Coachman's Inn Reviews

Overall
4.2

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.5
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Onsite Dining3.6

Score Breakdown based on
130 Reviews

Write A Review

Comfortable Inn. Terrific location.

3.2 on November 30, 2017

My wife and I recently spent we spent a leisurely 5 days driving from San Francisco to LA primarily following Highway 1. We spent 2 nights in Carmel-by-the-Sea at the Coachman’s Inn. We had a large, comfortable King Room with a fireplace. Very quiet location on the top (3rd) floor. If mobility is an issue be aware that they don’t have elevators and there’s no one to help carry bags. The room had all the amenities you would expect - coffee maker, plastic & glass glasses, decent hair dryer, lots of fluffy towels - and a very comfortable bed. Our only quibble about the room was the lack of a printed guide to detail television channels. Unfortunately the electronic guide on the TV itself gave no program schedule detailsso we had to scroll through all the channels to see what was on. And there were major gaps between channels. The room includes a very good breakfast buffet in a lounge adjacent to the lobby. Hot cereal, cold cereals, hard boiled eggs, a couple of omelette selections, fruit, toasters for bagels, raisin bread, English muffins. Coffee and juice. Afternoon wine and cheese was also included but we found the wines far too sweet for our liking. The desk staff couldn’t have been more helpful or welcoming. Same can be said for all the support staff. Previous reviews have commented on the scarcity of parking spaces. Our first night we had to park next to the front office on the street. Not a problem. But you need to move the car every 2 hours during the day after 10a. We moved ours on-site in the morning after it had emptied out and left it there the 2nd night. The Coachman’s Inn location is just a block off Carmel’s Main Street, Ocean, and you can walk everywhere in downtown Carmel, including the beach, in less than 5 minutes. Very good hotel, great location (although in truth it’s a 3-level high-end more than a hotel. I would give it 4 stars out of 5. We would stay again.


In the heart of the city

4.6 on November 07, 2017

Very nice play to stay right in the heart of Carmel. Just step out onto the street and find yourself in the middle of shopping, dining and wine. Great wine and appetizers in the evening, and breakfast in front of a fire in the morning.


The Coachman's Inn is a perfect in every way Bed and Breakfast Experience in Carmel-by-the-Sea

5 on October 21, 2017

The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and spacious. The fireplace made the evenings cozy and enjoyable. All of the staff is friendly, helpful, and courteous. And the morning breakfasts as well as


A quaint gem!

4.0 on October 03, 2017

A beautiful Inn with great service! We were welcomed with a warm smile and sent off the same way. Daily breakfast was plentiful and delicious and evening wine and appetizers was fantastic! The homemade cookies, scones and hot evening dips gave it a personal touch that made you feel like you were visiting family. This Inn does not have AC which was difficult given the unseasonably warm weather but I understand AC is typical for this area of CA given the usually cooler temperatures. They did provide a fan which helped and the windows do open to create a great cross breeze. The rooms that face the street are VERY noisy. Trash as come daily round 5-6 am as well as street noise made it sometimes difficult at night but the cool breezes were amazing. Rooms were very clean but the shower knob needs to be replaced, green mold was visible and small touch ups to rusting caulk and towel bars would go long way. These minor things would not keep us from coming back!! It was a wonderful place to stay. Beautifully kept property with a great location. Fireplace in our room and welcome note was a beautiful touch! Coachman Inn, thank you for making our 1st visit to Carmel perfect!


Coachman's Inn Carmel

3.2 on September 28, 2017

The Inn was very lovely but the rooms were very small. It was unusually warm and bear in mind there is no air conditioning. We had to have windows open and were on ground floor. Automobiles in parking lot and foot traffic past windows was very annoying.


Coachman's inn Carmel

3.6 on September 17, 2017

The room was smaller than expected. It was extremely clean and the staff was very personal and receptive. Carmel was unusually hot during our stay and with no air conditioning, the room was quite uncomfortable. Breakfasts were excellent.


Convenient location & comfortable rooms

4.8 on September 11, 2017

We recently had a family reunion there and we had a really nice time. Everyone enjoyed their room and we were close to everything!


Great location, nice people

4.2 on August 31, 2017

Stayed 2 nights and found location to be great. Closed to shops and restaurants. Rooms are not updated but clean. Very nice breakfast every morning and the management team were nice and helpful. Not enough parking for all guest rooms, so you may need to park on street overnight and then move it before 10am.


Charming, centrally located inn

4.0 on August 25, 2017

Stayed 4 nights while husband did business in Monterey. The Coachman's Inn is in the heart of the village making it walkable to shops, multiple restaurants, the beach, and the architecturally unique homes around the village. Stayed in Deluxe King on 2nd floor. Roomy, fireplace, shutters on the windows, two comfortable upholstered chairs. Couldn't ask for more. Small outside deck near our room was nice for reading, eating/drinking coffee, wine, etc.


Great Location

4.4 on August 20, 2017

The Coachman's Inn is conveniently located close to downtown but within walking distance of the Carmel mission and beautiful walking trails. The fresh breakfast and evening Hors d'oeuvres were exceptional.


Coachman's Inn is F A N T A S T I C

4.6 on August 07, 2017

We stayed in Carmel for 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Coachman. The wine and cheese Hors d'oeuvre were a particularly nice touch! Would definitely reccomend


Summer getaway

4.8 on August 05, 2017

Got away from the valley heat. Loved the location and the yummy wine and appetizer evening as well as breakfast. Great room comfy chairs and bed


Great for a long weekend getaway!

4.0 on August 02, 2017

We loved the knowledgeable staff who took the time to make great recommendations on local dining and wine tasting! The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day and the daily wine was a treat.


No ice cream in Carmel

2.8 on July 27, 2017

Over all our stay at Coachman Inn was nice. There was a couple of instances where the front office/hostess where it felt as if we were a bother to her. We arrived later and wanted to find a place to get ice cream. She told us there wasn't a place that had ice cream cones other then the small store. The next day when we were wondering around we happend upon the Carmel bakery and had a lovely ice cream while we walked the streets.


Great place to stay!

4.6 on July 26, 2017

The Coachman's Inn was a great place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. The food and the service were fabulous- far beyond what I had expected. Cannot wait to stay there again!


Loved our visit!

4.8 on July 22, 2017

We loved our visit and we will be back. You are right in the reach of anything you might want to do. The beach is a short walk and the most beautiful place to go. Karen the manager was so pleasant and giving of her time. The little meals they put out are better than we've ever been offered before. It's clean and the only little negative was the side we stayed on was a little noisy.


Wish we stayed longer

5 on July 20, 2017

My daughters and I traveled the coastline of California and only stayed at Coachman's Inn one night and truly wish we would have planned a longer stay but we managed to squeeze in a sunset, a great dinner at Demetra (truly a must but make a reservation) and of course a little shopping. Coachman's staff was delightful. I did peek in at the breakfast that was offered and it looked delicious but my daughters wanted to try a tea shop instead! Definitely would stay here again! and take advantage of all that is offered on site! The Mezz Girls


Great stay at the Coachman's Inn

4.4 on July 17, 2017

Our stay at the Coachman's Inn was fantastic. The breakfast and happy hour spreads were delicious and the service was outstanding. The location is perfect for all of your needs while staying in Carmel. I would absolutely stay here again.


Carmel Beauty

4.6 on July 08, 2017

Great location and a nice retreat.


Wife Birthday

3.4 on June 29, 2017

Great location close to all the locations we planned on visiting! Great staff, very accommodating.


Great place for a girls get-away!

4.8 on June 18, 2017

Good place for a mother daughters stay and great choices for breakfast, Staff was very friendly. Great memories made here!


Girls Daytrip - May

4.2 on May 18, 2017

Wonderful week day stay! Great room with beautiful finishes, refrigerator and in-room coffee. Small bathroom, but great for sharing girlfriends. Enjoyed the hot tub and sauna and appreciated the staff allowing us to use the facilities after 9PM. Great wine and cheese; and breakfast - would definitely recommend for couples and look forward to returning again very soon!


Great Inn

4.8 on May 17, 2017

Great location, service and food was wonderful! We will be back!


A perfect stay at Coachman's Inn

5 on May 16, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed three nights at Coachman's Inn. We found the room to be very clean and well appointed. The sheets were extremely soft and we enjoyed the in room fireplace, mini fridge and coffee maker. The best feature was the location. It is easy to walk to any restaurants, shops, or the beach in Carmel. And the breakfast and afternoon happy hour were delicious! I would highly recommend this quaint Inn.


Great place to tuck away and enjoy your relaxing vacation!

4.4 on May 14, 2017

Staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. Cute and relaxing room. Carpets were a little worn, but the manager is keenly interested in continually improving the inn. Great stay!


Girls Daytrip - May

4.6 on May 07, 2017

Wonderful/exceptional day trip - so kind that the day staff left the hot tub spa and sauna open after 9PM when we returned from dinner. Beautiful linens on the beds and wonderful staff. I would recommend Coachman's to anyone staying a day or a week in Carmel.


Very good value and generous, tasty meals

4.8 on April 16, 2017

Outstandingly clean, great position in town, excellent dining recommendations from front desk staff. Super breakfasts and welcome and generous afternoon snacks with wine. Decor traditional and bathroom traditional too. Excellent value. Rooms contained all the amenities I would expect.


Quaint and cozy

5 on April 09, 2017

We LOVED this little place! It's small and quaint, but very friendly, comfortable, and clean. The happy hour before dinner was really good. Parking was limited, but we arrived at check in (at around 3) and found parking, no problem. We kept our car there the whole time and walked around downtown for dinner and to the beach the next day.


Canucks - Our Carmel Stay.

4.0 on March 30, 2017

Spent two nights at the Coachman's Inn. Took a friends recommend on this Inn and we were not disappointed. Great location, much appreciated generous happy hour and fine breakfast with lots of selection. Only quibble is with parking arrangements. Many of the on site parking spots were very tight and can only accommodate smaller cars. On street parking is available after 7:00 p.m., but obviously not as convenient. Housekeeping and overall cleanliness very acceptable. Would certainly stay again and recommend to friends.


Great Location

4.4 on March 17, 2017

Room was much larger than expected. Very pleasant, quiet and clean. Breakfast in morning was very helpful and allowed for a quick start to the day. Really appreciated the onsite parking and the location which allowed us to walk very where in town.


Spring Break 2017

4.6 on March 14, 2017

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are nice and large. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious.


stay in the heart of Carmel by the sea

5 on March 11, 2017

The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The breakfast was very good, normally a hot entre and fruit, cereals toast and bagels. The happy hour food was very good as well and the wines served are enjoyable. The inn is in the center of town so you can park your car and walk to tasting rooms (one is right outside the front door) and restaurants. The inn has a parking lot as well, although it can get crowded.. Coachman's will be our home base the next time we go to Carmel. Well worth it


Coachman's Inn is a delight,.

4.6 on March 07, 2017

Very comfortable inn with great staff. The breakfasts and wine hour are delightful. Our neighbors had a bad habit of slamming their door but other than that, perfectly enjoyable.


Very Satisfied!

3.6 on February 28, 2017

Excellent location. Clean, spacious room with everything we needed. Quiet 3rd floor deluxe king. Bed was comfortable. Quaint gathering area. Adequate continental breakfast. No complaints. Would definitely stay here again.


cute hideaway in Carmel

4.6 on February 24, 2017

Enjoyed our stay at Coachman's Inn. We have stayed there before but now that 4 Sisters run it, the whole atmosphere is great. Loved it before, but really love it now. Our new favorite place!


Great stay

4.0 on February 18, 2017

Comfortable and homey. Really enjoyed carmel, everything was in walking distance and they also gave us some tasting coupons for the local spirits.


Great Location

3.2 on February 10, 2017

The room that we stay was on the first floor, A little bit noise and little bit dark. It is laking some warmth hath the room. They are trying to make as a Bed and Breakfast type, but it looks like more a hotel. Great location!! We could walk every where. Breakfast was good, and the snack in the afternoon was good too.


Lovely Stay in Carmel

4.4 on January 12, 2017

It was a rainy weekend, but the stay at Coachman's Inn was lovely. Great location, comfortable rooms, and included parking were all highlights of the stay. The breakfast was nothing special, but did the job fine.


Our favorite place

4.0 on January 05, 2017

Staff amazing & location perfect. Park your car and walk the entire town. Breakfast and afternoon wine & snacks are wonderful. Plus afternoon home baked cookies to top it off. We always return to the Coachman's Inn - it feels like home.


XMAS REVIEW

5 on December 29, 2016

LOVE THIS PLACE, EVERONE IS SO FRIENDLY. ITS SO CLEAN


Reliable and upscale with breakfast

4.6 on December 29, 2016

As a Four Sisters Inn, the Coachmens Inn does not disappoint. Breakfast was tasty and the coffee good enough to avoid a starbucks run. Our room was cozy and had a fireplace which was nice. We used the hottub and attended the complimentary hors d'oeuvres offerings both nights we stayed. It's located walking distance to everything in Carmel including several restaurants we can now recommend such as Little Napoli (gourmet pizza), Il Tegamino (reasonable upscale Italian), and Cultura (upscale Mexican).


A Little Bit of Heaven

4.0 on December 22, 2016

We loved the area and location! Everyone was helpful in providing suggestions on what to do and where to eat. I am a 4 Sisters fan and try to stay at one of their Inns wherever I am traveling!


Wonderful getaway

4.6 on December 05, 2016

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Coachman's Inn in mid November. Our room was cozy and very well maintained and I can not say enough about the gracious staff. Yafa was recommended by your staff and we had such a delightful dinner there. We will be back and have told many of our friends about your gracious Inn. Thank you


Sweet small, charming and darling in every way

4.8 on November 26, 2016

Lovely little Inn! Staff was warm and personable. I would suggest a room not on the street side but having said that the street noise was not a problem but it may be for some. The breakfast was very nice and the breakfast room charming!


Quaint Inn in the Heart of Carmel By the Sea

5 on November 25, 2016

We love this place. Friendly staff, awesome morning breakfast, and walkable to shops, dining, and beach.


Lovely Carmel !

4.0 on November 21, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the coachmans's inn. Easy to find, great location and rooms were very nice. We enjoyed the breakfast, afternoon baked goods and evening wine and cheese. We would not hesitate to come back!


Great place to stay, great location!

4.0 on November 03, 2016

Clean room and friendly helpful staff! Is in a great location close to everything!


Nice Stay

3.6 on September 30, 2016

This was my second stay at The Coachmans Inn. I last stayed here on my last visit to Carmel in 2010. I was then accompanied by my wife who sadly I lost last year. The Inn is nicely situated close to the centre of Carmel. This is handy as there is no restaurant at the Inn. I was welcomed to the Inn by it's staff. The disappointing aspects were the quality of the breakfasts and the daily Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. I found the breakfasts mainly comprised fruit. There was some cereals but scrambled egg only occurred once during my 3 night stay. There was no bread but only Bagels. I did not find the food very interesting! I only attended one wine & hors d'oeuvres occasions. As I was travelling on my own, I found other guests ignored me. They were couples or 4s. The room allocated to me was lovely & spacious. The ensuite was clean and the shower was always hot. I also liked the wifi availability too.


Great place to stay!

5 on September 27, 2016

We arrived late at the hotel and the manager had provided us with a way to get into our room with no problems. Our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the in-room coffee was delicious. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and plentiful. We really like the Coachman Inn!


Pleasant Stay

4.2 on September 26, 2016

Overall a very nice Inn in a great location with very nice rooms and friendly staff! The happy hour was very nice with well above average wine and food and the homemade cookies at 11 a.m. each day were a treat. My only complaint is being awakened by the garbage service which is out of the Inn's control. Would definitely recommend coming here!


Great location!

3.8 on August 17, 2016

Inn was very close to the downtown area and the beach/shore. Breakfast was a bit cramped and picked over when we got there (although when we left the buffet looked better).


Very classy! Above and beyond average Inn

5 on August 07, 2016

Beautiful and clean room. Nicely decorated with all the special touches. I would absolutely stay there again!


Wonderful stay at Coaghman's Inn

4.2 on July 15, 2016

convenient and friendly


Anniversary in Carmel

4.2 on July 05, 2016

Stay was very comfortable


Enjoyed our stay

3.6 on June 27, 2016

Enjoyed our stay. Able to walk to everything we needed.


Great Place in the heart of Carmel

4.8 on June 02, 2016

This was the perfect place to stay for a visit to Carmel. All great restaurants were within easy walking. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended


Like the Extras!

4.0 on May 19, 2016

We throughly enjoyed the room. It had enough space for friends to visit or we could have gone to one of the cute tables outside. The breakfast room was cozy and the food delicious - especially the fresh fruit!


Perfect

4.8 on April 28, 2016

This place is a treasure. Rooms were beautiful, large, and very quaint. Parking was easy. Very close to town. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. Cookies available all day in office. Happy hour wine and cheese was a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.


Wonderful place!

4.2 on April 26, 2016

Lovely place in great location. Was in Carmel for an event so didn't get to take advantage of the afternoon wine and snacks.


Great value, very nice people

4.6 on April 18, 2016

The staff and cleanliness of this hotel were great. The room furnishings are a bit dated but it was plenty large enough for us, traveling with our son. The bathroom was nicely appointed and roomy. There wasn't any onsite dining per se, but the wine and snacks in the evening were quite nice. I would definitely recommend this inn and return to it.


Great value & A+++ location

4.4 on April 18, 2016

Loved this is in the heart of downtown Carmel by the Sea. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Although this is more like a motel in look, we really enjoyed their hot breakfast. The rooms are just ok, but for the price it was perfect.


Visit in March

4.4 on April 04, 2016

Very pleased, we will be back.


Great stay!

4.8 on April 04, 2016

Mother/daughter trip up the coast...this was such a nice stay. Lovely rooms, killer location and plenty of free parking. The front desk staff were all great and the breakfast was wonderful.


Reliable spot

3.4 on March 30, 2016

We stay here frequently and it is reliable and well run. This last time we had noisy neighbors who dropped in late from a wine country run but that is the exception not the rule.


What a treasure!

4.2 on March 28, 2016

Great location and the perfect little touches to make this B&B one we will return to.


A Lovely Treat in the Heart of Carmel

3.6 on March 28, 2016

We booked a room at the last minute and saved 30%. That was our first surprise! When we arrived, we were greeted with a warm welcome and given details about the property and the city. Our room was clean and inviting. The wine and appetizers and breakfast the next morning were great ways to end and begin our day. The location of the property can't be beat! It is walking distance from everything in Carmel. We will definitely be back!


Coachman's Inn, Carmel

4.2 on February 22, 2016

Upon checkin, we asked for a quiet room and were immediately changed from a street-side room to a quieter spot by the very friendly attendant. The room was comfortable and spacious, with convenient microwave/refrigerator and charming fireplace. We appreciated the breakfast selections but felt a lack of variety, particularly in the area of tea (only basic black/green/peppermint) and fresh fruit (out of season melons were bland). In terms of teas, we recommend variety to include Earl Grey, spiced chai type teas, and herbs other than peppermint (such as hibiscus, rooibos, citrus, berry)


relaxing vacation

4.6 on February 20, 2016

Coachman Inn was a great find! Right in the heart of the town, we could park our car and go exploring. After a fantastic breakfast with lots of choices, we walked to the beach and the mission (wear good shoes and be ready for a hike up hill upon return) and then lunch in town and returned to the Inn in time for wine and cheese in the lobby. The staff and other guests were very friendly, the room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and clean, and the jetted tub was a luxury at the end of the day! I love that Carmel is a dog friendly town, even though we didn't have ours with us, it made for a friendlier, happier environment! Thank you for a fantastic anniversary get away! Definitely a place I'd like to visit again!


Alford/Montes

4.6 on February 17, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn and will certainly plan on coming back.


Carmel find

3.4 on February 03, 2016

Centrally located , easy access, loved the parking on site.


Quick trip to Cal with our time in Carmel!

5 on January 19, 2016

We started out in San Diego with friends for a couple of days. Then flew to San Jose and drove to Carmel. Wonderful drive to an absolutely charming small town feel kind of place. The B&B was great, breakfast was different every morning and an added bonus was the 5pm meet and greet with hors devours and wine. We met some wonderful new friends from down under and loved how close everything is to walk to. The room was really nice and the staff were an especially pleasant surprise with their helpfulness, happy attitude and tips for things to do. We will be back and WILL stay at the same place again.


Typical California Inn

4.2 on January 16, 2016

We spent two nights at the Coachmans Inn in Carmel. Early January, at the end of a road trip across California. Very friendly welcome, clean comfortable rooms if slightly old fashioned. Easy parking, good value for money, simple but more than adequate breakfast. Excellent location in center of this sleepy town. Wine and snacks at 5.00 pm were very much appreciated. WiFi was poor which is great if you want to talk, not so good if you are a sad geek!


Mom and daugjter time away from. Home

5 on January 06, 2016

Price was the key


A nice place to spend New Year's!

3.8 on January 04, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Coachman's Inn. The room was spacious and very clean. We liked the fireplace and coffee in the room.


Wonderful stay in Carmel.

3.8 on January 03, 2016

This hotel was very convenient to all of downtown Carmel. It was very nice to have a safe place to park our car and explore Carmel by foot.


Family Reunion

4.2 on December 27, 2015

We had three rooms for a pre-Christmas family reunion. We had a great 2-night stay. Breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres each night. Location was perfect too: right off the main drag and within walking distance to the beach.


Cozy Hotel with great amenities and common areas

4.0 on December 26, 2015

We had a great time at the coachman's- not only in our beautiful room but also hanging out in the cozy common areas during breakfast, wine reception and a rainy afternoon. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Pricewise, this is definitely in the splurge category (for us) but we absolutely enjoyed this rare treat!


Charming b&b

4.0 on December 05, 2015

Coachman's Inn is a very nice b&b. Our 4 day stay was nearly perfect except the poor wifi reception. But everything else was so good, we did not mind.


Convenient and Charming

4.6 on November 29, 2015

Loved our stay at The Coachman Inn! It's right in the center of town, walking distance from everything. Service was outstanding and the breakfast was quite tasty, including an egg dish each morning (quiche or a scramble) and a good variety of pastries. We had a room with a fire place which was a nice since the temperature was fairly cool at night. They do seem to run out of parking spaces but there is street parking on the same block.


Great Stay at Coachman's Inn

4.8 on November 28, 2015

Stopped her for one night - could not have been more pleased.


Great Place to Stay!

5 on November 23, 2015

The rooms were cozy and warm. Its in a great location too and breakfast and wine were just awesome


Great location and service

4.8 on November 22, 2015

This is our 2nd time here, very comfortable, great location and amazing service. Can't wait to have another visit


Charming place to Stay

4.2 on November 15, 2015

Spent two nights, very comfortable, clean, just like the photos. Very nice breakfast and Happy hour for wine and cheese. Located in the heart of Ocean drive, lots of shops and dining. Street side can be a little noisy depending on your room. Staff was excellent. We will return.


great location and very nice rooms

4.8 on November 10, 2015

this was our second time there, better than the first time. The rooms are comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Close to everythung, shooping, food, galeries.


A nice getaway

4.6 on November 02, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary and loved the room and proximity to everything


Super Location, Some nice extras

4.4 on November 02, 2015

We enjoyed our 3 day stay. With this location you are in the heart of Carmel, close to all that the town offers. You do get some road noises but that would be expected anywhere in mid town. The full breakfast and the afternoon wine, cheese and goodies does make for a pleasant stay.


Nice central Carmel location

4.4 on October 04, 2015

The location was wonderful, with many restaurants and other attractions within walking distance, Wonderful breakfasts, Only possible negative is hauling heavy luggage to a second floor room (no elevators and no bellmen). Nevertheless, worth pain and effort.


Accommodating staff

4.2 on September 30, 2015

We had a nice stay at the inn. Room was clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. There's a lack of outlets in the room. Be aware, if u have a street side room, there will be noise from passerbys. There is a very nice complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon. Breakfast is adequate; the quiche was especially good. The biggest downside is that there's not enough parking for all the guests so you may have to park on the street.


Weekend stay

4.4 on September 20, 2015

Fabulous Coachmans Inn! The room was one of the best we have stayed in! The staff are so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Wine and nibbles in the afternoon are a delight. Would definately stay again!


Coachmens Inn

3.2 on September 16, 2015

Quaint hotel rooms are standard but very clean staff was very friendly.


Pleasant in town stay

4.0 on August 19, 2015

Parking issue is a concern


Wedding weekend of a dear friend

5 on August 17, 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Coachman's Inn. Also loved the convenience of the location.


Pleasant stay

3.0 on August 12, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the inn. Loved the location. The dining room was under renovation and so not available to guests. Knowledge of this prior to making a reservation may have influenced our decision to stay there. The room rating would have been higher but internet connectivity was horrible. The staff worked hard to resolve the wifi issues, though.


Wonderful stay!

4.4 on August 05, 2015

Stayed at the Coachman's Inn while attending a family wedding. It was a wonderful stay. The rooms were spacious and welcoming. Even though there wasn't onsite dining, there are several restaurants in walking distance and one was recommended to us by the mange. It was delicious. We will definitely stay here on any future visits.


Great Location. Service & Breakfast Lacking

2.8 on July 29, 2015

The Inn's location could not be better. The desk clerk was great. The manager less so. When we complained about the heat being stuck on in summer we were told it was supposed to be that way. It ended up that the repair man was able to fix it. Breakfast did not meet 4 sisters standards and was in a bag hung on the door and best left there.


Very nice Inn in the heart of Carmel

4.2 on July 17, 2015

Very nice property and wonderful location. If you want a room with a fireplace besure to request that, I assumed all the rooms had fireplaces. That was my error. Property was very clean and beds were very nice!


Great Property

5 on May 26, 2015

This property is a great choice when in town. Front desk was extremely helpful, room was great and location is fabulous!


Quiet oasis in Carmel.

3.8 on May 24, 2015

Great locaton in Carmel. Would have rated it as outstanding but the survey would not allow me to do that.


Our Anniversary

3.6 on May 16, 2015

Overall experience very good and location was wonderful.


Great location, facility and staff

4.4 on May 07, 2015

Loved the room and the location...so close to everything we wanted to do in Carmel. The breakfast baskets were good, but the same every morning with a very small croissant and yogurt. We will be back though for the facility and the location! Nice room, very reasonable price and a fireplace. Very nice


Gem in Carmel

3.8 on April 21, 2015

We made our rez at the last minute and needed to bring our dog. The staff, and especially Betty, were helpful and friendly. The room was very large and extremely clean. We'll definitely go back!


Carmel stay

3.8 on April 13, 2015

The only problem was that the heater did not work, otherwise we had a great stay.


Good Hotel, not really a Band B

3.4 on April 07, 2015

The rooms were a very good size and we were very happy with the accommodations. I wouldn't go so far as to classify this place as a B and B though. The breakfast was very simple and there is no real communal places or meals. We enjoyed our stay though and would return.


Charming well located Inn.

4.6 on April 05, 2015

This Inn was perfect. Located in the middle of all the shops and restaurants. Comfortable rooms with lots of space and a fire place. Lots of outdoor seating areas. Great beds, bedding and pillows. We were very very happy.


Great place to stay, not to far from the beach or dining...

5 on April 02, 2015

Nice rooms, parking it limited but if you plan on walking it doesn't matter.


Birthday Weekend

5 on March 28, 2015

This was a great place for my first time visiting Carmel, had a wonderful time.


Review

3.4 on March 06, 2015

Lovely room, awful wifi. We enjoyed the light breakfast and the jacuzzi. Please upgrade your wifi (with a wifi booster) and your coffee (weak and tasteless). Otherwise, a very nice stay.


Spacious rooms and well located

3.6 on March 03, 2015

The Inn is well located, walking distance to many local interesting spots including restaurants. We spent only one night on our trip from San Francisco to San Diego via CA-1 and planned to leave quite early in the morning and skipped breakfast (it starts at 8am). The microwave in the room was quite handy as we bought our breakfast in a grocery and could have it in the room. We stayed in a room on the ground floor with the window opening to the street. It was quite noisy in the morning with cars and people walking and chatting. It was not a big deal as we woke up early, before the noise started. But if you plan to have lazy mornings, ask for a room away from the street. It was spacious and clean. The king size bed also comfortable. . Parking is apparently insufficient for all guests and employees. There was no available spaces when I arrived, but the lady from the front desk promptly took hers somewhere else so I could park. By the way, all the employees we had contact were very pleasant and kind. About the value, it was a bit expensive (I paid more here than in many 5-star hotels in major cities), but this is Carmel in the weekend before President's day, so it was to be expected and it met all my needs. A note: I reviewed "Onsite Dining" as "met expectations" because the system won't allow an empty answers nor provides a "not applicable" option. I didn't have any meals in my stay.


Location Location Location

3.8 on January 12, 2015

Nicely updated rooms at a very convenient location. We love that we can ditch our car and walk to dinner and shopping. The only complaint is that the walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbor snoring. But other than that it is a good hotel.


Noisy

2.4 on January 10, 2015

I you must stay here, make sure you get a top floor. We we're up all night because of people above our room! We would not stay here again.


Pre-Christmas Stay

3.4 on January 05, 2015

Rooms need more counter space, table was too small for a laptop and coffee maker so had to move coffee maker to dresser. Bathrooms need more space, put some shelves about towel racks and above light switches. Had to put toiletries on the floor and shift them around a lot as there was very little counter space. Breakfasts were good and so were afternoon cookies. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Women at desk were very helpful and friendly.


Great location

4.0 on January 04, 2015

This was the perfect location for our visit. Close to restaurants and shopping. Clean and spacious room. Friendly, helpful staff.


Quaint getaway and great location

4.2 on January 03, 2015

We've stayed at other Ocean Street or nearby hotels. This was a great find and above most of the others. Parking available. Nice breakfast delivered to room door. Very comfortable and clean. Loved it.


Our stay at the Coachman

4.6 on December 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time, will definitely stay there again. The location of the Coachman is great, and the staff was very friendly and welcoming.


Nice Comfortable Hotel (Not a B & B)

3.6 on November 19, 2014

Rooms are large, bright and comfortable. Staff is very nice. The morning continental breakfast delivered to your room is a nice touch. Hotel is located downtown and in easy walking distance to most everything in town. Great location for catching a show at the Sunset Center.


Coachmens Inn

3.2 on October 15, 2014

Very nice quaint hotel, but three person rooms are not made to accommodate three people. Could not watch Television, TV armoire was oversized with a small tv and was a waste of space, they should utilize the room and hand a tv on the wall like their other rooms. Bed posts were loose and dangerous if you touched them, Chair in room was a rocker and you would fall forward due to the style of the chair and was dangerous.


Coachman's Inn

4.8 on October 09, 2014

We stayed at the Coachman's Inn room 107 and it was fantastic. The room was very clean and the bed was really comfy. I loved the fireplace in the room, it made our stay very romantic, however it made the room really hot and without AC it got a little uncomfortable over time. The staff was very friendly and nice, overall it is a great place to stay in the middle of downtown!


Lovely, romantic getaway

3.4 on October 07, 2014

We enjoyed the Coachman's Inn. The room was spacious and very clean. The grounds were well tended with lovely flowering plants in pots throughout the area. The breakfast basket was a bit disappointing. We had limited choices for breakfast and the choices were the same all four days of our stay. The location was excellent-convenient to the beach, restaurants and shops.


Fine for one night

2.8 on October 03, 2014

The room was large and clean. The inn itself was within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and the beach. My only complaint is that the continental breakfast is offered too late.


Great Location

3.8 on September 29, 2014

Centrally located, friendly staff. Only thing I didn't like, rooms overlooking parking lot and floral bedspreads and room was dark. Great location though!


Great room, lame breakfast

3.8 on September 03, 2014

We were upgraded to a spacious room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace, both of which were awesome. After watching the sunset at the beach We went to the Italian deli up the street and brought back finger food which we had for dinner along with a bottle of wine. We slept wonderfully in the king bed. Breakfast was a bucket containing two croissants and a bottle of orange juice left on our doorstep. A little lame -- we would have been willing to walk downstairs for something a little more substantial. Other than that, it was a great experience and we hope to return.


Enjoyed Coachman's Inn

3.6 on September 02, 2014

We arrived early... several hours before check-in time of 3:00. We appreciated the on-site parking and the Inn's proximity to shops, restaurants and entertainment in Carmel-by-the-Sea. We stopped in at the front desk and were greeted warmly. We received information about several places where we might enjoy lunch and we were given a map of the area detailing shops, restaurants, etc. The young woman working the front desk offered to call us when our room was ready... she called just before 2:00 p.m. Our room was on the 3rd floor and nicely appointed (loved the Kuerig in the room). Bathroom was clean and updated... I'm very picky about bathrooms so this was important to me. The room was big enough for our needs though not as big as you would get in a newer chain hotel. The lovely old-world decorating of our room more than made up for the space difference. The bed was comfortable. I was a little concerned that there was no air conditioning but the outside temperature was cool at night and it was nice to sleep with the windows open. We didn't turn in our breakfast selections the night before as we were planning to hike the trails at Point Lobos in the morning so I can't comment on the food (This review form requires a rating of the dining experience. We didn't dine there so I just chose the middle rating). I would definitely recommend the Coachman's Inn.


Very Good

4.2 on August 29, 2014

Very Good


Very quaint B&B

3.2 on August 23, 2014

Carpeting needed to be redone and the continental breakfast was really below par, otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.


Stay in Carmel for 25th anniversary

5 on August 23, 2014

Clean, nice and centrally located in Carmel. A short walk to world class art studios, restaurants and shopping.


Stay at Coachman's Inn July 1-3, 2014

4.4 on July 18, 2014

We were delighted with the accomodations especially due to the fact that we requested a change of rooms after checking in. The staff was very courteous and accomodating.


Carmel getaway

3.2 on July 02, 2014

Escaping the heat of Sacramento for a few days and our expectations there were met. Loved not having to move our car during our visit as everything but the Mission was within walking distance. The room was large and clean but had no view to speak of as we were on the ground floor facing a street. Definitely not a boutique size. The continental breakfast wasn't really worth the bother. Loved the Keurig coffee maker. All other amenities were appreciated.


Nice Clean Rooms

4.8 on June 26, 2014

Room and grounds were very well maintained


recent stay

3.4 on June 26, 2014

Friendly welcome. Rooms a bit too floral for out taste but nevertheless clean and we'll maintained. Breakfast could have been a bit more extensive. And only could be served in bedroom. Reception staff lovely. Really helpful with directions and recommendations. certainly stay again.


Central area, decent rooms

4.2 on June 05, 2014

Not quite a homey Bed and Breakfast, but if you'd like to wine and done in Carmel it's in the perfect spot.


Coachman's Inn

Details

  • Nightly Rate $245 - $399
  • Reviews (130) 4.2
  • Rooms 30
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8316246421
  • Toll free 1-8003366421

Visit Website »

View details

Top check