. Sitting on the front porch with coffee was magical, the views are amazing. And we loved all of the great recommendations for restaurants and places to see that Chuck and Susan gave us. Can't wait to return in the Fall to see the leaves! Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful, relaxing holiday weekend at Aldrich at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2017

My partner and I had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend break in Galena, and a lot of our fun, relaxing time was because we stayed with Douglas and Robert at their Aldrich Guest House. The guys are excellent hosts with great eyes for detail. The room and its history was wonderful and their breakfasts! Well, you really should try spending some time there if you're ever in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Storybook Getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on June 04, 2017

Beautiful property to enjoy and explore. Outstanding service with attention to detail. 5 star dining by far. Staff accommodated for specific dietary needs. This was our first visit and we can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2017

My husband surprised me with a night away for our anniversary! We were greeted so sweetly by our hostess and offered a glass of wine. She suggested several different wonderful restaurants in the area which we could have walked to but since it was raining that night we decided to drive. The room was beautiful and the bathroom is so well done! The bed was so comfortable! The backyard is so charming! The next morning we were greeted with mimosas and so much delicious breakfast, I couldn't eat it all! Homemade chocolate chip muffins, asparagus, bacon wrapped quiche, potatoes, wonderful coffee! It's a great location too. Easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. You can leave your car there and shop all day not worrying about where to park. Overall, I would definitely recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast and would definitely be returning myself!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation at the Mont Rest at Mont Rest Inn (Bellevue, Iowa)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2017

We were on our way west to visit our son and his family, and wanted a quiet, peaceful overnight stay on our journey. The Mont Rest was perfect - beautiful, relaxing and just the best. Naomi was helpful and served a bountiful breakfast that was more than delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2017

My wife and I decided to do a Spring getaway in Galena, IL. As we are both retired we are able to travel during the week. We reviewed many B&Bs in Galena online and decided on the Farmer's Guest House. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice! Susan and Don made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until our departure three days later. The building has a long history in Galena as an Inn but has been updated with all modern amenities. We chose the Mary room for our stay. The decorating was period appropriate to Galena and was warm and comfortable. The private bathroom has a walk in shower which was great! I have to say that the best part of staying at the Farmer's Guest House is Susan's breakfasts! She is a wonderful chef who has competed on a Food Network show. Breakfast each morning was a truly delicious experience that got us ready for a day of touring and shopping! Susan and Don treat you like family. One night a storm rolled through Galena and Susan was waiting for us at the door when we arrived home after dinner to make sure that all was well! I cannot say enough good things about the Farmer's Guest House and highly recommend it! https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g36022-d284676-r486608663-Farmers_Guest_House-Galena_Illinois.html#

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, can't wait to go back at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on May 11, 2017

We stayed in the Olde Orchard cottage and couldn't have asked for a better stay. We had breakfast delivered both mornings and had dinner in the Inn Saturday night. The food is AMAZING, and plentiful. This place is expensive but worth the splurge. So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, great accommodations and wonderful hospitality. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }