Recent Reviews in Butler, Pennsylvania

Pittsburgh Perfect at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2016

First time in Pittsburgh - perfect location; lots of information; accomodates special dietary needs if asked in advance; plus lots of fun playing with the dogs. Ed thought of everything!

View more reviews for this inn


Paradise at the Parador at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 23, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Parador Inn! We stayed in the Allamanda room which was significantly larger than expected! The innkeeper, Ed, we very helpful. And we loved his two very well behaved black labs. And the location was very convenient to get to great local and waterfront dining. We will definitely stay there again during our next trip to Pittsburgh!

View more reviews for this inn


Gem of a Victorian Bed and Breakfast on Pittsburgh North Shore at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 12, 2016

Owner Ed Menzer has lovingly restored this Victorian mansion with a Caribbean accent. This is a beautiful property well maintained and comfortable. A lot of thought has gone into making the guests feel at home - little touches like bedside flashlights, complimentary robes, nightlights, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, printed directions for HD TV, fresh flowers in an empty bottle of Jamaica ginger beer will make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Plus Ed and his staff, "Dee", will make you feel welcome. Their home-cooked breakfasts are a culinary delight. Even the two resident Labrador Retrievers do all they can to make you feel welcome and at home! We are locals who wanted to experience aspects of the North Side that we had never experienced before. Highly recommended!.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2016

Great time for a weekend getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful little Inn in Pittsburgh at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on March 02, 2016

The Parador Inn is an exceptional place to stay if you're ever staying in Pittsburgh. Ed and his beautiful black labs are as friendly and inviting as the beautiful establishment itself. Our stay was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 17, 2016

Ed's customer service is second to none. The baked oatmeal and caramel french toast was soooooooooooooooooooooo awesome! This was our second trip staying there and many more to come.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and peaceful at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on February 15, 2016

I booked the African room and it was very roomy with a King size bed and a gas fireplace in front of the bed. Made the room nice and warm. Nice little sitting area near a window ledge you can sit on and look outside! Very tall ceilings that added to the enjoyment. Loved the main common room downstairs that you can sit in front of another fireplace and have a glass of whisky. Or sit in the library and play a board game. A great escape to the tropics in winter with the tropical decor. GREAT restaurants just a block away. Nickys Thai food is a great spot! Ed will offer a discount to another restaurant within walking distance. Stay here you will be surprised.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Get-a-Way at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2016

The Parador is an amazing structure, The details in the design were beautiful. Breakfast was enjoyable and delicious. We will tell our friends about our stay and we hope we can visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Parador Inn January 206 at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on January 14, 2016

We have been to many B&Bs. This is our top 5. The history, the ambience and the amenities make it first rate.

View more reviews for this inn


Never staying anywhere else in Pittsburgh at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 06, 2016

Ed, RJ, and Razette were the best hosts. I felt like I was home the whole time I was there. Breakfast was unbelievable, Ed is an amazing cook. He was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in suggesting things to do and see. Playing with RJ and Razette was definitely a highlight. I could go on and on. I can't wait to go back. Anytime I plan a trip to Pittsburgh, The Parador will be my first choice for a place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


The Parador Inn at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2016

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Parador Inn, Pittsburgh, PA. Would definitely go again. The Parador was very clean and the morning breakfast was outstanding. Ed was very informative of the area and gave us great advice on places to eat and see.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend stay at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on December 14, 2015

Very nice place. Staff are friendly and room was nice. Definitely will stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming Victorian/Caribbean B and B in a very convenient Pittsburgh neighborhood at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 14, 2015

This is a charming, spacious, old Victorian house with a Caribbean overlay in a neighborhood of Pittsburgh that's convenient to all the wonders of that wonderful city. The owner/chef is knowledgeable and engaging without being intrusive. The breakfast was fantastic. We would return in a heartbeat.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay! at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on December 13, 2015

Perfect location, accessible to everything in Pittsburg, comfortable and a lovely place to come back to after a long day.

View more reviews for this inn


Parador is eclectic at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.2 reviewed on November 16, 2015

This Victorian B&B is a "Caribbean" styled inn. It's clean but chilly with understanding it is a big place. It does have gas fireplaces to warm up your room. Our room was changed from the one we reserved which was fine. We stayed in the Victorian, Caribbean-African themed room hence the title. The breakfast was good but not outstanding. Very small TV in room. Location was good. Overall was satisfied.

View more reviews for this inn


home away fom home. at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 19, 2015

I alwaya stay there. It is like a home away from home. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. There are also alot of things to do in walking distance of the Inn. I recommen it everone.to

View more reviews for this inn


A very pleasant stay in Pittsburgh at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2015

The Parador Inn is located in a wonderful neighborhood within easy walking distance of the North Shore and stadiums. Ed is a great host, happy to give advice and tips on places to go, things to do, and ways to get around the city. Breakfast was delicious and the rooms were very clean and decorated with a fun, quirky feel. The best part might be the great value! The Parador was literally half the cost of the downtown hotels when you factor in the parking fees those places charge. I saved hundreds of dollars and still stayed in a great location, experienced much more personal service, and enjoyed a home-cooked breakfast. If I'm ever in Pittsburgh again, I would love to stay at the Parador. Thanks for the great experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Our 3 night stay at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on October 11, 2015

The Inn is the most beautiful bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at. It is down town and walking distance from both ball fields and the National Aviary, which is a must see. The lower levels of the Inn are sound proof, but the rooms are a bit noisy, which is to be expected on a busy centrally located hotel. All breakfast meals were imaginative, good and filling and served with efficiency. Ed is nice but very business like, but will answer any questions you have to the best of his ability. The Bird of Paradise room can use a new shower head and being on the second floor was noisier than our friends' one story up. which is the largest in the hotel. We had 2 of the 3 rooms with king beds. We will definitely return to this inn the next time we are in Pittsburgh, but would try the other king room, which was already booked when we made our reservation. The back porch and grounds are beautiful and that is where you will meet his 2 friendly and beautiful black labs. They are not permitted in the main house, so you will dine unmolested. The back porch is a great place for a glass of wine. Ed had a bottle of port in one of the salons when we were there, but I don't know if this is always the case By all means, try to see the interior of the of the Methodist church across the street from the Inn. It has beautiful 3-D Tiffany stained glass which cannot be fully appreciated from the outside. We had a wonderful stay at the Parador Inn in spite of its few drawbacks and highly recommend that you stay there.

View more reviews for this inn


Our 3 night stay at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

3.6 reviewed on October 01, 2015

The Inn is the most beautiful bed and breakfast we've stayed in and those are many. The breakfasts were abundant, delicious and showed imagination. The rooms were spotless. We gave the service a small downgrade because Ed is not the warmest of innkeepers though he served breakfast very competently. His check in was kind of business like, and maybe it should be, but it is not what we are used to. When we left he did not come over to thank us for staying and to say he hoped we enjoyed our stay. He just waved from the distance. We believe there are 3 rooms with king beds. Our friends and we had 2 of them. Ours was the Bird of Paradise. Do not take that room. The shower head was horrible and the tub is old and nostalgic but difficult to get into. Although the Inn is soundproof downstairs our room was not and was noisy throughout the night. Our friends stayed in the largest room at the Inn, They did not complain about noise although they were on the third floor. Their room was a huge suite, perhaps 1500 square feet, though you can check this on the site. There bathroom was more modern and they did not seem to have any complaints. I think it was called the Lady Palm. The outside yard and porch are absolutely beautiful and it is here where you will meet his 2 beautiful black labs who couldn't be more friendly. They are kept away from guests in the main building. It is hard to believe you are in downtown Pittsburgh with this beautiful setting. Ed's coolness did not offend me although it did annoy the other 3 people in our party. His room cleaner and breakfast helper Dee was great at her job and catered to any request. The house is in a busy commercial area but we walked around the neighborhood day and night and never felt uncomfortable. Do not miss the interior of the Methodist Church across the street from the Inn. The stained glass is by Tiffany and is 3 dimensional.Pittsburg is a clean, beautiful city with much more than a 3 day stay can cover.

View more reviews for this inn


Terrible experience at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

1.6 reviewed on September 23, 2015

If you are looking for a positive B&B experience, this is not the place.....if you are looking for a cheap place to stay, then maybe this is for you. Having stayed in quite a few B&B's, it is the inn keepers job to make you feel welcome and at home.....that while you are there, that this is your home away from home.....well Ed the owner does none of that. The moment that we arrived, he makes you feel that you are imposing on him.....not once does he provide you with a welcoming smile. After he provides you with a list of roadblocks to your stay.....he then gives you the EXACT times that you can have his breakfast.....as long as he has room for you. One morning we asked for 9:00 am and he told us NO......we ended up eating out both morning because he could not accommodate us. I do not know about you, but when I am away I don't live on a schedule. You better only be hungry on the hour! The rooms were below average.....I ended up with 1 foot of water in my shower on the first night....I guess if you like to take a bath while you shower, you would be happy. Ed has two great dogs, but would it be too much to ask to pick up after them? As we walked his gardens one morning, we had to step around the many piles of dog crap.....I felt I was walking among land mines. The one bright spot in the entire place was Dee.....one welcoming face in the entire place. Ed should sell to her. Please do not take my word for any of this, please real his blog on his website.....there you will read first hand on just how miserable he really is.....he uses the blog to complain about both his guests and being an inn keeper. He will complain that he has too serve too many breakfasts, that he is charging way too little money, that guests change their reservations, that he does not want groups or that he wants few people in each room.

View more reviews for this inn


Parador Inn at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2015

We very much enjoyed our four night stay at the Parador Inn. Lovely restored mansion, great location, enjoyable breakfast, fun staff and wonderful dogs to greet you.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Victorian Caribbean guest house at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on September 09, 2015

Stayed at the Parador to visit our son at College. Wonderful atmosphere in late 19th century style mixed with Caribbean style artifacts. Highly personal flavour. Efficient and friendly service. Fantastic breakfasts including good company as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Could not ask for better! at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2015

This beautiful place is in walking distance to Heinz Field,mass transit, and many parks and waterfront areas was the perfect spot to stay! The entire place was spotless, the staff offered many ideas of local interests and activities. Breakfast was great both days with accommodations being made for a vegan diet for one of our party. The Parador has a very relaxing atmosphere, with Caribbean music and decorations. This was our party's second stay, and when in Pittsburgh again, reservations we shall make.

View more reviews for this inn


A Hidden Gem in Pittsburgh's Northside at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on June 10, 2015

From the moment my husband and I arrived at the Parador to celebrate our anniversary, we felt welcomed by the staff and entranced by the environment. Ty was knowledgeable about both the hotel's period decor, like the stunning chandeliers in the main rooms, and local services, connecting us to Uber when we needed a ride. Little surprises hid around every corner, from the steel drum, complete with sheet music for the novice, in the library, to an airy sunroom full of greenery, to funky period hats hung around the entryway mirror (which of course we tried on). The room itself was huge, thoughtfully decorated, and full of homey touches, from full-length bathrobes to a roomy reading perch. Breakfast blew away our expectations, with "yogurt" actually being a delicate fruit and parfait served in a delicate glass dish, and a hot breakfast of filling french toast and bacon. Our only regret is that we had to work the next day and didn't have more time to explore and linger in the surroundings! A true gem and great value; the Parador is not to be missed!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Home at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2015

I thought the home was beautiful, the outside courtyard reminded me of the south and was nice, the food was wonderful and the location is fantastic for the north shore area events and attractions. It was a very short walk to Heinz Field and the train. Good deal compared to the hotels. I will stay again for sure.

View more reviews for this inn


AN EXTRAORDINARY EXPERIENCE at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2015

..and i actually mean extra-extraordinary. a museum, a work of art, a lovingly restored and maintained labor of love...i could gush for days. playful Caribbean/African touches balance the brooding weight of massive Gothic furnishings. fun, helpful staff with a great knowledge of every object in the place. fantastic breakfast, too. if you want a bland, IKEA-filled room for the night...don't bother. if you want a stimulating, architectural, historical experience...this is the place. A++++++

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely wonderful! Looking forward to going back! at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 12, 2015

We stayed with a group of friends on Pittsburgh Marathon Race weekend. Ed and staff are warm and friendly. They were so helpful in guiding us to restaurants, transportation, etc. And they were on the porch cheering us on as we passed the inn during the race. Add the fact that the location is convenient to everything we wanted to do. And Ed's breakfasts are divine. We are looking for a reason to go back soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Pittsburgh B&B at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on May 06, 2015

This B&B was beautiful...and different. We've stayed at about a dozen different B&B's both in the US and Canada and this one ranks up there with the quality of rooms, decor, service, and value. The breakfast itself was good, and better than we expected coming to Pittsburgh, but definitely does not make it up there with our top picks for dining experiences.

View more reviews for this inn


na at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on May 05, 2015

Excellent.

View more reviews for this inn


D'yer Maker at The Parador Inn (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on May 02, 2015

Great place for a Jamaican-themed stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Parador Inn (4.57)
  2. Locust Brook Lodge (4.42)
Top
check }