Recent Reviews in Candler, North Carolina

Hard to beat! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 05, 2016

If you are looking for one of the most beautiful BnBs in the Smokies/Blue Ridge, and for fantastic and amazing service, hard to beat River Dance. Callie and Dave are just the tip of the iceberg, but they certainly are the most amazing hosts you could ever imagine. The House is at the top of ridge, and the views are forever. The rooms are amazing, as is the company. The real bonus is how cool Hot Springs and the rest of Madison County is. Super interesting, particularly since I know nothing at all about it. You would be hard pressed to find a better experience. River Dance was an exceptional experience.

View more reviews for this inn

LOVED it Here! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins on 10/10-10/12 and loved the cute little cabins! The view was beautiful in the mornings and we loved that the cabin was perfect for two! The owner/innkeepers were so sweet and waited for us since we arrived after 5:00pm. They then provided us with maps, directions, and recommendations on restaurants and attractions. We loved our stay here and are looking forward to coming back again next fall! We actually got engaged this weekend so it is definitely a special spot to us!

View more reviews for this inn

Cherokee Cabin at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on September 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cherokee cabin for four nights in late August and it was nothing short of fantastic. This property makes an excellent base camp for all the local activities there is to do there. Like all the other reviews, Cheryl and Gretchen are two wonderful people and really care about their customers. My wife and I took home some great memories and can't want to return.

View more reviews for this inn

Great Getaway! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 04, 2014

I was able to stay here to celebrate my birthday and had a splendid time! From the moment we were greeted onto the property until checking out, the service was personalized and done with excellence! I highly recommend this as a place to stay while visiting this area. Ms. Cheryl & Ms. Gretchen will go above and beyond to make your stay special! I actually wanted to rate the Dining higher...the breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! Thanks, Mia Berry

View more reviews for this inn

Charming B&B at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on January 05, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure to stay at Honey hill Inn where the owners were gracious and the food delicious. Gretchen and Cheryl are fantastic and are both naturals at being Inn keepers. The gourmet breakfasts that Gretchen cooked each morning are to die for. If you want to be spoiled and you want to feel like you are at home, Honey hill is a place you want to stay while visiting Asheville.

View more reviews for this inn

Awesome Bed & Breakfast at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 07, 2013

My wife and I always stay at the Honey Hill when we are in the area. Gretchen & Cheryl are always so gracious and exceed all our expectations. Being a business owner; I am a tough sale. But these fine ladies have totally sold be on their product and their personal commitment to their customers. You can tell they really love their customers and enjoy what they are doing. My wife tells everybody about our stays. She talks more about the Bed & breakfast at the Honey Hill than she does the Biltmore. In the evenings we anticipate our return to see what home cook goodies will be waiting for us. Awesome!

View more reviews for this inn

Absolutely lovely... at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on October 08, 2013

We loved our stay in the cozy Balsam cabin with it's gorgeous views of the mountains. The location to Asheville was an easy 18 minutes so getting groceries at the co-op or going out for dinner was a breeze. The location also made it really easy to get to the Biltmore (which exceeded our expectations) and to the Blue Ridge Parkway...but we also enjoyed ample sit-around-the-cabin-being-lazy time! Most of all, we adored Cheryl and Gretchen! Their generous spirits and amazing breakfasts fed our hearts as well as our bellies! A true pleasure all around!

View more reviews for this inn

Pleasantly Surprised at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2013

It takes a special kind of person to invite you into their home and treat you like family. Dave & Callie not only welcomed my wife and I like we were blood relations, they gave us the run of their homestead as well. I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay, and yes, I would place a return visit high on my bucket list. Did I mention the house and scenery were spectacular? - Paul M. and Marianne F.

View more reviews for this inn

Such a lovely B&B! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2013

We were a little nervous about staying outside of Asheville but were very relieved when we got there. Honey Hill is more than we had hoped for. We were in the Howell Room and it was VERY spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were so silky soft. We enjoyed the turn down service as well. We may opt for a different room next time because the bathroom only has a stand up shower but we knew that. After walking around the city my feet could have used a good hot bath! The grounds were beautiful and so were the views. The exterior paint needs a little sprucing up but once you walk inside, you forget about that fact. It's every bit as grand as any B&B that we have ever visited and the breakfast meals were delish! We enjoyed chatting with the other guests before we went out exploring. We hope to be back in the winter. Thanks again for your hospitality. Dwaine and Lisa Thompson

View more reviews for this inn

SO Relaxing! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 19, 2013

We just spent the most relaxing weekend we've had in some time at River Dance! Dave and Callie have created an incredible Bed & Breakfast with an amazing view! It is so easy to relax as you sit on one of the beautiful porches and admire the view, sit beside the outdoor fireplace and become mesmerized in the flames, soak in the hot tub while looking out over the mountains, rock in one of the rocking chairs while listening to the sounds of nature and the babbling stream below, or simply resting in your room looking out the windows at the incredible scenic view. Callie and Dave frequently checked to make sure we had everything we needed, offered their kitchen and grill for our use, and made great recommendations for activities and restaurants in the area. It was a great place to get away from the business of our everyday lives and still have easy access to Hot Springs, hiking trails and rafting. We can't wait to go back again! Mark & Carla Charlotte

View more reviews for this inn

Awesome cabins at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on August 02, 2013

Cheryl and Gretchen, the B&B owners, could not have been more personable and accommodating. It was like we had known them for years, and truly made our experience remarkably like a home away from home. We stayed in the cabins, and didn't have breakfast, but were extremely pleased with the courtesy coffee, sugar, dish detergent, paper towels, and other commodities we didn't have to buy. We loved the privacy, property and views, and spaciousness of the cabin. We hope to go back soon

View more reviews for this inn

35th Anniversary Visit at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2013

Our first visit to RiverDance was for our 35th anniversary! It was phenomenal! We stayed on the lower level in the River Rock Suite. Dave and Callie weren't there, but Callie let me know before we got there, that they may not be. When I text her we were there, she called to make sure everything was ok and asked if we needed anything. They even invited us to go to town with them that night. The whole visit was like that. We felt at home the moment we arrived. Our suite was great, the view from the bedroom and porch was amazing. It was nice having a refrigerator, we ate dinner on the deck/porch the first night, awesome view while dining! The breakfasts were wonderful, if you went away hungry, it was your fault. We did a lot of hiking, so we stayed to ourselves mostly when were were "home", but we look forward to going back and visiting with Dave and Callie some more. This is a great value and I highly recommend it !

View more reviews for this inn

Amazing Stay! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2013

Honey Hill was my first stay at a B&B and it was an unforgettable one! Sheryl and Gretchen were amazing hosts. We had to arrive late for check-in (around 10 pm) and they were very accommodating. We were greeted with a lovely tour of the house and of our room, complete with a bit of history and helpful tips to make our stay more comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Hoyt room. Everything was perfect from the beautiful, spacious room to the comfy robes, honey-based bath products, and the claw foot tub. The TV was small but a nice reminder that we weren't there to watch TV. The breakfast in the morning was divine, a fruit course followed by a main course. We were there for two nights and our breakfasts were very different, one sweet and one savory, but both some of the best that I have had. There is a communal breakfast table which facilitates conversation. Also, make sure you snag a few of the cookies that Sheryl puts out in the common area by the tea and coffee, they are wonderful. Both women are very helpful for helping you plan your day or give suggestions for hiking or eating; make sure you have a good chat with both of them (and ask to meet their dogs if that suits your fancy).

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful, Absolutely Wonderful at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2013

To say that our stay at RiverDance was enjoyable is truly an understatement. Dave and Callie’s home is more, much more than just a Bed & Breakfast. Surely, as the website pictures reveal, the house is spectacular and the view is phenomenal, but what made the stay so wonderful for us was the warmth of their welcome and the pure pleasure of the time spent with them in Christian fellowship. Without question, we will not only return to enjoy the Spa at Hot Springs, but will do so only when they have room for us in their home.

View more reviews for this inn

Simply fabulous at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at Honeyhill, two in the Cherokee cabin, which we both loved, and was perfectly equipped, and two in the Howell room which is also very nice and comfortable. I just loved this place. My husband wants to make this trip a yearly tradition. It was wonderful to come home to Honeyhill every day, and our hostesses were great. I felt especially spoiled with the top notch breakfast served every morning, which were not only gourmet, but made with love. Thanks for the wonderful service and thank you for helping us with directions, information, help, etc. all the little details, the decor, the photos, the pretty table, the smell of wonderful food cooking at night and in morning, the pecan encrusted bacon, and the cookies! All of this makes it a great place.

View more reviews for this inn

Family get-away at Honey Hill at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on April 24, 2013

We (mom, dad, 2 kids) booked the Mt. Mitchell cabin for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay! We enjoyed exploring the hill and little creek behind the cabin, visited the Biltmore estate and Asheville (15 min. drive from cabin) and had a great time in this cozy cabin. Cabin was very clean, fresh towels and sheets, fire place, wood for fire place, SUPER cozy. We also very much enjoyed the breakfast that was delivered to our cabin: delicious granola, fruit, yoghourt, good coffee. GREAT place to stay. We highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic B&B very close to downtown Asheville at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Cherokee Cabin at this great B&B and really enjoyed our stay. The hostesses Cheryl and Gretchen were fantastic and saw to our every need. The breakfasts here were amazing gourmet meals! Yummy! Our cabin was very private, cozy and hosted views of the mountains all around. The whirlpool tub was great! The hostesses were very friendly and knowledgeable about local dining options, walking trails, and any other local activities as well as very accommodating to to my dietary restrictions (vegetarian) and happily prepared a veggie option to breakfast each day. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Asheville. You will not regret it! Fantastic food, views, and proximity to downtown Asheville and Biltmore Estate. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn

Loved Honey Hill! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Honey Hill Inn and Cabins. We rented the Cherokee cabin. It was perfect for us. The breakfasts were out of this world! The location was good -very near to Asheville where we enjoyed dinner at some local restaurants. The owners of Honey Hill were very friendly and accommodating. (mark and Kim)

View more reviews for this inn

Great Place to just kick back and..... at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on March 10, 2013

Callie and Dave make you feel like family by welcoming you into their home to share all the amenities. Callie present sumptuous breakfast treats each morning. Choose from fresh fruit, yogurts, granola and a variety of baked goods. The hot tub is awesome and well placed on the property with a great view. Enjoy it at night with a beverage of your choice. You can tell the placement of the tub is well thought out. It is not easy to get a hot tub installed in the side of a mountain. Very ingenious Dave! We stayed in the lower level suite which had plenty of space for the two of us. There is a nice living room with big screen TV, desk, kitchenette with sink, frig. microwave and a toaster oven. This is a great getaway, with a great view and great accommodations. And it’s a Great Value too! Just a great place to kick back, reflect and enjoy life. Jeff & Lee

View more reviews for this inn

A True Gem at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed there last summer while I was 7 months pregnant and we had an amazing time. The B&B was so relaxing and had warm and fuzzy vibes. We woke up to a healthy homemade breakfast and gorgeous view every morning. Callie, her husband and dog were wonderful hosts. We can't wait to go back, this place is a total gem :)

View more reviews for this inn

Romantic Getaway at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on January 28, 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and it most certainly will not be the last. Honey Hill will be our destination in the future and we are recommending it to everyone we know. The home is very comfortable and the owners are great people. They gave us some excellent recommendations for activities and dining in the Asheville area.

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect Getaway at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on January 14, 2013

There are not enough nice things to sat about his Inn. We have stayed there about 5 times, with three different owners, and whereas it as always been great, it is now abolutely top drawer under the auspices of Gretchen and Cheryl. We have been there alone, with friends, and for large family reunions, and it was perfect for all of those things. The beautifully decorated main inn maintains much of the home's original 1885 splendor, furnished very well with antiques as well as modern comfortalbe beds, wifi and baths, spotlights a lot of interesting family history, art and photos. The relatively new self- catering cabins up on the hill which used to be the vinyard are bright, very attractive, well-equipped and provide a perfect venue for couple's retreats or family gatherings . If you want a beautiful, restful place to stay only about 10 minutes from Aheville and very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, plan to stay here.

View more reviews for this inn

The Beauty of the Mountains at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2012

RiverDance sits high atop a mountain between two small, quaint towns in North Carolina. The rooms and deck look down at the bend of Big Laurel Creek. RiverDance has exceptional views, is peaceful, and is the perfect get-away. I can't wait till Spring to return and spend all my time in front of the fireplace on the deck and just soak in the beauty.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful B&B near Asheville at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2012

We were very pleased with our recent 4 day stay at The Honey Hill Inn. The breakfasts and afternoon desserts were some of the best we've ever experienced at the 15 or so B&B's we have visited. We had a few small glitches in our visit and the innkeepers were very accomodating in making everything just right. They were excellent at offering suggestions for local attractions & restaurants and were so personable. We especially enjoyed hearing the history of the house. If we ever find ourselves in the Asheville area again, Honey Hill would be our first choice!

View more reviews for this inn

Great location, beautiful view! at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on October 30, 2012

Used the whole house for a business retreat. Absolutely perfect!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect at RiverDance (Marshall, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 16, 2012

We were warmly welcomed to RiverDance. The beds were really comfortable, the rooms were beautiful and the breakfast excellent. Not only that, but the river was amazing for fly fishing. We are definitely planning to return. Callie and Dave are delightful and mailed our forgotten wash bags without hesitation. Excellent.

View more reviews for this inn

“DOUBLELY Fabulous” at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 14, 2012

We spent a week at Honey Hill (July 28th through August 4th) in the Blue Ridge Cabin. This is our second stay at Honey Hill this year. Our first stay was a weekend stay in April and we had an absolutely wonderful experience then and this visit was DOUBLELY wonderful because we spent an entire week. The cabin is ideal for two, beautiful, immaculately clean, well cared for with lots of little extras and the view is absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed breakfast on the porch each morning and several evenings we roasted marshmallows on the grill. Absolutely a great place to stay. Cheryl and Gretchen are great hosts, very friendly, attentive, and accommodating. The continental breakfast is elaborate, plentiful, and included several homemade goodies. Gretchen’s homemade granola is such a delicious treat. We are looking forward to our next stay at Honey Hill, maybe this fall. John and Donna

View more reviews for this inn

Charming Cabin for Two and a FurBall With Views at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on August 05, 2012

Good sized Cabin with a view and pet friendly; stunning view of mt. range as opposed to the back of an inn "in town" for walking and enjoying the grounds with pet. Owners extremely caring and enjoyed talking with them. Good info about the area in the cabins; very clean and plenty of room to stretch out with your fur pal! Even with 6 cabins filled there is solitude while enjoying our walks in the gardens. We felt we were the only ones there. Great stay!

View more reviews for this inn

The best Bed and breadfast!! at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2012

The service, food, beds and location are all awesome! Cheryl and Gretchen are the best!!

View more reviews for this inn

One of the best places I've stayed in at Engadine Inn and Cabins (Candler, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2012

I travel all over the world in my job. Honey Hill is one of the nicest places I've stayed in. Cheryl and Gretchen are absolutely fantastic hosts and the breakfast meal was fine enough to be served in a 5 star major city hotel. I HIGHLY recommend this place.

View more reviews for this inn

Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Engadine Inn and Cabins (4.79)
  2. RiverDance (4.73)