Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast Reviews


View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness5
  • Onsite Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
20 Reviews

Write A Review


4.8 on June 15, 2017

Only had a brief stay at this B&B but it was wonderful - hosts were great, room and inn were lovely, easy to get to do, cute dogs. :-) Will stay again if I find myself in the area again, and will recommend to others.

Two nights in Anchorage

4.6 on August 20, 2016

Particularly nice common area for the 3 guest rooms. Our own kitchen, dining and lounge area. Could easily have stayed longer. It was a good 10 minute walk to local (good) restaurants and a drive to downtown Anchorage. A good continental breakfast was provided each morning.

Very comfortable place to stay

4.4 on August 09, 2016

Really nice common area for the 3 bedrooms which included a kitchen. Would definitely stay here again.


4.8 on July 29, 2016

Very nice facility. Separate living area & kitchen for guests only. Exceptionally clean & quiet. Hosts were very accommodating, even packing us a breakfast for our early morning flight.

An Oasis of Peace on my busy trip.

5 on July 26, 2016

I would readily stay here again, it was a peaceful oasis for my soul after a very busy cruise. The breakfast was wonderful, with home made coffee cake, yummy, and granola I wish I could buy in our store here. Thank you to our hosts.

great b and b

5 on July 04, 2016

Bed and breakfast was perfect for our 2 night stay...great host.

The best B & B

5 on July 03, 2016

This is one of the nicest B & B we have ever stayed, wish we could have stayed longer.

We'll be back

5 on July 03, 2016

Beautiful property and friendly hosts.

Very nice place!!!!

4.0 on September 25, 2015

Nice Alaskan Decor, felt like your own home. Had opportunity to meet owner, which was great! Our schedule didn't allow for much time spent, know we would have enjoyed more time!

nice and quiet

5 on August 22, 2015

great location. just minutes from airport. our hosts were fantastic!

Short stay but inviting place to stay

4.6 on August 17, 2015

We were stuck in traffic for 8 hours coming back from the Kenai peninsula called and talked to the host and let them know of a very late arrival time. They provided helpful information and arriving very late was no problem. The room was very inviting and comfortable. We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast and the host fixed us to go breakfast and put it in the refrigerator - most thoughtful! I would recommend a stay here.

Clean, Comfortable, Convenient and Welcoming

4.6 on July 25, 2015

I was in Anchorage for several days and opted to stay at the Fireweed in the Wrangell room. This was my first stay here, and I had a great time. The Fireweed is located in a quiet neighborhood not too far from Highway 1 which was good for me because I was travelling around Anchorage and points North and South. The famous Moose's Tooth Pizza Pub is a walk-able distance. and downtown is about a 7-10 minute drive. John and Jennifer have done a wonderful job of creating an inviting atmosphere. Everything felt new and updated. The bed was comfortable and the shower was strong. There's nice common space for socializing with other guests (which I appreciated), but enough space for privacy if not. I really enjoyed chatting with Jon and Jennifer too and learning a little about local life in Anchorage. Honestly I was a bit hesitant as I don't usually stay in B&Bs., but the hotels in Anchorage were a little pricey. I'm really glad that I chose the Fireweed. It made my trip to Alaska much more enjoyable, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who's looking for a good base of operations for several days or just a comfortable bed for the night. Thank you John and Jennifer for the hospitality. I had a blast!

Excelent and perfect B&B

5 on July 07, 2015

The rooms and all facilities match exactly the pics from the internet: very clean, very comfy, nice atmosphere, safe place to stay. Definitely worth the money. Amazing intérieur: sharing living room and kitchen and floor: with fireplace, large kitchen and very comfy seating area. Nice sun terrace on the roof top. And last but not least: Jennifer and John are perfect hosts. To be recommended: 100 %! Julie from Germany, from 20-21 June '15

Innkeeper Response
Julie, It was a pleasure to host you. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Friendly Owners and Beautiful, Quiet, and Peaceful Place.

5 on June 02, 2015

I strongly recommended this Beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The owner is friendly and the place is very clean and quite. The decoration is lovely!!!

Innkeeper Response
Glad you enjoyed your stay. John and I had a lot of fun decorating in our Alaska theme.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

A home far away from home.

5 on August 10, 2014

Nice and clean room. Complete kitchen. Tasty breakfast. We enjoyed our stay with the McKinnon family. Perfect hosts.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure hosting you.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Super clean, modern, nice rooms, ordinary breakfast

3.4 on August 04, 2014

We did enjoy our stay at Fireweed Manor. The bed was very comfortable. We shared a bath which was no problem for us. The rooms are in the basement with a separate side entrance. There was another couple in the room on the other side of the bath but the room with separate bath was vacant. When we arrived there was a freshly made plate of brownies and lots of other munchies available. They had a lot of tourist information and maps which were very handy. We wanted to ride bikes one day and they offered the use of their bikes but unfortunately one had a flat. The house is located very near a bike path that connects with the waterfront bike path. So my only nits to pick are the breakfast and the sinks! The owners said that breakfast was at 7:00 (that's a guess, I can't remember exactly) but other than (very good) fresh berries was just store bought items, granola, yogurt, muffins, bread, etc. There was plenty but we are used to a cooked meal and more interaction with the hosts. They were very nice and like I said this is a nit-picky item. The sinks were a funny thing. They look beautiful but are not as functional as a plain old sink. They were a quartz or some other material with glass inlays and were very well done. Unfortunately they have no depth so you can hardly wash your hands without touching the faucet or the bottom of the sink. Maybe this is a modern trend and I am just too old school. If I were just giving a rating on my own criteria this would be 4 stars but this site's guidelines are pretty tough so it looks like 3-1/2. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your review. We remember you well and are truly sorry that our bike had a flat the morning you requested to borrow them and ride. We were happy you were able to sightsee our city's beautiful trails with rental bikes downtown. You are correct, our breakfasts are at 7am to accommodate the variety of guests' travel plans. We pride ourselves in our healthy breakfasts and John personally makes his own granola. I try to make a fresh baked item each morning, whether muffins, biscuits or sweet breads. We do, however, buy fresh croissants since I haven't mastered them yet! Our sinks are unique and custom made from an artist in Big Lake, Alaska. We are very proud of our remodel and decor but are sorry they didn't meet your needs. We were happy to host you and glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Clean, comfy, & quiet

5 on July 20, 2014

Nice place, recently updated with new paint, carpet and furnishings. Breakfast is set out for you at 7 am but you can eat whatever time you get up. Nice deck to enjoy with a fire in the evenings. Easy access to the bus line to get around. Next time I'm in anchorage I will stay here.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review! It's been a gorgeous summer to enjoy the deck! We look forward to hosting you in the future.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Perfect for our needs

4.6 on July 20, 2014

We really appreciated the full kitchen with snacks, comfortable living room, office area, and our private room and bath. The fountain outside the living room was a delightful surprise, and the deck was perfect for enjoying the sunshine. The location was ideal for shopping and doctor visits. We will definitely recommend Fireweed Manor to our friends and relatives.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your comments. It's been a lovely summer on the deck!

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Couldn't have had a better experience!!!

5 on July 14, 2014

We will definitely be staying here again, and telling friends and family about it when they visit Anchorage. We were blown away by the entire experience - thank you so much Fireweed Manor!!!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your gracious review! It was our pleasure hosting you. Glad you enjoyed your B and B experience.

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Fantastic in Anchorage

5 on June 26, 2014

The property is absolutely immaculate and recently remodeled. A convenient location, with easy access to the Anchorage bike trail system. The owners John and Jennifer are very gracious and accommodating and sincerely care about your comfort. Highly recommend a stay at Fireweed Manor while in Anchorage. Bret & Beverly - Mammoth Lakes, Ca.

Innkeeper Response
Thanks so much Bret and Beverly! It was great getting to know you while soaking up the June "midnight sun" on the deck. Thank you also for your personal referral. We are happy to have met such a great couple!

- Jennifer McKinnon (innkeeper)

Fireweed Manor Bed and Breakfast


  • Nightly Rate $145 - $150
  • Reviews (20) 4.7
  • Rooms 3
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-9072236671
  • Toll free 1-8558071270

Visit Website »

View details

Top check