Recent Reviews in Brooklyn, New York

Wonderful stay in Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 29, 2017

I loved staying at Debbie's B & B and will do so again. The house is full of character and my room was large. You are very close to the A or C trains for Manhattan which run often. There are lots of lovely eating places around Sankofa Aban and Debbie's breakfasts are delicious.I loved the conversations with both Debbie and other guests throughout my stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A hidden gem at The Fairview (Brooklyn, NY)

5 reviewed on October 23, 2017

I stayed two nights in the Hawthorne room and it's a hidden gem. Bedding and towels were better than many four-star hotels. A hardwood floor and crown moulding touches. Kitchen area was just a few steps away. Mark was a great, helpful host. Neighborhood is "busy," but people went out of their way to be friendly and offer directions or cafe recommendations. I would certainly stay at The Fairview again.

View more reviews for this inn


Point d’attache agréable et confortable at The Fairview (Brooklyn, NY)

3.8 reviewed on October 21, 2017

Sept 2017 : Nous avons passé un agréable séjour, la maison est comme décrite, confortable, jolie, typique, propre et le service est conforme également au descriptif. A 100 m se trouve une entrée de métro. Il faut néanmoins savoir que le trajet pour se rendre à Manhattan prend environ une 40aine de mn en moyenne, mais c’est ce qui justifie le prix par rapport à tout ce qui se trouve sur Manhattan. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié le Wi-Fi gratuit.Nous recommandons cette location. Bon séjour.

View more reviews for this inn


Top class at The Fairview (Brooklyn, NY)

5 reviewed on October 15, 2017

Mark was brilliant to work with i stayed in fairview for 2 months beautiful spotless and clean fabulous apartment, 10/10 when mark put the brand new tv up i didnt want to leave awesome stay

View more reviews for this inn


A gem at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on October 10, 2017

Debbie and Eric's place is magical. They are incredibly kind, the jazz night is fantastic, the place is like a time capsule in the best way, and our entire experience in New York was made perfect by our stay with them.

View more reviews for this inn


many stairs and no air conditioning at Lefferts Gardens Residence (Brooklyn, New York)

2.6 reviewed on October 10, 2017

when i booked it stated room had air conditioning. it did not. room was on 3rd floor no elevator, had to go up 3 flights. no breakfast. room was very clean but just enough room for twin bed and night stand, shared bathroom. bathroom very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Time in Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.4 reviewed on September 19, 2017

The Bed and Breakfast vibe is not for everyone BUT if you are one of those that enjoys an atmosphere that is a home and way from home, where the owners will make you feel at home...this is for you! Ms. Debbie is a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook ...Mr. Eric is welcoming and provides lots of intelligent and passionate conversation to feed you spirit and your soul. When you stay there you MUST enjoy an evening of jazz in the living room of this beautiful home. The musicians were phenomenally talented which made for the most enchanting evening ever!

View more reviews for this inn


My Home away from Home at The Fairview (Brooklyn, NY)

5 reviewed on September 11, 2017

Marc responded to my messages very quickly and with precise information, when I arrived help was there to help me with my luggage if need be. I was welcomed with freshly made tea if I wanted. The place was gorgeous, very well-decorated. My room looked much superior to the photographs on the website. The bathroom was very clean. Hair-dryer, shampoo, conditioner and brand-new towels were provided; my room was refreshed while I was there with clean beddings, towels, named it and it was done. The Fairview is at the center of everything. There are many good restaurants and great shopping, Brooklyn Museum and Botanical Garden/park/zoo are close by, and subway is only 3 minutes away. So convenient! Highly recommended I will stay at the Fairview again and again. This is my home away from home, I love it. Thank you very much. Marcia

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed my stay in this Brooklyn Bed and Breakfast at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on September 08, 2017

The Bed and Breakfast vibe is not for everyone BUT if you are one of those that enjoys an atmosphere that is a home away from home, where the owners will make you feel right at home...this is for you! Ms. Debbie is a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook ...Mr. Eric is welcoming and provides lots of intelligent and passionate conversation to feed your spirit and your soul. When you stay there you MUST enjoy an evening of jazz featuring the Brownstone Jazz Group. The living room of this beautiful home is transformed into an intimate music venue. The musicians were phenomenally talented which made for the most enchanting evening ever!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing stay at sankofa aban at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on August 05, 2017

What a great pleasure it was to stay at Sankofa Aban. Debbie's hospitality and amazing breakfasts made our stay wonderful! Jazz nights on Friday and saturday were outstanding! The fish fry was scrumptious! We cannot wait for another opportunitiy to stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


From a French-Japanese couple at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3.6 reviewed on July 25, 2017

Very good experience! Room and house were very nice, in the historical Brooklyn style. Debbie was really helpful, warm and nice to us. Her cooking is really good. We had two different breakfast in two days with different other guests and in both case she can make people feel comfortable. Last but not least, the Jazz concert (Friday and Saturday night) is a must for people who want to feel the Brooklyn Jazz Spirit!! Nous avons passé trois nuits dans une belle maison d'époque. Le quartier est aussi reste très typique. Debbie vous met à l'aise tout de suite, elle est toujours souriante et plein d'énergie et d'humour. Les petits déjeuners avec les autres clients étaient bien sympathiques et la cuisine de Debbie est simple mais très bonne. Et la cerise sur le gâteau c'est les concerts de jazz dans le salon d'époque cozy tous les vendredis et samedis soir pour savourer un concert de jazz traditionnel en petit comité! ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿Brooklyn¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!

View more reviews for this inn


Basic, clean B&B with wonderful service and location at The Harbor House (Staten Island, New York)

4.6 reviewed on May 10, 2017

Always a wonder visit with Moe at the Harbor House. No, this is not the Aster, and if you are looking for plush, fancy with bells and whistles you should move on. The Harbor house is a basic, clean, friendly, courteous B&B. Moe, the host, will do anything for you, is gracious, and just a nice person to talk to. There is a wide assortment of rooms, some with private bathrooms, some with shared bathrooms. We’ve done both, and while a private bathroom is nice, we’ve never had an issue with the shared bathroom. Spacious rooms, dressers and closets for your clothing, lots of hot water for your shower, comfortable beds. What more do you need? There is an apartment unit on the 1st floor, with two beds, a livingroom and a full kitchen. There are even rooms with bunk beds, so you are good if you want to bring the kids and still have a bit of privacy for yourself. Breakfast consists of assorted cereals, bagels, English muffins, plenty of good coffee and an assortment of teas—just tell Moe when you want it, and it will be laid out for you in the dining room. We’ve always had great views of the Hudson river, and there is a short greenway right across the street. The inn is incredibly well located—a couple of blocks to the subway system that take you to right in to the Staten Island Ferry terminal, and boom you are right in lower Manhattan. The ferry ride provides some of the best, if not the best, views of lower Manhattan, so bring your camera. There is easy street parking, and we always park and leave the car right where it is for the entire stay. The Harbor House is also within easy walking distance to restaurants, convenience stores, and a D&D. Go, enjoy, and say hi to Moe for us! Moe, as always, thanks for a wonderful experience, and we’ll see you again.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice visit to Brooklyn at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.2 reviewed on April 23, 2017

Debby was so warm and welcoming throughout the our visit. The Friday night jazz and fish fry was definitely a highlight!!

View more reviews for this inn


Historic home! at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 21, 2017

Debbie keeps history alive with decor, details and total ambience, including creaky stairs. She made the best omelette ever, with cheese and spinach, sausages and coffee for everyone there in a super flourish on our last day. That meal lasted the entire trip back to the west coast. Satisfaction that lasted. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


A block from A-C station at Norstrand at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.8 reviewed on April 09, 2017

Debbie's a whiz at keeping history alive in this brownstone: the stairs creak, the decor is vintage and the accommodations reflect the earnestness of that time and this. In addition she really cooked up a mean breakfast for all of us on the morning I departed: a super perfect omelette, sausage and coffee that fully and comfortably lasted 8 hours, all the way back to home on the west coast. Thanks Debbie!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B- warm and safe atmosphere with weekend jazz at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on February 26, 2017

Wonderful experience at Sankofa / Brownstone jazz The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds are firm and the bedding is plush. They offer Real Deal classic jazz performances on Fridays and Saturdays with top notch musicians, cultural and historical points of interest and amazing music while the proprietor is downstairs frying fish, mixing cole- slaw and baking cornbread for the musical intermission. 107 Macon is a on a quaint Brooklyn Street, very close to subways with easy access to other NYC attractions. Last night was my third time there. I enjoy the atmosphere, the music and have not found a better place to rest my head when I visit the NYC area.

View more reviews for this inn


Sankofa Aban at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 reviewed on January 28, 2017

Wonderful time with Deborah..the hostess with the mostest. Felt right at home. Great Friday and Saturday night music AND conversations

View more reviews for this inn


An unexpected treasure for jazz lovers at Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4.0 reviewed on December 15, 2016

A largehearted and big personality host - wonderfully historic house (which is a little tired but still beautiful) - great musicians, breathy microphone jazz singing - stimulating company. How can one hope to spend a better weekend?!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }