Recent Reviews in Clemson, South Carolina

Charming B&B with stellar breakfast at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on March 02, 2018

We recently enjoyed an evening stay during our son's local athletic event. Tom is an exceptional host - very hospitable and a great conversationalist. The breakfast was amazing! Sharon, Tom's partner, was also delightful. The bedrooms are upstairs and share a common bathroom. The stairs are very steep and could pose a challenge to the elderly or someone without balance or strength. The Cotton Gin is a bit rustic but very comfortable. We will stay again when in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Great bed and breakfast! at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on January 07, 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New Years and it was awesome! The food is spectacular! Fresh fruit and juice in the morning, then coffee is a great way to start a day. Tom was an excellent host and really fun to get to know and talk to. Really enjoyed our stay, would stay again for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent! at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on January 04, 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New Year's Eve and it was wonderful! Tom makes such good breakfast with his own interpretation of traditional breakfast plates. The place is just so cozy, like a home away from home, with less chores. Definitely reccomend it to anyone looking to have a quiet, relaxing getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


I will be back at Cateechee (Hartwell, Georgia)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2017

What a great destination. Awesome property. Dinner was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the gorgeous Masters Bedroom and enjoyed visiting other visitors in a very relaxed common room. Coffee and pasteries served in the common room for breakfast. This would be a great destination for 4 couples or a group of friends to visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay at Cateechee (Hartwell, Georgia)

5 reviewed on November 25, 2017

Our stay at Cateechee was delightful. The staff members were all very friendly and accommodating, and our room was pretty, clean, and comfortable. The food was delicious. We recommend Cateechee highly and hope to return.

View more reviews for this inn


The Cotton Gin is Great! at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on November 17, 2017

Tom (the proprietor) was very welcoming and a great conversationalist. His hospitality was topped only by the shrimp and grits that I had the next morning. The Cotton Gin is a hidden gem near Clemson - please enjoy it!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at Magnolia Hill (Pendleton, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2017

Mix up in reservations so owner did not know we were coming. She did not miss a beat getting things ready for us. Had a wonderful time. Food was delicious and very plentiful. Large rooms. Great location! Will certainly go back when in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


The Cotton Gin - Great breakfast - Great host at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on April 07, 2016

I cant say enough nice things about our host. He was there to ensure that our stay with him was as pleasant as possible. Thanks Tom, we will see you again soon. Hopefully we can get some fishing in.

View more reviews for this inn


Little Rustic Gem at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2015

Tom the host made the trip. Super hospitable and an amazing chef, best breakfasts I've had in a while. Its very close to the lake and yacht club and if you are nice to him he might take you for a sail. Quiet country environment, killer open fire, deer in the front yard. I will be back to take on the fly fishing challenge. Only negative is the bed in the suite may just be as old as the property, but if you aren't a princess you can still get a good nights sleep:) Dr S. Auckland. New Zealand.

View more reviews for this inn


charming B&B at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 18, 2015

Hi, in June we stayed at Tom's -The Cotton Gin-. We stopped by on our way back to Atlanta Airport to catch our flight back to Germany. The Cotton Gin is a lovely place with history and located in the forest and close to lake hartwell. Tom is a great host. He serves excellent cheese and drinks in the evening and a fresh and individual home-cooked breakfast. We got an bowl of fresh fruits, southern breakfast(grits, sausage, ...) and omelet. Superb! Real B&B feeling wirh interesting conversations on many different topics. Greeting from Hamburg N&R

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and relaxing!! at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2015

Our stay at The Cotton Gin was very relaxing and inviting. When we arrived, we were shown to our room by the charming owner. Later that evening he had candles lit and wine, cheese and crackers laid out for our enjoyment. The next morning we were served a delicious breakfast that started with hot pop overs fresh from the oven, a bowl of fresh fruit and a steaming cup of coffee. As if this wasn't enough, we were then served Shrimp and cheese grits, but these were no ordinary shrimp and grits. He added bacon, onions and topped it with an egg slightly over easy. This was an amazing dish that any food lover would devour!! Great place to visit. A lot of history and charm!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Unique and Romantic at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 21, 2015

My stay at this one of a kind B&B was extra ordinary. The historic structure, welcoming attitude,culinary skills,and conversation of the charming innkeeper Combine to create a memorable visit. Sailing and flyfishing classes contributed to An unforgettable experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2015

A very comfortable stay with a highly interesting gentleman, whose cooking is superb! The historic structure is tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings and creative artifacts.

View more reviews for this inn


Cotton Gin November 2014 at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

3.0 reviewed on December 05, 2014

The innkeeper is a charming gentleman -- chatting with him was probably the best part of our stay. We enjoyed learning about his background and his hands-on restoration of this 200-year-old building. It felt like we were visiting a favorite uncle rather than hotel guests. Also, he was very accommodating with a late modification to our reservation date. If you like a homey, rustic atmosphere, this B&B is for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming getaway at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on November 14, 2014

The Cotton Gin is a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation of fishing or sailing. Conveniently located a stone's throw away from marina on Lake Hartwell. Tom was a gracious host and a wonderful cook! Would return for the huge stone fireplace alone.

View more reviews for this inn


review of the collon gin at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on November 07, 2014

I so enjoyed my stay at the cotton gin. I was in town visiting my daughter who attends Clemson and the gin is close to Clemson . Tom is so very nice and the food was superb. The fireplace was going at all times and sleeping was undisturbed . When in the area i will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


A charming B&B where we will return!! at The Cotton Gin (Anderson, South Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

My husband & I had the most enjoyable stay at this charming, 200-yr-old, inn. We were greeted with open arms by the delightful owner. In the evening we all sat by the cozy, stone fireplace while eating cheese & crackers, sipping our drinks & having wonderful conversation. Our room was equipped with everything we needed and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was even a sauna in our bathroom, but unfortunately, we did not have time to use it. We woke up in the morning to the aroma of freshly brewed coffee & a fabulous farm breakfast proudly prepared by the owner. After breakfast, he took us for a ride to Lake Hartwell on his golf cart & showed us the marina & walking areas. We highly recommend staying at The Cotton Gin! Their hospitality was wonderful & very memorable! We already feel like we have new friends! The next time we stay there we hope to have more time at the Inn. Also, getting to meet the other couples staying there was so much fun.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Cateechee (5)
  2. Magnolia Hill (5)
  3. The Cotton Gin (4.34)
Top
check }