Recent Reviews in Buffalo, New York

Lovely Stay at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

5 reviewed on March 22, 2018

Had a wonderful time. We were made to feel at home and the breakfast was delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


The best of the best! at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

5 reviewed on October 05, 2017

Every aspect of this B & B is perfection. Terrific neighborhood location, attentive hostess, welcoming and funky interior with unbelievable attention to detail. An updated Victorian with all the modern conveniences without loss of character. Delicious breakfast options. Nothing has been overlooked. Convenient location to the Elmwood district. Do yourself a favor and stay!

View more reviews for this inn


A delightful Great Escape at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

4.0 reviewed on September 30, 2016

My friend and I were not sure what to expect when we arrived at the Inn, other than it looked interesting from what we had seen on the net. We were in for a real treat! The inn was wonderfully restored, the artwork was impressive, and Karen added so much to our experience of Buffalo! Her suggestions were helpful and aligned with our plans. She took a real interest in our activities without being intrusive. We look forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt right at home at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

3.2 reviewed on September 09, 2015

Thanks to Denise and Karl Takacs, my son and my visit to the Niagara Falls/Buffalo region was thoroughly enjoyable without breaking the bank. Oma's Guest House is very reasonably priced and a reflection of Denise and Karl's generous graciousness as hosts, who know how to take care of guests. Quiet, cozy, and low-key, Oma's Guest House was perfect for my son and I to feel rested and ready for the next day of activities from August 16-21, 2015.

View more reviews for this inn


Basis for a lovely weekend at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

4.2 reviewed on July 20, 2014

Beautiful place, great location, knowledgeable and helpful proprietor

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect B&B at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on June 13, 2014

I have been with my parents on a trip to Niagara Falls and we spontaneously decided to stop at Buffalo. During dinner at about 9pm I called Oma's guest haus and we got rooms for that evening without problem. When we arrived we were positively surprised by the friendliness of the owners, the rooms, and the hot tub!! We had a great night and perfect bacon and eggs breakfast in the morning! We will stay for some more days and I can highly recommend Oma's guest Haus to everyone who wants to spend some days close to Buffalo or the Niagara Falls!!

View more reviews for this inn


Not for everyone but PERFECT for my family! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on January 06, 2014

We happened upon Omas Guest Haus by accident and I am glad we did. My husband and I love Bed and Breakfasts' but we have a lot of tattoos which the average person that stays at B&B's really frown upon....but not here! Carl and Denise are so open and welcoming they really make you feel at home. You have to remember this is a regular house that a family lives in that has opened their home to you as a guest....that is why we loved it so much. Our 6 yr old LOVED Carl, Carl took him out to feed the fish in his pond and our son chose to sit with Carl, Denise and their son in the family room to watch TV together and play with their dog...it was like visiting friends or really cool family. We will stay here over and over. We all can't wait to go back BUUUUUT if you are looking for a traditional country like B&B this is not for you....if you are looking for a safe, fun place to stay with an awesome hot tub and tiki bar with warm hosts that make a KILLER breakfast then stay here, you won't be disappointed if you keep an open mind.

View more reviews for this inn


Where to stay in Buffalo! at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

4.4 reviewed on August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Elmwood Inn last fall, and it was a perfect weekend getaway. Karen, the owner, is a consummate guide to the city's restaurants and cultural offerings, and goes out of her way to make your stay a wonderful experience. The neighborhood is charming, the rooms are elegant and the breakfast generous and delicious. As soon as we left I immediately starting planning my next excuse to go to Buffalo!

View more reviews for this inn


What an awesome find. at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on July 24, 2013

Happened upon this B&B during Taste of Buffalo when every hotel was booked or rates were doubled and tripled. We were desperate since we had Bison tickets. We are so happy we found this site and will never stay in a hotel in Buffalo again. Well worth the value. Couldn't rate dining since we didn't eat, but it sure smelled great. It is so close to everything in Buffalo. Our hosts were the ultimate hosts. Even the dog is accommodating and friendly! Will def. be down for a Bills game.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Inn at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2013

Lovely stay, highly recommend this B&B. The Inn is comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had the room with the private bath across the hall. The Inn is quiet, clean, and tastefully decorated. Thank you, Karen, for the hospitality!

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely experience at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on June 06, 2013

Our visit to Buffalo wouldn't have been so awesome if it wasn't for our lovely hosts Carl and Denise! They made us feel at home and helped to make our stay more fun and easy every chance they got. It was my first visit to the USA and I had just come to Buffalo from New York City. Denise helped us navigate the Buffalo public transport since we didn't bring a car. Spent three nights and four days at Oma's Guest House. The house had a personality of its own. The decorations were very creative. We got a twin room. It was really comfortable, clean and cosy. I hope to visit Buffalo again soon and stay at Oma's Guest Haus.

View more reviews for this inn


Oma's Guest Haus! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2013

Totally the best bed and breakfast ever! Karl and Denise were just fantastic, absolutely lovely people. It's so interesting how a person's true self just shines through immediately, and I felt at home right off the bat because I could tell how genuinely kind the two hosts are. This bed and breakfast has very spacious rooms, a very warm atmosphere, and very kind hosts. If I am ever in the area again I will stay with them, and you should too!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to stay when in Buffalo at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and it was like being Home away from home Karl and Denise are some of the nicest hosts you could ask for the minute you walk in the door they make you feel right at home. Breakfasts were great way to wake up and start your day and the Hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of an evening, the beds were comfortable and the rooms are big and clean . you couldn't ask for a more convenient location for getting around south Buffalo all this for way less than you can stay in a hotel around Buffalo. This is where I plan on staying anytime I return to Buffalo!

View more reviews for this inn


a great place to stay! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on October 01, 2012

loved the little details like the Hallowe'en decor, Tiki Bar, hot tub, blues artists pics and more - thanks for a great night - hope to come again D and D

View more reviews for this inn


Not a long enough stay! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on September 10, 2012

Karl and Denise are both fantastic. Everything they did made us feel so welcome in their home. We were visiting Buffalo for only one night and this was beyond perfect. Room was accomadating to our needs, morning breakfast was homemade bacon and eggs, yum! Wish we could've stayed longer to relax in the hot tub and outside on the patio/bar area. We will defintly be staying again! Thanks for your great hospitality, Sean and I will be recommending Oma's to all we know!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful!!! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Oma's. Karl and Denise are fantastic and the place is cute and a bit funky in the most adorable way. I felt totally at home and a part of the family. They went out of their way for me and were totally fantastic. Breakfast cooked to order daily, inexpensive cost for a stocked fridge full of drinks, warm and inviting ambiance. Next time I will use the hot tub!! Thanks Denise and Karl - it was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent value at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on August 16, 2012

Girlfriend and I were looking for something affordable while in the area - we stayed 2 nights and feel it was well worth the money :) Karl, Denise and son made us feel like family. Would definitely stay with them again :D

View more reviews for this inn


Gemuetlichkeit at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

3.4 reviewed on July 20, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at Oma's Guest Haus. The Takacs family made us feel at home. We really enjoyed the "Gemuetlichkeit".

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastc!! Wonderful trip!! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on July 17, 2012

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Oma's Guest Haus while we were visiting friends in Buffalo for the annual Waldfest Festival July 15, 2012. Karl and Denise immediately make you feel welcome ( as does the rest of the family:) ) They have fantastic "Rain Shower" heads in the showers which makes a body feel great after a LONG day.... There is a hot tub and a great little Tiki Bar in the back to keep the party going! Breakfast was served from 7a-9a which included eggs, toast, bacon, french toast, fresh fruit, coffee, and tea. They are truly respectful of all their guests and wonderfully warm hosts! The decor is wonderful with pictures of the fun they have had through the years and you can't help but feel embraced in their enthusiasm for life!!! Thank you Karl and Denise for your warm hospitality and we hope to return to see you again!! Jersey Bob and Danielle

View more reviews for this inn


A great find! Nestled near Buffalo NY and the Beach... at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on June 30, 2012

My husband, teenage son and I traveled to Buffalo NY for 3 days of seminars and stayed at Oma's Guest Haus in Woodlawn NY for 2 nights and would have stayed the 3rd if available. Karl and Denise were wonderful hosts. Our son spent some time with their son hanging out and watching TV in the family room. They graciously accepted the B&B.com gift card my sister had given us. Note: If you have one, mention it ahead of time and give to them right away so they can get it verified & processed during B&B.com customer service business hours. Woodlawn Beach State Park was a nice hike down the main road one evening with a gorgeous sunset. There are several small places to eat nearby. Karl cooked us up nice breakfasts in plenty of time for us to get on the road both mornings. The drive from their door to Adam's Mark Hotel was about 10 minutes and very simple using Route 5. Weekday heavy traffic but moved along well. The Guest Haus has nice places to sit indoors and outdoors to relax and unwind. Take your pick! Our hosts made us feel very welcome. Although it was hot and a little humid during our stay, our upstairs bedroom had a nice window A/C unit that kept us very comfortable. Everything we needed, and a super value too.

View more reviews for this inn


as good as it gets at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on October 06, 2011

My wife and i stayed at Oma's on Sept 17. Karl & Denise made us feel like family. We loved our room, couldn't get enough of the hot tub and always felt totally at ease in their home. We would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend their bed and breakfast. Al and Donna Simpson of Nova Scotia

View more reviews for this inn


Extra Features at a Bargain Price at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on September 25, 2011

Five stars for rooms and service for the WiFi, hot tub and drink supply. The hot tub is at the back of the house, has good privacy and a liberal dress code. It isi open 24 hours a day. There is a supply of swim suits that people can borrow if they want to. The refrigerator contains a well varied assortment of bubbly drinks and water for a reasonable price. Breakfast consisted of bacon, eggs and toast with coffee and orange juice. Two upstairs bathrooms are shared by four or five rooms. The hall is short so you are close to the bathroom. We were the only guests the night we were there so we ended up sharing with nobody.

View more reviews for this inn


Had an amazing wknd at Oma's at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on September 20, 2011

Karl and Denise were very friendly and welcoming, loved the dog and turtle. The hot tub was amazing, with the music setup. Karl's tiki bar was too cool, wish we had an extra day to sit and drink margaritas with them! My only complaint was the twin beds were kinda noisy :-x but I would still go back to Oma's anytime I am in the Buffalo/Niagara falls area! The stay was definitely a good one! Thank you Karl and Denise!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

5 reviewed on September 18, 2011

After travelling from one side of the USA to the other, Oma's Guest Haus truely was a home away from home. And for a travelling Kiwi and Aussie this was no mean feat. Its not a matter of if I return for a second stay but rather when. Karl and Denise are definately the hosts with the most. LOVE LOVE LOVE them!!!!!! Lissa 'Kiwi' Brown!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B!!! at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2011

My friend and I stayed there June 2011 and it was fantastic! It was the first time I've ever been at a B&B and will certainly not be the last at this place! Denise & Karl go above and beyond to make your stay completely comfortable and make you feel so at home. I felt like I was at a favorite relative's house that I didn't want to leave. And with the breakfast they prepare, you definitely leave with a full stomach. I will certainly look them up again and hopefully stay a little longer this time!

View more reviews for this inn


Elmwood Village Inn: Underrated Gem in Buffalo at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

4.8 reviewed on August 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three days in early August and will definitely return. Beautiful Victorian style home, quiet and comfortable even though the inn is in the heart of the vibrant Elmwood Village area ... a definite plus! Step out the front door and explore the dozens of shops and restaurants in the area. Super clean room, cozy and exceptionally comfortable. Enjoyed the continental breakfast available each morning and the outside deck overlooking Elmwood Avenue. Rates are actually more affordable than any hotel in the area. Karen is a friendly and gracious host and can offer insider tips about the Buffalo area if needed. Truly enjoyed the city and most of all the Elmwood Village Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Oma's Haus of the "Blues" at Oma's Guest Haus (Woodlawn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on June 13, 2011

Oma's... A great place to stay.. and the "best kept home of the blues" secret. Karl and Denise are blues fans and often host many of best blues players and singers.. While there check out the wall of memorabilia and photos in the dining room. Good place to stay. Nice folks. Easy to get along with..

View more reviews for this inn


Highly recommend - Will return in the future at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

3.6 reviewed on March 30, 2011

Our visit to Buffalo was made all the more enjoyable by Karen Powell (the owner) whose engaging personality, wit and friendliness and, not least, her terrific home baked muffins were very much appreciated. A quiet and cozy place to stay. Plus, the dining and living room area are well-suited to mingling with other guests and Karen's extended family should that be to your liking. You will surely enjoy your stay at Honu House.

View more reviews for this inn


World Junior Hockey in Buffalo at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

5 reviewed on January 13, 2011

My husband and I were in Buffalo recently to attend the World Junior Hockey games and our stay at a local bed and breakfast proved to be one of the best parts of that holiday. Upon our arrival at this home, we were delighted with the charm and decor of the place and the fact that we were fortunate to stay on the third floor. Karen Powell, the warm and friendly inn keeper, together with her daughter and son-in-law proved to be the perfect hosts. Breakfasts were the best - each morning we were treated to freshly baked goods and coffee together with wonderful conversation with Karen, her family and other guests staying at the house. The location was central to Elmwood Village and we especially liked walking to the local shops, pubs, and restaurants. Karen and family were very helpful in directing us to shopping, points of interest in Buffalo, and making dinner reservations. Thanks a bunch for making our stay so enjoyable and we will come again.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving in Buffalo at The Elmwood Village Inn:Honu House (Buffalo, New York)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2010

Had a wonderful stay in Buffalo over Thanksgiving(2010)--third floor room with a lovely sitting area, a truly comfortable bed, and wonderful coffee and sweets for breakfast. Close to the Elmwood area-up and coming-but without too much noise and easy to get around. Great location and lovely home--what fun!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }