Recent Reviews in Bayeux, France

5 Star Stay at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2017

Exceptional in every way, including Valerie. Definitely one of our nicest stays ever!! If going to Normandy DO NOT miss this sensational experience. Will be recommending to all that we know. Dena G

View more reviews for this inn


Very Impressive at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

4.8 reviewed on July 03, 2017

My family of 4 stayed in this amazing house (castle) 18-20 June 2017. I have never booked a B&B before, but I can tell you this place was absolutely stunning! The property itself (built in 1623) was out of a story book. The rooms were spacious and bright. Everything was immaculately clean. The views from the rooms to the orchard were awesome! Valerie could not have been more accommodating and helpful. her breakfast was to die for. We had mode made Chocolate orange cake, jams from her mother and fresh eggs from her farm. It is conveniently located between Bayuex and Caen. She is amazing and I would book here again without hesitation!

View more reviews for this inn


An enchantment at LE VIVIER (LION SUR MER, France)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2017

Marie was a wonderful hostess! This property is amazing and we had a memorable stay. Lion Sur Mer is a charming beach town and our stay at La Vivier was perfect! Lovely rooms, great breakfast and charming company.

View more reviews for this inn


What's not to like? at "le ptit grenier" (Bayeux, France)

4.8 reviewed on November 20, 2016

Comfortable, clean, spacious and with an excellent breakfast included following a warm and friendly welcome from M. & Mme. Michel. Plenty of free parking outside the house which is only a few minutes walk from the center of Bayeux with its splendid range of shops, restaurants and tourist sights in a very attractive architectural setting. Please don't go to Bayeux and miss the Tapestry and Cathedral!

View more reviews for this inn


Four night stay at le ptit Grenier at "le ptit grenier" (Bayeux, France)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2016

le ptit Grenier is well situated. It is an easy walk into town and to the train and bus station.it is clean and private and the hosts are helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast arrives at the requested time each morning and the kitchen/dining facilities are ideal. We would highly recommend le ptit Grenier for a stay in the most interesting and delightful town of Bayeaux.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely rooms and area and fantastic hospitallity at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

4.8 reviewed on August 01, 2016

We - a Danish family of four - spend three nights at ferme-manoir de Cacharat. And we all enjoyed it very much. The rooms are large, lovely decorated and of course clean. The breakfast served every morning is delicious. The kids loved the barn where you can play ie tabletennis and badminton ¿¿. We were met with great hospitallity by the owner of the place. ¿¿¿¿¿¿We would love to come back and send our full recomendstions and thanks for a wonderfull stay.¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Do Not Hesitate to Book Your Stay Here!!! at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

Our party of six stayed at La Ferme aux Chats for two nights June 1-2, 2016. Joëlle and Luïc are outstanding hosts. They responded immediately to our inquiries while making our reservation, and we easily communicated as they both speak English. When we arrived late the first night we had not eaten dinner--they immediately made reservations at a local restaurant which we highly recommend! Their breakfasts, from the homemade yogurt, crepes, jellies and jams made from fruit in their garden, to the freshest fruits, breads, cheese, eggs, etc. compete with the finest restaurants. The accommodations are modern, comfortable, and attention is paid to every detail as they both travel extensively during the off season and bring back ideas to incorporate into their B&B ...so we lacked for nothing. The rooms are cleaned daily...which is an added feature. The D-day sites are a short drive, making it a prime location to stay. From the exquisite property to the fantastic hosts, we highly recommend this B&B!!! Hal and Pauline

View more reviews for this inn


Among the Best at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.8 reviewed on June 23, 2016

My wife and I have stayed in places across the whole of Europe and have found La Ferme aux Chats to be among the best. Joelle and Luic are wonderful hosts with wise counsel on places to eat and sites to see. The breakfast is extraordinary with the homemade and farm fresh products taking center stage and stealing the show with flavor. The room was clean and cozy with a very comfortable bed.

View more reviews for this inn


Like paradise! at LE GRENIER A SEL (Saint Aubin sur Mer, Lower Normandy)

4.0 reviewed on June 12, 2016

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at the Grenier a sel! Our hosts, Liliane and Jean Jacques are soooo lovely and amazing! Having a great knowledge about Normandy, about the bests restaurants and places to visit, they told us every day what to do or visit, that was great! Our days began every morning with a delicious traditional french breakfast, baguette, pain au chocolat, croissants and the differents kind of home made jam, coffee, orange juice, etc. That was awesome and great!!! The rooms are very spacious and the beds very big! Everything was perfect!!!! Thank you very much, dear Liliane and Jean Jacques for your kindness, your friendship and for all the unforgettable moments shared with you!!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B. at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.8 reviewed on May 17, 2016

This is a very nice B&B. We stayed there beginning of may 2016. Location is very good. Close to Omaha beach and the cemetery in Collevill-sur-Mer. Fantastic breakfast and hosts are very nice and helpful. We can highly recomend this B&B.

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding B&B! at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

5 reviewed on May 04, 2016

We REALLY enjoyed our stay at this B&B. The breakfast was outstanding. This was without a doubt the best breakfast I have ever had at a B&B or hotel. Many things were home made and a large variety. It was very clean and had a nice protected place for our car. The owners were very accommodating, helpful, and made us feel "at home" there.

View more reviews for this inn


Great hosts at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.8 reviewed on April 26, 2016

Very convenient for visiting Omaha Beach, the Normandy Invasion cemeteries, as well as Bayeaux. Clean and modern rooms. The hosts were really great and the simple breakfasts were perfect. We really liked the homemade yogurt and marmalades.

View more reviews for this inn


Ferme au Chats - a rural gem at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.6 reviewed on April 13, 2016

Picturesque well-located property convenient for D-Day touring. The owners are amazing, catering to their guests' every need. Breakfasts are outstanding and often include a tasty surprise such as scrambled eggs and bacon, French toast or crepes - all with a bountiful selection of home-made jellies and jams. Overall service exceeds that of most 5-star hotels. Our sole complaint was that we could find nothing about which to complain. Absolute perfection!

View more reviews for this inn


Super sympa at Arts in the garden (MORIGNY, France)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

On s'y sens comme chez des amis simplicité, gentillesse, serviabilité,

View more reviews for this inn


Loved this place! Wish we could have stayed longer. at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

5 reviewed on February 05, 2016

What a beautiful, comfortable place to stay during our travels! Valerie was extremely helpful and hospitable (from booking, and throughout our stay). Such a friendly, down-to-earth hostess! Very French country Inn style. A narrow, winding staircase led us up to our spacious, clean and very comfortable room. Valerie made wonderful homemade breakfasts. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace on the main floor at night talking with other guests. Hope to stay there again in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Stay at Chambres d Hôtes Le Petit Matin (Bayeux, France)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2015

I have stayed at Le Petit Matin three times. The hosts, Antoine and Pascal, the house and the service are all wonderful. Pascal is a superb baker who serves copious breakfasts. The location of Le Petit Matin is so lovely, just five minutes away from the fabulous Cathedral. There is a lovely garden in back of the house. Also, Bayeux is a gem of a town, with beautiful architecture, the famous tapestry, fine dining and two excellent museums and many tours to the D Day Beaches. I will keep returning to Le Petit Matin, as it is a treasure.

View more reviews for this inn


Un véritable enchantement ! at LE VIVIER (LION SUR MER, France)

5 reviewed on November 11, 2015

Nous avons passé une semaine de rêve dans un endroit magnifique. Un accueil chaleureux, des hôtes charmants et une table raffinée pour le petit déjeuner. Marie et Pascal nous ont grand ouvert la porte de leur maison et ont tenu à ce que nous nous y sentions comme chez nous. Ils se sont fait un plaisir de nous conseiller les bonnes adresses de la région. Nous n'avons qu'un souhait : y retourner !

View more reviews for this inn


Merci à Liliane et Jean - Jacques at LE GRENIER A SEL (Saint Aubin sur Mer, Lower Normandy)

4.2 reviewed on November 02, 2015

un accueil très sympathique et chaleureux, un environnement magnifique une chambre très agréable et spacieuse, un petit déjeuner copieux et très bon, avec confiture maison . le petit plus un réfrigérateur ou nous avons pu mettre notre bouteille de champagne au frais . A recommander vivement. Nous reviendrons et en parlerons autour de nous. Un grand merci a Liliane et Jean Jacques . BB et GM

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional Comfort, Value and Location at "le ptit grenier" (Bayeux, France)

4.6 reviewed on September 29, 2015

This B&B exceeded our expectations - we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had our own entrance and that the accommodation was much more spacious than we expected. it was spotlessly clean and had the strongest internet signal of any of the places we stayed during our 3.5 week holiday. It had a kitchenette with a kettle, complimentary tea and coffee, a refrigerator & microwave. Breakfast was delivered at a mutually agreed upon time each morning - wonderful fresh baguettes/croissants, jam, cheeses, juice and fresh fruit, and a carafe of delicious hot coffee.The location was ideal - within walking distance to many restaurants and the key sites of Bayeux as well as providing convenient access to the roads leading to the WWll and other sites of interest in the Calvados area. We had free parking on the street just outside our door. Our hosts were very discreet in preserving our privacy while still being available to answer questions and advise on sights to see.

View more reviews for this inn


SUPERBE! at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

5 reviewed on August 12, 2015

Our stay at the Ferme-manoir de Cacharat, was everything and much more than we had dreamed of. Normandy´s culture, class and fine colours, all put into fine spacious rooms, with the greatest hospitality from Mdm Valérie. We were treated as guests of the home, but with a discrete line of privacy and served the best homemade breakfast throughout France. The sense of details and service during our three night stay was nothing but SUPERBE! À bientôt - La famille danoise

View more reviews for this inn


un avre de paix at Ferme De La Houlotte (Nonant, France)

3.6 reviewed on August 10, 2015

accueil chaleureux détente assuré on se retrouve un peut chez soi dans cette belle demeure

View more reviews for this inn


B&B at its best. at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

4.6 reviewed on June 07, 2015

We spent two relaxing , comfortable nights here. Valerie was a charming and attentive hostess sharing information about the local area and loaning us her map. We slept well in a spacious bedroom and woke to swooping swallows outside the bedroom window. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes and the taste buds; home made yogurt, cake, preserves and delicious scrambled eggs. The guest living room is huge and comfortable and as the evenings were chilly Valerie lit a log fire for us to return to after dinner. If you want a special, place to stay and do not mind climbing a stone spiral staircase to bed, go visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Great memories!! at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2015

Highly recommend this beautiful B&B! This is the most charming country farmhouse and Valerie is accommodating, friendly, welcoming, and a wonderful hostess. We were greeted by a lovely fire and a warm smile. We felt like guests rather an customers. Her home was so inviting, we didn't even want to leave for our tours and site-seeing adventures, and looked forward to returning "home" each day. There is a large common area for guests and spacious bedrooms. Our personal bathroom (in the Linen Room) seemed to be the size of our Paris hotel room!! The bedroom allowed space to unpack, reorganize, relax, have lovely views, and a very comfortable bed. Wifi is available in the common room (not the bedrooms), and was fast for us. Each morning we started our day with fresh eggs, yogurt, fruit, bread, and a sweet dish of some sort made each morning by Valerie - the eggs were from Valerie's hens and the yogurt was also homemade. The bread from Valerie's local boulangerie was outstanding and the jams are made by Valerie and her mom. An added very special touch were cookies baked each day and left on the coffee table for us to enjoy. The located between Caen and Bayeux worked great for us - we also really loved the nearby restaurant Valerie suggested. While there we did a D-Day tour, drove to Mont St Michel, Bayeux, and stopped by Honfleur on our way to Paris. There happens to be a local WWII cemetery, which is a beautiful, peaceful walk away. This spotless B&B deserves 10 stars; it's lovely!! It is a place we will remember forever!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful Normandy experience at Chateau de Damigny (Saint Martin des Entrees, France)

5 reviewed on May 21, 2015

My husband and I stayed for two nights with some friends at this B&B in May. This house is lovely, in a beautiful setting and with very good hosts. Although we were late in arriving, Vincent was very accommodating. The rooms were very large and well appointed. Because of other reviews, we requested that Vincent cook for us the evening we returned from touring the Normandy beaches and it was a wonderful ending to our Normandy experience. Other guests at the B&B were at the table for dinner and it was a memorable evening. If you have time, be sure to experience Vincent's evening meal - although the breakfast will illuminate you on his cooking skills.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay. at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2015

We had a great stay here. Went to see the D-day area. This B &B is central to Caen and Bayeax. Very rural and beautiful countryside. The owner, Valerie is a most gracious host. She likes to bake so you will have a very nice breakfast every morning. We highly recommend this B & B. The bedroom is on the second floor with a winding staircase which we enjoyed but if you have a problem with stairs this might not be good for you.

View more reviews for this inn


Il privilegio di alloggiare a Le Vivier at LE VIVIER (LION SUR MER, France)

5 reviewed on April 11, 2015

L'esperienza a Le Vivier è stata unica e irripetibile. Madame Marie ci ha accolto con incomparabile eleganza e cortesia facendoci sentire ospiti privilegiati. Sublimi le colazioni: una perfetta combinazione di raffinatezza e golosità. Lion sur mer è un ottimo punto di partenza per visitare sia la alta che la bassa Normadia e, dunque, per i principali punti di interesse della regione. Più che una vacanza, una gratificazione multisensoriale!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful find at ferme-manoir de Cacharat (Secqueville en Bessin, France, France)

4.4 reviewed on November 18, 2014

We were two couples looking for a base to use for our stay in Normandy. This converted farmhouse was a beautiful find. There are only two rooms so it was very quite. The rooms were very modern and the breakfast was fantastic with eggs to order, homemade pastry and fresh fruit and yogurt. Next time we'll stay longer. The only difficulty might be the narrow stairs leading to the rooms that might be a problem for older couples. Overall, we loved it.

View more reviews for this inn


An elegant and masterful bed and breakfast at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2014

This was the best bed and breakfast that anyone traveling to Normandy could fathom. From the start everything has a touch of class and elegance that traces far back into the roots that the building was founded on. Timeless aesthetics along with tender loving care from the owners exhibit the highest regard for your comfort and stay. Also the breakfast provided is out of this world. Imagine the best tasting jam you've ever had and now ready yourself to have an open mind because this homemade jam made from the fruit in the garden is the sweetest blend of fruit. Also the value that was provided is unmatched in my opinion with anything else out there. There is no questions in my mind about la ferme aux chats, except to book in advance so you can secure yourself the best possible experience bed and breakfast experience.

View more reviews for this inn


accueil chaleureux at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.4 reviewed on September 28, 2014

Dès l'accueil, la "glace" est rompue. Reçu comme d'anciens amis. Confortable, petit déjeûner copieux, discrétion du séjour. Entrée protégée très pratique. Rôs&Jean sont enchantés

View more reviews for this inn


Close to Omaha Beach and Other D-Day Attractions at la ferme aux chats (Formigny, France)

4.8 reviewed on September 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at la ferme aux chats in September 2014. The room was clean and comfortable. The D-Day attractions are just a short drive away. Joelle and Loic were very friendly and made us feel right at home. Our flight from the Baltimore-Washington area landed at 6 AM. Joelle and Loic let us check in early so that we could take a nap. The food was fresh and plentiful and the grounds were beautiful. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. Jim & Lynda S. Columbia, MD USA

View more reviews for this inn


Top
check }