Recent Reviews in Bastrop, Texas

Best experience possible in Smithville! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 10, 2017

Katy House is beautiful the hosts delightful. So perfectly relaxing, great conversations. Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Katy Bed&Breakfasr at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2017

The nicest B&B we have ever visited. Looking forward to visiting again. Janice&Kevin

View more reviews for this inn


Great little town & inviting BnB at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.8 reviewed on April 01, 2017

Beautiful house and very friendly & pleasant host. Look forward to our next visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Midnight Monkey Rides Side Saddle at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2017

This is a true bed and breakfast that's set in a lovely old house with charming rooms and genial hosts that provide steaming mugs of coffee and a delicious full breakfast every single morning! This is the real deal so be prepared for pretty, but tricky footed tubs and quirky toilets, one of which you have to "ride" side saddle! Its within walking distance of cafes, pizza places and a few shops including the zany Midnight Monkey that sometimes opens at midnight to reveal new items. Smithville is in a great location that is only a half an hour or so away from the Warrington/Round Top Antique areas.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved our stay! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.4 reviewed on February 28, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, spacious, clean, and full of character and history. Linda and Stu were very hospitable. Linda seemed to know every person in Smithville and every place we should go check out. I loved how knowledgeable and kind she was...such a neat lady. The town is so cute and welcoming. We will definitely stay there in the near future.

View more reviews for this inn


TLC from the Innkeepers at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on October 25, 2016

Linda and the Katy House hosted our family and friends during the weekend of our son's wedding. The home is beautiful, clean and comfortable. Linda went out of her way to offer any extra help we needed during the hectic weekend.

View more reviews for this inn


Will be back at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on October 24, 2016

I have been by smithville a lot but never knew such a great place was there great people and we will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Smithville stay. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on October 04, 2016

Nice, quiet place to stay. Walkng distance to downtown.

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous place to stay! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

This was my second time staying at Katy House Bed & Breakfast and again, I found it such a treat in all aspects of a bed & breakfast! The people are wonderful and I highly recommend to everyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Experience at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2016

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout the country. The Katy House is beautiful and comfortable. Linda and Stu made us feel like family and gave excellent recommendations for places to eat and visit in town. Looking forward to staying there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely Magical at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2016

This was a uniquely wonderful stay. The room was instantly cozy and welcoming. All amenities were closely attended to in the smallest detail. Our hosts, Stu and Linda, were at once respectfully unobtrusive, and graciously available depending upon our needs. They are an essential component of the comforting environment of the House, and appear to thrive on fulfilling every wish of their guests. I will not hesitate for a moment to consider a future stay at this wonderful place.

View more reviews for this inn


A weekend at the Katy at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Stayed in the Katy Tower for the weekend. It was very restful and the balcony out under the tree was awesome even in Texas August heat.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on July 26, 2016

The room was super charming and the house itself is well appointed. Linda and Stu are wonderful hosts. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and far more than I expected (homemade casseroles). We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Katy House! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2016

Great little house tucked away in Smithville. Owners happily allowed my one-night, weeknight stay and late arrival. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit with Linda over breakfast! Will definitely be back next time I'm in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


The Get Away at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on June 17, 2016

With a very busy 2015 - 2016 school year (son finishing his sophomore year in high school and daughter completed first year at A&M) my wife and I were ready for a break. Of course with a busy summer just around the corner, we didn't want to spend a lot of time driving to and from our "get away". We found the Katy House B&B in Smithville, Texas. Perfect! Not a far drive and definitely a change in pace from the Houston/Katy area. What? Nothing to do in Smithville? Perfect! Of course there's always something going on in Smithville or anywhere else, just punch that adventurous button inside and stroll around town and talk with the town folks. Might learn about the railroad between Smithville and Katy, or the Guinness World Record 20-ft tall ginger bread man, or about a Negro Baseball league that played on a park south of town. Then after all that exercise, it's back to the B&B in our comfortable room, great food and - did I say peace and quiet? It was great!

View more reviews for this inn


Tough Mudder at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

Best weekend my wife and I have had in a long time. We scheduled our stay for next year before we check-out.

View more reviews for this inn


A Sweet Step Back in Time at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

3.8 reviewed on May 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Linda and Stu were wonderful hosts - friendly and available, but they didn't crowd our space. The room was lovely. We spent a little more and booked a room with a balcony, where we spent the evening with a bottle of wine. Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed visiting with the other guests. The only drawback was there wasn't anything to do in the evening (so yea balcony!). The great thing about Smithville is it's a step back in time. The drawback? It's a step back in time. It sounds like there are some weekends with lots of activities. Plan to visit those weekends if you're looking for fun. Quiet relaxation? Anytime!

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect little getaway! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 15, 2016

My daughter and I stayed with Linda, at Katy House, for a girl's night in Smithville. It was amazing! The combination of old charm and character, mixed with beautiful furniture and decor made this the perfect place for us. Our room (the Bluebonnet) was clean, comfortable and SO charming! Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Linda was so accommodating and gracious, but super friendly and down-to-Earth at the same time. You don't feel like you're a guest, but like you're a friend. Linda sat and chatted with us, gave us pointers on places to shop and eat and hugged us when we left. This is the only place we'll stay when visiting Smithville!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful getaway at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.2 reviewed on May 10, 2016

This was an a amazing and much needed getaway location! Katy House was nestled in walking distance from Honeys, Back Door Cafe, Huebels Beir Garden and the Front Room (a very cool bar), and Bone distillery. It is also a short drive from Rohan Meadery. The ambiance is cozy and relaxing, and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. I love the front porch breeze and rocking chairs. I will definitely be going back!

View more reviews for this inn


Great find! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2016

We loved our stay here last weekend. Pleasantly surprised at what a great little area Smithsville is and so very grateful the B and B was where we stayed instead of a hotel. We were there for Thunder on the Colorado and we have to say our time at the B and B was better than the event for us! We came with friends and we had the room with the balcony so both nights finished sitting on the balcony enjoying the lovely weather and ambiance. What a great host Stu was and we hope to meet Linds on our next trip there. We will definitely go back! Thank you !

View more reviews for this inn


Love the Katie house at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on April 26, 2016

My husband and I have stayed here twice, both times treated like family. Linda and Stewart are the best host's. I would highly recommend staying at this bed and breakfast and enjoying the sweet town. You will be hooked.

View more reviews for this inn


Great service. Definitelly recommend it at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on April 11, 2016

Stu (owner) was super nice and helpful. Great place and walking distance to awesome restaurants. If you are doing the Austin Rattler, this place is only 7 minutes from Rocky Hill Ranch.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful surprise! at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

4.6 reviewed on March 23, 2016

Last minute plans and we were searching accomodations near Smithville. All the major hotel chains in nearby Bastrop were basically the same $ as the Katy House. We made reservations and the stay was as memorable as one can imagine. Linda and Stu were extremely knowledgeable about the history of Smithville. Breakfast was fabulous!! Made new friends and if in the area will stay at Katy House. I definitely recommend staying there!!

View more reviews for this inn


10th wedding anniversary trip at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 21, 2016

We stayed here as part of our 10th wedding anniversary trip. We were traveling by bicycle and the hosts were able to accommodate us. Not only was the house beautiful and the room comfortable, but we throughly enjoyed getting to know Linda and her family. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


THE way to R&R at THE best B&B everrrrr at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on March 01, 2016

In wanting to plan a girls getaway between Houston & Austin, took map and divinely pointed to Smithville, knowing absolutely nothing about the town. Well, from the get-go, we were so pleasantly impressed. Linda & Stu were the most pleasant & charming hosts we could have asked for.The Katy House is a perfect place to dust off the city & enter another, much slower & more pleasant time. They made us feel at home & instantly the relaxation mode kicked in. The rooms are all of different decor & our room especially, The Texas Special, was particularly charming, with a lovely veranda. My friend & I shared a glass of wine & caught up on our lives while looking out towards downtown, a whole block away. Walking definitely in order, as there have been over a dozen movies filmed here & oh my, let's not forget the tons of history. The railroad station & tracks just a block away....totally soothing to hear the trains coming thru. We will definitely return, and sooner rather than later.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B I have ever been to. at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

My wife and I stayed at The Katy House and were amazed from the first moment that Linda greeted us at the door. She showed us to our private oasis in the back yard of the property (Katy Tower) and made sure that we had everything that we needed. Linda then wished my wife Happy Birthday and told us of some sites to see while we were in town. Later that evening, around 8pm we heard a knock on the door and when I went to open it no one was there, but to my surprise there was a vase with roses in it and 2 bottles of water. The next morning we awoke to the serenity of the birds chirping in the trees and the smell of fresh bread being baked in the main house. We went over and had a wonderful breakfast where we met Stu, Linda's husband and ate a great breakfast of locally sourced food. Our visit couldn't have gone any better and if you are ever anywhere close to Smithville, TX make sure that you stay at The Katy House and wnjoy Stu and Linda's amazing hospitality. We will definitely be back again! Chris and Jenn Conley Granbury, TX

View more reviews for this inn


Ron and Julie from Kansas City at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2016

My husband and I had a business trip in Smithville. I was so excited to find this wonderful bed and breakfast, the Katy House via searching the internet. The interior living space, guest rooms and adjoining restrooms have been completely renovated from the pictures on their website but keeping with the age, beauty and history of the house-absolutely beautiful! The highest quality bedding made for one of the best nights sleep we had in a very long time. In addition, the owners Linda and Stu made us feel right at home and a delicious breakfast was served each morning. You must make this part of your travel plans when you visit Smithville- you will not be disappointed ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!

View more reviews for this inn


Quick trip at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on December 09, 2015

My husband and I made a quick trip to Smithville and stayed on,y 1 night at Katy House. Linda and Stu were outstanding with their hospitality. Stu went over and above in accommodating my husbands football frenzie..... Had the tv tuned to the game when we arrived. It was so comfy cozy that it was like visiting the home of your very best friend. I definitely want to go back when we can stay a little longer

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Place in small town Smithville at Katy House Bed and Breakfast (Smithville, Texas)

5 reviewed on November 24, 2015

Clean cozy and great owners!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Old World Charm at Pecan Street Inn (Bastrop, Texas)

4.0 reviewed on November 16, 2015

First of all I'd like to thank the owners Bill & Shawn for being so kind and letting us feel like part of their family. This beautiful old house was built in 1903 and was just gorgeous. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The breakfasts were extremely tasty (hat's off to Bill for being so kind to this vegetarian)!!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay and it's in the perfect town for a weekend getaway. There is a lot to see and do in Bastrop and all the people we met during our stay were extremely friendly. If you are looking for a home away from home then this is the place to go. I'd give the owners 5 stars on hospitality and I can't wait to go visit them again!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Katy House Bed and Breakfast (4.69)
  2. Pecan Street Inn (4.55)
Top
}