Recent Reviews in Charlevoix, Michigan

Beautiful Home at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.0 reviewed on August 11, 2017

We stay at the House on the Hill just about every year and keep returning to this lovely home with beautiful rooms and a superb breakfast. Marci and Phil are charming and gracious hosts. I rate every category as Outstanding but this site wouldn't allow me to do that so I settled for exceeded my expectations.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B & B at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2017

My husband and I stayed at The House on the Hill for 4 nights. It was perfect! Marci and Phillip are great hosts - always available and accommodating. Marci served such interesting and delicious breakfasts. We stayed in the Rose room and it was just as pictured on the website. I can't say enough good things about this B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2017

We only stayed for one night, and we wish we could have stayed longer. We hadn't even left yet when we started discussing when we could come back. My husband and I came to Ellsworth for a wedding. Someone suggested this B&B and we are so glad that we listened. We were greeted by the owner on arrival and she had warm chocolate chip cookies waiting for us! The grounds were beautiful. Sitting on the front porch, drinking a cup of hot coffee, enjoying the amazing view, was a great way to start the next morning. Breakfast was superb. Marci seems to really love running the B&B and it shows. We would definitely recommend The House on the Hill. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be Back! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2017

This was our first stay at The House for my wife and I. Friendly personable owners who made us feel welcome and "at home" thruout our stay. Room and activities ideal for relaxation or adventures.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm hospitality, impeccable rooms, and scrumptious foood at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2017

A Wonderful B & B!! Breakfast was delicious and it was a pleasure to hear the other guests stories. We may be back in the winter!! Thank you Marci for making us feel so welcome!

View more reviews for this inn


One word... Outstanding! at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 30, 2017

My wife and I came here for the seclusion and the beautiful grounds and we we loved it! The rooms are so cute and the property was better than I could have imagined, starting with the long winding road through the woods to get there. My wife is a landscaping artist and it takes a lot to impress her, but they delivered!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on June 02, 2017

Our recent stay at The House on the Hill was an outstanding experience. The view and amenities were great and the gourmet breakfast was not only delicious but very nicely presented. The hosts Marci and Phillip could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Thanks for a wonderful stay. Rick & Lenore -Troy, MI

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful stay at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2017

The innkeepers are very welcoming. Food is wonderful. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Extra touches make the stay wonderful. Peace comes to you at this Inn. I would recommend this B&B too everyone!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Birds Galore at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on April 28, 2017

Jeanie and Dave are amazing and truly make you feel welcomed! The rooms were clean and perfect, and breakfast was delicious every morning. We have absolutely nothing negative to say about our experience. Our favorite part was watching the birds at breakfast, and if you ask Dave, he will point out every type of bird at the feeders. It is 15 minutes away from Charlevoix (downtown) and 40 minutes from Petosky. We would stay here every year if we could, and we might just do that. Highly recommend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Fun fall getaway spot at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 21, 2016

I came here with 6 of my friends to enjoy northern Michigan and all that it offers. We love this place! The rooms we had, (we needed 4) were mostly in the carriage house. They were so lovely. The decor, the size, the fireplace as well as our own coffee station, and that view! Incredible. The main house was so well stocked with any extra you may need. Like wine glasses, board games, reading material,even a tv if you really need one. Oh, did I forget to mention the coffee, tea, water & sofa. Did I mention the cookies? There are cookies near the entrance for you to enjoy. The breakfasts were so delicious. So gourmet. Fresh squeezed orange juice, yum! Marci really went out of her way to make sure our friend with celiacs disease had a safe & very enjoyable gourmet breakfast as well. Take time to explore one of the many miles of trails the owners have cleared on their property for our enjoyment. The colors were just as nice there as they were when we were driving through the Tunnel of Trees up in Harbor Springs area. And the peace & quiet was so nice. On our way home from this trip, we all decided that we needed to go back, soon! Possibly even on a yearly basis. Thanks again Marci for helping to make our trip so memorable.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Home, Wonderful Hosts at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 13, 2016

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful home! Delicious breakfast and convenient location. Thank you for your hospitality and kindness, Marci and Phillip!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and beautiful hotel. Wonderful hosts, and terrific food. at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2016

Spent several days relaxing and taking in the views. Marci welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Breakfasts were delicious. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully and was very comfortable. The lake access is beautiful with canoeing, paddle boats, paddle boarding, or just relaxing in a chair on the beach. Everyone needs a place like this to get away and de-stress. Highly recommend!

View more reviews for this inn


House on the Hill at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2016

This was my third time staying at this lovely bed and breakfast. The first time staying in one of the rooms located outside the main house. The Aspen room was beautiful, clean, and what a wonderful view from the back porch. We le left the back door open at night and let the stream wish us off to sleep. Breakfast each day was wonderful consisting of fresh juice, fruit, and a main course. The blueberry french toast was fabulous. Can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful visit. at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on June 19, 2016

After driving quite a way outside Traverse City we were concerned as to what we would find at The House on the Hill. Could not have been more pleased with everything we found. Marci and her husband were wonderful hosts and the inn far exceeded all our expectations. Beautiful setting, very relaxing and breakfast was a gourmet treat. Ask Marci for dinner suggestions, you won't go wrong with the Rowe, a french themed bistro just down the street. Can't wait to go back there for a longer stay. Brian and Angelika

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2015

I couldn't think of anything that would have made our experience any better. Marci and Philip are wonderful hosts and their kindness and thoughtfulness shows in this fantastic location. We would highly recommend House on the Hill!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Place to Stay at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2015

I stayed at The House on the Hill in Ellsworth, MI with my sister and two friends. We all had a great time. Marci and Phil are great, their hospitality impeccable. The rooms are beautifully decorated and with a fireplace and in-room bath, very comfortable. I look forward to returning in warmer weather and taking full advantage of the 53 acres of land that's part of The House on the Hill.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience will return for sure! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for making it so perfect!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Get Away at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2014

We stayed at the House on the Hill for two nights, and it was a fantastic experience! As a young couple in our early twenties, we were looking for a vacation with lots of activity and this place has it all included! You can paddle board, kayak, and canoe on the beautiful lake and it is all included in the price of the room! There is also tons of hiking on their 53 acre land. It was a truly amazing experience and the owners are so nice and hospitable, not to mention great cooks! Breakfast was great every morning, and filled us up so that we could go explore on full bellies! This was the best decision of our entire vacation, two thumbs way up!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderfully wonderful at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on July 31, 2014

Thank you Phillip and Marci. Peaceful, quiet, and 5 star breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2014

Beautiful setting with many things to do. Charming hostess and a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


The best b & b we've ever stayed in. at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2014

Fabulous place, great rooms, wonderful breakfast. Marci and Phil are extraordinary hosts. We come a couple of times a year and love it more each time.

View more reviews for this inn


Gourmet breakfast and beautiful scenery at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2014

This is the perfect bed and breakfast as far as I'm concerned. Our room was clean and spacious, and we looked forward to each unique, gourmet breakfast with anticipation. It's a short drive to Charlevoix or Boyne City, but there's plenty to keep you busy right on the property with trails to explore and a lake to enjoy on their canoes or kayaks. We'll definitely be visiting again.

View more reviews for this inn


Falling in Love at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2014

We fell in love with the House, the owners, the view, the food Everything was perfect for our two day stay. We are looking forward to returning soon. My husband loved the chocolate chip cookies and the proximity of many lakes and rivers to kayak.

View more reviews for this inn


Our new favorite Bed and Breakfast! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2014

We have been to a lot of B&Bs and I have to say this is definitely our favorite one. House on the Hill is a sight to behold! Whether we were sitting on the beautiful porch enjoying the breathtaking views of the lake while sipping a glass of wine or relaxing to the sounds of the babbling brook, our visit could not have been more perfect. Marci and Phil are wonderful hosts. They are very warm and welcoming, as was Marci's mom who makes the worlds best jams! They are also very knowledgeable about places to see and restaurants to eat at. They were spot on in all of their recommendations. We took advantage of the beautiful weather and had a picnic down on the beach (thanks to Marci) then went canoeing in the picturesque lake where we had the unique opportunity to see a bald eagle flying above us. To describe Marci's 3 course breakfasts as amazing is an understatement. Each one was made from scratch and raved over by everyone at the table. They provide you with everything you need to make your stay enjoyable, from paddle boards and kayaks, to a canoe and even lent my husband a fishing pole. We walked the groomed trails on their gorgeous 53 acre wooded property and saw deer and even a whooping crane! We stayed in the Maple Room in the Carriage House and it was perfect! We loved our room, it was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated as is every room in the house. We sat on our back porch and listened to the sounds of nature all around us while the stress of the week just melted right off our shoulders. The 24 hour coffee, snack, and beverage bar was such a nice treat, along with the homemade baked goods that showed up magically each afternoon. There is so much to see and do if you want to explore, yet it's also a perfect place to relax and take in all the peaceful beauty that surrounds you. It really is a little peace of heaven and we can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2014

We couldn't have selected a finer Bed and Breakfast to combine use of a gift certificate from our kids, with some mid-week Spring Morel hunting. Having never been here before, we weren't sure what to expect, but The House on The Hill certainly met and exceeded all the amenities listed on this website. Location is peaceful and gorgeous. House and bedrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. View from the front porch while sharing a bottle of wine was wonderful. Even did some Morel hunting on their spacious property. Marcie was a great hostess and left no needs unmet, including a 24 hr. snack/coffee area, a gourmet breakfast, and pleasant conversation. We definitely plan to recommend this to family and friends and will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great winter blues buster! at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2014

We felt like we were the only people there; very peaceful and serene. Breakfast was very tasty and enjoyable. Liked meeting new people and felt at home.

View more reviews for this inn


ACCOMMODATING AND RELAXING at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2013

OUR VISIT WAS AT THE END OF OCTOBER. WEATHER WAS RAINY FEW SNOW SHOWERS. TOURED THE WEST COAST FROM PETOSKY TO HOLLAND. EVEN WITH WEATHER WAS ABLE TO ENJOY A RELAXING TIME. CLOSE TO OTHER CITIES / ATTRACTIONS WHICH MADE THE DECISION EASIER. AFTER STAYNG IN CHAIN MOTELS FOR MOST OF OUR TRIP IN WESTERN MICH.THIS WAS A WELCOME EXPERIENCE.... WE DEFINETLY WOULD RECOMMEND " THE HOUSE on the HILL" DC / MARY - OHIO

View more reviews for this inn


Best B and B EVER!!!! at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2013

My mom took my family on a trip to this B&B and we LOVED it!!! The rooms are cozy, comfortable, and large. The bathrooms are nicely equipped and comfortable as well. The innkeepers are lovely people who are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. Every night a snack is prepared, dessert is prepared, and there is time to socialize with the innkeepers and the other guests. My six-year-old son also went with us, and he loved it. He loved all of the rooms and the decor. Also, the innkeeper found a white-tailed deer outside one evening, and he ran up the stairs to our room to get my son to go out and see the deer. They got within four feet of the deer. My son was absolutely in awe of it! We loved that the innkeepers were so kind and accommodating. The B&B was super clean, the breakfasts were amazing, and the innkeepers were amazing at giving suggestions about what to do that day, or what restaurants to eat at depending on our mood. They also told us what types of local festivities were happening that day as well. I cannot say enough great things about this place. I hope to go back soon! It was a little piece of paradise.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxation at Horton Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast (Charlevoix, Michigan)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2013

The owners, Jeannie and Dave, do a marvelous job. The house and gardens are maintained meticulously, the breakfast is sumptuous and always a pleasant surprise when it is served in the sunroom, and the hosts offer very useful advice what to do in the area. Not to forget the desserts offered in the evening, e.g. peach cobbler. Since we were 3 travelers, we had the 2 adjacent rooms on the top floor with a shared bath room. They were very nice and the beds extremely comfortable. Attention to details is throughout, e.g. fresh bath towels every day, high-quality shampoo and soap in the shower, lots of maps of the area, menus of the local restaurant etc. There are 2 rules to adhere to (arrival time, breakfast at 9) - but I think these 2 rules allow the owners to focus on the important stuff - that is to make everybody feel at home and allow them to have a great vacation. We certainly did !

View more reviews for this inn


More than Bed and Breakfast; Inviting Setting at The House on the Hill (Ellsworth, Michigan)

4.4 reviewed on October 08, 2013

Great bed. Best sleep away from home ever, anywhere. Surroundings invited peaceful walks and restful stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }