Recent Reviews in Butler, Pennsylvania

November 2016 stay; Highly Recommend the Executive Suite at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on November 12, 2016

Executive Suite: - PLENTY of room, beautiful views, pleasant fireplace, PHENOMENAL bathroom, comfortable bed. - I would have chosen a different layout for the additional room, but it was nice to have (couch, roomy table, tv). - No problems with noise. Garden Suite room: - Palpably less impressive than the executive suite. - Bathroom feels like it is in an inexpensive hotel. - We heard EVERY SINGLE NOISE from the common area just outside the room. Unfortunately other guests chose to make loud noises (clanging dishes, running the microwave multiple times, having conversations...) from 4:45 to 5:30 AM each morning we were there which ruined our rest (not the owner's fault). Food: - I feel like they tried hard (good food choices, nice balance of sweet and savory), but we were disappointed to find flecks of what appeared to be Teflon (coating from pans) in each hot breakfast we had. The coffee was just ok. Juice and fresh fruit were lovely. By the last morning we chose to walk to Bruegger's Bagels. Premises: - The mansion is beautiful, interesting, and more impressive than any other B&B I've stayed at. Enough rooms to sit and relax without feeling cramped or "too public." Surrounding Area: - Excellent. We felt comfortable walking within at least 2 miles of the mansion. We enjoyed excellent shopping (clothes, gifts, jewelry, food markets, etc), restaurants, and drinks on Walnut street. Girasole has delicious Italian meals in a cozy and friendly setting. We felt completely comfortable walking through the beautiful neighborhood for exercise. Bottom Line: - My recommendation is to book the executive suite and enjoy the surrounding location on foot. I hope the staff will check their kitchen pans.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful historical property in Pittsburgh at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on September 22, 2016

Very much enjoyed our stay, will be returning.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.6 reviewed on September 11, 2016

A quick weekend getaway landed us here. Nice rooms, nice folks, beautiful wood work. But don't stay out late, or you'll have to sneak in thru the secret passage. Very interesting history lesson too

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely old house with delicious breakfast at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2016

Beautiful old mansion within walking distance of CMU and Shadyside.

View more reviews for this inn


Will come again! at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

We had a wonderful overnight stay in the most beautiful room with true most amazing bathroom. The hostess was very welcoming and kind. Breakfast was delicious. The area was perfect.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B&B in Pittsburgh at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on July 09, 2016

I was only able to stay one night, but loved this B&B. You can easily walk to dinner and Crystal is most helpful in giving restaurant suggestions. The mansion is stunning. Breakfast was ordinary, but certainly adequate. I hope to stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice night away at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.2 reviewed on June 16, 2016

Awesome bAthroom

View more reviews for this inn


Blissful Wedding Accommodations at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 15, 2016

Crystal was so accommodating to our late night check-in following our wedding reception - she was so excited to give us a tour of the mansion when we arrived! The morning was peaceful and sunny as we enjoyed our breakfast prepared for us downstairs and then sat with our coffee out on the back porch. We loved our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2016

I've stayed at the Mansion at Maple Heights on previous occasions and was pleased with my experience. Stay in the Keefer Room (#5), and was taken care of my the staff. The grounds are lovely and have a great combination of old world and modern amenities. Looking forward to my next trip to Pittsburgh!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend stay at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Friendly staff and great atmosphere!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful ! at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 22, 2016

Everything about the Mansion is spot on! We were greeted by Crystal , a host who is very warm and energetic. She gave a tour of the beautiful downstairs , including some history and showing us the prohibition area hidden cubbyholes. The rooms are exceptionally clean and modern, the bathrooms also (very key.) Breakfast was delicious : a nice full breakfast cooked to order by the owner himself. I have stayed in many B&Bs and hotels; the Mansion has soared to being my favorite! There was no dinner on site. Crystal gave us recommendations for the area

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay while exploring the city at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on April 12, 2016

While doing a college visit at a nearby campus, we found this jewel while doing some research. It's a lovely old house, and it's great to see an entrepreneur doing something with it. Breakfast was great, the rooms were clean, the staff friendly, and besides staying in a really cool old mansion, we were close to everything Pitt has to offer!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on April 10, 2016

Love the Mansion at Maple Heights! Beautiful and vintage looking but modernized and CLEAN! The people who work there are very nice. The breakfast took a loooong time to come out and was cold and not enough food, that's my only complaint! Thanks for a great stay! I would definitely come back!

View more reviews for this inn


Easter 2016 at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 01, 2016

Better pricing than the Hotels in the area. Such a beautiful place to stay, everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at The Mansio at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2016

Great historical facility with a view overlooking the area of Pittsburg. Friendly staff and gourmet breakfast selection. Make sure you get a tour of the Mansion and its history.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on March 02, 2016

We were very pleased with our stay here. The building is unusually beautiful with striking architectural features. Breakfast was yummy.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice and peaceful at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on February 26, 2016

Very nice large place. The room was huge as well as the bath. Employees are very attentive and did anything asked. With a little refining this place could be outstanding in every aspect.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing getaway at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2016

The suite was outstanding, especially the master bath. I highly recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Stay Over Winter Break at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on January 11, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Mansion. The rooms were tastefully decorated, clean and well maintained. The staff and owner were very accommodating. We will gladly stay again in the future. Thanks for the warm hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Stay at the Mansion at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

This must be at least my fourth stay at the Mansion and it doesn't disappoint. The room was comfortable and the breakfast is amazing. Shawn has added Chef duties to his managerial ones! They always take care of you here. Nothing is too much. And when I realized before turning in for the night I had really hurt my knee, their wonderful overnight manager bright me an icepack. It's a beautiful location and worth taking the time to enjoy the library. Looking forward to my next visit. Thank you! Susanne W

View more reviews for this inn


A return to Shadyside at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.0 reviewed on November 15, 2015

The room was lovely and comfortable except for the lack of chairs for two and a good reading light. This is really important for people who do not watch much TV but do enjoy reading in the evening. A chair is so much more comfortable than being propped up on the bed

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet idyllic oasis within easy walk of shops and transport at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.6 reviewed on October 18, 2015

Stayed 2 nights and found The Mansion to be quiet and comfortable with delicious healthy breakfasts personally prepared by Mr Okobi, the Owner. Loved the minimalist approach to furnishing the foyer and stairways which emphasised the innate beauty and character of the building itself. The Mansion is a short walk away from the restaurants on Walnut St. We dined at the Mexican and Peruvian restaurants and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Car parking available on site which takes away a lot of the stress when visiting a big city for the first time. All in all a great place to stay! Cheers Tim and Helen

View more reviews for this inn


Nice room, average service at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.2 reviewed on August 30, 2015

The rooms were really nice. We couldn't control the air conditoning on our own which was a little frustrating. The bed was extremely soft which gave me back pain the next day. We told the inn keeper that we wouldn't be at breakfast because we had to leave at 630am and he guaranteed us that was no problem and his cook would wake up early to feed us. We sat downstairs in the dining room from 6-630am and no one ever showed up. When I contacted him to say we were leaving, I received a response. Very unprofessional.

View more reviews for this inn


Country in the city at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

2.8 reviewed on August 08, 2015

This b&b has nice grounds and is beautiful. The room had snacks in it (chips, candy, water) but my wife was a little put off by the condom & personal lubricant package next to the snacks. We don't think of the mansion as a one night stand place but whatever. Breakfast was cool because it was made to order but the cook greeted us and gave our menu options while chomping on bacon or something himself. Overall, it was nice because it was close to the city and lots of attractions and was beautiful. It just wasn't what we expected based on our previous experiences at b&bs and that's not necessarily a negative thing. I think it's more for younger couples as I couldn't see my parents or in laws enjoying themselves there.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Staff at a wonderful mansion in a great secluded part of Shadyside at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on May 18, 2015

I took my wife here for our anniversary. I stopped by earlier in the day to make sure everything was OK. Nicole, the event coordinator, took the time to show me around the entire place even though I showed up unannounced. They even got flowers and chocolates to the room on short notice. Throughout our stay, Nicole and Shawn gave us wonderful recommendations and attention. The owner was also extremely attentive throughout our stay. The room was clean and spacious (Executive Suite). The bathroom was fantastic. Every staff member we met took the time to listen and take care of our needs, even when I had a late night salt craving. We will definitely be coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


No Coffee and "Breakfast Delayed" Second Morning at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2015

After reading all the excellent reviews and spending our first day at The Mansion and everything seemed just about perfect we were surprised to find no coffee the second morning (our anniversary by the way) and no one about. An hour later still no coffee and no one about so we packed and I called the number we were given to learn the owner ... our chef ... had an accident and needed to go to the hospital but he declined my offer to take him. Okay,we found an alternative nearby ... Pamela's ... and it was excellent but it cost $25. This is a superb b&b and the managers were excellent but it was not the experience I expected from the reviews I read. I rated everything "5" but there were other deficiencies not found in other top rated b&b's we have visited. We also did not receive the Senior Discount we learned about AFTER we arrived so yes, we feel short changed.

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday Getaway at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 18, 2015

My husband and I took a local mini-vacation to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed the Mansion At Maple Heights. It was beautiful, the breakfast was delicious, and the people were delightful. Thank you for a special day.

View more reviews for this inn


A Gem In Butler at Locust Brook Lodge (Butler, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2015

What a nice Bed and Breakfast located in beautiful Butler PA. Carol is an amazing host to my company and associates. The property is well cared for. Will recommend for many years to come.

View more reviews for this inn


Short getaway at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2015

A friend and I stayed at The Mansion for a short getaway. I found it on line while searching for a place to stay. After considering several hotels we decided to do something different, and we were VERY happy with our choice! The Mansion was less expensive than some of the hotels we looked at. It is located in a great area within walking distance of many shops and restaurants but its just a few minute's drive from downtown. Very safe feeling as well. Our room was great and had a private bathroom as do all the rooms (not typical for all B & B's). Shawn the Manager was extremely helpful and accommodating to whatever we needed. Chuck, the owner, was the same. Breakfast was wonderful and they offered more than we could possibly want. It doesn't have the "busy" feel and activity of a hotel so if that's what you're looking for it may not be for you. But if you're looking for a quiet, convenient, and beautiful place to stay...you should really give it a try!

View more reviews for this inn


First Time Here at The Mansion at Maple Heights (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 02, 2015

Someone that I work with told me about this place so I gave it a try. Everything went very well I will come back for sure. The place is very clean, and easy to get to. The breakfast was amazing and everything went very smooth.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Locust Brook Lodge (4.42)
  2. The Mansion at Maple Heights (4.18)
Top
}