Recent Reviews in Cherokee, North Carolina

Away From It All at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 09, 2017

We so enjoyed this peaceful gem in the woods! The setting couldn't of been more lovely. We were warmly greeted by Alice, Doug, and the adorable Skippy. Our room was cozy and we enjoyed snacks out on our private deck listening and watching the stream that runs along the property. If you're looking for a peaceful getaway, this is definitely the place to go! We are hoping to return again!

View more reviews for this inn


Luxury accommodations in a backcountry setting at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 23, 2017

The Owls perch is a luxury accommodation situated deep in the woods. Perched above a beautiful stream, the rushing waters lull you to sleep in the evening after a nice dinner on the porch. The owners are a pleasure to chat with, and leave you as much privacy as you would like. The accommodation is impeccably maintained, tidy and clean. Reasonably priced, it makes the perfect getaway. I would recommend this B&B to anyone without hesitation.

View more reviews for this inn


Into the Woods! at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on July 30, 2017

If you are looking for seclusion, quiet and adventure, this place is for you! We were excited to have an experience that took us up into the woods (half an hour in). The scenery is outstanding- the creek below cascades down over rocks. Alice and Doug are lovely, and our room was a fun-sized cabin that completed the ambience. Breakfast was good too! Attention to detail was considered in design and decor. What a fun place to stay! Since Alice had mentioned that their place was removed from town, we ate at The Hub (a converted gas station) before heading in. We wanted to arrive before dark, since we knew the remoteness could present a problem. But Alice's directions took us right to the place! Although the cell will not work, we did put our car's gps on and actually saw Squally Road on it! Be sure to travel while light since the road is narrow at points. Road travel is not for the squeamish. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous Mountain Getaway at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2017

The Owl's Perch is a beautiful, off the beaten path mountain getaway! The Squally creek mountain stream is very soothing & a great place to enjoy Mother Nature's true beauty. Doug & Alice's hospitality is top notch & they truly love their perfect getaway to share the experience with others. Thanks Doug & Alice for a wonderful weekend experience!!! Your Chattanooga/Nebraska Friends

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful and relaxing vacation place at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2017

We can't say enough of how wonderful our stay was at Alice and Doug's place. This was our first "unplugged" vacation in years and a much needed one. The space is small but well laid out and adequate. It is very clean and has all the essentials we needed. Thoughtful touches throughout the place really shows how caring the innkeepers are to ensure a comfortable experience for their guests. As for the location and setting, couldn't get any better than listening to the river below put you to sleep at night, and waking up seeing the morning sunlight shining through the tree branches right from your bed. We highly recommend this home away from home and would love to come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


The most wonderful relaxing getaway at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2017

We can't say enough of how wonderful our stay at Alice and Doug's place. This was our first "unplugged" vacation in years and a much needed one. The space is small but well laid out and adequate. It is very clean and has all the essentials we needed. As for the location and setting, couldn't get any better than listening to the river below put you to sleep at night, and waking up watching the morning sunlight shining through the tree branches right from your bed. We highly recommend this home away from home and would love to come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2017

This is an amazing place. Beautiful, quiet, calm, surrounded by nature. Words cannot describe having a home-cooked (by the host) hot breakfast on the balcony shaded by tall trees while listening to the sounds of the creek below. The hosts are wonderful, and are a wealth of information on things to do and see in the area. You will not regret your stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Backwoods paradise! at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on April 21, 2017

We had a wonderful one night stay at The Owl's Perch. The cabin has everything you might need and more. The décor is precious and comfortable. Breakfast on the deck with the creek as a backdrop was wonderful. We enjoyed meeting Doug and Alice, their dog, Skippy, and foster puppy, Wiley. Don't hesitate to stay here. You will love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2017

The Owl's Perch is a wonderful B&B in the woods on a beautiful mountain stream. The setting is peaceful & relaxing with nature all around. The guest room is lovely yet rustic with every convenience we needed. The breakfasts were delicious and I was surprised to find a thoughtful birthday treat when we arrived. Innkeepers Doug and Alice are warm & welcoming and we felt comfortable and right at home. They shared their knowledge of the area and the many recreational opportunities that are at our disposal. We highly recommend this wonderful B&B & we can't wait to go back! If you want to be one on one with nature this is the place to go. Russ & Margo

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 09, 2016

The whole trip exceeded our expectations. The owls perch was absolutely beautiful and all the small details made us feel right at home. Alice, Doug & Skippy were wonderful hosts and shared some of their favorite spots with us and lead us to some incredible adventures. All in all, It is a trip we will never forget!

View more reviews for this inn


We came as guests and left as old friends! at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2016

My wife and I were hiking the AT and were fortunate enough to find Doug, Alice and the Owl's Perch. As hikers we had needs beyond their normal guests but they opened up their home to us and gladly helped. Alice picked us up at the trail head, took us to the grocery to resupply and washed our very stinky clothes. They invited us to dinner with their friends and treated us like family. We felt like old friends and not just guests. Our room was awesome and more than we expected. We had everything we needed for a very relaxing stay. We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend the Owl's Perch.

View more reviews for this inn


A great place to get away at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

Doug and Alice are 2 great hosts. Wonderful people to spend an evening with. Stayed one night but before we left it felt like home. Very hospitable and gracious hosts. We fell asleep to the sounds of nature and the rushing Creek. I would definitely come back again, it is a great place if you want to get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect basecamp, perfect room, perfect hosts, and kindest of people! at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 15, 2016

I was researching the area for a possible site to buy and build a cabin of our own. The Owls Perch is perfect for a couple that doesn't need the excess space and cost of a rental cabin. It provides all the essentials at a more than reasonable price, and has a view/atmosphere you would be lucky to replicate. Alice and Doug define premium hospitality. Staying solo I was prepared for junk food meals, and they were nice enough to invite me to all their meals! I brought in some fresh fish and scallops from Florida, and we had great fellowship over some great food prepared by Alice. It turned into a bed, breakfast, and dinner! I can't say enough about good things coming in small packages. The cabin is decorated with premium and rustic attributes unique to the area. It was extremely clean and has everything you need. Thanks for making it a great trip!

View more reviews for this inn


Diamond in the rough at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Host are great. Breakfast good. If u like off the grid this is it. All u can hear is the sound of the water in the creek and crickets at night. Cozy little place we lived it.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique, private and very accomodating at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2016

We had a wonderful time staying here. Its a bit off the beaten path, but that is what made it charming. Wonderful and very accommodating hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


awesome at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

I had a super time I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before it was an excellent experience.alice was so amazing she was flexible in service time for breakfast Doug greeted me openly . nothing was out of place the creek running behind the room was super so soothing just as wonderful as the ocean sounds thanks for opening your home to me thanks again Shirley

View more reviews for this inn


RELAX at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2016

My wife and I had a terrific time at The Owl's Perch. The host family was extremely nice and breakfast was yummy. I was very impressed with the details and workmanship of the Perch. The view and sound of the creek brought total relaxation to our trip. The best way to say how we feel-we are trying to find time to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Mountain Stream Escape at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 13, 2016

My husband and I stayed at Owl's Perch upon the recommendation of another local b and b hostess, March 18 and 19th, 2006. We enjoyed everything about our stay. This space is nothing short of a "small house", everything so cleverly designed and decorated beautifully. The crowning touch was the spacious porch where we could sit with our morning breakfast, or evening wine. Alice prepared and brought to our room delicious meals for breakfast. We truly hope to return.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful and relaxing stay at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

My husband and I stayed at The Owl's Perch in November, 2015 for 3 days. We were looking to get away from city life and relax, and we were able to do that here. We knew to expect a remote road and our Honda Civic made it just fine. Alice, Doug, and their adorable dog, Skippy, greeted us. They were the perfect hosts - very warm and welcoming and willing to recommend things to do, etc. but also gave us our privacy. The guest house was even more beautiful in person than in photos - they really thought of everything! Our favorite part was sitting on our private deck, looking at and listening to the breathtaking creek. We also really enjoyed hiking around the area - it's so quiet, peaceful, and beautiful. This was the perfect relaxing getaway and we are already planning on when to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Cabin in the Woods at The Owl's Perch (Robbinsville, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2016

What a wonderful and charming place to stay. The owners have included everything to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. From the cute kitchenette to the warm and inviting room, all of the details of a cabin are there. We loved going to sleep listening to Squally Creek's rushing waters just outside the room. Doug and Alice were wonderful hostesses providing us with an array of activities to enjoy the hills of the Smokey's. We will be back for another relaxing stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Owl's Perch (4.87)
Top
check }