Casa Del Mar Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.1
  • Cleanliness4.4
  • Onsite Dining3.2

Score Breakdown based on
198 Reviews

Write A Review

Amazing location

3.8 on October 17, 2016

Great location, wine and cheese a nice touch

Die schönste Unterkunft während 3 wöchiger Reise durch Kalifornien

4.6 on October 15, 2016

Das Hotel hat einen wundervollen Charme. Haben uns sehr wohl gefüllt und unseren Aufenthalt verlängert.

Overnight stay

3.6 on October 08, 2016

Very comfortable rooms, extremely clean. Breakfast was ok but could include yogurts or just a little something more. All in all it was really nice.

Excellent position for a reasonable cost.

3.6 on October 07, 2016

We stayed two nights at the hotel whilst touring the West Coast middle September. Santa Barbara tends to be expensive but Casa del Mar came in at a good price. The position is perfect for walking to the beach, Marina, and Town. Room was comfortable and clean, check in was friendly and efficient, as was check out. The afternoon cheese and wine is a lovely touch. I would stay again but not in summer due to the lack of aircon.

Amazing location

5 on October 05, 2016

Great location, good breakfast of oatmeal, cereals and pastries. Wine and cheese was a nice touch. Close to the beach. Would stay again.

We'll be back!

3.4 on October 02, 2016

Great place to stay. Close to the in town activity, close to the water and easy to jump on the road for some sight seeing. We will be back!

Comfortable B&B

3.6 on October 01, 2016

A very comfortable & charming Bed & Breakfast Inn.

Casa Del Mar Review

4.4 on September 28, 2016

It would have been nice to be aware of no AC which may be common in SB but still a surprise for us. Wine hour is great touch but I would encourage using local wines vs something from Australia.

Relaxation so close to the Marina

3.6 on September 26, 2016

We stayed a couple of days to break up our trip down the coast. The Inn was perfectly placed for us as we wanted to walk up and down the shore, and eat fish. The cheese and wine in the evening was a lovely touch.

Labor Day Stay

4.4 on September 19, 2016

The services and the room itself exceeded expectations. It felt like our own private villa right off the beach. The location was great, within a short walk to the Funk Zone. On site dining could have provided some more options.

Not bad

2.8 on September 12, 2016

Wife and I went for 3 nights in August and had a great time in Santa Barbara. Beware that they don't have Air Conditioning. It wasn't that much of a big deal, but we didn't know until we got there.

Dog Friendly

4.4 on September 08, 2016

We spent Labor Day weekend in Santa Barbara after a week long conference in San Diego. My experience when booking an independent has been the pictures and reviews usually exaggerate the quality of the hotel. Not this time. Clean, updated room. Located just one half block from the beach, the front desk staff were great. Check in was easy, explaining the parking which was not a problem at all. This will be our place to stay (with or without the dog) in Santa Barbara. Can't tell you about the breakfast in the morning or the wine and cheese in the pm, but the coffee was good.

A wonderful surprise

4.4 on September 07, 2016

Great location, and dog friendly too! While stayed just one night, loved the spacious room and appreciated the full kitchen. This will definitely be a destination from now on.

Good location

2.6 on September 07, 2016

The whole stay was pleasant. The location really convenient - walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc.

Everything okay

4.0 on September 01, 2016

Wie erwartet sehr nett.

Lovely hotel, fabulous location

4.6 on August 30, 2016

We loved this hotel! It was beautiful, clean, and conveniently located. Walking distance from everything! The wine and cheese bar was a nice touch and the service was outstanding! We were very pleased and can't wait to return to Casa del Mar!

Good place, strategic position

3.0 on August 21, 2016


Casa Del Mar Inn

4.0 on August 19, 2016

Loved the location and the room was a perfect quiet getaway.

Quaint Little Inn

3.6 on August 12, 2016

Great location, walking distance to the beach, pier, restaurants, wharf and wine tasting. Quaint little older inn. Very clean large room. Tasty continental breakfast and wine & cheese happy hour.

Wonderful B&B

3.8 on August 09, 2016

A lovely relaxed B&B - stone's throw from the beach. Spacious 2 bedroom suite, great staff and a wonderful view.

Our 1st time to Santa Barbara

5 on August 06, 2016

Great location. Walking distance to restaurants. Dog friendly. Very friendly and informative staff. 5pm complimentary wine and cheese, yes please!

Longtime favorite

4.6 on July 28, 2016

I have been coming here since the 1990's. They keep the property updated and it is a very comfortable place to stay in Santa Barbara with a great location. I appreciate the breakfast and happy hour offerings.

Casa Del Mar stay

3.4 on July 21, 2016

Very comfortable rooms. Everything you would need. Breakfast was as others reviewed it, very basic with inexpensive store bought pastries. We would stay here again.

Thank you

3.6 on July 18, 2016

Awesome stay came to town with my fiancé and pup! We had a blast and awesome service

Quiet, cozy, comfortable and convenient

4.4 on July 15, 2016

From moment we stepped into Casa Del Mar, we felt so welcome. Our host told us about the amenities, happy hour wine and cheese, breakfast in the morning, and about special events going on (Argentine festival) the next block over. Our room was quiet, comfortable, cozy, and convenient - the beach and restaurants are just steps away. We were in town for just one night, for the big annual orchid event at Cal-Orchid and Santa Barbara Orchid Estate; we'll be back at Casa Del Mar same time next year!


3.8 on July 14, 2016

It was a beautiful location and grounds. the front desk person helped me with me bag. I loved hear the ocean and the feeling of the amazing breeze. I also enjoyed sitting on my balcony in the morning. The included breakfast is more like a snack but I did enjoy my stay. Go for the grounds and location.

A Breath of Fresh Air

3.6 on July 11, 2016

If you like simple, casual, lovely cotton bedding,fresh air (vs closed hotel ventilation systems) through windows that open, then this is a great place for you. After three previous nights in stuffy hotels, this was truly a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was just a couple choices of cold cereal and a couple of juices. It, however, included hot coffee which is all I need. Really enjoyed this place. We'll be back for sure!

An easy comfortable stay.

4.0 on July 08, 2016

My daughter and I stayed at The Casa Del Mar Inn for two nights in June 2016. We needed to shorten our stay from 3 to 2 nights and that was not a problem. This place was just as represented. The staff were very welcoming and informative. You cant get much closer to the wharf and beach than this location. The design is a nice courtyard arrangement with comfortable inner areas to relax with fountains. Parking was not a problem.

Santa Barbara June 2016

4.0 on July 04, 2016

This is an excellent pet friendly hotel/b&b. Our queen bedded room was on the small side, but very adequate to our needs and it was nicely appointed. A big plus was the proximity to the the beach-front boulevard - the hotel is a half block off the beach, and yet our room was very quiet. And, we had easily walkable access to the beach, Stearn's Wharf, the Harbor area, and numerous restaurants, most of which had pet-friendly patio dining. The front desk staff was very helpful and every one we encountered from gardeners to room attendants were friendly. The only suggestion I can make for improvements is to have coffee available earlier for early risers. The office didn't open until 7:30. We were generally up and about between 6 and 6:30. There is a breakfast and lunch venue just around the corner that opens at 6:30. The room rate seemed a bit pricey, but, hey, it's Santa Barbara.

Love SB!

4.4 on July 02, 2016

We stayed in room 25. 2nd floor corner, ocean view. The room was AMAZING! We had our morning coffee out on the porch and people-watched every day. Absolutely loved it. Wish the breakfast had fruits though.

Great location.

3.6 on June 30, 2016

Awesome place to stay, close to everything and very reasonable as far as pricing goes.

Lovely B&B with a great location

3.6 on June 20, 2016

So close to the harbor, an easy walk to shops and dining. Good value for Santa Barbara. As seniors, we found the room and bathroom to be very dark , so reading, shaving , putting on makeup were challenging.

Satisfactorily Met Acceptable Accomodations at a Competitive Price

2.8 on June 20, 2016

This accomodation, when measured against several other competing accomodations had the advantage of giving a kitchen and two bedrooms at the same price as a traditional two bedroom at another inn. For this reason the value was good for the price. We were very comfortable there, although their continental breakfast was probably the least evolved out of any we have seen, and not worth attending.

Excelent choice

4.2 on June 18, 2016

This probabily one of The best choices in Santa Bárbara only a few blocks from The shore. Dont miss The wine an cheese sesion!!

Great place to stay. Pet friendly.

4.4 on June 16, 2016

Loved this property and staff is lovely

Great place!

4.4 on June 08, 2016

This has become my favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. It is reasonable, has a friendly staff, no resort fee, and even a Happy Hour and breakfast!

Great location, charming Inn

4.0 on June 07, 2016

Excellent location, charming and quiet - free breakfast and happy hour were a nice addition.

Dont miss the wine and cheese sessions!

4.8 on June 06, 2016

Excelent choice in Santa Barbara. The crew is friendly and the hotel is very near the beach. Dont miss the white wine!

greg's stay

3.0 on June 06, 2016

We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend it. happy hour wine was very low-rent, but we didn't expect anything more. plenty of wine places in the area.


4.8 on May 29, 2016

We enjoyed Casa Del Mar's uniqueness, setting, accommodations, and amenities. The employees were efficient and friendly. We’ll definitely return for another stay. Thank you!

Perfect for pets

4.6 on May 25, 2016

Enjoyex the plce very much. Will be going back again with my dog. The wine and cheese happy hour and breakfast was a great bonus

Great value by the beach

3.6 on May 23, 2016

We were walking distance to State Street restaurants and wine tasting in the "funk zone". The room was clean, and the breakfast was good.

Our Santa Barbara Vacation, not long enough

4.2 on May 16, 2016

John was very helpful in getting our room ready for early check in. He also did a fantastic job with the wine & cheese display and replenishment. He was very accommodating with all of our requests. Our room was clean and comfortable. The refrigerator & microwave came in handy and was a nice addition. I really loved the outdoor courtyard atmosphere with fireplace and beautiful foliage. Close to everything and walking distance many attractions we wanted to see. We will definitely recommend and return. Thank you, Michelle N.

One night out

4.2 on May 11, 2016

Great little place! Right next to beach and tons of restaraunts! So cozy!!

B&B review

4.6 on May 10, 2016

The rooms and service were wonderful. We had a great trip. The location of Casa Drl Mar was perfect!

Hidden Gem in Santa Barbara

4.6 on May 06, 2016

I loved my room! The hotel itself was smaller than I thought from the pictures, but the rooms are very cozy and clean- really liked the fireplace once it started getting chilly in the evening. I loved the open layout and big windows which allowed the beautiful Santa Barbara sun to shine in the room. It was also super close to the beach, about a 3 min walk tops. The welcome reception was nice, cheese, crackers and wine- what a welcome after a long day of work. Was very disappointed in the "generous buffet-style Continental Breakfast" it was literally few danishes, if you're not a carb eater for breakfast you're out of luck. I decided to skip breakfast that morning. Everything else was great and I'll be back. The front desk (manager?) was very polite and got me checked in and out in no time. I felt as though the price was very fair for the beautiful room so close to the beach- if only I had more time to stay and play.

Comfortable stay

3.4 on April 27, 2016

A clean, comfortable bed and breakfast with a great location - close to beach, State street, marina and pier. I would stay here again.Staff is also friendly and helpful.

Amazing stay

5 on April 25, 2016

Our stay at Casa Del Mar was fantastic. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful and the location was perfect for walking to the beach and tasting rooms on the Urban Wine Trail. We will definitely make this property our "go-to" for upcoming visits to SB. Many thanks!

Casa del mar inn

4.6 on April 24, 2016

Quite quirky but thats the attraction Great location and very friendly and helpful staff Have stayed many times and will again


3.8 on April 23, 2016

beautifully appointed room. Lovely garden patio


4.4 on April 23, 2016

Perfect and pet-friendly!

Weekend getaway

4.2 on April 23, 2016

We are a repeated customer at Casa del Mar Inn we always enjoy our stay. It is ideal place to stay for family getaway.

Great stay and great location

5 on April 14, 2016

Fantastic place in a great location in Santa Barbara. The room was very clean, well-kept, and modern. The staff was very friendly and the evening wine and cheese was a pleasant surprise. Look forward to staying again.

Lovely place!

4.0 on April 13, 2016

Amazing location and staff! We enjoyed our stay with our furry friend ¿¿

Great customer service

5 on April 12, 2016

Loved the bathtub. Lovely room. Everyone greeted me with a smile.

Casa del mar inn Santa Barbara

4.4 on April 11, 2016

Great location, great service, slightly quirky but our number one place to stop when in Santa Barbara

Casa del mar

4.2 on April 11, 2016

This is my second time staying here. I love it and will stay here every time I come to Santa Barbara. - Valerie

Great for a short get away

3.8 on April 08, 2016

This dog friendly location a block from the ocean is great for a short get away. Our room was a good size and had a small fridge, microwave, and stove top. The hotel grounds are beautiful and relaxing. The location is ideal. It is definitely a place where we will return.

Stay at Casa Del Mar Inn

5 on March 31, 2016

We have stayed here several times and it is always outstanding!

Lovely rooms, great location!

4.4 on March 29, 2016

We loved our stay at this bed and breakfast! The rooms were clean and quiet and the location was perfect for us. The breakfast is pretty basic, nothing special.

Unique property hidden in Santa Barbara

3.6 on March 27, 2016

Nice renovation on courtyard type hotel. Our two room suite had a full kitchen for the price of a regular hotel room. Clean, with nice bedding. Great location- could walk to restaurants and the beach is right there. They allow pets, good for pet owners, but awoke to the barking of a dog which was a drag. The breakfast was basic continental and pretty basic. Overall enjoyed our stay!

Perfect place to stay

3.6 on March 25, 2016

This BnB was a gray option for my boyfriend and I. The room was huge, clean tidy and very welcoming. The location is perfect. Short walk from the pier, the harbour, state st and the famous fig tree. Breakfast is included as is wine and cheese "happy hour" but be warned they are well WELL below average. I'm of the opinion if you do it - do it well. The front desk staff also were not as knowledgable as if have expected on what to do, where to eat etc. Just my honest review. All that said and done would I stay there again? ABSOLUTLEY. Great value and pretty little Casa. Lastly, I VERY highly recommend dinner at The Lark and a wine tour with 246 wine tours.

Great location, excellent accomodation

4.4 on March 22, 2016

Great location, excellent service, room was thoughtfully laid out and renovated. Tons of outlets, microwave, fridge, etc. Will go back for sure.

Great pet friendly in Santa Barbara

4.4 on March 18, 2016

We have been staying at Casa del Mar for years because we travel with our dog. They are pet friendly and a terrific location near the beach and harbor. Unfortunately, dogs are not allowed on the beach, but there is lots of good walking with water views. Ask The front desk for restaurant recommendations where you can take your dog. The staff is very friendly and helpful.The sitting room has coffee, tea and newspapers available all day (after breakfast and before wine & cheese). The grounds are attractive and well kept with pleasant spots to sit outdoors . The historic Spanish style architecture is charming, but the modern room decor does not reflect the historical character of the buildings. We like that every room has at least a small fridge, bar or food prep area. For location and dog friendly in Santa Barbara, this is a great place.

Perfect Santa Barbara stay

4.4 on March 07, 2016

So wonderful to stay at a place that is exactly as it is presented online. Couldn't have been happier on every level

Casa Del Mar Inn

3.4 on March 03, 2016

Excellent location, very clean and comfortable, great for families.

A nice place to stay

3.6 on February 26, 2016

The service was great. James at the front desk was very kind and helpful. They don't have meals there but do offer a nice continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. I loved how close to the ocean it was. Santa Barbara is a beautiful place. However there's a lot of construction going in town with road closures that make it a inconvenient.

Muy lindo lugar

4.0 on February 23, 2016

Lástima que en la recepción ha sido un tanto pobre. El lugar bellísimo. Las habitaciones muy amplias y lindas! Volvería sin dudarlo.

Dated kitchen and bathrooms

2.8 on February 22, 2016

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, two bath room with kitchen. Overall the unit was comfortable and quiet for our group of 4 adults. Everyone liked the beds. The evening wine/cheese was a nice touch. Continental breakfast was average and nothing special. The kitchens and bathrooms were quite dated, but were clean. The kitchen cabinets could use an overhaul, and the dining table for 4 was really not usable for dining since it was pushed into a corner with no room to pull out chairs to sit around. Probably would not stay here again next time I'm in Santa Barbara.

Lush tranquility

4.0 on February 17, 2016

Lovely large unit with kitchen with entry from the lovely courtyard with Angel Trumpets and camellias in bloom. Too warm for the fire pit, but it looked good. Continental breakfast adequate, but coffee not available early enough. Conveniently located to beach, boating, dining. Convenient trolley a block away with service along beach, shopping and to the Zoo.


4.6 on February 17, 2016

We had a Great weekend stay! they are a pet friendly property which made it easy for us to bring our pup. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Only suggestion I might add is to raise the TV up on the wall. They are set very low. Other than that PERFECT stay! Great wind and Cheese in the afternoon before dinner. WE will definitely be coming back

Great Place. Great Vallue.

5 on February 15, 2016

Awesome spot!! We will be back for sure!

Nice place!

4.2 on February 06, 2016

This is a nice inn by the beach. The price is very reasonable. My only problem is it's not what I expected for a bed and breakfast. What they offered was more like a continental breakfast you see at most hotels. Still a nice place to stay for the price!

Great B&B

4.2 on January 28, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday. We wanted to stay by the beach which was basically across the street. We stayed in the Courtyard Suite. I would definitely recommend the suite rooms. They are much more spacious and offer better amenities. After our wine tastings my wife and I came back to the room and opened a bottle and relaxed in front of the fire place. After dinner we came back and sat in the courtyard where there is also a fire pit. The next morning we took a walk along the beach before brunch and leaving town. Our whole stay was great.

Cute Inn by the Beach

4.4 on January 20, 2016

My husband and I took the train from San Diego to Santa Barbara. We chose Casa Del Mar Inn because it was close to the train, the beach, and the main street in Santa Barbara. We arrived at the train station at almost 10 pm, and it was about a 10 minute walk to the Inn. Being January, it was very quiet and I felt very safe walking in the residential neighborhood. The lobby closed at 10 pm, but when I called the office before arriving and told them of our late arrival, the person told me exactly where to look for our keys. It worked out well. The next morning I registered, and everything was great! The rooms are a good size, larger than I was expecting. There is a small refrigerator and microwave there, which was helpful. The floor is tile, which makes sense because it is so close to the beach. This way, it is easy to clean up if people drag in sand from the beach. There is no AC but a ceiling fan with big windows. I can imagine that in the summer time, with the windows open, the fan on, and people near the beach, it could get a little loud. In January, it was lovely! The bathroom was standard. The water was very hot. (I like it hot and it was very hot!) There was good water pressure. Breakfast was very casual: cereals, muffins, bagels, juice and drinks. The coffee was very tasty! The Inn offers a wine tasting in the evening, but my husband and I were off enjoying Santa Barbara, so we did not partake. When we left the room on the first morning, I was amazed at how close we were from the beach! The hotel is about a half of a block from the sand! My husband and I walked on the beach to the Santa Barbara pier, which is maybe two blocks away! After spending the morning walking on the pier, we walked up the main street, State Street, and spent the day enjoying Santa Barbara. My husband and I would definitely come back to Casa Del Mar Inn, but probably in the Fall or Winter when Santa Barbara is a little more quiet! Enjoy your stay!

Charming rooms

4.6 on January 20, 2016

Charming little place to stay- especially the rooms with fireplace and separate seating area. Breakfast is basic- coffe, tea, juice, breakfast rolls, fruit- but wine and cheese reception in the evening is great! Wish they had coffee makers in the rooms! Reception people are great! This was my second year staying here, and would stay again for a romantic getaway :)

Overnight STay

4.0 on January 19, 2016

We stayed in one of the one-room suites. The layout was great and being able to watch the fireplace and TV while lying in bed was a great amenity. The service was top-notch. My favorite place to stay in Santa Barbara. BC

Great place to stay

4.6 on January 04, 2016

Dog friendly, great location. We have stayed here multiple times.

Christmas Travels

4.6 on December 30, 2015

Stopped at the Casa Del Mar Inn for a night travelling north on our way home. Just the one night but will definitely be back again - lovely hotel, excellent location, very high quality rooms.

recent stay

2.8 on December 29, 2015

all was good except for the breakfast. i am diabetic and everything was high sugar based except for the cheerios.

Perfect location

4.0 on December 13, 2015

Stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend. The location is great--within walking distance of the ocean, great restaurants and the State Street trolley. The room was comfortable with a welcome gas fireplace. The staff was friendly. Looking forward to a return visit in May.

Santa Barbara Retreat

3.8 on November 17, 2015

Room odor was too much a chemical scent. Was corrected. Service was exceptional.


2.4 on November 11, 2015

Great location. You can walk pretty much everywhere. The hotel lost power between midnight and 1am on the last night of my stay. The room became very uncomfortable because the ceiling fan and the A/C would not run. This made it difficult to sleep. No lights in the morning so you could not shave or take a shower. The power was not going to be restored until the late afternoon.

Wedding weekend delight

4.6 on October 25, 2015

We had a great weekend here for my nephew's wedding in Santa Barbara

Home away from home

5 on October 22, 2015

i was coming into town and needed a place that would remind me of being at home. I had a 2 bedroom with a full kitchen which made it very nice. The room was amazing, clean, and smelled fresh. The service was excellent. When ever i needed anything they were always right there to help. Anytime i am in town i will be stayin at the Caa Del Mar Inn!!!!!!

Great value!

4.0 on October 20, 2015

Large rooms, kitchen and second bedroom, perfect for families. Close to beach and marina. Breakfast adequate to get you going would have loved more fruits!

Lovely B & B

5 on October 15, 2015

The staff at the Casa Del Mar Inn are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are comfortable and even without air conditioning, the cross breezes and the fans in the ceiling kept the room at a comfortable temperature. I liked all the energy and water saving features. The continental breakfasts were delicious. The Inn is situated in an area near to downtown, the railway and the beach. Who could ask for anything more! Pat and Phil Evans

The Wild Wanderess

3.8 on October 12, 2015

Great rooms for the price! Extremely friendly staff and completely exceeded my expectations with customer service! Only critique is that I wish the rooms could have AC, because it can get a little warm in the summer.

Plan your stay when there is no heat wave

3.4 on September 28, 2015

We stayed here while volunteering for the Avon Walk, it is very conveniently located. I upgraded my room to a king (upstairs) when we arrived after I saw how small the downstairs queen room was. The weekend was very warm and humid and the hotel has no air conditioning, as is the case with most beach-side hotels, since it relies on cool ocean breezes, which were not around for the days we were in Santa Barbara, so do not stay here during any heat waves. The front desk clerk "Chris" provided us with box fans and all rooms have ceiling fans, which helped a little. There was a small neighbor noise problem the first night. Our room shared a porch/balcony (as well as being located on the main street) and the party next to us came home very late (after 2 AM) and sat outside talking and smoking cigarettes and since it was so hot our windows were open, which we had to close to get some quiet. The next day after reporting to the front desk clerk, we were moved (actually upgraded) to another room which was quite nice and there were no noisy neighbors. The courtyard is quite lovely, we enjoyed time sitting out and viewing the stars. This is nice hotel and like I said would be quite comfortable when there is nice weather. The front desk clerk Chris was very friendly and accommodating and the housekeeping staff as well.

Great location

3.8 on September 26, 2015

A half a block to the beach and one block to the wharf, makes CDM a great place to stay while in Santa Barbara. It was unusually and humid during our stay so AC would have be nice.

private B&B

4.6 on September 23, 2015

Love the rooms, wine, crackers and cheese in the afternoon, place feels nice and warm. Close to the beach and State street.

Very pleasant experience!

3.6 on August 30, 2015

i would highly recommend Casa Del Mar. We had a bright corner second story room with lots of windows and cross ventilation. Great location to the beach and shopping.

Wonderful place to stay!

4.0 on August 27, 2015

We were only in town for one night and really wished we could have stayed longer! The accommodations were perfect for our needs and the location could not have been better ~ short walk to the beautiful beach and to Stearn's Wharf.


3.6 on August 24, 2015

Nice spot half a block from the marina. The room was nicer than we expected. I found the bed very firm. The breakfast was adequate continental style. Afternoon wine and cheese was very pleasant. I wouldn't consider this a bed and breakfast but yes you can toast yourself a bagel in the morning. Overall it was a pleasant experience and I would go back.

Great Value for a Great Location!

3.8 on August 20, 2015

Here for a wedding weekend. Stayed in the 2 bdrm suite with a kitchen. Basic amenities but clean! Perfect for a family. Great location right across the street from the beach and an easy walk to the Pier and State St. Would recommend that they put the individual keys on a key chain so it's easier to find. We almost lost ours several times over the weekend because it was by itself. Couldn't put it on our key chain as we had a rental car. Otherwise, we would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

Nice Weekend Stay

3.2 on August 20, 2015

I spent the weekend in Santa Barbara with my husband and our dog. I chose Casa Del Mar because of its price, location and dog-friendliness. Their pet fee was only $15 a night compared to an inn next door that charged $50. We had a king suite facing the courtyard, which was beautiful; however, with no air conditioning you need to keep the windows open and everyone can see into your room unless you put the big shades down. It wasn't a major inconvenience; just be prepared. We brought our own box fan, which helped during the day. They offer free breakfast, but I wouldn't count on it as a full meal. There were some small bagels and cereal- not a full breakfast like you would think. They do have a wine and cheese set up from 5-7pm which nice. We just went for about 10 minutes and enjoyed the free goodies. The location is great, just about a five minute walk to Stearns Wharf, and 10 minute walk to the harbor area with cafe's and maybe a 15 minute walk to the restaurants on State street. Overall it was a nice experience, very pretty Spanish-style inn, rooms were a good size (especially the suite with a kitchen). My husband and I would stay here again!

Cas del mar

3.8 on August 17, 2015

Service was great

outstanding place to stay

4.2 on August 16, 2015

Plenty of space, very quiet and clean suite : we recommand this place.

Nicely Located and Pleasant Old Southern Charm

3.2 on August 12, 2015

Nicely Located and Pleasant Old Southern Charm

Nice and Cozy

3.6 on August 06, 2015

Nice place to stay being close to shore. Accommodations were good. Breakfast was ok.

Cute hotel by the water

4.4 on August 04, 2015

I have no complain with the hotel. people were nice and wine & cheese in the evening was wonderful service. Our room was a little small but not any problems . I wish there was a bathtub.

Good spot

2.8 on June 25, 2015

Is a conveniently located near shopping, great restaurants, tasting rooms and the Funkzone. There is covered parking, beautiful grounds and very helpful staff. My room was well appointed with a modern décor and clean lines. The bedding and mattress was heaven. I have been tempted to call and ask so I can duplicate it at home it was that comfortable. My rooms windows were on the walkway which meant that if I wanted light the whole world could see in. I wish there were some kind of privacy shade so I could get light while I was in my room. The breakfast was minimal with low quality products and very little selection. I have done better at chain hotels on the road than what was offered here. The staff was helpful, the location was great and the room was very comfortable. Overall I would stay again and make plans for breakfast anywhere else!

Great Dog Friendly Inn and wonderful location!

5 on June 08, 2015

They are one of the best dog friendly places in Santa Barbara. Thanks again for another great stay.

Casa Del Mar

4.6 on June 03, 2015

Very friendly staff, awesome happy hour.

Bungalow life, updated 'old Santa Barbara'

3.6 on May 25, 2015

Just as pictured online. A sweet little neighborhood, too. Walking distance to everything. Delicious coffee. Nice wines. Friendly staff. Lovely courtyard. Please update the quality of the breakfast breads/muffins...there are Sooo many local bakeries to supply you. Maybe add some mini-yogurts. Also, bathroom amenities need to be improved. Had to go buy our own at a local store. Cotton face pads, qtips , more lotion, shower cap, etc. Still, we thought it great value & would stay again.

Pleasantly surprised excellent pricing value rewarded affordable quality stay in a very clean room

5 on May 15, 2015

The room we stayed in was a casita style room. Room #33 was large enough to comfortably house a queen size bed, small desk, and a chair. Plenty of room to get comfortable It had a very large bathroom that included a large hanging closet with shelves/storage, and opposite a microwave and refrigerator The toilet is in the same room but 5-6 feet from the sink/shower/tub so its out of the way and ready for independent use We were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. They had everything from soaps and shampoos to body gels and large comfortable towels The large ceiling fan in room provides more than adequate cooling We were treated to a semi private garden with seating and small table. It was just outside our door but separated by vegetation/walkway on a small path where it ended in a cul de sac underneath a shading tree The garden was of plants indigenous to the climate and acted as a nature barrier to separate and add privacy to the area from the public right-a-way nearby. […] The complimentary breakfast was adequate and they served plenty of breads and bagels with spreads, cereals, oatmeal, juices, and a variety of a local Santa Barbara coffee roasting company coffees The grounds were well kept and the lounge had comfortable leather chairs in front of a fireplace, and tables with chairs for use when eating. The wine and cheese was a nicely added snack benefit before heading back in to get ready to go out for dinner. The Bed and Breakfast is located nearly across the street from the beach, Stearns wharf, and the Harbor. I say nearly because there is one property separating it from Cabrillo which is the street the beach, wharf, and harbor are located on. Our first morning I woke up early and grabbed my folding chair to see the sunrise on the beach. The walk took me all of three minutes from room to sand. We were very pleased with our stay […], and plan on many more trips to this charming affordable Santa Barbara get away in the future"

Love CDM!

5 on May 13, 2015

this is our go to place when visiting Santa Barbara. Cute, clean, close to the beach and a friendly staff. Not to mention the daily breakfast and happy hour included in the room. We love it!

Great place for a Great Stay

4.2 on May 11, 2015

The location is amazing. The price is perfect. You can't ask for anything more when visiting Santa Barbara. I will be coming back for sure many more times.

Loved our stay,

4.2 on May 10, 2015

We greatly enjoyed her stay. The rooms were great, loved that it was located in a residential area, as well as walking distance to everything The rooms were great, love that it was located in a residential area, as well as close , If we have a return to Santa Barbara certainly would like to return to the Casa Del Mar!


3.2 on May 06, 2015

Great bed and breakfast spot. Rooms were clean staff very friendly. Would come back.

Quite B&B

2.8 on May 05, 2015

Casa Del Mar Inn is a cute bed and breakfast that has been lightly updated with soothing paint colors and decor, bathrooms are nicely remodeling with walk-in tile showers. Guest rooms have ceiling fans but no air conditioning. This property is less than a block from the beach.

Good Location to the Beach

2.8 on May 04, 2015

Nice, charming B&B. Would stay here again if we come back to Santa Barbara.

Quaint inn

4.0 on May 03, 2015

Beautiful little Inn for a getaway. Lots of local flavor. Location is ideal you can walk to Stearns Wharf and wine tasting rooms Only 1/2 block from the beach. I would stay there again if ever in the area

Casa Del Mar - Great Place in Santa Barbara

4.6 on April 21, 2015

The hotel is near the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants. Rooms are clean and spacious.

Cheap and Cheerful!

3.4 on April 13, 2015

Our stay at Casa Del Mar Inn recently was a good one. The room was exceedingly tiny, but the property itself was clean and lovely. Breakfast was included in our stay and consisted of a lovely array of pastries, cereal and fruit. I LOVED that coffee, tea and ice water were made available all day and night in the lobby. Also a great touch - the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening. The wine wasn't incredible, but it sufficed. The cheese and crackers were a welcome touch. For what we paid for our room, this place is great value for money!! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the proximity to the beach can't be beat! I would stay here again.

Not Quite What I expected but Nice

2.6 on April 11, 2015

Part of a couple, I stayed for two nights here. From the slick website, I thought we were staying at an upmarket spa type hotel. Unfortunately, when I arrived, I realized this was not to be. Instead the hotel seemed rather dated except perhaps for a smarting up of the entrance lobby. The room was adequate but again seemed in need of more modern redo. The one feature of wine and cheese is a good one although the quality of the cheese and wines is lacking. I would add that it would have been nice to have the receptionist ask if you needed any particular information such as airport shuttles, etc. I do not like having to pick through brochures stacked up at the entrance way. The room was fine but did not meet my expectations. I would not say it was "below average" since it had all the basic amenities. But there is not another choice that describes my opinion.

Well located nice getaway

3.2 on April 05, 2015

Nice getaway b&b perfect located to discover the beach and city of Santa Barbara. Comfortable rooms, friendly stuff - definetly to come back again.

Incredible Stay!

3.8 on March 30, 2015

I loved staying at Casa Del Mar and will return to stay here on my next business trip to Santa Barbara. The location is ideal and the courtyard just has an amazing appeal with all of the lush gardens. My King courtyard Suite was spacious, clean and the had french windows that opened completely up for fresh air coming from the gardens. The fireplace and couch in the room added so much ambiance. I cannot wait to stay here again!

Weekday stay during off season

3.6 on March 27, 2015

The Casa del Mar was a perfect place to stay during a recent business trip to Santa Barbara. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. I appreciated the large in-room fridge and microwave too. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and my co-worker and I even sat one evening next to the fire pit. The hotel is 2 blocks from the beach and about 10 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants of State Street. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast offerings were ok - not many choices but it works and the dining area is very charming.

Great for Business or Vacation

4.8 on March 26, 2015

This is my "Go to" place to stay for business in Santa Barbara. This recent trip was pleasure and enjoyed the location, easy walk to restaurants and beach/wharf..

Perfect Seaside Getaway

4.4 on March 21, 2015

Great location, very clean, comforable room with staff who were friendly,helpful and knowledgeable. Great value for money and would recommend this to friends

Nice, quaint bed and breakfast

3.0 on March 17, 2015

We stayed at CDMI for the first time during our first trip to Santa Barbara. The location was great; very close to the water and fairly close to a myriad of restaurants. The room was clean and more spacious than we expected. The only complaint was that parking was a little tough and it was really really loud when housekeeping was cleaning the rooms nearby. Luckily, we were up and moving buy if you planned on sleeping in, I don't think you'd be able to do it. Overall, our stay was pleasant and we'd stay there again in the future.

Casa near the Coast

3.8 on March 16, 2015

We stayed in room 38 (the delux 2 bedroom/2 bathroom suite with kitchenette. The rooms were very comfortable (although we wished the private bedroom had the kingsized bed vs it being part of the main living space. We went to the "continental" breakfast twice breads, 2 cereals and fruit/yogurt. The 3rd day we decided to walk down the street for a regular breakfast at Sambos. That was great. Other than the very limited breakfast offering, our main complaint was not the fault of Casa Del Mar, but it was VERY annoying. We were on vacation and wanted to sleep in. However, our rooms were on the alley side, which was normally quiet, EXCEPT, every morning, the inn across the way made a horrendous racket that began around 8:20 a.m. and lasted 10-20 mins as they loaded all their laundery into a truck. This involved mechanical lifts and was so noisy we initially thought a garbage truck was stuck behind our rooms. My recommendations, stay away from this room.

Great place

5 on March 15, 2015

Loved the hotel and the location

A Special Santa Barbara weekend

4.4 on March 15, 2015

From checkin to checkout this B&B goes the distance in providing a wonderful stay ... I booked the Courtyard King room for a comfy weekend for a surprise birthday celebration of a very special person in my life ... We both enjoyed the warm , comfy feeling of the room with its cozy fireplace & sofa , kingbed , large bathroom and quite location within the hotel .... The staff was always very polite , helpful and attentative ... they even helped with having a birthday cake & balloons I ordered from Jeannines Bakery delivered to our room before our arrival which added in making our weekend even more special ... Many thanks to the entire staff and yes , we will be back again to our favorite place to stay when visiting Santa Barbara ... Best regards , Bob Griffiths - LA$ VEGA$ Nv

Great night

4.2 on March 14, 2015

We had a great stay. Great location and nice complimentary breakfast and cheese and wine. I would recommend.

Great location

4.2 on March 08, 2015

Excellent deal for weekdays.

Two great nights in Santa Barbara

4.6 on March 07, 2015

Great location just a half a block from the waterfront. A large room with sofa and fireplace was just what we needed after a few nights in motels. We enjoyed the opportunity to meet other guests at the wine and chese happy hour offered each evening. We found Santa Barbara a very interesting city to visit.

Great staff, great facilities, horrible guests with no supervision

3.8 on March 05, 2015

I've stayed here before and came back because I'd enjoyed myself in the past. This time wasn't so great. I guess it's luck of the draw with which room layout you get - I opted for standard queen each time I've stayed here but this time the layout was a bit more cramped, but that's understandable. The staff was amazing as usual and the room was clean but the other guests were awful. Both nights I was woken up by other guests being loud. Either drunkenly screaming (not sure why people enjoy making noise just for the sake of making noise when they're drunk), or having sex. Without an attendant there to supervise guests overnight, these things just happen without repercussion. It sucks that adults need supervision in order to enforce common courtesy, but I guess maybe the price point is too low. I'm going to stay elsewhere next time.

Perfect Get Away

4.4 on March 02, 2015

Close to the beach, shopping and restaurants.

nice but oldie

3.0 on February 15, 2015

the rooms look quite old but it is great located and the general feeling of the property is OK

50 years of Andy

3.0 on February 15, 2015

We picked this place blindly from the web. It met all our expectations. It is wonderfully located near the beach. The staff was cool

a too short getaway

4.6 on February 06, 2015

charming, convenient and reasonably priced

Romantic get away

4.0 on February 05, 2015

This was a quite trip for my husband and I . Cute and quaint . Close to the beach and state street . We were very happy here and good price .


4.4 on January 18, 2015

A charming place on a quiet street. Walking distance to downtown and the beach. We plan on going back.

Casa Del Mar Santa Barbara

3.2 on January 09, 2015

Clean and comfortable; Excellent location.

My stay at Casa Del Mar was exceptional!

5 on January 08, 2015

The room was clean and beautiful. Frontdesk was quick and very professional.

New Years Eve Stay

5 on January 04, 2015

I stayed here with my wife for out New Years Eve trip at Santa Barbara. The room was perfect, clean and nice. There was parking right in front of our room and the beach is a block away.

Family weekend with kids & the dog

3.4 on January 02, 2015

After many visits to Santa Barbara I think we have found a resort we will book a weekend at again. Lots of room options from small to large depending on your needs and the location is great. The only complaint I would have is the covered parking is limited and very narrow - not a big issue but could be better. The morning breakfast is basic but we did not expect a 4 course meal. It is just enough to get you going in the morning and if you need more Sambo's is around the corner.

B and b

3.4 on December 11, 2014

Location is great.

love it

5 on December 09, 2014

I love this place. Clean rooms. Quiet neighborhoid. Friendly staff. Good coffee

Delightful Stay!

4.0 on December 04, 2014

We found the staff to be friendly and appreciated recommendations made about the area. The place was perfectly located near everything thing you might want to do in Santa Barbara and we were able to walk nearly everywhere. This is a pet friendly inn, so take that into consideration. A neighboring guest didn't seem to follow the rules that if you leave, your pet leaves with you, so we had a barking dog to listen to from time to time. The place is cozy and clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Our Place

5 on November 27, 2014

Great spot for couples get away

Great courtyard room!

4.4 on November 26, 2014

Loved the room, the openness, fireplace, and courtyard, a lovely place for rejuvenation.

Visiting our daughter in college

3.6 on November 26, 2014

Location is great and the staff is very accommodating. We did not like the lighting in the rooms.

Stay off season

4.4 on November 20, 2014

Great stay. The rooms were large and clean and the staff was very helpful

Another nice stay at Casa Del Mar

3.8 on November 12, 2014

I have stayed there many times, and have always enjoyed my stay. The rooms are comfortable, cozy, and clean. The service is excellent!

Enjoyable Stay

3.2 on November 09, 2014

My stay at Casa Del Mar Inn was quite nice. I was in town visiting my brother and sister-in-law so didn't really spend too much time in the room, but the CDM still met my expectations. I really appreciated the size of the bathroom and the upscale shower head in the shower. The staff seemed friendly and accommodating and the room was well kept. The location was great too!

Loved Casa Del Mar

4.0 on November 07, 2014

Perfect location. I wish we stayed longer. It's a 2 minute walk to the beach and wharf, and a 15 minute walk to all the great shops and restaurants on State Street. One of the main reasons we chose Casa Del Mar was because they are pet friendly and accepted our two cats. The space was fine for the cats. The room itself was a bit small, but the bathroom was huge. Having a big bathroom was perfect for a stay with kitties because there was plenty of room for their litter box and food/water bowls. Shower was nice and had great water pressure and hot water. There was also a spacious area with a closet, counter, shelves, and a fridge. The room didn't have carpeting, so an area rug would be nice. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful with directions and suggestions. The continental breakfast was okay; very basic, but fine. We didn't really eat because there weren't vegan options. Some vegan options would be great, but honestly we had fun going out for breakfast anyway. The dining area was cute. There was also a very cute courtyard area. We never got a chance to attend the wine and cheese in the evening, but if we every go back and stay longer, we will check that out. My only real complaint is the pet fee. It was $15 per pet, per night, which came to $60 total, which was very steep in my opinion. Especially if we had stayed more nights. I think a flat rate pet fee would be more fair. Or a deposit instead of a fee. For example, traveling with 2 cats instead of 1 doesn't make any difference in the end, when it comes to cleaning or damage, etc. And having a pet for 3 nights instead of 2 (for example) also doesn't really increase the amount of cleaning that has to be done. So charging a fee per pet AND per night was too much. The overall price of the hotel was great, but when you add on the $60 in pet fees, it no longer felt like a good deal. That's my only complaint. The location was incredible and I would definitely go back.

love it

5 on November 06, 2014

I love casa del mar inn, the room was super clean and the staff were very friendly. I will stay there again.

Great location

4.6 on October 28, 2014

Great location near the beach. Friendly staff and good rates as well. Definitely recommend.

Girl's getaway

4.4 on October 27, 2014

We were there for a four night stay for a girls get away. We had a large room and enjoyed it. It was old but kept up and I travel lots and the cleanliness over and above what we expected. The price for almost being on the beach was outstanding. The only complaint was the breakfast didn't look like the brochure , that would be the one thing to improve.

Nice room

4.2 on October 10, 2014

Room was great

A retreat in the city

3.0 on October 08, 2014

Wonderful B&B close to the Santa Barbara Harbor, Old Town Santa Barbara, & Hwy 101. Terrific staff, and a comfortable courtyard to enjoy your breakfast or an evening glass of wine. The only disadvantage we found was trying to find parking when returning after dark. Recommended

a nice boutique B&B

3.6 on October 03, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at Casa del Mar Inn and really enjoyed the Courtyard King room. It was airy and quiet with good linens and towels. The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect for seeing Sanat Barbara

Very Nice, Clean, Spacious Hotel Room

3.0 on October 02, 2014

This was my 2nd stay here. A little disappointed that we did not get one of the rooms with a kitchen and queen size bed; the confirmation was a somewhat vague as to the style of room. Having said that, our room was clean and spacious. The continental breakfast and 5pm wine and cheese are great.

Nice stay in Casa Del Mar Inn

3.0 on September 10, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Casa Del Mar Inn and we like this place. The room was great. We like the garden in the middle, lot's of flowers. Close to the beach, to the main street. For sure I recommend this place.

Wonderful stay at casa del mar

4.6 on September 05, 2014

Cute rooms and excellent service. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Great location; very nice hotel

3.6 on September 02, 2014

Very pretty spot walking distance from the beach. Rooms are older but very very clean and roomy. Nice place.

santa barbara B&B

3.6 on August 23, 2014

Nice place. Well located. Clean. Pleasany helpful staff

My stay

4.2 on August 22, 2014

A quaint and charming inn conveniently located across the beach. Pet friendly as well! We will definitely return.

Really Nice B&B

4.6 on August 21, 2014

Perfect place to stay if you are a couple and looking for a small romantic spot. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It has a nice courtyard and complementary wine and cheese in the evenings. The rooms do not have A/C but it is not needed since Santa Barbara is naturally cooler.

Quick and Lovely Stay

4.2 on August 18, 2014

Had one night in SB and this inn met our needs perfectly - very clean and bright room. The location is great in proximity to the beach as well as the downtown district. The concierge was extremely knowledgeable and knowing we only had one night, gave us the best highlights to enjoy SB's restaurants and wine/beer tastings.

Very poor value

1.6 on August 14, 2014

A $75 hotel at $250 a night. Really very poor value. Cheap cereal, and frozen bagels are what you can expect for breakfast. They let you know just how they value you.

My favorite spot

4.6 on August 08, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and it keeps getting better. If you like the beach, you are only a few feet away! The front desk personnel are awesome and the housekeeping is the best. CDMI will always be my "go to" place.

Great location, quaint place!

4.2 on July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Rooms weren't anything special, but served our purpose. Breakfast was the same each morning, would've liked to see some variety. The staff were excellent; the cleaning crew exceptional. Great location to walk to the beach, wharf, harbor, restaurants, State St., etc.

Home Away from Home

3.4 on July 20, 2014

My husband and I stay at Casa Del Mar whenever we stop in Santa Barbara. The location is perfect, just one safe, quiet block from the beach, and within walking distance of State Street. It's clean, comfortable, and best of all, pet-friendly. The staff are pleasant and efficient, and they have both a morning breakfast bar and an afternoon wine and cheese gathering. My only complaint, the Wi-Fi connection is practically non-existent: very frustrating. All in all, a great place to stay.

My Favorite Place to Stay in Santa Barbara

3.8 on July 17, 2014

great location, place is well maintained, people are friendly and helpful

Lovely property!

4.6 on July 10, 2014

Ask for courtyard room. We stayed above lobby and it was a bit noisy during checkout and check in time. Will want to drive up state Street for best shopping and dining. Very close to beach and pier. Loved it.

Stay at casa del mar

4.4 on July 07, 2014

Casa del Mar was lovely and met our expectations. The king courtyard room number 34 was nice with a fireplace and sitting area. Also the courtyard with exotic flowers and fire pit in the evening was super. Service was great also. Definetely recommend a stay there.

Cute & quaint, enjoyed our stay!

4.6 on July 02, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our room, the cleanliness, the grounds and how calm this Inn was! We could not have booked a better room! We enjoyed everything and wished our stay was longer. We certainly will be back again. This was the greatest anniversary yet and our stay at Casa Del Mar Inn contributed greatly to that.

Casa del Pooch!

4.0 on June 26, 2014

Great location! Pet friendly! Reasonable pet fee!

Santa Barbara baby

3.8 on June 17, 2014

We stayed in a standard queen 29! The room was ok nothing fancy, no pool or spa on site! What annoyed us was the very loud flushing toilets and the blinds on the windows pushed out and did not cover fully! The street lights shined in and the morning sun woke our slumber! The staff was really sweet! We enjoyed the bfast! We probably will stay somewhere else next visit!

Simply THE best!

4.6 on June 16, 2014

My mom and I came to stay at this fabolous Inn for the first time. We had room #34 and we both felt extremely comfortable. The room is HUGE, plenty of space for two people and it even has a pull-out couch for a third person if needed. The location is perfect for walking to the waterfront, the beach, and it is just a 5 minute drive to downtown SB. The room was quiet, clean, and had several windows that you are able to leave open at night and still feel safe. The bed and pillows were very comfortable--very hard to find. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to beautiful SB! This will be my new go-to hotel in SB and I cannot wait to visit again!

Great Beach Walks

5 on May 28, 2014

Close to the beach and beach activities. Very clean B&B. I will stay here each time I go to Santa Barbara.

Casa del mar

4.0 on May 23, 2014

A very lovely and affordable getaway. We will definitely be returning.

great stay.

4.4 on May 22, 2014

The only thing missing was air conditioning in the room!

good value for a good price

3.4 on May 18, 2014

Very personable staff. The lobby closes at 10pm but they made sure to call us and leave the key for us. Basic anemities. Breakfast included. Should add yogurt and eggs to the menu. Excellent location. Near the beach. walking distance to State St. Beautiful landscape on the grounds. No pool or gym.

Good value for money

4.0 on May 16, 2014

Good place close to the beach though with little parking space. Nice free wine and cheese. Would recommend it!!

Casa Del Mar Inn

4.2 on May 09, 2014

Super nice place to stay. Unique, comfortable.


4.6 on April 26, 2014


Better than expected.

4.8 on April 24, 2014

I have to say I was impressed with the location, the very helpful staff, how clean the room and property were. They even have a complimentary breakfast bar and a wine / cheese bar which was great. There was plenty of parking and you are across the street from the pier / beach. The only downfall which is not horrible is the traffic noise, but I guess you can have that anywhere. Overall I would recommend Casa Del Mar to friends and family and I will be staying there again. Great job to the staff at Casa Del Mar for a very pleasant stay.

Location, Location, Location

3.6 on April 21, 2014

Casa Del Mar provided an excellent location at an affordable price. The rooms were well kept and tidy, though the furniture was a bit worn. The bathrooms were pristine and had excellent water pressure in the showers. Bring your earplugs or white noise if you are a light sleeper when you travel as the walls and windows are sound permeable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Excellent retreat!

4.8 on April 21, 2014

This room was fantastic! We had a King room with sitting area. The fireplace was great, comfortable bed, clean and nicely decorated in a beach theme. It was perfect for our quick California getaway!

Loved Casa Del Mar Inn

4.6 on January 28, 2013

My wife and I got a great room. It was nice and simple. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did not have their breakfast or wine/cheese tasting. The best part is the location. It is a block from the beach and about 2 blocks from the start of State St. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

Great location

3.6 on November 14, 2012

This was an adequate hotel in a fantastic location. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were old but clean with updated bathrooms. The breakfast was minimal ... very little selection. Overall a great value.

The Best Surprise in Santa Barbara

4.0 on February 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during Valentine's Day and we were pleasantly surprised by the great service and the room we had. The Inn was located very close to the shopping area on State Street which was very nice. Plus it was very quiet at night. If we went to SB again we would stay here for sure again. Thanks! Michael Loyd

Restful and relaxing

3.8 on January 20, 2012

We stayed here last-minute as business kept us an extra day in SB. It was extremely comfortable and clean as well as quiet. We enjoyed the stars from the hot tub. The only drawback was that the wireless in the room was slow, but it worked fine from the lobby.

recommend, but...

2.8 on April 07, 2011

Very clean, friendly staff. However be weary of room 21 - I think it is the last room they fill because it is the worst. I think they knew this when we reserved our room and automatically gave us a 20% discount, but I think a bigger discount would be better. The room is very noisy from all four walls and from the second story. The hotel is in a great location next to the beach.

This is NOT a B&B!

2.0 on April 02, 2011

Casa Del Mar is a perfectly fine INN, but they are not a B&B as we were led to believe and should not be advertising themselves as such. Their dining is nothing more than a sad collection of generic, store bought bagels and Wal-Mart muffins. A McDonald's breakfast is gourmet compared to the pathetic spread they have here. And their wine and cheese hour... sad, cheap, and uneatable are the only words that can describe the horrible wine (1 red & 1 white only which is sad because this is supposed to be wine country) and some of the most disgusting cheese cubes that I've ever had the displeasure of eating. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are fine. The Inn is quiet, a block from the beach, and quaint. But this place is nothing more than that. Don't come here as we did expecting a B&B experience. It is anything but.

Good place to stay with great beach access

3.8 on March 26, 2011

Overall, Casa Del Mar Inn is a good place to stay. We mainly wanted close access to the beach, which we definitely had. The room was small but was comfortable, clean, and decorated with calming colors. The only reason I gave the room 3 stars is because it was noisy. We were in a corner room, right at the intersection of two streets, though. While the breakfast was nothing too great (bagels, cereal, fruit), the happy hour with wine and cheese was a nice touch. There was a fire going in the lobby fireplace, and on a cold rainy night, we enjoyed just relaxing there. If you're looking for a clean place to stay that is close to the ocean and won't break the bank, I recommend it.

Santa Barbara Basics

2.6 on January 21, 2011

Good location. Our minimalist, clean room, near the lobby was pretty noisy because it was in the traffic pattern. Also you could hear the heavy doors being closed from the rooms nearby. Not a bad experience but nothing special. Service was very friendly.

Great place with free wine!

4.6 on January 16, 2011

crazy comfortable beds, great service, free wine, cheese, and crackers.

10/07 stay

3.6 on October 16, 2010

one night stopover on way to San Diego. Very pleasant, but unfortunately no time to visit area. Next time will try to stay an extra day.

Casa Del Mar Inn

4.4 on November 18, 2009

Very quiet and quaint inn at an excellent location. A 5-15 minute walk to the Harbor, Wharf or lower State Street which provided many great restaurants. My room was quite small because I took a low room rate, but it was very adequate for one. Couples will want a larger room. A wonderful stay!

Case Del Mar

3.8 on February 06, 2009

A great use of historic property, and great location. Hated the dog barking next door at night, and urinating on the sidewalk outside our door.

a nice day in Santa Barbara

3.6 on May 18, 2008

Fabulous location, attentive and friendly staff, highly recommend it.

great get away!

4.2 on August 14, 2007

stayed for 2 nights - rooms are well done and user friendly. Loved the location - breakfast could be much more interesting.... my only complaint.

Casa Del Mar Inn


  • Nightly Rate $124 - $324
  • Reviews (198) 4.0
  • Rooms 21

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8059634418
  • Fax 1-8059664240
  • Toll free 1-8004333097

Visit Website »

View details