Recent Reviews in Catonsville, Maryland

Restful and Relaxing at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2017

We have been staying here for several years when we visit family and find it to be one of the best B&B's. The location is beautiful, it is peaceful, the rooms are lovely and clean, and the food outstanding.

View more reviews for this inn


An excellent quiet place at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

3.2 reviewed on August 25, 2017

The rooms here are all suites - bedroom and sitting room. The surroundings are beautiful and soothing. Hidden near the Patapsco river near Ellicott City, it is a wonderful place to spend a few quiet days.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful slice of history at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2017

Our family enjoyed two peaceful nights at The Wilderness surrounded by lovely gardens and birds. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting our innkeeper Ellen, and had delicious breakfasts each morning. The history of the house was very interesting and the attention to detail and authentic furnishings was amazing. The inn is close to historic Ellicott City and many other points of interest. We would highly recommend a stay at The Wilderness!

View more reviews for this inn


Hidden Gem at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2017

If you're looking for that quiet place to spend quality time with the ones you love this is the perfect home away from home. Ellen truly makes your experience at the Wilderness a treat. She is much like her beautiful cats, (that though I'm allergic had no effect on me,) in that she will engage with you as much or little as you prefer. Waking each morning to a unbelievable delicious surprise breakfast laid out for you with such care was special. The time on the porches to enjoy the beautiful foliage and nature surrounding you is amazing. The Wilderness is packed with surprises and located within perfect distance to quaint shops and a variety of restaurants. This was the perfect get away for my girls and I as we each transition to a new chapter in our lives. Thank you, Ellen for this amazing memory! We hope to return some day.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place To Get Engaged! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2017

The Wilderness is an absolute treasure! Beautiful rooms, well kept landscaping, and conveniently located. Definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a uniquely vintage experience. If you're thinking about engagement, this is a great place to propose and savor the memory with an overnight stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome as Always at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2017

We have stayed at The Wilderness many times as our son & his wife live nearby in Catonsville. The Wilderness is a beautiful, secluded and quiet place to stay. Ellen is always very friendly and we enjoy visiting with her. The food is delicious too! We have stayed at a few other B&Bs in the area when The Wilderness isn't available and they do not compare at all! The Wilderness is first on our list!

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness in Catonsville, Maryland at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on December 03, 2016

If you want to get away for a few days or a week from the noise of cars and people, The Wilderness is the place to go. This lovely, well-kept old home is set in the Patapsco Valley State Park where all you'll hear is the rustling of the trees and the chirping of birds. And in the morning, your host Ellen Sawaya serves up a healthy, tasty assortment of goodies for breakfast. After breakfast, go for a walk in the park or hop in your car for a short drive to Elliott City or Catonsville where you can find several lovely restaurants and shops to explore.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on October 26, 2016

The Wilderness was a lovely discovery, just minutes from other destinaions and tucked away in beautiful quiet surroundings. The common rooms and bedroom suites are simply and elegant in their decor. The breakfast frittata, fresh fruit and baked breads were a delicious breakfast!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely old homestead in quiet forest at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 24, 2016

Ellen's place is a charming old homestead in a quiet area of forest, just 15 mins from the airport. She was a friendly host who baked us a lovely homemade breakfast. The only thing that I found less appealing was that all the windows in the bedrooms had been painted shut. The bathroom window could open, fortunately so air came into the room that way.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful B&B Near Baltimore and Annapolis at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on October 12, 2016

Gracious host, peaceful setting, delicious food, and a beautiful home with lots of history--what more could you ask for?

View more reviews for this inn


Our visit to the Wilderness B and B at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2016

We were so pleased with our stay. Ellen is a wonderful host and chef! The home was beautiful. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the outside porch amidst many birds chirping. We would highly recommend this B and B!

View more reviews for this inn


great stay in the city at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

Had a great stay with Ellen. The breakfast were great and we enjoyed talking with her. If you have allergies or don't like cats this would not be for you.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness Review at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on August 22, 2016

The house was beautiful and the rooms were very comfy. I would highly recommend The Wildness to anyone who is in need of a relaxing vacation.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent rooms, location, hostess, and cats at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Though this B&B is close to cities, it feels like it's in the wilderness. Beautiful rooms, lovely gardens--a perfect retreat.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place, awesome host. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on June 19, 2016

All good, although we wished we had a way of controlling the AC in the room. Ellen was a fantastic host and made a huge effort to meet our dietary preferences.

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness is anything but Wild!!! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on May 31, 2016

The Wilderness was a wonderful experience and rather than being "Wild" it was elegant, historical,, and a truly exceptional experience. Ellen the owner, was a delight and fixed exceptional Breakfasts which I plan to copy for family and friends (she shared her recipes also!) the home is filled with lovely antiques and each has a story which Ellen relayed. it is centrally located to Baltimore and Washington and yet you feel like you are in a very private forest all to yourselves!!! we will return....Ann Rhoades

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 23, 2016

The B&B was very convenient to our activities in the area. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Ellen was a gracious hostess and very accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great alternative to a downtown hotel. at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on May 18, 2016

Beautiful home in a very peaceful setting, yet very convenient to Baltimore. I needed to go to a conference downtown and this was a perfect alternative to a hotel near the conference center. Very easy drive into town and while I was gone, my wife made herself at home and caught up on some reading on the porch, in the dining room, or under some trees. We stayed in the Blue and Gold room, which was very spacious. Ellen is a marvelous host. Several good options for dinner nearby (we opted for Matthew's 1600 about 5 minutes away).

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful escape at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on May 04, 2016

My stay at The Wilderness was exactly the retreat I needed. Even though I was arriving from a mere 10 minutes away, I found myself in what seemed to be a totally different world-- quiet, secluded, and peaceful. Ellen was a wonderful hostess and prepared tremendously delicious treats and breakfast. The suite was cozy, comfortable and welcoming. I am allergic to cats, but since the my rooms were spotlessly clean and completely free of any evidence of the kitties that live in the house, I had absolutely no problems with them. I truly had a lovely stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect quiet getaway! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on May 04, 2016

The Wilderness B&B is the perfect place to escape and recharge. The house itself is very charming with period decor and windows so old the glass has waves in it. The grounds are beautiful. There is an enchanting stream to walk along just across the way, as well as hiking trails nearby. And even just sitting on the porch with a cup of tea and listening to the birds sing held tremendous charm. Ellen, the hostess, accommodated my early check in and was pleasant to be around. Plus, she made a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet escape.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at the Wilderness in December at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 27, 2015

While visiting family in the area, it was very convenient. The suite we stayed in was very comfortable and quiet. Our host was very friendly and helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Happy Guests at The Wilderness! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on December 03, 2015

Gracious and comfortable surroundings, a warm and welcoming hostess, and ultra comfortable beds made for a delightful stay at The Wilderness. Did I forget to say breakfast was DELICIOUS? One minor suggestion - a couple more lights for bedtime reading.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely and quiet! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 30, 2015

We greatly enjoyed our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent visit! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2015

Suites were spacious and clean, the food was yummy, and Ellen is delightful! I highly recommend this B &B!

View more reviews for this inn


The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2015

Enjoyed my stay very much. Pleasant surroundings, delicious food and a most gracious hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Love The Wilderness at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on June 01, 2015

We have stayed at The Wilderness on more than one occasion. It is a great property. The house is really neat and the location is very secluded but still close to local attractions. We will continue to stay there every time we come back to Baltimore.

View more reviews for this inn


A great, relaxing getaway! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on April 22, 2015

The accomodations were very comfortable. We had a nice dining experience in the morning. Place was clean and Ellen was a nice hostess

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful weekend stay at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 18, 2014

We had stayed at the Wilderness about a year and a half ago and were wondering if it would be as good this time. Well it was even nicer. It is such a relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful house. Ellen is soooo pleasant and helpful and just makes it relaxing. It is very clean and cannot think of anything to improve on. I look forward to staying there whenever I visit my son.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B we've ever stayed in! at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2014

Lovely rooms in a beautiful location, great food, and lots to see and do in the area. We've been staying here for several years when visiting our family and have never been disappointed.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect weekend getaway at The Wilderness (Catonsville, Maryland)

4.2 reviewed on December 10, 2014

We stayed in the blue and gold room. The room is large and feels luxurious. Every furniture piece has a function. It is obvious that Ellen, the hostess, has a passion for historical houses and decoration. Ellen accommodated my wife's request for a vegan breakfast, which was set up in a large elegant dining room. She even baked vegan cookies for us. The house sits on a two acre wooded secluded lot, five minutes driving from Ellicott City and a short drive from Baltimore. Perfect weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Wilderness (4.71)
Top
check }