Recent Reviews in Charles City, Virginia

Peaceful Retreat at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on May 12, 2018

We felt quite pampered given the idyllic setting, delicious meals and gracious hosts! If one is bicycling here from the Capital Trail, the road, despite having no dedicated shoulders, still allowed a very comfortable ride. Drivers seemed very careful and courteous. They even have a refurbished shed where you can keep your bikes and extra gear if needed.

View more reviews for this inn


Best spot in Richmond by far! And breakfast is our favorite at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2018

When I first stayed at this place it was a happy accident. We loved it so much that we canceled our return booking at another hotel and booked with Helena. We travel twice a year through Richmond and always stay here, and send our family to stay with her too. She is welcoming and a wealth of information about Richmond and much of the area. We stay during the week and love LOVE love the local, organic and homemade breads and treats she puts out for us. Her coffee is her own roast too! The rooms are spacious and clean and walking the hill is so gorgeous. And when you're done exploring there is a different pub on the property with the best onion rings I've ever had. Take that back, we've only stayed in the king suites, but we've seen the third floor room and it's not bad. Not our favorite, but it's not bad. Can't wait until we see her again in September for the Browns Island river fest

View more reviews for this inn


May be a “Bed” but is certainly not a “Breakfast “, at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

2.0 reviewed on May 09, 2018

We stayed here in May and was greeted by the owner. She is friendly but did not consider that we had driven 7 hours and just wanted to get to our room and unwind. She showed us to our room and then proceeded to talk and talk and talk and talk about her younger life and the things she had done, etc. We had to finally interrupt her and say we needed to get our stuff out of the car and relax before heading out to dinner. Although knowledgeable about the area she was WAY off on the price we would have to pay in the public parking garbage and it ended up costing us 3 times as much as expected. Went down to breakfast and were lead to the kitchen and told to help ourselves to a bowl of yogurt with choppied fruit; a hard boiled egg and toast that we had to make ourselves. Afterward when we asked about the limited breakfast and said that we figured since it was a bed and breakfast we would have had a larger breakfast she said that she was taxed as being just room and not board and would have had to charge us more for food and only gave us what she did as a curtesy and did not have to do this at all. This place is listed as a bed and breakfast but be aware it is not! For the price we paid we expected a quieter greeting and a larger breakfast and more consideration.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful and unique bed and breakfast at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2018

The One Bed and Breakfast is a unique and wonderful site in a fantastic location that allowed us to walk to great restaurants and shops. We loved seeing all the beautiful historic homes and buildings in a vibrant area of Richmond. Polly was very welcoming and our room was perfect. The Salon was full of treats and an amazing spread for breakfast. When we return to Richmond, we will book The One Bed and Breakfast again.

View more reviews for this inn


Gracious and Delicious at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 09, 2018

This is a lovely small bed and breakfast located in the Tidewater agricultural part of Virginia. It is connected to a charming farm of goats, sheep and chickens. The couple who manage the B and B are attentive and caring hosts. It is a peaceful and beautiful setting. The food is wonderful and prepared with many of the farms bounty. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 nights which included breakfast and a dinner which was an extra purchase. For beauty and peace this was an exceptional find.

View more reviews for this inn


Great trip to Charles City at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2018

Thank you for the incredible stay at the B and B at Peace Hill Farm. We couldn't have had a better place to stay while we enjoyed the Virginia Garden Show. Everything was perfect! A highlight was bottle feeding lambs! The food was amazing! We are looking forward to visiting again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on April 24, 2018

Helena is friendly and very welcoming. Our room was comfortable and breakfast was outstanding with homemade muffins, yogurt with fruit and granola—homemade as well. Great location as well!

View more reviews for this inn


A piece of home away from home at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2018

I couldn’t be more satisfied with the good fortune of finding this place while searching for B & Bs in Richmond area. Perfect location. Close to everything we wanted to explore. The decor was very cool. The beds extremely comfy. The Serinitynsuite does not have a tub in bathroom but it is private which is a good trade off. The food served was perfect for eating light and going on your way. Polly and Sean, the owners couldn’t have been more gracious and personable. They care about their guests and are very accommodating. I’d highly recommend this place and we hope to come back again in the near future. Steve and Margie

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, great hosts at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 23, 2018

A very friendly place with superb & simple cuisine made out of local products. true "farm" cooking in the best sense. The rooms and furnitures set you back in older time, when landscape and surroundings allow for some countryside experience in an history rich area. Highly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


Colonial Charm with all the modern amenities! at Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast (Williamsburg, VA)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2018

As a single woman traveling by myself, I found Colonial Capital B & B to be a delightful discovery. Kathryn is an attentive host, serving up Southern hospitality along with her incredible, made-on-the-spot, breakfast pastries provided daily! My room was very comfortable and provided all the modern amenities I needed with a Colonial flare. The location is a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg and Merchant Square shopping and dining, as well as being right across the street from the College of William & Mary. The backyard porch and bird filled landscape were inviting place to rest after a day of sightseeing. I will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


Serenity, charm, and exceptional value at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2018

Lovely in every way. My daughters and I stayed here last April for my birthday weekend. I would go back again but this year for my birthday we are going to Italy. The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm is lovely in every way. There is nothing I could say to suggest improvements. It is a perfectly splendid retreat and lives up to its name. The hosts are every bit as lovely as the Inn. An A+ weekend in every way, and a marvelous value for your $$. I will return again someday. Gina M. Nardoianni

View more reviews for this inn


Best B & B at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on April 01, 2018

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful night at the One. It's in a perfect location within walking distance of so much. We loved the easy check-in and all of the surprise amenities. My husband's only complaint was the small TV, but it didn't bother me. We both had the best night's sleep we've had in a long time.

View more reviews for this inn


A warm and Friendly experience. at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill Farm (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2018

My husband and I much enjoyed our time at Peace Hill Farm B&B. Tanya and Mike were there for our every need: coffee in our room before breakfast and always a home-cooked luscious breakfast. Walking to the farm to see the goats and their jumping babies and the stoic sheep was a hoot. And watching the birds in the old tree outside our window offered us a welcome break from the chaotic world. We will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Historical B&B Quality, Quaint, & Charming at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 27, 2018

Patrick Henry's B&B Centrality Located in Richmond VA, Nice, Clean & Historical B&B, with Charming features. Right next door to the Pub with Delicious Food Daily Specials i.e. & Soups and Comfort Food, a Great selection of Beer & Wine, plus Spirits. Owner friendly with a Great Personality and informative of the area, with Delicious Gluten ,Organic Fresh Continental Breakfast. Felt like Home despite the flurry of Snow, & Winter schedule.

View more reviews for this inn


A Repeat Performance at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on March 20, 2018

My aunt lives in Richmond and she recommended this B & B after the one I usually stayed at closed. What a great recommendation! It's within walking distance of her apt. and the museums. This is my third time staying here and I will continue to make this my home away from home! Sean and Polly are terrific and my stay was once again just as comfortable and pleasant as it could be.

View more reviews for this inn


Richmond Vacation at Inn At Patrick Henry's (Richmond, Virginia)

3.2 reviewed on March 19, 2018

Helena, the Inn's Owner, was gracious and welcoming. It should be known though that she does not live on site and that there are no other staff at the Inn after 9:30am unless guests are checking in or checking out. When she leaves the property for the day, all common rooms on the main floor are closed and locked off to guests. This made the stay feel a bit less "Inn like" since I usually enjoy sitting in a library or parlor while reading a book or chatting with other guests at night about their travels and adventures. You really are just renting a room in a house rather than enjoying that true Inn experience. But for those travelers who are more private, the room was quite pleasant and the location is perfect for walking tours and other site seeing.

View more reviews for this inn


We'll be Back at The One at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 12, 2018

We parked the car on Tuesday and didn't have to move it til we left. The One is centrally located to the museums, Fan District and Cary Town. The suite had everything we could ask for and then some. You need to read the description before you book, which we did and The One was outstanding and just what we expected. Polly is a fabulous host and we loved the fact that the continental breakfast was available to us when we were ready. The snacks and beverages in the parlor were a welcome treat after 6 hours at the museum. We had the Dream room and were not used to the street noise, but there was a sound machine on the nightstand that canceled it out and we fell asleep to the sound of crickets. The bathroom is right outside (literally 6 "away) the bedroom and is private and large. I love the original brickwork in the shower.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at The One Bed and Breakfast (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2018

We cannot day enough good things about The One Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are charming, comfortable and cozy. The sitting room is so nice. Private entrance and the continental breakfast is all you would want. The owners are helpful but not intrusive. We will stay there again and highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }