Recent Reviews in Alexandria, Virginia

A treasure in Alexandria. at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on September 26, 2017

Alexandria's Treasure House is a little treasure. Moina and Lee are both caring hosts. Moina has quite a story to tell. Her history is entwined with the history of Washington, DC. And she is willing to share if you are willing to listen. We had the on-suite room. It was large and very comfortable. It had the little details that made our stay not only comfortable but charming. Breakfasts are simple but filling. You will never leave hungry. In our opinion, the location was great. It was a beautiful walk from the B&B to the train stations. If you enjoy older architecture, this is a fun walk. There is a hill but it isn't intense. After a long day walking all over DC, the walk from the station to the B&B was a bit slower though. All in all, we would gladly stay with Moina and Lee again.

View more reviews for this inn


Review at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.4 reviewed on July 29, 2017

The room was very nice, large, and comfortable. The breakfast wasn't up to par compared to ther B and B's in which we have stayed.

View more reviews for this inn


warm & cozy at Gatsby's House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 19, 2017

We had a lovely time with Marie in her charming home. She is the best cook ever and breakfast was always a surprise and a treat. We have never been so well cared for and we feel like we have a new friend.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at a Great B&B! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 14, 2017

We loved everything about our stay at Alexandria's Treasure House... but mostly Moina and Lee, who were the most thoughtful and kind hosts that you could hope for- they made us feel right at home. The house is located in a peaceful neighborhood of large houses, a short walk from the Metro and Old Town. The bedrooms and common rooms are in great condition, roomy, and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious, and a friendly affair with Moina giving us some advice on the area, and telling some stories about her history in the area. Overall, staying here made our adventure thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


Very convenient and comfortable place to stay. at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 19, 2017

Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The location was good for easy access to the historical downtown area. Our host was very gracious and the morning's breakfast was very good.

View more reviews for this inn


Met all our expectations at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2017

Great service! It was wonderful to talk with Moina the owner while we enjoyed a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful location! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on May 15, 2017

Lovely hostess, great location, clean and very pretty rooms, but go out for breakfast!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely house, not so close to Metro at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on January 30, 2017

If you need a place to crash, this is your place. While I am sure some consider the Metro walking distance, the terrain is hilly, and with poor winter weather, I would recommend getting a car or a ride. The bed was extremely hard, and the breakfast was well intentioned but basic, and prepared by the lovely proprietress who must be in her 90s. I found it very difficult to be served by a dear, hard working woman who clearly deserves to retire but is charging on, as is her right, of course. Overall, a good stay.

View more reviews for this inn


GREAT PLACE TO STAY at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2016

DISCOVERED THIS BED AND BREAKFAST IN 2014. HAD TO RETURN. MOINA AND LEE ARE WONDERFUL HOST. CLOSE TO THE RAIL LINE INTO WASHINGTON DC (HATE TO DRIVE AND TRY TO FIND PARKING IN D.C.) ALEXANDRIA IS A GREAT CITY WITH PLENTY OF FINE DINING OPTIONS.

View more reviews for this inn


Just like home at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on October 28, 2016

Nice home, within .7 miles of King St metro stop. Walkable to Old Town Restaurants too. Very cleanly and loved getting to know the proprietor, Moina. What a doll. Shares good stories and provides a wonderful time. Felt like I had come home to momma.

View more reviews for this inn


It really is a Treasure! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on October 08, 2016

Moina provides a spotless, comfortable home for your stay in the D.C. area. It's like visiting your grandma! Old-fashioned, cozy and friendly. Moina is elegant, intelligent and fun to spend time with. She made a delicious breakfast for us at whatever time we requested and sat to visit with us while we ate. It just felt natural to hug her when we checked out.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and a very warm welcome at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on September 25, 2016

The one drawback was the absence of working wifi. I was in Alexandria and DC on business and this made things difficult for me.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet getaway in Olde Towne Alexandria at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.8 reviewed on September 05, 2016

The Treasure House is a warm inviting place in a quiet area,full of vintage and thoughtful items for your use and very close to the free metro line. Moina and Lee are very welcoming. Rather than a menu, they ask you what you want for breakfast and that is what we got. So if you don't tell them, don't complain. We were there for an afternoon and evening in Olde Town and the next day at Mt. Vernon, which is close by. We would definitely stay again.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet Refuge in Alexandria at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 11, 2016

This is a peaceful retreat in the Rosemont neighborhood of Alexandria, within short walking distance of the King Street Metro Station. The hosts are experts in hospitality. I have stayed there several times in the last four years and I always have a good experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice night at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on July 04, 2016

House is well maintained and the rooms are large and comfortable. We selected this location to be within walking/uber distance of some of our favorite spots in Del Ray and Old Town Alexandria. We didn't want a hotel. The Treasure House was perfect for our needs.

View more reviews for this inn


A treasure, indeed! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

A very charming hostess and a lovely home. Moina was so very accommodating in every way possible. Very nice and clean room. Great neighborhood, walking distance to the Metro and the Old Town area. If you are looking for a lunch or dinner spot I highly recommend Bilbo Baggins!!

View more reviews for this inn


Treasure House review at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on May 30, 2016

Very quite and just 6 blocks from the Metra.

View more reviews for this inn


Great neighborhood stay close to Metro and Old Town at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on May 25, 2016

Great stay for my business trip. Thinking of returning here for vacation. Easy curbside parking and quiet neighborhood with park around the corner.

View more reviews for this inn


Queen Suite Review at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on May 23, 2016

The Alexandria Treasure house is a charming little B&B in VA. The queen suite was very nice and the bathroom was beautiful. Moina is an absolute doll, very spunky and fun to talk to. I would stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


A pleasure to stay at Treasurd House at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 07, 2016

We stayed two nights between a trip to Shenandoah NP and a meeting in DC. Morna Ratliff was a gracious hostess with a fascinating life story. Our room was very comfortable, and it is in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood. It was convenient for our trip to Mt. Vernon and to the National Mall. Would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay, great hosts at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 05, 2016

Alexandria's Treasure House is a quiet refuge within easy walking distance of Old Town and the George Washington Masonic Temple. The house is spacious and very tastefully decorated, yet comfortable. The hosts will treat you like a good friend. I always regret leaving and every return feels like a homecoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home with charming owners. at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2016

What a lovely home in a beautiful part of town. Though it was farther from the old part of downtown than I chose t walk I could have I know. The room was spacious and so clean in every part of the house it was actually shocking that people lived there. I'd recommend it completely to others.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay. at Gatsby's House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

The Gatsby's House is perfectly located, in a quiet neighborhood, just a short walk to the main shopping, restaurant, and museum areas on King Street. The room is clean and inviting, Marie is most gracious and very informative, and the breakfasts are 5 star.

View more reviews for this inn


Absolutely the best. at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on March 13, 2016

I have stayed in many b&b and they are all unique in their own way. This was a charming old house with a great innkeeper and her daughter. The place was immaculate and we were treated like royalty.

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful bedroom but breakfast lacking at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on February 13, 2016

Moina was wonderful. Really caring. Lovely living room and smaller sitting room both available for us. Stayed in Queen Suite. Large, comfortable, restful. Large walk-in closet that is used slightly for storage for household. Bathroom with tub/shower. Great counter space with sink. Only problem is with breakfast. Tableware very nice, linens beautiful. But breakfast itself was minimal; small fresh fruit cup, simple toast, scrambled eggs with bad flavor, two beef sausage links, and large danish that could have been purchased at 7-11. Coffee, tea, orange juice and water. We stayed for two nights and breakfast was worse the second morning. We went out for breakfast that morning. Moina tries really hard, but someone just needs to let her know that B & B customers expect a really nice breakfast, of quality and diversity

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2016

Moina is always a gracious host and we were very happy to be in her care again, if only for one night. The house is beautiful, the neighborhood is very, very nice, and it's a convenient location for touristing.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Location for George Washington's Home in Mount Vernon at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 13, 2015

We spent the day in George Washington's Home in Mount Vernon, and then drove a short distance to Alexandria's Treasure House. The owner was very hospitable and helpful. She recommended an excellent restaurant nearby where parking was not an issue. Breakfast was served at a time that was convenient for us and was delicious. The house in general and our room in particular were immaculate.

View more reviews for this inn


A very comfortable stay at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on October 09, 2015

We spent one night in the Queen room which is the only one of five rooms with a private bath. The others share a bath between two rooms. It is a lovely, comfortable and spacious room with a walk in robe and a very well appointed bathroom. Everything is spotlessly clean and Moina and Lee have made every effort to provide every amenity you could need. We parked our rental car on the street and left it there throughout our stay. It is an easy stroll down the hill to the Metro stop should you wish to go to Washington DC or to the end of King Street where you can hop on and off the free tram anywhere along the street all the way down to the riverfront. Moina provides a very gracious breakfast. We also used the kitchen during the previous evening to make some sandwiches and enjoy a bottle of wine after a wet excursion to the waterfront. We were the only guests in the house that evening. The garden looked very inviting for a leisurely evening but the weather was horrible during our stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous Stay! at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2015

This was an amazing place. Moina's hospitality was perfect. Breakfast was a true elegant delight.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved it. at Alexandria's Treasure House (Alexandria, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 20, 2015

Moina is great and the room was flawless. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Gatsby's House (4.94)
  2. Bon Sejour (4.72)
  3. Alexandria's Treasure House (4.54)
Top
check }