Carmel Country Inn Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Onsite Dining4.3

Score Breakdown based on
42 Reviews

Write A Review

Winner Winner Winner

4.8 on January 01, 2012

I have now stayed here twice and I moved over here on the reccomendation of a friend. Easy access to everything, parking in front, amazing room with big screen, fireplace, super comfy bed and the best bathroom with huge jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Continental breakfast has amazing pastry and I love this place.

Lara our Borzoi loves Carmel Country Inn, and we do too...

5 on December 30, 2011

This is probably the 5th year we have stayed at the Inn and it is always just perfect for us. The people are friendly and remember us and our Borzoi, Lara. The rooms are wonderful and it is our choice for a pet-friendly stay in Carmel.

A most lovely place to stay for spell....

3.8 on November 27, 2011

I brought my 98 year old mother with me to spend two days in Carmel. The B&B exceeded our expectations as we were upgraded from the small room we requested to a suite that they offered because the smaller room concerned them for the bathroom size. We needed a shower that would hold a shower chair for the disabled. They arranged for this in the larger room. Additionally, the fireplace in the suite's living room created a comfy and warm ambiance along with the carafe of sherry that we tipped into before going out for dinner. The breakfast was absolutely delicious with quiche and French pastries, coffee and fresh fruits that filled us without even sampling the other offerings. These caring and also friendly managers deserve accolades for their service. Their cat also brought joy to my mom, as the cat sat next to her near the fireplace as we ate and enjoyed conversation with other guests. A great place to stay...highly recommended. Jeanne Rayher

Short Walk to the Beach

5 on November 11, 2011

What a lovely inn! I had such a great time staying here. It's really comfortable and classy. And close to the beach! A perfect place to stroll around and then relax in the room. I really enjoyed breakfast too. Great food and very casual.

Great Girl's Get-A-Way

4.0 on October 24, 2011

As a life long Bay Area resident, I have been to Carmel a million times over the years yet have somehow missed this gem! Our two bedroom suite was spacious, very well appointed and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect. The staff were perfectly attentive to our every need. It was wonderful two day get-a-way. Frankie my beagle loved it too! We will be back for sure! Molly L.

Annual Anniversary Experience

4.4 on September 29, 2011

This has been a repeat experience for many years for my husband and I. The staff is wonderful and will make you feel very special even before you arrive. The minute you arrive there is an adorable dutch door that you enter and you will be greeted with the smell of fresh baked cookies. Our dog Mattie is treated like a princess with her picture being taken and put on their family photo wall. The breakfast is very good and will fill you up, getting you ready to take off to explore beautiful Carmel. It is located in a secluded part BUT is a short walk into town and a few blocks away from the ocean. Great Place

Beyond our expectations

5 on August 26, 2011

We have been to various bed and breakfasts in the Carmel-Monterey area and this one by far is the best bang for your buck. The friendliness of Amy and her staff made us feel at home. We decided that we need to look no further and are making the Carmel Country Inn our home away from home.

Comfort at Carmel Country Inn

4.6 on June 17, 2011

My husband and I first came here as we read they were a dog friendly inn. Not only were they dog friendly, but they also people friendly. They provide a warm home like place with comfortable rooms, great breakfast that they will happily deliver to your room, great wide screen televisions. We had a fireplace in our room which made added a romantic touch to our stay. The staff is friendly, will make good take out recommendations which we like doing several nights when we stay, and they have a nook, where breakfast is served if you want, that is filled with snacks, cookies, lemonaide, great teas, nd my new personal favorite...instant Chai. We just got back from our fourth visit, and we have discussed renting our Rm. 10 for life...if we won the Lottery. Until then, we will make Carmel Country Inn or mini vacation getaway for years to come.

great B&B

4.4 on June 08, 2011

we had a great stay at the carmel country inn. we loved our bathroom-modern, clean, huge, the bathtub was amazing. The grounds was beautiful and well-landscaped. our room was clean and very comfortable. the staff was superb and so helpful. we will definitely stay here again. parking was convenient. thank you for a great night's stay.

Great Get-A-Way Place to Stay

5 on May 21, 2011

We were so pleased with the accommodations at the Carmel Country Inn during our recent Anniversary celebration. The room we stayed in (#2) was wonderfully decorated, with a Love seat that sat across from a fireplace (gas) and flat screen TV. A very comfy King size bed with a down comforter was in the area adjoining the sofa. The room seemed just right! The bathroom was large with an amazing (and huge) tub in it. I almost got lost in the tub and totally enjoyed the jets that massaged my muscles. Nice stone tile in neutral colors made the bath seem like Heaven. A nice extended continental style breakfast waited for us each morning at 8:00 am. We were surprised how many yummy things were included/available. The sweets from a local bakery were great as was the quiche. Probably our favorite thing about the Carmel Country Inn was the way they treated our dogs. Out 2 Chihuahua's travel with us all the time and the nice folks at the carmel Country Inn treated them like family. Many places seem to grudgingly accept your pets but then make them feel unwelcome. Not here, they were like special guests and no-one turned their nose at them or any of the other wonderful pets that visited the weekend we were there. Bravo! The staff was always there to help if you needed but never was too much there to interfere with your weekend. Thank you so much for you kindness. Almost forgot... The grounds were beautiful with plenty of extra touches and flowers in bloom, it was obvious they Love this little Inn. We strongly recommend the carmel Country Inn if you are visiting Carmel, it is charming and comfy.

New 2nd home!

5 on March 21, 2011

Although I often spend the weekend in Carmel, this was my first time staying at the Carmel Country Inn. I LOVED it! I wish I could spend every weekend there! I also noticed my yellow lab was so calm and relaxed she could've been at home. The breakfast was excellent, such a selection for anyone's appetite. It was a stormy weekend and after long wet and windy walks on the beach, it was wonderful getting warm & cozy in the hot bath and fireplace. I felt so grateful to be able to enjoy such luxury, I booked another weekend next month!

Very Nice Tree Top Room

5 on July 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and then stayed at the Highland Inn for two nights. Each provided its own experience and we truly enjoyed both. At this hotel we stayed in one of their newer room, built two years ago and it felt new. The jacuzzi tub could have been built for two and a natural wood burning fireplace wold have been great (both features found at the Highland's Inn). Aside form that, the hospitality was great, the continental breakfast was well prepared and tasty with fresh fruits and breads and they served Peete's Coffee!!! We would definitely stay there again.

Best B&B in Carmel-by-the-Sea

4.8 on May 03, 2010

Grounds are charming. Innkeeper is very nice and helpful. Walking distance to downtown and beach. Parking directly outside room. Breakfast included such items as fresh baked scones, loaf bread, and fresh berries. Warm cookies available in the afternoon. Room #2 is wonderful with a jet-tub for two, fireplace, flat-screen TV with plenty of classic and recent movies to borrow from front desk. Everything up-to-date, very clean, modern/elegant/comfortable. Best B&B I have found in Carmel, as a frequent visitor to the area. Did not bring my doggie this time, but enjoyed Tesher the friendly cat!

the perfect inn

5 on April 22, 2010

I have traveling to Carmel for over 10 years now to reunite with some wonderful friends in that area. It is a beautiful place to begin with and The Carmel Country Inn is the perfect "icing on the cake" each and every time I have traveled down there and I choose to stay there over and over. The rooms are each unique, cozy, and so inviting after a day of shopping or sight-seeing. The breakfast bar that is set up every morning is the best "continental" breakfast I have ever had with a wide assorment of items to choose from. All the people that work there are friendly and very knowledgeable about the area...places to eat, things to see, beachwalking/picnicing... After many visits there I just can not say enough about Amy and her team and the wonderful atmosphere of Carmel Country Inn and I will continue to stay there as I return for visits in years to come! I would highly recommend this place to anyone truly wishing to find that "special" spot in Carmel - it is a true "gem". Spring is my favorite time and the gardens, courtyard, hanging baskets are beautiful! Yours truly - - " A BELIEVER FROM SEATTLE"

Carmel Country Inn, a true gem

4.8 on March 31, 2010

Having been introduced to Carmel Country Inn by friends about 8 years ago, we always looked forward to our return visits to Carmel and our stay at the Inn. Always clean and comfortable rooms and superb staff. The location is perfect. Truly a great value. Be sure to check with their office and get your chocolate chip cookies every evening.

charming B&B

4.0 on March 25, 2010

We were 2 couples travelling together and stayed in one of the 2 bed/2 bath suites. It was very comfortable, and allowed us the personal space that we wanted, even while sharing with another couple. The breakfasts were wonderful, and the location, near the commercial core, but a few quiet blocks away, was perfect.


5 on February 04, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a place to "get away" for a couple of days for our anniversary. I had stayed here with a friend and the dogs earlier in the year and had a wonderful time. I tried looking at other places in the area just to see what was out there and the ones that said dog friendly were not. Seriously, not everyone has a dog under 25 pounds! So I went back to the Carmel Country Inn and I will not stay anywhere else from now on. My husband and I had a fabulous time and so did our "baby girl"! The staff there is AWESOME and we (my husband, Kuma and I) felt really welcome and at home!

Best in Carmel

4.8 on January 18, 2010

Have been staying here with for the last 3 years and always a pleasure! If you have a pet then, this is a great place to bring them. Amy and her staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offering includes variety of fruits, bagels, muffings, cold and hot cereals plus a variety of pastries. We've stayed at other places in area but, this is by far the best and to repeat, Amy and her staff are outstanding!!!!!!


5 on January 03, 2010

charming, overall perfect level of service without intruding on our holiday..super clean, super nice staff.. we were so happy wiht this property

Awesome getaway at Carmel Country Inn

5 on December 10, 2009

We traveled to Carmel Country Inn over Thanksgiving. While we have traveled to Carmel at least twice a year for over thirty years, we found this little Inn the most wonderful place that we have ever stayed. We traveled with 13 year old twin boys and our dog. It was the perfect place......friendly, homey, cozy, walking distance to town for shopping, restaurants and the beach, and a great place to "do nothing" if that was on our agenda. The innkeeper is wonderful, and the breakfast left us wishing for nothing more for our morning meal. We had fun chatting with the returning guests and the wonderful staff. We definitely will be returning in the near future.

You made my stay!!

4.0 on September 29, 2009

Charming, quaint, cozy, with a welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff -- what more could one ask for?! It's the Inn, to stay in, when in Carmel. HV from DC

Dog and People Friendly

5 on September 13, 2009

charming, friendly helpful staff; room and amenities were lovely; look forward to staying there again and again

Always at great stay

4.6 on August 22, 2009

We come once or twice a year. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. The continental breakfast has plenty. My dog is always happy here, and they take good care of their pet guests. Walk into Carmel, or down to the beach, it is close enough.

Already planning to return

4.6 on August 22, 2009

Everything exceeded my expectations - excellent staff; room that was cozy, immaculate with a sense of luxury; location that was perfect for walking to shops, restaurants, galleries and beach, yet still far enough from foot traffic to be quiet. I wanted a place that did more than simply tolerate my dogs, and found that here. They were very kind and welcoming to my 2 shy dogs, and the area where breakfast and snacks are served allows dogs, making our stay even easier. I will be staying here again, soon!!!

Love Animals, stay here.

4.0 on August 22, 2009

If you want to stay in heaven surrounded by loving pets, please stay here. I loved this place. I may need to go out and adopt a dog,just to have reason to travel back to Carmel. I hope my cats at home won't be upset. Looking forward to my return to The Carmel Country Inn. Jose morales rehoboth Beach, DE.

Excellent Honeymoon Stay!

4.4 on July 19, 2009

Having stayed here for only 1 night in 2007 we knew we wanted to stay here again for part of our honeymoon. As soon as we contacted the Carmel Country Inn ("CCI") and requested one of the Luxury Mini Suites they couldn't have been more helpful. When we arrived Amy and Rachel gave us such a lovely welcoming which continued throughout our stay. Our room was just as the photos showed on their website, very relaxing and the spa bath was great. It was lovely to sit out on the balcony in the early evening relaxing with a lovely glass of wine. You could not ask for any more choice for breakfast than what was on offer, you could either sit in the kitchen area, or out on the terrace or take a tray back to your room. Although the inn is situated away from the town centre it is only a short walk to the main shops and restaurants. We can highly recommend Tommy Wok's for a cheap but very filling chinese. It does get very busy so you should book a table. Cannot recomend CCI enough and we look forward to going back soon. Thank you Amy, Mara, Caytlyn and Rachel for making our stay so great and a memorable part of our honeymoon!

This is truely a wonderful Inn.

5 on July 02, 2009

The rooms are fabulous, immaculate and comfortable. The staff is great, very helpful when asked for recommendations of where to eat and what to see and do in carmel. This is in an excellent location. We enjoyed the flat screen T.V. and the movies we borrowed from the INN. The fireplace and whirlpool tub are super added features. The bed was very comfortable. I can't wait to return to this Inn.

Hidden Gem

4.8 on May 27, 2009

Carmel Country Inn is our favorite destination and only 2 hours maximum driving time from San Francisco. We have stayed there numerous times, with and without pets, think the location is the very best (beach, lagoon hiking, shopping, all dining within walking distance) and it is VERY quiet. There is ample off street parking for guests, the continental breakfast is perfect for every person's expectations and if something more substantial is needed there are numerous breakfast opportunities only 5 minutes away on foot. All of the rooms are cozy, 1 or 2 bedroom suites, the beds are exceptionally comfortable and every room has a state of the art flat screen TV. The staff is very accomodating, helping with dinner suggestions and reservations, helpful in planning a wonderful day trip experience so that guests can truly enjoy the breathtaking beauty of the Monterey Peninsula. For golfers, the choices are difficult . . . all the courses are beautiful and have world class reputations and challenges. We are now in the process of figuring out how we can get to Carmel Country Inn no less than 4 times a year! It's perfect.


3.6 on May 20, 2009

This was the second time we stayed at the Carmel Country Inn. It is lovely. If I'm ever in Carmel again, I won't think twice about where I would stay.

A treat to stay at Carmel Country Inn

4.6 on May 10, 2009

The staff is very friendly and they remember us from our previous visits. We bring our dog with us and she is also warmly welcomed. Our room was their least expensive and yet we still had ample space for all three of us. The room still had a fireplace, mini fridge, internet access, free sherry and a large bathroom. The complimentary continental breakfast was ample and tasty and we enjoyed it out on the patio.

Carmel Country Inn

4.0 on May 06, 2009

The only complaint we have about our stay in Carmel was it wasn't long enough. We loved everything about Carmel and the Carmel Country Inn and can't wait to go back. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room- a beautiful king room with a fireplace, flat screen tv, whirlpool tub and balcony overlooking the quiet street that the Inn sits on. The cozy, clean feeling of the room was so peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed a chat with Amy and Tescher Cat (the true Inn Keeper). We can't wait to go back to Carmel.

My stay

5 on March 24, 2009

Our stay at Carmel Country Inn was fantastic I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

Charming home away from home.

4.8 on March 24, 2009

We loved our stay at the Carmel Country Inn. The 2 bed/1 bath suite we stayed in was delightfully decorated and comfortably furnished. Everything was clean & in good condition with a coffee nook, refrigerator, fireplace, television & dvd player. They even had a large dvd library for guests to utilize at no cost. The staff was welcoming, accomodating and helpful with finding good restaurants, discovering great shopping or taking fun excursions. The daily breakfast was delicious with pastries, bagels, cereal, fresh fruit, oatmeal, juice, coffee and more. They offered freshly baked cookies each afternoon & evening and bottled water was available at a reasonable cost. We had a wonderful time & would definitely stay there again. Though we weren't able to take advantage of it, they have a company who will even come & give in-room massages. The hotel is just a few blocks off of the "main" road - Ocean Dr. so it was easy to walk all around the town for meals, shopping or to the beach but was tucked away in the neighborhood where it was quiet & peaceful.

Charming, comfortable, excellent staff, and pet friendly

5 on February 23, 2009

My wife and I stay at the Carmel Country Inn regularly, and have done so for about ten years. We always enjoy the relaxing and comfortable rooms with a nice fireplace and cozy furniture. Being pet friendly (we take our dog and cat) was the initial reason we stayed there, but we've stayed several times even without the pets. The Inn staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is one of the best of any B&B we've experienced.

Cozy Stay

3.4 on January 26, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in late November. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. It was so cozy it felt like you were staying at a friend's house. We have stayed at a couple B&Bs in the past two months and I keep wishing we'll walk in and find the Carmel Country Inn's room! Bed was fantastic, property is quiet, and the staff is always helpful and nice. The location is a big plus too - far enough away that you don't hear all the cars, but still only steps from downtown and the beach. We really enjoyed being able to walk to everything and then return to our quiet bungalow. Great experience!

It was purrfectly cozy

5 on January 14, 2009

We enjoyed two great days at the Inn and it was love at first sight as we were greeted by a large, well-fed cat sitting in the arms of one of the innkeepers. So, leaving my two cats at home made this a lovely and welcoming scene! This is an older place, however, we stayed in the large room with a fireplace which sits upstairs over the lobby. Amenities were modern, the place was very quiet for sleeping and the breakfast was quite satisfying. One comment: I eat oatmeal every day and the crockpot-style of cooking left it a bit watery for my tastes and it needed to get going a bit earlier for guests as it didn't seem done. The coffee was outstanding and the almond pastries were "the best" and I had one each morning. Whatever bakery is providing them, please keep them coming. Everyone was so helpful and kind, giving us great suggestions for restaurants and making reservations for us. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Casanova and the food and service were excellent. Day trips included 17-Mile-Drive, Monterey and walking the shops of Carmel. We will definitely go back to Carmel and we had such a good time at the Carmel Country Inn, that this is permanently on our list. At first, I was concerned that it was pet-friendly and since I'm a "cat person" and not a "dog person," I was hesitant. But, the people, the place and the two cats won me over (I still love and miss outdoor Max and hope he's doing well and wish he'd decide to come inside where all domestic cats need to be to be safe), and we will return. Many thanks for a wonderful time and good memories.

terrific stay at the Carmel Country Inn

4.8 on October 25, 2008

we recently stayed at the Carmel Country Inn during the second week of October. The weather cooperated with mild days and cool nights, with clear blue skies. The service was great, the room (a 2 room suite) was perfect, quiet, and comfortable. Quiet is the operative word. The large master bathroom was the best, and the fireplace gave warmth to the room in the evening. The sherry was also nice. In addition to the great B&B, the town of Carmel is a jewel. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Couldn't have enjoyed it more!

5 on September 13, 2008

Our little threesome stayed at the Carmel Country Inn recently, taking advantage of a two bedroom suite, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The room was wonderful, with it's cozy fireplace, clawfoot jetted bathtub, and nice ameneties. The staff was personable and laid back, and the resident cat was a joy. The continental breakfast was far above average, and the afternoon fresh-baked cookies and snacks were an added bonus. Located within an EASY walk to town, and only about five minutes to the beach. We would all highly recommend this location - and will definitely plan to stay here again.

Fabulous Stay

5 on September 09, 2008

We stayed here our honeymoon and loved it.

paradise for dogs and humans!!!!

5 on August 30, 2008

The location couldn't be more perfect, 2 blocks from town, yet not a single noise distraction except the birds talking in the trees. every amenity was provided from flat screen tv's to afternoon snacks and fresh baked goodies for the evening. They were so kind and generous with our little dog, they even provided him with adorable doggie scarf's and sweaters to wear around town,and or course take home. Best of all was the terrific Innkeeper, Amy who made our stay especially fantastic with her attention to every detail, beautiful room accomadations, fantastic breakfast's and most of all her wonderful, pleasant attitude toward us and all her guests!!

Great stay in a great part of town

4.6 on July 23, 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the Carmel Country Inn, and loved it (again!). We've stayed twice before and have loved every minute of it. What I really like about staying here is you are right in town, but down the street just enough so evenings are peaceful to the point where you could hear a pin drop. Walking to dinner each night and walking it off just a bit on the way back, and admiring the woods and bird sounds all around is just the best. We've stayed in a few different rooms and they have all been beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. As a guy, I sometimes don't like the style of B&B's when they are overly 'frilly' with floral prints from the carpet to the ceiling. This Inn does a good job of creating warmth without overdoing it. I just felt immediately comfortable and relaxed. This time we stayed in a 'king suite' - a new room since we were last here. The Innkeepers have built a second floor with two rooms, and they've done a good job of making it look like it was always there. These rooms are super nice, with a full private balcony facing the woods across the street, a fireplace, flat-screen TV, a huge bed, and a nice bath. Another thing I really like about this place is the snack room where a simple breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and coffee are laid out all day. It was a lot of fun to go out for the day and come back before dinner and grab a snack and coffee and head back to the room for a bit of reading/relaxing before heading out to dinner a bit later. Lastly, Amy at the Inn remembers us and we've enjoyed catching up with her each time we come. We just feel welcome there, and having travelled as much as we have, you definitely cannot say that enough these days. Customer service is all but gone it seems, but not here. We definitely recommend the Carmel Country Inn to friends and family and if you are looking for a nice little splurge, this is a good one.

Charming Dog Friendly Retreat

4.4 on June 30, 2008

We had the most lovely time here. A gorgeous room with fireplace, deck with french doors, fantastic romantic bathroom. Sweet staff

Carmel Country Inn


Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8316253263
  • Fax 1-8316252945
  • Toll free 1-8002156343

Visit Website »

View details