Recent Reviews in Culpeper, Virginia

The best!!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2017

Walden Hall is both beautiful and luxurious! We hope to return many times--if we can get reservations--it's almost always booked up. We would highly recommend it to anyone who wants comfort in a stately home with plenty of relaxing spaces: the front porch, the huge lower level with theater and games, the formal dining room, the gigantic saltwater pool patio. Walden Hall also deserves its reputation for outstanding gourmet multi-course breakfasts. It's a superb B&B and a the perfect getaway. The grounds would be perfect for a wedding or any event. We will be back and we will rent the entire property next time!

View more reviews for this inn


Best Wedding Venue!!!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2017

Walden Hall really is the best wedding venue in Virginia! It lives up to all the hype. In fact, I booked the venue sight unseen! I knew of a few people who were married there and the photos and layout of the venue were just what I envisioned for my wedding. When I first went to the venue to meet with Eric, it was even more incredible than I had imagined! I cannot say enough positive things about Eric. He was simply amazing! He was so incredibly responsive and has such a caring personality. From all of the emails, in-person meetings, rehearsal and then the day of, he made me feel like my wedding was the absolute number one priority for Walden Hall. During the wedding, any possible thing I wanted or needed the staff made happen. There is no possible way my wedding would have been what I'd been dreaming about if it wasn't for Eric. The rest of staff at the Inn were so accommodating and welcoming as well. My guests and I felt like royalty from the moment we arrived. From the rehearsal dinner, to the wedding, to the after party by the pool, Walden Hall made my weekend absolutely perfect. My guests are still telling me how it was the best wedding they have ever attended! It was so nice to have friends and family stay on-site and for all of the weekend festivities to happen in one place. If you are looking for your wedding venue, look no further than Walden Hall. You will not be disappointed!!

View more reviews for this inn


Spectacular B&B, Amazing Staff at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on August 24, 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Walt Whitman Grande Suite for a 3-day getaway in March 2017. We loved everything about Walden Hall. The facilities (home theatre, gaming room, bedroom, outdoor jacuzzi) were spectacular and the service could not have been better. Eric did everything he could to make sure we had a great time. You really can't go wrong with Walden Hall.

View more reviews for this inn


indulge at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2017

Walden Hall is the perfect spot for a getaway. The salt water outdoor pool is amazing. The rooms are a bit over the top luxurious. The staff is friendly, helpful and the food fantastic. It's not country quiet; the road a bit away, which gets busy between 6-8 am in particular, can be heard when outside (not inside) but the night stars are wonderful, the crickets in tune and the locusts in full voice.

View more reviews for this inn


Hide-A-Way at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on July 19, 2017

Wow! My stay was awesome. Eric and his staff were very accommodating. The Emerson Pool Apt was very cozy, the bed was very comfortable.I especially liked the salt water pool. A Gourmet Breakfast every morning on the front porch or the dining room was very peaceful and relaxing. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast for a peaceful get a way. I will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Stylish and charming inn at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 03, 2017

Everything was beautiful and perfect! What a lovely inn with helpful and kind inn keepers. Food was all delicious. Views are beautiful. Fabulous amenities.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on June 29, 2017

The setting here is spectacular, the house and rooms gorgeous, a lovely swimming pool and views to die for. Eric is a wonderful innkeeper although Andi was there most of the time for us and was a great and helpful hostess. The breakfast was good but not as spectacular as some others we have had at other B&Bs. Still, we would certainly love to go there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation and More Relaxation at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2017

Our first stay this weekend was awesome! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and were always there with a smile to help with anything we may have needed. We were given a tour of the grounds when we arrived and couldn't have been more impressed with how beautiful both the home and surrounding countryside was. The food, house, and staff were amazing and will bring us back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Walden Hall Experience at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on June 24, 2017

From the moment you pull up the long drive you can see that you're in a peaceful and quiet area. The attention to detail from room to room was amazing. The pool offers a relaxing and spacious area with the ability to play from an extensive iTunes library to fit your mood. We had access to the grill outside where we cooked meals nightly and enjoy the sunsets. Also, the hot tub is a great way to relax and unwind, but only if you selected the room that had access to it.The basement offered a movie room, a humidor with a very nice selection of cigars, and a pool table. Our host gave us a recommendation for a driver to do a wine tour that exceeded our expectations at each winery in the area. The morning breakfasts' were delicious and cooked fresh while you sat on the porch surrounding the house and drinking some coffee. At night we enjoyed a campfire with pre-made Smore's package and made some friends while we sat around and shared stories. We will definitely be coming back to Walden Hall.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary staycation at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 21, 2017

Drove up to the property and it was exactly as pictured on internet! Eric met us at the door and welcomed us in! The house was beautiful and our room was spotlesss and accommodating! All the amenities available kept us busy and the movie and popcorn at end of the night was great.. I recommend eating breakfast on the front patio during your stay! Breakfast was delicious and the outdoor atmosphere was peaceful prior to our 4 hour drive home. We can't wait to stay again and bring some of our friends with us next time!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at the Azaleah Cottage, at the Inn on Thistle Hill at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on June 12, 2017

I was greeted by a lovely, amiable couple, upon my arrival at the Thistle Hill Inn; where I stayed for the purpose of hiking the scenic nearby Old Rag Mountain trail, but ended up hiking the marvelous, nearby White Oak Canyon trail of the Shenandoah National Park instead! In my hike, I enjoyed relaxing views of winding trails, in a serene wilderness area, with peaceful waterfalls. The hike was beautiful, and the presence of park rangers, as well as the presence of many other human beings; who were hiking the same trail; made me feel secure that, if any accident were to happen during my hike, that there would be people to provide succour, and to come to my rescue. I shared a room with my mother, at the inn; where our hostess prepared a wonderful, hearty, wholesome, home-made, and abundantly well served, breakfast for us; and kept us company during the meal, at times; while entertaining us with pleasant conversation that made us feel very welcomed and cared for, at her home.

View more reviews for this inn


Stellar in every way at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2017

Strikingly lovely from the moment you drive up. Inside, the architectural details and decor are lovely. So much to do from billiards, swimming, fishing, to watching a movie in screening room. Breakfast was elegant and delicious. Emerson pool suite was crystal clean, spacious, and comfortable with direct access to the refreshing pool. Host Eric could not have been more welcoming and charming--nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Third stay at the wonderful Walden Hall at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2017

Our third visit to Walden Hall was just as wonderful as the rest. The property is very well cared for and beautiful. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. It was decorated very nicely. The property stands out among the best in the region. The breakfast was amazing. We will see you again in the fall!

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Place!!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2017

I stayed in the Longfellow Lodt, what an amazing space! Breakfast was amazing and served at my pace, not too early or late, perfection!

View more reviews for this inn


Has seen better days... at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

2.2 reviewed on May 03, 2017

We had a reservation at another B&B fall through and were looking for a place at the last minute. Thistle Hill had a room and looked cute and homey online. The reality is that the inn has not been maintained or updated in what appears to be a long time... peeling paint, overgrown grass, and a general feeling of lack of upkeep. There was no wifi in our room. The bed was comfortable and we did sleep fine. There were no towels in the room and we had to ask for them twice. The host asked when we would like breakfast upon check-in, but had just started to prepare it at that time. It was nothing special, consisting of overcooked eggs and sausage and biscuits and portions were small. We needed a place to stay and that is what we had, but it was not worth $200 a night and we would not stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


So much to love about Walden Hall B&B!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2017

Our recent stay at Walden Hall was delightful in every way! We were welcomed warmly by Eric, (innkeeper/manager/chef/superb host), given a tour of the lovely home and setting, familiarized with the many amenities: heated saltwater pool with music courtesy of Pandora, media room, fitness room, games, billiards, darts, arcade room, fishing equipment for use in the stocked pond on the property, binoculars for bird watching, a telescope, and a fire pit. The home is beautifully decorated and immaculate, with comfortable seating for conversation or reading both inside and outside on the expansive porch overlooking the pond and rolling hills. We stayed in the stunning Emily Dickinson Room and enjoyed every aspect of the accommodations, especially the claw-foot tub. Within an hour of arriving, we were enjoying the pool, watching a beautiful sunset, and more relaxed than we can remember feeling in a long time! Another highlight of that first evening was being introduced to a baby Icelandic chick - so adorable - born just that day in the chicken coop on the property. Eric's terrific assistant, Andi, brought the chick over to us by the pool to surprise us and, by then, we were pretty much sold on this lovely place and bucolic setting! The breakfasts served were so delicious! The sweet pepper omelette (eggs from the chicken coop) was outstanding and we had the best blueberry pancakes ever! Throughout our stay, both Eric and Andi were attentive, but never intrusive, making sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. This may have been our first visit to Walden Hall, but, for sure, it will not be our last!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Time at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2017

The grounds are beautiful - picture rolling hills, colorful foliage and a well stocked pond. My seven year old had a great time catching the large mouth bass, swimming in the saltwater pool, playing in the arcade, visiting the chickens...and the list goes on. Breakfast was awesome - blueberry pancakes and bacon! Eric and staff were extremely pleasant...I can't say enough good things!!

View more reviews for this inn


The best anniversary! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2017

This place deserves more than 5 stars. So beautiful that the pictures on the internet do not do justice. I chose it to celebrate our 10th anniversary. The only thing we regret was not having more time to enjoy it. Next time we will book well in advance to make sure we stay at least two nights. David and Julie were not only our hosts, but became friends. They are so lovely and went beyond their way to make us feel special. We were late because of holiday weekend traffic and when we called, David offered to make a reservation for us in the best restaurant in town. When we were ready to order deserts one of the chefs showed up and brought us a beautiful dessert with "Happy Anniversary " written on the plate courtesy of David and Julie, our hosts from Walden Hall. It was such a nice gesture. We were touched. Next day breakfast was done by Eric and it was fabulous. When we checked out, we went to their brewery, Bald Top. I fell in love with their smoked ale. My husband loved their Manor House Ale. There they sat with us a few times sharing with us their passion in life. Love Julie, David, Eric and the Walden House. You guys work so hard and deserve all the stars! By the way, watching the stars at night at Walden Hall is out of this world! Will definitely come back soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing anniversary! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2016

My husband and I decided to try out a bed and breakfast for the first time for our second wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed! We didn't know exactly what to expect but it was above and beyond anything we've experienced before. The property manager Eric was extremely nice and accommodating. When we arrived he gave us a tour of the house and it was spectacular! There are so many amenities that we were sad to only be there for 2 nights. We stayed in the thoreau room with its own private porch and jacuzzi tub. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and the whole house was open for use. Eric was extremely available but not at all bothersome. He cooked is an amazing breakfast 2 days in a row and humored our weird dietary requests (my husband won't eat cheese or veggies mixed in eggs and I won't eat pork or beef) with patience and kindness. It was some of the best breakfast we've had.... my husband was OBSESSED with the coffee glazed bacon that Eric surprised him with on our second morning. We'd also chosen the mimosas in bed package but Eric let us choose where we wanted to have the breakfast and we chose to have it on the private porch. He sat up the most elegant table outside with everything imaginable for breakfast! It was so relaxing to sit in the rocking chairs on the porch and have a 5 star breakfast, French pressed coffee, and mimosas! Our absolute favorite part about Walden Hall though was the clubhouse on the lower floor of the house. There is an amazing game room, pool table, air hockey, gym, basketball hoop, and a fully functional home movie theater with complementary popcorn! We spent both nights down here and had a blast! We can't wait to go back and are already planning to bring our best friends! This place is amazing and I'd be scared to even try another b & b for fear it wouldn't live up to this same experience. One piece of advice....Stay here!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Country Charm at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

This was by far the best B&B we have stayed at. We were in the pool suite for two nights to celebrate an anniversary and attend a nearby wedding. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the property. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a full kitchen. The salt water pool was fantastic and just outside our door. Eric was a great source of information and offered recommendations for dinner among other things. Loved sitting out on the large front porch. Happy hour was an added bonus. They have thought of all the little extras to make your stay special. Breakfasts were delicious. We will return again so we can take advantage of all the amenities they offer. Culpepper is only 10 minutes away with plenty of dining options and cute shops. Lots of wineries to visit as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb Bed and Breakfast Close to DC at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on September 10, 2016

My family and I have stayed at the Inn at Little Washington, Wedmore and other highly rated facilities in the area. This was our favorite. Charming property with very gracious owners. Super location and property with a real Chanticleer to wake you up in the morning. Great cinema room, arcade and game facilities, star gazing telescopes, a heated pool and forest trails.The one area for improvement was the food. I would have given 5 stars for value if the breakfast had been anything more than extremely pedestrian. Not a huge issue because of wonderful restaurants like Fotis near by, but something a property of this caliber should improve on.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stah! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 26, 2016

We loved Walden Hall! What a hidden gem! The owner's have invested their heart & soul into this place and thought of all the "little things" - gorgeous view, beautiful Pool we did not get to try, movie theatre, Ms.pacman, beer on tap! The home itself and rooms are impeccably decorated. The only glitch is if you care about noise do not stay in the main level room - you can hear every clank of a spoon or the doors opening and shutting as well as the people above (they tried to lessen the noise by setting the dining room table up the night before which was really nice but it still was bothersome). My one other piece of advice- you say happy hour is on the "weekends" but do not consider sunday the weekend but you do friday? It would be better to say "happy hour Friday & Saturday" We will definitely return but will stay on the top level! This place is worth checking out - and they are opening a brewery a few miles away!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place and amazing staff! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Our stay was absolutely fantastic, in spite of it being over 100 degrees outside while we were there! The rooms were perfect, and the hosts have thought of everything. We'll be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible, luxury getaway in the hart of Virginia wine country!!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2016

What was better? The delicious food, our gorgeous room? the theater room? the amazing location with bike riding and hiking right outside the front door? the magnificent pool. I cannot say enough about this B&B and Eric's wonderful hospitality. He made us vegan French toast. WE WILL BE BACK!

View more reviews for this inn


Unmatched Luxury! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I have been frequent visitors to the Piedmont region since we moved to Northern Virginia seven years ago. We've stayed at almost every luxury inn and hotel in Charlottesville, Orange and Culpeper and nothing that we've ever experienced could hold a candle to Walden Hall. It was a truly unique and refreshing experience. The property has so much to do and experience that we ended up canceling our dinner reservations in Washington and ordered takeout to enjoy poolside. We finished our evening by watching the perfect sunset on the front porch. Utterly stunning! We tried to extend our stay but they were fully booked for the following night. Eric was gracious enough to let us check out late and stay on the property for a few hours to test out the movie theater and take one last dip in the pool. We love you guys! See you again in September! -Beth and Mike

View more reviews for this inn


Love This Place at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2016

This is not our first stay at Walden Hall, and it won't be our last! We love the rooms, the staff, and the setting. On this visit we hiked the Rose River Trail. It was beautiful! For our next visit to Walden Hall we are hoping for a longer stay that will allow for more time to explore the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2016

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at Walden Hall. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The property is beautiful and the rooms were well appointed. We definitely plan to make a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


walden hall honeymoon experience at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2016

Best vacation we have had in a long time!! The inkeepers were amazing and made sure we had everything we needed and more. The breakfasts they cooked and served us on the front porch made us feel so spoiled! (: We stayed in the Longfellow loft and and it was a total luxury! My husband and I got in the whirlpool tub and watched a movie every night. We purchased some bath salts while we were there that were a very nice treat. The softest, fluffiest robes were included in our room and coffee maker, chocolates our room keeper left for us after she cleaned. The game room downstairs was really fun. We played pool every day we were there. Walden Hall thought of everything. We only left for food, haha. They had all the comforts and activities to do that we stayed comfortable and entertained for days. We wished we could have stayed longer. We will deffinetly be coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect stay! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2016

We travel to central Virginia twice a year and for the past five years we have stayed at the Inn at Little Washington for every visit. We decide to break the routine this year and booked with Walden Hall after seeing them in the Virginia’s Best awards magazine. They certainly did not disappoint. Walden Hall truly lived up to its reputation as one of Virginia’s great luxury retreats, making our special 30th anniversary that much more special. Here's what we loved: - the understated physical beauty of the property is undeniable, with gorgeous views of the countryside from every corner - the salt water, modern style pool and patio is a sophisticated, relaxing retreat after a full day of wine tasting - They have more amenities than a large resort: a movie theatre, real arcade, billiards, fishing, firepits… the list goes on and on.. - the complimentary tastings to their partner vineyards made our wine country exploration even more enjoyable (tip: talk to Eric about planning a perfect wine tour) - we loved the Walt Whitman Suite, taking advantage of the hot tub balcony with a glass of Virginia wine - the complimentary beer and local craft beer tastings in the club were a surprise! (About 50% of the property is not shown on the website so we were constantly finding new hidden places to relax and enjoy.) Of course, the real standout at the world's best hotels and resorts is outstanding service, and we experienced this level of service throughout our visit to Walden Hall. Eric and Evanne took excellent care of us, their recommendations on where to visit and top notch concierge service made our trip one of the best of the decade. Tucked back in the picturesque rolling hills, Walden Hall really is heaven in wine country. We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


55th B-day with 4 days of perfect retreat. 5+ at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2016

I took my husband for his 18th of April Bday. I searched via internet all VA B&Bs within 2 hours drive from DC. Walden Hall attracted my attention because of the highest reviews - all 5+. But there were only 11 (I learned that this is because it is a newly opened one and all reviews are from REAL people). I took a chance. This was the BEST B&B experience. We have traveled extensively around the word and the US. It is even better then the photos and the reviews. Rooms are spacious, extremely clean, with great design and all furnishings are of the highest quality. Bathrooms with the brand new equipment. Towel warmers, plush robes, fresh flowers, fantastic views on the pond and fields. Huge deck - a nice place to have a second cup of your morning coffee. The surprise is the Club! In the elegantly decorated basement, we played pool, darts, tasted draft IPA beer ( hand-made by the owners, free), watched a movie in a fantastic home theatre with an outstanding surround sound. There were an excellent gym, a small basketball and a hockey table. The outside pool was closed at that time. Though we will definately come back once it is warmer and we can enjoy the salted water pool. Breakfasts are great, eggs come from own chickens! Plenty of good quality coffee, nice offer of fruits, cereal, yogurts, croissants and various breads. The owners Julie and Dave surrounded us with such care that we felt like home. They graciously upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite (four rooms suite) - luxurious heaven. Surprised my husband with a birthday chocolate cake, a candle and rose peddles all over the bed. Please do not waste time and money, give yourself a perfect gift! Retreat at the Walden Hall. Me and my husband are coming back in June and bringing my parents with us. Thank you, Julia and Dave, for making my husband's birthday such an unforgettable experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Walden Hall (4.92)
  2. Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (4.07)
Top
check }