Recent Reviews in Budapest, Hungary

Great stay-great owners at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on February 11, 2016

Do not hesitate for a second about booking a room in Anabelle B&B. We spent 4 nights in this beautiful city and wish we had a few extra days - but this only leaves us with the desire to go back there! Location is perfect for sightseeing, transportation, cafes, dinning. Rooms are clean, nicely furnished, comfortable Breakfast is excellent Owners are great, helpful, friendly! We could not have asked for anything more!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfectly located and brand new boutique hotel at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

4.4 reviewed on May 08, 2015

I traveled from Jamaica to the beautiful city of Budapest on vacation for about 6 days and I can say that the B&B has everything you need. It is perfectly located, right behind the amazing parliament of Budapest and in the center of the city. Metro station is a block away, also the trams and buses stations. You can walk to the St Stephen Cathedral, the Chain Bridge to Buda, Vaci utca is close by and lots of shops, grocery stores and cafes are around. The hotel facilities are very modern and everything is brand new. The service is excellent and impeccable. The breakfast every morning was delicious and diverse and the owners and staff are very helpful with everything. They helped me organize my tour around the city and even made suggestions of the perfect spots, the museums and the best restaurants in town. I recommend this hotel 100% and I want to thank Thomas and Carmen for their hospitality and making my vacation much more pleasant than I was expecting.

View more reviews for this inn

The perfect place. at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2014

We knew nothing about this place when we booked it and did we luck out! Thomas met us at the door, provided us with a city map and briefed us on the sights and transportation system. Carmen was attentive but not obtrusive at breakfast, always asking if we had any special desires in the way of food. They both went well beyond what we expected. The room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. The location couldn't be better, with 1/2 block access to the river, Parliament, tram and metro. It's also just 1-2 blocks from some excellent restaurants. This is certainly where we will stay next time we visit this beautiful city.

View more reviews for this inn

Stay here! at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Wonderful accommodations near Parliament, the tram, the the subway and close to restaurants. Everything is brand new with attention paid to details and quality. Great breakfast with local favorites that changed daily. Owners speak English, are present and very helpful. We recommend!

View more reviews for this inn

Great location, great hosts, and beautifully renovated apartment at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2014

Carmen and Thomas were most gracious hosts for their newly renovated B&B. Thomas gave us a most helpful over view of the city and Carmen made every breakfast special - which was set up to encourage visiting with others staying with them. When we decided to sit on the balcony and enjoy a glass of wine after a big day of walking Carmen thoughtfully prepared a snack plate for us. The location is outstanding by the Danube and Parliament buildings so you can walk anywhere. Wonderful restaurants in the area. We enjoyed Budapest so much - and our stay at Annabelle's certainly contributed to that.

View more reviews for this inn

An oasis of peace in the middle of old Budapest. at Anabelle Bed and Breakfast Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend at Anabelle's B&B. It is just as pristine and the bedding just as white as the photos show. The attention to detail is noteworthy. The B&B is housed in a turn of the century building and the entire floor of the B&B has been beautifully renovated combining the charm of the original molding and huge windows with clean lines and a contemporary feel to the rooms. The breakfast is as fine a breakfast as you could find at the Four Seasons . . . from cereal to eggs to muffins to fresh bread from fruit to the very fine goose liver pate. The manager, Thomas, and his wife Carmen are extremely service oriented and can address your every need from train tickets to the difficult to obtain opera tickets. They are a joy to work with and extemely competent at making guests feel comfortable. It is without hesitation that I highly recommend Ananbelle's B&B for stay of any length in Budapest.

View more reviews for this inn

More than we could have hoped for! at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2013

We stayed at Edith's Place in Budapest during our June 2013 travels. The apartment is amazing and spacious, with all amenities promised. Our host Laszlo is very knowledgable and helped us with our stay with recommendations and information. He would come over in the mornings to make breakfast and chat with us about our plans, giving tips on the bus schedules and how to get around (very much needed, as we are not skilled navigators). I highly recommend taking him up on his offer to be a tour guide, as it was one of the more informative and delightful trips we went on while in Budapest. We started out at the history museum in Buda castle for an overview of Hungarian history and then he took us around to the main sights in Budapest. We were a group of two adults and a teenager and had more than enough room. Our teenager got a room and a bathroom (with his own couch and tv area) to himself, and there was a second bathroom and bedroom, plus space in the living area for a third bed. Laszlo was waiting for us at the train station when we got in and took us right up to the apartment. The apartment waswell stocked with the little things when we showed up - shampoo and conditioner, some food in the fridge, some alcohol on the shelf. :) Little surprise extras that added to the warmth and welcome of our stay. Overall, our stay here was definitely one of the best of our trip so far, and when we come back, we'll definitely be booking a repeat visit! The apartment is very close to bus, train and tram pick up points. There is a little grocery store right around the corner with most items you may need. Shopping malls within walking or a couple stops on a tram away. Easy access to the Pest side of the city while enjoying the quieter aspects of the Buda side. We certainly feel very fortunate for having met our host and picking this apartment for our stay.

View more reviews for this inn

Three days in lovely Budapest at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

4.8 reviewed on May 10, 2013

When we decided to spend the holidays in Budapest, we were looking for accommodation that will be enough for four of us and a place that will be close to transportation and close to major attractions. We found just that when we booked Edith`s place.Located in a small street, apartment is only two minutes from the metro and tram station. It is also a walking distance to a beautiful Castle District. The apartment was very clean and spacious (enough for six people) and our host was very friendly and willing to help with evry our need. In any case a place where we hope to come back again.

View more reviews for this inn

ON THE PEST (BEST) SIDE at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on July 15, 2012

We were thrilled with our stay at Edith's Charming BnB. Located on the Pest side of Hungary's Budapest...we were close to bus stops, fine restaurants, and many interesting things to see. The place was clean and neat, and the breakfasts served by Laszlo were great! He is so happy to give you info on what to see and do in Budapest, and he's quite a good storyteller too! We enjoyed spending our mornings with him. You would surely enjoy resting your traveling bones here at Edith's.

View more reviews for this inn

Delightful Stay in Budapest at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on September 30, 2011

As 3 women traveling to Budapest, we were very concerned about finding a clean, safe place to stay. We could not have been more pleased to have found Edith's Place on the Buda side of the river! The accommodations were very convenient, clean, and we had more than enough room. Our host, Laszlo, was charming and very helpful! He provided many insights into Hungarian culture and history, which really made our visit to Budapest so much more enjoyable. We hired Laszlo to show us around the city, and he made sure we saw the REAL Budapest. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful experience! at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on August 19, 2011

We planned a very robust European vacation and I think we bit off more than we could chew but our stay with Laszlow was reenergizing! His place was more than abundant for our 5 person family and it was very close to all that Budapest has to offer. We will stay with him for another 4 days next time we are in his neck of the woods. This is a Great choice for any family!

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic location at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

4.6 reviewed on July 31, 2011

We booked this property primarily for its location. The views are absolutely awesome, no disappointment there!! It was such a nice start to the day to have the breakfast on the terrace looking down onto the buildings of the castle district and the Parliament. It's sensational!! It is in a quiet part of Budapest on the Buda side but there is easy access to public transportation. The rooms are good size though a bit dated, but still romantic with the backdrop of the city through the windows. We will definitely stay in this property on our next trip to Budapest.

View more reviews for this inn

Better Than The Four Season (A Child's Review) at Kapital Inn Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2011

My family and I, along with a couple family friends of ours, stayed at the Kapital Inn for about a week as a part of our Eastern Europe vacation this summer. Upon the conclusion of our trip, the six of us unanimously agreed that our stay at the Kapital Inn was by far the most comfortabe and enjoyable stay we had during the course of our month long vacation, even though we stayed at 4 or 5 start hotels in Vienna, Prague, and Saltzburg. What stood out the most to me was not only the immaculate cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms, the flatscreen tvs and Star Wars movies available to watch, or the superb location in the heart of Pest, but the charming hopitality that our host, Albert, presented to us. Albert picked us up at the train station the minute our train arrived and arranged transportation for us. He offered to make us breakfast every morning, (and he makes a delicious omelette!) Albert helped us plan each of our days and marked a personal map for each of us. His immense knowledge of Budapest, its history, and his collection of Rick Steve's books made touring the city a breeze. He also made excellent restaurant recommendations (try Klassz Bistro while you're there). He was a much better concierge than the ones at any other hotel we had visited. Overall, Albert was a fabulous host who goes above and beyond to help his guests have a fabulous stay. He was absolutely lovely, most definitely the nicest person we met on our trip. I would not hesitate to stay with Albert again. I cannot wait until I go back to Budapest, Albert, and the Kapital Inn!

View more reviews for this inn

Perfect for exploring Castle District at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

4.0 reviewed on March 05, 2011

My friend and I had a trip planned to Budapest and having a room booked on the Pest side, we desired a place to stay on the Buda side for a few days first in order to fully explore the Castle District. Edith' place could not have been more perfect for us. Laszlo picked us up from the airport and proceeded to drive us to what would be our home for 2 nights, treating us to a remarkable view of the lights of the Chain Bridge, Buda Castle and Fishermans Bastion which is truly a sight neither of us will ever forget. To be clear, the apartment is huge, and I was pleasantly surprised that all of the pictures, which do not the place justice, are included. My friend and I had 2 full bedrooms, 2 baths, a kitchen, laundry room, (stocked with soap) dining room and large living room all to ourselves. As we relaxed in the evening after a day of exploring, we remarked that the apartment could easily sleep 8 adults. But the convenience and comfort is only outweighed by the thoughtfulness and care of Laszlo who catered to and anticipated our every need. He was our personal concierge: directing us to sites we desired, showing us where the nearest market was to buy snacks and wine for our evening ritual even allowing us to request what time we would like him to arrive each morning to make us breakfast. We truly appreciated all that was taken care of so that we could focus on enjoying this magical city.

View more reviews for this inn

Wonderful B&B, hope to stay there again!! at Edith's Place in Budapest (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2011

First of all, Lazlo met us at the airport, which was so helpful for 2 women arriving in a new country. The apartment was beautiful, very comfortable, very clean, spacious, and we loved staying there. It is very close to the castle district, so sight-seeing was very easy from this location. The people of Budapest are very welcoming, kind, and friendly, and we felt so happy to be there!! I hope to go back with my family, and will hopefully be able to stay here again. It exceeded all of my expectations, and Lazlo was a most excellent host!! He makes the most delicious breakfast, and fabulous coffee. Thanks again Lazlo and Edith!!

View more reviews for this inn

Best bed and breakfast in Budapest at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2010

The room was to my liking and the view of the castle was atmospheric.It was heaven looking out of the window of the breafast room, to see the local skyline of Parliament and church spires. It was so peaceful and the local amenities are in easy reach.

View more reviews for this inn

Great location at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

3.8 reviewed on May 03, 2009

We had a nice and very clean room just next to the castle within walking distance of the metro which took us within 5 minutes to the city center. The breakfast was ok, we liked to take it on the balkony overlooking the city. We can recommend this pension and would like to stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn

Underneath The Castle at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

4.0 reviewed on March 11, 2009

I was taken to my room and was immediately impressed with its spaciousness. There was a safe to put my valuables in and outside a wonderful serene atmosphere of the castle. It was just so peaceful. The breakfast room has a wonderful view of the parliament buildings and St Ann'e church Spires. You go down the steps near the Budavar Pension and can find the local restaurants, Metro, buses, or just walk along the Danube.

View more reviews for this inn

Fantastic Location - Friendly Staff at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

4.2 reviewed on March 08, 2009

Great location just below Castle Hill, and not far from tramway. Great breakfast selection. Friendly staff. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn

Waiting in the Cold at Budavar Pension B&B (Budapest, Hungary)

1.2 reviewed on January 02, 2008

Having made a reservation and paying a deposit through an inconvenient bank transfer (note, only cash is accepted), my wife and I arrived late afternoon to find the Budavar Pension locked with no one to let us in. We luckily had a mobile and called to notify the not so present Innkeeper, Dr. Belso of our arrival. He seemed unaware and did not seem concerned that we were standing outside in mid-winter weather. His stated two minute wait became ten before a young man came rushing to the door racing past us without a greeting or apology. We felt as if we were bothering Dr. Belso or whoever came to open the door (no one ever introduced themselves). For five nights our bedroom was left unchanged; sheets, towels, garbage bins. Breakfasts were far from continental and more along the lines of subsistance. No staff were ever present or available past 10am which for holiday makers is usually a good time to be waking up. Upon our departure, we properly prepared our remaining cash payment which we willingly gave and asked politely if we could wait for an extra half hour after the 10:30am check out time for our scheudule 11am airport minibus. A gruff of sort was the answer stating that the woman needed to clean the room urgently, though this room had not once been cleaned while we were PAYING GUESTS. We were kindly suggested to have a brisk morning walk out on the street in the falling mid-winter snow with minus zero temperatures. So back out on the street my wife and I found each other waiting in the midst of Budavar Pension hospitality. No-go!

View more reviews for this inn