Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Relaxing and Accomodating stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2017

Susan and Don welcomed us into their beautiful, historical Bed and Breakfast. Delicious breakfasts, always-available homemade cookies, always-available beverages, evening wine & cheese gathering, clean rooms each with modern bathrooms, great tourism and dinner recommendations---all these things provided my husband and I with a relaxing stay. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House, a very accommodating bed and breakfast close to downtown Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Quilters Retreat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Our retreat was so much more than I expected. Every need imaginable was taken care of by Don and Susan. The rooms were unique and beautifully decorated. A delicious, gourmet breakfast was served everyday. The work space for each quilter was more than enough. But most importantly you felt both like an honored quest and family member at the same time. 5++++ stars

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful, Charming and Historic B & B at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This was our second stay at Bernadine's Stillman Inn and it definitely measured up to our wonderful memories of our first stay. Our room was cozy with it's own fireplace on a chilly February weekend and our hosts, Dave & Bernadine, were warm, friendly and interesting. Bernadine is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious. Dave treats his guests like they're all family. He is very knowledgeable of the history of the inn as well as Galena itself. We felt at home at the Stillman Inn and will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we were looking for at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We recently stayed at The Farmers Guest House,looking for a nice B&B to stay while visiting Galena,well it exceeded our expectations.The outside has the old farmhouse charm we were going for.The rooms were perfectly decorated,but not to much furniture,where you can't move around in.Much more than I ever thought for a B&B.The staff was warm and inviting,and knowledgable about the area,giving us ideas for the day.Breakfast was amazing,and enough to fill up my husband.Over 5+ stars.Can't wait to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Galena Get Away at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

We stayed at the Lamberson Guest House the last week in December and had a wonderful time! The inn has been completely remodeled, and it looks amazing. The food was delicious (don't skip the 5pm wine reception), the hosts were gracious and the location was the icing on the cake. We were able to walk right down to the main drag in Galena. We'll be back and we highly recommend the inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful two-day visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 11, 2016

My daughters and I had a memorable stay at the Farmers Guest House. The owners, Don and Susan, were very warm and welcoming, and the home was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. Susan is definitely a "Breakfast Diva." Her breakfasts were delicious and nutritious. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and comfortable B & B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2016

Douglas and Robert provided the perfect getaway for us in Galena. My husband and I enjoyed the beautifully renovated historic home, the elegant holiday decorations, the comfortable room and the delicious breakfast. I would definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B & B at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 28, 2016

I've been to Galena a few times and this has by far been the best place we've stayed. From this point on, this is where we'll stay each time we know we want to visit Galena. Susan and Don are the nicest people. They made sure we had everything we needed. Very accommodating. The room was better than I was expecting. Very comfortable atmosphere. I felt at home at this place. We loved everything about it. Absolutely NO complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Geraway at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We arrived Friday night and were greeted with a tour of the historic Aldrich Guest House. Our bags were taken to our room and we were given a few tips about local places to visit. We stayed until Sunday at 11am. Breakfast Saturday and Sunday were amazing (dough babies and pumpkin baked french toast). The house was immaculate and the hosts were sweet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed and Breakfast close to downtown at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Recently stayed at Farmers Guest House and was amazed with how cozy and comfy the room was (we stayed in the Aimee room). Breakfast was delicious and served with fresh, local coffee. Staff were very friendly and warm welcoming. Wine time was also a nice added bonus! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Bed and Breakfast¿¿ at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2016

My husband and I loved our three days at the FGH in Galena. We were in the romantic and large Julia Room. Each morning we were treated to the best breakfasts we have ever had prepared by the Breakfast Diva herself. Each evening at 5:00 we met with other guests for wWine Time before departing for amazing dinners on Main Street in Galena. Do yourself a delightful favor: book a stay at Farmers Guest House and enjoy life's delights for a couple days.

View more reviews for this inn


Bernadine's is Awesome!! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2016

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days at Bernadine's and it was well worth the stay. Dave is a gentleman and a scholar. Went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met. My girlfriend and I had been apart for a few years and reconnected at Bernadine's! An engagement is forthcoming. I would definitely recommend Bernadine's to family and friends. Very clean, great decor, awesome rooms, great breakfasts and extremely comfortable. My soon to be fiance' and I will definitely be returning to Bernadine's in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2016

Absolutely loved the Farmers Guest House. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were completely thrilled with our choice. Susan and Don were wonderful hosts. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The breakfast was delicious. They could not have been more hospitable.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stopover during a short stay at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

3.8 reviewed on October 28, 2016

We were able to stay for just the one night, but it was clean and comfortable - a very good place for a getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Treated like kings and queens at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2016

From the crown and tiara in the room (literally) to the amazing service at breakfast we were treated like royalty. Dave is passionate about making sure all your needs are met. He helped us book a table to ensure we saw the Cubs play st a local bar and gave us good options for things to do the next day. Rooms are clean. Breakfast was excellent. We would absolutely go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly Retreat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2016

Could not have found a better place to stay in the Galena area. The proprietors were friendly and when I confirmed my reservation the first thing they wanted to know was what I liked for breakfast. They went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. The rooms were beautiful and very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2016

My recent stay at Farmers Guest House was a delightful experience. Don and Susan treated me like family and catered to my every need! The breakfast was superb and wine and cheese time was such a nice touch to relax at the end of the day. It is close to town so you can walk anywhere you might want to go in this quaint town of Galena. I look forward to my next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic!! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2016

Fiancé and I decided to stay at Aldrich for a short weeknight stay and couldn't be happier. From the time we were greeted at the door to the time we were helped back to the car, Robert and Douglas were the warmest, friendliest, and most sincere hosts we've ever met. Everything was perfect from the historic house, to the room, to the breakfast (ham and cheese Dutch baby with scones and locally butchered sausage). They have a lifelong customer in us for our future visits.

View more reviews for this inn


Get away weekend with family at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2016

This inn is a must stay in Galena. The room, the food, Don and Susan, wine hour, just a short walk to down town, and cold Diet Pepsi for me the Pepsi addict. You will miss something great if you don't stay here,

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B in a small town at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on September 22, 2016

My wife chose the Farmer's Guest House for an anniversary getaway. Booking via the internet was easy. About a week prior to our arrival we received a reminder email with some helpful hints, especially about the restaurants that they recommend and those that require reservations. Susan and Don greeted us upon our arrival and Don showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the building. We stayed in the Mary room, it was a bit small, but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with nice toiletries and soft Turkish towels. There were excellent instructions for using the TV and DVR on laminated cards. In the hallway there was a vast library of DVDs. In the dining room the next day's breakfast was posted and there were also homemade cookies in the cookie jar and soft drinks in the refrigerator. Each evening at 5:00 pm wine and cheese were served in the dining room. Susan and Don made sure that all guests had their dinner plans in order and gave their recommendations for the many attractions in town. Breakfasts each morning of our stay were great. Good coffee, juice, tea, and hot chocolate were serve yourself. Our first breakfast was fresh fruit, pumpkin pancakes, sausage,and lemon poppyseed scones. The next day we were treated to fresh fruit, croissants with ham, scrambled eggs, and cheese, and apple cinnamon muffins. Charles provided great service each morning. Susan and Don were great hosts and went to a lot of effort to see that all of the guests had an enjoyable stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable stay! at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on September 16, 2016

Overall, we loved our stay at the Solon Langworthy house. We stayed in the downstairs room. Awesome tub. Other reviews are right about the small toilet area, but it was fine for my partner and I. We ended up checking in a little late -- the owners were accommodating. The only thing that could improve was the kitchen situation. Breakfast was fine, but there were no instructions on what to do with the dirty dishes. There was a scrub brush in the sink, but no soap. I would have appreciated a sign saying whether to leave the dishes on the table, put them in the sink, or put them in the dishwasher.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 14, 2016

We loved the Farmers Guest House. Our room was beautiful. Everyone treated us very nicely. We had wine in the evening and our breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Charming with modern day amenities that made the stay very pleasurable, comfortable and satisfying. Yummy breakfast every morning, fresh coffee, a bottomless cookie jar, wine time with delicious snacks and Optional "extras" available to personalize your experience .... Loved the location! We took advantage of the massage service which was exceptional as well. We will be back !

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely weekend stay! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

Farmer's guesthouse definitely lives up to it's Top Ten rating! From the beautiful period details to the gourmet breakfast, they make sure their guests are well taken care of. Susan and Don take pride in their lovely Inn, and it shows. We stayed in the Aimee room, which was spacious yet cozy. And we loved 5o'clock Wine Time! Can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Galena getaway. at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

Excellent bed and breakfast. Location was easy to find upon arrival and plenty of parking. Our room was very nice and the onsite dining was terrific.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Trip at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

A Very enjoyable and cozy country like setting. A Scrumptious breakfast!! Susan and Don are very gracious innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Dubuque weekend at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Great two days. Most comfortable and relaxing stay we have had in a long time. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a good time.

View more reviews for this inn


Great view at Mont Rest Inn (Bellevue, Iowa)

4.4 reviewed on August 10, 2016

Kitchen privileges was unexpected

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

We had the great pleasure to stay at Farmers Guest House in Galena, Illinois last week. It was truly a welcome respite from the daily grind of the work week. Susan and Don were the most welcoming hosts and treated us to a relaxing stay in their lovely inn. Within the first few minutes, we felt as though we had known them for years, as they graciously chatted with us about our upcoming stay. Extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding restaurants, attractions, and amenities, they took it upon themselves to make sure we had a great experience. We would be remiss if we did not mention the scrumptious breakfasts that awaited us each morning...from egg casseroles, to caramel apple pancakes, to farm fresh scrambled eggs, each meal was a culinary delight. The cinnamon rolls, berry coffee cake, and french toast (a special request from my husband) were to-die-for. It is clear that they are passionate about treating each guest to a visit they will remember for years. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House and most assuredly would not hesitate to return for another wonderful vacation stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Can not thank Susan and Don enough. We showed up hours before check to get our day started and walked in to find Don at the desk all smiles and ready to help. Gave us all sorts of great tips, and made our dinner reservation. Walked around town for a few hours but of course made it back for wine time. More then generous pours and great conversation. The room the Jennie was perfect for us, we knew we were going to spend more time out and about then in our room but the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave! Would go back for sure and would highly recommend. I know I will be back since I forgot a cookie on my way out. Oh and how could I forget breakfast, amazing is an understatement!! Thank you again Don and Susan.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}