Recent Reviews in Columbus, Indiana

A wonderful stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on April 20, 2017

A wonderful stay in a beautifully restored historic mansion. Brittany was the perfect innkeeper - welcoming, informative, and an excellent cook! The location was was a bonus. The Inn is on a peaceful street but an easy walk to downtown with resaturants and shopping. We are eager to return during the summer months to enjoy the gardens.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Place at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2017

Great old and charming home in a beautiful town. Thanks

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific property, wonderful service! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2017

More than a B&B -- an integral piece of Columbus history! Will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2017

Awesome stay. The rooms are amazing but the service is the most incredible part of the stay! I HIGHLY recommend Irwin Garden

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury and Convenience at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2017

The Clementine suite was cozy and luxurious with comfy bed, spacious sitting room, and lovely sum room with a view of the gardens. We loved the English style woodwork, books, antiques and seeing the beautiful Christmas decorations, however we look forward to staying during the warmer months to fully enjoy the gardens. This B&B is centrally located and walking distance to entertainment, restaurants, etc. It's also fun just walking around to take in the neat architecture that Columbus IN is known for. Antique Malls/shopping are just a short hop away by car. The staff was very accommodating and the bananas foster French toast/breakfast was delicious. We'll definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


An outstanding B&B at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

This B&B offers a magic adventure in an amazing mansion: gracious hospitality, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, and the opportunity experience late 19th-20th century architecture at its finest.

View more reviews for this inn


Christmas get away at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2016

I live a short 45 minutes away in Bloomington. Our friends had toured the Inn at Irwin Gardens and thought that it would be fun to have an over night there. It was pure magic! The house was exquisitely decorated for Christmas. The five of us were the only ones that evening (it was a Thursday night) and it was amazing. We were made to feel like it was "ours" for the night. We had a fire in the fireplace of the library and chatted into the night. The rooms were comfortable, each one with its own unique charm, and spacious. The breakfast was out of this world! We plan to do it again next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Property at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2016

Wonderful stay and an incredible property!

View more reviews for this inn


When people are in the right business at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on November 15, 2016

The staff especially Sara and Brittany were very welcoming and obliging without being obsequious.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay and relax at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on October 30, 2016

We book an overnight stay and wished we had more time to enjoy this lovely B&B. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The grounds were amazing!! We had a glass of wine on the large garden patio. It was peaceful and the stars were magnificent! Breakfast was an event. The meal was served in courses and was plentiful as well as delicious. We look forward to our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place to stay at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2016

My husband and stayed here last year after Thanksgiving. The house is a beautiful historic home and our room had a little sitting room and a bathroom with a claw foot bathtub. The hosts were wonderful and sat down and ate breakfast with us- they are an older couple with a wealth of experiences and interesting stories to tell. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Sadly when we were there they had the house up for sale so I hope that someone with as much love and passion for history and hospitality buys the home and will keep it as lovely as it is.

View more reviews for this inn


UNIQUE PROPERTY at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

3.8 reviewed on September 28, 2016

This was a quick overnight stay in order to visit the Miller House, so decided to stay in the ancestral home for Mr. Miller. The gardens are charming and the house is full of history, including the original intercom system! We loved all the period furniture and decor. Anna the hostess was delightful and we had a delicious breakfast in the elegantly appointed dining area. The home is within walking distance of many areas downtown. The only downside was the confusing cable system for TV. Highly recommend a visit but it is a bit costly.

View more reviews for this inn


2 Nt, stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on September 20, 2016

Spent a relaxing and enjoyable two night stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens. The innkeepers Sarah and Brittany were very hospitable and cordial. It was a wonderful experience to be able to stay in such a beautifully preserved home. I especially enjoyed the library by sipping a glass of wine and exploring the many books on the shelves. The rooms were clean and it was a nice touch having a Keurig maker in my room. The breakfasts were delicious; one morning it was Banana Foster French Toast with bacon and the second day was a Cheese and Asparagus Frittata with sausage, avocado and tomato on the side as well as, a bowl of yogurt with a selection of fresh fruit. I give my stay five stars.Exceeded my Expectations" instead.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely B&B in Columbus, IN at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on September 20, 2016

My husband and I visited Columbus IN for the architectural tours. It was so special to be able to stay in a bed and breakfast that was the home of the family that was responsible for Columbus's place in great architectural cities. The house is full of history of the family. The public rooms are beautiful and the sleeping rooms spacious and comfortable. Wonderful innkeeper who made us feel at home. Nice touches such as wine in the late afternoon that can be enjoyed in the beautiful gardens. Snacks/soda/water on the guest floors. Very nice breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Sunday Evening at Irwin Gardens at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

3.4 reviewed on August 08, 2016

Sarah was an extremely thoughtful hostess. Our accommodations in the Elsie Sweeney Room were very nice. We enjoyed the overnight stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Overnight stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on August 05, 2016

Really lovely experience...from the moment you walk in the door! Wine on the terrace, exceptional breakfast and lovely host!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best B&B so far at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We stayed at the Irwin house for two nights in June. We have stayed in quite a few B&Bs over the years but this place has been the best. It took our breath away when we first walked in to see the beautiful staircase and wood work in the main room. The innkeepers Sarah and Brittany showed us around the mansion. It was amazing. The service while we stayed was excellent. If we needed anything we just called Sarah o rBrittany and they would help us. We were served wine at 5pm in the evenings as part of guest services. We then walked down to a great Italian restaurant for dinner and then over to a bar for drinks before returning to sleep in a wonderful room. We chose to stay in the Elsie Sweeney Room.It had mahogany bedroom set with king bed. The bathroom had a vintage bath/shower combination. The breakfast we had on the first morning was fabulous but nothing compared to the Bananas Foster we had the second morning. The location was just a couple of blocks from downtown Columbus. Easy to walk to restaurants and bars in the evening and historic sites during the day. We loved the place so much we are giving our daughter and her husband a night there for their upcoming anniversary. And I am taking my wife back to stay for her birthday.

View more reviews for this inn


One of a kind place to stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on June 27, 2016

The building and the gardens are absolutely beautiful! Friendly service and excellent breakfast. The only negative was the dirty bathroom. The toilet was dirty and a good layer of dust was on the base of the sink. Looked like the room hadn't been used in a while, the floors were dusty too. Will definitely stay again and check the room before settling in.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique B&B experience at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.0 reviewed on June 14, 2016

We’d been curious about Irwin Gardens since it opened as a B&B in 2010. The 1910 Edwardian mansion with its unique sunken formal garden is located adjacent to the Henry Moore arch sculpture and the First Christian Church which began Columbus’ reputation for architecture in 1942. The mansion and garden give you a bit of a Downton Abbey experience. Rooms are named after members of the Irwin family, responsible for Columbus’ architectural heritage. The interior is a bit plain and sparse with none of the Victorian fussiness. And since it’s remained in the family until becoming a B&B, it’s remarkably well preserved, with original period furniture and fixtures. A wedding rehearsal dinner was held the evening we were there, but it didn’t interfere with our enjoyment. Breakfast was served in a small dining room, mainly tables for two which didn’t allow much conversation with other guests. The weekend rates make this the most expensive B&B we’ve stayed at, but it is a unique experience, walking distance to all that downtown Columbus has to offer.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome Stay! Beautiful place! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

We loved staying at the Irwin Gardens! It is such a beautiful place and the history of the building and the gardens is breathtaking. We will be back for another stay sometime soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend get away at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.2 reviewed on May 25, 2016

My wife and I were looking for a unique experience, the Inn at Irwin Gardens delivered. Breakfast was delicious, the garden offered a pleasant place to sit and the house was full of charm and elegance.

View more reviews for this inn


Great oasis in the town of Columbus, IN at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2016

It was so easy to get around town with the stay at the Inn at Irwin Gardens. The venue was quiet and close by to everything. We could walk or drive following the map of all the sculpture and buildings that were on the map. (Picked up the map at the Visitors Center for $3- great directions and excellent descriptions). Food was excellent! Sarah, our host, was great at making sure we were well attended. The archituecture and the furnishings were in excellent condition and made the venue feel like it was part of another era- which of course it was! Drove to Nashville, IN, where the arts and crafts were in abundance. Although it was a Monday and a lot of the stores were closed , we still were able to see and shop. Highly recommend a stay- you won't be disappointed. Lisa K Gleeson May 3,2016

View more reviews for this inn


Hoosier Abbey at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.4 reviewed on April 18, 2016

What a wonderful gem. Indiana has a museum quality bed and breakfast in the heart of one of the most architecturally significant cities in the country. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and plan to return when the gardens are in blooms. The service was wonderful and the food was outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


What a wonderful stay at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on February 29, 2016

My fiance and I could not have asked for a more perfect romantic getaway. The house was gorgeous, the innkeeper was so nice and helpful (she had champagne, flowers, and chocolate covered strawberries waiting our arrival), and the weather was perfect that weekend. Truly everything came together for an amazing weekend. We honestly wish we stayed longer because the Inn was so beautiful that we didn't really ever get a chance to check out the town!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on January 15, 2016

The Ruddick-Nugent House was a wonderful get-a-way from home. We traveled a couple of hours just to have a weekend away, without getting too far from home. Dennis and Joyce were wonderful people that were great company when we wanted company. When we wanted a chance just to spend time together we were able to get peace and quiet, as if we were the only ones there, in a full house. The house had a great story behind it and was very comfortable. We appreciated the Orwins making our first night away from our daughter an enjoyable and comfortable one.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Experience! at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2016

My husband and I had a delightful stay at the Inn.It's truly like stepping back in time. The entire mansion is as it was in the early 1900's. We stayed in the top floor "bachelor" suite which overlooked the gardens. The room was very comfortable, with amazing detailed woodwork, and featured the original wrap around shower in the bathroom! We were served a full breakfast in the dining room and the innkeeper was very caring and helpful. If you are traveling around the Columbus area I would highly recommend a visit here.

View more reviews for this inn


Grand Getaway at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2015

Wonderfully preserved estate. Great location. Excellent food and service. So relaxing!

View more reviews for this inn


WEEKEND GETAWAY at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on November 11, 2015

What a charming place to stay! Room was very comfortable and quiet. The garden was done for the season but would be beautiful in the summer. Breakfast, the only meal, was okay but not spectacular. Inn keeper was very courteous and helpful. Loved looking at the turn of the century fixtures and nick-naks, especially all the old magazines from the 30's and 40's.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden gem at The Inn at Irwin Gardens (Columbus, Indiana)

4.6 reviewed on November 10, 2015

Outstanding historic Inn and gardens. It is like stepping back in time. It offers a great location in downtown Columbus and has the wonderful One Body One Soul Spa in the caretaker's cottage. Breakfast was outstanding too! We would highly recommend this property.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent weekend getawaty at Ruddick-Nugent House (Columbus, Indiana)

4.8 reviewed on November 09, 2015

My wife and I spent the weekend in Columbus as a weekend vacation and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Riddick-Nugent B&B...Dennis and Joyce are amazing hosts who truly know what the service industry is all about. A beautiful house, with amazing accommodations, and the breakfast every morning was outstanding. Would strongly recommend anyone looking for a B&B this is where we would recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Ruddick-Nugent House (4.77)
  2. The Inn at Irwin Gardens (4.55)
Top
}