Julian Hotel Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Service4.9
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness4.9
  • Onsite Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
15 Reviews

Write A Review

Exceptional

5 on September 23, 2017

Just returned from our stay at this hotel. The service was exceptional, the food served at tea time and breakfast was delicious. This hotel is a reminder of a simpler time and is very relaxing. Everyone was friendly and so helpful. I hope we return to Julian and will plan our trip in order to stay at this facility.


THE Place to stay in Julian

5 on August 18, 2017

The Julian Hotel was simple wonderful! The most important thing... LOCATION! They are smack in the middle of the cute little downtown area! You can walk to all the shops and restaurants. They're literally so close that if you find yourself shopping around town and have to use the restroom... it's faster to go to your room than wait for a public restroom. These cats are SUPER friendly. Very welcoming. And the place! Oh... the place... quaint, cute and adorable. I absolutely love the decor! One not so hot thing about the town (not the hotel) is that most of the shops close at 5pm. So what does the hotel do? They offer a 5pm coffee/tea hour where they serve (literally) the best scones you've ever had. Tea, lemonade, fruit, cookies... all for free! And they have a large assortment of board games for you to choose from. You can even take them back to your room! Your stay also comes with a FREE breakfast that is fantastic! We're not talking like a Holiday Inn breakfast buffet... but a really nice breakfast! The room was very cute. The furniture was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. The only negative, which is really a positive depending on what you want is that there isn't a TV in the room. Personally, I always love watch TV late at night in a hotel room... but that's just me. Most would be thankful that there isn't a tv. So it's just good to know. I CAN NOT WAIT to go back and I won't even consider researching any other place to stay when visiting Julian!


Fantastic anniversary present

5 on August 05, 2017

We decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary with an overnight trip to San Diego's back country, namely old mining town, Julian. We stayed at the Old Julian Hotel, one of the oldest continually operating hotels in America. We were delighted with what we found. The hotel is decorated in late 1800s decor and is super clean and maintained. The rooms are not very large but are very comfortable and the service is phenomenal. The rooms are also air-conditioned but have no TV. We enjoyed a delightful afternoon tea the day we arrived and a really large, healthy breakfast the next morining. The hotel is located right in the middle of this historic town within walking distance of everything. We are already making plans to go back, just to be able to stay in the Old Julian Hotel. Anthony and JoAnn Ross


Charming Getaway

4.4 on March 24, 2017

We decided to stay overnight in Julian after a drive to Borrego Springs to see the wildflowers. The Julian Hotel was a lovely spot to choose, conveniently located, and a charming, cozy room was waiting for us. We were able to check in a little early and had a nice nap before dinner in the town of Julian. The staff, Joanna and Lisa, were very friendly and accommodating, plus the breakfast was outstanding. For the value, location, and. Harm, we'd stay again.


General Grant

4.4 on March 07, 2017

Always wanted to spend a winter weekend in Julian CA. This year Feb 2017 we did. My Girlfriend and I decide to go up to Julian for a weekend get away and experience the cold wet weather of Mt Julian. It could not be better than this specially when you check in to a very historical Julian Hotel. Cozy, cute and a blast from the past. The staff are very nice. They make you feel like you were there for a family visit... Best breakfast, specially their homemade oats. If you want to experience gentleness, purity and intimate with your spouse, partner or soulmate. Julian Hotel is the place.


Perfect weekend!

4.4 on June 17, 2016

Simply perfect. First time staying at the Julian Hotel, but will not be the last. We were in Julian for the weekend to enjoy the town, mountains and trails. The staff was fantastic and provided an outstanding, unique breakfast each day. The central location of the hotel was perfect to walk around town or travel to the local trails & neighboring towns. Defiantly visit Jerome's on the Hill for dinner. Go to the Kenner Horse Ranch for riding and Apple cider! And hike Stonewall Peak trail for a nice adventure, great views.


"Anniversary Get Away"

4.8 on May 04, 2016

Our stay at the Julian Hotel was very nice. It was quaint, quiet, & romantic. This hotel has it all.... Cleanliness, history, wonderful breakfast, afternoon tea, & great value. We enjoyed our stay on every level. We will be back soon. Much thanks to the staff.


Step into the past (plus modern bathrooms!)

5 on September 27, 2015

In the 1970's the rooms were small (still are) but they converted adjoining rooms into private baths. Very good remodel, preserving the look and feel of the historic 1880 hotel, but enter a different century when you step into the washroom. For B&B lovers, this is a dream. Your key bob holds a front door key, and so, once inside you are in a quaint private residential facility, quiet and homey (but with good WiFi). Breakfast is not to be missed, but don't miss the 5:00 tea either. Don't forget to try the coffee. We will be returning! This out to be San Diego County's go-to spot for a short get-away. There is still gold in them-thar hills!


More than I imagined

5 on August 06, 2014

It was a great stay!!!! Not expensive, and the staff super attentive, considerate, respectful. The atmosphere absolutely excellent. I've got not a thing to criticize!!!


perfect stay for wedding/honeymoon

5 on August 26, 2013

Absolutely perfect! My husband and I stayed here while we eloped for our wedding. Before we even booked a room, the staff showed us the available rooms so we could be sure to choose the right one. They were also able to offer a generous mid-week discount We stayed in the detached patio cottage #19, which afforded us a beautiful room with private bath and fireplace in an extremely private/quiet setting. The little cozy cottage is situated out behind the hotel patios and features its own veranda with seating. We felt like we had absolute privacy but the luxury and convenience of the fully staffed hotel at the same time. As other reviewers have noted, the breakfasts here are incredible.In fact, the eggs Florentine were so delicious that my husband asked for the recipe, which they generously let us have. We were also able to have a special order for our main course. If you stay here, be sure to make your wishes known. The staff will do everything possible to accommodate you! Unlike other hotels that charge an enormous fee for anything out of the ordinary, the staff here allowed us to have a beautiful private ceremony right out on the back deck under the enormous oak tree--a really special place. They even provided a witness for us who took pictures and really seemed excited to be there. All of this, as well as the storage of our wedding cake, was provided at no extra charge whatsoever. They were also able to provide excellent suggestions for driving tours and activities and dinner recommendations. Others have already mentioned the special tea service--while we were there we saw many guests getting to know one another, although we kept to ourselves and felt completely comfortable. There are many private spots on the property if you prefer to make use of the games, puzzles, or copious reading materials provided for you. We are already planning a trip back to our patio cottage every year for our anniversary. For romance and connection, it can't be beat.


Back to the Past

5 on July 25, 2012

If you want to step out of the present and go back to the past (1800's that is), this is it. The Julian Hotel is a beautifully restored hotel true to it's late 1800's vintage with the necessary conveniences of the present such as in-room bathrooms added. The furnishings and decor are true to the late 1800's but without the dust from horses that undoubtedly passed by. The rooms are very clean and the bed mattresses very comfortable. Taller visitors such as myself (6'3") can be assured a queen size bed with no foot board. (The 1800's did not have California King beds!) I especially enjoyed taking in the atmosphere of the building. The breakfast was not your typical zapped danish and coffee, but hot french toast topped with a tasty apple topping and the best granola I've had, made by the cook on the premises. The Julian Hotel does not have TV but does have wifi. This turned out to be a plus as it causes you to actually talk to each other! The town of Julian shuts down at 7:00 p.m., so take advantage of a board game or one of the old books in the parlor. My wife and I spent one day at the Julian Hotel and I went back to the office feeling like I'd been gone all week! We'll definitely be returning again when we want to step back to a slower time.


First time at the Gold Rush Hotel

4.8 on June 23, 2008

We only were able to stay one night, but it was very enjoyable. The rooms are Super Clean, the check-in and out was smooth and fast, the breakfast was Very Delicious, and the Service was OUTSTANDING. We are looking forward to our next visit. Thank Ya'll for being so friendly. Dale and Barbara Hunt of El Centro, CA.


The Great Escape

4.4 on June 19, 2008

The Julian Hotel is our home away from home. When we need to get away from our regular routine for some R&R, we always escape to the Julian Hotel ... just 1 1/4 hours away from our home. No phones, no TV, no mail ... just peace and quiet to renew your soul. A great value and incredible selfless staff.


slice of heaven

4.6 on July 05, 2007

Very Quaint -- small, but it was cold out and perfect for snuggling. The in room dairy was so sweet. The staff could work on being a tad friendlier, it's not like everyone has been to a bed and breakfast before :) The evening parlor games, cider and pie were great! A fantastic place to stay. We are hoping to make it a tradition


Lil' taste of Heaven

5 on April 30, 2007

A friend and I recently spent a couple of nights there. It is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were neat, clean, and absolutely beautiful. The employees were wonderful, Couldn't be any nicer. I'm looking forward to going back again next year.


Julian Hotel

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 800-7345854
  • Phone 1-7607650201
  • Fax 1-7607650327

Visit Website »

View details

Top check