The Inn at Locke House Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.5
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.7
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
104 Reviews

Write A Review

Victorian Farmouse Getaway

4.0 on April 25, 2016

We spent a peaceful, relaxing weekend in this beautifully renovated Victorian farmhouse. The gardens are lovely. We went wine tasting and bird watching at the lake. A weekend to remember.


Idyllic Farmhouse

4.0 on April 13, 2016

Elegant, beautifully restored Victorian farmhouse set in lush, lovely gardens. Heritage trees and old-fashioned roses. Breakfasts were delicious, even though I was a challenge because I'm allergic to eggs. The most serene, relaxing weekend my husband and I have had in a very long time. We intend to go back.


easy get away

3.8 on November 29, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Locke House. Very comfortable accommodations and tasty breakfasts. Would have liked to stay a little longer and taken advantage of the relaxing environment. Next time.


A Gem!

5 on September 28, 2015

Very friendly reception by owners. Historically interesting building. Fantastic breakfasts.


A Gem in Lockeford, CA

5 on May 24, 2015

We chose the Inn because we found the chain hotel Stockton offerings boring. The Inn is definitely not boring. The original woodwork, the lush gardens and the extraordinary breakfasts are all special. The Inn is listed on the national historic register and comes with a fascinating family story


Wonderful Stay

4.6 on May 04, 2015

Richard & Lani were wonderful. Had a great time


A delightful experience all around!

3.8 on March 27, 2015

Our stay was met with pleasantries in several ways: a warm and friendly reception, a room that was inviting, beautiful decorated, and comfortable, a relaxing garden to stroll through, and breakfasts that were wonderfully prepared and graciously presented! We look forward to another stay with the hosts and at the Inn at the Locke.


Romantic Get-a-way

4.6 on March 19, 2015

Wonderful get-a-way. Owners make the place special. Take the time to enjoy a conversation with them. Outstanding meals.


Valentine's weekend stay

5 on February 21, 2015

This is a great place to stay when visiting the Lodi area for wine tasting or just relaxing. Richard and Lani have a little gem here, and they are fantastic hosts. We completely enjoyed the accommodations, and the breakfast and daily treats were just so delicious. We will go again!!!


Fantastic Valentine's weekend

5 on February 18, 2015

We had a wonderful stay in the Inn at Locke House. The house itself is beautiful, and the hosts were friendly, warm and made us feel completely at home. And the sheets are the softest we've ever felt. Seriously. Go just for the sheets. The Lodi area was a revelation to us - we've lived in Northern California our whole lives but have never spent any time in this region. The wineries were excellent, the town charming - good shops, good restaurants - just very fun. And the Inn was the perfect base for exploring. Close to town, but far enough away to feel like you are in the country. We whole heartedly recommend the Inn for a great get-away.


Our First Two Nights Married

5 on November 17, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at the Locke House. Lani and Richard were very accommodating with our late arrival time. The water tower suite is amazing, as is the rest of the house and property. The breakfast was outstanding, conversations during breakfast were great, everything was wonderful. I would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a restful or romantic getaway.


Just what we were looking for!!!

4.8 on November 04, 2014

My wife and I wanted a convenient, charming, unique, one of a kind home-base for our trip to the Lodi/Amador County wine country and we found it in the Inn at Locke House. Lani and Richard were just as gracious, hospitable and pleasant as could be. We loved our cozy room and the wonderful coffee and warm breakfast to start each morning. We would definitely stay here again!!! Brian and Perry, Charlotte, NC


Birthday weekend get-away

4.4 on October 28, 2014

The Abington Room is very spacious. I like the history of the Bureau/Closet dating from the Civil War. Having a bathroom down the hall is a little inconvenient, but the original home used chamber pots and an outhouse, so we made the accomodation. Lani's meals were delicious and we enjoyed our breakfasts.


Reunited with old friends at the Inn at Locke House

5 on October 16, 2014

My wife and I and several other couples chose the Inn for a reunion weekend. We were taken care of by the owners as though we were long lost old friends. The hospitality and setting were superb and the time spent on the back porch sipping local wines as we gazed at the English-style garden was most relaxing.


Great B&B in my hometown

5 on October 14, 2014

We had a wonderful wedding night there and breakfast in the morning. Lani is a fantastic cook! Bacon Quiche. "Nuff said. As far as value, I may not ever wrap my head around places around Lodi being more than $100 a night. It was a stretch for us to afford this place, but I'm glad we did. Considering the Hampton Inn in Lodi was charging $160/night that weekend, this was definitely a more unique and fun experience at the same price point.


Great room and excellent service and breakfast.

5 on October 05, 2014

We had a great time.


Friendly, romantic inn - loved it!

5 on September 04, 2014

We spent the weekend at the Inn at Locke House and were very impressed with the special touches the owners put into restoring this beautiful home. Everything was spic and span, all amenities were provided, and the breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. The owner even took the time to give us a tour of the house and gardens, explaining the history of the original owners/builders, and the process of restoring this estate. We loved our stay here and will definitely come back!


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 on August 05, 2014

We had an incredibly relaxing weekend at the Inn at Locke House. We were greeted with chilled champagne in our room when we arrived, the bed was huge and luxurious, and even though it was a sweltering hot weekend (100+ degrees), the room stayed comfortable and cool thanks to a portable AC and ceiling fan. Lani had great suggestions for wineries to visit and her breakfasts were amazing. 10/10, we'd love to visit and stay there again.


Inn at Locke house

5 on July 20, 2014

We went for a quick anniversary get away, and the weekend couldn't have been anymore perfect if I had written the script myself. I had chosen to have the romance package with wine and rose petals on the night we arrived and that really set the tone. We walked into our room and were greated by a blast of cool air, and our beautiful tray. Even having arrived very late in the evening everything was perfect. Our breakfast and picnic lunch the next day were delicious and generous helpings. They very easily accommodated my vegatarian diet. The gardens were so beautiful and the stars so prominent that we decided to share a bottle of local wine their instead of going out to downtown Lodi. My only complaint was that we had to leave so quickly. I can't wait to go back.


Woderful!

5 on June 10, 2014

A feel good B & B that was super comfortable. Lani made our stay feel like we were home. She was so helpful and an awesome cook! A beautiful place to stay. We loved it.


A bite out of time

5 on June 09, 2014

Our one night stay at the Inn at Locke House was such a nice addition to our week-lon trip through CA. The house is full of history and the hosts have given it much love and care. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


A Great Value For Your Dollar

4.0 on June 04, 2014

The inn at Locke House is a very traditional B&B and has a rich and intriguing history. The inn keepers / owners where kind and made you feel that you where at Grandmas house. Over all the stay was a great experience.


Wonderful weekend

5 on May 25, 2014

I booked this as a surprise for our 29th anniversary. Just a relaxing weekend with my wife and nowhere to have to be. The Tower Suite was beautiful - and private. The bed very comfortable and the view from the tower was a nice bonus. We missed breakfast both days as we were being lazy and sleeping in. So, we couldn't rate the dining. (However, we did get to sample some of the baked goods - absolutely delicious! And, other than a quick meeting when we arrived and as we were leaving, we didn't really even see our hosts. Richard and Lani seemed very friendly and eager to please. Our thanks to them for making the weekend great for us!


Great Time

5 on March 10, 2014

We loved the Locke House Bed and Breakfast. It is beautiful and the suite was great. We will be going back. The owners were wonderful. We tried both their breakfast in a box to go and one in the kitchen they were both excellent. Susan and David


An ideal stay

5 on March 08, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Inn. The building is a wonderful historic site, the room very comfortable, and the hosts delightful. The breakfasts were outstanding and we enjoyed wandering around the grounds and the town. We highly recommend the Inn and will be staying there again when the Sand Hill Cranes return. Lew Petrinovich & Jane Stecher


The Inn at Locke House

5 on November 10, 2013

Charming historic house with delightful hosts who are very knowledgeable about local history and are marvelous chefs. Scrumptious food for breakfast that included fresh fruit from their own gardens. We stayed in the lovely Abington Room; bed was very comfortable. Our private bathroom down the hall was beautifully decorated and had a heated tile floor. The sense of an intimate and extended (2 nights) visit to a specific place & time of yesteryear was palpable.


Lovely Inn

3.8 on October 21, 2013

Reservations were easy to make and their website easy to use. The Inn at Locke House is conveniently located. The innkeepers are efficient and reliable warmly, personable making their guests feel more like friends than paying guests. The history of the house is interesting, the rooms are decorated nicely and very comfortable. There are lots of books and magazines, a tv in the common rooms. The whole house is clean and except for the innkeepers private rooms all accessible to the guests. Lani and Richard provide you with home baked treats at night and a scrumptious breakfast with as much coffee as you can drink in the morning! You can't go wrong staying here....really.


A Find in Lodi Wine Country

4.4 on October 16, 2013

What a lovely autumn weekend in Lodi Wine/Gold country! Our innkeeper Loni was a sweetheart, bustling about to be sure all was well with everything. Set in am an agricultural area, a short drive from downtown Lodi, the Inn was once home to a country doctor and has been lovingly and painstakingly restored. Attention to detail abounds. We would gladly return to this lovely inn. Breakfast is a gourmet excursion into international influenced cuisine - eggs with a hint of chiles, French inspired poached pears - all three mornings brought new experiences. Thanks to Loni and her husband for making our stay effortless!


Wonderful experience

4.8 on October 16, 2013

The history of the innade it especially delightful. Knowing I was sleeping in the same room where someone else slept in 1865 was really cool.


Amazing Stay

4.8 on September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at Locke House the first night of our honeymoon and we loved it. The room was beautiful and very clean. We had our own private entrance and three separate levels to enjoy. The top level was a viewing area to watch the sun set or rise. The breakfast was delicious! We went down to the dining room where we were served a three course breakfast. This family owned Inn excelled in customer service. My husband and I can't wait to visit again.


My Lodi Wine Country visit

4.0 on September 25, 2013

My wife and I had to visit SFO for a business meeting. I planned a visit to Lodi so we could visit some of the local wineries. We choose to stay at the Inn at Locke House after reading some of the reviews. We enjoyed a great night stay in the Locke home, a great visit with Richard and Lani, a great breakfast and enjoyed the Lodi area. The Eklund's also recommended the Schneider's from Vintage Limo who arrange a great winery tour, with their local touch and recommended a tasty local restaurant-La Strada 88 for a great dinner. Recommend you request the Water Tower Suite for a special night. Thanks both Richard and Lani


Wonderful night at the Locke House

4.0 on August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Locke house near the end of a long road trip down, and up, the pacific coast. Though our stay was short, it was wonderful. The classic feel of the inn is coupled by a beautiful garden full of flowers and hummingbirds, so it's perfect for those who want to relax. The inn is also close to all the wining and dining in and around Lodi, and the hosts are more than happy to help suggest great places to go. Lani was warm and friendly, and she made a delicious breakfast. The amenities are above average, but I must note that the bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. If you want to experience Lodi at its best, do not go on a Monday! Despite the fact that we happen to be there when everything was closed, the stay was very pleasant thanks to Lani and the team at the Locke House. Thanks!


Just what we didn't know we needed!

4.8 on July 31, 2013

we thought we were looking for a hotel that was close to Stockton but not in Stockton as we heard that hotels in the city could be sketchy. This inn had cute pictures and the wineries seemed like something to do nearby to pass time. What we didn't expect was an escape. Darling rooms exactly as pictured. Vintage styling but with new plumbing so excellent shower pressure. Quiet gardens which we enjoyed - with WiFi. Breakfast that was not only substantial but with fresh ingredients and delicious - they even provided the soy for my coffee. Topped off with the nicest of hosts. The surrounding wineries were just as friendly. Restaurants in nearby Lodi were wonderful as well.


Quality 'Locked-In' at The Inn at Locke House

4.8 on July 13, 2013

The host and hostess are pleasant and accommodating. The historic building is grand and the breakfasts are memorable ... more like a brunch. You can skip lunch!


A lovely retreat

4.6 on June 10, 2013

The Inn at Locke House is a beautiful, well kept Inn full of history and character. Lani and Richard, the Inn keepers are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you hoped. My husband and I enjoyed a fantastic two night stay in the water tower suite, and will definitely be recommending this country retreat to friends and family!!


Two Day Stay at a B & B

4.0 on June 03, 2013

Great breakfasts, backyard garden with flowers and a walk path, clean bathroom, lots of wood and a homey feel to the place!


Great B&B

4.8 on May 29, 2013

Recommend this great B&B to anyone coming to this area.


Incredible Stay

4.6 on May 18, 2013

This was the perfect getaway for me and my wife - quiet, beautiful, and close proximity to wine country. Richard and Lani are incredible hosts - they were so accommodating and could not have been kinder. Lani's breakfasts were absolutely delicious and used farm fresh ingredients. I cannot wait to come back some time soon. Highly recommend for any couple looking for a relaxing getaway!


Like coming home

4.8 on May 13, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Locke House. It was a lovely experience. Richard and Lani are both so delightful. I felt like I was coming home the way they doted over me! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was truly amazing. Lani made me home-made waffles from sour dough starter along with a fresh fruit topped with crème fraîche mixed with almond extract and honey! I would highly recommend it as a lovely alternative to an impersonal hotel. I will definitely stay there again.


Like coming home

4.8 on May 13, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Locke House. It was a lovely experience. Richard and Lani are both so delightful. I felt like I was coming home the way they doted over me! The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was truly amazing. Lani made me home-made waffles from sour dough starter along with a fresh fruit topped with crème fraîche mixed with almond extract and honey! I would highly recommend it as a lovely alternative to an impersonal hotel. I will definitely stay there again.


UNIQUE EXPERIENCE!

4.8 on April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn at Locke House and really enjoyed our stay. I was looking for something different than the usual hotel options near Lodi and this inn fit the bill! The house has a unique history and artifacts from the doctor who originally built the house are on display. What made our stay especially enjoyable are the current owners, Lani and Richard, who have been lovingly restoring the house for several years. We also enjoyed an excellent breakfast before our departure. We stayed in one of the rooms that had its own bathroom in the main house. It was a nice room, very clean. However, when we looked at the water tower suite the next day, we felt it would have been worth the extra money to have stayed there as it was very unique and private.


Awesome Time

5 on February 11, 2013

We had such an amazing time at this bed and breakfast. The breakfast in the morning was so incredibly good!!! We stayed in the water tower suite and it was so cute. They did such a great job restoring this house.


Historic B&B

5 on January 09, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on New Year's Day, 2013. We really enjoyed it. We did some birding at the Consumnes Reserve about a half hour away, had a lovely dinner in Lodi and then returned to the Inn to read and sip wine next to the Christmas Tree in the beautifully restored living room. The house belonged to a Dr. Locke, back in the late 19th century and the current owners rescued the home and restored it. It is now on the historic registry. We got up early after a great night's sleep and Lani prepared a lovely breakfast for us, starting earlier than usual because we wanted to get back to the bird reserve before it go too late in the morning to see anything. All in all a wonderful getaway. We will go back again.


Amazing

5 on January 02, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! Lani and Richard make you feel like you have found a home away from home and ensure that you are comfortable, fed and have everything you need. A stay you won't forget!


Best B&B.

4.8 on November 28, 2012

The only reason Locke House didn't receive a 5 on the room is because the bath (private) was down the hall. They did provide robes. Everything was beautiful. Lani and Richard are the best hosts anywhere! The breakfast was fabulous. I would stay here again but book early for the rooms with the bath in-suite.


Enjoyed our stay

4.2 on November 13, 2012

In addition to lovely rooms and nice people, the gardens are delightful.


Inn at Locke House 2012

4.2 on October 16, 2012

Lani and Richard were "great" hosts. Would not hesitate for a moment to recommend a stay to anyone. We stayed for 4 days late September early October 2012. Very pleased with our stay.


Pleasurable Escape

5 on October 02, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn at Locke House twice. Both times we enjoyed the much-needed therapy that comes with slowing down the fast pace. We awaken to birds singing, a wonderful teasing of the senses early morning from the kitchen, as well as the delectable tastes and presentation of the breakfasts. What a way to meet new people on the visit, and return to the warm hosting of Lani and Richard! We look forward to returning to our inviting, comfortable "step back in time" room.


A Memorable Stay at a Beautiful Inn

5 on September 11, 2012

Thanks to Lani and Richard for their hospitality and kindness as my wife Leah and I spent our wedding night at the lovely Locke House Water Tower Suite. We also really appreciated their graciousness in letting us use the gardens for some of our wedding pics after the wedding ceremony. The house is beautiful and historic, permeating not only with the qualities that founder John Locke built into it but the warmth and values of the current caretakers. My wife and I had quite the memorable experience the following morning after our wedding night. It was something that we will never forget, both demanding but ultimately rewarding in a way, and something we knew was a good sign for our marriage. We will never forget our stay there and we still feel the energy and joy we felt from our wedding weekend whenever we are in the area and drive by the Inn. Thanks again to Lani and Richard for an enjoyable stay. Robbie P.S. Lani made the best French Toast I have ever had in my life. Totally worth a stay just for that!


20th Anniversary Get Away

4.0 on September 07, 2012

Impressive hospitality and delicious breakfast. I would definitely recommend this place to others.


AWESOME place, AWESOME stay, we'll be back!

5 on August 15, 2012

The Inn at Locke House ROCKS, simply put. The innkeepers, Lani and Richard, are professional, welcoming, and do a GREAT job taking care of their guests. Start to finish, we had a great visit, and plan to return again when it's time for a stay in the Lodi area wine country.


The Best Place to Stay Near Lodi

5 on August 09, 2012

I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!!! Lani's cooking is so gourmet and you feel like you are at home. It is clean and comfy and very close to all of the attractions. The historical aspects of the home are very interesting as well and the grounds are beautiful!!! We will never stay anywhere in the area but here!!


Review at The Inn at Locke House

4.4 on July 17, 2012

This is a great B&B. Highly recommended. Lani was a wonderful hostess. We would stay there again. R&D 17vii12


Like stepping back in time, but cleaner...

5 on July 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at The Inn at Locke House. Lani, Richard, and Kerri were all so friendly and welcoming, the food was delicious, and the accommodations were clear and comfortable. The room and public spaces were updated in such a way that is different from many of our stays in older inns. The floors were not creaky, the rooms were not musty, the lighting was not poor. It was historic, but it was completely comfortable at the same time.


Peace and quiet at the Inn at Locke House

4.6 on July 11, 2012

The Inn at Locke House is a wonderful historic building surrounded by a lovely garden with mature oaks and pine trees. It is very quiet and peaceful. I slept really well there and enjoyed the claw foot bathtub and the tiled bathroom. Kerri is an excellent cook and is very warm and friendly. I will definitely return to the Inn at Locke House.


Honeymoon

4.8 on July 07, 2012

While on our honeymoon, my husband and I were fortunate enough to meet some wonderful people who recommended we stay at the Locke House Inn. We called and Lani had one room left and we reserved it. We arrived earlier than expected and Richard was warm and welcoming. We loved staying at the Locke House so much our first night, that we asked Lani and Richard if they were able to accommodate us for a second. To my delight, we were able to stay. I cannot begin to tell you how delicious the breakfast meals were, absolutely fabulous. I love to cook and wish that I had some of Lani's recipes. I look forward to returning, hopefully for our anniversary next year. I cannot wait to delve more into the history of the home! Rita & Vince


Wonderful second stay

4.2 on July 06, 2012

This was our second stay at The Inn at Locke House, Lani and Richard were charming and the breakfasts were delicious. Our quick getaway for our aniversary was a great success. The history of the house was, as always appealing. The true antiqueness of the furnishings would be the only drawback, the charm of the authenticity somewhat hampered by the inconvenience of sticking dresser drawers and fear that actually using them may cause them to fall apart. Otherwise however it was a quiet, peaceful and welcome respite from the day to day grind!


Relaxing and unique

4.0 on June 29, 2012

We had a terrific one night stay in the Water Tower Suite. The room was spacious, private, and overlooked a lovely garden. We didn't take advantage of any local restaurants but really enjoyed the generous breakfast and coffee. Will absolutely visit again when in the area.


awesome stay

5 on June 03, 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding. The innkeeper was so nice tto accommodate our need to drop off our vehicle the night before so neither of us had to worry about getting picked up. Also since our arrival was so late they left our let in a special island place since the check in time had passed. They even labeled it Mr.&Mrs. We ordered a special package that included champagne and truffles awaiting us in our room. We stayed in the tower suite and it was beautiful. We are really looking forward to staying here again. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast wasdelicious made from scratch with care and love. It was three courses and every bit delicious and all local and fresh. When Lani, the owner, had a moment to sit down at the end of breakfast she even explained their incredible journey restoring this home. It really made us feel like family. Five stars and they earned every bit of it!


Adorable Inn

4.4 on June 01, 2012

Quaint inn tucked away, on beautiful grounds. Breakfast was awesome!


Fabulous Inn

5 on May 31, 2012

My mom and I went to The Inn at Locke House for Mother's Day weekend and had a wonderful experience there. The Inn is full of fascinating history, is gorgeously preserved, and although it feels as if one has walked into the past, the Inn is complete with modern conveniences. I plan to return with my husband - and hopefully other friends as well - it's a true gem.


Unique place to stay

4.4 on May 21, 2012

Loved all of the history that this old house has. Felt like a part of the family. Will be back!


A Great Getaway!

5 on May 08, 2012

The Inn at Locke House provided a great getaway weekend for me and my wife! Thanks for a memory maker.


Lovely Place to Spend the Weekend

4.6 on May 02, 2012

Richard and Loni were wonderful hosts. The food was excellent as was the service. They were warm and welcoming, but not so friendly as to talk your ear off. The history of the house and what they have done with it is incredible. I would love to visit again sometime. I think their house is the best place to stay if you are wine tasting in the area, and the area has some great wineries!


Hospitality Supreme

5 on April 11, 2012

Wow – We were overwhelmed with the hospitality that Lani and Richard showed my wife and I for our one night stay in their home. We felt welcome from the first minute to the last. The home and property are a piece of California history, just lovely. But the hospitality shown us was “out of the park”. We felt like we were visiting some old and dear friends. Lani’s breakfast was excellent with fruit, French toast, local sausage and heartfelt conversation. We highly recommend that if you are in the Lodi area, stay at the Locke house. We will.


Idyllic Inn and location

5 on April 07, 2012

In January I had the opportunity to stay at this charming Inn. The rooms were comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated and peaceful. Lani's breakfasts were scrumptious. Richard, Lani and Kerri were gracious and warm. I loved hearing about the native wildflowers and the area attractions. Thank you for such a memorable stay.


Very nice and comfortable

5 on March 02, 2012

We happen to be the only ones there that weekend. Very personable with a couple of owners who really care for their guests. Not only was the tour and history of the house a nice touch, the room was immaculate and breakfast was outstanding. Lani even went out of her way to give us a map of the Lodi Vineyards based on our wine preferences. Will absolutely stay there again.


An Enjoyble Stay

4.0 on March 01, 2012

What a wonderful historic home, great food, great room, wonderful hosts! We're looking forward to our next stay at The Inn At Locke House.


The Inn at Locke House is the best

5 on February 27, 2012

The innkeepers are the perfect hosts. They are so friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the inn. I would highly recommend


Lodi Wine and Chocolate Festival accommodations

5 on February 16, 2012

This was a weekend gift from our children and what a wonderful time we had. Lani and Richard are the ultimate hosts and the breakfast is delicious, what great memories. We stayed in the Water Tower Suite - private, romantic and unique. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to future visits. We walked to Vino Piazza to taste wines and to the Coyote Mexican Restaurant for dinner. Loved the location. Highly recommend the Inn at Locke House.


Unforgettable stay

5 on February 02, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Water Tower Suite, and it was lovely! Lani and Richard are wonderful people....their hospitality is unmatched! Lani is an amazing cook as well...I miss her superb breakfasts. Everything about our stay was excellent, from the comfy robes in our room to the board games in the parlor. The Inn at Locke House has a very interesting history...it was fun reading about the restoration process of the house alongside the history of Dr. Locke. I can't wait to stay here again. Cheers to Lani and Richard! L and L - 1/29/2012


A Happy Holiday Stay

5 on December 29, 2011

This was a repeat visit to the Inn and like every visit it was better than the last. Lani and Richard make you feel at home. The Inn is a wonderful place to relax. And breakfast is always a delightful time to enjoy good food and good conversation. We highly recommend a stay and get the Tower room at least once.


Special Place

4.4 on November 18, 2011

Everyone always says B&B owners are gracious, which Richard and Lani are, but they are also just plain nice. Even more fun, they really love the house, which they have been restoring faithfully for the last twenty years, and it has a fine history. Spacious rooms,inventive breakfasts, a lovely garden and games, and definitely one of the better and quieter places to stay if you're going to be in Lodi or Stockton.


First Visit

4.0 on November 17, 2011

We were there for only one night, arriving late, and leaving early, so this review may not reflect what one might encounter during a longer stay. We learned after our arrival that, while the bathrooms are private and quite nice, some are not in the rooms. For us, this was an inconvenience. We would definitely return to stay in one of the rooms that has an attached bathroom.


Superb Stay at The Inn at Locke House

5 on October 24, 2011

My husband and I were so fortunate to find The Inn at Locke House to help in our celebration of our 1st wedding anniversary. Lani, Richard, and Kerri have done a beautiful thing by painstakingly resurrecting the Locke House for travelers to enjoy. It's a beautiful and restful place, and the afternoon snacks and morning breakfast were gourmet! We loved every moment of our stay, and look forward to visiting again :) - Lise and Justin


Inn at Locke House

4.0 on October 19, 2011

When we arrived to check in, they did not have our reservations. Our reservations were never confirmed by the place, although we were charged in full for the reservation. I had a receipt with me, so I was given a refund that night, but I am still waiting for it to post to my bank account. We were able to get reservations elsewhere at the last minute.


wine weekend in lodi 10/16-10/16/11

4.0 on October 19, 2011

I wanted to find a nice place to stay very near to the wine activities in Lodi and this B&B fit the bill. It was about a 10min drive from our last stop(Klinkerbrick). Innkeepers are very nice and helpful with suggestions on where to go, where to eat, etc.. Room was very nice. There were always snacks and coffee, tea, etc. available and the Sunday breakfast was outstanding.


Best Kept Secret Near Lodi

4.4 on October 07, 2011

This was our second visit in 2+ months. The Inn at Locke House was far more enjoyable and just as handy as the chain hotel in Lodi and a much more reasonable price than accommodations attached to the wine visitors' center. Our two night stay was relaxing and quiet. Richard and Lani went out of their way to make our stay delightful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We highly recommend staying at the inn and hope to return soon hopefully with friends.


The place to stay when visiting Lodi

5 on October 01, 2011

We stayed in the water tower suite and the accommodation more than exceeded our expectations. We stayed one night as part of a longer California trip and this was the best B&B we stayed in. Highly recommended.


Don't Miss the Breakfast

4.4 on September 28, 2011

Truly a delightful place to stay - with very hospitable innkeepers, a lovely setting, lots of comforts, and best of all, a fabulous breakfast.


The Inn at Locke House

5 on September 19, 2011

Our hosts were just lovely people. They went beyond to make our stay such a memorable experience. We wish them continuing success in their restoration process of this most delightful historical home. Sue and Donna


Lovely B&B in Lodi Wine Country

4.0 on June 26, 2011

I would definitely recommend this historic and lovely B&B. The house and it's history is very interesting and is also very convenient if you're interested in wine tasting in the Lodi area.


beautiful historic home

4.0 on June 21, 2011

stayed two nights, really enjoyed it. Lovely hosts, went out of their way to ensure we had a good time. Lodi is a must-visit for the wines, they won't stay this much of a great value forever !


Very warm and welcoming

4.0 on June 15, 2011

Charming room, lots of history. Loni and Richard are wonderful hosts!


A weekend in Lodi

4.0 on June 13, 2011

The Inn was charming and relaxing. Hospitality was divine. Our welcome tray of wine, sweets and savories was delicious and lasted us all weekend! Lani was gracious and helpful and although the hotel was full the weekend we stayed, we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. A perfect anniversary get-a-way...we will be back!


Excellent B&B and amazing service

5 on May 25, 2011

Visited for one night - had a great time, the owners are super nice and very attentive. The property itself is well-kept, completely in the spirit of last century (but with all modern amenities!). And the breakfast was amazing, as well. Thank you!


Wonderful stay

4.0 on April 05, 2011

We loved the whole experience at the Inn, from the friendly welcome, the history, the amazing room and outstanding food. We can't wait to be able to visit in the future.


Great stay.

4.6 on March 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Locke House. The exceptional customer service, the wonderful guests, and the fabulous food all contributed to an awesome visit.


Outstanding B&B - Highly Recommended

4.8 on March 24, 2011

The Inn Keepers were great, location was ideal, and the room (The Tower) was amazing. I look forward to returning soon.


A step back in time

4.8 on March 13, 2011

Wonderful stay! Great food and family. We're going back soon!!


Lockwood Lovely

4.2 on March 10, 2011

The Inn at Locke House is beautifully appointed with orginial aniques from the 1800's. Cudos to the innkeepers, Lani and Richard for preserving a national historic landmark while updating the house, barn and gardens with eco-friendly materials and conveniences. Lani is a phenomenal gourmet cook and the presentation is divine. The Ecklunds are gracious hosts and present a restful, accommodating environment. High marks for this experience


A Break from Reality

4.8 on February 26, 2011

Our little "escape from reality" was most enjoyable. The accommodations were first class, and the home cookin' was fantastic. The friendlinss of the people is the definition of hospitality. Highly recommend this experience to anyone who wishes to stop for a moment and "smell the roses."


Our wonderful experience at the Inn

4.2 on January 01, 2011

Richard, Lani, and Kerri were very friendly and helpful. They treated us like family. They gave us a map to visit different wineries around town as well as let us borrow an umbrella for one of the days it rained. Lani's breakfast she made each morning was delicious: baked pear, egg nog french toast, and dutch baby. Kerri made a great egg omelet. People always talk about visiting Napa/Sonoma, but Lodi valley and Lockeford is where its at. Thanks for everything, Karen & Perry


Great little find

5 on December 25, 2010

The room was super quiet, clean and comfortable, and the lodge itself is larger than most B&Bs, which allows for more privacy than usual. The breakfasts were delicious, and Richard and Lani could not have been more eager to please. We've already been back once and will definitely return in the future.


A wonderful anniversary location

5 on December 24, 2010

We had a wonderful time here. The hospitality was inviting and if you're there, don't miss the tea. It's extra, but well worth the expenditure.


Northern California's best

4.0 on December 01, 2010

This little bed and breakfast is in a very quiet, country hamlet. It is minutes from the wineries of Lodi and the mother lode. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious, the building and property are the best I've ever stayed at. Innkeepers are very friendly and the breakfast and service is unmatched. Better than other accommodations nearby that cost twice as much!


Beautiful inn on busy street

4.6 on October 24, 2010

This inn is located on busy Elliot road. If you sleep with the window open, don't stay here! It's too noisy.


A Great Retreat Close to Home

5 on October 06, 2010

We were visting Lockford for an anniversary party, and decided to spend the night. My wife and I did not have high expectations. However, after staying with Lani and Richard, we have found a great retreat close to home. Well kept and historic house, very quiet and very comfortable. Close by, the Lodi wine country was also a VERY pleasant surprise. Whether you are nearby like us, coming from Sacramento, or are from out of the area, the Inn at Locke House is a wonderful place to stay and a great place from which to explore the Lodi wine region and surrounding area! We will be back and bring friends along!


Great Stay

4.0 on September 26, 2010

We only spent one night, but it was a very nice time. The inn is close to town for dinner and close to wineries for wine tasting. The morning breakfast was very good and the innkeepers made us feel at home. A fun place to stay!


Fabulous!

4.6 on August 30, 2010

We spent just one night at Locke House on the weekend of our 23rd anniversary. We can't wait to go back. There was so much exploring to do on the grounds and even in the rooms and the house that we didn't have time for. Richard and Lana were wonderful hosts. The history of the house was extra special considering the personal ties they have to the Locke family. We highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. It's close to lots of wineries in the Lodi area as well as the foothills. Not to be missed!!!


A Wonderful Country Inn

4.0 on May 17, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed with Lani and Richard at the Inn at Locke House. It is a warm and peaceful home with local history evident in each room. The late afternoon snack and breakfast were both wonderful. The small town of Lockeford offers a number of comfortable eateries. This is a great get-away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Mary and Leo Fassler


A VERY SPECIAL PLACE!

5 on January 07, 2009

Dear Lani, Richard and Kerri, I wish to thank you all for such a wonderful weekend! I am addressing this as personal letter because the service we received was personal! We felt like we were at home (without having to do the dishes). My sister and I stayed in your beautiful tower room. It was immaculate, cozy and very much a surprise! We arrived to a wonderful bottle of wine and homemade treats. Your wonderful breakfasts served in the heart of your home warmed our tummies as well as our hearts! Richard thank you for the endless cup of coffee! I have to say my favorite were the expresso scones! Could I have the recipe? I took a relaxing bath in the claw tub one morning and wrapped myself in one of the cozy robes you provided. After returning from a day of wine tasting we came back to our bed made, room tidy and thumb print cookies! Lani, the last morning at breakfast before we left you shared some of your personal history about your life and how you came to be the homes newest keepers along with a personal tour of Locke House. I could go on and on...Needless to say, we will return! Thank you again for sharing your home with us! Sincerely, Sherry


Thanks for a Wonderful Weekend

5 on January 06, 2009

My sister and I needed a "sisters" weekend and choose to stay at the Inn at Locke House in Lockeford, CA This B&B is a well kept secret from the rest of the world! Lani and Richard were warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. Lani is an excellent baker and served food which I have never had before, such as baked pears, persimmon bread, homemade scones just to mention a couple of her scrumptious offerings. My sister and I stayed in the Tower Room, which was spectacular, the renovation is impressive, and the decor was just so darn cute and cozy with gorgeous views of the local walnut groves, pastures and surrounding town of Lockeford. Lani provided a tour of the main house, and is very knowledgeable of the history of the home. The detail to the home room by room is outstanding, Lani, Richard and Lani's daughter have done an awesome job of bringing back this beautiful home to what is once was. If you are looking for a quiet and quaint get-away in the country, this is the place to stay!


Lovely for a getaway

4.4 on January 04, 2009

This is a historic building, so I didn't expect some of the conveniences they've put in, like a gas stove in the room (we stayed in the Berkshire) and heated tile bathrooms. The bathrooms were really nice, obviously renovated. The parlor was nice but also comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Probably as good or better than any I've had at a nice breakfast restaurant. I think I was the most impressed (besides breakfast) at the blend of historic with modern convenience, coupled with attention to details that aid a guest in their stay.


The Inn at Locke House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $169 - $299
  • Reviews (104) 4.6
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2097275715

Visit Website »

View details

Top