Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

A wonderful getaway but.. at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on May 15, 2018

We had a lovely stay in one of the cottages, which are cozy and indulgent. Perfect for a romantic escape from the world! My only disappointment was in some cleaning issues. We had to wash our wine glasses on arrival to drink the champagne and then again the next day to enjoy a bottle of wine. Luckily they provide dish soap. The floors did not feel clean and there was soap scum in the tub. This would not prevent me from recommending the inn or my returning for another stay.

View more reviews for this inn


What a hidden gem! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on April 26, 2018

This secluded gem is worth the splurge. The gourmet breakfast and 7 course dinner helps justify the cost. The rooms are beautifully decorated, tasteful and intimate. We didn’t have a need for a whole house or large space so Suite 1 was perfect size and setup. My only disappointment was the cleanliness of the floors. It clearly had not been vacuumed and for their price point and immaculate setup of everything else I’m hoping it was just an oversight. The little personal touches were perfect. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


A gem at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2018

Inn at Irish Hollow’s is a gem, we had such a lovely time. The food was exceptional, the staff so kind, sweet, and informative. We loved our experience so much the night we came home, we booked a cottage again in November!

View more reviews for this inn


Best weekend at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2018

Went here for my wife's birthday weekend get away and it was awesome. Great people , great food, great experience. Would recommend to anyone and we are definitely coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


An amazing experience! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2018

The Inn had been recommended to us by friends so we expected it to be nice but it exceeded any expectations we had! Friendly, fun, relaxed and set in a gorgeous setting. We loved that we had our own cottage and the attention to detail that is paid to all elements of the inn. What truly takes the Inn at Irish Hollow to a new level is the food. This is a fine dining experience brought to a bed and breakfast level like we have never seen. Thoughtful composed dishes that are delicious! This is truly a magical place.

View more reviews for this inn


Almost perfect at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on April 12, 2018

Our stay was almost perfect in all respects save for two things, one minor, and one major. The minor issue was that the half and half containers in the room refrigerator were long expired. We initially thought the off-flavor of our coffee was due to the water. The next day we used bottled water. No improvement. I then noticed the dates on the containers. The major issue was that there was an overpowering odor of mold we came to suspect on the second day that it was centered in the recently rehabilitated bathroom and spread by the ventilation system. We left the system off and depended on the fireplace for heat. We reported the above to the innkeeper and they were very dismayed. I'm certain they will address both issues. Notwithstanding, we will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Tranquil getaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on April 05, 2018

Wonderful cottages to stay in complete w/fireplace, champagne and chocolates. No tv - just music of your choice. Great location in the countryside of Galena

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2018

Loved every bit of our time there! Nice quiet weekend with excellent food! Great people and atmosphere! Planning on coming many times over!

View more reviews for this inn


Put this on your bucket list at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 31, 2018

I can’t say enough about this cottage. The food was better than a 5 star resort.. the amount of food is unbelievable. The 7 course dinner was beyond exceptional and delicious. They don’t miss one detail, and they add details to the fine details. They have everything you could imagine and more. I can’t wsit to go back for Christmas. Truly the most peaceful place.

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of paradise! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2018

My wife and I had an amazing time in the French maid cottage! Sat by the fire and relaxed from a hectic busy life. Wished we could have stayed like that forever. Beautiful rolling hills surround the property and Galena IL is a short drive away. The food was superb! The staff was extremely nice and took care of our every request. We love Irish Hallow and will be returning soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect romantic getaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on March 13, 2018

We stayed in the French Maid's Cottage, which was full of charm and cozy décor including a two sided fireplace with a stash of wood for the burning. The dinner that was provided was definitely top drawer. I can imagine this place as a wonderful retreat year round with hiking trails for all seasons. I wish we could have stayed longer!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience! at Four Mounds Inn & Conference Center (Dubuque, IA)

4.8 reviewed on March 06, 2018

A group of friends and relatives stayed at the White House this past weekend for a slumber party/baby shower and it was absolutely wonderful! The house was clean, beautiful and was large enough to accommodate us comfortably-not to mention the view of the Mississippi! It was a great weekend and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice weekend getaway! -Sophie S.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect romantic getaway at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on March 01, 2018

The furnishings and amenities are just wonderful. We stayed in the French Maid's Cottage and it was quaint and yet luxurious. Well worth the expense for a secluded getaway with a fireplace and room service and a whirlpool bath for two. Classy.

View more reviews for this inn


Irish Hollow at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on February 22, 2018

Great place, would recommend it to anybody. Thx again

View more reviews for this inn


So Relaxing! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on February 07, 2018

It was amazing! So peaceful and relaxing with wonderful service. It was a little farther from downtown Galena than we expected, but otherwise perfect weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2018

Really enjoyed the stay here - especially the delivery of breakfast & a snack to the cottage we were in. Food was awesome & people were wonderful!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury Hidden Gem – A New Tradition Begins.. at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2018

Irish Hollow has it all, exceeded every expectation imaginable. At first we did not know what to expect driving 2 mile on a dirt road off the main highway. Once we arrived, it was obvious that we have located something truly special and charming. Our cottage was amazingly comfortable and decorated with everything we needed for an extraordinary stay. I can’t say enough about the quality of the food, ingredients, and presentation, it’s all top notch. The staff are wonderful, they really go out there way to make sure your stay is amazing in every way. The 500 acres looked so beautiful covered with snow during the winter months but we are looking forward to seeing the grounds during the summer and fall season as well. I highly recommend this place for a romantic get-a-way, you would not be disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Unbeatable at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on February 03, 2018

Treat yourself & your significant other to a wonderfully indulgent getaway....you'll never forget it!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on January 30, 2018

Would absolutely recommend the Inn at Irish Hollow to friends and family. The food was incredible and the team was outstanding. Louis and his wife were so friendly, the definition of hospitality. We will be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely amazing weekend getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2018

Took my girlfriend here for a weekend getaway to celebrate her birthday and it was absolutely amazing! The room was incredible, the staff was so welcoming, the food was delicious and the entire experience was relaxing and wonderful. They met all of our needs and willingly made accommodations to allergy/food restrictions. Overall it was just amazing and we can’t wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful pampered stay at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 20, 2018

We spent two nights in the olde orchard cottage Beside a warm fire and beautiful surroundings. Gourmet breakfast was served in our room each morning and our seven course dinner in the Inn was outstanding. We had temperatures in the zero range but were toasty warm in the cottage. Plenty of firewood is supplied for the gorgeous fireplace and we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and box of gourmet candy’s. The grounds are beautiful and the hiking trail right outside the door leads you through the back woods. The cottage is spacious and was decorated for the holidays in every corner and cranny. The bed and sheets were heavenly and the service was impeccable

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience in a wonderful setting at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.2 reviewed on January 13, 2018

My wife and I always try to spend a couple of days away during the Christmas season. We chose Galena, IL as our destination and the Inn at Irish Hollow because of an article my wife remembered reading a couple years ago. The Inn lived up to it’s billing. It is a uniquely beautiful Inn that is located in a rural setting that is just as beautiful. Candlelight dinner in our cottage the evening we arrived was more than I expected as was breakfast which was served in the main inn the next morning (we could have had breakfast brought to our cottage as well). The Inn was very accommodating to ensure that we enjoyed the meals we were served and the portions were enormous. The French maid’s cottage was well kept and meticulously decorated - meeting our standards for comfort and expectations of old world Victorian charm. Both the quiet Christmas music and The fireplace being ready to light we’re nice surprises when we walked into our cottage. The experience at the inn at Irish hollow was very serene and added joy to our Christmas this year.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Favorite Getaway! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2018

This was our third trip to Irish Hollow and every one is better than the last. We look forward to the visit weeks before it happens. Everyone has become like family and we've never stayed anywhere that is as attentive to your needs as they are here. The food is utterly remarkable with breakfast delivered every morning to your cottage. The presentation is beautiful and the fare is delicious. When it comes to erasing the stresses of life, this is our first choice to refresh you, heart and soul. You will reluctantly leave feeling like a new person. Tony and Bill have literally thought of everything and for that reason, we're already talking about our next trip. We love the Hollow!

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic getaway with all the frills at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on January 02, 2018

Incredible property in an incredible setting. We visited the week after Christmas and walked into our cottage with the Christmas trees lit, Christmas music playing, and the fireplace ready to be lit. The cottage was restored to it’s original charm with modern updates and beautifully decorated. Candlelight Dinner in our cottage the evening we arrived was fantastic as was breakfast in the main inn the following morning. The hospitality of the staff was tremendous. The freshly snow covered farmland added to ambiance, but I am sure the charm of Irish hollow is incredible year round. Thanks for a much needed getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Sanctuary at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 01, 2018

From the moment we set foot on the grounds we were treated like royalty. Several wonderful thought out touches that made our time spent there very special. The cottage was immaculately kept. Beautiful high end decor throughout . The cuisine were incredible multi course meals that weren’t only beautiful but delicious. Been to several bed and breakfasts in the past, but this one offered privacy with all the finishing touches to make the getaway special and unique. Can’t wait to return. -kristin S.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Irish Hollow is in a class by itself! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 28, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Inn at Irish Hollow to celebrate our anniversary. The time was truly magical, thanks to the innkeeper and staff paying attention to every little detail. Our food was off-the-charts delicious and creative. The newly renovated guest room was absolutely breathtaking but still relaxing and comfortable. We wish the calendar would rush by so we could be there again for another anniversary stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A new tradition at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on December 25, 2017

When my wife and I walked into our cottage it’s was a breath taking moment. They rooms were all decorated for Christmas like something out of a hallmark movie. The service was outstanding as were the accommodations. My wife and I will make this a yearly tradition. Having a few days of peace and quiet away from the world was needed.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn-Credible Stay at Mont Rest Inn (Bellevue, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on December 11, 2017

This was, by far, my most incredible B&B stay. Naomi and her staff are wonderful hosts, and the food they prepare is absolutely superior to any 5-star restaurant you can find. We stayed in on Saturday night, and participated in the murder mystery dinner, and had a great time. Oh, and the little cookies and pastries that are always available for you to snack on... Amazing! I highly recommend the Mont Rest Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


A romantic stay in the enchanted forest at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2017

From gourmet meals and fine wine to sumptuous settings, the Inn creates a moment out of time for relaxation, romance and recharging your spirit. The staff is very attentive and works hard to personalize your experience. Rustic with a heavy touch of luxury, the cottages offer the privacy perfect for a weekend getaway or anniversary celebration. I absolutely recommend Irish Hollow!

View more reviews for this inn


to make your accommodations better at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

3.2 reviewed on September 29, 2017

What a potentially lovely B&B. Some ideas that would make it better...finish the outside to include landscaping (pretty flowers go a long way.) The inside needs some love, clean or new curtains, new upholstery on some chairs, refinish the floors and woodwork, wash the windows and get storms/screens for ventilation and soundproofing, and update air conditioning (not in the window). The hostess is a great baker and a lovely person. Great potential with some sprucing up.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }