The Inn at Stonington Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.1

Score Breakdown based on
45 Reviews

Write A Review

Lovely Inn

4.2 on October 12, 2017

The Inn was lovely and the service was gracious and accommodating. We were so appreciative of the concern and assistance when we needed a tire repair.


Pricey but Worth It!

4.4 on October 03, 2017

The word "sumptuous" comes to mind, but in an understated New England way. Gorgeous décor, super comfortable beds, lovely on the water location, attentive and friendly staff. We can't wait to return!


Jose stayed away

4.8 on September 24, 2017

We were expecting Tropical Storm Jose to hit the night we arrived. It did not and we were able to enjoy the town and dinner. Staff at the Inn are very friendly and service was great. Out room was very nice and unbelievable very of the water. Continental breakfast was one of best I have ever had. This Inn is well located for a nice weekend retreat and near all the shops, restaurants, and history of this beautiful New England town.


Always a pleasure!

4.8 on September 18, 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful holiday weekend stay at the Inn! We have visited here many times and have never been disappointed. The rooms and guest areas are well-decorated, fresh and comfortable.


30th anniversary stay

4.4 on September 16, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary near the shore. We grew up on LI so we knew we wanted water and seafood nearby. The room was very nice!! A spacious king sized bed added to our comforts. We had chocolate covered strawberries and champagne in the room upon our arrival also! The entire staff was wonderful; polite, eager to please, and easy to approach. We'll be back!


Perfect relaxation, comfort, and views

4.2 on September 15, 2017

Arrived late raining afternoon and pulled into the only drop off parking at the rear of Inn and quickly realized that all my clothes for the 2 nights was packed in my large suitcase. This 75 year old quickly realized he needed help. No problem we checked in at the desk and they quickly went to my car retrieved the siuitcase and carried it up the stairs to our 2 floor room. I know at that moment that 1st class service at this Inn is a given.


Beautiful spot on the water

3.4 on August 31, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Stonington Inn. The location is perfect with restaurants and beauty all around us. The wine and cheese in the afternoons was a nice touch as was the continental breakfast. My only complaint was that the fire pit was not lit on a chilly night and when we asked to have it lit, the attendant on duty indicated that it was rather difficult to do. Other than that, the place was great.


First time staying at The Inn at Stonington and loved it!

4.6 on August 21, 2017

Enjoyed a one night romantic getaway at the zoo. We were warmly greeted and immediately made to feel welcome. We were not familiar with Stonington and were provided some tips including a great dinner recommendation. The room was beautiful and very clean. Even though the inn was sold out we found it to be peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed a wonderful continental breakfast while sitting outside on the patio overlooking the harbor. Our stay couldn't have been better!


Great stay

5 on August 20, 2017

We stayed two nights in Room 19, Annex Building overlooking harbour with a large balcony. The room was extremely comfortable and spotless. It had incredible views. It's price was very reasonable. You are in the perfect spot in Stonington. The staff was awesome. Love you Denise, Aubrey and Brandy! We met and spoke with many at morning breakfast and wine and cheese hour, in our case hours!! We will highly recommend you and definately be back. Ralph & Amy


Home away from Home

5 on August 19, 2017

We have been visiting the Inn for many years and hope to continue doing so for many to come. The location is spectacular, the Inn is one of the best-decorated and maintained places I've ever visited, and the staff is super. Truly a class establishment!


Excellent as always

4.6 on August 18, 2017

Love this place, love the location and the people always helpful and friendly


Tuey's 50th

4.4 on August 17, 2017

Loved the hotel -the vibe, the atmosphere , the room was perfect Cannot beat the location -staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom could have been a tad bit cleaner and there should have been more than two shower towels for guests.


A peaceful jewel on the Connecticut coast

4.8 on August 17, 2017

This historic inn at Stonington Borough is a quiet respite from the hustle & noise of NY metro living, The staff, led by Susan, are hospitable & attentive to every guest & always make you feel special. The rooms are well-appointed & luxurious. The morning continental breakfast is very satisfying w home-made breakfast breads & cakes. We stay here at least 3-4 times a year and the owner, Bill Griffin, is always adding new features. This inn is a gem! Bill & Liz


Home away from home!

5 on August 16, 2017

Friendly and helpful staff, perfect location, beautiful and clean room overlooking the water...definitely the best place to stay in Stonington!


Charming inn and outstanding staff

5 on August 03, 2017

We have nothing but great things to say about the Inn at Stonington. Perfect location for a walk into the cute fishing village or the historic lighthouse plus right on the water for a stroll along the pier. The staff from Susan the Manager on down did everything to make us feel very welcome and at home for the 2 days we were there. Would highly recommend them to anyone visiting the Mystic/Stonington area. We are so happy we chose it! A big thank you to Susan and the Inn for making our stay so fantastic!


Wonderful visit!

4.6 on July 20, 2017

The room and bathroom were enormous! The space was very clean and well appointed. Our room was in the Annex but the Inn itself is beautiful and luxurious. Overall a great time and beautiful location!


Great Stay in Stonington Borough

5 on July 09, 2017

On top of the great stay, the team at the Inn had great food and activity recommendations. We loved our stay


Perfect Mom/Daughter Escape

5 on June 26, 2017

The Inn was so perfect for a Mother/Daughter escape. We really enjoyed the breakfast and wine happy hours. Everyone took such great care of us and helped us plan our days at breakfast. We loved the location and the easy free parking. I will come back for a Romantic getaway with my hubby.


A Gem!

5 on June 05, 2017

My wife and I normally celebrate our anniversary by going away for one or two days. This year we opted to stay at the Inn at Stonington and I can truly say this is one of the nicest places we have stayed in a while. I can't say enough about the location, the rooms, and the genuinely friendly staff. Although the Inn does not offer dining, we enjoyed our breakfast and the homey atmosphere that led to a number of interesting conversations with other guests. We are definitely coming back!


Romantic Getaway

4.6 on May 10, 2017

The Inn at Stonington was a wonderful experience for my wife and I on our recent anniversary. We had a rear facing room overlooking the bay and although it poured rain on the day we arrived and had heavy fog the next morning, it was crazy romantic with the waves, the clanging of the sail boat rigs and the fog horns blasting. The second and third day turned sunny and what an amazing little area for walking and relaxing - the Inn was spectacularly well kept, the hosts pleasant and accommodating, and the view stunning. We will go back!!! (maybe we shouldn't have been so nice in our review!!!!)


Another great escape to Stonington CT!

4.2 on May 08, 2017

Our fifth stay. Consistently superb service and we feel we can relax better there than most all other places we've stayed. We will return.


Don't miss a stay here

4.6 on May 06, 2017

We always feel,like home at the Inn at Stonington. Everyone is so welcoming. There is wine and cheese every night so you can meet and talk with other guests. They do not have a restaurant but there are several very good ones within walking distance. We stay here several times a year.


Our Retreat!

5 on April 18, 2017

Once again, we had a fabulous getaway at the Inn! We stayed in Room #7 and last week the weather was great; warm with an abundance of sunshine! Susan and Aubrey greeted us upon arrival with hello's and hugs! Rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated - and the little private porch overlooks the ocean and lets in welcoming breezes. We getaway to the Inn twice each year and never get tired of being there - the walks, the restaurants, the people and the sea make for much needed R & R for us! Thank you to all at the Inn who make our stay worth wanting to go back for again and again!


March Midweek Getaway

4.6 on April 04, 2017

Room 11 was very comfortable. The soaker tub hit the spot. The view from the Harbor View Room on the third floor was beautiful. The living room on the first floor was inviting as the fireplace and table books were there to enjoy. We enjoyed out March midweek getaway very much.


Great Stay

5 on March 16, 2017

We had a lovely stay at this property. It was 5 stars all around.


Five Star Quality at Three Star Prices

4.8 on March 01, 2017

The Inn at Stonington is truly a diamond in the rough. My wife and I decided to get away for the weekend spur of the moment and reserved a suite at the Inn based off of a recommendation by my sister. What a treat we were in for! The staff were more than friendly. The concierge was absolutely effervescent and incredibly helpful. She showed us our suite and all its amenities with the air of one excited to be a part of our stay. The suite itself came with a gas fireplace and a spacious connected bathroom which contained a jacuzzi tub and a walk-in shower big enough for two. The Inn serves a continental breakfast which filled us both and included fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, a number of baked goods, and coffee and/or juice. In the evening, the Inn has a wine and cheese social for its guests, which also includes an appetizer plate from the Breakwater restaurant a stone's throw away from the building. Again, the staff were delightful and friendly. While other hotels and inns in the area charge upwards of $500/$600 a night, a stay at the Inn cost $575 for two days. Which is a wonderful way to begin a weekend of shopping, dining, and exploring in picturesque Stonington Burrough. If you need a weekend escape, give the Inn at Stonington a try. You will not be disappointed.


Lovely Stay on Water St

4.8 on February 28, 2017

We stayed in room 19 in the annex--great view of the harbor. Room was spacious as was the bathroom. We enjoyed a glass of wine while we sat out on the balcony. Really fresh, delicious baked goods for breakfast in the main building. Every staff person was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I would recommend considering changing the wine and cheese hour to 5-6 rather than 6-7. We most certainly will plan another visit.


Wonderful escape!

4.8 on February 22, 2017

My wife and I wanted a nice, quiet off season get away. Have to say that Susan, Anne and the entire staff really made for a wonderful experience. The wine and cheese and daily breakfast offerings were a nice way to meet other guests and really exceeded expectations. The property is nicely located with great views. Can only imagine what the outdoor areas must be like in season. We'll certainly be back.


My best getaway in 10 years - and, yes, I do travel (smiles)

5 on November 11, 2016

What a lovely experience! The staff is attentive yet relaxed - helpful yet not intrusive. The room I stayed in was super clean and well appointed with a very large spa tub. This INN cares about the comfort of their guests. There was an attention to the detail from the beginning of the reservation experience (thank you Anna Maria) until my sad goodbye (I really did not want to leave). And, here is more about my stay at the Inn of Stonington: This Inn is both intimate yet spacious. There is a large open area with a fireplace many separate places to either have privacy or to mingle with other guests. It is welcoming yet not designed to force interaction. For breakfast the Inn offers a plentiful morning nosh of coffee/tea/juice...many different kinds of fruit; yogurt; hard boiled eggs; cereal, breads/muffins etc... btw..love their coffee! In addition, they graciously include an early evening hour of wine, fruit and cheese, biscuits, etc....not often that you are welcomed in the early hours and late in the day - but this Inn pays attention to these details. It was a really beautiful stay - and, I plan on doing what others whom I met have done...i.e. return as often as I can! (btw...I was not hired to write this nor am I connected to the profits of this special place...as I was writing it - I thought that perhaps others would think perhaps it sounded to good to be true - and, if I read this I might think that - but I am sincerely sharing my experience as a guest staying on November 9th, 2016).


wnderful weekend retreat

4.4 on October 19, 2010

A weekend at the Inn at Stonington was the perfect weekend getaway!


Great Find!

4.4 on July 08, 2010

Feels small and intimate, like a large B&B. Although advertised as a Continental breakfast, there was a large selection of items, including fresh fruit and cereal. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location.


Parents' getaway

3.8 on January 29, 2009

My first night away from our 2 1/2 year old was at the Inn at Stonington, close enough to get home quickly as needed. Our room had a lovely view of the harbor as well as a jacuzzi and fireplace. The breakfast of cereal, scones, croissants, cranberry bread (homemade), fruit, tea and juice was much more than I expected, and delicious. Staff was eager to please and offered many dining recommendations. As for Stonington Borough, it's a lovely town and very walkable (a little chilly on a blustery January day). There were at least 5 restaurants in walking distance; we tried 3 of them. Milagro, an authentic Mexican restaurant, has fabulous food; Dog Watch Cafe offers decent pub grub and a lively bar atmosphere; Noah's offeres superb homemade desserts and pretty good lunch fair. I'd go back for dessert again before I'd go for lunch again.


Lovely place

3.8 on February 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend for my birthday last year-was a lovely place to stay. The room was large and beautifully decorated-but it was so hot we couldn't stand it. The heat wasn't even on and it was sweltering. We weren't in the main building we were next door in their annex. Because it was so warm we couldn't use the fireplace and had to sleep with the window open. If we were ever to go I would ask for a room in the main house-maybe it wouldn't be so warm over there!!


Lovely in Every Way

4.4 on November 28, 2007

The Inn at Stonington is newly built but in an old style. You have the look and feel of an older building, but everything is modern and works well. The decorating is great, and our room was exceptionally comfortable with a balcony, gas fireplace, water view and a deep whirlpool tub. The wine & cheese reception is a nice way to relax and meet people. Breakfast is continental but ample and fresh. The village is quaint, and there are good restaurants a short walking distance. This is a great inn to use as a base to tour the area, and I think it is much nicer than nearby Mystic options.


Pleasant Getaway

3.6 on November 19, 2007

When arriving at the Stonington Inn, we were greeted with friendly staff welcome. A tour was giving of the cozy Inn and we were allowed to select our room. We chose a great second floor room, which included a fire place, balcony and jacuzzi bath. A nice touch was having the bed face the water. The wine and cheese hour was very pleasant and we were able to get advice on where to dine. Unfortunetly most restaurants were closed because we traveled on a monday during the off season. The Inn was quiet, clean and overall satisfactory. The breakfast was alright. Both checking in and out was no hassle. The staff was eager to help while be unintrusive. I would definately stay at this Inn again and reccomend it to others


Charming

4.0 on November 07, 2007

A very quaint inn with unique rooms and a beautiful view of the harbor. The staff was very friendly and reserved a private meeting room for my business needs. We were able to borrow several bicycles to ride around Stonington and see the town, a great way to see it all. I would recommend this inn to anyone.


A Great Find

5 on November 05, 2007

The Inn at Stonington is a wonderful inn where we have returned numereous times. The rooms are beautiful and immaculate. The staff is extraordinarily helpful and informative about Stonington and Mystic. We love this inn and plan to return again and again. Since we visit New England often and live on Long Island, this is the perfect place to extend our vacation.


A Very Special Place

4.8 on October 29, 2007

We have made it a tradition to stay every Thanksgiving through the weekend. It is truly a very special place.


number one place to stay

5 on October 21, 2007

this was our 2nd visit. the inn and the people are of utmost quality. the rooms are like you are staying in a mansion. the service is unbelievable. you will not be sorry that you came here. the view alone is worth coming to. in all our travels, this inn is still the number one place to stay.


npgregas

5 on October 09, 2007

i loved it! the fireplace, the bed, the room overall, the stafe was more then helpful, they were outstanding.


wonderful get-a-way

4.8 on September 17, 2007

Very relaxing stay. Our room was impecably clean. Loved the sitting room on the 3rd floor with the spectacular view of the water. Can't wait to go back.


Romantic and quaint

3.8 on September 16, 2007

We happened upon the Inn at Stonington while exploring the area and decided to stay the night. We were very pleased with the accommodations, well-appointed rooms and beautiful views. The innkeepers were extremely helpful and friendly, and the wine and cheese happy hour was a wonderful touch. We look forward to visiting again.


Lovely place to stay

4.6 on September 16, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn very much. The location is ideal and the town of Stonington is quaint, upscale and a wonderful place to take a walk or bike ride. The Inn itself is beautifully decorated with top notch linens, furnishings and art. The room did not have a "hotel" feel but felt more like being at home. We hope to return.


Loved the inn

4.4 on September 14, 2007

verly lovely inn in a charming town. we especially enjoyed the view from our seaside room, sunset with wine and cheese, breakfast on the patio and friendly and helpful staff. Nice touch to have an exercise roomm and internet access.


Wonderful!

4.8 on August 31, 2007

Located in a charming town this Inn is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The rooms are beautifully decorated and some have water views. Every amenity is provided, bath rooms are exquisite and the Inn's service is friendly and efficient. I'd recommend it to anyone!


The Inn at Stonington

Details

  • Nightly Rate $195 - $295
  • Reviews (45) 4.6
  • Rooms 18
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8605352000
  • Fax 1-8605358193

Visit Website »

View details

Top check