Recent Reviews in Chatfield, Minnesota

Excellent Host at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on November 18, 2016

The host was magnificent, the morning meal was pleasent. Out of the way location but certainly would visit again given the opportunity.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on November 07, 2016

i would rate the breakfast as better then average or the standard usually seen at many B&B's

View more reviews for this inn


Emphasis on Breakfast at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on October 26, 2016

The breakfast was amazing. We were served four courses at a formal setting. Our hosts Bob and RuthAnn were very friendly and accommodating.

View more reviews for this inn


Cannot wait to return! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on October 24, 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay. The house is beautiful and you could spend a day just looking at all of the collections. I will definitely be back. Kris Wine

View more reviews for this inn


Review of Guest House - Not main house. at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.4 reviewed on October 21, 2016

Very convenient location, blocks from the Main Street of Chatfield. comfortable house, nice kitchen, great lighting, all towels, dishes, etc are furnished. nice room with en-suite bathroom. Only concern was the water pressure in the shower, just the shower, bathroom sink was fine. I did not ask the Inn Keeper about the water pressure and probably should have. That was the only issue with my room The living room needs updated furniture, the pieces are older and the springs are gone in the couch, the upholstery has some dirt and stains. The room could benefit from some new pieces, that being said, it was still a wonderful place and I will definitely go back. There are no other places to stay in town and because of that, the price was as expected, however, the renters share a common kitchen, dining room and tv room, and do their own dishes, because of that it reminded me of a hostel, and if I compare it to a hostel then the price could be $10-$15 lower. - - or is it more like airbnb and the price is spot on? hard to say. What is easy to say is that the house has a very inviting and comfortable feel to it. the location is perfect, the innkeeper is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. (as was everyone I encountered in town). The few issues I mentioned are in no way enough to stop me from returning. I had an enjoyable stay and will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful House at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.8 reviewed on October 05, 2016

Beautiful house located in rural Southern Minnesota. It's an antique hunters dream and full of collectibles from a different era. The house and history are interesting and the owners are willing to talk about this history if you ask questions. The house itself is old....and not soundproof so be prepared to hear the people above, below and around you. Not sure there is much to be done there but could easily hear conversations in other rooms in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2016

We enjoyed our stay and the owners were part of the reason why the experience was so delightful! We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing stay! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

Ruth Ann was so welcoming and the house is amazing! You could get lost for hours exploring this place! Full of antiques and it has a true Victorian feel. Breakfast was great and oh so delicious! Thank you for an amazing stay!

View more reviews for this inn


weekend getaway at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on July 29, 2016

wonderful weekend, beautiful home and amazing people. Would definitely recommend and return

View more reviews for this inn


Gluten free accommodations! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on June 13, 2016

I stayed in the Terrace View room for two nights, and I enjoyed access to the terrace and bridge to back yard. My gluten-free diet was easily accommodated - one of the managers of Oakenwald is gluten-free, too, so I didn't feel judged.

View more reviews for this inn


Great getaway at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2016

We highly recommend this B&B. The service is excellent as well as the food. Each room is unique with its own bit of history. We have stayed 4 times. Close proximity to Amish country is nice. Be sure and ask for a tour of the home.

View more reviews for this inn


Oak Ter B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on October 27, 2015

Beatifull home, great experience, very freindly, and exceptional breakfast

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on June 17, 2015

We recently enjoyed our time at the Oakenwald Terrace. The bed/pillows/room were very comfortable and we slept great. The breakfast was scrumptious--a good balance between sweets and healthy. This is a gorgeous home; and Bob, one of the innkeepers, gave all the guests a wonderful tour, sharing lots of history and stories. If we are ever in the area again, we'll definitely return to the Oakenwald!

View more reviews for this inn


Class reunion trip! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2015

Wonderful hosts, beautiful home and setting. Could stay for days and not get tired of the lawns and all there is to see in this beautiful, historic home. Thanks for the hospitality

View more reviews for this inn


Unbelievable collections of Antiques at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on May 15, 2015

We loved our stayed. The home and decor were jaw dropping. Ruth Ann is a perfect tour guide, along with husband Bob Lund, the breakfast (4 courses ) left us delighted and well fed. Very good food. WARNING: we will never use B&B website again but book directly. They never credited our gift card and fought and fought with us over a small sum of money. Bad business practice . But Oakenwald home and owners were excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for the suggestion at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on February 07, 2015

My husband and I have stayed in Lanesboro a few times before but after looking at the reviews here, we decided to try this B&B instead. Wow, this is very different from our other B&B experiences. The home was great. Clean, large rooms, great beds, wonderful decorations... but we felt different than at most of the B&B's we have stayed at in the past. The hosts gave us several hours of their time. We toured the house which took at least two hours. There were so many stories and so much history. We saw the entire home, from the basement to the attic. There was no "This is our part of the house and that is your part" like you get in most B&B's. We felt more like family than guests. Breakfast was wonderful, but they should call it brunch so that you have a better understanding of the amount of food they serve... but it was so good, we ate it all. We visit the Bluff Country / Lanesboro area once or twice a year. We have tried different B&B's because we like seeing new things. We have now found our "Go To" place to stay. Thanks again to others for sharing and convincing us to give Oakenwald Terrace a try.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Bed and Breakfast in Chatfield at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on October 24, 2014

Very gracious host who was very accommodating. Beautiful older home.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Oakenwald Terrace at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on October 24, 2014

A great choice if you find yourself in the Chosen Valley.

View more reviews for this inn


Oakenwald Terrace at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.0 reviewed on October 10, 2014

We were happy with our stay. No complaints.

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Our Expectations! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on August 04, 2014

History of this property is fascinating and the host were absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend the experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Jewel in Chatfield at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on June 28, 2014

The Oakenwald Terrace B & B is a gorgeously decorated home (or should we say, mansion) and something to behold. While attractive and spacious looking on the outside, the inside of the home is amazing. We were fortunate to receive a tour from Marion, the owner, and as described on the website, she is a “guide, historian, and storyteller”. The rooms are every bit as lovely and spacious as they appear on the website. The dining room and table are beautifully decorated, and the 3-course breakfast served by Ruth Ann and Bob was wonderful. For any who live near Chatfield, the Oakenwald would be a fantastic setting for a Christmas party or other celebration. You couldn’t go wrong! It would be a treat to return to the Oakenwald.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing & Calm at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on April 30, 2014

Our Anniversary stay was truly enjoyable. The atmosphere was elegant, relaxing and calm. We had a fantastic and very historical tour of the home. The room was spacious and decorated perfectly for the time period. Breakfast was a gourmet delight of several courses, all very well prepared. Looking forward to the Holiday Open House in December. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful experience! at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.6 reviewed on February 18, 2014

I would absolutely stay again and intend to. The atmosphere and service were one of a kind and I would recommend you visit as soon as you're able.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful stroll back into history at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

3.6 reviewed on January 24, 2014

A wonderful stay! Gorgeous and perfectly preserved by the owners, who kindly provided a tour and shared with us the rich history of this gracious home. We had a lovely time amid their truly bountiful memories.

View more reviews for this inn


charming b&b at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.8 reviewed on October 16, 2013

beautiful home, wonderful meals and great proprieters!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.0 reviewed on October 15, 2013

What a fine example of the gilded age. My wife and I marveled at the beautiful woodwork and all the antiques that fill every nook and cranny.. Our hosts were warm and welcoming and breakfast was a real treat. We plan to return!

View more reviews for this inn


9/11/13 visit at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.4 reviewed on September 16, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Oakenwald Terrace. I am not a person who enjoys rooms cluttered full of antiques, though. I felt that this home would be much better served and enjoyed if there were fewer items and pieces of furniture in each room - it seemed more than the rooms could handle. If you have small children that need to touch everything (like normal children!) this place would be too stressful. The home has been redecorated over the years to make it as Victorian as possible -with patterns on every wall, ceiling, and floor. For me, personally, it was too much, but the other advantages to being there made up for it. The breakfasts were delicious and there was plenty of it. The meal presentation was beautiful and artful, set on lovely antique dishes. You really did feel pampered by Ruth Ann. On the last morning I met Ms. Marion Lund, the owner of the home, and she is a treasure. What stories she could tell me about the house and its occupants! I think that I could sit all day listening to her and asking questions, had I had the time. Adults with an interest in history will really enjoy visiting here.

View more reviews for this inn


SURPRISE the last on our list is the first on our list. at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on July 29, 2013

At the last minute we booked this amazing experience. Only room left in the region of Lansboro. Willing to take what we could get and WOW it was meant to be. The last chance room was the best room in the Lansboro area. Right out of the history books. Could have stayed longer to take it all in.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay, museum-like house at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

4.2 reviewed on May 22, 2013

A beautiful place to stay with a wonderful breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding & Perfect at Oakenwald Terrace (Chatfield, Minnesota)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2012

Absolutely the best Bed & Breakfast in Southern Mn. The Collections were fascinating and exquisite in every way. A huge mansion. Gave a tour threw it ALL. Took hours to go threw. The Hosts were "out of this world". Very Very Warm and Friendly. Treated Guests like family. Hugs and good conversation - from when we came threw the door, to when we regretfully, had to leave. The atmosphere that was in the home was definitely Spirit Filled Experience. Dan & Janet McGovern

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Oakenwald Terrace (4.45)
Top
check }