Recent Reviews in Charlotte, North Carolina

Warm and Friendly at Morgan and Wells B&B (Shelby, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on September 19, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary. The innkeepers were very friendly and really made an effort to get to know us. This was our first experience at a B&B and they really made an effort to make us feel comfortable and welcome. It was nice that there was always water bottles, lemonade, hot tea and fresh brownies available in the butler's pantry. Breakfast was served fresh and on time every morning at 8am. We would definitely stay here again if ever back in the area. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


My Home Away from Home at Morgan and Wells B&B (Shelby, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2016

I was in town for business and happened to find this place on hotels.com. I was reluctant being that this was my first time at a B&B. Mrs. Melanie and Mr. Derrick made sure that my stay was absolutely great and pleasant. This was my first time staying at a B&B but after the most pleasurable experience I will definitely be considering it more often when in other states. When in Shelby again on business, this will be my place of stay. It felt like a home away from home and the location is filled with nostalgia! The breakfast was amazing, the service was out of this world, and the home is so amazingly beautiful! Not to mention I don't think I've slept so well in a long time. If ever on business, vacation, or just stopping thru, you have to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Wow on Morgan & Wells! at Morgan and Wells B&B (Shelby, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on October 13, 2015

Wow! This property is beautiful. We arrived and were given the tour of the home and told about the history and how it was moved from across the street. The owners have done a beautiful job of restoration and the decor is perfect. The hosts are very friendly which made us feel very comfortable and welcomed. Their attentiveness to each guest was evident in their conversations. When they learned we were interested in wine they suggested we visit the 2 local wineries which was a fun and tasty experience! The breakfast was served family style with a bountiful spread of everything from traditional eggs to shrimp and grits. The French toast was delicious but especially when topped with the homemade syrups. The shower in our room was a bit small but a minor inconvenience when weighed against everything else. We definitely plan to return for another stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay at the Morgan and Wells! at Morgan and Wells B&B (Shelby, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 19, 2015

My boyfriend, who grew up in Shelby, and I stayed at the Morgan and Wells for one night in January. When we were looking for a place to stay, I was surprised that there aren't any hotels near downtown Shelby. This was my first trip to Shelby, so I wanted to be near the center of town rather than on the outskirts off of a big highway. I was excited to find the Morgan and Wells Bed and Breakfast, since it's a historic house near downtown. I was so happy with our choice! The house is exceptionally beautiful! I loved all of the historic details, and I loved the great story of how the B&B owners saved it by literally moving it across the street. Melanie was such a wonderful hostess -- very nice, welcoming, warm, and approachable. We stayed in the James Edward Room on the ground floor, and the bed was so comfortable! It has a memory foam mattress or memory foam mattress topper, which we'd never slept on before but would love to own one now! The hardwood floors and tall ceilings were so elegant, and the bathroom was large for a historic home. The morning after our stay, Melanie provided us with a delicious breakfast in the dining room. It was the perfect end to our experience at Morgan and Wells! I'd love to go back in warmer weather and spend some time out on the large front porch! When we visit Shelby again, we hope to return to the Morgan and Wells!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, awesome place to stay! at Ms. Elsie's Caribbean B&B (Charlotte, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2014

I would highly recommend Ms. Elsie's to anyone seeking a restful and beautiful "home away from home." Ms. Cheryl is an amazing innkeeper and overall person. Along with the outstanding accommodations and breakfast, I feel blessed to have found a new life long friend.

View more reviews for this inn


Unbelievable! at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2014

Melanie and her home were beyond amazing! My family stayed there for one night, and it was just going to be a place to lay our heads after a long day at the nearby Carowinds Amusement Park. We arrived, and were BLOWN AWAY! The pictures, although gorgeous on the websites, do not do justice to seeing it all in person. I have never stayed in a home, let alone a hotel, this spectacular. My three children felt like they were in a dream. We had to leave to go get dinner because we didn't prepare to make dinner there, and that was a disappointment, as the kitchen was nothing short of a chefs dream kitchen. Melanie has thought of everything to make her home feel as though it is your home when you come stay. She even had fresh flowers on the counter for our arrival! We loved the cinema room! Melanie had 2 blow-up mattresses....along with extra sheets, that the children blew up, and enjoyed laying on in the cinema room, as my boyfriend and myself enjoyed the spacious and very comfortable couches in there. We felt like we were in a movie theater....only we were comfortable! We were lucky enough to have had the pleasure of meeting her in person when we arrived, and it will be so nice to have be able to put a face to the most hospitable hostess we have ever encountered, let alone the most memorable place we have ever stayed. She was always just a phone call or a text away if we needed anything. We will all have wonderful memories of the dream home we had the pleasure to stay at. We cannot wait to come back! Thank you so much for everything Melanie! Tina and Mike

View more reviews for this inn


Fews days away from the family at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on July 12, 2012

My mother-in-law and I recently spent 2 days at the Villa. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. From the beautiful entryway and living room to the wonderful suites and cinema area each area of the villa was well presented and conducive to a relaxing time. The location was nice and secluded but not far if you wanted to explore downtown Belmont. It was a very peaceful few days and we are looking forward to returning for another rejuvenation period.

View more reviews for this inn


A stay that has changed our expectation of being away from home! at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2012

My name is Tom and I live in Raleigh, NC. It’s been 33 days since my visit to The Villa at Waters Edge and there has not been a day that neither I nor my family hasn’t thought of The Villa. We have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria, 4 star hotels in NC, etc. and still, we would pick the Villa to stay at hands down. Our favorite anniversary spot in Wrightsville Beach has been changed to the Villa at the Water’s Edge. Everything in the house was clean; I would feel safe to eat off the floor if I needed too. The beds, the entertainment room, the bathrooms, the living room, the front/back yards, the dining room were all beautifully set up and extremely comfortable to be a part of. My favorite was the KITCHEN. Everything I needed to cook a surprise dinner for my wife's birthday was provided in the kitchen, top notch mixer for bread, great oven and all the utensils needed even for the barbeque in the backyard were provided (the grill was foiled and ready to be used). My 2 year old daughter saw the pictures we took of the Villa last night and right away she asked if we can go back. I plan to grant my daughter's wish very soon. Melanie is one of the best people to work with in planning any occasion, which made doing business with The Villa at Waters Edge that much more pleasant. We’re looking forward to our next stay as soon as possible.

View more reviews for this inn


So Lovely! at The Duke Mansion (Charlotte, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2012

A nice surprise and comfortable stay. Friendly staff and great room (317 up in the corner) The breakfast was wonderful. Nice grounds and neighborhood to walk around. Would love to return if the chance arrives.

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Villa! at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 27, 2011

We rented the villa for a one night stay on our way from South Georgia to Snowshoe, W. Va. It was just what we needed to spread out and unwind after a long day on the road with two kids (9,13). Melanie made sure we were comfortable and was always a phone call away if we needed her. We would love to have stayed longer and explored the lake. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful place. Hope to stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Relaxing at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 28, 2011

Thank you for allowing our family to enjoy your beautiful home. We could not have been more comfortable. The villa was well kept, clean and nicely appointed. Thanks for the memories! I look forward to returning in the future. - Jon R.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice weekend getaway at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

4.6 reviewed on September 06, 2011

Stay at the Morehead for that special time away from home. Breakfast was outstanding, the room was nice and well appointed. Will definitely repeat the visit!

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem in Charlotte Area at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2011

We love this place, enjoyed stay there. Very quite and private, you got whole house. The villa is beautiful, it is pretty new, well maintained and decorated, I especially like their bed linens. Also enjoyed canoeing at the lake from backyard, peaceful in the afternoon. Melanie is super nice. We will go back in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


An Exquisite "Diamond in the Rough" at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2011

A beautiful venue that makes you feel as if your far, far, away from the crowd and an absolute perfect arrangement for smaller, intimate events as well. I was able to hold my son's most memorable rehearsal dinner, entertain bride & bridemaids as well as this being the newlywed's "honeymoon night" spot! Melanie gets an A++ and extra praise from me on offering this affordable, luxurious accommodation, I deem it the "Jewel" of Belmont!

View more reviews for this inn


A Neverending Honeymoon at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2011

My husband and I spent our 7th wedding anniversary here. We absolutely love this place and have added it to our list of favorite places to visit. The property was immaculate and the service we received was unmatched. Our experience can only be described as another great investment in a marriage that yields wonderful returns daily. Thanks Melanie for making our experience unforgettable. Tim and Kim

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience and Staff! at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

5 reviewed on June 16, 2011

I stayed at the Morehead while in Charlotte for an interview and could not have been more surprised or pleased. I arrived late on a Wednesday night and the young man waiting was as sweet as he could be, making sure I was comfortable and had everything I could possibly need, he even helped me make a decisions on breakfast in the morning! The breakfast the first morning was delightful as was the service. The staff knew I was heading out for an interview and even wished me good luck! When I arrived home late that evening after an extremely long day in the interview, the young man at the front desk came to check on me and again help me decide what would be best for breakfast the next morning. I had exceptional service the next morning as well and when I returned after yet another long day with a job offer, the staff was so excited and celebratory, it was a wonderful feeling. I look forward to returning here again, especially for a romantic weekend, and enjoying the beautiful scenery and service!

View more reviews for this inn


Breathtaking at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 06, 2010

This was the most relaxing vacation weekend I had in a very long time. The pictures on the web site do not do this house any justice. The house is so beautiful words can't express. It's also off the beat and path that you find yourself taking naps in the middle of the day. We learned that Wilkerson runs pretty much through Charlotte. We ate at Cracker Barrel and enjoyed a wonderful Jazz festival. Oh and the media room you have to experience it for yourself. Let me not forget Melanie was such and wonderful person to deal with while we were in Charlotte. Thanks for making my 23rd anniversary unforgettable Dottie & China

View more reviews for this inn


Step Back in Time at The Duke Mansion (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2010

Located in a beautiful, historic area, drive onto the grounds and you will be swept back in time. The mansion allows you to feel her history as you are escorted to a large, lovely bed chamber. If I highlight only one employee, our breakfast server was wonderful (so were the hosts/hostesses who welcomed us, the workmen replacing a marble tile, the groundspersons). Great dinner options within a healthy walking distance. Just relax and enjoy a porch swing or rocker!

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Visit at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2010

From the warm reception, evening host was welcoming, personable and efficient, to after dinner rose pedals, we really enjoyed our evening at Morehead Inn. Less than 1 mi away, select Sole Spanish Kitchen for dinner! Beautiful decor, spotless clean and well maintained, this property hosted excellent attention to detail. One could just sit in the library area and watch the finches forever. Thank you for such a beauty even in Charlotte.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the good one's on our recent trip at The Duke Mansion (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on May 31, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed a nice selection of Inn's throughout NC and GA. Inn's for the most part sell themselves on the unique property they offer. The Duke is very unusual in the sense it is in a normal very fancy neighborhood yet close to the city. You wouldn't expect an Inn here. The sute we stayed in had a great porch. One can only imagine this being a private home in the past. The staff as mentioned in a different review of this property were fantastic, warm and extremely helpful. My husband had a special request that was met without any problem at all. They went out of their way to make us feel like a million dollars. After staying at the Duke Mansion my husband thinks he will use this spot instead of a hotel when he has business here. Same price with much better experience.

View more reviews for this inn


stumbled upon a treasure at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

4.8 reviewed on April 07, 2010

We recently found ourselves in Charlotte and our gps led us to this gorgeous historic inn. We initially thought we wouldn't be able to afford it, but decided to check it out anyway. We loved it but went to check out some hotels in the downtown area, which ended up being overpriced and boring... We went back to the Morehead and had a luxurious relaxing evening sitting on the porch swing on the balcony overlooking the flower filled courtyard. I would definitely recommend the Morehead for a romantic getaway. The breakfast was great too.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful in every way! at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2010

My stay could not have been more enchanting or comfortable. This beautiful inn is a pleasant reminder of elegance, charm and gracious living. I can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


We will stay again at The Vanlandingham Estate (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on December 29, 2009

We stayed for thanksgivinng -day - after a few years ago,when our daughter had a large group visiting. Rooms were great, Robes furnished were comforting, breakfast option galore. We will be in Charlotte Jan.17 for a celebration of our daughters life and recognition by the YMCA and Red Cross. We wouldn't think of any other accomodations.

View more reviews for this inn


A Wonderful Stay at The Villa At Waters Edge Vacation Rental (Belmont, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 28, 2009

The Villa was absolutley wonderful. Our bridal party dressed here before the wedding and husband and I stayed here a couple of nights for our honeymoon. We felt so comfortable here. Melanie was so nice. She made us feel as if it were our home. We really enjoyed the treats she left us. We would definitely stay again in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


A country estate in the middle of town at The Vanlandingham Estate (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 21, 2009

Like taking a trip back in time. The staff was knowledgable and friendly, went out of their way to provide directions and insights. Spent an afternoon wandering in the beautiful gardens. The Randolph Scott suite was eccentric, eclectic and romantic. Loved it!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay in Charlotte at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

4.8 reviewed on August 10, 2009

This was our second stay at the Morehead Inn. Both stays were extremely pleasant. The friendly staff really cares about each guest, making sure our every need is taken care of. Breakfast is a treat, with discrete but always available service. The location is in a quiet classy area of Charlotte, with fine dining nearby. Our favorite place to stay in Charlotte.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location and excellent service at Morehead Inn (Charlotte, NC)

4.0 reviewed on August 02, 2009

Visited our son in Charlotte and was told this was a great place to stay. Our room was nice with swing on porch with overlooking beautiful landscape. We were greeted with warm hospitality! Breakfast was excellent. Location is convenient to town and residential area made a scenic walk pleasant. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Charlotte's Best B&B at The Duke Mansion (Charlotte, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2009

The Duke Mansion is a beautiful property. Set back around beautiful trees it doesn't feel like you are in a wonderful city. The rooms were magnificantly decorated with gorgeous linens and antique furniture. The Inn itself was amazing with its parlors and gardens. The staff was professional, friendly and very helpful. The Breakfast was delicious and the service treated us like royalty. I highly recommend this to all visiting Charlotte.

View more reviews for this inn


A great vacation without the hassle of a long journey at The Vanlandingham Estate (Charlotte, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on June 09, 2009

This has been my favorite bed and breakfast. The gardens are immaculate and have the cleanest fountain and pond I have ever seen. There are chairs and benches set up at scenic shady areas around the grounds. Although the staff had 2 weddings the afternoon following our stay at no time did the set up interfer with guest activities and they made us feel welcome to stay until check out at noon.

View more reviews for this inn


Southern Hospitality at The Vanlandingham Estate (Charlotte, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on June 08, 2009

I have had several enjoyable visits to the Vanlandingham Estates and found everyone to be special.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }