Recent Reviews in Brooklyn, New York

Beyond Manhattan at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 29, 2018

I didn't know what to expect when I booked this bed and breakfast about 1 hour's walk from Brooklyn's Commodore Barry Park. I booked solely based on pictures provided by Google images. I was blown away by the hospitality of the owners Debbie and Eric Lemon. When I checked in at 3PM, without hesitation they greeted me with open arms and helped carry my luggage all the way to my room on the brownstone's 4th floor(!). Every morning they provided breakfast upon request and also served great conversation. Every evening if I was out after dark, I would receive a text to ensure I was safe and was able to make it back safely. I'll be sure I won’t forget this experience for a long time to come. I also enjoyed the Brownstone Jazz sessions held on Friday and Saturday evenings at 9PM, where Eric (a bassist) is accompanied by the area's most talented jazz musicians. Usually, cover charge for the public is between $60-100 dollars, but the cover charge is waived for guests of the B&B. A home-cooked fried fish dinner is provided to attendants during the show. This is similar to a room and board arrangement, where a room and boarding privileges (plus breakfast) are provided. This is NOT a hotel. Your room isn't cleaned for you and clean sheets/towels aren't always provided on a daily basis. Although extremely well-decorated, the rooms do not have television sets. Bathrooms are well stocked, but shared. Air conditioning units are provided upon request, but warrant an extra charge on top on your reservation. If you are looking for these accommodations, please consider making arrangements to stay at one of the many nearby licensed and registered hotels in the area. However, I will say you'd be missing out on a little-known one-of-a-kind treasure in the Bed-Stuy community. If this is your first time in Brooklyn and don't know what to expect, let Debbie and Eric show you that welcoming hospitality, genuine kindness, and a lasting love for NYC extends beyond the borders of Manhattan.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B and B in Park Slope at Stoney's Inn (Brooklyn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on August 01, 2018

First let me say that Marla and Scott are charming hosts; kind, caring, so considerate, and very welcoming. Scott always responded to my texts promptly which I so appreciated. The property is everything that the B and B site described. A beautifully appointed studio with a very comfy bed and pillows; nice bathroom with plenty of towels and a shower with great water pressure; comfortably air conditioned which we were thrilled about as the weather was hot and humid during our visit. The neighborhood is lively with boutiques, restaurants, and a diverse community. The location is perfect for us as our 2 adult children live a short walk away in either direction. Finally, the price was right; a great big bang for the buck. Not only do we strongly recommend staying at Stoney’s Inn, we’ll be returning soon. Thank you Scott and Marla! Lenore and Jim, two very satisfied guests!

View more reviews for this inn


unique for open people at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3.4 reviewed on July 26, 2018

We had a very pleasant stay. The hostess is a wonderful woman with a lot of humor and charm. We had a lot of fun with Jazz and wine.

View more reviews for this inn


A great find! at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.4 reviewed on July 23, 2018

First thing through the door - you're getting a hug from Debbie. This sets the tone for the entire stay. You're almost made to feel as if you're part of the family from the minute you step into Sankofa Aban. I found the rooms to be surprisingly soundproof. So even though there is wonderful jazz playing in the parlor until 12:30, you'd never know. If you're looking for a way to feel at home in Brooklyn, this is it. Can't recommend this place enough!

View more reviews for this inn


UNSATIFACTORY at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

1.0 reviewed on July 06, 2018

I booked through Travelocity, but contacted Lefferts directly to ask questions and confirm my reservations. I received an email response back from them and they confirmed my reservations and gave me specific information on my room. They even included pictures of the room in their email response. (Room 1/The Morgan) When I arrived they did not have a room for me and I was told my reservation had been canceled. I have been unable to find out exactly who "canceled my reservation" as Travelocity did not. I have been given the run around by Lefferts. I left a review and unsurprisingly I don't see it posted to this site so I am trying again. I am extremely unhappy as my whole trip was ruined and I still have not been provided the details of the cancellation. Natasha and Michelle have been no help at all resolving this matter.

View more reviews for this inn


Wont Go There Again Ever!!!!!!! at The Justice Manor (Brooklyn, NY)

1.0 reviewed on June 20, 2018

The only positive thing to say about this place was the location and closeness to Manhatten and tourist attractions. Now for the negatives. First of all the lack of communication between myself and the owner was so little and scarce and the first night of my stay I was placed in a room that was not the one I paid for. It had a communal kitchen and bathroom that was shared with two other apartments. Talk about false advertisement. I was told the furnace was broken and that is why I had to take another room only to later be told that my original room was double booked. Then on the second night I finally got to the room I paid for only to find out that the ceilings were only 5'10" high. I am over 6' and had to spend the entire time I was there ducking my head. There was left over food in the room from the previous tenants and the room was not cleanly at all. There was no outside courtyard entranced or library or spa or any of the other things advertised. The pictures advertised for these rooms and very deceiving. I couldn't even finish my whole stay there and had to leave two days early. I would never recommend this place to any one and I personally would never ever stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place and fantastic location at Stoney's Inn (Brooklyn, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 18, 2018

Our hosts were totally accommodating and offered helpful suggestions. We absolutely loved the neighborhood, close to Prospect Park and lots of shopping and eating. Our only regret is that our stay was so short. We'd definitely stay there again when in Brooklyn!

View more reviews for this inn


Our stay at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

4.4 reviewed on February 21, 2018

Great location, comfortable bed, tidy modern kitchen/dining room. Would definitely stay again in future.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming B & B at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3.2 reviewed on January 03, 2018

Debbie who runs and owns the B & B is absolve charming! Talking to her and her friend Eric was a fascinating lesson in history. Its a warm a welcoming place with the charm of few places! There was Friday night jazz - it was fantastic!

View more reviews for this inn


Fine BnB at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

2.8 reviewed on January 03, 2018

The good: The BnB was easy to locate and on a quiet clean street close to public transit with plenty of cafes and restaurants around. It was furnished beautifully and the rooms were clean. The hostess Natasha was so warm and friendly, very accommodating and quick to help us when we needed to change rooms. She was accessible and professional. Some considerations... - Shared bathroom, not disclosed when booking the room: clean when we arrived, not clean after other guests started using it and was not cleaned or the trash emptied in the 3 nights we stayed. - No breakfast provided: only access to a kitchen - Old heating system : we had to change rooms after spending a night in the Pearl room. Don't stay there in the winter! However our new room was great and we slept warm and comfortably the rest of the time we were there. Knowing the above points now, I would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


A safe and clean place, great experience at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

3.8 reviewed on December 19, 2017

It's a good, safe, and clean place that satisfies the basic needs. The house is very beautiful, and the service is great. The room I stayed in is tiny, but one has access to everything.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay in Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2017

I loved staying at Debbie's B & B and will do so again. The house is full of character and my room was large. You are very close to the A or C trains for Manhattan which run often. There are lots of lovely eating places around Sankofa Aban and Debbie's breakfasts are delicious.I loved the conversations with both Debbie and other guests throughout my stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2017

My BFF and I stayed here for two nights in October. Debbie has created a unique B and B. Staying in her Brooklyn brownstone helps you feel a part of the neighborhood, and you may just have the opportunity to hear jazz being performed or practiced in the evening. Don’t expect doilies and a private bath, come for Debbie’s company and the comraderie of the place. The neighborhood is fun to walk around, not already sterilized and completely altered by gentrification, but pleasant and real. Make a reservation, you won’t regret it! Go with the fun flow of the house, the hostess and the neighborhood!

View more reviews for this inn


A gem at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 10, 2017

Debbie and Eric's place is magical. They are incredibly kind, the jazz night is fantastic, the place is like a time capsule in the best way, and our entire experience in New York was made perfect by our stay with them.

View more reviews for this inn


many stairs and no air conditioning at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

2.6 reviewed on October 10, 2017

when i booked it stated room had air conditioning. it did not. room was on 3rd floor no elevator, had to go up 3 flights. no breakfast. room was very clean but just enough room for twin bed and night stand, shared bathroom. bathroom very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time in Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.4 reviewed on September 19, 2017

The Bed and Breakfast vibe is not for everyone BUT if you are one of those that enjoys an atmosphere that is a home and way from home, where the owners will make you feel at home...this is for you! Ms. Debbie is a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook ...Mr. Eric is welcoming and provides lots of intelligent and passionate conversation to feed you spirit and your soul. When you stay there you MUST enjoy an evening of jazz in the living room of this beautiful home. The musicians were phenomenally talented which made for the most enchanting evening ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed my stay in this Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on September 08, 2017

The Bed and Breakfast vibe is not for everyone BUT if you are one of those that enjoys an atmosphere that is a home away from home, where the owners will make you feel right at home...this is for you! Ms. Debbie is a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook ...Mr. Eric is welcoming and provides lots of intelligent and passionate conversation to feed your spirit and your soul. When you stay there you MUST enjoy an evening of jazz featuring the Brownstone Jazz Group. The living room of this beautiful home is transformed into an intimate music venue. The musicians were phenomenally talented which made for the most enchanting evening ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing stay at sankofa aban at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2017

What a great pleasure it was to stay at Sankofa Aban. Debbie's hospitality and amazing breakfasts made our stay wonderful! Jazz nights on Friday and saturday were outstanding! The fish fry was scrumptious! We cannot wait for another opportunitiy to stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


From a French-Japanese couple at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3.6 reviewed on July 25, 2017

Very good experience! Room and house were very nice, in the historical Brooklyn style. Debbie was really helpful, warm and nice to us. Her cooking is really good. We had two different breakfast in two days with different other guests and in both case she can make people feel comfortable. Last but not least, the Jazz concert (Friday and Saturday night) is a must for people who want to feel the Brooklyn Jazz Spirit!! Nous avons passé trois nuits dans une belle maison d'époque. Le quartier est aussi reste très typique. Debbie vous met à l'aise tout de suite, elle est toujours souriante et plein d'énergie et d'humour. Les petits déjeuners avec les autres clients étaient bien sympathiques et la cuisine de Debbie est simple mais très bonne. Et la cerise sur le gâteau c'est les concerts de jazz dans le salon d'époque cozy tous les vendredis et samedis soir pour savourer un concert de jazz traditionnel en petit comité! ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿Brooklyn¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!

View more reviews for this inn


Very pleasant place to stay when visiting New York at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

3.6 reviewed on June 24, 2017

Since we have stayed at this place before we knew what to expect - and we really enjoy it. You have to share bathroom and a small kitchen with other guests, but it is all working out just fine. The place is cosy and full of atmosphere, and since there are not many rooms you will soon learn to know the other guests. Just a short walk to the Metro and easy to shop necessities nearby. We are happy to recommend this place to anyone not needing full-blown standard hotel service!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Sweet Home at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on April 29, 2017

Debbie truly is the hostess with the mostest and made my husband, son and I feel as though we were home. From ensuring our breakfast was sufficient (I'm gluten intolerant), to greeting us we came in from a day of sight-seeing and providing personalised information regarding the surrounding area and places to see, eat, launder (we stayed 6 nights). Thank you so much Debbie for helping us acclimatise to New York, in a gentle way.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice visit to Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on April 23, 2017

Debby was so warm and welcoming throughout the our visit. The Friday night jazz and fish fry was definitely a highlight!!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic home! at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 21, 2017

Debbie keeps history alive with decor, details and total ambience, including creaky stairs. She made the best omelette ever, with cheese and spinach, sausages and coffee for everyone there in a super flourish on our last day. That meal lasted the entire trip back to the west coast. Satisfaction that lasted. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


A block from A-C station at Norstrand at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 09, 2017

Debbie's a whiz at keeping history alive in this brownstone: the stairs creak, the decor is vintage and the accommodations reflect the earnestness of that time and this. In addition she really cooked up a mean breakfast for all of us on the morning I departed: a super perfect omelette, sausage and coffee that fully and comfortably lasted 8 hours, all the way back to home on the west coast. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B- warm and safe atmosphere with weekend jazz at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on February 26, 2017

Wonderful experience at Sankofa / Brownstone jazz The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are firm and the bedding is plush. They offer Real Deal classic jazz performances on Fridays and Saturdays with top notch musicians, cultural and historical points of interest and amazing music while the proprietor is downstairs frying fish, mixing cole- slaw and baking cornbread for the musical intermission. 107 Macon is a on a quaint Brooklyn Street, very close to subways with easy access to other NYC attractions. Last night was my third time there. I enjoy the atmosphere, the music and have not found a better place to rest my head when I visit the NYC area.

View more reviews for this inn


Sankofa Aban at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2017

Wonderful time with Deborah..the hostess with the mostest. Felt right at home. Great Friday and Saturday night music AND conversations

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected treasure for jazz lovers at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on December 15, 2016

A largehearted and big personality host - wonderfully historic house (which is a little tired but still beautiful) - great musicians, breathy microphone jazz singing - stimulating company. How can one hope to spend a better weekend?!

View more reviews for this inn


Love, love, love... at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on November 06, 2016

What can we say other than Debbie was the most amazing host. A wonderful person, a wonderful place to stay in a wonderful part of NYC. Gutted to leave but we'll be back. Eric is an encyclopaedia of Brooklyn jazz too. By the way, the fish fry was glorious. Peace/Love Leo and Lisa Xxxx

View more reviews for this inn


What can we say other than... at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2016

We're so sad to leave such wonderful people and such a beautiful home. Hard to find words to describe how blessed we feel to have met our wonderful hosts and spent hours in their company, chatting like we've known each other for years. Not many places offer such warmth and we were genuinely sorry to have to leave. Brooklyn is an amazing, vibrant, historic place with easy access to everywhere in NYC. I hope we all keep in touch and am looking forward to the next visit. Peace/Love Leo&Lisa X

View more reviews for this inn


Brooklyn B&B at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

3.2 reviewed on October 11, 2016

I would come back to Lefferts. It was basic but clean and I loved the house, it was very authentic NY C1900 which I loved. It was perfect for my 4 night stay, I had everything I needed. A bit more explanation that there was kitchen we could use would have helped. I didn't really mind sharing bathroom ether which surprised me.I recommend this B&B. Owner was sweet.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }