Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Highly recommended for a getaway! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2017

My wife and I stayed in the Julia suite and it was delightful. The room itself was very comfortable with couch and the separate sitting area. As my wife and I are often off schedule (I'm up at 5am and she's in bed at 1am), having a space with a door was perfect for us. Susan and Don were very welcoming and full of fun and interesting stories. The food was delicious and the Wine Time was fun. Highly recommended for a getaway!

View more reviews for this inn


The best B and B out there! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2017

Susan and Don will take care of your every need to make your trip memorable

View more reviews for this inn


Secret hideaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2017

Delightful little place in the country.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place for a weekend getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

3.8 reviewed on June 22, 2017

The value of this quaint bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations. Not far from downtown Galena and yet you feel like you are away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I would recommend staying in one of the cottages that they offer, as it allows for a more private experience. The food was great and the service was great anytime we needed anything.

View more reviews for this inn


Irish Hallow get away at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 21, 2017

Beautiful Inn and property!! and wonderful service!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Getaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2017

What a gem just outside of Galena! We stayed in the French maid's quarters, which has a comfy bed and plenty of rooms to spread out in, as well as a screened-in back porch. My food preferences were honored with some lovely dishes. Two big thumbs up.

View more reviews for this inn


Much Needed Getaway at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

JUST what we needed. Staying with Chuck & Susan is like visiting with very good friends. We felt so very comfortable and welcomed. The house was full of amazing details and extremely clean. Breakfast every morning was a delight and we loved sitting at the table ( seats up to 18 ) and conversing with the other guests. Our room was spacious ( Mrs. Huntley's ) and had great views. Sitting on the front porch with coffee was magical, the views are amazing. And we loved all of the great recommendations for restaurants and places to see that Chuck and Susan gave us. Can't wait to return in the Fall to see the leaves! Thanks so much!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful, relaxing holiday weekend at Aldrich at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 05, 2017

My partner and I had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend break in Galena, and a lot of our fun, relaxing time was because we stayed with Douglas and Robert at their Aldrich Guest House. The guys are excellent hosts with great eyes for detail. The room and its history was wonderful and their breakfasts! Well, you really should try spending some time there if you're ever in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Storybook Getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on June 04, 2017

Beautiful property to enjoy and explore. Outstanding service with attention to detail. 5 star dining by far. Staff accommodated for specific dietary needs. This was our first visit and we can't wait to come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation at the Mont Rest at Mont Rest Inn (Bellevue, Iowa)

5 reviewed on May 24, 2017

We were on our way west to visit our son and his family, and wanted a quiet, peaceful overnight stay on our journey. The Mont Rest was perfect - beautiful, relaxing and just the best. Naomi was helpful and served a bountiful breakfast that was more than delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2017

My wife and I decided to do a Spring getaway in Galena, IL. As we are both retired we are able to travel during the week. We reviewed many B&Bs in Galena online and decided on the Farmer's Guest House. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice! Susan and Don made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until our departure three days later. The building has a long history in Galena as an Inn but has been updated with all modern amenities. We chose the Mary room for our stay. The decorating was period appropriate to Galena and was warm and comfortable. The private bathroom has a walk in shower which was great! I have to say that the best part of staying at the Farmer's Guest House is Susan's breakfasts! She is a wonderful chef who has competed on a Food Network show. Breakfast each morning was a truly delicious experience that got us ready for a day of touring and shopping! Susan and Don treat you like family. One night a storm rolled through Galena and Susan was waiting for us at the door when we arrived home after dinner to make sure that all was well! I cannot say enough good things about the Farmer's Guest House and highly recommend it! https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g36022-d284676-r486608663-Farmers_Guest_House-Galena_Illinois.html#

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, can't wait to go back at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on May 11, 2017

We stayed in the Olde Orchard cottage and couldn't have asked for a better stay. We had breakfast delivered both mornings and had dinner in the Inn Saturday night. The food is AMAZING, and plentiful. This place is expensive but worth the splurge. So peaceful, beautiful surroundings, great accommodations and wonderful hospitality. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Love this place. at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2017

Found the Redstone on the AARP website. Worried because we had never stayed in a B&B and wondered if the room would be too small and cramped. Turns out our room was wonderful...spotless, bright, spacious, and beautifully furnished. Great bathroom. Our host, Robert, was quirky but endearing. Great fun visiting with him, adding to the experience. If you are looking for faults you can find them. If you want a great place to stay that is a real experience stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Weekend at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2017

We just stayed over the weekend and had the "Julia" suite. Our stay was perfect. Very friendly owners and staff. Outstanding breakfast. Comfy/cozy bed. Would highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B with a few key bonuses at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on April 27, 2017

This a charming and well kept place, consistent with other high quality B&B's. But here you get a super friendly staff, top quality meals (breakfast and dinner), and a large outdoor area to explore with a few miles of trails.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on April 24, 2017

Our visit to Irish Hallow was perfect! The accommodations are lovely, the food is amazing, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful! We have stayed here many times. Our visits have all exceeded our expectations!

View more reviews for this inn


Return visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

We stayed here again last weekend, the 3rd time for my husband and I. I have also stayed here for three quilting retreats and am looking forward to the fourth in November. Every visit has been perfect - beautiful rooms (both bedrooms and common rooms), fabulous breakfasts, nice wine time in the evening, and good location to downtown Galena. The owners, Susan and Don, make you feel like old friends the minute you walk in the door. They are very helpful with anything you need or want, like reservations to restaurants or any other activity. Don carries your bags upstairs and Susan prepares those fabulous breakfasts. There is always coffee ready, a bottomless cookie jar, water in the fridge and much good, just plain old-fashioned, hospitality! It is the only B&B we'll stay at in Galena!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway spot in Galena at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2017

Everything about Farmers Guest House is outstanding. I can't say enough about what a good time we had. From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. Susan and Don are wonderful, warm people. We were treated to a bottle of wine upon check-in and our room was spotless and so comfortable. Every detail was taken care of. Breakfast was delicious, as befitting an award-winner. As an added bonus, we got to attend one of Susan's last Breakfast Diva cooking classes, and it was huge fun. In fact, the only thing that was not absolutely perfect was that the top of the souvenir mug I bought at the B&B is too small to fit my pour-over filter! We will absolutely stay here again when we return to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay. at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

We spent the weekend there last month. Michelle is a great host and gave us some background on Galena and places to visit while we were there.The food she prepared for our breakfast was delicious. We will be going back again at the end of the summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Irish Hollow is a dreamy place at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2017

This was our first time at Irish Hollow and I would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway. It is a beautiful, magical place. Jennifer helped make our stay extra special. The Gardener's Cottage was dreamy and completely exceeded our expectations. The food was fresh, beautifully plated and absolutely wonderful. The baked goods were all homemade. My husband and I took a hike after a fresh snowfall and discovered many beautiful places on the land. They have thought of everything here. Quite simply, Irish Hollow exceeded our expectations in every way.

View more reviews for this inn


An escape from the fast pace at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2017

Such a surprising and wonderful find! Very relaxing, quite, excellent food, great customer service!

View more reviews for this inn


Cute cottage, beautiful location. at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

3.4 reviewed on March 23, 2017

We stayed in the Stonewood cottage in March. It is a cute little cottage. I would have liked to see it be a little bit cleaner. I droped something on the floor by the bed and underneath the bed it was very dirty. The floor felt dirty also if you walked barefoot. The sink by the microwave was cracked. That gives the impression that the owner does not keep up the property. That is too bad because it has real potential. The food that arrived in our cottage for dinner was delicious, but barely warm. Maybe March is just not a good time to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday getaway for the wife at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on March 23, 2017

Can't say enough about this place, super relaxing, food is off the charts and the people are great. Took my wife on a two night getaway for her birthday and we will be back for more in the near future. Good way to disconnect and relax!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2017

Susan and Don were very accommodating, helpful and gracious. The Charlotte suite was wonderful. The food was great. It is close enough to downtown that you can walk to stores and restaurants. Very relaxing atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Accomodating stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2017

Susan and Don welcomed us into their beautiful, historical Bed and Breakfast. Delicious breakfasts, always-available homemade cookies, always-available beverages, evening wine & cheese gathering, clean rooms each with modern bathrooms, great tourism and dinner recommendations---all these things provided my husband and I with a relaxing stay. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House, a very accommodating bed and breakfast close to downtown Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Quilters Retreat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Our retreat was so much more than I expected. Every need imaginable was taken care of by Don and Susan. The rooms were unique and beautifully decorated. A delicious, gourmet breakfast was served everyday. The work space for each quilter was more than enough. But most importantly you felt both like an honored quest and family member at the same time. 5++++ stars

View more reviews for this inn


First time at Framers Guest House at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on February 22, 2017

This was the first time staying at a bed and breakfast for my Fiance and I. We stayed for two nights. When we walked in it was warm and inviting. Our room was, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed in the evening, a wine and cheese time with the owners and other guest. Its very quiet at night, which is prefect. The breakfast, was all homemade and delicious. The cookies are amazing. We had a couples massage that we would highly recommend. It was a quite little get away for us both and we will defiantly be back. Werner and Toni

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we were looking for at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We recently stayed at The Farmers Guest House,looking for a nice B&B to stay while visiting Galena,well it exceeded our expectations.The outside has the old farmhouse charm we were going for.The rooms were perfectly decorated,but not to much furniture,where you can't move around in.Much more than I ever thought for a B&B.The staff was warm and inviting,and knowledgable about the area,giving us ideas for the day.Breakfast was amazing,and enough to fill up my husband.Over 5+ stars.Can't wait to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Galena Get Away at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

We stayed at the Lamberson Guest House the last week in December and had a wonderful time! The inn has been completely remodeled, and it looks amazing. The food was delicious (don't skip the 5pm wine reception), the hosts were gracious and the location was the icing on the cake. We were able to walk right down to the main drag in Galena. We'll be back and we highly recommend the inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful two-day visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 11, 2016

My daughters and I had a memorable stay at the Farmers Guest House. The owners, Don and Susan, were very warm and welcoming, and the home was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. Susan is definitely a "Breakfast Diva." Her breakfasts were delicious and nutritious. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }