Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.4
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Onsite Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
19 Reviews

Write A Review

Steeped in History

5 on September 23, 2017

We recently spent two nights and the inn and loved it. It was in walking distance to the restaurants (Liv's Oyster Bar and Penny Lane were both great!). We felt like we had gone back in time. The new owner has remodeled the rooms and they are beautiful. Breakfast was delicious, especially the prairie pancakes (wholesome as well as delicious). The owner visited with us and provided me with research documents for the inn. We highly recommend the inn and the lovely town of Old Saybrook.


Relaxing Stay

5 on August 06, 2017

My husband and I stayed here recently and had a relaxing getaway. They have bicycles for guests to use so we rode to the beach and walked around during low tide. I loved reading my book in the jacuzzi tub. The staff is friendly and the rooms are pretty.


Always a good time

4.8 on July 16, 2017

This is our 9th time staying at this BNB. We always have a good time at Deacon Timothy Pratt house. Innkeeper Pat is great.


Charming!

4.4 on May 31, 2017

My husband and I stayed here over the Memorial holiday weekend and can't say enough about the establishment and staff. We were greeted upon arrival by the owner, as well as the innkeeper. Our room, the Library, was very stately and the jacuzzi tub was most relaxing. We enjoyed learning about the wonderful history of the Inn as well as getting to know the other guests. The owner had a wonderfully talented local musician come during our stay who played a variety of stringed instruments which was both mesmerizing and relaxing. The breakfasts were so delicious, from the bananas foster french toast one morning to the savory frittata another. We look forward to another stay!


Very noisy -

2.6 on October 09, 2013

This is the noisest B&B we have ever stayed in. None of the windows in the room were doubled pained and the street noise was unbearable. The TV was an old round type and the reception was horrible. Except for Patti the hostess who was wonderful and holds the place together, this place is one step better than staying at a motel.

Innkeeper Response
We apologize for your disappointing stay. We are now under new management and making lots of improvements. All the windows have been cleaned and all have storm windows installed. The TVs are all flat screen TVs with upgraded Comcast service. There are a lot of renovations, painting and improvements going on as we speak, and we hope you will come back and give us another try! And Patti is still here!

- Shelley Nobile (New Proprietor)


Quaint Old Saybrook B&B

4.8 on July 24, 2011

We found this charming B&B on our iphone app, INNTOUCH. We were traveling and booked it at the last minute on a Memorial Day. It was perfect in everyway. Great restuarants nearby. It was beautiful in the summer and looks like a perfect winter weekend getaway. We will be back. Kelley Kennedy-Lapping


Great area to visit

3.6 on May 13, 2011

Have to agree with a previous evaluation. If you are really into breakfast, you will want to walk downtown for it. Great area to walk around on a spring evening. Room was very clean and comfortable. Spring special was a great value.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay overall and thought it was a good value. For most of the winter you can stay in any of our fireplaced and whirlpool tub rooms for only $100 Sunday through Thursday and on slow weekends we are offering discounts as well. We are under new management and making lots of improvements! Our pastry chefs serve a gourmet breakfast on weekends and during the week they bake tasty treats as well, it's just not the full 3 course breakfast. Please come visit us again!

- Shelley Nobile (New Proprietor)


B&B?

2.6 on August 29, 2010

B&B only applies to the weekend here. You'll do better eating at the Paperback Cafe down the street for a really GREAT breakfast. But if your happy Monday through Friday with Dunkin' Doughnut fare you'd be at the right place.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, and thank you for your review. We are under new management and have made lots of improvements already! On Weekends our pastry chefs serve a gourmet 3 course breakfast in our formal dining room with original working fireplace! Weekdays they bake tasty treats as well, just not the full 3 course breakfast, that way we can offer our fireplace and double whirlpool rooms for only $100 in the off season! We hope you will give us another try!

- Shelley Nobile (New proprietor)


Cozy and Inviting

4.0 on February 07, 2010

My husband and I visited this charming B&B on a midweek winter getaway. The authentic colonial atmosphere with wide pine floors, large working fireplaces, canopy beds and a large jacussi bath were just to our liking. We enjoyed wonderful hospitality from the owner with whom we shared wine and conversation in front of a roaring fire on a snowy winters night. The innkeeper was equally gracious and served us a wonderful breakfast the next morning and offered helpful suggestions about what to do in the area. My husband and I visit B&B's quite often throughout New England and this is one of our favorites!


A wonderful winter experience

5 on January 15, 2010

I stayed with my husband and I loved the Inn, it is so historic and happy! My husband enjoyed a back rub there and I thought the price was just right. And we are thinking of renewing our vows there at some time only because we cannot elope!!! It was a great weekend we had fun.


Perfect!

4.6 on October 17, 2008

We loved our room, and also viewed several other rooms which were all equally charming. The innkeeper was so friendly and helpful. Loved the jacuzzi tub and fireplace. To correct an earlier review, there are locks on several of the rooms, and on the rest there are hooks inside the room so you can lock when you're inside, so no worries there! Our breakfast was very nice but because it was a weekday, it was only pastries, yogurt and fruit, as opposed to the warm breakfast served on weekends. On our way home, we toured 3 other area B&Bs just to compare -- they were ok, but we decided next time we would definitely return to Deacon Timothy Pratt - it was perfect!


Great Place to stay!!

4.2 on February 29, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the Timothy Platt house twice in the month of Feb. The 1st time we stayed in the library and while it was a great room it was so hot!! The 2nd room was in the annex and it was much bigger, had a jacuzzi (as did the 1st room) and was very private. Had a great breakfast too-and was nice mingling with the guests over breakfast in the morning. We would love to go back again-


Weekend in Old Saybrook

5 on October 16, 2007

We have been charmed by the peace, quiet, and cozy comforts of this historic house. A perfect feast on the eye and as a relaxing break from the city, it couldn't be better. Thanks.


REPEAT GUEST

4.0 on September 10, 2007

We have stayed at this B&B several times. We have tried other B&B's but keep comming back to this one. It has been hard to find one that compares. We always stay in the suite. The privacy and ambiance make for a relaxing and refreshing weekend stay. We stay here atleast 4 times per year and will keep comming back again and again!!!


Lovely b and b

4.6 on September 08, 2007

We enjoyed staying here very much. The rooms are well cared for and are each quite unique. The size of the rooms seems to vary quite a bit so check when reserving if that is important to you. We stayed in the Chimney Room which was small but nicely done. Stairs leading to that room are narrow and steep so you might want to also check on that if you think it might be an issue. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home. Hope to return someday...


Cozy and Quaint

4.8 on June 06, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Inn this past March...we loved the fireplaces! Very romantic and comfortable. We had a wonderful breakfast and met some very nice people.


Beautiful and charming

5 on June 05, 2007

My husband and I spent a weekend away from the city and it was like going back in time. The rooms were charming, the breakfast was delicious and everyone was very friendly. Truly a special place!


very strange

3.2 on May 28, 2007

The house was beautiful, BUT there are NO LOCKS on the rooms! They don't lock the house and your room does not lock from the outside!! We stayed in the library. No staff unles it is breakfast time, yet strangers can wander in the house and our room did not lock!!!!!!!!

Innkeeper Response
Hello and thank you for your review. I apologize for the lack of locks, we are under new management, fully staffed, and there are now locks on all the doors. We are making many more improvements. We hope you will come back and give us another try!

- Shelley Nobile (New Proprietor)


Old world charm

3.6 on April 17, 2007

Great historic B&B. The room we stayed in was charming.


Deacon Timothy Pratt Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $225 - $310
  • Reviews (19) 4.3
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8603951229
  • Fax 1-8603954748
  • Mobile 1-8603401794

Visit Website »

View details

Top check