Recent Reviews in Charles City, Virginia

Not quite as listed at M/V GiaMaria (Richmond, Virginia)

2.6 reviewed on August 24, 2017

Although it was a unique experience aboard a boat I think we expected a bit more comfort and at least some sort of breakfast. It's listed as a "stocked fridge" but other than a jar of mayonnaise it was very empty. We also expected at least warm water not a cold shower. I do understand that it is a boat but portable ac units were annoying. A roof top ac unit would work much better. And a roll of paper towels would add a nice touch. Capt Ron is a nice guy and proud of his boat and I'm sure over time it will be much better.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B&B in Rural Tidewater Virginia at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2017

Our spacious bedroom had an exceptionally comfortable king-size bed and a large bathroom with bath/shower combination. Every detail is attended to from the bathrobes, excellent selection of wines for purchase, available refrigerator, wonderful public areas with books and games, and a wide selection of TV channels. Tanya and Mike are wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and were attentive to our needs. The breakfast was extensive and very good. The B&B sits on a large property with lots of hiking. This was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at.

View more reviews for this inn


Like waking up in Snow White at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on August 10, 2017

We stayed in both the main house and the hen house and both were delightful. The main house reminded me of waking up in an old romantic musical. The touches of antiques through the room and cast iron were gorgeous, but nothing prepared me for the stay in the hen house. When we got in it was dark and I couldn't quite see around the extravegant renovated chicken coop. I woke up to birds chirping and goats outside our window. It was straight out of a country fairy tale and a gorgeous experience, followed by one of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect retreat at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2017

Mike and Tanya were gracious and accommodating hosts. The house is exquisite and the grounds are lovely. Coffee on the screened in porch is the best way to start the day, and I loved rambling down to see the goats, sheep, and horses. Thank you!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Everything! at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 23, 2017

We couldn't have been more pleased with Peace Hill. It was a true pampered bed and breakfast experience. Every need was thought of. The Hosts are wonderful people. A definite do again.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfectly Peaceful at Peace Hill at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2017

Husband and I went for 2 nights to celebrate anniversary. Weather didn't cooperate for bike riding but the Inn was great. Chikahominy Suite was very relaxing and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Gift of muffins for the road was a nice suprise. Enjoyed having so much space to walk around in with out having to get in car.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Stay! at M/V GiaMaria (Richmond, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 28, 2017

We absolutely loved our stay aboard the GiaMaria! Captain Ron was so welcoming and helpful! He has done an incredible job making his boat a cozy and unique place to stay. We were so impressed and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks again Captain Ron!

View more reviews for this inn


Stay at Piney Grove at Southall's Plantation at Piney Grove at Southall's Plantation (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 09, 2016

Very nice accomodations. The food was outstanding as was the hospitality.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful Night on the Water at M/V GiaMaria (Richmond, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on October 03, 2016

Captain Ron met us at the boat and enthralled us with his, and his family's, history on the water. The interior has everything you need for a comfortable and peaceful night's sleep. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the sun go down after a great meal at Conch Republic (the Captain's recommendation for dinner). We slept very well and awoke refreshed for a busy day exploring Richmond. There is no onsite breakfast, but we weren't expecting any. :)

View more reviews for this inn


Great for Family Vacation at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 28, 2016

We booked the Chickahominy Suite for five days in August for our family. Sleeping accommodations were perfect, slept great in the peace and quiet of the country. Breakfasts were amazing! My daughter and I are vegan (hubby is not) and Tanya went "above and beyond" with her amazing creations. I've stayed at Vegan B&B's and the food at Peace Hill is just as good, creative and fresh. We used Peace Hill as home base as we explored history in Jamestown, Yorktown, Williamsburg, and Plantations. We enjoyed the use of the Common Areas to relax in the evenings and get caught up on Olympic actions. Mike and Tanya are wonderful hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


A DELIGHT at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on July 22, 2016

Quiet, peaceful and a joy to experience. The hosts are a delight. Wonderful conversation, excellent food and a desire to accomadate and please.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on July 07, 2016

Our family of 8 - 6 kids, ages 11 and under plus 2 adults - stayed at the brand new Henhouse. We loved it, the innkeepers were so helpful, friendly, and all around wonderful hosts. The food was fantastic, they easily accommodated our gluten free diet. Everything was clean, the Henhouse was well stocked with games, basic kitchen supplies, books, etc. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway! at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 04, 2016

We had a good stay! We were going to pass on having breakfast but once we smelled the aroma of fresh eggs, bacon and homemade biscuits we could not pass it up. The breakfast was great and Mike & Tanya's easy company made it even more enjoyable. We highly recommend staying here! Oh almost forgot...Tanya's bag of cookies to go were the best!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Girlfriend Getaway at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 18, 2015

My friends and I decided to try The B&B at Peace Hill for a "Girlfriend Getaway in Williamsburg". We wanted to visit the nearby winery and Antique Mall, so this was the perfect end to our day. Relaxing, peaceful, great food and hosts! We enjoyed ourselves so much we decided to put this hidden treasure on our future getaway list.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm Hospitality at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on March 18, 2015

We loved our stay at Peace Hill. It has country feel, yet with lots of amenities. We stayed in the Holdcroft Room, which is ideal for a couple looking for a getaway. The hosts, Mike and Tanya, were very warm and hospitable--getting to know them enhanced the experience. The proximity to the "Historic Triangle" of Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown was a plus. I wish we had booked a second night.

View more reviews for this inn


Peace and Quiet at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 22, 2015

Life at a slower pace was desired and received on our stay at Peace Hill. Having the place to ourselves was an extra benefit, only adding to the need for a night away from life. The surrounding countryside covered in snow added to the serenity of the place. Our evening supper and breakfast were very good with homemade biscuits and jelly. Thank you for a great stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2015

Lovely peaceful country escape with lovely interesting people at the helm!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway!!! at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2015

Great place to stay and a wonderful weekend getaway! The hospitality that Mike and Tanya displayed was like we were their best friends. A tasty breakfast and comfortable beds with local wineries! Drew& Jenn

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and great hospitality! at Edgewood Plantation (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2014

Eloped at Edgewood this past weekend. Dot, Julian, and Candy had every detail worked out for us and were most gracious hosts. The house was decorated for Christmas and it was stunning! Not a thing we weren't thrilled about, and we will definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


An excellent stay at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on October 11, 2014

We have had a very good experience at the Peacehill B&B. The room was confortable and extremely clean. The King bed was fabulous. The breakfasts were delicious and it was with anticipation that we arrived in the breakfast room as they were different everyday! Tanya and Mike were extremely good hosts discussing with us the region and nearby attractions. The place was very peaceful. We’ll make sure to come back. Dominique and Marc

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely place for a wedding! at North Bend Plantation Bed & Breakfast (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2014

We held our daughter's wedding here on April 12, 2014. Our family spent the night before the wedding in this beautiful home. Each room had its own special charm. We were made to feel like family as we were encouraged to come down to breakfast (a delicious spread!) in our pj's robes. Ridgley took down all of her family photos and had us bring bride and groom family pics to place around so guest would feel like they were stepping into our home instead of some venue. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, beautiful flowers, trees, and fields. We could not have asked for a more perfect place for what turned out to be the perfect wedding day. Whether you plan a wedding, or just a weekend stay, you will be greatly pleased and blessed to have met such a kind a loving family.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfection at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2014

This area has always been a respite for me...if you haven't found your way out here yet, do yourself a favor! The inn is absolutely beautiful and Tanya and Mike are the most wonderful hosts. They go above and beyond in every way. Your stay (and your meals!) will be amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place to get away from it all! at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2014

Tanya and Mike were exceptional host. We stayed at the cottage and it was more than we could have asked for. The food was excellent! And the rosemary scones Tanya sent us off with were awesome! If you are looking for a place to just get away from it all then Peace Hill is for you! Again thanks Tanya and Mike for being such fabulous hosts! We will be back again!

View more reviews for this inn


Peace found at Peace Hill at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2014

This was the perfect getaway. The cottage is huge and so quiet, and we loved the walk to the farm and the pond. Sunrise over the crops was gorgeous and fireflies at night brought back tons of childhood memories. Breakfast is awesome and innkeepers so kind.

View more reviews for this inn


What a hearty welcome! at Edgewood Plantation (Charles City, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on April 30, 2014

Never have felt so welcome than at Edgewood Plantation. We got the grand tour in the house and the garden. We had lots of laughs and it was a pity that we could not stay a little longer. Thanks Dottie and Julian; you are wonderful people!

View more reviews for this inn


fabulous stay at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on February 12, 2014

loved our stay at Peace Hill! Mike and Tanya and great inkeepers with great food!

View more reviews for this inn


The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.4 reviewed on December 20, 2013

Great Experience! Will go back again. Very friendly and in tune with our needs. Polite personality. Enjoyed the country atmosphere. The Living room was very favorite part of the house.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and Peaceful at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2013

Peace Hill was a complete great stay!! Owners Tanya & Mike were outstanding. The B&B was spotless, cozy and by far the best ever.

View more reviews for this inn


Bed & Breakfast- Peace Hill at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2013

Excellent accommodations. Wonderful breakfast. Bed was very comfortable. Innkeepers were very friendly. Good Internet.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Romantic Getaway at The Bed and Breakfast at Peace Hill (Charles City, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on November 24, 2013

Peace Hill was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet, clean, close walking trails and great food. The food was amazing and coffee/tea/cider/coco is available 24/7. The attention to detail was excellent, including flashlights for evening walks, extension cords in the rooms, a small fridge stocked with bottled water and room for leftovers, bathrobes and slippers, and complimentary toiletries. We stayed in the Holdcroft room and with the exception of it being a little chilly (the thermostat for the upstairs is located in another guest room) it was perfect for our needs. The soaking tub was just the right size for a relaxing bath before bed. They have a fire bit a little ways back in the property next to a small pond. We had a bonfire and s'mores while we stargazed. During the day we took the canoe out on the pond and read while drifting around. It is super close to Williamsburg and tons of activities, but the noise and light pollution doesn't reach this small peace of tranquility. Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }