Recent Reviews in Alden, Michigan

A beautiful getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2016

My wife and I wanted to get away for a long weekend and The Inn at Torch Lake was the perfect spot. We stayed in the Torch Lake room which is incredibly spacious and beautifully decorated. The weather turned nasty on Saturday so the beautiful, warm fireplace was terrific. Harvey is a fantastic host and the breakfasts he makes are wonderful. We truly felt like we got away to a private oasis. If you go, I think you'll hate leaving. And if you're a dog person, I recommend asking Harvey if you could meet Merlin--he's a big sweetie!

View more reviews for this inn


A gem at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

4.6 reviewed on October 24, 2016

Traverse City is a great town, but the cost of accommodations there is staggering and, in my experience, dull as can be. Inn at Torch Lake is still within striking distance of TC, but gushing with charm. Our room was tremendous... great bedding, comfortable furnishings and impressive details everywhere. I peeked into the other 3 rooms to see that each was unique and impressive. More importantly, Inn-keeper Harvey works hard to make sure his guests are comfortable, well-fed (great homemade breakfast) and happy. Alden is barely a town, but peaceful as can be. The location places you within striking distance to TC, Elk Rapids and Bellaire for eateries, breweries, etc. Inn at Torch Lake is a winner!

View more reviews for this inn


Favorite B&B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 31, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed retuning to the Inn at Torch Lake and celebrating our 30th anniversary on August 23rd. Harvey always exceeds our expectations! He is so welcoming, kind and makes the best breakfasts! The rooms are well appointed and very tasteful, well kept and clean. The beds are most comfortable. I can honestly say this is our "go to" place to stay every year.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Room, Fantastic Host at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2016

The Inn at Torch Lake is a fantastic B & B. The room was luxurious with a fireplace and personal deck. I'm a breakfast guy and Harvey, the host, made some of the best breakfasts I've ever had. His knowledge of the area is exceptional and every recommendation was spot on, whether it was where to eat or where to find a beautiful trail to hike. The locations is superb. A short ride to Traverse City but in the really quaint little town of Alden. Torch Lake itself is gorgeous and only a block away. I've stayed at a lot of B & Bs and this is by far the best. Harvey's dog Merlin is a great co-host. You can't go wrong staying here and Harvey's graciousness will make your stay memorable.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and quiet at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

4.8 reviewed on July 20, 2016

Inn keeper is very friendly and accommodating. He remembers everyone's name and greets you personally every day. The breakfast each day was a nice variety to meet every taste, artfully home made. The town is quiet and walk-able. Although no views of the lake, it is a short block to the water's edge to view the beautiful sunset.

View more reviews for this inn


Felt like a luxery hotel! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Absolutely incredible. Beyond expectations. Harvey went above and beyond for us. I have dietary issues and he made sure to cook something for me every morning. Plus it was delicious! The room was also incredible and Harvey's hospitality was incredible. We are already planning another trip there.

View more reviews for this inn


Harvey was great as always at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on April 24, 2016

This is the 4th time staying here. This stay was as great as all the others. The inn keeper Harvey always goes above and beyond to accommodate his guests.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Plus Stars! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 21, 2016

5 Plus Stars! Harvey is a most gracious host and excellent breakfast chef. Rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable. We had a superb weekend stay. Will use again. Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Girls Getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2015

Inn at Torch Lake was perfect for our girls getaway trip! The rooms were tastefully done, the beds and linens were luxurious and so comfortable. Harvey thought of everything! We were a group of three ladies with a lot of luggage and Harvey was so helpful getting all of our luggage to our room.The breakfast in the morning was simply amazing! Our experience at Torch Lake Inn couldn't have been better. Can't wait to return!

View more reviews for this inn


You cannot find a finer place to stay! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 23, 2015

We stayed in two different rooms in the Inn. They were both just beautiful - lovely furnishings and balcony with flowers. It must have been restored recently as the bathrooms and kitchenettes are like new. The breakfast is different every day, all delicious/gourmet and hearty, There are two bicycles you can use to explore the village. The Inn is one block from the Torch Lake boat launch/lake access and there are several access points within walking distance where you can go for a swim. Alden has several cute shops, restaurants and a historic train depot all near the Inn. The Coy Preserve has walking trails. It is also very quiet at night. We loved staying there. Harvey is a wonderful host.

View more reviews for this inn


Recharge at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2015

My husband took me here for my birthday-it was beyond amazing. We stayed in the Torch Lake room and felt like we moved in for the weekend. Harvey and Merlin were the best hosts. Our batteries are recharged. We will definitely be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Big Good Surprise - Exceeding Expectations at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on March 27, 2015

I booked here on a business trip and was amazed at the thought that went into making my stay warm and comfortable. The room - wow - every detail from the lighting to the decor and the TV were considered for the comfort and ease of the guest. The location is nice - you can do an easy stroll down to the beautiful blue lake or a quick drive to Bellaire or Traverse City for food. Convenient but quiet. The Inn is clean, clean, clean and as I said, so well considered. The innkeeper, Harvey, is friendly but not nosey, He even bought me heavy cream for my coffee in the morning. A very good place to stay and a very good value. I'll go there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Honeymoon Get Away at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 03, 2014

The Torch Lake Inn is a great place to stay. We were told by a friend to spend our honeymoon at the Torch lake Inn. I was glad that we did. We stayed in the Torch Lake room, which was very large and relaxing. The entire Inn was very clean and peaceful. Harvey made an amazing breakfast everyday. His Ginger bread and stuffed french toast were to die for. We had cookies left in our room on our first night. I would recommend the Inn to anyone. The location is great!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter Getaway at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on March 07, 2014

What an absolutely delightful Inn to chase away the COLD winter blues. The Inn at Torch Lake has the most beautiful, warm rooms, great host and delicious breakfast. We have stayed here in the summer, and now the winter. Both have been beyond terrific. Thank you from Huffington

View more reviews for this inn


Best B & B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2013

For the past four years we along with three other couples have stayed at The Inn at Torch Lake during our annual golf outing. Each year our stay gets better and better. Harvey keeps adding new decorations and updating the rooms so they are consistently fresh and new. The breakfasts are different with each new stay and seem more fabulous than the time before (if that were possible). What I like most is it can be a very private quiet experience in your room, or it can be a fun interactive experience with other guests in the common area where coffee, tea and snacks are always available to assist in great conversations. Harvey is there to recommend great restaurants and places to visit, along with the great golf courses. I guarantee you will not find a nicer bread and breakfast. Each and every experience has been fantastic!! Thank you Harvey!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful retreat at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2013

My husband and I just returned home from a wonderfully relaxing trip in Northern Michigan. We have been up north many times, yet have never stayed in the Torch Lake area. In researching Bed and Breakfasts I came across the Inn at Torch Lake and was immediately attracted to the more modern look and feel I got just from viewing the photos online. The atmosphere is just that in person as well! This bed and breakfast has the privacy of a hotel and yet the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. It was amazing! All rooms are equipped with everything you need for a private stay (mini fridge/wet bar, to small deck off room for outdoor relaxation, to private bathroom in all rooms) or a social stay (tables around breakfast area to eat/socialize, to some outside seating around the Inn as well.) It is a short walk to beautiful Torch Lake and right in the middle of the downtown area of Alden. The Inn is located just about 25 minutes out of Traverse City and about an hour from Petoskey - great location for those looking to do day trip travels around northern Michigan! We will most definitely be back to see Harvey and to stay at his beautiful Inn at Torch Lake!

View more reviews for this inn


A very relaxing place for a very relaxing weekend. at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2013

We planned our stay at the Inn at Torch lake with the recommendation of a friend, and we just can't believe how amazing this B&B is. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was one of the lower-priced rooms (read less expensive, not cheap) at the Inn, but it was still perfect. The Inn is quiet, and the surrounding town is very peaceful yet there is a lot to do. It is only half an hour from Traverse City and only an hour from Sleeping Bear Dunes. The Inn served as a great "home base" for adventures last week. The Inn Keeper, Harvey, was great. He provided anything we needed, and made the most excellent breakfasts.He is even accommodating of special dietary needs, such as Gluten Free or an allergies. All you have to do is ask. There is also a nice little gift shop that he runs on the ground floor of the Inn, and any guests get 20% off purchases, which is really nice. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay, and my wife is begging me to come back every year for the rest of, well, forever... Definitely a great place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Our favorite stay in the north! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn three years in a row and will make reservations for our fourth! Our host Harvey Bartel has always made sure that our stay is memorable and each year he outdoes himself with the gourmet breakfast. If I could afford it, I would live there!!!! Excellent location as well. Just a short walk to the most beautiful lake in North America! Wonderful shops and botiques in Alden as well as the Alden Bar that serves great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply Amazing at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2013

After visiting Harvey on our honeymoon last year, we decided to make the trip up for our anniversary. Harvey was more than hospitable. He was great. The room was spotless, the breakfast was amazing as usual. Harvey treated us like family on our stay, and that is why we returned and will continue to return. Alden is a charming little town. But the real reason we come to the inn is because of Harvey. Thank you so much for everything and can't wait to come and stay again! -David and Radmila

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome B&B at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. I really can't think of anything negative to say about it or our experience there. I did a ton of research before booking a b&b and couldn't have felt more fortunate to have found the Inn at Torch Lake. We were traveling with two children, ages 1 & 4. Harvey always make us feel welcome and never once did I feel out of place with the kids there. The town of Alden is charming and even had a playground for the children. The breakfasts were fantastic. The room was top notch: super comfortable beds, beautifully decorated, very clean and the towels were super soft (yes, I do pay attention to everything) Thanks Harvey & Merlin for a fabulous stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2012

We recently returned from our first trip to Torch Lake. We can not say enough about our experience staying at the Inn at Torch Lake. Harvey was so accommodating. We had our 20 month old son with us and he never made us worry about him being there. He was very helpful in pointing us in a great direction for our day - where to visit and/or where to eat. We look forward to visiting again soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Torch Lake B&B is the BEST! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2012

We just returned from another AMAZING weekend on Torch Lake thanks to Harvey and the staff at the Inn at Torch Lake. This is the absolute best spot to stay if you are visiting the lake. Our group of 14 rented the entire B&B and were treated wonderfully! We will return year after year for the amazing breakfasts, gorgeous rooms, and hospitality that Harvey provides! #1 in our book!! Thanks Harvey :) Ranelle & The Torch Lake 2012 group

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Experience at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

4.2 reviewed on July 25, 2012

We were blown away by our experience here. Truly the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at. We will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable and Delicious at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at the Inn at Torch Lake. It was delightful in every way. Harvey catered to our every need. And the food was nothing short of delicious. The peanut butter cookies as a bedtime treat were over the top.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Torch Lake at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 09, 2012

We had an absolutely great experience at The Inn. Our room had all of the warmth and charm and cleanliness of a five star inn and more. Harvey went the extra mile by offering to clean Kathy's soiled white sweater that accidentally fell out of our car before we arrived in Alden. Harvey also went the extra mile preparing a special omelet for Kathy. The breakfast was fabulous! We look forward to our next get away visit at The Inn! Frank and Kathy

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding is an understatement! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2012

My wife and I came up for our honeymoon and we were blown away. Harvey was a delightful person to talk with on the phone and was very attentive to our wants and needs. Once we arrived, Harvey greeted us with freshly baked cookies, and a glass of wine. Talk about world class service. Gourmet breakfast each morning, and the whole Inn was pristine. The room was spotless, the furniture was comfortable. This was our first time at Torch Lake, and it most certainly won't be the last. We cannot wait to bring friends and family our next time up. Harvey, THANK YOU for making our trip so memorable, we appreciate your professionalism and care for your guests. -David and Radmila Oxford MI

View more reviews for this inn


May visit at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2012

My husband and I, along with our 2 and 1/2 year old son, just spent a wonderful 2 nights at this inn and already, we can't wait to return. Harvey has done a perfect job with this place -- rooms are lovely, beds are comfortable, linens are luxurious, walls are soundproof (we checked with our neighbors to make sure our early-rising son hadn't disturbed anyone and they hadn't even been aware that he was with us), decor is simple and refreshingly free of the lace and teddy bears so often found in B&Bs, and the food is fantastic. Harvey is a wonderful, gracious host who somehow made us feel both pampered and at home. We can't recommend this spot enough.

View more reviews for this inn


see ya soon Harvey at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Torch Lake Inn for our honey moon in May 2011,it was the best place we could have picked,the room we stayed in was very much so wonderful it was such a quite peaceful romantic stay.the breakfast that Harvey cooked himself for us was such a wonderful and enjoyable way to start each morning. he made the stay there even more so enjoyable.he gave great advice on things to do well we were there and the store he has was a joy to shop at also.thank you Harvey for making our stay and our honey moon one to remember.we will forsure be coming back!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Nothing better on Torch at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2011

Hands down the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Harvey and his accommodations are top notch in more ways than can be explained. From the amazing, downtown Alden location to the ease of the lake just steps away this really is the best Torch Lake experience one could hope for! We'll be back in the winter to visit again and do some wonderful Michigan activities just to return here! Thanks again Harvey!

View more reviews for this inn


The Best !! at Inn at Torch Lake (Alden, Michigan)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2011

We have gone to a lot of bed and breakfast over the years. This was the best ! Harvey and his small dog " Mirlin ", make your stay very special ! Curtis & Gayle Watkins

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inn at Torch Lake (4.94)
Top
check }