Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Very nice B&B with a few key bonuses at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on April 27, 2017

This a charming and well kept place, consistent with other high quality B&B's. But here you get a super friendly staff, top quality meals (breakfast and dinner), and a large outdoor area to explore with a few miles of trails.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on April 24, 2017

Our visit to Irish Hallow was perfect! The accommodations are lovely, the food is amazing, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay wonderful! We have stayed here many times. Our visits have all exceeded our expectations!

View more reviews for this inn


Return visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

We stayed here again last weekend, the 3rd time for my husband and I. I have also stayed here for three quilting retreats and am looking forward to the fourth in November. Every visit has been perfect - beautiful rooms (both bedrooms and common rooms), fabulous breakfasts, nice wine time in the evening, and good location to downtown Galena. The owners, Susan and Don, make you feel like old friends the minute you walk in the door. They are very helpful with anything you need or want, like reservations to restaurants or any other activity. Don carries your bags upstairs and Susan prepares those fabulous breakfasts. There is always coffee ready, a bottomless cookie jar, water in the fridge and much good, just plain old-fashioned, hospitality! It is the only B&B we'll stay at in Galena!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway spot in Galena at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 19, 2017

Everything about Farmers Guest House is outstanding. I can't say enough about what a good time we had. From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. Susan and Don are wonderful, warm people. We were treated to a bottle of wine upon check-in and our room was spotless and so comfortable. Every detail was taken care of. Breakfast was delicious, as befitting an award-winner. As an added bonus, we got to attend one of Susan's last Breakfast Diva cooking classes, and it was huge fun. In fact, the only thing that was not absolutely perfect was that the top of the souvenir mug I bought at the B&B is too small to fit my pour-over filter! We will absolutely stay here again when we return to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay. at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

We spent the weekend there last month. Michelle is a great host and gave us some background on Galena and places to visit while we were there.The food she prepared for our breakfast was delicious. We will be going back again at the end of the summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend stay! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on April 10, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Stillman this past weekend and had a great time. We were warmly greeted and introduced to our accommodations by David who is go eager to ensure your stay is as good as he can make it. He offered to assist with contacting restaurants if we needed.The room was very comfortable and clean. We spent some time in the evenings relaxing and reading in the parlor. The breakfast were great with a nice selection available. We left our car at the inn and walked downtown. While the street is a little steep it was not overwhelming and it is a nice walk. We will surely consider visited the Stillman again.

View more reviews for this inn


Irish Hollow is a dreamy place at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 29, 2017

This was our first time at Irish Hollow and I would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway. It is a beautiful, magical place. Jennifer helped make our stay extra special. The Gardener's Cottage was dreamy and completely exceeded our expectations. The food was fresh, beautifully plated and absolutely wonderful. The baked goods were all homemade. My husband and I took a hike after a fresh snowfall and discovered many beautiful places on the land. They have thought of everything here. Quite simply, Irish Hollow exceeded our expectations in every way.

View more reviews for this inn


An escape from the fast pace at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 26, 2017

Such a surprising and wonderful find! Very relaxing, quite, excellent food, great customer service!

View more reviews for this inn


Cute cottage, beautiful location. at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

3.4 reviewed on March 23, 2017

We stayed in the Stonewood cottage in March. It is a cute little cottage. I would have liked to see it be a little bit cleaner. I droped something on the floor by the bed and underneath the bed it was very dirty. The floor felt dirty also if you walked barefoot. The sink by the microwave was cracked. That gives the impression that the owner does not keep up the property. That is too bad because it has real potential. The food that arrived in our cottage for dinner was delicious, but barely warm. Maybe March is just not a good time to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday getaway for the wife at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on March 23, 2017

Can't say enough about this place, super relaxing, food is off the charts and the people are great. Took my wife on a two night getaway for her birthday and we will be back for more in the near future. Good way to disconnect and relax!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 20, 2017

Susan and Don were very accommodating, helpful and gracious. The Charlotte suite was wonderful. The food was great. It is close enough to downtown that you can walk to stores and restaurants. Very relaxing atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Accomodating stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 05, 2017

Susan and Don welcomed us into their beautiful, historical Bed and Breakfast. Delicious breakfasts, always-available homemade cookies, always-available beverages, evening wine & cheese gathering, clean rooms each with modern bathrooms, great tourism and dinner recommendations---all these things provided my husband and I with a relaxing stay. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House, a very accommodating bed and breakfast close to downtown Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Quilters Retreat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

Our retreat was so much more than I expected. Every need imaginable was taken care of by Don and Susan. The rooms were unique and beautifully decorated. A delicious, gourmet breakfast was served everyday. The work space for each quilter was more than enough. But most importantly you felt both like an honored quest and family member at the same time. 5++++ stars

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful, Charming and Historic B & B at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2017

This was our second stay at Bernadine's Stillman Inn and it definitely measured up to our wonderful memories of our first stay. Our room was cozy with it's own fireplace on a chilly February weekend and our hosts, Dave & Bernadine, were warm, friendly and interesting. Bernadine is a great cook and the breakfasts were delicious. Dave treats his guests like they're all family. He is very knowledgeable of the history of the inn as well as Galena itself. We felt at home at the Stillman Inn and will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


First time at Framers Guest House at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on February 22, 2017

This was the first time staying at a bed and breakfast for my Fiance and I. We stayed for two nights. When we walked in it was warm and inviting. Our room was, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed in the evening, a wine and cheese time with the owners and other guest. Its very quiet at night, which is prefect. The breakfast, was all homemade and delicious. The cookies are amazing. We had a couples massage that we would highly recommend. It was a quite little get away for us both and we will defiantly be back. Werner and Toni

View more reviews for this inn


Just what we were looking for at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 31, 2017

We recently stayed at The Farmers Guest House,looking for a nice B&B to stay while visiting Galena,well it exceeded our expectations.The outside has the old farmhouse charm we were going for.The rooms were perfectly decorated,but not to much furniture,where you can't move around in.Much more than I ever thought for a B&B.The staff was warm and inviting,and knowledgable about the area,giving us ideas for the day.Breakfast was amazing,and enough to fill up my husband.Over 5+ stars.Can't wait to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Galena Get Away at Lamberson Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 16, 2017

We stayed at the Lamberson Guest House the last week in December and had a wonderful time! The inn has been completely remodeled, and it looks amazing. The food was delicious (don't skip the 5pm wine reception), the hosts were gracious and the location was the icing on the cake. We were able to walk right down to the main drag in Galena. We'll be back and we highly recommend the inn to others!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful two-day visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 11, 2016

My daughters and I had a memorable stay at the Farmers Guest House. The owners, Don and Susan, were very warm and welcoming, and the home was beautifully decorated for the Christmas holiday. Susan is definitely a "Breakfast Diva." Her breakfasts were delicious and nutritious. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy and comfortable B & B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2016

Douglas and Robert provided the perfect getaway for us in Galena. My husband and I enjoyed the beautifully renovated historic home, the elegant holiday decorations, the comfortable room and the delicious breakfast. I would definitely go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B & B at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 28, 2016

I've been to Galena a few times and this has by far been the best place we've stayed. From this point on, this is where we'll stay each time we know we want to visit Galena. Susan and Don are the nicest people. They made sure we had everything we needed. Very accommodating. The room was better than I was expecting. Very comfortable atmosphere. I felt at home at this place. We loved everything about it. Absolutely NO complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Geraway at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2016

We arrived Friday night and were greeted with a tour of the historic Aldrich Guest House. Our bags were taken to our room and we were given a few tips about local places to visit. We stayed until Sunday at 11am. Breakfast Saturday and Sunday were amazing (dough babies and pumpkin baked french toast). The house was immaculate and the hosts were sweet. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed and Breakfast close to downtown at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Recently stayed at Farmers Guest House and was amazed with how cozy and comfy the room was (we stayed in the Aimee room). Breakfast was delicious and served with fresh, local coffee. Staff were very friendly and warm welcoming. Wine time was also a nice added bonus! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Bed and Breakfast¿¿ at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2016

My husband and I loved our three days at the FGH in Galena. We were in the romantic and large Julia Room. Each morning we were treated to the best breakfasts we have ever had prepared by the Breakfast Diva herself. Each evening at 5:00 we met with other guests for wWine Time before departing for amazing dinners on Main Street in Galena. Do yourself a delightful favor: book a stay at Farmers Guest House and enjoy life's delights for a couple days.

View more reviews for this inn


Bernadine's is Awesome!! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2016

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days at Bernadine's and it was well worth the stay. Dave is a gentleman and a scholar. Went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met. My girlfriend and I had been apart for a few years and reconnected at Bernadine's! An engagement is forthcoming. I would definitely recommend Bernadine's to family and friends. Very clean, great decor, awesome rooms, great breakfasts and extremely comfortable. My soon to be fiance' and I will definitely be returning to Bernadine's in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Getaway!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 30, 2016

Absolutely loved the Farmers Guest House. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and were completely thrilled with our choice. Susan and Don were wonderful hosts. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The breakfast was delicious. They could not have been more hospitable.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice stopover during a short stay at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

3.8 reviewed on October 28, 2016

We were able to stay for just the one night, but it was clean and comfortable - a very good place for a getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Treated like kings and queens at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 27, 2016

From the crown and tiara in the room (literally) to the amazing service at breakfast we were treated like royalty. Dave is passionate about making sure all your needs are met. He helped us book a table to ensure we saw the Cubs play st a local bar and gave us good options for things to do the next day. Rooms are clean. Breakfast was excellent. We would absolutely go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Friendly Retreat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2016

Could not have found a better place to stay in the Galena area. The proprietors were friendly and when I confirmed my reservation the first thing they wanted to know was what I liked for breakfast. They went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible. The rooms were beautiful and very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2016

My recent stay at Farmers Guest House was a delightful experience. Don and Susan treated me like family and catered to my every need! The breakfast was superb and wine and cheese time was such a nice touch to relax at the end of the day. It is close to town so you can walk anywhere you might want to go in this quaint town of Galena. I look forward to my next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic!! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 17, 2016

Fiancé and I decided to stay at Aldrich for a short weeknight stay and couldn't be happier. From the time we were greeted at the door to the time we were helped back to the car, Robert and Douglas were the warmest, friendliest, and most sincere hosts we've ever met. Everything was perfect from the historic house, to the room, to the breakfast (ham and cheese Dutch baby with scones and locally butchered sausage). They have a lifelong customer in us for our future visits.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}