La Casa Lorenzo Reviews

Overall
4.6

View details

  • Guest room4.6
  • Services4.6
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.6

Score Breakdown based on
9 Reviews

Write A Review

It was like staying with a friend!

5 on January 31, 2011

I just returned from eight nights at La Casa Lorenzo and am already planning a return visit! Where to begin? The courtyard filled with tropical plants, the patio bar, the spacious showers, the made-to-order breakfasts… The owner, Larry Nielsen, has transformed an old Spanish colonial home into a new B&B that feels like it’s your home once you’ve been there just a few days (at least you’ll wish it was!). I appreciated its location -- within walking distance of all the major attractions and best restaurants, but tucked away on a quiet street away from the traffic and noise of the city center. But the best thing about La Casa Lorenzo is Larry himself. Larry is an active member of the expatriate community and is happy to share his knowledge of the culture and attractions of Merida with you. Larry treats each guest like a member of his own family and goes out of his way to make your visit pleasant. Would you believe that each night he asks his guests “What would you like for breakfast and what time would you like it served?”. He also got out of bed at 5:00am to drive me to the airport! I feel very fortunate to have found the best place to stay in Merida on my first trip there! Shhh – don’t tell anyone. I don’t want it to be booked when I go to make my next reservation!


Perfect place for a stay in Merida

5 on July 06, 2010

We are planning our next trip to Merida and we will be staying at La Casa Lorenzo again. Our last stay with Larry was just perfect. The location is excellent and within walking distance to many local points of interest. La Casa Lorenzo is in the Santa Ana neighborhood and there are tons of local eateries scattered around from small economicas to boutique shops to upscale dining. The breakfasts at the B&B are great and are varied each day so you get to try the fresh abundance of Merida. We love the food in Merida! La Casa Lorenzo also has great rooms with fantastic beds and extra large bathrooms. The backyard/courtyard/patio area has a perfect pool for that afternoon cooldown or the before bedfast wakeup plunge. We spent several evenings in the backyard/bar getting to know larry and learning lots of valuable information about Merida and the housing market and construction tips. Larry is a wealth of information and is open to sharing some of his experiences on the survival in the Yucatan. We have stayed at 3 other B&Bs in Merida in the last 3 years and we have found a perfect place to stay at La Casa Lorenzo because of the location, rooms, service and cleanliness.... and, of course, Larry.


The icing on the cake for your Mérida visit!

5 on June 14, 2010

This was the second time of staying at this quaint B&B and it will be my first choice in future visits to the city. The owner will treat you as if you were family. He goes above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay in the city a great one. The house itself is very welcoming from the colorful facade, through the colonial kitchen and living room, to the beautifully landscaped pathway to the rooms and the outdoor living and cooking area. The pictures on this page do not do this B&B justice. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms are HUGE!!! (plenty of space for toiletries). The home and the owner will truly make Mérida a more enjoyable place no matter what your purpose for being in the city is. Look no further! You found the perfect place to stay!


This was wonderful

5 on May 11, 2010

We were guests at La Casa Lorenzo from April 30, 2010 until May 9, 2010 for 10 glorious days! Larry is a fabulous host and made our stay in Merida fabulous! The rooms were great and the bathrooms extra large with fabulous water pressure, which is unusual in Mexico. Larry prepared fabulous breakfasts daily and went far beyond what we expected. And we now treasure Larry as a special friend. Leslie and Fidel from Dallas


Comfort, Convenience and Reasonably Priced

4.0 on January 03, 2010

La Casa Lorenzo has spacious rooms with new Sealy posturepedic (very comfortable) beds and private bathrooms with large showers decorated with ceramic Mexican tiles. Breakfast is served in an open courtyard and the owner, Larry – really makes an effort to cater to your needs. The Casa is situated on a quiet street about a 15-20 minute walk from the main plaza. Larry was able to tell us about the various ruin sites and cenotes and to arrange a guide if needed. Larry also works hard to create a friendly atmosphere in which we enjoyed conversations with others during our 10 day stay. We would highly recommend a stay at La Casa Lorenzo. Dated: January 3, 2010.


3 great weeks!

4.0 on December 29, 2009

We recently spent 3 weeks in Merida at the Casa Lorenzo - both for work and for fun - and we really had great time! The location of this B&B ensures a quiet environment while being at a walking distance from the Socalo (main square). The room was very cozy and the service was amazing. It makes you feel like you are not only visiting but you live in Merida for a bit.


Close to Everything & Relaxing

4.0 on November 19, 2009

We've stayed at La Casa Lorenzo(Larry's House) on two separate occasions and have been very pleased. We thoroughly enjoy its close proximity to everything and its quiet peaceful atmosphere. We've gotten to know Larry pretty well and had a good time hanging out with him when we were not sight-seeing in Merida. Larry really went the extra mile to make La Casa Lorenzo a special place.


Great place!!!

5 on August 31, 2009

I stayed here for 3 days on august and this place was just perfect! everything is very clean, the rooms are very confortable, specially the beds, big bathroom, very good food, really nice pool and our host is sooo kind and a great person. If i go back to Mérida i would deffinitly stayed there again and will really recommend it!


Peaceful Retreat

4.2 on August 07, 2009

I stayed with a couple of friends in May of 2009. Our accomidations were splendid. The bathrooms are just beautiful. The outdoor kitchen with accessability to the filtered pool was very convenient. We spent many hours pool side sipping on our favorite beverages. We found our host to be very accomidating and knowledgeable about the area. We were within walking distance to many of the attractions of Merida Centro. We will be back!


La Casa Lorenzo

Details

  • Nightly Rate $59 - $69
  • Reviews (9) 4.6
  • Rooms 5

Contact Innkeeper

  • Toll free 1-8665154105
Top