Recent Reviews in Chula Vista, California

Pleasant stay in San Diego at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

3.6 reviewed on August 19, 2017

Charming refurbished historic hotel. Family owned and operated. Very clean with a plentiful breakfast provided until 10:00 am so one could sleep in if desired. Convenient parking. Nice patio so that you could have your breakfast outdoors. Only thing I would suggest is that they provide coffee during the day, maybe with a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice B&B, comfortable, may need a little maintenance at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

3.8 reviewed on August 12, 2017

Breakfast was great, room was comfortable and nice, bathroom was OK

View more reviews for this inn


Above & Beyond at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 10, 2017

We stayed here during a trip to San Diego. I appreciate the owners' preservation of the historic site, including naming the rooms to include the history of Chula Vista. El Primero is a great escape from the big hotel chains and offers quiet accommodations in quaint Chula Vista. The owners go above and beyond by offering suggestions for local eateries and activities. They take the time to talk with all travelers who pass through. Great option to experience something different.

View more reviews for this inn


Homey and lovely at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 27, 2017

I stayed here for four nights during ComiCon. (I booked in January and this was the closest accommodation I could find!) Pie, Sol, Karen and Katie are all truly lovely people and I felt well cared for and taken care of. The breakfast deserves every possible accolade--tasty, lots of variety, not short on the protein (often a problem with hotel breakfasts), and served in a beautiful setting. The bed was also very comfy and the air conditioner kept things cool at night. The hotel was surprisingly quiet and I rarely heard anything from any other room, and the street noise was also minimal. The only caveat I will give, and this is NOT the hotel's fault, is that if you are trying to get back here from downtown San Diego after 11 PM or so, public transportation is no longer available, so getting there is basically impossible without an Uber or cab. Still, it was worth it and I would gladly stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


The BEST people and place!!! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2017

WOW! Where do I begin? Firstly, I read the reviews on the El Primero before deciding to review the rooms. Then I picked up the phone, on Father's Day, to be greeted by the most pleasant man you'd ever want to encounter... PIE!!! I don't quite know where his name comes from, but he is truly a Sweetie PIE! I booked my room directly from the hotel's website - such a nice, clean and easy website and process - then headed to the hotel later that afternoon. I then met SOL and immediately felt like family. Her husband, PIE, had already told her about me so we instantly connected. Being new to SD, Sol shared her story of coming to SD, how she and Pie met, how they came to be the owners of El Primero... just like family!!! She is the most beautiful soul/SOL (inside and out) ever. I ended up staying 3 nights where I met their daughter, Karen, on my last night and am literally a part of their family now. The rooms are absolutely adorable, clean and comfortable. The breakfast and courtyard... it doesn't get any better. There are not enough words to describe how great the location, owners, staff, and experiences are; just go see for yourself!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Primo Stay at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 19, 2017

The staff and owners of the El Primero are wonderful people. It's just like visiting home and seeing family.

View more reviews for this inn


A great hotel/B&B hybrid at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2017

We were looking for somewhere with more privacy than a standard B&B and found this place. In short: Outstanding food, friendly (but unobtrusive) hosts that go above and beyond (even pulled out a tricycle for my son to use), clean quarters, great location, would definitely come back!

View more reviews for this inn


A classic! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on March 25, 2017

We had a great trip to San Diego, which was made all the better by our stay at the El Primero. This hotel was built in the 1930's, so sure, the rooms are smaller than what you might find in a chain hotel, but any reduction in floor space is made up in charm and comfort (the bed was especially comfy for us.) Breakfasts are yummy and generous and the owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The next time that we find ourselves in sunny Southern California, we'll be sure to book a stay as part of our experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay in Chula Vista at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

3.8 reviewed on February 20, 2017

We stayed here because we were going to the CBX the day. Karen was incredibly helpful and friendly. Very good value in a personal and family atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Love El Primero Hotel at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2016

Enjoyed our stay. Great value for your money. Excellent full breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic place to stay. at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

3.4 reviewed on November 14, 2016

We traveled from Los Angeles to attend a Halloween costume party and our party host recommended this Hotel due to its proximity to the party. She recommended several local Hotels but we went to their website and we were sold on the Architecture and age of the building. We were treated special and the Hotel is completely restored. We would definitely would stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location for an event in San Diego! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.0 reviewed on November 11, 2016

I stayed at this B&B for an event in San Diego. The location was great for me, as well as for the cute town of Chula Vista. You can walk out onto 3rd street and wander the local shops or snag a bite to eat at one of the many restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately I did not receive the room I reserved on the second floor and I was woken up by late night party goers. The hotel is old so there will be noises heard- but that is to be expected by such an old, charming hotel. The staff was extremely outgoing, the included breakfast was much more than anticipated, and parking was free and onsite.

View more reviews for this inn


Realy friendly owners at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2016

Lovely small place with a patio where breakfast is served, and you can sit outside and relax. Fast WI-FI.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on September 11, 2016

My husband and I stayed at El Primero hotel after our wedding and we were treated so well. They accomodated our late check-in and provided us a beautiful romance package with champagne and chocolate strawberries. The next day we had a lovely breakfast on their patio and it was all together a great experience! Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


El Primero at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 15, 2016

From the time you walk in the door you become part of Pi and Sol's family. They were in the process of renovating a few rooms and to ensure that I was not bothered too much, they upgraded me to the room that I originally wanted. There were a few issues that came up but they were remedied in a quick manner. Breakfast was served every morning and it was delicious. The hotel was safe, secure and parking was available throughout my stay. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that is looking for a home away from home.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of Chula Vista at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 22, 2016

Have stayed here 3 times and every time has been great. Family owned and they take a real interest in you. Breakfast is great with fresh fruit everyday.

View more reviews for this inn


Cute hotel, great place to stay at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2016

I stayed for only one night with my 3 children. From the moment we arrived, everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a great feel, we felt very safe. The room was very nice, spacious, and very clean. We enjoyed eating breakfast out in the courtyard and meeting the owners. Lovely stay, wish we had more nights there.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Independence Weekend Stay at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2016

Me and my fiance stayed from July 3rd to the 4th, 2016. This place is amazing. We stayed in the Balboa Park room, great comfortable bed, tv with cable, and the owners are very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and its included at no extra charge. I will definitely be coming back, for a longer stay.

View more reviews for this inn


One of our favorites at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.6 reviewed on July 16, 2016

We've been visiting San Diego and staying at El Primero for over five years. Pie and Sol are wonderful hosts and staying there is such a great vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


great little palace at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

everything was wonderful

View more reviews for this inn


Historic Hotel at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 29, 2016

This hotel is very clean and well maintained. There are many nice touches that the owners have done. The hotel is on a nice street that is safe and has many shops, restaurants and bars only a short walk away. It is about a 15 or 20 minute drive to the San Diego Harbor and the Gas Lamp District. The room we stayed in was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed breakfast in the outside courtyard. Pie, his wife and family were very welcoming and friendly. Staying in this historic hotel is like stepping back in time. We enjoyed our stay there. Don't expect face value for B and B Gift Card.

View more reviews for this inn


great place!! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

stayed here for a night after attending a show at the amphitheater. our room was immaculate, great little touches like a black towel for removing makeup, and good quality shampoo, soap, etc. towels were plush and full sized. bed was incredibly comfortable. conveniently located across from a 711 convenience store and great dining availabel within walking distance down 3rd ave. breakfast was delicious and healthy with options for everyone. owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome as soon as we walked in. will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Oasis at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 13, 2016

Far exceeded my expectations. Delightful oasis in the city and great dining within walking distance. Owner/manger is a kick, very well informed, personable, and just plain fun to talk with. Wish I could have stayed longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice owners at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on May 08, 2016

Quick weekend trip turned into a great boarding find, we will be returning when we visit again

View more reviews for this inn


One night stay at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.6 reviewed on March 30, 2016

one night stay

View more reviews for this inn


Spring Break Vacation at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on March 21, 2016

The El Primero was an excellent boutique bed and breakfast hotel for the money. The room, though small, was exceptionally clean and was serviced each day with clean towels and washcloths. Pi was very friendly and accommodating. There was a nice variety of breakfast items, however, the breakfast was the same each of the three mornings that we were there. We enjoyed our stay there, and would go back. The nightly rate is very reasonable.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Value - Great Location at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.8 reviewed on February 22, 2016

You cannot beat the value and the location was very convenient for touring the San Diego area. This is a family run bed and breakfast inn and they were very attentive to our needs. Breakfast was very good. Lot's of dining choices within walking distance and/or a very short drive. The only comment I have is the room was a little small. Next time and there will be a next time, I will book a larger room.

View more reviews for this inn


Above and beyond! at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2016

I'm a nurse by profession and I know what it means professionally and personally to go above and beyond for my patients (and others). The staff at El Primero does just that. Not only were they personable, friendly and gave us a map to help us plan our day to coastal San Diego, but they catered breakfast to own dietary needs and left a cute bottle of red with a note to congratulate me and my groom! This place is not only inexpensive; they are exceptional and you will not regret it.

View more reviews for this inn


Great reasonably priced accomodations at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

4.4 reviewed on August 20, 2015

Room small but very clean. Owners available and very helpful with directions and brochures. Breakfasts were early enough for those of us who wish to get going and were full of fresh fruit, eggs and meat, cereal, coffee, teas, milk and juice; several types of bread. Very well balanced for those who want to eat a healthy meal. One of the best B&B breakfasts we have ever had.

View more reviews for this inn


When in San Diego at El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel (Chula Vista, California)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2015

When in SD, you got to stay at the El Primero. This was our second stay and we continue to enjoy this quite and quaint B&B. Love the owners who make you feel like you're visiting family or good friends. The rooms have the 3 C's, cozy, clean and comfortable, that is all we needed and the price is very reasonable for the area. I think the best deal in town. By the way one of the best Continental breakfast around.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }