Recent Reviews in Brooklyn, New York

A nice visit to Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on April 23, 2017

Debby was so warm and welcoming throughout the our visit. The Friday night jazz and fish fry was definitely a highlight!!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic home! at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 21, 2017

Debbie keeps history alive with decor, details and total ambience, including creaky stairs. She made the best omelette ever, with cheese and spinach, sausages and coffee for everyone there in a super flourish on our last day. That meal lasted the entire trip back to the west coast. Satisfaction that lasted. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


A block from A-C station at Norstrand at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 09, 2017

Debbie's a whiz at keeping history alive in this brownstone: the stairs creak, the decor is vintage and the accommodations reflect the earnestness of that time and this. In addition she really cooked up a mean breakfast for all of us on the morning I departed: a super perfect omelette, sausage and coffee that fully and comfortably lasted 8 hours, all the way back to home on the west coast. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B- warm and safe atmosphere with weekend jazz at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on February 26, 2017

Wonderful experience at Sankofa / Brownstone jazz The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are firm and the bedding is plush. They offer Real Deal classic jazz performances on Fridays and Saturdays with top notch musicians, cultural and historical points of interest and amazing music while the proprietor is downstairs frying fish, mixing cole- slaw and baking cornbread for the musical intermission. 107 Macon is a on a quaint Brooklyn Street, very close to subways with easy access to other NYC attractions. Last night was my third time there. I enjoy the atmosphere, the music and have not found a better place to rest my head when I visit the NYC area.

View more reviews for this inn


Sankofa Aban at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2017

Wonderful time with Deborah..the hostess with the mostest. Felt right at home. Great Friday and Saturday night music AND conversations

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected treasure for jazz lovers at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on December 15, 2016

A largehearted and big personality host - wonderfully historic house (which is a little tired but still beautiful) - great musicians, breathy microphone jazz singing - stimulating company. How can one hope to spend a better weekend?!

View more reviews for this inn


Love, love, love... at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

What can we say other than Debbie was the most amazing host. A wonderful person, a wonderful place to stay in a wonderful part of NYC. Gutted to leave but we'll be back. Eric is an encyclopaedia of Brooklyn jazz too. By the way, the fish fry was glorious. Peace/Love Leo and Lisa Xxxx

View more reviews for this inn


What can we say other than... at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2016

We're so sad to leave such wonderful people and such a beautiful home. Hard to find words to describe how blessed we feel to have met our wonderful hosts and spent hours in their company, chatting like we've known each other for years. Not many places offer such warmth and we were genuinely sorry to have to leave. Brooklyn is an amazing, vibrant, historic place with easy access to everywhere in NYC. I hope we all keep in touch and am looking forward to the next visit. Peace/Love Leo&Lisa X

View more reviews for this inn


Brooklyn B&B at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

3.2 reviewed on October 11, 2016

I would come back to Lefferts. It was basic but clean and I loved the house, it was very authentic NY C1900 which I loved. It was perfect for my 4 night stay, I had everything I needed. A bit more explanation that there was kitchen we could use would have helped. I didn't really mind sharing bathroom ether which surprised me.I recommend this B&B. Owner was sweet.

View more reviews for this inn


More than a home away from home at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2016

First of all and as it's important, the house and room were exactly as described on the website. The house is in a friendly and alive neighbourhood, in a peaceful street with big trees not even 5 minutes from the subway station with trains running all night. Being in Times Square in 20 minutes but sleeping far away from its madness was just perfect and exactly what we needed. But most of all, beyond the house being amazing, we felt home at the second we got there and met Debbie and this is absolutely priceless, we just felt like we were visiting family. Thank you so much for being so available (by answering my many messages, waiting for us until very late night of getting up at 5.45 am to say goodbye) and to make us feel so special and for the amazing birthday cake ! A delicious warm breakfast is cooked every day at 9am but Debbie made sure we always had everything we needed including hot coffre when we had to leave the house earlier. Thank you again for everything you made our stay more than perfect !

View more reviews for this inn


Brilliant BnB at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on September 08, 2016

Debbie is a brilliant host and we will definitely be back to stay in this gorgeous property! Public transport is walking distance, the neighbourhood is friendly and fun with loads of cool stuff to do around and the bedroom and bed was so comfortable! We'll be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from Home at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on May 29, 2016

My stay at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast was outstanding. I came to Brooklyn to attend the funeral of a dear family member. I needed to stay in Brooklyn to be close to where the service was held. Debbie was so kind. I felt like I was at home. The b&b is beautiful as is the warm hospitable environment. I am planning to return later this summer.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanks for the memories at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on May 27, 2016

Great Stay and wonderful atmosphere. Breakfast is scrumptious

View more reviews for this inn


Best Bang for your Buck! at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

My brother, nephew, husband & I stayed here this past Friday - Monday and it was wonderful! We used to live in NYC and my husband is a native New Yorker, so my brother & nephew asked us for a personal tour of NYC. And this was the perfect place to stay. It's quiet, has a wonderful porch, a park is next door, and it's on NY Harbor, so there are wonderful views. We even saw a freighter turn around. It's only a few minutes to the Staten Island Ferry and then you are in the most exciting city in the world! My husband and I stayed in the Manhattan room and loved it! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was good, and the view was phenomenal! We will stay there again next time we are in the city. Initially my brother and nephew had the Madison room. When I booked the reservation, it had a bunk bed and a sink. When we arrived, the bunk bed had been replaced by a double bed. It was a tight fit for them. The Mr. Moe attempted to rectify the situation, but the first solution didn't work out well. But the next day when a better room was available, the he gave it to my brother & nephew. The room they were given was the Verrazano room! The best room! They were so happy! And the rates! You can't beat the rates! Best in NYC, unless you want to stay in a hostel or flop house!!! Next time we go to NYC, (assuming we don't stay with friends), this is where we will stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Sankofa Aban Bnb - May 2016 at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2016

I absolutely love staying at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast - I am able to park my car on the street out front when I drive. The subway is a block away- Debbie will call a car to pick you up if you prefer. Shopping is very convenient all within a couple of blocks. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is scrumptious. The Brownstone Jazz Fish Fry on Friday night and Saturday night is an outstanding event with unparalleled talent and I can just go to my room right afterwards. I will return again and again. A great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm Welcome at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2016

Great place to stay. Debbie, the hostess was very welcoming and gave us great places to visit. Live Jazz on Friday and Saturday nights was spectacular! Amazing breakfasts as well. Would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}