Enchanted April Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.9
  • Service5.0
  • Value4.8
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
24 Reviews

Write A Review

We love Enchanted April and come every year

5 on August 25, 2016

We love Enchanted April and come every year for our anniversary. This is our 6th year. Elke is sweet, attentive, generous and a good cook. Her pal, Rhodey, is funny and entertaining. We relax by getting in the river, dinning and snuggling at the frog pond. Oh, Elke's bedding is divine! See you next year! Carol and Royce

Soul Enchancement

5 on July 16, 2016

Where do I begin - your soul feels the warmth, peace and love once you step onto the grounds ¿¿ My husband and I were celebrating our 35th anniversary the weekend of 6/25/16. We had recently sold our home; we had purchased our new near Auburn. We were in need of some time to be alone. You will adore Elke and Rowdy - Elke has made "The Enchanted April Inn" a home away from home - the accommodations are fabulous - the grounds are spiritually charged - the food is beautifully prepared (and healthy). The butterfly population will greet you warmly, and all the charming outdoor spaces will take you on a special dreamlike journey. My husband and I plan on returning to the "Enchanted April Inn" very soon. A great big "Thank You" to Elke and Rowdy for our restful and memorable experience. Sincerely, Jim & Cathy ¿¿¿¿¿

A Wonderful Experience!

5 on July 11, 2016

This B&B was perfect in every way ... From the warm hospitality of Elke to the lovely setting. The attention to every detail was beyond anything I have seen before ... Absolutely an amazing experience. We will make a special trip just to go back to Enchanted April. Thank you Elke

Great bed, barn and breakfast!

5 on April 27, 2015

What a wonderful place for humans and horses! There are great trails for any level of rider/horse in the area. The accommodations are top notch for both horses and their riders.

Very peaceful, remote, beautiful, and an incredible host.

4.8 on September 24, 2014

Can't say enough good things about Elke and how her hosting made our stay there even better. We stayed during the 2014 Tour of California first few stages in the area. She knew nothing of bike racing, but was interested in hearing about a vacation built around watching race stages, and offered great advice on local places and activities. She also offered advice for the next leg of our trip. And made a special 'to go' breakfast for us on the day we had to leave earlier than normal breakfast time. Exceeded our expectations. The property is remote and peaceful. We loved watching the horses, the neighboring llamas and goats, and taking in the beautiful flowers. We stayed here because of its location to our event, but will absolutely go back sometime with this B&B as the main destination.

Enchantment Galore

5 on February 24, 2014

What a wonderful place. Beautifully maintained and elegant. Elka was wonderful.

Kind, comfortable and picturesque

5 on October 22, 2013

My 12 year old son and I started our visit with lunch on a small paddle boat in the pond. A great start of a great stay at the Enchanted April Inn. The room was exquisite, the food was amazing and our host was so kind. We'll be back.

The Peaceful Place

5 on September 05, 2013

This is the place to go for peace, quiet and the best hospitality! I was truly blessed while staying here.

Wonderful Experience...and Beautiful Home!

4.8 on September 03, 2013

Everything about the Enchanted April Inn, was just that, enchanting. Elke is an amazing host, gracious, kind and thoughtful. Her home and the grounds are just beautiful. The gardens are lovely and invite you to stroll the grounds to explore all the various plantings, herbs and flowers that surround her home. She has truly created a peaceful place to spend a few days if you are so lucky to be in the area and need a restful reprieve. I cant wait to go back!

Must visit

4.6 on September 03, 2013

This is a hidden gem. Elke and Rowdy were perfect hosts. This is a place to come and relax. The patio was a tremendous place to relax and have wine.

5 Star in my book

5 on June 19, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax and unwind. Elke made us feel as we were part of the family, not just guests, Could not ask for a better experience. Not sure if Rowdy will be the same as we spoiled him with treats. Hope to return for another stay in near future. Thanks again Elke. Ken and Dorothy

Totally Enjoyable

5 on August 07, 2012

One of the best B&B I we have stayed at. Very hospitable, great food, accommodating, comfortable, personal touch and very friendly dog Rowdy. She even had lots of first aide supplies when we had a mishap rafting. Thanks Elke, Cindy & Mike

Enchanted April B&B

4.8 on March 25, 2012

We've just returned from a two day stay at Enchanted April B&B. had a wonderful time -- quiet, out-of-the-way location. Beautiful grounds & home, hostess Elke was knowledgeable of area & helpful with suggestions on shopping, sightseeing, & history. Wonderful library, great breakfast, lots of picnic support -- baskets, paper goods, and left us to enjoy ourselves!

Truly a gem in gold country

5 on October 10, 2011

The property was beautiful, the room comfortable, the food delicious and the hostess really knows how to make her guests feel welcome & relaxed.

Great spot

4.4 on March 29, 2011

We stayed at Enchanted April unexpectedly, on a foul winter evening after the highway was closed for many hours. Elke welcomed us very late (nearly midnight), showed us to beautiful and comfortable rooms, and, the next morning, conjured up a delicious breakfast despite having no opportunity to plan or shop for our arrival. The setting is gorgeous, and the experience was a marvelous surprise. Now we're looking for excuses to stay there again!

Gold Country gem enjoyable year-round

5 on March 06, 2011

Enchanted April Farm, the bed-and-breakfast in Pilot Hill, is a wonderful addition to the Gold Country. Easy access to this farmhouse inn from either Highway 50 or Interstate 80 makes an ideal quick get-away or part of a longer explore of this beautiful and historical area. My husband, David, and I enjoyed the hospitality of owner and manager Elke Schlosser during the winter season. Her inn is intimate and lovely, with a serene view of her horses and the foothills. She will also board horses for equestrians who want to ride the nearby trails. David and I were able to visit wineries that are close by, dine at a local restaurant and hike one of the trails. We look forward to a return visit.

What a great find!!

4.0 on February 24, 2011

What a great find!! I stayed a night with a bunch of friends, so we took up all the rooms; which made it nice...almost like we had a rented a house with a cook; which brings me to Elke (owner) who is fabulous, so friendly and a joy to talk with. For breakfast we got to sit out by the pool and the views are amazing and the food was fabulous!! The rooms are all very nice and cozy....I slept so well. The grounds are beautiful too...was nice to be able to go down and visit with the horses! Great location and near all the wineries...especially loved Venizo Winery! Can not wait to be able to go back! :)

Just lovely

5 on February 23, 2011

Rooms are lovely and beds are fantastic. (I am a freak for beds that lean in or aren't just so...). Hostess is wonderful. Remembers your preferences from visit to visit including the breakfast she served you prior so she doesn't serve it again. I wonder what will happen when we have been here so often, will she make up a new dish? I am willing to find out. Relaxing, beautiful, clean, comfortable. I just love it there. Many places to sit outside including around a fire pit or a pool. Nice to go there with friends or with your sweetie. I have done both and will again.

Horse Heaven!

5 on February 23, 2011

I have stayed in B&Bs all over the USA and Canada. Enchanted April is the cleanest and best run of them all! To top it off Elke has wonderful accommodations for our horses and trails are nearby! Our group has stayed at Enchanted April twice and we are already planning our return. Believe me, you will LOVE this place. Peaceful and quiet, beautifully appointed rooms, comfy beds, delicious food and such a gracious host. The foothills of California are a treat to visit and

We'll be back!

5 on February 16, 2011

We were delighted with Enchanted April. Quiet, relaxing, lovely host, great breakfast & dip in the river & pool. Our favorite B & B. We'll be back.

Peaceful inn.

4.8 on February 13, 2011

Enchanted April B and B is in an out of the way place in a beautiful setting. If you're looking for a romantic getaway or a place to find some peace and quiet, this is the place! Elke is a gracious hostess who pays attention to every detail. The breakfasts are to die for! You can board your horse here and trailer to some beautiful places to ride.

The most peaceful relaxing place I have ever been to :D

4.4 on February 10, 2011

I stayed at the Enchanted April Inn in December 2010. It was the most relaxing peaceful place I have ever been to. The atmosphere was great Elke made us feel as if it was our home. She cooks the Best breakfasts! It was fabulous. I will definately be going back to visit in the summer and I plan on staying there. Great spot for peace, quiet and relaxation. I highly recommend going there for a stay. Sincerely, Lisa Croft Fremont, CA

This place is amazing!!!

5 on February 07, 2011

We had a wonderful visit to Enchanted April!!! The attention to detail is remarkable. You feel welcome from the moment you arrive. It is a wonderful place, you never want to leave!!!

October 2010 stay

5 on October 13, 2010

Enchanted April is fabulous. The setting is beautiful with wonderful views of rolling hills and vineyards. The rooms are perfectly decorated and comfortable, as well as the rest of the B&B. Attention to detail is incredible, the breakfast was delicious gourmet. We had a perfectly wonderful experience.

Enchanted April Inn


  • Nightly Rate $179 - $289
  • Reviews (24) 4.9
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9169399144

Visit Website »

View details