Recent Reviews in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

CHARMING, QUITE WONDERFUL at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 12, 2017

This Bed and Breakfast was just like the ones that I watch on the Hallmark movie. It was so charming and picturesque. I have taken a lot of pictures, and one of them in particular I used on my desktop background at work, it doesn't even look real , it is too gorgeous !! The room was small but tidy, and the hot tub was just what the doctor ordered.. Staff was friendly, and the service was excellent... It was well worth the drive !

View more reviews for this inn


Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, and Andrew Wyeth at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 15, 2017

Our hosts, Chip and Cheryl, made our 48th Anniversay a memorable event. Their hospitality far exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, Chip had our tickets to Longwood Gardens ready and we started our adventure. The Inn is centrally located and only a 5 minute drive to the Gardens, Winterthur, and the Brandywine River Art Museum's Andrew Wyeth Retrospective. Pensbury Inn has a collection of period pieces, and each of the rooms has a unique theme. After a hearty breakfast including home-baked breads and pastries, and a stroll around the well-manicured grounds, we were off to the Wyeth exhibit. We highly recommend Pennsbury Inn when touring the Chadds Ford and Brandywine region.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2017

My husband and I truly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Elk Forge. From the moment we arrived we were treated with such kindness. Our room was huge and very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was very good and someone came around to check on us every day. We would definitely recommend this Inn and hope to stay there again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Elegant place, perfect location, wonderful food at Hamanassett Bed & Breakfast (Chester Heights, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2017

We drove up from Annapolis specifically to spend some time at the Brandywine Valley Art Museum to visit the Wyeth displays, homes and studios. This B&B was just 10 minutes from the museum and we gave it a shot based on the reviews and we are so glad we did. Historic and elegant home, in a setting that seems farther away from civilization than it really is. We had the large room with the antique 10-foot bed and a nice "balcony" overlooking the woods on which we had wine and a snack upon arrival, then played some pool and sipped a sherry. Stayed two nights, both nights the innkeepers took care of reservations (they know everyone), the first night at Brandywine Prime, a fantastic steak place, and a very nice Italian restaurant the second night. The innkeepers own a horse farm right next door so if you choose you can feed them or play with them or I suppose ride I'm not sure. And being a B&B of course breakfast was featured and what breakfasts they were, delicious ... first was a poached pear with cheese and cream, then a nice omelet and sides; second was blueberry upside down pancakes, a new one on me but so delicious. Next time we are within 30 minutes of Hamanassett we will definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


"Homesy" B&B in the Country at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on September 03, 2017

Rustic accommodations with a Victorian touch; nice and generous breakfast; good value for the money.

View more reviews for this inn


Tea and relaxing weekend! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2017

Great room, actually a little house, lots of activities like badminton, croquet and walking trails. Will go back again.

View more reviews for this inn


Loely place to stay at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on August 18, 2017

We had a wondeful stay. The building and grounds are beautiful. The breakfast was good. We had a few minor complaints about the tv remote and showerhead, which the innkeeper has responded to and is addressing.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a Longwood Gardens visit at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on August 07, 2017

This was our first stay at the Pennsbury Inn. We live about 50 miles away and planned to view the new Longwood Gardens Fountains evening show. not wanting to drive home afterward we decided to spend the night nearby. The Inn is conveniently located close to Longwood Gardens. When we arrived we had some time before we left for dinner and decided to sit outside in the gardens. We watched the butterflies all around the bushes and sat near one of the ponds. Very relaxing. Our room was in the oldest part of the property and very clean. I saw other reviews critical of the amount of "clutter" or "nicknacks" in the rooms. Our room did have an abundance of items, like 3 pitcher/bowl sets and antique furniture but I was not bothered by this, just felt a little overwhelmed. When returned after the show the bed was turned down with cookies placed on the bed and soft music playing. Very nice. One of the things I enjoy about B&B's is the breakfast. I enjoy the meal and make a variety for my self. Generally the breakfast is something that I would not make for myself. I guess this was my only disappointment. A tortilla with egg, pepper, mushrooms, onion. Taste was OK, but frankly I make this for myself and it was not the type of meal I usually have at a B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Brandywine Country at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2017

Pennsbury was a joy after staying in a hotel for four days. The innkeeper provided the perfect balance of providing information and giving us the space we wanted. Great hospitality, surprising breakfasts and all the creature comforts of home. The care package they left us for our early morning departure was a nice touch.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Chadds Ford Inn at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2017

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing escape from it all... and boy did we find it! Cheryl and Chip are lovely innkeepers who attend to every little detail to make your stay feel home like. In fact... we almost forgot we were at a B and B and felt like we were at Aunt Cheryl and Uncle Chip's. Cheryl's food (homemade jams and breads) are like none other. Her garden is perfection! Chip provided guidance for all we should visit while there. He even hooked up an extension cord outside so we could charge our hybrid car. The house itself is a beautiful old colonial home with much history! Visit the Pennbury Inn. You will be happy!

View more reviews for this inn


Pennsbury Inn / Mother-Daughter Weekend at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

3.8 reviewed on August 01, 2017

Pennsbury Inn- B&B was my daughters 1st experience. Breakfast was terrific. House was super homey. Reminded me of my childhood. The Innkeepers were extremely welcoming. Will definitely recommend . Thank you for our 1st mother-daughter weekend to be a success.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2017

Had the opportunity to stay here with my girlfriend last weekend to celebrate our anniversary and am very glad we did! The owner, Harry, was kind enough to accommodate a (very) last minute room change and made sure we felt at home in his beautiful B&B. Would strongly recommend this to anyone looking to get away for a while!

View more reviews for this inn


Loved my old room at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on July 31, 2017

My room was built in 1714... you don't try that everyday. The owners were the sweetest. I would definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 22, 2017

We loved this gorgeous historic little Inn. From the kind helpful nature of the owners, to the beautiful comfortable room, to the stunning breakfast, we 2 strangers could not have been happier. A definite place to head if you are visiting this wonderful area.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Summer Vacation at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2017

We had a wonderful time! The room, building, and lands were so beautiful! We loved the putting range, the breakfast was delicious, and felt so comfortable coming back to our room each night after a day out. Definitely are planning on coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


June visit at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 26, 2017

the gardens were better than I expected and the building was charming. The hosts were extremely nice and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Our honeymoon at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on June 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time on our honeymoon. Beautiful and serene. Will come back again.

View more reviews for this inn


spring vaction at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on June 12, 2017

the gardens were beautiful. The breakfasts were very different each day.

View more reviews for this inn


Gorgeous garden room view! at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on June 11, 2017

Very comfortable room with the most gorgeous garden view! Very much enjoyed our night away from the city to enjoy Longwood gardens and Chadds Ford winery - this was the perfect way to end our beautiful day!

View more reviews for this inn


Another great visit to Pennsbury Inn at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2017

This is either my 4th or 5th stay at Pennsbury. It feels like home - if home were an 18th century historic home! Chip & Cheryl are so welcoming - and do everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable. My favorite room is the Winterthur Room - high ceiling, beautiful decor, lots of light, quiet and very private. Worth every penny.

View more reviews for this inn


Picturesque estate with its own peaceful gardens near Longwood Gardens at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on June 02, 2017

My husband, myself, and our ten year old daughter stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend as staging place for our tour of Longwood Gardens and the new Fireworks and Fountains performance. The house and grounds are histori, well appointed, and beautiful. The innkeepers are friendly and more than willing to help. The house dates from 1715 and the gardens are a whimsical, peaceful sanctuary. We are definitely coming back. I would encourage others to stay here as well. It's may be a mile or two from Longwood.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful experience at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on May 24, 2017

Warm and friendly atmosphere, The hosts are very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. It's the kind of B&B where you interact with the hosts and other guests, yet our room was very private. The house and grounds are lovely. The breakfasts were very good but not exceptional. We greatly enjoyed our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Unpleasantly Surprised at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

1.6 reviewed on April 25, 2017

After reading all the glowing reviews about the Inn, we were anticipating much more than was delivered. This establishment is desperately in need of refurbishment and redecorating. Our rooms were tired, tacky, and stifling with no ventilation or air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, however. If your idea of a great B&B breakfast is a packet of instant oatmeal or a conservatory filled with plastic plants, you'll love this place. If not, don't book it.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful experience at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2017

You cannot ask for a better location to visit Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, and Brandywine River Art Museum & Conservation. I was a little put off by the proximity to Route 1 and the traffic noise but once I setting in for the night, I didn't hear anything. I slept like a rock! Super comfy bedding. Breakfast was varied, healthy, and plentiful. Hosts are very welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Room clean and luxurious bed at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on April 23, 2017

Overall experience was great. My only concern was that nobody picked up the phone or returned my calls. I was not able to order champagne or wine at 6pm. No one answers the phone. When we checked out we left keys but I was not able to buy tea or anything at the gift shop. Nobody was at the desk 1030 am or answered the phone. The grounds are beautiful, house, and room lovely. We sleep so well. If you want peace and quiet with no interactions with inn keepers this is the place they avoid you all the time. Breakfast was delicious yum yum.

View more reviews for this inn


A Taste of History at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

Certainly enjoyed staying in a comfortable room from 1714 with modern amenities, but the best part was the time spent chatting with the owners, Cheryl and Chip. They leave you alone or engage you--whatever you wish. Lots of little "extras". I look forward to future visits.

View more reviews for this inn


18th Century Charm at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2017

What a lovely inn. The hosts have kept as many original touches as possible but have added all the modern amenities. My room had a lovely fireplace, brass bedstead, en suite bathroom, and three sunny windows. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was different and healthy! The inn is close to US Rte 1 and I thought the traffic noise would bother me but it didn't. I spent 4 wonderful days exploring the Brandywine Valley from this great location.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on April 10, 2017

My wife and I feel like had taken a mini-retreat with our stay at Elk Forge. The common areas were fabulous to be alone in and settle back and read. Our room was comfortable and loved the two person tub. The setting was serene and wooded. And, the breakfast was great--food and service. we can't wait to go back!

View more reviews for this inn


Good location for Gardens & museum at Pennsbury Inn (Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on March 30, 2017

We stayed one night in the John Marshall room. The room is on the back side of the house and faces the garden. It was very comfortable and quiet. While not particularly spacious it was adequate, with a comfortable chair and a chest at the foot of the bed for seating. Although the Inn is on a busy route there was no traffic noise discernible from our room. The bathroom is not en-suite but rather just a few steps down the hall. The hall is shared with only one other room, which has an ensuite bath, so essentially no chance of running into another guest in the middle of the night. This arrangement may not be for everyone but it certainly provides an excellent value for an area that can be quite expensive. The Inn is very close to Longwood Gardens and just a couple of miles from the Brandywine River Museum.

View more reviews for this inn


A Beautiful Weekend Getaway at Elk Forge Bed and Breakfast Inn, Retreat & Day Spa (Elkton, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on February 23, 2017

Elk Forge is a beautiful estate home with a very cozy, family type atmosphere. We stayed in The Chesapeake Room on the third floor. It was lovely and the bed was amazingly comfortable! My only suggestion would be for the B&B to offer "do not disturb" signs for the door as we were trying to rest during the day and housekeeping knocked on our for twice and woke us up. We had to answer the door so they didn't think the room was empty and come in. The breakfasts were delicious both mornings. I would love to and most likely will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }