Recent Reviews in Charles City, Virginia

Great trip to Charles City at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2018

Thank you for the incredible stay at the B and B at Peace Hill Farm. We couldn't have had a better place to stay while we enjoyed the Virginia Garden Show. Everything was perfect! A highlight was bottle feeding lambs! The food was amazing! We are looking forward to visiting again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on April 24, 2018

Helena is friendly and very welcoming. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was outstanding with homemade muffins, yogurt with fruit and granola—homemade as well. Great location as well!

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of home away from home at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2018

I couldn’t be more satisfied with the good fortune of finding this place while searching for B & Bs in Richmond area. Perfect location. Close to everything we wanted to explore. The decor was very cool. The beds extremely comfy. The Serinitynsuite does not have a tub in bathroom but it is private which is a good trade off. The food served was perfect for eating light and going on your way. Polly and Sean, the owners couldn’t have been more gracious and personable. They care about their guests and are very accommodating. I’d highly recommend this place and we hope to come back again in the near future. Steve and Margie

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, great hosts at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2018

A very friendly place with superb & simple cuisine made out of local products. true "farm" cooking in the best sense. The rooms and furnitures set you back in older time, when landscape and surroundings allow for some countryside experience in an history rich area. Highly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


Colonial Charm with all the modern amenities! at Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast (Williamsburg, VA)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2018

As a single woman traveling by myself, I found Colonial Capital B & B to be a delightful discovery. Kathryn is an attentive host, serving up Southern hospitality along with her incredible, made-on-the-spot, breakfast pastries provided daily! My room was very comfortable and provided all the modern amenities I needed with a Colonial flare. The location is a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg and Merchant Square shopping and dining, as well as being right across the street from the College of William & Mary. The backyard porch and bird filled landscape were inviting place to rest after a day of sightseeing. I will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity, charm, and exceptional value at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2018

Lovely in every way. My daughters and I stayed here last April for my birthday weekend. I would go back again but this year for my birthday we are going to Italy. The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm is lovely in every way. There is nothing I could say to suggest improvements. It is a perfectly splendid retreat and lives up to its name. The hosts are every bit as lovely as the Inn. An A+ weekend in every way, and a marvelous value for your $$. I will return again someday. Gina M. Nardoianni

View more reviews for this inn


Best B & B at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 01, 2018

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful night at the One. It's in a perfect location within walking distance of so much. We loved the easy check-in and all of the surprise amenities. My husband's only complaint was the small TV, but it didn't bother me. We both had the best night's sleep we've had in a long time.

View more reviews for this inn


A warm and Friendly experience. at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2018

My husband and I much enjoyed our time at Peace Hill Farm B&B. Tanya and Mike were there for our every need: coffee in our room before breakfast and always a home-cooked luscious breakfast. Walking to the farm to see the goats and their jumping babies and the stoic sheep was a hoot. And watching the birds in the old tree outside our window offered us a welcome break from the chaotic world. We will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical B&B Quality, Quaint, & Charming at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 27, 2018

Patrick Henry's B&B Centrality Located in Richmond VA, Nice, Clean & Historical B&B, with Charming features. Right next door to the Pub with Delicious Food Daily Specials i.e. & Soups and Comfort Food, a Great selection of Beer & Wine, plus Spirits. Owner friendly with a Great Personality and informative of the area, with Delicious Gluten ,Organic Fresh Continental Breakfast. Felt like Home despite the flurry of Snow, & Winter schedule.

View more reviews for this inn


A Repeat Performance at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on March 20, 2018

My aunt lives in Richmond and she recommended this B & B after the one I usually stayed at closed. What a great recommendation! It's within walking distance of her apt. and the museums. This is my third time staying here and I will continue to make this my home away from home! Sean and Polly are terrific and my stay was once again just as comfortable and pleasant as it could be.

View more reviews for this inn


Richmond Vacation at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

3.2 reviewed on March 19, 2018

Helena, the Inn's Owner, was gracious and welcoming. It should be known though that she does not live on site and that there are no other staff at the Inn after 9:30am unless guests are checking in or checking out. When she leaves the property for the day, all common rooms on the main floor are closed and locked off to guests. This made the stay feel a bit less "Inn like" since I usually enjoy sitting in a library or parlor while reading a book or chatting with other guests at night about their travels and adventures. You really are just renting a room in a house rather than enjoying that true Inn experience. But for those travelers who are more private, the room was quite pleasant and the location is perfect for walking tours and other site seeing.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be Back at The One at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 12, 2018

We parked the car on Tuesday and didn't have to move it til we left. The One is centrally located to the museums, Fan District and Cary Town. The suite had everything we could ask for and then some. You need to read the description before you book, which we did and The One was outstanding and just what we expected. Polly is a fabulous host and we loved the fact that the continental breakfast was available to us when we were ready. The snacks and beverages in the parlor were a welcome treat after 6 hours at the museum. We had the Dream room and were not used to the street noise, but there was a sound machine on the nightstand that canceled it out and we fell asleep to the sound of crickets. The bathroom is right outside (literally 6 "away) the bedroom and is private and large. I love the original brickwork in the shower.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2018

We cannot day enough good things about The One Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are charming, comfortable and cozy. The sitting room is so nice. Private entrance and the continental breakfast is all you would want. The owners are helpful but not intrusive. We will stay there again and highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Can’t wait to return! at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2018

A perfect place for our stay-cation away from the kids for a night!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice older home in Richmond at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on February 02, 2018

Stayed here for a weekend. Good location and nice building. Very good continental breakfast. Rooms have no individual temperature control and our room was cold when it was very cold outside. No make up service supplied.

View more reviews for this inn


A perfect place in a perfect location at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 23, 2018

We loved every minute of our stay at The One. I surprised my husband with a 3 day weekend away for his 70th birthday. I couldn't have chosen a better place. The location is ideal. The house is beautiful, comfortable and clean with many special touches. We stayed in the Cellar, and it was perfect for us. We loved the privacy and being able to enjoy breakfast whenever we wanted and without having to feel presentable. Polly even catered the food to my vegan lifestyle which was SO kind and SO appreciated. There was fresh fruit in our fridge in beautiful glass containers. I think that was my favorite little surprise. :) Look no farther. The One is the place to stay when going to Richmond.

View more reviews for this inn


lovely spot in the historic district at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on January 19, 2018

My husband and I spent two nights at The One B & B in Richmond. Our room was cozy, beautiful, & comfortable. Traffic noise was audible, but not bothersome (to us). When we arrived, we'd been given a code to use at the outside door, but it didn't work. We dialed the back-up number and it turned out that the code had been changed and they'd forgotten to let us know, but gave it to me over the phone and we got in. Stairs up to the rooms are steep. Breakfast was wonderful; delicious, fresh, nice variety of choices. The only thing which I didn't love was that we didn't get to interact with our host/hostess much. One lets oneself in, goes to the room, everything is there with many little directive signs in the common area and room. The hosts arrive in the common area to put breakfast out unobtrusively about 8 a.m. One helps oneself to breakfast before 10 a.m. on one's own schedule. There's no need to see the host/hostess, and the other guests were companionable. We just hadn't seen this model B&B previously.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely spot in Richmond, Va. at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on January 04, 2018

Really loved the location. Was able to walk to things of interest and dining in a charming older area of Richmond.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stays at the Inn! at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 31, 2017

We stayed at the Inn at Patrick Henry's not once, but twice - a week apart. We had a wonderful time, and it felt like 'coming home' on our second visit. The rooms are great. Even though the building is old (built before 1850), the rooms are very comfortable and have all the amenities you'd need. The (big!) rooms have great beds too. The historical building obviously has no elevator, but the stairs are easy with multiple intermediate landings should you have the Byrd's Nest room on the top floor, like we did. The area - Church Hill - is an older, quaint area, a mile away from downtown. This means it's nice and quiet. It does have quite a few bars, restaurants, bakeries on walking distance. It also features museums, churches, and famous old homes - there is lots to see here. Helena provides an extensive guide of local must-see's and must-do's, which is very helpful. The host, Helena, is a fabulous person. She's one of the warmest, most welcoming hosts we've ever encountered. Hospitality runs in her veins! She cooks great breakfast, which is all from scratch, nutritious, delicious, and varies from day to day. Helena is very knowledgeable about the area, which means that, when asked, she will give you great recommendations for places to go to see, for restaurants (thanks to Helena, we had amazing dining experiences!), and she also knows her history (ask her about the street lanterns outside the building!). Helena's helpfulness showed also when our car broke down (!) right in front of the Inn when we were about to leave for our next destination of our vacation... We will definitely be back whenever we're in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Xmas Weekend at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on December 30, 2017

Stayed over the Xmas 2017 weekend. Convenient location. Well appointed. Had a good time.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent option in Richmond at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 28, 2017

I hate to praise The One too much lest it not be available again next time we want to stay there, but the innkeepers and their staff are all friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, the breakfasts have varied options, and we appreciated the snacks and drinks that are always available. This was our second visit, and we look forward to the next.

View more reviews for this inn


Interesting experien ce at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on December 28, 2017

I stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and found it to be very enjoyable. The self-serve aspect of checking in and out was unexpected but worked just fine. I had emailed the innkeepers about needing to change my credit card but didn't realize that their away message had gone into my spam folder till I returned. The issue was easy to resolve. The room, Serenity Suite, was lovely and it was nice to have my own in-suite bathroom. All amenities included, including a purple hairdryer that matched the décor! I used the coffee machine but didn't eat the breakfast; however, it looked yummy and had a lot to choose from. The outside street noise was disconcerting the first night but I fell asleep wondering if I would be able to sleep. I didn't need to use the noise-cancelling machine. All in all, a pleasant stay. I will stay again. It's just four blocks from my son's apartment. Thank you, Sean and Polly.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }